Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Boston 2 stars

40 Mt. Hood Road, Allston/Brighton, Boston, MA 02135, USA

#75 of 83 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 870 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed with the property. Staff was awesome. But property needs alot of work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    * not as advertised in regards to size * refrigerator made weird noises all night * no housekeeping on saturday, no fresh towels * no fan in bathroom * very hot in breakfast area * was not a hotel...was a motel *$300+ a night and not even downtown? Ridiculous. *did not feel safe with another door in the room...looked like an adjoining room but the staff couldnt tell us where it led. * again, staff was good....but the property....wowza. *strange smell all aound, even the Kleenex

    * hot water in the shower * microwave worked * close to T stop

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    Htel from Hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are awfull. The first one terribly noisy because of their ventilation, heating, cooling system right next door that is terribly noisy. Thoroughly unacceptable. The lock did not work. They could not fix it. We changed rooms. Less noisy. Bathroom designed for wee people; everything--sink, toilet at infant height. Cramped, tub and shower marginal minus. And all this at more than $240 a night??? Go elsewhere. Immediately.

    Staff fine. Near trolley line. Breakfast acceptable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.7
    Staff was great and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find. The sign is way down the one way street. Rooms could use some work. There was a pill case left right on our tv stand.

    Staff was great and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    Old, musty, and falling apart. Time to renovate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, musty carpets. Made my kids wear socks the whole time. Cabinet doors were chipping and falling apart. Air vent in the room was so loud it woke everyone up when it would come on. The bureau in the room was falling apart so bad the drawers would roll open no matter how many times you pushed them shut. Window in bedroom (which went out to a SHARED balcony area with other rooms) did not lock and their fix was to put a piece of metal on the inside to stop it from opening the whole way. The window still opened a good 1 1/2’ so if someone wanted to squeeze through they definitely could. When I filtered for hotels I had free parking on the filter, but this place still charged $20.

    Large room and bathroom was clean. Ample parking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    good value, I'ld go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    said there was a stove in room, there wasn't, I wans't planning on using it anyway so I never bothered to mention it

    quite, good size room, good breakfast included, had waffles every morning

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    3.3
    It was poor to say the least and would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tre place needs to be refurbished! Bath was dirty and grubby and small! Room was ok but needs to be renovated! Not enough staff on to accommodate the customers! Door did not open properly and my husband ripped his shirt on the door knob

    Nothing about the place!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Good location for touring with using the streetcar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With using a disability scooter because of stairs, I was not able to get to the front desk or area for breakfast. My husband checked us in & picked up a few things for breakfast for me & brought it to our room

    Prior to staying, staff very helpful in advising where & how to catch the closest train to Boston Commons, I use a disability scooter.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    4.2
    This was a total rip-off!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was charged over $600 for just 2 nights in this hotel, which should have been called a MOTEL! It was old, tiny bathroom, the room smelled, it was a huge disappointment! The following night I was in DC and spent HALF of the nightly cost to stay in a Crown Plaza on the 9th floor, including a full hot breakfast!! This price was robbery!!! I think it was price gouging because of the baseball playoffs, but that is just wrong!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    2.9
    By mistake picked this since it was last min Sleeping in car may be better than this crammed junk
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Web site which I searched free parking when I clicked took me to their partner booking com on final print out there was s parking charge you have to park upside down with and left side up on the spots that you will be scared the car will roll over one way or other

    Nothing about

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced, a bit shabby, but great staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel badly needs a facelift and could be cleaner. The bathrooms are especially dingy. There was an apple core on the ground outside my room when I checked in. It eventually disappeared. The hotel is outrageously expensive for what it is, but they have no competition in the area, so they can charge a lot.

    I've stayed at this hotel many times. The staff is always extremely pleasant and helpful. Location is perfect for what I need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Good deal and close to Boston
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some folks making noise in the parking lot after 10 pm and had to call them twice about it. Otherwise was quiet. Also, I didn't know parking was an extra cost until I got there which I found strange since they actually have ample parking.

    Friendly staff and nice size room. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Rooms very comfortable & Clean & Breakfast well set up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Décor needs to be updated

    It was lovely after a long journey " to be greeted by Demitrus @ reception with a big smile & so helpful with all our questions " a great ambassador for any Hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    We were very pleased with the room.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would of enjoyed being able to sit in front of our room if their had been chairs because it was very peaceful and a nice breeze the evening we stayed but, maybe next time as we will be back again soon!

    The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The employees were very friendly aswell which made for a comfortable stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic option for Boston !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old carpets but that is a very minor issue to be honest.

    The location to public transport was excellent as well as great restaurants. I felt safe and the neighbourhood was quiet.Really comfortable beds & pillows How ever the staff are the best assest esp Dimitrius he was so helpful and efficient .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water pressure was very very low, the hot water took 10 minutes to arrive but it was fine once it did, just not enough pressure.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were fine, not luxurious but certainly adequate. I was looking for a "reasonably" priced room, this hotel was 30% below the average price of other hotels, so it was much better than I had expected

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    It was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying for parking.

    Demetrius was awesome!! He gave us great directions on how to use public transportation and what sites we should see in the short amount of time that we were there. He also followed through in everything that he said he would do for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    This place could use some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little musty and there was poor water pressure in the bathroom.

    The room had a kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave. The room had excellent A/C during records high temperatures.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    2.9
    Not comfortable to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were frustrated with the hotel. It's not clean and the room smells disgusting. The furniture inside the hotel were old ones. The breakfast wasn't good. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to our relatives and friends

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was substantial, but the breakfast room was quite limited, which meant that there was nowhere to sit during peak breakfast times.

    Very comfortable, spacious room a short walk from the nearest T stop. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and made my stay all the better. An excellent place for a short or a longer visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value and good location, just don’t expect new rooms and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is showing some age as the bathtub bottom looks dirty. The walls of the bathroom also shows some patchwork. Breakfast is very basic without any scramble eggs and breakfast meats. There is a twenty dollar parking fee overnight.

    The hotel is two blocks from the subway, about twenty minutes to Fenway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, I would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Front desk staff very Nice.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioning was noisy. Yelling and slamming doors late into night made it hard to sleep our second night

    Front desk staff very Nice. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    The location is so nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym.

    The location is so nice... just across the station. One way you can reach to the downtown. The neighborhood is very safe and quite. The room is clean and spacious. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I recommend !!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value for the price. Close to the T...easy to get downtown. The staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OLDer hotel...but we expected that...example...window caulking is crumbling.

    Exceptional customer service...Jose' at the front desk and the manager ...more than helpful and concerned. Treated guests with respect. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Inexpensive, you get what you pay for.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking- you don't find out until you get there that there's a 20 fee for parking. Would have been nice to know that ahead of time. There is plenty of parking, however the hotel is on a hill so much of it is on a slant, which makes parking awkward. Not huge issues, but fyi.

    Inexpensive, you get what you pay for. Room was clean, maintained. Free wifi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    If you want disappointment, check in here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s overall environment is worse than a 3 star hotel. Small room, old facilities, the room smells, dark... really not worth a five star summer time hotel price. Hotel Boston frankly didn’t present a good Boston first impression. Totally disappointed. ( but staff were friendly)

    It’s overall environment is worse than a 3 star hotel. Small room, old facilities, the room smells, dark... really not worth a five star summer time hotel price. Hotel Boston frankly didn’t present a good Boston first impression. Totally disappointed. ( but staff were friendly)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Doable for money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom — not clean and in poor condition, needs fixing didn’t want to take shower !

    Location, people/ houses in surrounding neighborhood, service at front desk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice location and quite hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no table in my queen size bedroom which I wasn’t aware of. I needed to do some paper work and it was bit unconvenient

    The room is in good size and very comfortable. The bathroom is huge and towels are well presented. The yard is quite and the surroundings are also very nice. Close to shops and restaurants. I quite liked it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value hotel and a great trip to see Fenway for the first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was clean, but not luxurious. Shower was not very great. Shower head was not easy to adjust to right pressure. However, for the money, this was the best value by far.

    The hotel was more than adequate. Bed was comfortable. AC was very effective. Place was clean and for the money, was a great place to stay. Was only a 15 dollar cab ride to Fenway. Would recommend. Stayed in King suite with three adults and a child (7). more than adequate space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Well located, clean, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not stay for breakfast as it was not open at 7am. Other than this - everything was as expected.

    Hotel was good value for money and well located

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.6
    Bad value for money. I can get better even in London UK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No proper writing desk in the room. Noisy aircon (though thermodynamically reasonably effective). No restaurant or bar or mini-bar or gym or pool. Impossible to run a hot bath (scalding or freezing shower was only option). Price is a complete ripoff (like all of Boston) - $250 a night for what is really just a very basic motel style room. Basic breakfast, no proper cooked food. Located far out from the centre on the Green T-line which if it went any slower would go backwards. $45 taxi from South Station and similar to airport. Local food outlets are also a rip-off - $40 for a very modest evening meal.

    Not much. Room and decor are basic but functional. In fairness, I must mention that all the staff I met were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay to park and the bathroom door did not shut properly.

    The staff accommodated a special request I had. The room was comfortable for a one night stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    It was great for the weekend, and good price compared to other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit far from the downtown area. About 30 dollar uber ride. 10-15 uber ride to Fenway.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to checkin in early, and provided great advice for getting around the city. Walking distance to whole foods, and many restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and the mattress was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a little more stuff for breakfast. The room could habe been a little bigger.

    The room was clean and the mattress was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was spacious and clean. We really appreciated the separate living room and kitchenette. Perfect for 4 adults. Parking was very easy. All-day coffee was great. A special mention to José, who was extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. Excellent service!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Very close to a great beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wifi connection at all! Rooms didn’t have good sound isolation. Quite noisy in the morning! Breakfast was ok but not too many options.

    Very close to a great beach! Easy to find Clean Nice swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful time. The staff is knowleable and super helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might seem weird but none of the doors lined up so light came in from all sides. Not really a big deal just odd.

    The hotel had a great breakfast selection and the walk to caught the T line train was less than 6 minutes. It's not fancy but it's really nice for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fault of the hotel, but all the dinner restaurants within walking distance are take-out, with the exception of a wine/tapas place that looked good, but not what I was in the mood for after a long day of travel. So we brought take-out to the room.

    The hotel is a little island of modernity in this corner of Boston. The facility was surprisingly up to date, roomy, and comfortable. Staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Won’t stay there again. Not paying for parking!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping didn’t clean our room one day and we needed clean towels. Didn’t like the extra money we paid for parking . That was BS. Parking at any hotel should be free. Not worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location, convenient for my purposes, but overpriced and in need of improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit worn and could really need some spiffing up. I don't think they do a particularly good job of cleaning - that's been my experience each time I've stayed there. This time I had a spider and its web taking up residence in the bathroom. It was right by the door. I would think the cleaner would have seen it. While Boston hotels are notoriously pricey, I think this hotel needs to make some improvements in order to be in line with what they charge.

    This is a good location for that part of Boston with easy access to downtown. I have stayed there 3-4 times, and the staff has always been very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Courteous, helpful, staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were pretty cramped. Breakfast was completely minimal. Rooms are accessed through the parking lot (like a motel). Absolutely nothing exceeded expectations.

    Courteous, helpful, staff. rooms were well maintained. Parking was reasonable for the neighborhood. The listing says max 2 adults but they allow 4 adults no problem. Beds were big a and comfy. Everything was clean and very acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Good accommodation close to public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If the hotel had a policy of letting overseas guests know how easy it was to catch the train into the city of Boston l think it would add value to the motels location

    We liked the location, the nice gardens, bed was ok lounge chair was ok, shower over bath was just ok, people at reception were really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Value, location, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were REALLY loud people above us.

    The beds were super comfortable and it was great access to the train! The staff was SO nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    The best I can say is that a room was available at the last...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very shopworn facility, and could use some serious cleaning and updating. Also, there seemed to be only one reception employee available, and he took four phone calls while trying to check in 3 separate guests. No, "Can you hold, please?". He actually completed calls and took phone numbers and messages while guests were standing there waiting to check in.

    The best I can say is that a room was available at the last minute during the very busy graduation season.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Thin walls, but overall comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were thin and you could hear every movement from upstairs. This was particularly bad on some nights/mornings. In addition, the air conditioning unit failed one evening and started blowing out hot air, turning the room into a sauna and resulting in neither of us getting any sleep.

    It was clean and, for the most part, we had a very comfortable stay. The bed was comfortable, the beakfast was decent, as was the WiFi. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Unfortunately never returning again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was awful in our first room. Everything was really worn. The AC shut off one night and the room got up to 77 degrees with no ventilation. We were up at 1am and 3am. When I called the front desk I got an extremely unsatisfying and rather, condescending answer. The manager moved us to a different room for the rest of the trip and comped our awful night. He handled the situation really well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Over priced, out of town and noisy
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Mechanical whirring noises half the night. Air con too loud to use. Early morning cacophony in the hotel car park. Generally tatty appearance.

    Comfy bed. Convenient for the tram.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    Very bad and very uncomfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first night was horrible trying to sleep. The air conditioner wouldn’t work and the window didn’t open. My wife and I couldn’t sleep at all with the temperature on the thermostat read 84 degrees. The room wasn’t the cleanest either. I brought this to the front desk and they changed us rooms. But then again our new room had an air condition problem as well. I brought the staff into the room to show them we weren’t lying about the problems and they saw first hand the room was hot and uncomfortable. They tried fixing it but couldn’t. Also there was so much noise going on from other rooms as if they were partying all night. Finally when the morning came to get ready to get ready and depart the hotel I attempted to shower and there was no warm water to shower in. Only freezing cold water.

    The staff was nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Although the review says 3.8 by my calculations, it should be 1.5
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was FILTHY, the carpet stained, the walls were covered with stains, the curtains were stained, and the very worst thing, was that the housekeeping left our door open the entire day that while we were at the hospitals. Staff didn't care. They just "wrote it down to let housekeeping know". We had to leave early for a doctor's appointment, and we could not get breakfast. It doesn't start until 7:00AM, whereas most hotels offer breakfast starting at 6:00AM.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Good place to stay, but not quite worth the rate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was almost no water pressure from the shower, the heater in the room upstairs was louder than a jet engine, and the parking was a bit steep per night.

    The staff was great, the room was clean, and the location was good for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was fantastic. Yes it's a bit further away from downtown Boston, but it's easy accessible via tram at a very cheap price. The staff were so helpful, even printed our boarding passes for us as we were leaving! Great breakfast, everything we needed to set up our day in Boston. The room was comfortable and very clean. Overall this hotel was everything we wanted at a very low price. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Standard hotel. Boston is expensive so this is a good cheaper alternative to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was the cheapest hotel I could find in Boston at last minute. Pretty standard amenities, nothing special but perfectly acceptable and clean. It's about 25 minutes T ride to downtown and about 1 mile from the Allston/Brighton area where there are more restaurants/shops/bars. Whole Foods around the corner was super convenient and a cheap diner across Commonwealth ave if you get tired of the included breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    I would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Boston prices raise quite a bit on weekends. I understand supply and demand, but still...

    There was a room available when we arrived at 9:30 am, and we were allowed an early check in. The front desk told us that the complementary breakfast was around the corner if we wanted to have something. Very welcoming!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    The fact that we, as guests, were charged an extra $20 for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we, as guests, were charged an extra $20 for overnight parking and were not notified when we booked the hotel, that that was an extra charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    I would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn’t work, no hot H20 in the bathroom, not a great location, not a good value, staff was fine but I would expect more for the price.

    Tough question....the lotion in the bathroom smelled nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    good!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior was a little bit old. but not bad.

    It was unique experience. It was convenient to park. It took 40 minutes from the hotel to downtown. When I checked in, the staff was really kind. I really appreciated him.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable but I thought the hotel in general could...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put some money into your investment by giving it a makeover the wallpapers dated the woodwork needs to be painted in the carpets look old no one wants to walk around in their bare feet and old carpet it's creepy

    Bed was comfortable but I thought the hotel in general could use a makeover it's dated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value, with a few improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mini-refrigerator was not working, no one had checked this? Noise comes through the walls, and the construction next door starts early. There's a charge for parking which should be made clear on the website.

    The bed was comfortable; no problems with wi-fi; there's a good breakfast buffet. The location on the Green Line, nearby stores, and a quiet street are assets for the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value, even better service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not maybe as clean or up to date as it could have been.

    The staff was key. We had to rebook from another hotel on short notice. The staff was completely helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.6
    This motel is one step above a "hooker motel."
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was assigned to three different rooms before getting one that was comfortable and in good repair. I checked out a day early after witnessing an altercation between a female guest and a male staff member. This may have been a prostitution deal gone awry!

    The general manager was extremely friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    average satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The closet in the bathroom is terrible. It's not vacuuming what you left into that....! The breakfast area and food could be improved... I don't understand why there are no slippers in the room. We have to walk with our shoes inside the room.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was big enough and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our brief overnight stay, slept well and woke up refreshed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were old (but clean and comfortable). Parking on premises cost an additional $20 per night.

    The reception agent was friendly, professional and helpful. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    The waffles were awesome and I also really liked the shampoo...
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realize I was going to have to pay extra for parking.

    The waffles were awesome and I also really liked the shampoo and conditioner--it was super nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    A decent place to stay for the location and cost, but young guest partying made it hard to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative was that there were guest (young) who were partying all night and going in and out of the rooms which was very disruptive to us trying to sleep.

    Location and accommodations were very good for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    One night we had a big problem with the other travelers. Front desk gave them my room key by mistake
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of the night I got up because someone was trying to get into my room. 😡 It was so scary and I couldn't go back to sleep till morning

    Coffee, water and some fruits are available all the time. Room had enough space, clean and there is free wifi with the phone charger available in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    The heating system in the room was extremely noisy and,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating system in the room was extremely noisy and, because it was periodic, it kept waking me up every 20 minutes throughout the night. It was clean but carpet was "tired."

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.0
    fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too much noisy, noise coming from A/C system, could not have a dark room at sleep time because of outside lighting, the carpet was smelling.

    Breakfast ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    3.8
    Horrible experience.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Roll-in Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrific. Our 2nd stay and last stay there. Room temps range from 78-98 degrees and not all thermostats work to lower it. No outlet in bathroom for hair dryer or other appliances. Ice machine and vending machines out of order. Broken fridges. No answer at front desk after 7 pm when you call for assistance. I tried 8 Times. Lumpy, lopsided beds. We thought after the 1st stay that it was a fluke. Nope. Never again!

    Easy parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.5
    Beware the heat doesn't work in corner rooms! Ice on the inside windows and 45 degrees in room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heat in our corner room and the temp outside was -7!!! We called and called and nobody answered. The door to our room wouldn't close and kept popping open letting even colder air in. The facilities were way below standard and I will never, ever use booking.com if we don't get reimbursed for our stay at that hotel. Of course you can be sure that we'll never go back to Hotel Boston. It was terrible!

    The only good thing about Hotel Boston was the night clerk Demetrius. He got tons of extra blankets for us so we could try to keep warm since nobody would be able to fix the heat until 7 am the next morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    BREAKFAST CHOICES WERE GOOD, AND THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT AS...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to pay $20 for parking when we booked through Booking.com, but it was free the night we booked directly through the hotel.

    BREAKFAST CHOICES WERE GOOD, AND THE LOCATION WAS PERFECT AS WE WERE VISITING FAMILY NEARBY.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.0
    It was alright. If there’s a way to get my money back that would be good
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, it looked more like a motel instead of a hotel, the bathroom was too small, didn’t have as much stuff in the room as other hotels

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.7
    It was ok for one night
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfast (you get what you pay for), room had a window with blinds that don’t darken the room (I couldn’t sleep at all)

    closeness to train and Whole Foods

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    The good and the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little bit thin. Maybe it was because I had one of those rooms that connects to the room next to it with doors inside each room, but I could hear my neighbors pretty clearly. Maybe they were just loud talkers, but I could also hear people in the hall talking as they walked by. Ear plugs do work wonders.

    The building seemed new and everything in the room was in good shape. Outlets were in convenient places for laptops and chargers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    Not beautiful, but outstanding value, responsive staff, clean & comfortable rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Please provide tea in room in addition to coffee! Plumbing wasn't great--lukewarm shower the first day, slow drain in bathroom sink--but both fixed immediately when I let the hotel know.

    GREAT value & location for my needs (close to family in Brookline, right on T line). Spacious room, comfortable bed. Thermostats worked very well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.6
    I would not recommend staying here if you are looking for a relaxing night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people staying above me did nothing but stomp around all night. I was not informed about a 20 dollar fee to park my car on site when I already payed for a room. There were little options left for breakfast. Remote control for the tv did not work in my room and a random woman stood outside of my room and loudly talked on her phone for an hour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    3.3
    It would be nice if bath tub will be cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if bath tub will be cleaned Thermostat in the room was not working The pillows very small i mean extremely small 1ft. X 1ft. The breakfast horrible .....

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: