Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Staypineapple at The Alise San Francisco 4 stars

580 Geary St, Union Square, San Francisco, 94102, USA

#8 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1030 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room was very small and noisy due to the central airco placed outside of our window.

    Very friendly staff. The first night we stayed in a very small room, next night we were upgrated to a very spacious one. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Very laid back, not pretentious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fire Alarm went off and nobody knows how it was set off at night. Nothing mentioned by staff about accommodation for the inconvenience - no apologies.

    Very laid back, not pretentious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Bed and shower were both amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is really small, the bed takes maybe 90% of the room space. Not ideal if you have plenty of luggage, but probably not an issue for shorter trips. Not the greatest neighborhood, mostly tourists and homeless people. But a short walk from nicer parts of SF.

    Bed and shower were both amazing. They had free water bottles which were great for city walks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is designed very well in all means.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They want to sell you literally everything! Everything in the room is for you to buy, and this is irritating. There was a guy in the reception desk who is a super unfriendly staff. The parking costs 58USD plus tax per night. And this is pure robbery. You can park your car just next to the hotel for 30/35 USD per night (depending on the day of the week). There is no sound isolation in this hotel. You will hear the rough behaviours of your neigbours, sirens of police cars and firemans all night long.

    Hotel is designed very well in all means.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Cute, funky and amazing bar. Would definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they didn’t tell me they were trying to charge for incidentals at time of check in

    The eclectic feel that the hotel had. Certainly made it feel like it wasn’t a hotel chain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel, clean and design, in the center of San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is clean and stylish, from the entrance to the room. You can find fresh water in the lobby, and coffee/tea/water bottles for free in the room. The bed is also very comfortable. The location of the hotel, in the center of San Francisco, is just perfect to fully enjoy the city. The staff is very nice and respond quickly to any request. They helped us check-in way earlier than the usual check-in time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and fun hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Saturday night the fire alarm went off, very confusing experience. Front desk recommended going back up to room, police requested that we wait downstairs. People did not know which way to go on the very crowded stairs.

    Small room but very well appointed. Nice front desk experience. Great water and cup-cakes!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no gym in the hotel itself. They provide you with a gym pass which is approximately 3 blocks away, and allows you to enter from the age of 18.

    Very comfortable bed. Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very nice and the hotel is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small and does not match the picture shown on booking.com. The price is simply too high for the size of the room.

    The staff was very nice and the hotel is clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Cool hotel, but better soundproofing needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - both footsteps from rooms above, and in my case (Room 201) from an air conditioning unit directly outside the bedroom window which made noise 24h a day, and couldn’t be fully blocked out by the earplugs provided.

    Friendly staff, nicely decorated, convenient spot

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff is super friendly and rooms are very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small but cosy nonetheless!

    Staff is super friendly and rooms are very clean. Location of the hotel is great, just a 10 min walk from Moscone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location for Union Sq - 5 min walk
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Corner Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Generally this part of San Fran is a little edgy with some homeless people around, although we didn't have any problems at all

    Great location for Union Sq - 5 min walk Rooms small-ish but very cleverly appointed so didn't feel cramped Staff very helpful Pineapple theme crazy but cool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way top many hobos. The bikes are nice. However, it would be better to change them with e-bikes. The hotel bar should be open longer.

    Good location. Nice staff and nice details in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Charming hotel, but ridiculous bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an instruction sheet on the bed – which, unfortunately, I didn’t read until I was ready for bed at midnight and discovered there was only 1 sheet on the bed and the duvet was supposed to be the “top sheet”. And, the duvet was not even a queen size (like the bed), but 2 twins. I called the front desk, and after about 15 minutes they delivered a sheet was to me… a fitted bottom sheet. The sheet already on the mattress was a top sheet, so I basically had to strip the bed and completely re-make it myself. Simply unbelievable.

    Charming boutique hotel, great lobby bar. Typical small SF hotel room, but beautifully appointed, very clean, and very cute with their signature stuffed dog, huge décor pillows, a refrigerator, and real coffee cups for the Keurig coffee maker.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    If the weathers just stroll and enjoy the views & food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately this area of San Fransisco has quite a lot of homeless/beggars on the street during the day which makes one wonder how the most expensive city in the USA can't solve such a basic humanitarian issue.

    The Alise is a quirky hotel with art deco fixtures. Pleasant staff and a nice ambiance. Good location for central square (4-5 blocks away). Nice bar which complements the dark and warm cocktail bar just opposite, there is also a good Diner just down the road so all essentials are met. The cup cakes served in the afternoon are scrumptious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Quirky, fashionable location in heart of San Francisco
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was very costly for a 1 night stay

    Great, friendly staff and beautiful furnishings. Great location as well, just a five minute walk from Union Square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Rooms are cozy, but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, so it you can hear everything going on in your neighbour’s room. Also don’t feel that the amenities rate is justified. Aside from water & cupcakes, these are things that are normally included in a hotel stay without paying extra.

    Rooms are cozy, but comfortable. The bed was great and the ability to stream to the TV was a cool bonus. Very centrally located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The boiler broke down during the stay so no hot water for 24 hours. Luckily it got fixed the next day

    Nice design and comfortable room. Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is adorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the decor! The rooms are a little small but very cute & cozy! The bed was really soft and the room was clean. The whole staff was very friendly but Nathan went above and beyond to be helpful and make our stay so enjoyable!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Nicely decorated place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nicely decorated, with very helpful and friendly staff. No gym in house, but free pass to a simple gym a few blocks away. Rather noisy area, and property has old windows, so bring earplugs. Price was exorbitant, but at the lower end for similar hotels in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is nice, clean, the bed are comfortable,place very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is full of homeless, one street up ande homeless are less frequent, maybe all the hotels in that streets should ask the city to do more for this people

    The hotel is nice, clean, the bed are comfortable,place very centric but there a lot of homeless, that’s a shame since the city is rich and that is not good impression for the tourists.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an intermittent drone from air conditioning units all through the night. Ear plugs and different room did not help so avoid if you are a light sleeper. The surrounding area is pretty hard up and there are a lot of homeless folk struggling to get by. The juxtaposition of this and the hotel glitz was hard to reconcile.

    Stylish lobby and bar. Despite the obvious hardships facing people, we did not get any hassle from locals. The proximity to Union Square makes it easy to get about. The staff were friendly and tried to help with noise by offering a replacement room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent choice for a "boutique" hotel if you like the neighbourhood
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "Head Pineapple" has found a good way of increasing revenue by charging a $25 additional "amenity fee" to use the in-room Wi-Fi (free in lobby) and coffee-maker, which are usually free these days. Admittedly, this includes use of a bicycle, should you wish to cycle in this hilly area. Also, the location "In Union Square" is a stretch, as the immediate neighbourhood may not be to everyone's taste (hobos and smell of urine)

    Lobby / bar area modern, cool but comfortable. Simple "Continental" breakfast options at the bar were good - croissants, bagels, fruit, plus more complicated dishes. Queen room small but nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The bed is on another level of comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air con made some interesting noises but that was it. We had a noisier room for one night but asked to be moved which the hotel happily did.

    The bed is on another level of comfort. Loved Dash the dog, so much that we adopted him (most of proceeds go to a shelter) Staff were very helpful and the barman was second to none.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean friendly staff and friendly bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small double. I didn't actually like the separate duvet arrangement. Location felt unsafe - perhaps more signposting from reception about the areas to avoid. Stayed in a room on the 7th floor which we were told was the quietest but it seemed to be the air conditioning vents next to the room so very noisy.

    Clean friendly staff and friendly bar. Helpful at check in and check out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    We do not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 2 nights.The bed was very uncomfortable and the room is not well insulated against noise. The staff criticised us when we said we wanted 1 bed cover of the same size of the bed instead of having 2 singles covers in double bed (apparently we wanted the “European tradition way”). Breakfast has very limited options and not good quality although, it’s expensive. We would not recommend this hotel.

    Not much really, a part from the decoration

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, quiet bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bicycles for free rent have only 3 gears - not very useful for SF hills. But they are free...

    Comfortable, quiet bedroom. Was not very big, but everything was very new and modern. Very good location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Completely adequate without being anything special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like being woken up by the cleaner wanting to clean my room at 9am on a Sunday when checkout is at midday. I though the "amenities charge" of $25 per day was a cheek; I expect tea, coffee and water in my room as part of the room rate so I feel I paid $50 for a cupcake.

    Nice clean room, fairly small but completely adequately equipped and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel's theme was fun, my room was a great size and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel's theme was fun, my room was a great size and super clean, and I loved the overall atmosphere. Also, the location was perfect. Muhammad at the bar was super friendly and made fabulous drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel in a great location. Breakfast is value for money. Amazing service, staff exceptional- told us exactly how to get the lost out our stay in San Francisco. Would definitely come back, and is the only hotel that I would stay in San Fran

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    The design of the hotel is super cute, and it’s good walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very close to a few rough streets, but as long as you know where they are don’t head that way, we walked everywhere and managed to miss the couple of rough streets. It was also a little noisy at night, when the cars went by, but it’s a city and the building I imagine doesn’t have double glazing, due to keeping the traditional style of the building.

    The design of the hotel is super cute, and it’s good walking distance to the shops. The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean. The rooms were a little small but for a few nights we didn’t mind. It was a really nice boutique hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Affordable place for Downtown SF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rates are incredibly high, but presumably still among the best you can get in the downtown area. Proximity to tenderloin might not be everyone‘s choice, because of the many homeless people, addicts and beggars (especially at night). Its ok though on Geary St and when you walk to Union Square.

    Affordable place for Downtown SF. Close to shopping destinations at Union Square and Market Street. Cable cars start around the corner. Staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean (although tiny). Bars and Theaters are also close.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    I’ll 100% book Pineapple again but not in San Fran because the neighborhood was disgusting.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was hung up high on wall directly across from the bed and when it was on the air was blowing directly into our faces. The room is very small so it felt like sleeping with your head out a moving car window. The neighborhood is filled with homeless folks and stinks of urine and vomit everywhere you turn.

    Beds were fantastically fluffy and warm. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    The pineapple is supposed to represent feeling welcome. The perfect logo/name for the Alise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on the 5th. floor and forgot to inquire who/what was above us. Clearly someone with lead feet. Would have been a problem if we wanted to sleep in each morning.

    The hotel manager greeted us, took us to our room, made sure our every need was met. Most comfortable beds of anywhere we've stayed. Modern ammentities with many thoughtful details.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    A smile is not enough! Improve service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much furniture for a small size room (queen size one). Amenities fee of 25$ for a not working Wifi and cheap Dispenser in the toilet. The staff at reception not trained and professional (they told me there was a Giants match but unfortunately it was in LA, they booked a taxi for me but when it came they did not inform us). The Mngt should take care of these young and not trained guys.

    Location. Bar breakfast cappuccinos and muffins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel and staff, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise in corridor outside our door from maids, other guests. Proximity to Tenderloin district means there are a few more homeless people than other areas of the city.

    Cleanliness, comfort, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Exceptional place- will stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey but worth it!

    Really cozy room. Great staff- while i waited for an early check in , I had complimentary coffee in the beautiful lobby. Jedd behind the bar was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    The coziest fuzziest sleep. Energizing rest. Happy yellow theme. 😍
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just very small rooms. If you travel with lots of luggage it’s a bit complicated for opening your bags etc.

    Felt at home. Lovely reception people. The light in our bedroom was dreamy. Top floor room, small but so cozy. Love the happy pineapple theme. There’s a brilliant breakfast place nearby, very authentic diner with awesome food. pinecrest dîner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Receptionists r quiet nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge me 50 dollars for extra facilities, but after I pointed it out, they didn’t charge me that. Downtown SF seems not very safe, especially after sunset. The room is not big.

    Receptionists r quiet nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Meh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small for 2 adults and we didn't have the smsllest room. Asked for a room far from the elevator only to find ourselves right across from it. Noise level was not too bad, however. Wifi was difficult to connect to so had to have the front desk reset it so we could use it. Not good value for money given location in the seedy part of town. Also cost was $60 more per night than posted rate. Feeling less than pleased about that.

    The bathroom was nice. Staff were nice. Very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The valet parking is kind of expensive. There is a public parking lot next to it for half price

    It was beautiful, 3 blocks from Union Square where you can take a lot of buses and subway. Full of restaurants near by with deferents types of cousins. The personal was really nice. The wifi service was awesome. The hotel gives you free water, coffee and tea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvets were amazing! Rodney who worked downstairs was by far the most helpful and knowledgeable person I have ever experienced at a hotel, a superstar!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    I was surprised to learn the Wi-fi room charges packed under...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Corner Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was surprised to learn the Wi-fi room charges packed under the "amenities package" - with random additional things like cupcakes, etc. In 2018 you would expect that Wi-fi is available in rooms free of charge like towels...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking.com lost our reservation so after a tiring journey I had to spend 30 minutes on hold waiting for booking.com to answer the phone and fix the reservation. The woman working on the front desk was particularly unhelpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Cupcakes yummy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small for a 4 day stay Car was left out on the street for the 4 days when initially implied it would be secured in parking station

    Cupcakes yummy Bikes fantastic Comforts of room fabulous- robes, bed, slippers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    fair considering the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the receptionist lady in the check in process was terribly bad! Not polite.. Not giving information and even worse providing wrong information about wifi access. When we asked how much we should pay for the breakfast the response was...it is cheap. We insisted ....the answer was the same. Parking is not included and it is ridiculously expensive!!

    All the other staff apart from the check in lady was excellent. the rooms despite they are small they are very clean and comfortable. Location wise it is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You want to make sure you stay far away from the elevators, and Geary Street side and request for a higher floor to avoid any of the noise that a lot of the guests who have mentioned that on Trip Advisor. The only complaint: the time on the clock in the room was wrong - it was set for 10 hours ahead of the actual time. Important for housekeeping to check this off in the rooms they service. Be mindful of the amenities fee which covers the cupcakes and pineapple infused water on the lobby and gym access (gym is located off property a block or so away from the hotel).

    The rooms are quite small so be mindful....the room had a fairly clean bathroom - all in all it is good for a short weekend trip! I loved the location and ambiance of the hotel. Arthur at the front desk was very kind, gracious and well spoken when we checked in. I would do this again for a weekend trip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, not too pricey. Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel valet parking was very expensive. Use the public parking next door 1/3rd the price with same amount of access No restaurant but didn’t bother us as we ate out in restaurants near by

    Location was great 15min walk from union square Loads of good restaurants near the hotel Nice touch - Free coffee and cake in the lobby in the afternoons

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Memorable stay with luxurious amenities and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very tiny and the bed as well but I guess that's normal for a hotel in San Francisco. overnight parking is very expensive but they have a private parking right next door where you pay half the price.

    The staff was very friendly. A kind polish man welcomed us on our first day, the room was not ready but he went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and have the room ready as fast as possible. The bar and restaurant staff is professional and very welcoming. Large selection of food and beverage offerings. The amenities in the room are very nice and luxurious. The bed is incredibly comfortable! Perfect location right next to Union Square!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Electricity in bathroom shut off overnight: no light and no power to plugs. Rooms very loud - neighbors down the hall had a huge screaming fight at 1am and sounded like they were in my room. Pretty bad given the price.

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Amazing room and great coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the staff in the reception had an argue regarding who was suppose to assist us. We did not feel welcomed at all. The fire alarm went on in the middle of the night, when we went down to the reception they said "that happens now and then" with no apologies. A tip for the staff at the hotel is that the visitors understand that everything doesn't always goes 100% smooth but if the staff are kind and service minded that's ok.

    The room was amazing, it was very comfortable and cutie!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Great accommodations but don’t stray too far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. TINY. And it was an upgrade from what I originally booked! It was fine for the two of us for one night, but a longer stay may have been a little tough. The biggest reason I would be unlikely to return is simply the location. This is RIGHT on the edge of a very sketchy, dangerous area. I never felt unsafe inside the hotel, but outside was concerning. I feel like for the price, I could find a better value in a better neighborhood.

    Loved the duvets on the bed! So fluffy and luxe. The finishes in the room were really nice, and the toiletry products provided were good quality. The front desk staff were super friendly, and we loved chatting with the bartender as well, who came to our rescue when our food delivery failed to include utensils. The pineapple cupcakes are a fun afternoon perk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Quirky, comfortable and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Corner Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy adjoining room spoilt our first night. Having a door that interconnects with the adjoining room allowed way too much noise to transmit between rooms. The front desk indicated they were investigating this problem and seeking a solution.

    This was a lovely, quirky and well presented hotel. The rooms were lovely albeit a little noisy from the streets below. The tea and coffee were the best we had on entire trip in US. Staff were friendly and helpful and the problem we had on our first night regarding inconsiderate people in the adjoining room was handled with sincere apologies and immediate steps to make our stay more comfortable by relocating us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    Not worth to pay $300 per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small, couldn't even open bath door without hitting the bed. Really bad wi-fi connection as well. Loudy bar downstairs will disrupt your sleeping if you are in one of the unlucky rooms. Definitely not worth it for $300 a night. To avoid pricey on site parking, we listened doorman's tip to park on a next block, our GPS equipment got stolen inside the car. Definitely not recommending. There are more worthy hotels in downtown that could beat in price and quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Bright, cheerful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not getting upfront information about the $50 amenity fee and what it covers. This took us by surprise as we did not see any reference to this on Hotels.com and it increased the price of our stay by quite a bit. We were told the fee included various advantages, such as unlimited bottled water, flannel in-room slippers, as well as the sports club and other items. All in all, it was worthwhile despite the surprise increase in cost.

    Cheerful and welcoming foyer, lovely pineapple colors and themes, delicious free tiny cakes in the afternoon, excellent cocktails. The room was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed and the thoughtful provision of top sheet and blanket for those who don't like duvets. Staff were helpful and friendly. My husband appreciated access to a gym club and pool up the road, which we paid for through the $50 amenity fee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Best Hotel Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/a

    AMAZING stay at an AMAZING hotel!! The Alice was a beautiful hotel, with updated facilities. We came for our anniversary and were shocked at how wonderful the service was! They really made us feel special. The pineapples everywhere were so cute! And free cupcakes for tea time...yes please! The beds we're like pillows, and the AC worked great. Some reviews mentioned having an issue with noise but we didn't hear a thing. Would recommend the Alise to anyone in a heartbeat, and if we are ever back in the city we will be back ourselves. 5 plus stars!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Would be happy to stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast choice could be wider, maybe easily with a buffet. Noise insulation of the room's door is maybe a bit poor.

    Very nice hotel, well located.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Ok, but expected more. Read up on location before!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two main things; location and rooms. On the rooms, we would have hoped that the size is better represented on the website. They are quoting the room as featuring a queen bed but this feels more like a European double. This should be better explained. We were shown 4 rooms and all were very small which isn’t a problem but the way it was laid out, plus all the furniture, made it feel quite claustrophobic (even for someone being used to European standards). As a couple we didn’t feel very comfortable, so would recommend Standard rooms only for single travellers. The atmosphere of the location on the other hand, while being central, really shocked us. Would not recommend walking from here in any direction other than directly east. We did not feel safe. Not the staff’s fault, but as they are so personal this could be advised upon check-in.

    Great design and lovely staff - really a gem. Felt well looked after.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice, modern design hotel close to the city center and Union...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was directly next to a Bar/Club which was extremely loud every single night and made it impossible to sleep before a 3am. When I mentioned it at the front desk, they offered to waive a $15 convenience fee from a $800 total invoice (less than 2%).

    Nice, modern design hotel close to the city center and Union Square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, not so quite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, it was quite noisy. Windows are not soundproof, so it's really noisy till about 1AM, so I could barely sleep till that time. Too bad, I wanted to have a proper rest after the long flight and I couldn't.

    Nice design, very friendly staff, comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    It was accessible to local transit and shopping was in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The added taxes that I was unaware of. They were very high compared to other places. It added hundreds of unexpected dollars to the cost.

    It was accessible to local transit and shopping was in walking distance (5-10 min walk). The area was not great but peoole kept to themselves so felt safe walking even in evenings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice place, nice staff, absolutely a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small. But I guess most rooms are small in SF. Can’t blame much. But the decorations has compensated the small room.

    The location is good. Very clear pineapple themes. Loves their pineapple water. And the bottled water in the lobby. Very thoughtful and convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive... late night music but ear plugs sorted out the problem

    The staff are fantastic and very informative...an ideal location for sightseeing...the reception and bar area is lovely and the complimentary afternoon tea is a great bonus...compact room but the bed was so comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was near some rougher parts of San Francisco but we didn't have any trouble just took a few days to get used to.

    Very comfortable room and atmosphere. Staff very helpful throughout the stay and overall a great base for our holiday. Free water and coffee/tea was a great addition!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic property not far from union square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with no proper storage are for cases

    Fantastic property not far from union square. On a road with lots of funky bars and restaurants. Love the design of the hotel and all the little quirks but for the price we paid I would have hoped for a bigger/better laid out room. There was hardly any space for suitcases, so most of the floor space was taken up and we had to side step around the room like a couple of crabs. The bar tender was brilliant and it was a nice relaxing spot for a drink before or after going out for dinner. I'd recommend but perhaps not a standard double if you want any space!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, Excellent staff and in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like. It was an excellent hotel, with excellent staff and in a very convenient location.

    Excellent hotel! The rooms are small but perfectly formed. The bed is the comfiest bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. Not to worry that there is no gym on site as the receptionist is more than happy to give you free passes to a fully equipped gym around the corner. The receptionist is a lovely lady and extremely helpful. During this trip my husband and I stayed at 5 hotels in different places and this was my favorite by far. The hotel offers free coffee and cupcakes everyday at 15:00 in the lobby, which was just lovely. I absolutely adored this hotel and would 100% recommend it to a friend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel, so-so location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a little sketchy. It's right on the edge of a very, very bad area. And a lot of it seeps over to the property.

    The hotel was wonderful. The rooms super comfy and it was actually pretty quiet! The bartender was very friendly and gave us some recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    50th Birthday Celebrations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small and charged for extras like coffee and cup cakes in The Lobby which we didn't have and were told they were free

    The hotel was very well located very central and very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff learned of our anniversary and immediately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff learned of our anniversary and immediately provided us with a credit for their bar or any other use at the hotel while there. It was very generous and very kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Cozy but lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking is expensive however they do give the option to self park in a lot nearby that’s cheaper so you pay for the convenience.

    Cozy but perfectly appointed room and the bed was super comfy. Only place we stayed that had both tea and coffee with milk in the fridge. Bar staff incredibly friendly - very much liked the pineapple margaritas! Would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    A lovely hotel, fit for purpose for a few days sightseeing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful.

    A lovely hotel, fit for purpose for a few days sightseeing in the city. Clean and very well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Bed comfortable, staff is pleasant and willing to help.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are tiny. No space to walk around the bed, really, or to have a suitcase.

    Bed comfortable, staff is pleasant and willing to help. The place overall is clean & fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Reasonable sized room with everything you could want for a visit to the city. Very comfy bed. Lovely, friendly, helpful staff. Within easy walking distance of Union Square where you get transportation to all parts of the city by tram, buses and cable car. Several eating places nearby. Lovely pieces of unique art in the lounge areas adds a very classy touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Fab boutique hotel in the lively union square district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms are very small and the bed felt like it was smaller than a double. However, for 2 nights it was fine and I would stay there again.

    Loved the pineapple theme throughout! The decor is beautiful, it's a really modern boutique type hotel and the staff were great.... the manager sent us a bottle of prosecco to our room because we'd got married the week before! Really lovely guy. The room had everything you needed and the bathroom was really nice. Fab hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Would definatly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is hard because I loved the place. I guess the rooms could be a little bigger but that's being very picky

    The staff are amazing and the decor is beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: