Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Quality Inn & Suites Fort Jackson Maingate This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

7251 Garners Ferry Road, Columbia, SC 29209, United States of America

#62 of 85 hotels in Columbia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 55 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and great value for the money.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was friendly and helpful. The food was goood. Entrance to hotel lobby was clean and fresh smelling. My room was clean and also smelled freshly cleaned.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    6.3
    The location is great for anyone going for the FortJackson...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t have any cold water in our room. We had to shower with hot water. The bathroom wasn’t clean well. The housekeeper that cleaned our room was really rude. I had to go back into our room after checking out to change my pants when the housekeeper walks in. My pants were have way down and I screamed I’m changing! Housekeeper (man) just kept the door open. Who does that? I would have immediately closed the door. It was a really uncomfortable situation. I also lost my neckless ( gift from my dad) at the room and the housekeeper didn’t report it to the lost and found. I know I lost it there because that was the last place I saw it, when I took it off.

    The location is great for anyone going for the FortJackson graduations. The staff at front desk was great! They were really helpful during my entire stay!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The side we stayed on didn't have adequate parking. We had to park on a whole different side. Then I got up the next morning, and someone had stole my name tag off my car! You need to put cameras up in around your property. The ventilation system didn't work in the bathroom. Rm325

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    5.8
    Won’t stay here again, but nice front desk folks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is in desperate need of an upgrade. Looks and smells like an old tenement building. Room was clean, but everything smelled like old smoke. Tub wouldn’t drain. Clearly the least desirable and oldest hotel in that area. Yet, the property was swept and free from trash. The owners at least try to keep it presentable.

    The young man at the front desk was welcoming, helpful, and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very comfortable and the free breakfast was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were stains on the lampshades in the room, which was pretty gross. The floor was also not very clean.

    The bed was very comfortable and the free breakfast was a nice perk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    4.2
    Not worth $100.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality inn and suites name makes it sounds okay—but this is all seedy Motel not hotel. Door not completely closing-light from outside at night coming through. Light fixtures rusted. Poor job painting and patching holes in wall. Outside trash in various places overflowing. Breakfast area too small and food sparse and unappetizing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    7.9
    The young man checking me in was extremely pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little run down looking overall, although the lobby was very nice and new looking. The air freshener/ scent that they used in the room was very strong smelling.

    The young man checking me in was extremely pleasant and helpful. We did not eat breakfast there but the lobby area was nice and the breakfast looked decent. It was a very basic hotel for a quick overnight trip while travelling back home from FL

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    4.6
    Dirty and depressing
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property was dirty from the rooms to the parking lot. There were cigarette butts all over the walkways and the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. The lighting in the rooms was dim and depressing. I did not feel safe in this hotel.

    The property was close to the Army base. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    5.8
    The staff is sub par
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I live six and a half hours away coming from Huntsville Alabama for my son graduating BT.I did not leave Alabama until after my shift ended at 1100pm called halfway to ensure that my Room was still booked and the older man with the glasses stated that it was then 1 hour later he calls me and tells me my card is declined I thought I was going to pay the property when I got there and not before had to give another card to keep my room from being lost he and the young lady at the checkout completed my entire transaction sitting down

    What I liked most was the lady that was in charge for breakfast she was nice seems like she wanted to be at work

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.8
    Slept like a log
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk outside to reach the room and lounge areas.

    The bedding and pillows were top of the line in comfort. The wonderful lady who ran the kitchen was a pleasure to meet every morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.6
    Nice Location for Visiting Army Families
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is located in the middle of a congested noisy area. It tends to get a little noisy in the early morning hours or late night.

    Rooms were very clean, no odor, no insects or bugs. Accessible elevator to get to higher floors which cuts the hassle out of baggage. This hotel is also conveniently located next to a Waffle House restaurant making those late night or early morning cravings so much easier to get to. The complimentary free breakfast is delicious, has a very nice variety, and the cook/ breakfast attendant is a super sweet lady! This location is also great for those visiting the Fort Jackson Army Base!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    10
    Went for my son's military graduation and it was worth it.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool closed at 8 and I wish it was open until 9pm.

    The pool, the bed was very comfortable, they were very nice, and even the maintenance people were very nice when I asked them for one extra towel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.0
    The the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet seat was broke, there was a piece broken out of the front of the sink, the lock on the door only had one screw, super loud by the road not no fault of the there's however there were kids above us jumping on the ceiling. It just needed some love and attention inside and out.

    The the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    5.0
    Drab, shabby, and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor, (lack of) cleanliness, neighborhood, (unfriendly) staff, (dated) design, (poor) maintenance, (minimal, poor) upkeep of entire motel.

    It had an elevator to the second floor and it was close to the Army base. It was a decent place to stop as we arrived in Columbia at 100am and had to rest. Otherwise we would have kept looking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    2.9
    Pick a different Quality Inn in this coty avoid this one.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A drastic step down in quality from even the other Quality Inns in this city. They also overcharge for incidentals which took 6 phone calls and days to clear up.

    Close to Shoneys & highway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    5.8
    Elevator access was not good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator access was not good. My room had an odor, toilet seat broken, alarm clock not working. Stink bugs crawling on ceiling.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    5.0
    other than staff ,,,, everything else was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy mattress had sunken in spot - worn out

    bathroom was clean and spacious TV was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great staff and service!
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff and service!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    5.8
    staff was friendly but i wasn't satisfied with the cleanliness of the room
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the carpet was dirty and we had problems with the bathroom

    the rates

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    The rom was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lighting in the room was not enough. Very dark and gloomy.

    The rom was comfortable. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    3.8
    Very dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty Bugs in rooms Sticky in room Light in bathroom was blinking

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    Nice and clean -was on a busy highway but there was no noise...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On a busy highway

    Nice and clean -was on a busy highway but there was no noise we could hear in our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    It was very satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The time wasn’t accurate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    5.4
    Location is convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff. Was accused and charged for taking pillows when I actually paid the house keeper for them but he lied and said I didn’t.

    Location is convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    4.6
    Very uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The poor condition of the building. Getting in the elevator was disgustingly dirty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.

    Great customer service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom shower was not working good

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    7.9
    The staff was really nice and helpful.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    9.2
    Comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    7.5
    Building is a little older, could use a remodel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building is a little older, could use a remodel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2016

    10
    thanks
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    everything

    Stayed in November 2016

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31