Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wailea, Relais & Châteaux - Adults Only 5 stars

555 Kaukahi Street, Wailea, HI 96753, USA

#5 of 40 hotels in Wailea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Secluded rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secluded rooms. Quiet mornings. Great lobby. Fantastic pool for couples. No kids (that’s the point). Just a great luxury hotel experience in Waimea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    This is a beautiful, quiet property in lush surroundings with a great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A casual breakfast place would have been great. Somewhere just to have a coffee and a muffin, instead of having to sit down for a formal and quite expensive breakfast. The bar closes at 10pm, which is a bit early, but seemingly typically in this part of Maui.

    The property is very relaxed and set in lush surroundings. The villas are spacious and comfortable. The restaurant is superb. It's easy to move around to the beach and the local shops with the hotel's own transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed ourselves overall. The staff and rooms were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk up the hill to get anywhere. We have knee issues and it was hard on us. We know we could call for a golf cart ride but we would have liked to be closer. Also, the pond behind our room was gross.

    Clean lines. Excellent staff Well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    We could not have been more satisfied with everything at this hotel. Well worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No suggestions for improvement. This is a great experience.

    Outstanding suite, great setting with beautifully landscaped property, wonderful views, outstanding restaurant and excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Romantic getaway to celebrate a milestone anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from other hotels/beach. Price of room was steep.

    John at concierge was amazing and helped plan our excursions and hikes. Loved the shuttle service with Tesla vehicles

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    The Staff, especially James, Malesia and Chad were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect we will return.

    The Staff, especially James, Malesia and Chad were exceptional. The Food was outstanding, especially the Smoked beet and avocado salad!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    I will recommend this place, it is a real pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personal, location, amenities ...

    It is a wonderful place to stay, the staff is exceptional, he gives excellent information and good recommendation. Excellent breakfast but for the restaurant, you can find better place. the service to go to the beach is excellent. Definitively, you need to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing views at a very peaceful oasis, will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room service is limited to restaurant menu in evening. We would have preferred more traditional options for a quiet night in.

    Amazing stay, perfect getaway for couples. Beautiful gardens, with a view of the Pacific unmatched on Maui.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    This was incredible resort from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was incredible resort from start to finish. The service was exceptional and the grounds were beautiful. The ambiance was very elegant, romantic and classy. The food was the best we had in Wailea. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Great place to unwind away from the resorts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping reprimanded me about smoking because they found a butt. I was smoking way further away than 20 feet, then putting my butts in a cup outside my room. They made a big deal about it and it ruined my day and zen!!

    They had bath salts ready to use right on the side of the soaking tub. Perfect for a soak after a long day of travel! Great Molten Brown bath products as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    The beds were so soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too pricey. Maybe should have included a breakfast of some kind because they only offered coffee.

    The beds were so soft. The room was always cleaned. Bathroom was dreamy. Had a lot of privacy! Also loved the transportation to the beach and how easy it was to get to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Great choice in Maui if you want to avoid the crowds and indulge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact is, it's a hike from the 'official' beach. Yes, they provide a ride in a car (the most accommodating, efficient, friendly bell boys you'd ever meet) ... but still. Once you get to the beach, the 'club' will provide you with a beach umbrella, a chez-lounge, water and towels. All of which has to be packed up before 4 pm due to some rules. Still, the hotel is a great alternative to the mega monster hotels that plague the shoreline.

    A lovely boutique place, small in scale, plush with comfort and design. Excellent staff and service. Fantastic restaurant. Great location just a short drive from the Big and Little beaches - best wild ones on the island. Also, nice complimentary yoga classes - aerial yoga teacher, Andrea, was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Serene luxury and a superb personalised service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach was so and so, a little crowded with guests from adjoining hotels (be it the four seasons) and other beach goers. But the beach boys are as wonderful as all the Wailea staff and will set you up with an umbrella, beds, towels and water. They will also arrange your shuttle pick up! Which never kept us waiting too long. The pool bar closing at 6pm!

    You will be met smiles, alohas, incredible views, running waterfalls and a beautiful lobby. A personalised service- they will take note of what you like, what you need more of and try to make your stay as full, enjoyable and luxurious as possible. We couldn't wait to get back to find a cosy spot (there are many) and order a cocktail- we are normally the adventurous types who spend the least time in hotels. The staff carry a wonderful energy, they are attentive and full of tips, simply lovely. From the valet boys to the front desk to the pool bar to the restaurant bar - which had an excellent collection of bottles. They offer valet and a personal Shuttle service anywhere in the Wailea area. You can also arrange for electric bikes. Lush green grounds- fetch the avocado tree! running water falls and killer views from almost anywhere. A beautiful open wall gym. A great pool menu for drinks and food. You will be very sweetly taken care of.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    The Wow is Worth Every Penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not many vegetarian options in the restaurant which took us out for dinner every night and every lunch, but this is usual wherever we go so not a big deal.

    Wow, as a frequent business traveler I have never seen a place like this...it is worth every penny and more. We stayed here at the tail end (3 nights) of our 10 days in Maui and I'm annoyed that I didn't just book all our days here. What a beautiful and amazing surprise. Ocean view is the way to go. HUGE lanai, handcrafted materials in and out. Just amazing. We will be back as soon as we have more vacation days! Best feature was eating breakfast on the lanai and watching the sun come up over Molokini. Staff and service levels are out of this world good. Thanks Hotel Wailea for making our trip memorable!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful landscape; large, clean and remote, but expensive and not completely quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay at this hotel was rather expensive and not as quiet as I had hoped it would be. A street passing by my sea-view apartment was quite noisy and the traffic woke me up in the morning. The food was nice but not excellent and it was over-priced (though I only ordered room service and did not visit the restaurant). The pool was tiny.

    The hotel was located in a very beautiful park. The rooms or rather apartments were large, well-equipped and clean. Guests had their privacy, and I met very few other guests during my stay. The location on the hill was a little remote but the view was excellent and the shuttle service to the beach and other locations worked very well and conveniently.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    The perfect honeymoon location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This part of the island is very quiet which we loved but others may not. In Wailea, most restaurants are closed by 10pm.

    This was the perfect location for our honeymoon. The rooms are beautiful and extremely spacious. We loved the big balcony, comfy bed and the bath was a nice touch. The staff were great- nothing was too big of an ask and they were always genuinely friendly. We used the shuttle frequently instead of hiring a car and uber if we needed to go further. We enjoyed the relaxed vibe of the pool area - the food and cocktails are pricey but well worth it! The gym was spacious and had a reasonable selection of equipment. Overall, a really perfect stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    This property is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    This property is amazing. We felt relaxed the moment we were greeted by the wonderful staff. Such a unique property with beautiful accommodation and views to die for. The restaurant was excellent, we really enjoyed the meals we ate there. The staff went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. It was everything and more you would expect from a 5* hotel. We loved the setting away from the strip of other hotels you can stay in when in Maui. We can't wait to return. :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Charming and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not located near the beach, but there is a good transfer available. Restaurant is good but a bit overpriced (normal in Hawaii). Rooms are big but not very luxurious.

    A great small hotel with good service. The rooms are nice, big and they have a beautiful at the water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    The view from the rooms was incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the rooms was incredible. An amazing place to watch the sunset each night. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the complimentary shuttle around the Wailea area made everything easy. The pool area was quiet enough whilst still having a fun and vibrant atmosphere and the cocktails were fab! The hotel restaurant also had stunning views and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Met Expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is a touch small for a hotel of this quality and the bar man at the pool had a very loud voice through the day.

    The natural service of the front desk and all staff we dealt with. Also the PT class with Katie was excellent, as was the dinner at the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Exceptional place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities. Beautiful hotel. Great rooms. Particularly loved the pool area ... was great to relax and soak up some sun. The service was fantastic. The dedicated beach area and car shuttle service worked really well too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    PHENOMENAL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is exquisite! The room, the view, the grounds and the outstanding service! The attention to detail is unmatched and a focus on insuring that your stay goes beyond expectations. Look forward to coming back! Special thank you to John for making our Anniversary so special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Top of the bill care and attention!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just a fabulous stay. Fantastic studio with ocean view and nice balcony to enjoy our evening wine and breakfast in the morning. The care and attention of all the staff made our stay even more pleasant. We enjoyed every minute of it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Not to miss!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was super! I wouldn't change a thing... we actually stayed an extra night!

    Located just up the hill from the beach in a quiet and private location. The property is beautiful. The pool and private cabanas amazing. The bar is just adjacent to the pool. If you are lucky to be at the pool when James is the bartender, be prepared for quite a fun time! Rooms are exquisite, the restaurant top drawer! Exercise room fabulous... and sign up for the Aerial yoga!!!! We can't wait to go back!! Adults only people and with the hustle and bustle it is truly a treat! Romantic, rejuvenating, relaxing!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Piece and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of staff cars using service road early morning. We miss the breakfast buffet they used to have. Parking spaces too narrow. Dining room expensive and bad name: Restaurant

    Piece and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Room is spacious and overlooking the beautiful molokini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the hotel restaurant is too high.

    Room is spacious and overlooking the beautiful molokini crater. Remember to book the room with sea view. Very convenient shuttle which can take you everywhere around Wailea area. Hotel very quiet given no children allowed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    Met expectations with some issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Over-priced so poor value. Relais & Chateaux property but this name is over valued. Golf cart req'd to access other parts of the property. Restaurant vastly overpriced. too far from the waterfront. Room and food prep cleanliness very basic, Dirty knives not properly washed. No dishwasher, inadequate food prep space, Wolf fridge unsuitable for the purpose. Kitchen needs redesign to provide what was missing. Condo's half the price are better equipped re kitchen and table/chairs etc. Property a steep site so hard to get around from suites to front desk or pool. some lighting fixtures didn't work or hard to operate. Room cleaning was no more than a cursory dry broom waved about.

    Quiet, quality feel, private, saw or heard few other guests in their accomm.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Property, Eat Dinner Somewhere Else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like The Restaurant for dinner. Staff not properly trained, over priced for mediocre food. Dinner at the restaurant was the low point of our visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    The rooms are absolutely gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing that could make it better is if it was oceanfront. You lose the privacy, though , that you get up on the hill. And the high view is beautiful.

    The rooms are absolutely gorgeous. Wood floors, kitchenette, furniture, bed. All very high quality and island chic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Except couple of things we loved our stay ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got an ocean view room and the views were good but the problem was that there was a street in front that you could hear all the cars passing while in the balcony. I was looking forward to sit there, read and meditate but the noise was very annoying and would ruin the scerenity. You should also know that this property is not on the beach, there is a free shuttle that takes you the the beach where the hotel provides beds and towels but walking on the wailea beach I thought it could have been nice to be right on the beach when you wake up in the morning:) with that said we really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is still beautiful and the staff exceed your expectations!

    We loved our stay, the staff were amazing! The hotel is on beautiful grounds and nice facilities and the room was spacious and super clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    10 out of 10 for great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a beautiful property, amazing views of the ocean, truly creates a relaxing and joyful atmosphere. Loved it very much. Aerial yoga class was so much fun! Have to give a shout out to the staff, and especially the bellboys - they are the most courteous and friendly folks, working so hard, and making a wonderful stay for the guests! 10 out of 10 for their service!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Superb hotel at all levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. A bit expensive maybe?

    One of the best hotels I have stayed at. It is far from cheap, but you get a lot in return. They make an enormous effort to make you feel welcome, and lots of things are included. Complimentary wifi, valet parking, cookies, ice tea and coffee in the lobby, nice cabanas and ice water by the pool,... They take care of all the details: valet leaves bottles of ice water in when they fetch your car etc. A huge difference from the hiltons I have stayed at, where I felt they squeezed you like a lemon for every small thing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a lack of Hotel events - but that's ok as the hotel is geared more for personal relaxation and being quiet.

    The staff was fantastic and the ground were beautiful. The ocean views from our room were amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was under construction. Very very minor inconvenience.

    The staff was amazing. They offer a great limo service to anywhere in the Wailea area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    I didn't like how my first reservation was deleted which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how my first reservation was deleted which left my friends trying to work out how to stay on their last night. Which I know is not the fault of the hotel but rather booking.com. Next time I will book through another site.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.8
    Very good hotel - Service could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The employee don't care about the guests at all. - Even if you tips you can see that they are milking the tips like crazy and don't even bring you water at the pool if you aren't giving them 50 bucks a day in tips.

    - Awesome property and awesome garden - The room are great. - Food is great ! - In room breakfast is cool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Five days of luxurious living beyond belief
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had some tiny ants in the bathroom and kitchenette sink areas. Had to throw out some snacks that we had stored in the cupboard. Not sure if there was moisture that caused them to be there.

    Absolutely everything!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel. Great place, better people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices could have been lower but your in Hawaii, so not surprising.

    Staff was awesome. Resturaunt was great. Room and property were well designed and we'll maintained.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    5.4
    Beautiful buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Lack of facilities. Price was same as some of the better beachfront high end resorts, but not as good. Woman on the pool bar was awful. The villas are in blocks of 4, you can hear the people above you and the balconies are not private at all.

    Beautiful buildings. Nice room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect (best) retreat in Maui, Hawai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could be included in price (like in Europes or Asians resorts). First row houses do face on not so busy road. These are just small notices and suggestions!

    Great resort with great staff! Location was great. Not missed anything!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were uncomfortable to the point where my partner and I couldn't hardly sleep through the night. The hotel isn't right on the beach, and for the exact same price you could go elsewhere in the area and get a room right on the beach.

    Excellent and friendly staff, the pool is gorgeous, the transportation service was incredibly helpful, and the view was beautiful. No children, so it's a great place for adults to relax. The property is quite large, so you can wander around if you have time in between activities. They have complimentary valet, but also a self-park area which I prefer because I don't like to fuss with valet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Perfect honeymoon location for couples who love nature and serenity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not on the beach. The new restaurant has a limited menu.

    Panoramic ocean views. Our own little private oasis on the hill. Very intimate. A great alternative to the other Wailea resorts if you want something quiet and don't mind a 5 min drive to the beach. The staff will drive you in Mercedes SUVs anywhere in Wailea for free and the beach chairs and umbrellas are located in a great spot between the Grand Wailea and Four Seasons resorts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    The best place for couples in Wailea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This resort is expensive but it's definitely on par with the Four Seasons and the Andaz nearby. There is only one issue, which is location.The Hotel Wailea is located upslope, on the hillside, not on the beach. If you want to use the beach, you'll need to take the tram to the beach. This did not present much of a problem. That said, the overall quality of the resort and the service is excellent.

    Hotel Wailea is the best place we stayed in Maui by far. We will return. This couples-only resort offers enormous rooms with kitchen and huge bath and living areas, plus a big private lanai. The restaurant is the best -- by far -- in all of Wailea. Superb service , beautiful grounds, a nice pool, great yoga room and gym, and all around a wonderful resort for adults who want some quiet time to relax.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. They treat everyone with personal care and attention to detail. The classes and activities offered are great fun and a relaxed way to meet other staying at the hotel. I can't recommend staying here highly enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.9
    The staff and limo / shuttle service was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one restaurant and no other option if just want a late night snack or not a high priced meal.

    The staff and limo / shuttle service was great. I liked the grounds and the peacefulness of the place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was next to a side access road which was a little noisy when on the balcony and would be useful if there was a small shop on site as the nearest supermarket is a bit of a drive away given the property location.

    Property is beautiful and clean, generally very quiet, pool area is great and the complimentary shuttle is really useful. Guys at the beach club are very helpful and the mixology class with James is a must!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    Loved our stay in Maui - thank you Hotel Wailea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is isolated. You need a car/taxi. Movement in Wailea is fine but not very far using the hotel shuttle. Needs to extend up the coast up to the airport

    Staff went the extra mile for you

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best. Stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    It was a scenic, secluded, charming getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sometimes the service (such as picking up used dishes from my the room) was slow

    Staff was all very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Affords privacy in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise from street below.

    Affords privacy in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Expensive bungalow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced and extra 35$ resort fee... what for?!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    All was perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfection

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderfull stay in Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wonderfull rooms, amazing hotel, amazing service, peacefull setting and

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Divine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, food, pool, beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    An amazing way to honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about Hotel Wailea was amazing- the suite, pool, staff, cocktails, could go on and on!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful romantic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little remote, but when we had hire car it was fine. And hotel shuttle was good.

    Wonderful facilities and staff. Fantastic view from balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic. Just beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury and simplicity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury toiletries were lush

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    No kids
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kids

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Vacation in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing and the grounds are simply stunning. Valet even provided cold water in car which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Book now....a quiet fantastic hideaway!
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was there alonr

    Beautiful gardens with a killer view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in a dream location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best room ever. It was well designed and fully functional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Location and the type of suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the type of suite

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    Decadent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Restaurant over-priced

    Beauty and quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Good place for couples looking for quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the beach

    Quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    Best place to stay on Maui kid free
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool wouid have great being a bit warmer. Was difficult to swim in as too cold :(

    Amazing. Romantic. Friendly. Generous. Beautiful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Our stay could not have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No recommendations.

    Property and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    5.8
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was freezing no one used it

    Not much

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.6
    Everything was just awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was just awesome. Very romantic place that made our honeymoon even more special!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish they would have been a bit more LGBT friendly. Visited on our honeymoon.

    A fabulous resort!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent Gorgeous grounds and pool area Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.6
    Every staff was very friendly even though our English was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower is a little bit weak.

    Every staff was very friendly even though our English was not so good. They celebrated our honeymoon very nicely. And we enjoyed the beautiful panoramic view from the top of Wailea.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    I liked being up on the hill away from it all The free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked being up on the hill away from it all The free transfer down to Wailea worked well and I particularly liked that this was a small intimate resort compared to the Four Seasons and the others

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful location. Beautiful grounds with fabulous views towards Molokini. Excellent staff. Limo transfer a great bonus. Outrigger trip excellent. Good and service exceptional

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: