Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Jamaica JFK Airport NYC 2 stars

15395 Rockaway Boulevard, Queens, NY 11434, USA

#82 of 119 hotels in Queens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4244 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The room was very clean and had an at home feel, great for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    The room was very clean and had an at home feel, great for short or overnight stays and the staff accommodated me well after missing my flight. The shuttle driver (George) and the manager were both excellent. Hope to visit again soon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Handy for JFK airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices could be improved. Room was at the corner of a very busy corridor to reception & the lift....constant noise, even in the middle of the night. View out of window to a manky side street. Each time we rung for hotel shuttle bus from airport, had to do it twice, as they never turned up till at least 45 mins later. Took all the payments for our room , off my credit card , without asking-we had planned to pay with cash. Only restaurant was the Burger King next door, bit much after 3 or 4 days...didn't like to venture further into the neighbourhood...

    Good value for a cheap bus ride away from the centre of New York. Had our sheets changed & everything cleaned, every day. Very close to JFK airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Need a breather after Manhattan/before flight? THIS is it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of much!

    Excellent location, on the money shuttle! Great continental breakfast, coffee all day! Super bath/shower. Great Value! Unbelievable Wine/liquor store on the corner by 7/11!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Close to airport perfect for layovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking gave me the impression it was a 3 star hotel. It’s a 2 star. Bed sheets were thin as paper. I could hear people in the hallways, vehicles and commercial trucks backing up all night. The trucks would beep. I got a hot tub in my room and the piece to release the water was broken. My room got humid and uncomfortable due to the large amount of sitting water.

    The hotel was ok for a overnight stay. Staff was nice and facilities do look ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Staff is fantastic and helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 301 is on the road so there is quite a bit of traffic noise.

    Staff is fantastic and helpful and friendly. Airport shuttle is great. Rooms are spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Close to airport, hotel shuttle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My flight was delayed and I missed the normal hours in which the hotel shuttle runs, and the front desk was kind enough to send security to collect me from the airport. That was such a big help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Right price for JFK convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure to request an odd numbered room! Exterior facing rooms will allow for very little rest as there is street noise 24/7. It seriously sounds like the highway is running through the room.

    Great location for JFK departure Staff is friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Good Night Sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we only stopped overnight and left before the breakfast service, I could not comment on the food service, except the coffee at 5.0am was very welcome

    The staff were welcoming and very friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Terrible, never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting reception behind glass. As if they expected an attack. Hideous hard bed. Awful staff. Horrid smell everywhere . No double glazing..so very loud drom the road noise.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Just comments from a South African.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions on how to get into NY on the public transport. Airport transfer drivers were both very non communicative.

    Bed was good. Enjoyed the privacy. People on the front desk could have been more friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Substandard. Wyndham should remove their name!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one receptionist is behind a bullet proof glass, unfriendly and argumentative. Took us 30 minutes to check-in. The breakfast was rudimentary with limited staff. The rooms are relatively small. Shuttle service does not take you all the wy to to the airport. Not up to Wyndham standards.

    Very little.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    2.5
    Unpleasant, unsafe, uncomfortable. Absolutely awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rudest staff I have ever encountered in a hotel experience - sarcastic and patronising. They would rather have you on the streets than help you figure out a solution to a booking problem. Could not recommend less.

    Nothing - the only good thing about this hotel was it’s shuttle bus and the location near the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    The location is great and very near to the airport.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing is because it is near the road,sometimes it’s a bit too noisy from outside.

    The location is great and very near to the airport.They have free shuttle which is very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Good Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It was a hotel suitable for an overnight stay between flights. Quite basic but it was fine for our purpose.

    The staff for check in were very friendly and its always nice to see a smiling face after a long flight. They assisted us with our luggage which was most appreciated. There was a good breakfast available off the lobby area. This spot also had equipment for making meals at other times. Had a great sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Expensive, basic hotel close to JFK
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic hotel for the price. NYC is expensive, but one can do much better in this price range.

    The hotel is convenient for a one-night stop over at JFK. Shuttle worked well, and there is at least a Burger King close for a quick bite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, helpful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from the bedroom window

    This was a good choice for a hotel close to JFK airport. Able to accommodate our arrival at 1.30 am and with a late check out the next morning. The room was clean and comfortable with a fridge. The breakfast was self service continental but very plentiful and varied. Very helpful folder of information explaining how to get around eg. to Manhattan by public transportation. Staff at reception changed dollar bills into coins for the bus for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    George , driving the shuttle and working in the reception...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some people with children in the next room made a lot of noise , can't blame the hotel for this.

    George , driving the shuttle and working in the reception area was very helpful. The hotel is really close to the airport , this is both good and not so good at the same time ( due to the noise ) , on the other hand , if you choose an airport hotel you already know it's not 100% silent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    The room was well kept and the bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The worse floor I ever seen is the on the first floor in your hotel. The breakfast menu needs improving.

    The room was well kept and the bed was very comfortable. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed that little sofa like other hotels.but there was a bench and a desk chair.

    It was a great little place. It was ok. I like the fact that there was food places near by ,there was also near by places menu in their book that you could have ordered from.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    A quiet, comfortable short stay, slightly marred by inadequate staff at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait for over an hour for a pick-up at the airport. There were stairs (down which we had to carry our luggage) to our ground floor room, when we discovered that there was a luggage elevator we could have used, if we had been so informed by the receptionist.

    The bathroom was like brand new. The beds were comfortable. Our room was quiet, and we were so tired that we went to bed as soon as possible. The breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    it was horrible, not worth ur money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was so dirty and unclean. the windows were up but you could hear everything on the streets. the breakfast tasted cheap and not a lot of options, i would not recommend staying here

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    لايوجد
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I were booked 2 room in hotel and my filght was at evning i ask supervsor of the hotel to extend just one hour to prepair my bagages to check out and he revuse to extend half hour and he was unfreindly!!!!!

    لايوجد

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Close to JFK, flexibility in checking in early if room is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds sag quite a bit - not very good for my back which requires as much firmer bed. The floor of our room felt oily/sticky, we were on the 2nd floor (and are used to not wearing our shoes “in the house”). Small room, quite a tight squeeze if you had 4 in the room plus luggage but we were only there for a night...so it was tolerable.

    Close to JFK, flexibility in checking in early if room is ready, allowed us to stay after check out as our flight was only at 11pm, staff is so very helpful. Burger King is just next door, bus to the train station (to Manhattan) is right outside Burger King and cones every 10 minutes or so.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay here if you can help it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the 1st property we have stayed in where the photos did not match the property. The bedding is old. The floors of the rooms are scratched. The beds were uncomfortable. After 3 weeks of travelling the USA this was the most expensive and least comfortable Hotel. The Reception staff hardly speak English. The check in process is very slow. Honestly it was a rip off!

    Free shuttle to JFK Airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean except for the tables in my room and their was an old towel which belong to someone else hanging over the shower.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    It was fine, except for the shuttle service. I know that the shuttle driver also does repairs, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Howard Johnson Airport Shuttle only operates until midnight. Also, it only services the hotel guests with the service once per hour, so that I had to wait almost an hour at Federal Circle for the shuttle to arrive. The hotel agent I phoned to request they send the shuttle was not clear about the delay so that I phoned a second time to inquire why they had not yet arrived.

    The accommodations including the bed and bath were very comfortable. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    It’s near two bus stops.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d like for offer 24 hour shuttle service.

    It’s near two bus stops. There are other hotels around. It’s easy to get a taxi if you need one. There are places to get food. They have a nice outside area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    A find!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby is a bit small

    From the gentleman who met me with the shuttle to the reception staff, each was genuinely helpful and attentive. The bed was heaven!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    The location was on the out skirts of the airport with...
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cramp with two full sized bed. Just wanted some more space for we had intended to stay for a week. There was a smelled of marijuana smoke and did observe prostitution activity within an hour of being there just waiting to check in. There was a shelter directly across the street and some other commercial businesses on the strip.

    The location was on the out skirts of the airport with access to highways less than 5 minutes and parking at rear.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    It was close to the casino and also to my best friend's home. It was very easy for us to meet up and to do the things we had planned out. Was such a convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this facility and I already have to my family who asked where I was staying for my
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have a switch for a bright room light so my family member who is partially blind kept running into the closet, chair,bed ect.

    I had a very comfortable stay. The staff was very attentive to our needs. My only recommendation was to have the option of a bright overhead light in the room optional for vision impaired.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    The property had no carpets which is perfect due to the...
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking limited but free

    The property had no carpets which is perfect due to the amount of traffic, smell and very descent. Near the airport (1.7 miles)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Clean but not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Sugary fruit juices and toast and muffins. Very unhealthy overall. Air con was also very noisy

    Bed was comfortable. Airport shuttle was easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Very close to JFK airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had to flight super early, breakfast was not available. Being an airport hotel, it should be always available

    Very close to JFK airport. Clean and perfect for a very short stay in between flights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Very close to airport and good shuttle service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what it is and breakfast was inadequate and not much seating for the amount of rooms and people that were staying.

    Very close to airport and good shuttle service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    go somewhere else if you need quite sleep a clean room with clean air in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was not clean, bed was uncomfortable and the was noise through the night. The AC unit smelled moldy and musty and I had to leave it off to keep from stinking up the room.

    close to airport and has shuttle service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    My stay was very good as I said it's a home away from home for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is noisy, and no place to hold your bag for a few hours just before leaving.

    Location is always good, bus stops to and from is a few steps away as you walk out the hotel there is a bus stop and on the opposite side there is a bus stop. You can go to the laundry mart a 10 minutes walk to get your clothes wash and dry, it may cost for one load about $5.00 total to wash and dry, if you don't have a metro card on the first day out you can ask the bus driver for a ride, then purchase a week travel metro card cost $32. Plus $1. For the card, it's renewable every week or 7 days for $32. Card expires after one year. There is Green Acres mall, you can stop off just before the cinema, and ask where to get a bus #85 to green acres, make sure it says green acres (not limited) come off at the last stop, that's where green acres mall is also Walmart, BJ wholesale shopping center, but you can shop there, anyone will swipe their card for you cuz you are not a member. At the mall there is a variety of food, I love the one that says fill your box with all that you want, make it close then pay $7.99 Back at the hotel the breakfast is good, with fresh eggs every day, fruits hot and cold drinks, you also have access to cutlery cups plates etc, during the day, also milk and coffee, and hot water, you can warm your food in the dining area where there is a microwave available. The staff is very friendly, although not much English is spoken nor understanding, but they try to help you in whatever way. I think the only discomfort is the bed, very noisy, the hotel management should look into that. The place is very clean, not a cockroach in sight which is very good, sheets towels changed daily, hot and cold water in the shower, clean mat for the toilet. This is a hotel considered a home away from home for me, it's the only hotel I stay when I'm in NY.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. the breakfast was not encouraging at all. very few options to choose from. food also not okay for children. 2. the disable lift needs to be upgraded. it is manually controlled.

    1. the room was quite okay and good value for money. 2. The room was very comfortable and multiple tv channels to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel for transiting JFK for Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only protein for breakfast was hard boiled eggs, but not a big deal. It was your basic free breakfast with no frills.

    Excellent quiet room, free airport shuttle, and free breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    For what it is, an economical stay for delays and long...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise

    For what it is, an economical stay for delays and long layovers, it fits the bill. Breakfast provided as well as shuttle service to JFK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like their credit card policy which was obnoxious and not well handled by the unapologetic staff that didn't seem to give a rat's behind about inconveniencing their customers. In general, it doesn't seem like they care at all about their customers so be prepared for that.

    Decent place to sleep and close to the airport. If you're traveling alone, I recommend it but the hotel policy is a bit harsh and they seem to attract a lot of unsavory characters. It doesn't feel like a very safe area to be honest. Morning shuttle was on time but front desk was definitely apathetic and uninterested in making the experience even close to positive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Missed flight connection @ JFK
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your average 'meh' American hotel, pieces missing from coffee maker in room, very limited breakfast options, hair stuck to the shower drain.

    Near to the airport, quick shuttle ride.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.2
    I will never willingly stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 of the 3 staff I encountered at the reception desk were unkind, unwelcoming and uninformed. One seemed to struggle with English. Another gave me wrong information about the breakfast option which resulted in me missing the shuttle service that I wanted to catch. By the way, the shuttle service is a quarter to an hour to the airport and they require that you are ready 20 minutes before - this was not articulated to me on checking in. It is on one of the many signs in the reception area so if you've been flying / travelling for a whole day or more, be sure to note these small things on entering smh. The breakfast is not suitable for persons who are gluten or lactose intolerant. There are no hot meal options like eggs or hash. The carpets need cleaning. The tub was not that clean at the bottom (there were some dark stains) and the shower curtain needed changing (there was a small hole in it). The towels could do with a change as well.. they are not big enough to wrap around a person size 16 or more. The room was not well lit and the decor was too dull and masculine. The room was too small and the conveniences not suitable given the price.

    The mattress was soft. Relatively short distance to the airport. The cleaning staff were pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.9
    Terrible!!! Unless one would like to paid extra for others to stay for free!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not feel safe!!! Bullet proof glass as you check in. Parking lot was unsafe! Seamed as if homeless people were staying there. Why should we pay $200/ room and have 2 rooms when homeless people paid nothing!!!! We were not able to obtain our free hot breakfast because of the homeless people ate it all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    set up of bathroom towels and soap , we are supposed to be 3 but it set up for two, knowing that we paid an additional , person.

    the staff are approachable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Poor Value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very skimpy with very little to pick from. The AC in the room was very loud and noisy. This is an old facility and the rooms are very small. They can charge more because of the location is close to the airport but there is not value for the money.

    This was okay for one overnight from the airport. They do provide a free shuttle but it does not run after midnight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.8
    I guess I exspected the Howard Johnson as it was back when.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above what happened to Howard Johnson?

    I guess I exspected the Howard Johnson as it was back when. The airport pick up was terrible, we had to ride a train, walk a long distance, and do that with two large pieces of luggage, plus carry ons. The only reason we scheduled the lay overover was because after an 11 hour plane ride, and another 8 hour trip ahead, we needed the rest. My husband and I are both handicapped, this was definitely not a pleasant stop over.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    This property is close to the JFK airport.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at this location the night before an early flight, so that we could get some rest and sleep in a little. They have a shuttle that runs back and forth to the airport which is very helpful. Unfortunately, the night we stayed there was an unruly group of people there also. They were screaming and running up and down the halls, banging on room doors, partying and singing happy birthday as loud as they could. This went on until around 2a.m. And even with several calls to the front desk, the staff failed to manage the situation. My children and I were exhausted. We didn’t sleep for even a moment.

    This property is close to the JFK airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    A quick stop on your way to Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continuous noise outside throughout the night. Breakfast could've been better. Not enough toasters. Should've been more counters so people could get what they wanted more easily. No clear start or end and free for all.

    The room was very comfortable, excellent bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    Very noisy characterless 60’s style motel with unfriendly staff representing poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area tatty and unwelcoming as was person on check in duty. Whole building needed updating and rooms refurbished to very low standard. Double glazing totally ineffective and impossible to sleep on a very busy and nosiy Street front

    Comfortable king size bed. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worried about the use for so much paper/disposable material. What about the call to recycle on intetrst of the environment.

    The shuttle service was flexible and drinker most obliging

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    5 min from JFK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for the quality of the hotel! No cover above the entrance - it was raining heavily when we arrived and we had to unload under the rain. 1st floor is half way under the street level. Room was very small. We spent 3 nights, family of four, every day maid would leave two sets of towels and I had to go to the reception and get two more, they would not bring them to us. Isolation is not very good, we could hear noise from the corridor and other rooms.

    5 min from JFK Staff at the reception was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Very comfortable bed and close proximity to JFK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is exceptionally noisy. Lots of traffic noise in the room, could have been better shielded.

    Very comfortable bed and close proximity to JFK

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location. A little pricy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was noisy at night, because of air conditioning from the outside. Not on the other room (as we had 2 rooms) but still that is a point to consider

    Good location easy ride from JFK (but no shuttle after 11:45PM)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    The place to stay and fly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood has a bad reputation so walking to a nearby restaurant (if there are any) is not recommended. Make sure you have the card used to book the room for presentation at the desk even if it is prepaid. My wife had some difficulties checking in because she did not have that card with her. Perhaps it was an inexperienced front desk clerk.

    Staff, property, parking and hotel shuttle, were great. The neighborhood has a poor reputation so the best use here is a staging point for pickup and drop off of JFK passengers. Stay and fly? This is the place. The breakfast could be better, but this is not why you are here. We appreciated the friendly service we received and allowing us to park during the day while one family member left first thing the next morning and one left at dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Got me to the airport for early flight. Ok but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain wasn’t sufficient. Water leaked onto the floor. Area nearby not good for walking around.

    Near airport and shuttle was good. Room small but adequate. Left too early for the free breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    2.9
    Terrible stay for my family and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at this location for 6 days. Here’s what happened. The staff is rude and not accommodating. The house keeping does not clean room well or empty the trash. They have roaches which I discovered you see at night when turn lights off and back on. Ants crawling in the bed. When I talked to the manager he said well we spray weekly.

    The location to the JFK airport was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Comvient for overnight travel only.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. The rooms on ground level you can hear everything, other people arriving and talking, the road and people on the street. Unless you are really tired, you will find it hard to sleep

    Close to JFK airport, 15min taxi ride for $20 and free shuttle bus back to the airport the next day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    This is an old property that is in need of a lot of care. It was one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller, especially with 2 beds. The room could use an overall deep cleaning, it smelled first of fish disenfectent and later just stale. It was difficult to get to the room with a strange setting of a mini elevator only operated by a staff member, combined with stairs and twisting hallways. There were no restaurants nearby. Without a car we had no dining options. There is an overall sense of an older property having been neglected. We had an early flight and the free continental breakfast was uninvitng and sparse. Over all we won’t return .

    Check -in was handled well and the staff were amiable and professional. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Very close to JFK, only about 10mins to the airport.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to JFK, only about 10mins to the airport. Not a big, fancy hotel, but comfortable. Parking lot is behind the hotel, and you can always find park place nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Last minute stay due to missed flight. Comfortable beds. Well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud traffic on room facing the roads.

    Beds are so comfortable!! Security guard was so lovely and helpful! That man needs a pay raise! Went out of his way to help us after we missed our flight

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    A value for money place to stay close to JFK, with efficient free airport shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit too simple.

    This is a convenient place to sleep while waiting for your flight. However, there are almost no restaurants nearby and the neighborhood is a bit scary. Reception is covered by thick glass walls. However, the hotel is simple, yet pleasant and decent. Airport shuttle was free and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Proximity to airport, shuttle service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nick who was at the front desk took forever to check us in and give our keys. He seemed to be in a bad mood and I could see him give a hard time to all the other guests too. Everyone seemed to be upset with his behavior. Overall the staff wasn’t very friendly

    Proximity to airport, shuttle service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    場所。 設備。
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall was so thin that you could hear almost everything from outside. That makes me have trouble sleeping because every 30 minutes at midnight the noise woke me up.

    場所。 設備。

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly, rooms were clean, the property is well mainta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one major upset was parking. There are not enough spots to accommodate guests, forcing you to park on the street.

    The continental breakfast was ok and well maintained. The rooms are pretty modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    It had been refurbished so even tho small, it was acceptable...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the sheets on my bed was horribly stained. Disgusting. I pulled the top sheet over and put my sleeping bag over that. It was late, I had been travelling 27 hours and was tired or I would have made them change it. Also you can hear through the walls. Not horrible, but can be annoying. The breakfast had only a few choices.

    It had been refurbished so even tho small, it was acceptable and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Good airport hotel close to jfk, good shuttle service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area terrible behind full glass screen which was very motelish looking. The poor staff working in there. Recommend updated and made modern and airy. My room overlooked the highway despite requesting a quiet room ., the hotel was full when I check in with no room change option. The window seal on the windows were poor and let alot of traffic noise through. Replace or repair room windows where required.

    Nice clean bedroom and icy cold quiet aircon unit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    The shutter, l loved not worried about how to get to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If i could suggest one thing....please leaves the quest with more towels and wash cloths, everyday we had to ask for more towels, however, the staff responded quickly to our needs,

    The shutter, l loved not worried about how to get to the airport, i don't know why i didn't check prior to arriving about the shutter too and from. I also enjoyed the comfort of the bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    To be brutally honest, this was an okay place to sleep for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle driver! I did not feel safe with his rash and fast driving. He was on the phone most of the time (without bluetooth) and held the phone with one hand and drove with the other. And he dropped me at the wrong terminal. The dead bolt lock on the door did not work! There is only one staff really, at the glass enclosed reception similar to a bureau de change (unsafe neighbourhood i guess). Room service is from an offsite third party vendor. Minimum order is USD 20 for delivery to your room. I didnt try it, this was the instruction on the menu card.

    To be brutally honest, this was an okay place to sleep for a few hours and travel the next day. And only as a solo traveller. I wouldnt bring my family here. Didnt fee too safe in the neighbourhood and away from the other hotels. Needs 15 mins to get to the airport. The continental breakfast, included in the rate, was good no doubt. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great stop-over location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly helpful and well informed. I chose this hotel due to the proximity to JFK, and the shuttle service was quick and easy. The room was clean and comfortable. I thought there would be more noise due to how close it was to the highway and airport, but was pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a stopover location due to flights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    It’s close to JFK, that’s about it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelt of bleach or harsh cleaning products. A cigarette or something similar had melted or burned the toilet seat and the shower curtain.

    It’s close to JFK, that’s about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise level from other guests was high. Room was close to the dining area and the reception area.

    Easily accessible by public transportation and the continental breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.2
    Dodgy, drab and disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The gentleman on reception was pleasant when I arrived though too busy. The property was very ordinary in a dodgy part of town (my fault- should have researched better and I’m confident travelling alone). Some guests naturally arrived or left in the middle of the night and the acoustics were really bad and the guests inconsiderate though technically not HJs fault. There was no where to eat around there (you had to order Indian or Chinese takeaway with some faded leaflets- I didn’t ) except for a Burger King being renovated urghhh so I went without dinner. Not even a convenience store anywhere to buy a banana. I do however want to give a shout out to the really kind shuttle driver who dropped me to my terminal first when we realised my flight was leaving earlier than we thought. Better to pay more and stay in a better hotel on the actual airport grounds with dinner and decent breakfast and feel safe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, street noise no stop.

    Really friendly staff. Great location. Free shuttle bus got here really fast, George and Gloria are very friendly! Their breakfast bagels are not bad at all, a good starting point of NYC!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    It is a bit noisy during the night, however our stay was quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The name Howard Johnson is a little bit confusing. There are three Howard Johnson Hotels near JFK. We stayed at Howard Johnson Wyndham Jamaica JFK Airport NYC. We thought the one we booked was near the train station so that we could walk to our destination after using the NYC Subway. But this was impossible to your Howard Johnson. There is a bus service, but we took the taxi instead.

    It is near JFK and they do have a shuttle to all terminals at JFK included in the cost

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: