Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel 2 stars

1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90401, USA

#85 of 352 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2966 hostel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One minus point: WHY IS THERE SO MUCH PLASTIC??? EVERY TOAST SLICE IS IN PLASTIC!!! I mean come on?! That is not necessary at all and such a waste .. what is the harm in buying a whole toast bread and not one where literally every slice is in plastic? I thought at least in california they are aware of the plastic pollution in the world and of course in the pacific ocean. So you could definitely change that. But otherwise it is a great hostel with amazing people and it offery everything that you need!!!

    So really really great. All in all it was really great. If you have a car there is a parking garage across the street and for 24 hours you pay 20 Dollars so that is fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was perfect.

    Everything in this hostel was perfect, very helpful and friendly staff, clean building (rooms and facility), a great location and price. A perfect hostel that i would definetly choose over any 5star hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a nice hostel with good staff however the beds are so incredibly noisy. Every time somebody rolled over in bed in the night the squeaking would be so loud it made sleep very difficult. I woke up multiple times per night every night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was located on the 4th floor, we had a bunk bed in a room for eight people. Room is small, and if you turn on the light at the basin and the mirror, the whole room will wake up. The machine for the paper towel is extremely noisy - again everyone will wake up if you use it. It took 5 minutes until you get hot water. The bed is also noisy even if you try to move as less as you can. I also felt the sweat odor of the mattress when I was standing close to the upper bed. The breakfast is cereal (full with sugar), orange juice, milk, toast, butter and marmalade - not too much varied. For me it was not what I expected :( but there is a kitchen, if you buy something you can cook or prepare your own breakfast. Our towels disappeared before our last night.

    The hotel location is excellent, it is close to Santa Monica Pier, on a clean and nice street. There is a parking house in front of the hotel (cca. 20 usd for the whole day). The staff was really helpful and nice. There are free programs (city walk, museum visit) every day, on which you can participate. Wifi worked properly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other all available facilities like TV Room, Library, open park like area, ATM etc were good, Dining Area, Breakfast provided, staff behaviour, were upto the mark.

    Beds were making noise/churning sounds when guest changes sleeping side or just sits up on the bed or does any movement on the bed. This was very disgusting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big hostel, but very clean and very friendly. Not the average "Drunk tourist" place - people seem very open and even groups of young people came. The facilities were amazingly clean and it left no wishes open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness stood out to me! Honestly is usually the reason I’ve chosen hotels over hostels. The bathroom and facilities were very clean and the overall feel was great. Loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fan in the room was quite loud and my bed was just next to it. I had ear plugs so was even happy to have a constant stream of fresh air next to me (the room is quite small with 6 people in it and windows can't be open I assume though I didn't try to).

    Great hostel! It's been ages since I stayed in a shared room, but didn't have any issues with this room. I was able to safely store my luggage in a storage box in the room. The stuff was very friendly. The breakfast really exceeded my expectations (corn flakes, bread, selection of jams, juice and coffee).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price is a bit much for a hostel, especially such a large one.

    Fantastic location, excellent facilities, clean and comfortable, warm and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is really not great compared to the overall quality of the hostel.

    The hostel is really right next to the Santa Monica beach and pier, and 3rd Street Promenade so you have plenty of places to go for a drink, food, or to shop. From there you can reach Venice very easily and it's lively at night! The hotel is spacious, clean, you have rooms to just hang out outside of your dorm and the staff is very helpful to help you get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no real good, main lounge area

    The highest price I've ever paid anywhere in the world for a dorm bed - $61. I know it was memorial weekend, and ur hostel was probably full, so there is no complaint, because demand prob met supply, but I won't be rushing back at these prices, but still, it's no complaint really :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Just cereal and bread.

    Clean and comfy! Excellent facilities and staff were very helpful. Water fountain was really useful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light at the bed is not bright enough. The closest supermarket is 14-min walk away.

    Staying here for only 1 night. Very clean and comfortable place to stay. Helpful and friendly staff! Good location to hang around Santa Monica downtown (3rd Promenade street) and access to bus station/Expo line train. I took the airport shuttle and city bus to the nearest bus stop and it took only $1-2!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Premium room got 6 beds while some economy/standard rooms got 4 beds. I would expect to have a Premium room with 4 beds instead of 6 according to the price I paid. The fact that there is no included parking, or parking partner is annoying due to the prices in the parking around.

    The location is really great, and the place is more comfy than some hotel! The included breakfast was nice and the common areas are very cool! I love the billard game! Really nice place to stay for students or individual travelers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds have springs that squeek at the slightest movement of a finger. Facilities were cleaned daily, but the rooms not well. The floors were dirty, and trash lying under my bed when I arrived was still there 5 days later when I left.

    Lockers in room are spacious, big enough for midsized suitcase. Location is great for the beach and Santa Monica. And for anything else, the metro station is close. Daily activities organized by hostel. Wifi works well, charging pods right by beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was impressed. Nothing I didn't like.

    This hostel was well locate, near the beach, Santa Monica Pier and the Metro. It was very clean and well run. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and obviously well trained. The breakfast was great! The place was quiet and you could get a good night's sleep. Having a laundry on the premises was a great bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds are horrible, I come back feeling pain on my back. Also, each bed should have your individual light so you can turn on without disturbing the environment, as happens in others hostels. The facilities of the room are not really good but the room was always clean.

    The Hostel staff and activities are amazing. About the facilities and the common space is really good. The location is good, near to restaurants, bars and beach. You can walk around at night without worries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk beds on metal frames were super squeaky and the water pressure in the showers was like a dribble, I understand they have special shower heads to reduce water usage but it was over the top.

    Very clean, nice new bathrooms. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Group
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was just sad because I missed breakfast when I stayed there but that was mostly my fault

    It was super easy to meet and talk to people from all over the world but still have enough privacy to keep to yourself

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loves this hostel, excellent location, friendly staff, good facilities, breakfast and wifi. The only thing that I dont like is that the beds are really noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds all have a metal underline and are very creaky.

    Very spacious rooms, comfy beds. Easy to get in and out. Fantastic location. The tours offered at the hostel were great, especially the Venice tour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast generates to much plastic waste. There is no free parking, a paid USD 70,00 for 2-night stay without taking the car out.

    The location is excellent. It’s near to Santa Monica Pier. The building is modern and very clean. The staff are great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My roommate that screamed in her sleep. People like that shouldn’t be allowed in a dorm

    Very chilled yet safe at the same time. Enjoyed breakfast, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud roommates ruin everything. If people talk or scream in their sleep they should find alternatives

    The location, the breakfast (albeit minimal), the look and feel, the books

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast limited choice

    The location is 5 minutes to the Peir and straight across from a shopping center with a good food court. Overall I really liked my stay here! I was in a female dorm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk beds were a bit squeaky. Otherwise cleaning seemed to work really well but someone took our towels (provided by hostel) in the middle of our stay and didn’t replace them. Towels didn’t even need to be replaced only after one night stay so that’s a big minus.

    Such a nice hostel. It’s clean, comfortable and everything there works really well for a big hostel. Its location is excellent: close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Wifi worked well. In dorm there were good sized lockers for your valuables.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was ok but could have been better (bagels or better bread, only cereal choice was corn flakes and that is pretty dire).

    Really well located, felt safe, bathroom facilities in the room plus more shared ones along the corridor for mornings when it was busier, beds felt quite secure and lockers were a good size. Had an issue on one evening with some of the people in my dorm and the staff were really good at resolving it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt a bit confused in the kitchen. The space in fridges and shelves could be organized better

    It is really high-quality hostel. Everything is prepared with care and well thought (f.ex. Kosher bread for breakfast). Clean, well located, spacious. Totally recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're looking for the four seasons hotel THIS isn't it...it's a Hostel and more like a summer camp atmosphere.

    Ruby- the WONDERFUL dog...lovely staff, GREAT location and I really like the Hostel experience. 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The others guest (not in my room) are not respectful about others, they are very noisy when people sleep (after 10:00 pm)

    Everything is good, price, near the ocean, beautiful and secure place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the cleanest place and it can get quite loud at night.

    Great location in Santa Monica just one block away from the beach and close to a lot of shops and restaurants. Staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower /bath rooms can be very crowded in the morning.

    Superb location. The Pier and beach is only a few meters away, walking distance to the metro station. Restaurants, bars and shopping malls within reach. Staff are also very welcoming and helpful giving you tips on places to visit and discounted tours. The hostel in itself is a good place to hang out, from the beautifully adorned reception, courtyard, tv room, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location (walking distrancr from the pier and beach) lots of things to do around the area. Very nice and clean, and nice staff. Definitely nicer than other hostels I stayed before. Would love to come back some day in the future and stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really good, and it location is great. You are near Santa Monica Pier. The hostel is great, the breakfast is ok. We want to come back soon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The luxurious feel of the hostel, its decor,and cleanliness are impressive. The bed was comfy and the breakfast was good. I liked the Library room with its internet provision. The location of the hostel is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit more versatile though there was fresh orange juice which is nice

    The style and amenities of the hostel are good and it is just one street down from the pier so amazing location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    liked everything from the location, to staff to the hostel itself. bathrooms are clean smells nice. the room is cozy and beddings are clean and very comfortable. you have everything you need. huge kitchen too. awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you would imagine, when 10 guys sleep in the same room it’s not going to be the cleanest room, but again this is what you sign up for. The only thing that I would recommend for the property to take care of would be the AC vents which are blowing straight to the people sleeping in the top bunks near the AC installation. If you’re a light sleeper this would annoy you.

    It’s exactly what you pay for: I got a bed in a room of 10 with a private toilet. It’s a good fit for travelers looking to explore the Santa Monica area on a budget and who are willing to get over sleeping in a room with strangers. The place is in Downtown Santa Monica, close to the buzz of the city. It’s great that you get to meet new people from all around the world and be spontaneous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Ensuite Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I had left at 7am the hostel and I hadn’t had the opportunity to have breakfast . Considering that Santa Monica is place from people leave to move to other country and most of the times they leave early the hostel should start breakfast earlier ex 6:30 .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst bed I have slept in in a long time. Like sleeping on a deflated water toy... my room (304) was way too hot, smelt really bad, and as mentioned, I couldn’t move in my bed without the whole thing sounding like an old scaffolding tower ready to collapse.

    Location was amazing, and the common areas were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airconditioning couldn't be controlled (sometimes too cold, sometimes too warm). Breakfast was simple -- just toast and cereal.

    Super comfortable bed, clean facilities, and lots of spaces to lounge about. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel. Excellent location close to bus stops, shopping, dining, and the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I already stayed three times at Hi Hostel in Santa Monica. Everytime I come to LA I'm staying there. This is a really good place to stay, it's very clean, the staff is welcoming and always willing to help or answering questions!! I feel very confortable there and the location is just perfect !! It's not Noisy and quiet at night, so even in dorms you can sleep easily. !! Thank you for making my stay perfect !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No privacy. Noise from next door occupants and outside winds blowing trash around. Cans rattling things falling, doors slamming smells. Could not sleep because of trusting issues of the open door policy. Very disappointed. I left at 5am. Was very disappointed with no rest! Never again! I recommend it to no one I know. Sad but true.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner/ heater had a mind of its own.

    It was very clean, the staff were friendly there were several restaurants and pubs near by as well as shops and theatres and it was a quick walk to Satamonica Pier.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lacks a big living room with TV - the living room is small and not really confortable. Not very easy to talk to other people at the hostel. Breakfast was less than ok - terrible coffee, green bananas and many things that generate an enormous amount of trash.

    Decent beds and facilities, but they could be *much* better. I'd recommend it for the value for money and best possible Santa Monica location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the way the hallways looked. I like the breakfast area. I like the extra storage space for a small fee. I like that the girls bathroom was clean. I like the activities provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no locks on the lockers (one would have had to bring one) and the included breakfast was mediocre at best.

    Everything was modern and clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. The location is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging for bag storage after checking out. Would be nice if this was free.

    Best location, extra activities planned each day, greta breakfast and kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so clean bathrooms and room location meant the traffic noise, particularly the honking horns in the evening were pretty annoying

    Very clean bedding, staff were very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In my particular room, there was an issue with the heater that made it leak a bit of water, so only the air conditioning worked. The guests don't have control of the temperature of the room, so it could get a bit cold in the middle of the night and the heater made some noises throughout the day and night as well. With the blankets provided and perhaps a sweatshirt, it is just fine. I can't imagine this happens often, but just something that occurred during my stay. Maintenance happens. Apart from that, the beds were incredibly noisy. I felt so terrible moving in my sleep or going to the bathroom because of the noise it created. I stayed at HI for about a week. It is something you get used to, but in an ideal world, it would be nice they were less creaky. Although I know why they do this and it is very hard to change, most of the bathrooms were very small and cramped. To make up for this, they have one large handicapped bathroom and one large handicapped shower. They make them smaller to have more stalls available, but can be unpleasant to use when needed based on size.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful to make my stay enjoyable. I liked that there was breakfast every morning. Though a rather light breakfast and it was the very same each day, it was certainly enough to get you ready to go for the day. The lockers in the rooms were big, so a small carry-on suitcase could fit if need be or most of your belongings as a whole (aside from a checked suitcase, of course). There was always a staff member at the front desk to help at any hour of the day. They had events for almost each day of the week like tours, hikes, comedy nights, etc. It was in an excellent area right next to the Third Street Promenade, the beach, the Santa Monica Pier, and other fun sites as well. I wish they had advertised more of what they offer so I could have lightened up the suitcase. They have basketballs and beach towels that other guests have left behind to use at the beach, for example. They have a kitchen/eating area, a lounging outside area, and an inside lounge to meet new people and hang out outside of the hostel room. Security is great. You can only enter into the hostel area with your room key that opens the door. Any visitor has to go through a process with the front desk (I never had visitors) in order to enter. I always felt safe coming into the hostel knowing that those inside were staying there. HI exceeded my expectations in so many ways! I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ventilator makes slot of noise. I come from the Cold North. We do not have aircondition. Second there was a guy in his bed he didn't turn off his bed light so I couldn't sleep at all.

    The modern toilet and shower. The modern kitchen and the TV room. Good atmosphere overall in the hostel. Good location right on the walkingstreets og Santa Monica.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chairs in the dining room are not very comfortable and very loud when moved. The benches - not the best solution...

    The new bathrooms are a very nice improvement. And the beds are new - a little wider and more comfortable. The kitchen is big and easy to use.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each bed has its light and 2 plugs to charge the phone and the locker is big enough to store things. Also, the restroom is shared but both bathrooms and showers are separated by doors so you don’t have to worry about privacy. The hostel also offers tours and activities. WiFi, laundry room and kitchen good as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So modern and clean! And the location is great, there’s easy transport to other areas of LA and in 5 minutes you can be on the pier. Felt very safe in the area and the hostel itself, would recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've been in Santa Monica for the LA Marathon in MARCH!!! We got a chance to take a shower even after checking-out in the morning. Towels were provided. Big plus for that - not all hostels provide such a service! There's an exceptional friendly & helpful Receptionist (Daniel??), the female boss (??) is sometimes a bit "short". All staff is caring & helpful as good & much as they can. Big plus! Breakfast was one kind of single packed: toast, jam/marmelade, peanutbutter, margerine, ca. 250ml boxes of milk - plus small boxes of cornflakes or puffs and bananas. No eggs, oats, cheese (the real one), ... not really the kind of a breakfast I'm used to. The kitchen is very big, well equipped and cleaned by staff - as the dished etc. are at the end. My ensuite 8-bed dormitory was good/brilliant for girls. Looks like as if it is quite hot within the premises in summer - but that's a "guess" by indicators. The newest generation of hostels and hostel designs can be found f.e. in the big(ger) cities of Spain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blue longchairs in the tv room could use a dry cleaning

    This is probably one of the best hostels you can find in LA. It’s all about the details: daily cleaning, modern bathrooms with hairdryers, free water and coffee available at any time, huge lockers, nightstand light and outlets in every bed, daily activities such as hikes, tours and comedy nights; huge cafeteria and kitchen with everything you could need, laundry (2.25$ for washing and drying)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all , I shared a dorm with 4 girls the first night the cleaner enter the room at 9am ( very early ) to clean the room , I told the cleaner that the girls has not checked out , but she ignored me and continued until one of the girl showed up and then the cleaner put everything back since the girl was upset and told her that she had not checkef out yet and the check out time is 11am and not 9am , I went down to the receptionist and told them what happened , because I did not wanted that to happened to me . But the day , when I went out to eat breakfast around 9-10am I came back to the room and the clearner had clean my bed and put my stuff away that I had on my bed in order to do the bed. I was furious since I had my stuff on my bed and I had not checked out yet , the time was not even 11am when I came back to the room. If the expect the guest to follow their check in and check out time then I expect them to clean the room after a guest has checked out ! Because of this the refunded me for the second night.

    I like the location , easy to check in & out . Only guest who stay at the hostel can be at the area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was more expensive than most hostels I've stayed at, but it was very clean, had a small but free breakfast. Lots of space in the court yard, so it offered more than a cheaper hostel. I have to complain about the coffee. It was terrible, but hey it was free.

    24 Check-in was awesome. The Luggage check until 1 pm was also clutch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible parking situation -- outrageous to have to pay $18 to garage a car overnight...most other hostels are $10 max for on-site parking.

    Arrived too late and departed too early to form a firm opinion

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of rubbish on tables in common rooms Friday night, very clean Saturday .

    Very clean. Good soundproofing between rooms, lovely white towels .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was pretty terrible and there wasn't even enough spoons so had to eat my cornflakes with a fork. The bathrooms were a bit dirty.

    Great location. Good-sized rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com site failed to mention that staying in this location is only available to people coming from outside greater Los Angele.

    The hostel was everything one would expect from one, with very clean facilities, and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed 2 nights and barely slept. I was so cold I had to sleep with my clothes and coat on. I complained after the first night and was told they would check the room, but same thing again the second night. Waste of money. Now I have to walk around like a zombie due to severe lack of sleep. Breakfast was something I would not eat ......the orange juice tasted bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Ensuite Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy people outside window talking loud and laughing woke me up in the middle of the night.

    Friendly guests and staff. Comfortable lounge area for guests. I will be back soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people are mostly very nice and helpful at the front desk. Very nice. The man in the kitchen that cleans up is excellent and extremely nice. I was very shocked at the woman and the way she was cleaning the washroom and toilet. Definitely , spreading every disease known to the human race.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one staff member.

    The location is absolutely perfect and it is a really nice, clean, and great place all around. Definitely something I would recommend. The first two staff members I encountered on Monday were super friendly and helpful. The man serving breakfast was really sweet and made the morning go well. I came back on Wed to get my luggage and the gentleman behind the counter was not very nice. I had asked about doing a load of laundry but instead of just saying, "I'm sorry but you are already checked out so I can't let you"... or pointing me in the direction of the laundrymat.... he was just rude and condescending. That was one bad staff member and one bad moment (though it sucks that it was my final memory of the place)... still, this hostel is really great and friendly... and you just cannot beat the location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly it is the best hostel I have stayed in

    Ultra modern, staff was professional and helpful, facilities on top and breakfast was just enough. Not to mention it is perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in the room. Air conditioning went loudly in the room and bathroom. I wish it was more space in the room for the luggage.

    I liked location! Close to the metro and busses, close to the pier and the beach. Nice around, open social spaces in the hostel. Good WiFi, breakfast ok. The free comedy show at the hostel was fun. Good value for money. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV floor behind our room. No Nlnight's sleep control.

    Close to the beach. Public transport is also in the near. Cool events, specially wednesday bar tour was cool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing location, close to restaurants, shops, bars and just next to a beach ❤️ Super nice staff, free tours, free breakfast, nice common areas, clean, one of the best hostels I’ve ever been to Highly recommend for backpackers and single travelers!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in: it's clean, comfortable, has those nice little touches like personal lights and power points above each bed, large lockers, they supply linen and towels and seem to have nice extracurricular activities (I didn't participate). There's also a TV room, a library and other public areas. The staff were generally friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was awesome

    Everything - comedy show on Tuesday night, awesome people at the hostel and super friendly staff! I wish I would have stayed longer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable and extremely noisy. They squeeked and the slightest movements. Soft, but they are made of memory foam or something and so conformed to every other traveler's body, like the lumps were in all the wrong places. Also, the surrounding neighborhood was full of aggressive panhandlers and people smoking pot. Including right outside the hostel door 24/7. Every morning I had to walk through a cloud of pot smoke just to get out the front door.

    One block away from the beach. The metro station is just a 5 minute walk so it was easy to get around town. Lots of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife all around so there was lots to do. Also, the hostel had organized activities everyday. Lots of people for all over the world. Actually hanging out inside the hostel and chatting with the people was the best part of my trip. The staff was friendly and helpful and available 24 hrs a day. Showers were hot and excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Male Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked the hostel, it had great showers and washrooms with soap and paper towels. The bed was good to sleep also a light near the bed. They had lockers for your luggage. Good wifi. The maids were very nice. On top of that they had free breakfast. Amazing experience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Female Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little bit small and as my room was end of the corridor the women's bathroom was far. Maybe good be better if the women would set closer to the bathroom. As i saw guys who stay in the other end of the floor but their bathroom was close to our room...

    This is a very well-located hostel, near to the Santa Monica Pier. The bathroom, shower was comfortable. The kitchen and dining area was very big so you can easily to find a place to eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: