Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson Plaza by Wyndham Madison 3 stars

3841 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704, USA

Review score

Based on 688 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    The price was right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was right. Needed a place to stay while attending a wedding. It was a 15 minute ($15) Lyft to downtown Madison, and located right next to East Towne Mall. There's a gas station and Aldi in the shared lot with the hotel, so we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay, could be refurbished some.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rug in room felt damp. Sink plug in bathroom was broken so to get the sink to drain the plug had to be lifted out by hand & it had gunk all over the base.

    Breakfast was good, plenty of eggs and sausage. Beds were comfortable and room was quiet. There was plenty of parking space. Water pressure and shower worked fine. It is not the cheapest stay in area, but this worked well for me as I have stayed in the cheaper ones and had guests making noise all night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    My room and bed were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out I told clerk I could only find one key, I know I left other key in its folder on desk, I don't know where it went, never found in my bags upon return home. Thought that was odd, since I stayed two nights.

    My room and bed were comfortable. Property needs general maintenance, chipped paint, odd entrances to rooms, thru the ice and pop machines. Lobby looks very nice, hallways dark and sort of beat up.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    2.9
    I don't like to be negative, but this was not a pleasant stay-you guys give H Johnson's a bad name.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly front desk person; room was dirty-walls, phone (& cord had a short so it didn't work properly), floors; shower drain didn't work (pet peeve!); mold in the shower; were given internet password but not told that it wasn't working d/t a storm (found that out later)

    The only thing that we liked was the friendly, happy gentleman at the breakfast area (such a pleasant surprise!) - & the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff, changed my room because it was too noisy,...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, damp smell (had floodings) Very noisy fire doors and thin walls, wireless slow and partly offline (more than 24h) Loud singing by staff member at breakfast. Not for me!

    Friendly staff, changed my room because it was too noisy, unfortunately the next room was just as bad

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    It was a nice stay! Loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had an odor to it ... so did the hallway leading to the room. Probably due to pet use/accidents?

    The wide variety of food offered at the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.3
    This is the worst place I’ve ever stayed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start: 1) the odor in the halls was sickening, 2) the internet was never functioning, 3) only one piece of exercise equipment out of 5 in the room was functioning.

    Breakfast was on time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast of champions....
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk young lady was rude

    The man in charge of breakfast was extremely awesome...will always come back because of him..he sings.tells jokes..and is extremely helpful..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was amazing, and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great but it did have a really bad smell to it, thankfully we brought air fresheners

    The breakfast was amazing, and the staff was very friendly. Bar and pool were also nice too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    The employee that was singing and interacting with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty. Sink in ladies room in lobby didn’t work. Couldn’t get to our room w/out using stairs. No luggage carriers seen anywhere at any time. Though told they did have them. Beds were small. Need at least Queen sized beds! I could go on and on.

    The employee that was singing and interacting with the guests as he was taking care of the breakfast areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Happy with our stay and would stay again
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was okay for clean, just could have had a little more detail to corners and edges.

    Location was good, easy to find, pleasant staff, complimentary breakfast was very good, have stayed before and would book again if needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    OK. Not too expensive. But maybe $10-15
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pillows not comfortable. Overstuffed with shredded foam. Could not log into WiFi thought tried many times. Called desk who offered to help if I got dressed and made long walk to lobby. No convenient elevator to second floor rooms.

    Room clean. Bed OK. Pillows not good. Breakfast pretty good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    The pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff were using shopping carts from other stores. Very tacky. When coming down the hall,the cleaning lady that was stripping the beds, she seen me and then proceeded to move her cart to the middle of the hallway. Blocking my way to get through. Very rude. The front desk staff were very unpleasant. No smiles. Not even welcoming. Pool sucks. It is dingy looking. Looks dirty. Plus i couldn't even enjoy as i can't climb down ladders and that's the only way to get in.

    The pillows

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Pet (+$25) and Leisure Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didnt inform me of what extra fees would be included (like how much pet fees were, actually they never said there would be fees for pets anywhere!)

    The staff was great, the rooms are spacious and clean - it was home away from home. The pool and whirlpool were fantastic and very relaxing. The pool was the biggest I've seen in a hotel - being 9 ft deep at the end.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Cheap Place - You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the rest. The room smelled like mold, mildew, and dampness. The carpet was wet, not sure why. No coffee at breakfast. The pool and hot tub were ok.

    The only positive feedback I can provide for this booking was the location. We were there for an event that was a few miles away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for a hotel, nothing soecial
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High priced apparently due to the cross fit games being in town which I was unaware of. I was there for my nephews birthday. $300 per night was very steep for a normal nothing special room thought it was supposed to have a fridge but there was none when I got there.

    Not bad for a hotel, nothing soecial

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property could use a good deep clean, especially the carpeting.

    Love the pool. Old school game room with air hockey, pool table and arcade games was fun.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was no microwave in the room but there was a fridge. Not a big deal overall.

    Good location and clean. The gentleman that took care of the breakfast line was amazing. He was always cheerful and would make up songs to sing to the guests. He was awesome. Location was good and near a grocery store and many restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value for a very comfortable hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout was nice until I looked at my final bill to see I was charged $229 instead of $79+. It will take several days to credit my account which bugs me.

    Nice staff upon checkin. Nice beds and linens. Good rate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    2.5
    It was somewhere to sleep with ac that is all
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled

    Just the price for our stay way 80$ but next year rate is 700$ a night save your money go somewhere else . This place smells like an old pet store. Plus i booked rooms for all my friends and it was a nightmare trying to transfer rooms and adding guest . Front desk was not very helpful we received multiple different awnsers from different staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.2
    Very few positives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful. Avoid at all costs. The corridor smelled dreadful - worse than just unaired - a lot worse. All doors look like they were bought used from the local penitentiary. The first room we had was dark, dank and musty. The sheets were very wrinkled and we worried that they hadn’t been changed. We switched; the second room was unattractive but marginally less worrying. The outside sitting space is utterly characterless and the old and dirty barbecues were full of cigarette ends. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Boy - did I get this wrong!

    Very few positives. The staff were cheery and helpful but as for everything else....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    The gentleman staffing the breakfast area sang to us and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get to our room had several steps you couldn't avoid, so having rolling luggage didn't help at that point. Also had to go through fire door, so if your hands were full, it was tough to get through.

    The gentleman staffing the breakfast area sang to us and was quite entertaining and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable and convenient location (as long as one has another means of getting downtown)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Location and surrounding neighbourhood is a little bit iffy, but otherwise, can't really complain if you're not overly reliant on the metro (as I was due to a lack of personal transportation). Gym facilities were also a little bit lacking.

    The bed was large and really comfy, and room had everything you'd need/expect. Shout-out to Mike who made every breakfast that I had with them a most vibrant and upbeat affair. Definitely kudos to his positivity; it made each day start on a bright and high note! He was extremely helpful with the shuttle to the airport too! Also, hotel was within walking distance of a supermarket, a wide range of eating choices, and Culver's.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall, a great place to stay and close to everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought our room smelled a little musty.

    The pool was awesome. There was a game room that would have been fun if the weather had been bad. My daughter loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    We needed a room with a shuttle, near the airport from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a room with a shuttle, near the airport from midnight to 8 AM. The room was very far from the front desk in a quiet corner. There are signs of age and wear but the bed was comfortable and the coffee in the morning was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.4
    Hotel needs major remodel. Too old. Didnt feel comfortable after that incident
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm going off at 7am. Police lockdown that night at 11pm trying to return to hotel after concert to see road was closed. Two cars exchanged gun fire and crashed in front of hotel. Two policeman running down side walk at 11pm with AR 15 guns in hand. Never stay again

    Loved. Mike who oversees the breakfast. He made the hotel something very special. His compassion and energy was contagious he had everyone smiling and laughing Mike your are a Gem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was great - just not a comfortable night for our family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower not working in our room, lights flicking on/off all night - very LOUD staff at breakfast - trying to entertain the guest s - ???

    Location - breakfast ??

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    The price for the rooms was OK. but, I will stay at another hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled like mildew. The housekeeping cleaning could have been better i would rate them on a scale from 1-10 i will give your housekeepers a 2. It was hair on the bathroom floor and tub when we arrived. One of the pillow cases smelled like mildew,

    The guy in the kitchen was very funny and entertaining. He really made our day. Breakfast was really good. It was plenty restaurants to eat at up and down the street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.2
    Staff good, accommodations not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had made reservation in April and when we got there, they didn't have our reservation. They fixed it but front desk person didn't seem to know what they were doing. Pool was huge, but bottom was black. Breakfast was not good. Very little variety of hot food. Staff was nice, but we won't be going there again.

    Price was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Stay for breakfast if you can. Personal service with charming personality - and fresh and tasty!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scent coming from the AC unit was distracting. Not an altogether unpleasant odor, but strange enough to keep waking me up.

    Quiet. Convenient. Comfortable. Bathroom well laid out and immaculate! Stay for breakfast if you can. Personal service with charming personality - and exceptionally fresh and tasty!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Barely tolerable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old musty rooms. Not very clean. Staff not helpful. Door keys kept not working. Needs a remodel and more cleaning staff.

    Michael, the cook and shuttle driver was a joy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    The hotel serves its purpose but needs some work and care put into it.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smelled like mildew (very unpleasant odor). The walls, carpeting and overall decor was very dirty. It also smelled like there were plumbing issues. We also paid more for our stay then what was quoted.

    Breakfast and eating area/staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Probably would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged more for a pet. The tub/shower was hard to enter. And no bath mat on a slippery tub floor and no grab bars. The internet was not good. Had to ask the desk for help.

    The room was big and on ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    I'll never stay again with the type of service I received besides the breakfast staff was very up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't pay in cash like it said online and the front desk service was awful had to change rooms twice and on the second room lights weren't working by night stand called front desk and they hung up on me not very pleased with the servoce at all .

    They had great coffee and food .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not cleaned ! Hair all over .

    Front desk person was nice. Not their fault and understood problem. Worked on trying to accomplish a solution.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    I would say it was fair.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't hate anything especially just didn't think it was as nice as you showed on your website. I have stayed in worst places but I have stayed in nicer places at about the same price or lower.

    The breakfast was good and the the room was fair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were shabby. Needs renovation desperately. Wallpaper falling off the walls. Hallways not air conditioned. Indoor pool not air conditioned, stifling... not comfortable to sit by the pool. Work out room equipment not all in working order. Hot tub cloudy. Bug in one of the rooms. The topper was the smell. We eere supposed to stay 4 nights but after two we packed up and left. Obviously something was dead in the walls or inder the bed.

    The staff was welcoming including front desk, bartender, breakfast staff ( especially the man who sings and entertains everyone).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall, things were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room felt perpetually very slightly damp (it was a humid weekend). The door key reader was very touchy.

    Overall, things were good. Breakfast was great. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    I like the variety of items for the breakfast, comfort in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm from Nigeria and couldn't watch any African station or movies.

    I like the variety of items for the breakfast, comfort in the room and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Mediorce
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that if you wanted to pay cash they still charge your card the amount for the stay and then send it back.. that defeats the whole purpose of paying with cash. I understand the need for the card for incidentals but why still charge it before I even finish checking in.

    The experience was okay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    One lady in particular has bad attitude & talks behind...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lady in particular has bad attitude & talks behind customers back often! She is very manipulative and has no Business being in customer service. I witnessed her talking about other customers & knowing this only wonder how she still working there. The others were actually very friendly and great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Fair for the $$$
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had cob webs hanging from the lights and in the windows, tub filled with water when showering, outlet in bathroom didn't work for hair dryer or coffee pot after reset. The pool area is large, but had ants inside around the hot tub!

    Very good hot breakfast included with the stay; eggs, french toast, sausage links, potato wedges. The staff was friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds. Close to the Botanical Gardens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    needed a place to sleep. seemed ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel looked like it was built in the 70's and never updated. Greeted by security guard at check in and my spouse was asked for ID too while checking in. Seemed sketchy.

    good breakfast. good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was good, loved the spaciousness of lobby and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard. Joe, in the dining room,needs to be aware of personal space and privacy of breakfast guests. He is very sweet, extremely helpful and efficient, seems to love his work but he needs to not talk so much.

    Breakfast was good, loved the spaciousness of lobby and dining room, the room temp was comfy and easily controllableand it was quiet. I felt safe and loved the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    I need an hotel close to airport with a shuttle service. I had what I looked for but not easily
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    old style, not modern, not classic. - I selected it to have a shuttle from the airport but it was very difficult to contact them from the airport. I managed only via a local guy but we have been placed on hold for 20 minutes

    it is very close to the airport. in front of the hotel pass a bus that takes you downtown or to a nearby mall (in the opposite direction). The hotel gives you free transportation via shuttle (prepaid taxi) to the airport but it's not easy to use this service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    For my travel, the location was perfect and easy access off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fruit or no other healthy choices except for eggs served for breakfast. Looong halls to get to my room/breakfast in the morning.

    For my travel, the location was perfect and easy access off the highway. My room was exceptionally clean, staff accommodating and friendly. I didnt get to use the pool, but for a hotel pool it was very large. Beds were comfy, amd I am picky about that

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Older hotel that has been kept in good condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some early morning sun due to dark curtains cut short for the air conditioning unit.

    Easy drive from local John Nolen Dr. expressway or to downtown concert locations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Gross, never again.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    facility was filthy, carpets were gross. Heavy rain the night before and there were earth worms crawling across the carpet in the entry way. Grassy area was huge, overgrown and littered with piles of dog feces. Carpets in the halls was ragged and dirty, walls were filthy. A ashtray/garbage can outside the door to the courtyard was overflowing with beer cans and bottles. In our room there was hair (human) on the bathroom floor when we checked in. Very disappointed to see the Wyndam name attached, not up to their usual standard.

    Bed was fine, breakfast was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    American Horror Story - Hotel, but less glamorous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Blood stains on my sheets -Room wasn’t cleaned until late if at all -Dirty poorly maintained hallways and rooms -Door to the pool broken -Bottom of the pool is black with mold -Confusing to get around, weren’t given any directions -Loud dogs barking -Man filling up coolers and small trash cans with ice for extended periods of time at the ice machine right outside our door

    Staff was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Good enough on a quick decision
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little security. Watched two girls fighting in/with their cars, and one hit the other and broke the side mirror off

    The price was nice. A grocery store was next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was a highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is overall a little dingy. The Hallways are dark. There were cobwebs on the light fixtures in the hallways. Paint needs a fresh coat on doors. Overall it needs some updates. The pool size was nice but the bottom of the pool looked as it needs cleaning or a fresh coat of paint. Also why only a double beds. Most places are queens. So I thought it was just over priced.

    The breakfast was a highlight. The food was good. The breakfast area was kept clean and food was always full. The staff was also helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.3
    would never recommend or stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    very disappointed in the hotel condition - teen kids at the pool and they were drinking and had vomited in the pool area & you had to go through that area to get to your room. I have nothing good to say about the hotel except that the people at the desk were very nice

    absolutely nothing - the place was scary & filthy - we had 2 rooms and one was worse than the other they were covered in hair & there was more than one persons hair - the bed was dirty and the hall and bedroom carpets were just nasty - my grandson came out of the bathroom and said there was hair in the shower and on the curtain and it was not his - these rooms had not been cleaned

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was by a stairway, and the firedoor loudly closed anytime someone came through. Not fun in the middle of the night.

    Nice staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Just a place to crash nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came in around 11:30 pm from the Midwest Horse Fair. Waited in line 20-25 min. While staff could figure out the family in front of me's issues with credit card. One staff member at counter. We're tired and just want our room to crash. Finally got our room. Cold in the room so I cranked the heat for 15 min. Room was clean. Breakfast was ok. Honestly, i’d not come back here. If u need a place to crash it would accommodate your needs.

    Great pool area for kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, cla
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit slow to check us in, without acknowledging us.

    Enjoyed the cheerful, entertaining breakfast server, who sang and did impersonations. Handy to food market.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    The lock to our room failed saturday and we couldn't get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lock to our room failed saturday and we couldn't get into our romm for an hour while the staff tried to get the door open. We eventually had to move to a different room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is a little awkward. Could be cleaner inside and out.

    Close to major shopping stores, gas station and a convenient store within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotels in the downtown Madison area are ridiculously expensive. Howard Johnson's is about four miles away, and the value for just a short drive is outstanding. I've stayed there a couple of times now and the experience has been good both times. Check in was easy and the room was clean. The free breakfast is surprisingly good and the singing breakfast attendant is fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Convenience of coming at all hours of the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenience of coming at all hours of the night. Breakfast was very good and hot. Staff was friendly and welcoming at all hours of the day and night. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Parking was never an issue. Parked by room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    1)Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1)Walls are thin -- I could hear staff members complaining about their jobs. This included all ranking of staff members 2)My room was dusty, and visible dirt in bathroom floor/shower 3)I purchased the room online, but was not informed that the location of the room was near a high traffic area -- I did not receive much sleep

    1)Location 2)Safety of my personal items, and car 3)Friendly Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Not the worst but not the best!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room had m&m's and Chocolate covered candy on the floor when we arrived, Floor was not vacuumed very dirty, sink in bathroom took awhile to go down. we bought drain-o at Hy-vee helped a little. Housekeeper was rude when she came to room. Asked if we needed anything we asked for towels and toilet paper she got an attitude. Was loud on the phone in the hallway.

    Front desk, bartenders and security guard (Nate) where all VERY friendly and helpful!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    The great Wisconsin stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    The best thing for me was The Breakfast eggs the potatoes vast selection of course Mike the singing cook location is quiet had a good security guard that watched everything you can't beat this place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean, the food was good and we had a good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked if they changed up the food offerings daily. Every day they served the same food, by day 3 it was getting old to see the same items

    The eggs and French toast were yummy and the Apple juice was cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay for a good price
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accept the eggs other breakfast items were cold. Previous guests or cleaners hair was in bathroom.

    Eggs were good. Breakfast staff was very friendly. Price was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good except the cleanliness of the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom toilet was not properly cleaned. It had stains in The bowl and on the seat. Only a 3/4 roll of toilet paper was provided. Air filter above the tub was rusty and full of dust and debris.

    Liked the breakfast, especially the cook and his warm kind words and creative singing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    Never Again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my first ever complaint about a hotel. I have stayed in multiple places from motels to no name mom and pop places that don’t even have a rating and work for a 5 star resort. Check in was horrible, woman was rude. The pool and hot tub was disgusting. Does not look like they were cleaned... ever! All of us broke out and had to run to room to shower (was going to post picture, but did not think it would be appropriate). I took pictures of pool and hot tub. There was only one outlet that we could use. The housekeepers knocked on our door to clean it before we even checked out, it was before check out time and we had DND up. They just stood there waiting for us to leave. And then billing was off. I received a receipt for $4 less than what I paid. I just wanted to leave and not be in this hotel one second more to argue with someone about $4.

    The only good thing was the gentleman that was working breakfast, he was very friendly and made everyone smile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    Didn’t feel safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t feel safe. I really felt like there was a lot of drug dealers and prostitution going on there. I won’t ever stay there again. Never recommend family or friends to stay there.

    The room was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff was very nice.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we got to the room the toilet didn't flush. No water in the tank. We had to fix it. The room was cold all night even with the hear turned up to 90. Had to ask for extra blankets. Never got above 70 in the room all night.

    food was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.9
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobb webs in room. Trash left from previous guest on floor. Hair in tub. Just gross. Stains huge black stains on curtians and walls.

    Nothing. Room was dirty. I paid in cash but my card was also charged.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Misleading
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very awful they did not listen they accidentally charged my card when I want to pay cash and then threatened to banned me from your facilities because of the front counter mistake I was very dissatisfied with the ladies I wish you would hire better people

    I loved the bed and pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast and awesome server!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Doors slamming and people talking loud up to 2am. Heater loud and hard to regulate. No hot water to take evening bath. Carpet dirty. Worn fixtures, walls and furnishings

    Good breakfast and awesome server! He brightened everyone's morning while eating breakfast. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had trouble finding ice machine. No dvd player or Netflix.

    a restaurant, bar, and breakfast buffet. Free WiFi. Bed and chair comfortable. Blackout curtains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Will not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was old and didn't have an easy entry or exit for older guests. The stairs for entering/exiting the pool are hard on the feet. Would be easier/safer just to have some steps. The breakfast room was COLD and the food was not hot enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! The room was spacious and clean. Center courtyard that you could smoke a cigarette and walk you dog. Great continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    2 to 2 1/2 star is an accurate rating. Room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Starting to show it's age. I think they were trying to get by with minimal staff. Snow wasn't shoveled when we left at 8:30 am.

    Had a nice breakfast and lounge. Roger, in the Northwoods Grill was exceptional. Did the work of 3 people and personable the whole time he was doing it.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Howard Johnson Plaza by Wyndham Madison traveller photo gallery