Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Quincy/ Boston 2 stars

845 Hancock Street, Quincy, MA 02170, USA

#2 of 3 hotels in Quincy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The nearest deli was a 7-11 store several blocks' walk away.

    The buffet breakfasts were very good, with an attentive staff always ready for small or large numbers of guests. I also appreciated the fact that there was a T-station within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    New and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is absolutely new hotel, it seemed we were the first inhabitants in the room we booked as it was very clear and new. Perfectly working air conditioner. I liked everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check in, the clerk was rude, told me my reservation through booking.com was crap and charged me more than what my original booking was. I argued the point and tried to show him but he refused to even look at my reservation. Said booking.com is not very reliable. He was not accommodating or professional. There was spider webs on the ceiling, cheetos on the pull out bed and a noisy refrigerator. Not very clean. My son has allergies!!!!! Very disappointed....we had to cut our vacation short 1 day because of this...

    The person at the desk in the morning was very nice and after explaining my situation with her, she at least said that she would look into it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    My son lost the 2 room keys (magnetic card) and the front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My son lost the 2 room keys (magnetic card) and the front desk guy overnight argued he give me already additional card when I asked for additional cards, which was not true.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice motel for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was spotty. We rented the suite which did not have a door that separated the bedroom from the living room. Would have allowed more privacy from those sleeping in the living room area from the bedroom. GPS sent us to the back of the building. The back of the building is a neighborhood with no access to the motel. This happened with all our uber driver gps as well. Location is in the middle of Chinatown in Quincy. There was nothing to visit or do in walking distance to the motel.

    Motel was great. Very clean. We rented a suite which was more than enough big for us. It had a full size refrigerator and enough room in the living area to put a queen size blow up mattress. Outside is a little sitting area where you could eat breakfast or have a drink at night. To help with the commute to the City: All other train stations were closed except North Quincy. While some could find this walking distance, it is a bit far to the motel. In the morning there was no parking at the North Quincy station. (we arrived around 10 am). We needed to uber up in the AM. After 5 no problem with parking. You need to pay for parking which is $5.00 per day. Paying for parking is virtual so you need to download the app and set it up with your car and credit card info. You can go in and out from the parking lot and only pay once per day. Riding the subway was not hard once you got the hang of it. As someone who has never done this before here is my 3 day "expert" advice. 1: Buy the Charlie card. We were only there for 3 days and found purchasing a 7 day card was the cheapest way to go. 2: Don't worry about inbound/outbound, just know the name of your train. The name of your train is the destination. Looking at your subway map the destination is the last stop on the line (ie., for North Quincy the train we needed was Braintree). 3: Get a tourist map that shows the landmarks and the T lines, this will help you locate the closes train station to where you want to go. 4:When connecting you get off the train and look for the next line. For example, going to Little Italy you needed to take the red line to Downtown crossing (connection for the orange line), get off and follow the arrows to the orange line. Once there, follow the directions to the destination (in this example - Oakgrove). Once in the subway you will not need to use your Charlie card to repay for the connection (only will need to use it when you reenter from the outside).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.9
    Poor quality, but fine enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front staff when we checked in was very reluctant to help. She also over charged us and doubled the tax because she didn't know our quote was with tax already. She put us in a double bed room because she thought we were checking in with 3 adults, reservation clearly said 2 adults and child. Then didn't have a room available with a king. The room was stained, walls and floor. Then when we made it back to our room for the night the ac unit didn't work and had to move, at 11p, with a toddler to a room. They at least gave us the king we booked in the first place. The were dogs barking, even though the hotel had no pet signs. At check out, the other women at the desk was better about helping me, but the computers were "slow" so I didn't receive a receipt since it would take even longer. She offered a discount, but even that price was high for the quality. The first room the shower was awkwardly angled and lacking a tub which made toddler bathing difficult. The towels are poorly hung and the toilet paper holder left open and to hanging. The second room, there were human hair on the hanging towels and, what I hope were stains, on the walls and counter. The pillows were uncomfortable and in the second room with a King, the pillows were throw pillows and by the time we were in thur room we didn't have the patience to ask for anything else. Both beds were lumpy and less than ideal. The hotel was fine, but not worth even the discounted price we paid.

    The location was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    I would not spend that much money on a room there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows for a king bed were very small, no vanity or counter space, no rack for hanging clothes (just some hooks on the wall). We couldn't find the hotel cause the sign on the ground was small and obstructed by a bush/tree.

    The room was nice and big. The room and halls were very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel in a Tiny Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are a tad thin could hear people upstairs and traffic was a little loud in the am so request to stay away from the front by the road. Wollaston T was closed due to construction so make sure you factor that in if you want to use the T. The closest one is Quincy Center 15 mins away. Check out the park its so pretty.

    Nice hotel across from a beautiful park. Easy to get around and restaurants within walking distance. Room layout was a little weird but the bathroom was huge .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall, a decent and convenient place to stay close to the MBTA red line in a nice area of Quincy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Originally booked a king suite room for 5 nights but it was unacceptable. Noisy first floor room next to mechanical room where we heard a loud humming sound all night, broken toilet, kitchenette setup but absolutely nothing in it, no plates, no glasses, no can opener - nothing. No full length mirror. Cheap towels, large bathroom but no hook anywhere to hang up your robe or clothing, poor quality iron that keep shutting off after about 3 minutes of use. Cups not restocked for day 2.Teenagers hanging outside 2 nights, right next to our window. To the manager's credit she heard our complaints, moved us to a quieter room for the last 3 nights of our stay and gave us a discount. She turned a bad situation around and I would stay there again, but not in the first floor king suite,room 101.

    Linda is a very responsive manager who addressed our complaints regarding the king suite - she moved us to a more acceptable room and personally made sure that the remainder of our stay was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.0
    Nice and comfortable, not too far from Boston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was near enough to Boston to drive or get the train in (about 15 min walk to the station) . The breakfast was sufficient enough for a bagel or toast, cereal, muffin, scrambled egg, bacon etc, could have had more fruit selection (only had apples). But it was great for our 2nt stop. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Easy location to the red T rail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location a little scary walking to the red T. Hotel location fine. Not a lot of places to eat.

    Easy location to the red T rail. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Worth but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise isolation of the hotel is not very good. The big ice machine outside room 217 created a lot of noise and can be heard inside the room clearly. Hope this can be solved.

    Low price and good location (subway to Boston)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee wasn’t very good. Not enough pillows. Bathroom vanity too small. Not enough counter space to put stuff.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel and good value for the money. Would stay somewhere closer to downtown the next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work for the last 24 hours of my stay at the hotel, and breakfast could have been better if more variety was offered. It did feel like food is not very fresh, and I couldn't drink the coffee, had an unusual taste.

    Great hotel with large and comfortable rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is ok if looking for piece and quiet, but quite far from the downtown area, and if taking public transportation it can take a while. There are shops and restaurants near by, but lots of them are Asian and staff at the New York market in particular is not very friendly. There's a beach nearby, as well as nice seafood and Japanese restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff was friendly but the place was not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had an odor. The window shade did not function properly. There was hair in the corner of the bathroom floor that had not been cleaned up prior to arrival. There was a whirlpool tub in the room that was not operable. Fitness room only had a treadmill, elliptical, and recumbent bike. Lights in the fitness center were motion sensitive and kept going out.

    The location was decent. There was a nice park across the street to walk. It was a short drive into Boston.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved it. I would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The hotel was so nice and smelled so clean. The room were neat, the bathroom was clean. Plenty of parking. It really did shock me I was not expecting this to be so nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    It can be hard to find affordable accomodation in Boston. This is a good option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area is probably too small. People had to bring their breakfasts to their rooms because there was not enough seating available. The noise insulation between floor 1 and 2 is poor. On the first floor, where we were, one could hear every step from the guests on the 2nd floor.

    We liked the location close to the MBTA red line. 15 Min to Boston South station. The park right next to it is great for morning walks or runs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    The value worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls don't support noise cancelling well. Pretty noisy in the morning during breakfast hours.

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If you're looking for budgetted but quality hotel, this is the place. Cleanliness is awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    I would return but not to that room to noisy....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room location, it was right near the front desk and they were very loud that night, keeping us awake with their loud talking and it was right near the elevator so it was dinging all night.

    It was a wonderful facility, very new and very clean. The staff that checked us in was pleasant and really nice to deal with.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    My stay was quite pleasant. I have used this facility numerous times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Room change at check in, they needed a single bed, agreed to make the change. Linda and Melinda were both extremely helpful, chatty and funny. Not a coffee drinker, room on second floor, does not matter about view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    It was what I expected from a Howard Johnson's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise level was rather high. It was New Year's Eve. People were partying all night and there were foot sounds going across the floor upstairs all night. Perhaps they should have been told that there are others in the building!! The pillows were small. They were the size of throw pillows rather than standard size.

    I was only there one night. The place seemed clean and the staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable and sufficient for what we needed for a city stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast dining area could be improved by being bigger with more seating and more modern looking.

    Bed was very comfy and big! The bathroom was newly refurbished and the room size was very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good. The facility seemed very clean and newly painted. We slept well. The bed was comfortable and the shower was wonderfully hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    We liked that breakfast came with our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Bed pillows were square like a throw pillow for your couch not to sleep on. Were not comfortable, ended up with a sore neck in the morning.

    We liked that breakfast came with our room. There was a nice variety of choices for everyone. We liked that there was free parking and it was well lite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Affordable & comfortable stay within reach of Boston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of swimming pool which we were aware of. It is only 7 miles from the airport which is why we chose this site but it took 2 hours to get to the airport from the hotel as the traffic was so horrendous.

    Room was spacious with comfortable bed and en suite. Plenty of choice for breakfast. It was within half mile walk to train station to enable us to go to Boston car free as traffic in the city is grim. They allowed us to leave the car at the hotel all day after checking out in the morning as we had a late flight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    We would choose this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear guests in the adjacent room as the walls are flimsy. At one point we needed a needle and cotton for a minor repair. Reception was unable to assist with this.

    Spacious room on the quiet side of the hotel. Breakfast was simple but excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Not soundproofed, poor breakfast and very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls and ceilings were paper thin and we could not sleep properly as it was so noisy. We could hear every footstep in the room above. The breakfast area was far too small for the number of rooms and the breakfast was very poor.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.4
    I would not stay again and would not recommend the property to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When I asked the person at the front desk for an extra blanket on our first night, I was told the hotel had no extra pillows or blankets at all. On the first morning we were there, I went down for breakfast at 6:45AM (breakfast was from 6:30-9:30AM) and there was no regular coffee or decaf coffee at all.

    The only good thing about the property was the pull-down blackout shade on the window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    They need to sound proof their walls and floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin you can hear everything and we had unruly people above us that were removed from the property. We asked for a refund for 1 night and it was debated by the manager and her boss if we should get one or not. Then agreed to refund $100 but we stayed 5 nights fir $155 per night. I was told that every night was a different price and the night we complained was one of the lesser nights. They tried to convince me that the issues was really not that bad but what do you consider bad when the people are thrown out of the hotel by police. I accepted the $100 I had no other choice but I/we never stay there again and we were a party of 10. I am the one who chose this hotel. We talked about returning in the near future to Boston but this hotel if off our list. I should have been given $155 refund. It happened 2 nights but we were too nice to report the first night and that will NEVER happen again!

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice to have a guest laundry, but we did find a laundromat 2.5 miles away. It would also be nice if they included waffles on their breakfast bar.

    We liked the convenience to sites in the Boston area. It was possible to walk to the subway (0.6-0.7 miles) and close to main roads and/or highways. Because we had a car, it was also close to eating places (within 2-3 miles). They had a good breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, a breakfast meat which changed each day, apples, cereals, muffins, and juice. it is also either a new or recently renovated hotel with large, bright rooms. When our air conditioning wasn't working the first evening, they switched us to another room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Overall, I was very happy with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 15 nights

    My only compaints were my thermostat did not seem to do anything and my bath would not hold water. Everything else was great.

    Great location close to the subway station. Economical compared to staying in Boston but easy to get to Boston on the subway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Being able to check in early when we arrived ahead of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window - It didn't open, the opaque covering stopped us seeing out and the blind didn't work.

    Being able to check in early when we arrived ahead of schedule.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    A good place with a great location, and I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have given this place a higher rating, if my room had been cleaned and serviced after the first day. Also the breakfast room ran out of food after about 40 minutes. They did correct the situation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.4
    For 200 bucks for the night... not worth it. Would never, ever stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee wasn't very good. Eggs were fluffy but chalky. Bacon was greasy and flavorless. Muffins were like lead. Room was infested with spiders. The desk agent was very accommodating and switched our room immediately. No spiders in the second room. Toilet paper holders both broken. Rug pulling up from floor. Walls are paper thin; heard every shower start up in the morning, every creak in the floor. For an almost brand new hotel it was beat up and could have been better maintained. Couldn't get to sleep right away b/c teens were playing basketball in their yard behind the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    Good for access to trains to Boston but hotel very utility for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of hallways and lift. No hooks for towels in bathroom Waste bins in bedroom not emptied Cups were not replaced. Walls very thin. Could hear speaking from next door room

    Good eggs and fresh fruit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall a good stay if you can sleep thru noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear every footstep. I had someone throwing up next door, every night for 4 nights straight and you could hear everything through the paper thin walls

    The room was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyed the stay. (would be nice to have some refund of the one of the taxes :) ) Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no wardrobe or more hanging space, no hangers, nowhere to put toiletry bag on top of a unit in bathroom, could have cleared and replaced used paper cups, no tea bags in room, pillows too small, taxes (2 sets!) weren't accounted for, taking monies from booking credit card instead of a travel card we took especially (from GB), small breakfast area, no black tea - only flavoured, hot water set too high on worktop in breakfast area, no access to milk

    quiet room, comfy big bed, spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.0
    Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked are accommodation very much.It was very clean, and smelled great,very important to us. Breakfast was better than I expected, so nice to have it there and not have to go out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    The room had updated shower stall instead of tub,equals more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No guide on tv to find station I wanted very annoying . Breakfast was fair and no oj for morning wake up.

    The room had updated shower stall instead of tub,equals more space which was nice. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Some accessibility issues
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I notified hotel about my need for grab bars in the shower, there were not any bars. Therefore, I had to be very cautious while I was sitting down and standing up. Bathroom seat was a long one, and made the shower narrower.

    It is close to Boston downtown. About 20 minutes by car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    Just average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person at the reception when we arrived could have been a bit more friendly ( looked pissed off ) ... house cleaning was done poorly ( did not add tissues , coffee ) stains stayed there , hair on floor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    The location was great!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lack of what I consider essentials - 2 hangers in a room with an arm mounted on the wall to hang things - dangerous as it was easily run into. No vanity in the bathroom so personal supplies were either on the floor or on the back of the toilet. The shower had no place to place the shower head it was just hanging. Numerous broken tiles and holes in the outside walls. The biggest issue I had was whenI returned to my room after being out all day it was obvious that the room hadn't been vacuumed as there were dead bugs on the rug as well as some other things.

    The location was great!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    HOJO QUINCY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Linda, the manager worked with me before my trip to make sure everything was perfect. And it was. We will return on Monday for our final night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great no frills accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From what I could tell, there was no water fountain or water cooler. I either had to get water from a store or the bathroom sink.

    Great location with easy access to public transportation and local shops and restaurants. A great value. If/when I visit the Boston area again, I'll stay here. :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    New and clean building and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low budget construction, shower tiles already has grout falling out, very thin walls with sound coming thru easily, overhead normal walking sounds like elephants. My first floor room only had a small basement type window at the ceiling. I requested a second floor room at the time of early booking. I called the day before arrival, talked with Linda, and was assured of my reservation and my second floor room. Day of check-in was given a first floor basement type room and told they don't ever give choices on rooms, if I don't take it I have no other choice.

    New and clean building and grounds. Staff polite. Breakfast serving simple but good. The two girls attending to the breakfast were fantastic. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient and reasonably priced stay for our visit to Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing is not good and one could hear ( children) talking in next door room and footsteps from upper floor.

    The hotel is conveniently situated to highway access. Short ( about ten minute) walk to Wollaston T station with frequent service to Downtiwn Crossing. $ 5.50 return. Garden park close by. The appearance of hotel is very fresh and inviting Wifi connection is good Enjoyed hotel enough to extend stay to three nights

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    comfy bed, nice staff, quick walk to train, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    people threw trash in hall and left in window sills in the hallway, not attractive.

    comfy bed, nice staff, quick walk to train, good breakfast complimentary

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    the food was good service not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that I paid for 2 queens and ended up with a queen and an air matress, the man at the front desk accused me of changing the reservation when he clearly knew he had given our beds away. . I spoke with the front desk the next morning and the lady said someone would be calling me to try and fix the situation and no one ever did. I spoke with booking.com immediately and they could see i never changed the order. I took pictures and sent them to booking.com. also shared the email booking.com sent me with in an hour after i checkd in with th front desk. I beleive I should be compensated for them giving my rm away

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    If they provide shuttle from the train station to the hotel, the issue would be solved. Overall, I r
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transportation would be an issue if people carry a lot of baggages to the hotel. The distance is not too far, but speaking of the items customers would carry and the weather, the hotel is still not appealing.

    The breakfast is okay, but mainly I enjoy their room and the comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    Very Clean but very lacking in simple room accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast, the lack of accommodations no counter space anywhere except where the TV was. Just a Sink tub and toilet. Nothing to put your stuff on

    Very Clean but the walls are so thin we heard our next doors neighbor's conversation till 2am at night. very Minimalist accommodations, and the breakfast was horrible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.0
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meager breakfast. No shower mats. Thin walls. Too far from train stations or decent restaurants. Air conditioners are super noisy. Keys didn't work.

    Clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Accessible accomodation not far from Boston downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Little further from Boston downtown, however, easily accessible by T-train red line + 10min walking. The neighborhood is nice, quiet and absolutelly secure. Nearby is a park ideal for jogging or walking. Shops, fastfood and restaurants nereby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    A nice new hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs more information available regarding the transit system for visiting Boston. Uncontrollable children running up corridors. It would help if staff advised parents with children to be more aware and considerate of other guests (either verbally or with general signage).

    Location good. Room clean and airy. Shower excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    It was a very convient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maids often left one washcloth for the two of us, so I had to go to the desk for an extra washcloth 4 out of 5 days.

    It was a very convient location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were terrible, bring your own.Not sure you could drink from the sink so I did not try.A bottle of water in the room would have been welcome

    convenience, it was near where I had a business. Coffee was good, breakfast poor. Parking was available

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value and hood location for Boston and Quincy area.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major dislikes. Suite was recently painted and there were a few missing touches-- Suggest: a chair in bedroom, handholds in tub/shower (all white, slippery when wet), a couple of hooks in bathroom to hang clothing and towels and blankets for sofa bed occupants. A microwave would be nice.

    Pleasant staff. Loved this location as we spent time in Quincy and in Boston. An easy 10 minute walk to Wollaston MBTA station for access to Boston. Hotel is on busy street and there is traffic noise--not an issue for us, but rooms at back of property may be quieter. Large size king suite that sleeps four, king size bed, and in adjoining large living area, a pullout sofa bed. Kitchenette with refrigerator and sink and coffee maker. No utensils or microwave. Nice touches with mirrors and wall art.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Facilities and room good - front desk not trained
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3 couples in front of us at check in - took over 20 minutes While checking in another guest complained that there was vomit in the elevator and had been there since early a.m. (in our 3 day stay the stain was never removed) The room next to my sister's were involved in a domestic dispute so loud that my sister tried to inform the front desk to call the police. She was ignored even while standing directly in front of the front desk clerk and called the police who arrested one of the participants in a domestic violence. No soda machines

    Room clean breakfast well stocked and appetizing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast food choices are minimal and basic. Frequently the food items run out and are not replaced for example- yogurts are available if you get up early and get to the food room. Staff arrive and enter the "kitchen" area and come out with plates full of food when the supplies are not even being replenished in the eating area.

    The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are clean and cheerfully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Will Stay There Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that we were told to let the water run for 15 minutes, before it would warm up, which did not happen and put one of us behind schedule for an early morning flight. Other then that, it was a very pleasant stay. Will go back.

    There was no hot water on the morning we were departing and though we had to leave before they could fix it, I received a call the next day regarding the issue and was offered a 20% discount as compensation. Linda was very courteous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.8
    Mehhhh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom was not painted..drywalled and plastered not painted...the acoustics we terrible everything echoed..we were woken by room 105 with LAUGHING at 7:15am on a Sunday. No vending Machines, ice only on second floor. Could not soak because tub plug did not stop the water!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    HoJo is coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More visible sign out front

    Big room, very clean and well appointed. Prices were great considering the option of staying in Boston and access to the metro transit good. Manager was magnificent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.0
    I had to call the front desk at 1am to complain about loud...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to call the front desk at 1am to complain about loud music and talking. I was told they were sending security to solve the problem. It never did. The noise finally stopped at 2:30am. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    hot water and blankets would have made things sooo much better
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no blankets,we asked for some and we were brought two blankets. The next day housekeeping took them. That night we went and asked for more and they said they didn't have any more. WHAT!!! The hot water was only warm, hot water was only in the sink. Miserable when I can't have a hot shower.....

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.7
    It was ok for the price.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that there was blood on the bathroom wall. One of the wall covers next to electrical outlet was not on properly. I feel the room could have been maintenenced better.

    It was a good place for the need.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    The Jordan's will be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a full length mirror behind the bathroom door. My hubby and I liked the king sized bed but it was a bit stiff but enjoyed our stay nonetheless.

    Loves how clean the hotel is and our room was. The receptionist at the desk was awesome too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    This was my first stay in Quincy, Massachusetts,but definitely not my last. I thoughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was quickly impressed with the the front desk attention to right a wrong. The day of my arrival, my original room was #215. The room, was still being cleaned at 4:00pm. Lindsay, was so apologetic she saw that I was waiting patiently and immediately processed another room for me. The daily breakfasts were all hot, delicious and everything was maintained.The area was kept very clean and James (the kitchen staff) was a particular delight. He was kind,always smiling and had great tips on how to quickly navigate the areas on which I was traveling to.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    3.3
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vending machines, no hot water,no heat,room was so cold. Talked to one of the over night guys and he told me that the hotel was forced opened because that's what the "owner" wanted and wasn't even ready to be open they only have one small water heater & it doesn't go to the other side of the hotel I stayed in room 122 charged my credit card 4 times for my room. Then another 2 for my drinks $2.00 a can and I got 2 and got charged twice $8.00 Never again will I stay here nor would I tell someone to stay here

    The fitness center, the bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Would think twice before booking again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that a guest checking in was fighting with the clerk for 10 minutes as I waited and watched. The fact that guests were slamming doors until 1:30 am.

    The cleanliness and bright decor

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice place, plain food, but great pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were limited. Not enough advertisements about where you go for fun with children.

    The area was very quiet, staff answered questions. House keeping was polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Stay for local event
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were too thin...could hear all neighbors easily but thats the problem were they cheat w/ new constriction theses days...so annoying, paying guest deserve better...otherwise the place was great fa a quick/short stay as it had no extras but did serve an included breakfast that i did not par take

    Bed was very comfortable....nice big flat screen TV . Happy to have a fridge, heating unit worked gud...new constriction...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful !!!! Must visit if you have the chance!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    I loved it ! Every question is a plus! The staff was excellent at the front desk. The room was beautiful with the set up. The beds were so comfortable that I wanted to sleep in one more night. Breakfast was an a plus! Variety of foods to choose from. I will be back for more days to stay at your lovely hotel! Thanks for everything!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.4
    Beds were comfy and in general for the type of hotel, it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move rooms because the original room smelled like smoke even though it was a non smokers room and then ended up having to leave in general because the new room had a dog for a neighbor that barked non stop. Walls are very thin. Also doors to get into the hotel aren't locked or card secured and no additional locks on bedroom doors.

    Beds were comfy and in general for the type of hotel, it was decent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Best hotel in the area best value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 a.m. wake up. Security knocked on door accuse me a smoking. Never smoked a day in my life.

    Breakfast was great. Staff very friendly. Rooms extremely clean. Small but very efficient Jim.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    5.0
    Not a hook to hang my suit on.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a hook to hang my suit on. had to drape it over a chair Not a shelf of any kind in bathroom to put things on Noisy room heater that kept me awake Shower head is not mounted on wall but portable Iron I needed for wrinkly shirt crusted with crud and useless

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    I loved the location a lot because it's not like your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was plain and not a lot of variety

    I loved the location a lot because it's not like your average hotels around a whole bunch of businesses it's nice and secluded and comforting

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75