Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Huntley Santa Monica Beach This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1111 2nd Street, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90403, United States of America

#29 of 381 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 754 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    6.3
    This was a disappointing stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I thought it was inexcusable that one (and there were only two that could take you to all rooms for 17 floors) was broken for three whole days, starting Saturday 5am to when I left on Monday at 6pm. It was still broken when I left and made for a very frustrating experience for all guests. It was also ridiculous that they charge a resort fee on top when they have no amenities to speak of.

    I liked the lobby only.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money. Rooms were nice but the Fairmont over the road was way better!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor room service, iPad in the room didn't work so we couldn't order anything. Not great facilities for the money. Weren't full pairs of dumbbells in the gym. Left 2 nights early.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, view of the city and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No room in fridge to store your own personal food items.

    Great location, view of the city and beach. Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities were immaculate.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    An excellent hotel in a top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The valet parking cost of US$46 per day was excessive. Other hotels in Santa Monica offered valet parking at much cheaper rates and there was a public carpark very close offering max US$25 per day

    Welcoming and helpful staff in a very classy establishment

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    8.8
    Hidden fees but beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beware the price on booking.com isn’t the price Huntley wil charge you. $78 of taxes were applied at checkout which was in addition to the taxes quoted on booking.com..very strange

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, lovely hotel.... but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an issue with loud banging ALL night from somewhere within the hotel. It went continuously from 11pm to 5am - impossible to sleep through. When we complained the next day we were told there would be compensation- it turned out to be waiving our ‘hotel amenities fee’ of $20. Not good enough in my opinion. The Hotel is lovely but not worth the price.

    Location, restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    it was a bit pricey but worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking was too pricey but probably it is common situation in Santa Monica

    it was a bit pricey but worth it. We stayed there for 3 nights and really enjoyed. The room was so big, modernized and at the same time very cozy. The toiletries Bulgary and coffee machine Nespresso added more pleasure and value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.8
    Nice modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gym is very small. They charge $25 per person per night for: apples in the gym, a bottle of water and some espresso capsules and bikes. We couldn’t find fresh fruits at the gym all the time and the beverages weren’t provided daily. Bikes should be returned before 7PM and they were in poor condition. Food looks good, but lacks proper combination of ingredients.

    Nice modern hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.8
    Rooms are modern but comfortable and good size for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are modern but comfortable and good size for the area. Staff are really helpful and friendly without being over the top. Location is fantastic- far enough away from the Centre to avoid noise but close enough to walk to everything. Great bar and restaurant at the Penthouse. This is the second time Ive stayed here and I would return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    5.4
    Situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy rooms. They have a bunch of double queen bed rooms back to back to the elevators, which produces a terrible noise. They should not be selling those rooms. Too expensive.

    Situation

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service - and we LOVED that they change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent customer service - and we LOVED that they change the floor mat in the elevator from "Good Morning" to "Good afternoon" and "Good evening" - very quirky, but a ver cool touch!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic luxury boutique with recent renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive but probably in line with similar hotels in Santa Monica. Beware noise from the roof top night club on weekends especially if you are staying on an upper floor. Staff was great apart from one waiter at breakfast. Internet didn't work when we arrived but was fixed a short time later.

    True luxury and recent updates. Excellent Food. Super friendly staff. Great location. Decoration of lobby and rooms. Views of ocean, mountains and sunset.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    7.5
    The check process wasn’t enjoyable and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check process wasn’t enjoyable and the staff were actually rude and arrogant, not a pleasant experience even treated like that when your paying $600 a night for a room. That said it was only those two members of staff the others were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel to stay in if in Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pity the bathroom was a bit pokey, surprisingly small compared to the bedroom area.

    Great deco and modern amenities in the room. Hi-tech room controls. Sophisticated hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super clean rooms which was well appointed. Loved the decor and the view from our room of the ocean. Very friendly staff and a great location to the beach and shopping. Loved the breakfast at The Penthouse, the million dollar view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury stay , amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was little off from main beach, u can really walk to beach but staff was very helpful and arranged pick and drop for my family to the beach which I really loved

    Staff was very good, very helpful and was trying their best to accommodate all wishes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    A real gem in Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was absolutely nothing negative about our experience at the Huntley.

    The staff was very personable, welcoming and accommodating throughout our stay. Excellent service and attention. We were offered a room upgrade upon check-in, which gave us a beautiful ocean view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.6
    I thought it was nicely decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They have a sewer issue in building. My shower kept draining poorly. They charged a resort amenity fee of $25 which not sure what that was for as they didn’t have a pool. Never offered for used any bikes if they had them available. Location is quite a haul to pier Upstairs at scenic bar didn’t know what a frozen was and they were to into themselves than serving their paying customers.

    I thought it was nicely decorated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The locks on doors are such that even if closed fairly gently it sounds like slamming. Let alone when let yo slam. Very noisy outside. Stayed here for 4 nights for 3 rd time. Very unlikely yo come back to this particular hotel 😔

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.5
    Only good for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They don't provide breakfast! And if you are a picky person of sleeping environment, this is a bad place because you can hear people's talking all around your room, it is ridiculous and annoying.

    The location is great, close to the beach. Also, there are several public parking structures around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff really has an attitude problem. During checkin asked about alternative to valet parking. Staff pretended to be stupid and didn’t tell me there are plenty of public parking (closest is 300m away, for half their price). Stupid resort fee, what for? Make one price that includes all and not that you pay at the end 30% more than the advertised room rate.

    Hotel itself is nice and modern. But there are options that are as good for half the price with nicer staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely weekend in Santa Monica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't care for the lobby decor.

    The location is excellent, near the water but away from the craziness. Our room had lots of light and an ocean view, and it was wonderful. The restaurant has spectacular views, and is great for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Amazing stay at Huntley!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Room with Two Queen Beds with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lady who checked us in was beyond accomodating! However the staff on the 2nd day wasnt too friendly and could learn a thing or two about customer service. She wanted to argue with me about a 1 hour late checkout after the lady 2 days before told me it was okay. If im paying 500 a night for a room do not bother me with a $50 late checkout charge for 1 hour.

    The hotel is stunning! Was there for 3 days and constantly noticed new beautiful things. Huntley did not miss a detail in the design, luxury and comfort of this property!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    This is a nice, bright, clean, attractively decorated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a nice, bright, clean, attractively decorated, updated hotel. It has a lovely 14th floor 'penthouse' restaurant with great views of the Santa Monica area and the beach (and delicious food).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    This hotel was awesome very clean, modern, ordering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really much of a complaint but they only have valet parking but it is convenient

    This hotel was awesome very clean, modern, ordering everything through the iPad was very helpful. The touch pad for the lights was a plus! Walking distance to the beach. will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.7
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant is not part of the hotel. So, the last day we were not able to use the restaurant because there was a mother’s day celebration and we were obliged to use only preset menue worth 80$ per person. How unprofessional!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I wish there was a swimming pool

    The comfort of the bed was perfect, we loved the penthouse restaurant with the unique view and amazing cuisine, the style of the furniture: so elegant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    I liked literally everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only two elevators means sometimes you have to wait a little. Valet parking price was on the expensive side.

    I liked literally everything. The room was adequately sized, well designed and maintained. Location was excellent, in a quiet area of Santa Monica but still close to everything that mattered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    6.7
    First and last! Front desk not helpful at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk does not seem to understand they are in the travel business, no help at all with any needs!! Specially if not booked thorough them, so if book through BOOKING.COM, they don’t help at all!! THIS IS NOT BOOKING.com problem it is the Huntley’s hotel attitude because you did not book through them!

    Nicely renovated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.8
    Nicely renovated rooms, some a little small for what they...
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    FIRST AND LAST!! Never on a weekend, too loud! You can hear the music from the rooftop two floors above!! Lot of noise from the hallway! If you book through booking the hotel won’t do anything to help at all, since you booked through a third party they are not willing to help! I asked for a late check out and they said they were fully booked!! If have not slept all weekend because of the PH music and I ask for a 1:30 pm check out and they said NO! We had 4 premiere king rooms and one Malibu suite for 5 nights and they did not care at all, as if we had been here just for one day! Most hotels would appreciate potentially good and this one does not! They don’t care if you come back!! If you decide to come for more than one night make sure to Stay away from the PH rooftop as you will not sleep till after 2 am!! And don’t expect anyone to care or move to another room. Do not book this hotel though third parties, they don seem to like that, try to book directly with them.

    Nicely renovated rooms, some a little small for what they say on internet. Food is very good and brunch at the PH really good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Great boutique hotel. Eat/drink somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was just incredibly expensive. The room rates were high, but the restaurant was insanely expensive. One mimosa with fairly inexpensive bubbles was $15. We are talking about an 1.5 oz drink with a little oj. Fairly typical of rest of menu.

    The rooms, service, overall ambience was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, pretty much everything is walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, pretty much everything is walking distance. Super friendly staff. The restaurant upstairs, Penthouse, has delicious food no matter which meal!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything! This was the best Hotel we stayed during our vacation. We even try to manage the rest of our trip to return to Santa Monica. One of the reasons: this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect Place at Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast very expensive...

    We liked the hotel. Room was clean and big. Location perfect. Hotel has car parking but a little bit expensive. Walking distance to Santa Monica pier + third street promenade and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service, very clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Valet parking charges were extreme, should have been free for the residents of the hotel. Very friendly staff though.

    Excellent service, very clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed stay but would not revisit Santa Monica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom a bit cramped and no outside space to relax at the hotel.

    bedroom and facilities in room and location, concierge Carlos very helpful, takeaway shop on ground floor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.8
    Beautifull rooms with complementary nexpresso, evian water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the hotel had a swimming pool it would be great...spring weather in LA was too cold for the beach.

    Beautifull rooms with complementary nexpresso, evian water and chocolates.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No balcony. Room looked out onto boring roof tops and was for disabled access. Had to call reception three times to have another bathrobe sent up. Shower door didn't close so water spilt out onto floor; mentioned this at reception, said they would send someone up to fix it. They didn't. Paid $100 for a late check out and was locked out of the room....then had to call them three times to have the final check sent up. Only had turn down on one night and they just left one, solitary chocolate. Poor service considering the very high price tag. Wouldn't recommend.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel clean. Roof top bar is lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.3
    Good location. Modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not think the lobby was very inviting in terms of being a place to sit and relax. I paid extra for a view but I would not do this again as the view was side on so you wouldn't even notice if you had it or not. Was not worth the extra cost.

    I thought the room was lovely and also the bathroom. Loved the hi-tech lighting panel! Good location close to beach and pier and yet away from the hustle and bustle of the busy areas. Lovely view from the restaurant/bar although we didn't eat there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.5
    A ggod experience but missing a pool and a good breakfast buffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast was a great disappointment, very expensive and of poor quality. I strongly recommend to go out for breakfast. The reasturang also expensive and the food was not of any quality.

    The location of the hotel is great and the cleaning excellent. The staff very friendly and servicemainded. The rooms spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very well located for access to the beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No problems with the hotel. This is a very expensive city and the traffic in LA is diabolical!

    The hotel is very well located for access to the beach, restaurants and shops. Rooms are generously sized and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a person that had a very bad body scent in the breakfast area. We where unable to open te windows, would be beter if the windows could be opened. Also when the weather is good for some fresh sea breeze

    Great location Love the beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.9
    Room was clean and a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception needs some work. I checked in with two big pieces of luggage and NO one asked me if they could help me to my room. This is hospitality 101!

    Room was clean and a great view. Liked the touch of changing the mats in the elevator with salutations. Roo. Service was amazing and service prompt and nice. My boyfriend got sick and they sent up what they had in the shop (which was very expensive).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful view overseeing the Santa Monica Beach and the LA...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No bathtub in the room so you can only take shower not a bath. Also, be careful about being charged with the items in the minibar which were actually not consumed by you.

    Wonderful view overseeing the Santa Monica Beach and the LA basin. Super comfortable bedding. Nice interior and very advanced(?) lighting control in the room when checking-out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.6
    nice room, loved the lighting and the bikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were given had a moldy smell. Also we payed more for Ocean View, but to see the ocean you had to stand rt up to the window and look to the side. Now worth the extra $$. should not be called ocean view.

    nice room, loved the lighting and the bikes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    4.6
    First time I have ever seen this happen in 30 years of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time I have ever seen this happen in 30 years of travel. Shower drainage failed from blockage resulting in stagnate water and sewerage coming out of shower drain. Smell and sight was terrible resulting in need to vacant room. While hotel provided an alternate room, this simply should not happen in this quality of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    6.3
    Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Valet punctured the car tire and it was not handled in the best manner. Communication was not clear with staff. Missed a day of work due to car situation.

    Good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel let down by poor service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in the restaurant/bar was poor and hotel guests felt secondary to other customers. On a 3 night stay having the only restaurant/bar closed for a private function without prior notice isn't great for a top end hotel.

    Clean and stylish rooms with excellent views. All amenities were working and good specification.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    7.5
    Gorgeous place to stay in Santa Monica. A bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overcharging attempts They tried to charge for something we did not consume. Other reviews report the same kind of "problem" with this hotel...so beware!

    Comfortable beds, very beautifully decorated rooms, quietness. smart home system with lights etc. View over Santa Monica and partial ocean view!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very busy...could have been particular days we stayed. Not enough drinking water provided. Suggest you bring your own as water in LA is pretty bad.

    Great location. Nice classy hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is a class operation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking charges of $48 per day were exorbitant., especially where there was parking 2 doors away for $26 per day. When we arrived, we weren't told of any parking options. I moved my car for the second day. The visit was to celebrate my wife's birthday. I informed the hotel of this when I made the reservation. When we checked in, we were asked when we would like an amenity delivered. It was not delivered when we asked. We called and rescheduled, but it was not delivered at the new time. On both occasions, we altered our plans to be there when it arrived. It is not a big deal, but something that was supposed to be nice that was not.

    The hotel is a class operation. We liked it very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel highlight became low light.. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being put in a room under the bar and restaurant... with very little sound proofing but we did get moved at my persistence. I also rang booking.com and they also wrote to hotel as manager was not there.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Speed at check in and check out had to wait approximately 7 minutes to check in and 10 to check out. Perhaps there should be more than two memebers of staff on reception.

    Beautiful rooms very very comfortable and lots of space. Staff very pleasant especially the housekeeping staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    4.2
    Dirty rooms and worn down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was so dirty !! The cleaners was in every day but only did the “top stuff” The bathroom was disgusting and filthy. Stains everywhere - I had to take them away. I even put a sticker up to show where the stains were- and no one saw it. and DO NOT look at the mirrors under the bed or in the corners. I was so disappointed do the the high numbers on Booking.com- it felt like a party had been thrown and they forgot to clean. The staff at the restaurant was great but like I’m writing, I’m so disappointed.

    The location is great. Also the reviews on Booking.com - not true. I travel a lot- read my review!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    5.8
    Too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lobby was very small for the size of property. It was too small for the large numbers of people coming and going to the top floor bar and restaurant. Our room was immediately below the bar and restaurant and we were disturbed by the noise. As the hotel was full it could not be changed. Fees are very high for this expensive property. Parking is $40 per night but there is parking immediately next door for less than half this price. This and the fact it has no pool makes it poor value for money.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    8.3
    Great location and luxury extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very little ,bed could have been firmer and complimentary water would have been good in the room.

    Lovely room and hotel with penthouse restaurant with great views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    6.7
    OK stay, Great roof top bar, nice location, could still be nicer with small changes and more smile..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extra cost for anenities which I didnt use & this cost came as a surprise to an already expensive room.

    It was a good hotel, for sure. Still small things could have been done completly differently. I had to pay for the news paper and access to bikes 25 dollars per day, even if I didnt want neitger of those, plus when we asked about the bikes they were included the price but just 2 hours use, after that 20 dollars/ hour. Greedy and unfair to add that cost to your room fee! The little extra ”nice” feeling was not there at this hotel. But the roof top restaurant was awesome!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.2
    Great Stay except the noise of the resturant will spread to your room if you are in high floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - All the noise will comes to you if your room locate on high floors especially at night, as the restaurant is located on the highest floor “18th”.

    - Great Location - Smart Rooms - Comfort Rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Absolutely amazing and can’t wait to come
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only slight downside was the AC. It was quite loud so during the night it was a little annoying.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable yet luxurious. The location was perfect - close to the beach, shops and restaurants, but on a nice quiet part of the street. I didn’t want to leave!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    5.4
    Too expensive for what you get.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a bit older and has infrastructure issues. The wiFi was spotty. The audio on the television dropped frequently. Not an issue watching TV, but really frustrating when watching a movie.

    The staff at The Huntley were great. For the most part, they were very responsive when we encountered issues. Also, they were good about issuing credits for problems we encountered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.6
    we had traveled all night from Australia and the staff gave us room right away and were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sitting area outside of the hotel was not very clean or comfortable. Since it is the only area that is outside for guests on the property they should itemize better.

    The hotel has recently been renovated and they did a beautiful job of making it unique but not overly trending. The beds were super comfy and the location is amazing. I️ hope to return for a weekend get away soon!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful, modern hotel with stunning views and an amazing location. We will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On both days, from either an adjacent room or storage closet, we could hear loud bangs and slamming-- sometimes so hard that it would shake our bathroom mirror. It would cease around 9pm and start again around 7am... so perhaps we were near the housekeeping closet? There was also a very strange noise that went on for a few hours late in the night, sounded like a heavy rolling cart back and forth that kept us awake for some time. We figured it wasn't worth complaining about, it is a hotel afterall.

    The hotel is one of the nicest in terms of location, staff and cleanliness of rooms. The decor is modern and fresh and the views are beyond amazing. The staff greeted us right away and seemed to go above and beyond to welcome us and let us know that they were there to take care of anything we needed. The lobby is elegant and understated with a touch of glam, a theme that carries throughout the hotel and especially into the individual rooms & suites. Small details such as the items they choose to stock at the mini bar with and luxurious bvlgari products did not go unnoticed. The room was immaculate upon arrival, bright and elegant with breathtaking views of Santa Monica, the mountains and the ocean. The room features smart switches for controlling light fixtures & privacy and with the swipe of a finger, you're able to turn on, dim or turn off any lights within the room, a small, yet convenient perk. The bathroom is spacious and clean, with a beautiful rain shower, storage and overall just felt like a nice master bath you would find in a home, rather than a hotel. Valet was so on top of it. They kept our car up front and were standing readily waiting anytime we returned. The rest of the staff always greeted us with a 'good morning' or 'good evening' or 'how was your meal' anytime we came or went. One thing we especially loved-- the complimentary bikes available at the gift shop for rent. We grabbed a pair one morning and cruised the trail at Palisades Park. It was the perfect way to explore the area and the rental process is so seamless and hassle-free. We dined at the Penthouse twice, once for a late lunch and once for breakfast. The breakfast was much better, or perhaps it was just our order. My eggs were way overcooked and bland, so we were sure to order them soft scrambled the next time. The fries and club sandwich were good, the fruit was fresh and again, the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    5.8
    really, really unfortunate experience. Don't promise what you can't keep.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by car. No free parking, valet costs 46.20usd. Checking in was the longest I ever experienced, about an hour of me sitting in front of the receptionist while my friends were just waiting for her to find out how to check us in. To make up for that, we were promised 2 bottles of complimentary water to our room - those never arrived. We were also promised complimentary 1 hour late checkout because of the checkin experience and yet members of staff started knocking on the door 1 hour early, coming back every few minutes asking whether we are ready to go. Receptionist said they didn't get the booking from from bookingcom. Checked us in anyways (with their own rate) promising to adjust the price to the confirmation in the app. Didn't happen and I was charged extra when checking out. How is this possible? We didn't use any facilities I didn't know of. No indication of what is for free in the room itself. The modern-looking TV is actually ripped off its smart functions by hotel proprietary software, so no netflix, and their own software asks 20usd for a movie - no thanks. The wifi keeps disconnecting. The fridge overfilled to make sure you can't fit any of your own drinks in it. To top this all off, the staff kept disturbing us by knocking on the door about orders we never made in spite of the "do not disturb" sign on the door, even call on the rooms phone. Bar music was too loud for us to stay for a drink, and no open-air area.

    Like the adjustable lights throughout the room. The interior is stylish and modern looking. Valets and hotel porters trying to do their extra. Bar with live dj on the top floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so soft and dreamy. The room was spacious and clean. We loved the high-tech light switches. Large tv with lots of channels to surf. Room service is delicious and timely delivered. Very spacious closet. We will definitely stay here again. Just a couple blocks to the Santa Monica Pier and 3rd Street Promenade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were not helpful at all. First the person who helped me with the check in did not want to answer any of my questions. The way he answered was Unrespectful. And the concierge!! A nightmare. That kind of person should not work with tourists. he interrupted me and treat me as I were illiterate. A hotel does not need only to be nice the people who works there make a difference and these people were the worst

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, nice location, front desk staff-not so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk staff were aloof, not overly friendly, and in general, not helpful. Plus the entire hotel has one elevator, so you spend an inordinate amount of time waiting for one. Plus, a $25 resort fee for a newspaper and bottle of water at turndown?!

    Nice hotel, nice location. Maids and concierges were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only issue was my room was on the 16th floor (great most of the time) but on the weekend it's very very noisy from the bar upstairs. There was a DJ playing all night. However, when I called reception they did offer to move me rooms for the night so I could sleep! Earplugs sorted it though.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic - the concierge especially helpful when the airline lost my luggage. Beautiful hotel, perfect location, stunning room and view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) My room were just next to the lift and it was noisy all day/night time. 2) I called to complain(before i discover the source of the sounds) and they said they are going to send someone to check. Waited for an hour called them back and they said they already sent someone and everything is normal. They even didnt come to my room and didnt ask me or check. 3) I called them again after i figure out the source of the sound, but the staff told me your room is not next to the lift !! I didnt like that at all. 4) We have paid more than 1600 USD for 2 nights for 2 rooms and because it was a "low rate" so the breakfast were not included. For this amount of money, iam sure the breakfast will not be a big different for the hotel to included in all cases.

    The location is perfect. The rooms were large and very clean. The room service was good in general.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to come back !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    weekend wait for getting my car ... Friday night and Saturday night there is a lot of action at The Penthouse. So be prepared to wait a bit for your car.

    The staff was excellent!! Everyone -from valet to bellman to front desk to food service and housekeeping ... my interactions with all was stellar!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They only offer valet parking which around 45$ where you can find a public parking near for half the price. but if you come to the hotel and go again more than once a day their valet in the best choice for you. in a couple of times, we got the car after a while.

    Amazing the best choice in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    8.3
    The view from the room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The top floor penthouse turns into a nightclub on the weekend. Rooms located on the 2 floors below are so noisy that sleeping is impossible until the party ends. The King Room we stayed in was very small.

    The view from the room was fantastic. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the Penthouse was delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a short stopover. Has all the comforts that you need. Staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish there was an outdoor area and pool

    The smallness of hotel. More boutique like. The view from the restaurant and a great place to eat if you are by yourself. Quietness and yet close to beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    Huntley was a great choice for our day-and-a-half stay in LA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stylish, clean, comfortable, great view, friendly staff, great location - close to the Santa Monica Beach, the 3rd street promenade, lovely breakfast places...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    8.3
    Great location, king suite view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Penthouse restaurant is so so, not much in room dining options. Had breakfast in the penthouse restaurant food was ok not worth $ 50.00. But the view was great.

    The View, large bathroom with two options walk in shower or soaking tub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    10
    Beatiful hotel and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was expensive. $50 per night. We thought bikes were complimentary, but only for the first 2 hours and then it's $10 per hour. No bath tub.

    Beautiful lobby. Beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Huntley Santa Monica Beach Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: