Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hudson New York, Central Park 4 stars

358 West 58th Street, Hell's Kitchen, New York, NY 10019, USA

#374 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 10043 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location, tiny tiny tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were way smaller than anticipated, they were like dorms rooms but smaller. There was a clear window as one of the shower walls so if you planned on staying with someone who is not your significant or someone you're not comfortable to shower in front of keep that mind. There were numerous elevators yet it only seemed a couple worked, we stayed when the hotel was completely booked, so this caused a lot of wait time or using the stairs often.

    Location was perfect, quick access to the subway and not far from central park. The staff was super friendly. The room and facility were kept clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel but some rooms are very small!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small one of the smallest in the hotel and not practical for a normal suitcase. We did receive a upgrade for $10 per night. We did not think that would be required but do advise it for the following guests.

    The hotel is at a great location 5 minutes walk from central park and 10 minutes from time square. The nearest subway station has a direct connection to the statue of liberty ferry. The hotel has two bars with one to play pool and chess.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Pleasant modern and stylish place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe, there could be a little refrigerator in the room.

    Very nice place with different atmosphere in bars. Modern style, clean, big bets. Just next to central park, metro station...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    The room was very noisy due to ventilators outside -room...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy due to ventilators outside -room 1955. We slept very poorly every night because of the constant backgroung noise and the very big humidity in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Hotel in serious need of refurbishing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serious need of refurbishing. Several lights in room out; safe didn’t work and could not be fixed or replaced; shower had mold. What used to be s nice restaurant has been replaced with a styrofoam plate fast food place

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    Very close to central Park and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition didn't work well all 3 days. I wish we had a shower not a bath. The hotel is a little dark.

    Very close to central Park and metro. GOOD WIFI. Fluppy'S NEAR BY HAVE GREAT BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.2
    Good location with great access to Central Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained. Had to change rooms as first room allocated should not have been in service. Overall disappointed as the hotel has gone downhill from my first stay. Photos definitely not indicative of current state. Better options in NYC for the price.

    Good location with great access to Central Park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out the bill was 300$ more expensive than what announced on booking.com. At this price I could have booked a way better hotel, not a half hostel. The rooftop bar was closed the for whole season and it wasn’t announced anywhere. Plus, the hotel bar was always booked for hotel parties. The rooms were dusty.

    Comfortable beds. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    Nice lobby.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways where the rooms are located look like a hospital. I was upgraded and the room barely fit the bed. Bathroom is OK but very tiny. Shower had almost no pressure. There was water leaking all over the ceiling and mold on the headboard and ceiling. When I complained, I was told the hotel was fully booked. I got sick after staying in the room and so did a friend who stayed with me.

    Nice lobby. Very deceiving place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Location good but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window did not close fully. Street noise at high level of intrusion hotel owners showed not interested in basic maintenance. More interest in profit. Took advantage of location as room rate does not reflect the tired room interior. 4 star price with 2 star rooms rooms small but you should know this when you book and that is not a problem if you do not have much luggage. But the old I'll fitting window let's all the noise from the street invasive and makes for a poor nights sleep

    Close to local bars and dinners

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    great location, hotel needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    too dark, floors feel like you are in a storage facility, bathrooms need updating, can hear a ton of outdoor noise from room

    the location is great and the restaurant and outdoor patio accessible and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    Average. Great location. Disappointed with the hotel facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were small and dark. The blind was not working and not fixed despite notifying the staff. One of the bedside light was missing making the room even more darker. The bathroom size was terrible. No information available on beverages or hotel food places available in the room.

    The bed was comfortable. Great location. Good wifi connection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Location was fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in the room and a lamp didn't work. We asked for it sorting for when we got back in and it wasn't. We complained and were upgraded.

    Location was fab!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    The Hotel is located on the edge of Central Park which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As mentioned the rooms are a bit small and especially the bathroom is on the small side. But this is somehow standard in Manhattan and at the end of not a big deal.

    The Hotel is located on the edge of Central Park which is great for an early morning run in the Park. Metro station is around the corner but you will need to check connections to get around in the city. Rooms are small but that's standard in Manhattan. Good thing is that the hotel offers enough space (bar/restaurant etc.) to sit down and relax. Rooms and hotel in general are clean and well maintained. Hotel gym is adequate for a quick workout.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not serviced when I checked in. Unmade bed and you could see how dirty the duvet and pillows were. I complained and they did look after it but it took multiple efforts on my part. They did however look after us but unfortunately it was a little too late given the cost of the total stay.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed my stay at the Hudson.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My husband did not like the glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom. It made it difficult for the early riser who wanted to have a shower without disturbing the other person in the bedroom with the light. There should be way to block the light between the two rooms.

    Loved the location. The decor was very innovative, if a bit dark and gloomy in the lobby. Nice amenities in the room. The outdoor patio space was lovely for lounging or having a coffee or meal from Umami Burger.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location, in Columbus circle, near central park,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rooms and facilities are very basic, no chairs or sofas, our room didn't even have basic lighting and was very dark in the evening. the bathroom door was not working and couldn't be closed (and if closed couldn't be open!). the shower made some really bizarre screeching noises when turned on. breakfast was nice but not a lot of variety, food was the same every single day.

    Fantastic location, in Columbus circle, near central park, well connected to all subway stations and close to most of NY's attractions. Staff was really helpful and always happy to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    would go again when the room would be redesign
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bath for mu partner, the shower linking in the bathroom (Poorly design ) curtain is not long enough very dark in the room. No delivery to the room ( restaurant)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Best thing was the location. The rest was a disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hall carpeting very worn, kind of a dirty feeling overall. The lobby was beautiful, that's what is featured in the photos. We did not eat at the hotel. It had an appearance of worn and unclean.

    The beds were very comfortable, though they wrapped the quilt in sheets in an odd way, so that the bed felt short sheeted. We had an iron but no ironing board, and had to ask for a refrigerator to be brought up. The rooms were urban, which basically means that they didn't fix the wall imperfections. Quite pricey for what we got. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, and wouldn't stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but that’s it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress, air condition works and sounds terrible, phone in the room don’t work, cost of breakfast The relationship of price for what you get, is not reasonable

    Location, bars

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    A fairly nice hotel which does the job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really small, it wasn't a huge problem as we didn't spend much time in there. The bathroom is particularly tiny! They are also quite dark without much natural light. The air conditioning was loud, which meant at night it was often a toss up between peace and quiet and over-heating!

    The location couldn't be better, right next to central park which meant we could have our breakfast and coffees there each morning. The staff were friendly and the bed was comfortable. Although we didn't use the bar it seemed nice, and you were able to take your drinks onto the terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I choose the wrong type of room. It was very small and the bathroom was tiny. When sitting on the toilet my knees touched the wall which was uncomfortable.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location, close to Central Park, easy access everywhere/subway, restaurants closeby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The light in our room was broken and had to ask twice to get it fixed. We booked 3 guests in the room and had to ask for extra towels. We had to have our key re-programmed twice and by the end of the trip there was still only 1/3 keys working. Staff was responsive and issues were handled, just that we had to ask for all of them.

    There are 3 hotel bars and a restaurant in the hotel. The rooms are clean and size is completely reasonable for NYC.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    3 star with a 4 star price tag.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms are a little cramped if you're a couple. The sky terrace is closed even though it's heavily advertised. The air cuts itself off after only a few minutes, I know you need to save energy but it's 90 degrees in those rooms when it's hot outside.

    In a great location, very trendy guest, close to the subway, close Central Park and times square. The decor is beautiful and the lobby can't be beaten design wise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.0
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, over-priced room, rude reception staff on arrival. Our flight to NYC was delayed by over three hours meaning we arrived at the Hudson at 2.30am. We were greeted by a sweeping comment of “You have no room. We’re full.” After explaining we had booked our stay months prior, we were advised the booking was cancelled whilst we were flying and this was followed by a sarcastic “don’t get mad at me about it. It’s not my fault” comment, which is the last thing you need in a situation like this. The Manager thankfully found us alternative accommodation for our first evening, which, although helpful, was much more expensive and extended our agony and delayed the start of our holiday as we needed to find the hotel at 3am in a city we didn’t know before then having to return the next day with our bags for drop off. All round bad impression of this place and wouldn’t recommend to anyone!!

    Location was excellent. Short walking distance to Central Park and Times Square.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    room was comfortable, staff i spoke with was disrespectful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when i booker thought ht hotel was promised a free cocktail each night, but that never happened, they both ended up on my bill. and the vending machines on the 10th floor takes your money but does not deliver. room 1075 forcier

    room was comfortable, staff i spoke with was disrespectful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable. Unique public gathering spaces. Great deal $
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in my room didnt work, took too many requests to get it fixed. Not a deal breaker but annoying

    The community spaces at the Hudson are the draw. Great places to meet up for a drink. Love the outdoor patio area and the library. Unique and fun.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Position was good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not easy to see from outside - not even a sign... Too dark the inside Rooms very small, got the feeling of being in a hive

    Position was good, five minutes walk to Central Park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    The Hudson 2018 NYFW
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    receptionist was not there all the time and there was a longer wait time than it should be.

    amenities were good and housekeeping. clean sheets and towels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room , the place looks tired and not very clean, bathrooms need an update , aircons are noisy , no space for a suitcase, it had to go on the desk!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    The location is convienent, very nice and helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t comfortable with the bathroom and the flooring of the bed (usually rugs are installed under beds)

    The location is convienent, very nice and helpful staff, well-designed hotel, and the lobby seatings are quite asthetic and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is big and it feels that you are part of an industry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioner was super loud and strong so it was impoosible to sleep with it on so the room wa either too hopt or too cold. The room is super tiny but clean.

    Friendly staff at the reception. Good burger in umami restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is good, but rooms are small and the hotel is marked by the darkness of its lobby and halls
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very small room, dark lobby and lifts, excessively loud music in the lifts, no fridge in the room, could not turn off the very loud air-conditioner that was continuously on.

    The staff at the hotel was nice and helpful, the hotel is very central, the room was clean and has the minimum essential appliances.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Location, location, location 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a bit intermittent and the guide on the tv did not detail what programmes were on so you had to go through all channels each time to find something you wanted. Lifts busy and room quite small

    Fantastic location, close to the subway, shops, Central Park you name it! Rooms were clean and functional and staff helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Lobby is pretty and location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad lighting in the room. You can’t fit in the restroom, even if you’re only 156cm. Lack of information when charging deposit and rent for the room. And we only got one towel even when we told we’ve booked the room for two people.

    Lobby is pretty and location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom door couldn't be closed. Two days with only 1 towel for people. When addressing this to front desk, they were very dismissive and did not look to solve the issue. We had to chase down a maid in the hallway to get more towels. With only a tiny bit of rain, they closed the outdoor area. We could only use it two of the days there. Traffic was very loud even on the 14th floor. We thought the window was open due to the noise level.

    The bed was comfy. Good air con. Good vibe in the hotel. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Overcharged - Booking price is not actual price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “total price” on booking.com does not include extra charges from the hotel. They blame booking.com and offer no refund. Slowest lift system in NYC, takes ages to get up or down from your room. Front desk is understaffed.

    Location, Communal areas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    True to listing pictures in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just minor things for others to plan for. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Despite being on the 11 floor, ambulance and police car noise in the middle of the night. Pack earplug and you'll be fine.

    The location was perfect. The room was a decent size for New York. We had room 1151 with two queen beds. This room had duel aspect. The beds were comfortable, enough shelves for storage. The hotel was trendy with ivy covered ceiling in the lobby, huge chandelier and quirky seating option...loved it. Subway at the end of the street (Columbus Circle) and very close to Central park. Whole food market in the shopping centre next to the subway entrance. Great bar and burger bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    The person at front desk was very helpful and also the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel hasn’t the facilities for a 4 star hotel. No mini bar, no nothing that u can find in a 4 star hotel. The room was dirty.

    The person at front desk was very helpful and also the manager.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was note very welcoming, even arrogant. Bathroom was not very clean, nor very modern.

    Location of the hotel is very good. The bed Was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty hotel, carpet is stinking and dirty on the floors. Walls all with chipped paint. Bathrooms are dirty and small. No staff to help with luggage. Would definitely not recommend staying here, hotel needs an urgent renovation and needs to work on the cleanliness of the rooms and corridors.

    Location is great. Lobby is very nice. Umami Burger is awesome. House cleaning was very fast and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Dark, dank and overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had strong mildew small and was tiny. Could not sit on toilet except sideways. Dark room and lobby. Loud music. Labyrinth hallways.

    Location. Near Central Park

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.2
    Avoid this hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our flight was delayed so we were due to arrive very late at night. I called the front desk beforehand to let them know and make sure that our late arrival would be okay and they seemed very accommodating. However when we finally arrived, weary from our travels, the receptionist told us she had good news and bad news. The bad news was that our room was no longer available (presumably having been given up despite me confirming that we would indeed arrive) and instead we would have to share a single room - my wife and I - on our honeymoon (which turned out to be grubby and minuscule. The good news was that we could have the $28 breakfast free of charge - cheers! What a joke. When I quizzed her about this she said we could instead have $70 reimbursement or cancel our booking and claim a full refund. Great - at 2am I’m sure we could find another hotel!? What a complete joke. Would never recommend- would never stay again. Avoid this hotel!

    Once we were moved to the room we actually booked the room was clean and pleasant, albeit very compact. The location was close to Central Park and the subway.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.3
    Dated hotel and unfriendly staff, but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not well-maintained - plates and glasses left in the corridors for hours, almost a full day, I saw at least 5 staff walk by and do nothing about it. There were minor stains on the sheets on our bed. At least on our floor, drinks vending machine was not working. Staff on check in wasn't rude or anything, but pretty indifferent, almost with an attitude. And I understand this is New York, but construction noise in the morning was just unbearable - I was not notified of construction happening beforehand. And it wasn't a street construction, it was a loud jack hammer noise right next to our heads so I assume it was within the hotel and the management must be aware of it going on. All of the above made our stay very uncomfortable.

    While the lobby and some parts of the hotel look pretty modern and renovated, the hotel halls, rooms, and elevators were pretty dated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.5
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above !

    After a mix up with my reservation, I was give a small room with a small bed which must have been wheeled bib last-min. I was. Still charged the full price. This was NOT a deluxe room, which is for what I was charged.will also complain with management

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel needs renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in very bad condition and needs renovation. Upon checking into our room we were surprised to see that our bathroom had not been cleaned And found remains of human excrements in the toilet. The front desk staff was very reactive and upgraded us to a suite. However both rooms we stayed in were dirty and in bad shape. The hotel does not reflect the pictures on the website unfortunately. For that price I was expecting at least a clean and functional room. Very disappointing experience, we will not stay at this property again.

    The location was great! Food and average was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    It was cool the high floor with great view request got me to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cool the high floor with great view request got me to the 5th floor and the view was the roof of another building and the bathrooms was super small but I’m not sure if it’s New York thing or not I just stayed for the weekend that’s pretty much enough for me customer service was sharp I didn’t get much hassle they did took care of some issues I had room light and missing remote to turn the tv on

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Stylish hotel, wonderful staff, fabulous Library Bar, great location. Tiny room, No Sky Bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny dark room. No fridge in room. No Sky Terrace as advertised. This is false advertising, I would not have booked The Hudson had I known the Sky Terrace was not open! Final price per night considerably more than advertised. I did check the prices in booking.com, but thought it was overpriced for what was offered.

    I arrived late evening and was made very welcome by Franklin. I was devastated to learn the Sky Terrace was closed. That was my reason for booking and I felt deceived. The room was tiny and dark, with no fridge. I was offered an upgrade, but the hotel was fully booked and it wasn't possible the next day. I was given a complimentary breakfast the next morning, which was delicious. I also enjoyed two complimentary drinks in the beautiful Library Bar each night of my stay. Particular thanks to Sahia, Jose, David and John for keeping me company. Delighted to find Cava and Margaritsa on the menu and that drinks can be enjoyed in your room. The huge TV screens in the restaurant with sport ruined the design and atmosphere for me. The food in the bar was also limited and disappointing. More or less a burger take out. Doesn't fit the elegance of the hotel. expected much better quality and elegance. All the satff were so friendly, professional and helpful. I loved the playlist in the bars and the 'Disco Elevators' and had a mini dance when alone in the elevator. Older male guests did not enjoy the music in the elevator, as much as I did. 'Walter Matthau' attitude perhaps. It cost 60$ dollars more a night than advertised in Booking.com, with taxes and room rates higher than expected. Had the Sky Terrace been available as advertised and there had been a fridege in an upgraded room with a view as requested, I wouldn't have minded. Solo travellers should not be shoved in a tiny room with no view for 260$ a night! Overall I loved it, but expect a room with a view, an upgrade and the Sky Terrace to be open as advertised next time. Fabulous staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, there was a party going on full of drunk people at the door. There is no parking, The corridors are super old and runed down, the shower makes a wierd sound and the bathrooms are very old as well. I booked this hotel because of the rooftop, when I reached the hotel they told me it’s under renovation. No value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Location - right next to Colombus Circle is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We ended up spending an extra $400 upgrading to ensure we got a bathroom where our knees didn't hit the wall when sitting on the toilet and that we didn't have to squeeze past the toilet pan everytime we got in and out of the shower.... We were aware the rooms here were small but beware they are seriously small... just about room to squeeze down the side of the beds in superior rooms, and deluxe rooms where knees scrape the wall when sit on toilet. The antiquated air conditioning was the noisiest I had ever heard and disrupted our sleep every night - we couldn't turn it off as we were in a heat wave. Half of the lifts were out of action - so the interaction with fellow guests was usually limited to moaning how long you had been waiting and whether to chance the stairs - considering its 23 storeys tall that's not an easy choice! We also weren't told when booking that the roof terrace and rooftop restaurant were closed during the summer for renovations.... this was the selling point of us booking this hotel!! The garden area adjacent to the bar shut at 10.30pm each night - so was often closed before we returned from dinner. The bar off the lobby was often shut early too. All in all not a great stay or choice. No information on the hotel services in the room and as they weren't mentioned on check in (except location of the gym) we were not aware that the Umami Burger restaurant opened for breakfast and we could have got tea and coffee in there in the mornings...

    Location - right next to Colombus Circle is great. Lobby and Bar area very cool. The staff in the whole were very pleasant, especially Jade on check in. The food in the Umami restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Location, bed is comfortable and Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe in room didn't function, bathroom very small, a window and curtin sueparate bedroom from shower and bathroom. Very tacky.Water damage on cieling corners. But your paying for Location we could walk to all attractions.

    Great Location, bed is comfortable and Great Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Consierge (Lilian) was very helpful in pointing us in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in bedroom.

    Consierge (Lilian) was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for sightseeing tours and booking theatre tickets. She stayed late so we could pick up our tickets from the hotel on the night we went to see Pretty Woman. Luggage service was very useful on the day we checked out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Eccentric and quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are a bit tight, very noisy, needs double pane windows to eliminate the street noise. Need instructions on how to use your phone for tv remote. Lobby needs to turn up the lights a bit more.

    Eccentric and quaint

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location. Very small rooms and bathrooms. No minibar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a standard queen room which was super small. If you have more than one baggage, it takes the whole room space. Rather that have a useless tiny desk I would prefer to have more space in the room. When you sat on a toilet your head could touch the wall in front of you! I'm 179cm tall guy and cannot image how someone taller or bigger will use it! I like the hotel style but room land bathroom lights were very dimmed it was even hard to dress up. TV was positioned in very awkward place on a side of the bed and there was mirror behind it. There was no mini bar and our 20th floor had no snacks or ice facilities like other floors we have seen.

    Good location only few minutes walk to central park. Many good food places around. Stuff was friendly and helpful. Perfect to short stay and if you like walking and exploring local area. Good value in terms of location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a great stay, comfy bed and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof bar wasn’t open, and even though the rooms were well air conditioned the halls ways were very warm.

    I loved the decor and boutique feel. The beds were supper comfy and our room was well air conditioned and clean. The food also took us by surprise, we ordered some burgers after a long day walking and they were excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.2
    Proximity to metro, Central Park, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. Overcharged, 300$ for guarantee which was not in any of the terms and conditions. When i faced the reception staff i got dismissed with “every hotel charges this, it’s non negotiable”. Room was tiny! As in super tiny. Barely had space to move around the bed. Things were broken, furniture was old and poorly maintained. Bathroom glass wall to the bedroom...seriously? Window was dirty, everything was dusty, sheets had lots of stains and holes. Daily room cleaning was just making the bed and taking out the trash, nothing more. The worst? Elevator! Out of 6 elevators...only 2 were working. Average waiting time: 7 minutes! Every single day. Everyone was super frustrated. AC console right at the head of the bed. Got sick because the air flow was continuously blowing in my head. Once A/C turned off, the room became extremely hot and humid. Reception staff: extremely rude, lacked any kind of customer orientation. Totally not helpful and condescending. Entire hotel looks like a dorm. No natural light, stained carpets, cracks in the walls and doors.

    Proximity to metro, Central Park, restaurants and convenience stores.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Poor Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude at reception and made no effort to welcome us to hotel. Room size- very very small!!! Smallest I’ve ever stayed in. On my last day, I noticed aunts crawling around beside bathroom door which I reported to reception staff on check out....lady seemed to not care and showed no sense of urgency to find out where they were, how many, etc...not impressed overall and would not recommend hotel to anyone.

    Location was great. 2min walk from metro and lots shops and restaurants close by

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small for the price and the outdoor areas are closed all day (and the rooftop bar was closed for construction) but you aren’t warned about this before booking - not very good value for money. Also was a lot more than I’d budgeted for due to the various ‘taxes’ they add to your bill so all in all, very bad value

    The location is fantastic - close to Central Park, Times Square and some great restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Just ok, but good location near Central Park. Parking is not on the premises,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a minor problem with the bathroom but was compensated the next day. Valet had to be requested and that was a bother since the lobby is off of the group floor. If I was alone with a car there would have been problems.

    The bed was comfy and the staff was nice. The lobby was cool, funky and different and there is a restaurant on site and late night eats nearby,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location a few rough edges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but various things like bath plug not working; very expensive breakfast for really basic fare and plastic cups and cutlery...better value to order what you want from kitchen hatch. Dingy entrance and pulsating music in lifts and public areas.

    Very friendly and helpful staff ; superb location across from central park and 9th Avenue wonderful for places to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Horrible Room, impossible to sleep. Perfect location and good Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so small that I was unable to go over the Bed. It is impossible to sit inside the toilet if you close the door. No room for the legs... Horrible Room ! Noisy - no soundproof. The Rooms need renovation.

    Perfect location and Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    2.9
    Worst experience of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst experience of my life. On the first night, the air conditioning was not working and the staff told me an engineer was on his way to fix it. 30 minutes later no one came, so they changed my room. There was no mini fridge on either of them. Then on my last night I saw a MOUSE in my room, packed all my things in a hurry and went to the lobby to speak with someone about this. The staff was not nice and demanded the key to my room and simply gave me a key to another room, and told me “don’t let this ruin your vacation”. I asked to speak to a manager and he was not nice as well, told me he would give me a refund for 1 night but that was all he would offer. I left and stayed at another hotel for my last night in NYC. This is a health issue and is unacceptable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.0
    Groovy hotel in great location near Central Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room or fridge. Elevators could get very busy at peak times.

    Location! Loved being so close to Central Park and the Columbus circle subway which goes straight downtown. Also close to Theatre district. Funky lobby and several different bars/ public areas. Loved the library bar. Complementary $10 food or drink voucher was appreciated Rooms are a decent size by New York standards and clean. Flexible check out. The rooms on the city side are better. I took a $10 upgrade from a standard room I would recommend this if you can afford it. Air con very effective which was a blessing as New York in August is hot!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.4
    Very underwhelmed, was expecting a nice mid-range boutique hotel, dark lighting does not = boutique
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Major attitude from bar staff on Umami Bar (need to learn value of good customer service), substandard 1st room, lack of storage space in room, only 2 towels for 4 guests, poor standard of cleanliness, bedside light fittings missing, light at rear of bed not woking. We transfer to 2nd room, water dripping from ceiling, tiles fall off bathroom wall, used bar glasses left in room for 3 days, lack of storage in room. Breakfast overrated, cheap cafeteria style, lack of choice, pretty expensive.

    Location, easy check-in/out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay but a tad bit expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were cramped, damp and felt old to begin with. Before the cleaners came to make up the room, it was also not really clean with dusts on its crrpet and hairs in the tubs. The hotel is always dark and dingy.

    The location was excellent. The counter staff and concierge in particular Andrew and Sidney were awesome and attentive. The cleaner at level 15, a middle age chinese lady with glasses was very thorough, honest and trustworthy. She even refused a tip for making up our rooms which we were really pleased with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the facilities
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet Breakfast felt ike a "highschool" canteen, not "high-quality" hotel buffet. The only other thing that I really struggled with was the type of disenfectanct/perfume used in the whole building it was a strong smell & I would get headaches from it. If they changed this to something less offensive or organic to sensitive noses would be great.

    Close to many restuarants and tourist attractions. The Umami burger restaurant within the Hudson hotel is amazing. The burgers are delicious. And the space is so artsy - instagram worthy. Definitely worth spending some time there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Small rooms near Central Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are ridiculously tiny. If you are a taller or larger person, the bathroom will be a challenge. I am petite and my knees touched the bathroom wall while using the toilet.

    Close to Central Park. Rooms were clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location close to Central Park & for sightseeing city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Bathroom was so tight. It was well used space however I couldn’t help feeling confined in so tight & small space...

    The bed was comfortable, view from room was good. The location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Reasonably priced for NY but don’t have high expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was huge so there was little personal service. The rooms were very dark and quite small. It was quite basic with little extras like bathrobes and slippers missing. I upgraded twice and the room, in particular bathroom was still small. Air con was also very loud, but equally it drowned out the sound of other guests!

    Location was really good, close to Central Park and useful to have Time Warner close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    My two day stay was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. The bathroom is even smaler my knees hit the wall when I occupied the toilet. No instructions for how to use/set the safe. No brochures/literature in the rooms about the hotel and facilities locations available. Had to ask for that information. Vending machines generate too much heat behind the closed doors causing items to melt or damaged.

    The location. The cleanness. The general appearance of the facility. The kinky glass window between the bathroom and bedroom with the sheer curtain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, this hotel will do a job, but won't blow you away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A couple of the staff members were very nice, but overall they seemed indifferent to you or anything guest.

    The room was simple and comfortable. The location was brilliant for anyone wanting to walk up to central park, and a short subway ride if you wanted to travel south.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Meh, its okay probably wouldnt stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too small, and the staff werent friendly or happy doing their job

    The location was amazing, close to the metro the takes you all the way down to the bottom of manhattan and all the way up. Pluss very close to central park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff were generally very polite and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moved rooms without explanation. Hallways were routinely messy. Lock on door looked like it'd been kicked in. Ice machine didn't work. Treadmills in the gym need servicing. Common areas so dark you need a torch to read, though I appreciate this is the style.

    Staff were generally very polite and helpful. During second week of stay I was upgraded to accommodate a friend staying without charge, in part because of the unexplained room move during week one. This was great service and very much appreciated. Also the 10 dollar daily credit gets you a drink at the end of day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.3
    Very bad, unpleasant experience. Would not recommend it at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like anything about the hotel.

    Really shocking, considering what I was expecting. The price is so high for a below average hotel. The lobby was dirty, no one to help us with the bags, the escalator wasn't working so we had to lug our bags up the narrow escalator. To top that, there was no one at the reception to welcome us, we had to go looking for someone. Finally a lady comes by lethargically and checks us in. Even though we requested an upgrade, the Superior room was shockingly small for the amount you are paying, the AC vent incredibly loud so we had to turn it off! The windows were not sound proof, so we heard ALL noises from the street all night long, and to top it there was construction going on right outside our window which started at 7am! It was like going through a nightmare after a LONG flight, to the point we could not take it anymore, so we checked out and moved to another hotel! It may look nice from the pictures on the site and boast being designed by Tom Dixon, with a fancy bar and restaurants, but the rooms are far from comfortable or even nice. Really disappointed. REALLY BAD experience. I would never recommend this property to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location (close to central park and next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we stayed in was too small and the bathroom too, the a/c made annoying noises all the time.

    Great location (close to central park and next to the subway), well designed hotel, comfortable bed, room perfectly cleaned, flexible check out, luggage storage for just $2 (no matter how many luggages), welcoming staff and always ready to satisfy our requests.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: