Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of InterContinental New York Barclay Hotel 5 stars

111 East 48th Street, Midtown East, New York, 10017, USA

#44 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2308 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Paid WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bigger bathroom would have been great. I had a King room with 2 double - beds and maybe also a more extensive breakfast buffet.

    I enjoyed the room - the beds were very comfy great range of TV channels incl the Golf Channel! Room was clean and a nice size for NYC - bathroom was a bit cramped. The breakfast buffet was adequate but not as extensive as I have experienced for example at the Inter Continental LA Downtown. The Guest Service lady Suzanna Morialles was great. Great quiet location but near enough to the action areas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea???? Just a coffee machine ... wish there was a kettle or smth. Very annoying :(..The check in was super slow... also charged 100 extra usd, not sure for what? The pillows were too large! My neck hurts now :(

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One guy on the breakfast waitstaff was a bit inconsiderate - while I was eating he needlessly asked me to move to an adjoining table to make room for a family although there was a table unyet cleared they could have used a few feet away. I did not move because as a guest I was not there to make an easy job for waitstaff.

    The ICH Barclay in NYC was elegant and spacious. The mattress was super comfortable, the room was well appointed. Two concierges- Tea and Adrien- were very helpful and sent us to great places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather small. I had booked a Supervisor Queen room with sitting area, they supposedly upgraded us to a King and the room was very small with no chair or sitting area.

    Lived the decor. Very Art Deco and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The dining area for breakfast, not an adequate space at all for a large hotel, had to queue for breakfast every morning and most mornings had to sit on a high stool at the bar to eat.

    The room and bathroom were very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath was dirty with hair on the shelf and in the shower. At the check-in and at the check-out none help us with the baggages. No courtesy water, no slippers, only one bathrobe for 2 people. NO SOUNDPROOFING BETWEEN THE ROOMS, YOU CAN HEAR YOUR NEIGHBORS EVEN IF THEY USE THE SINK! Unfriendly and very lazy doormen.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining area. There is no proper restaurant/dining area. They promised to move us to another room, but never did. The views from the room was lousy

    The good was okay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no pool or spa facilities

    excellent hotel. rooms comfortable. main thing is the location that is convenient to travel to all the main areas of manhattan. it was perfect for us with many attractions within walking distance e.g time square, grand central, museums, shopping, restaurants and underground links.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff was really great and made sure the guest needs were fulfilled.Great staff system being that it was my first hotel booking with. I give the staff an A+

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Free water upon arrival would be appreciated, especially for this price range. No clear information about where to have breakfast and how much it costs.

    Hotel is very clean and looks new. Check in was quick. Check out was longer because of huge line. Very quiet in room and overall very good impression. Location is perfect. We had early check in which was very nice and also one hour late check out. Will come back for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The daily rate of staying changed due to their occupancy rate, why can't they just charge you the price quoted including all the tax

    The room, staff and facilities were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was unfriendly and he looked pushing me. Not sure that all intercontinental have such staff because other intercontinental i.e in Berlin have very professional members of staff.

    Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sitting area for breakfast is very small, you wait almost 10 minutes in a queue in order to sit at a table. Approach of the reception is not friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pls review sharp edges esp. on chairs. Minor bruise on the inner thigh was quite painful. Staff was courteous to attend to it immediately/ replace the chair, and the manager followed through with an apology. But, the bruise lingered for couple of days longer to my comfort. Luckily, the staff informed that the protruding edge was not a nail and maybe a plastic material.

    Excellent interiors of the hotel. Staff all round was quite helpful, and willing to walk that extra mile to make you very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't believe that I lost my sunglasses in the room. It's not a very expensive one but still worth more than $120. It disappeared after I came back to the hotel. I don't want to say that the cleaner had done something but I feel so disappointed at this high end hotel.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups! But I may be a bit old fashioned. Also not enough cups provided - I had a I wash out a paper cup.

    The king beds with their amazing pillows that took a few seconds to sink into the most excellent nights rest. Large screen tv with a vast array of channels to search through all in digital quality. The air conditioner was extremely effective and quiet in such a large room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need a way to control people checking in and checking out. There is no identifiable line and someone tried to get in front of us.

    The young lady that checked me in was very nice. My room wasn't ready but she offered to store my luggage. She did say that she would call when the room was ready. I didn't receive the call but it was o.k.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect and the staff made it very enjoyable. Would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a 5 star experience. Already booked for my next vacation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price. We paid for 3 people in a room that can accommodate 4 - yet the room was far too small, the room was not set up for 3 people - only 2 robes, only 2 slippers, only 2 sets of towels. We had to ask every day for the additional set despite mentioning to reception.

    The beds were amazingly comfy but too small for sharing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was a bit noisy had to wear ear plugs but did not deter from the overall experience.

    Fantastic hotel, very luxurious, rooms were beautiful! Great location, great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls. Could basically see the entire conversation of next door neighbours. Also, pretty noisy due to other guests behaviour

    Position, staff, professionalism

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking confirmation from booking.com confirmed two double beds, we got two queen size beds which is not the same thing. Reception staff had no understanding and claimed queen size beds as being the same as double beds. If this is the definition for Intercontinental that should be clear as it is not what is the standard foe a double bed anywhere else. Disapointing as it is hard to find another hotel in such short notice.

    Good location, fresh and clean facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me it was a convenient location - walkable to everywhere I needed to go. Plenty of restaurants around. Comfortable room with standard amenities. Quiet room, despite being in the heart of the city. Bar with a band the evening I was there. What you would expect from the InterContinental.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room next door had a very load occupant at 2;00 in the am it went on for over 30 we call the front desk. They were of no help after 3 more calls security came up. Doubt that I will ever choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't provide room that was booked with two beds. Had breakfast only once in the hotel and it was a mistake. Expensive for what you get even for a hotel. Tip was automatically included...for a buffet breakfast which is insane. Elevators can get busy...especially when they hold one aside for more important people than a regular guest.

    Location worked well for our needs. Room was quiet. Bellman staff was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check-in was delayed by 30 mins until 3:30pm which in my opinion is very late and for check-out it exactly 11:00am they dont do late check-out free of charge which i did not like. The staff during check-out where not friendly unlike during our check-in the lady was so sweet and polite. The breakfast was overpriced and was not worth it, the restaurant in the next block offer way better breakfast selection and taste at a better rate. The security guy in front of the hotel calls taxi by whistling and you can hear that from your room which is annoying specially if you don’t wake up early.

    The location was 15 mns walk from time square and all the blocks are busy and active even during night time, exect for the last block before reaching the hotel was dead at night. The hotel was clean and good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pressure of shower. The slide door in bathroom can't be fully closed so that water dripping to outside bathtub. Amenity wasn't prepared properly.

    A wide range of delicious breakfast. Quickly handling guest's request. Fantastic location. Accommodating staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was great for 3 people, beds, excellent, comfortable sleep, bathroom very clean and versatile, with a shower, tub and shower extension to meet needs of all people. Very secure hotel with magnetic key cards for elevator and rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was on spot and staff are extremely helpful and courteous. Perfect location - close to all attractions including central park, museums, 5th avenue and the Times Square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hand or wash towels in the room The Minibar is fully automated ,

    Room design and color is super comfortable , Staff are very helpful . Wonderful location , great place to stay overall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have stayed at the Barclay several times over the last 20+ years. On this visit the room was recently remodeled and tastefully appointed . Comfortable, clean and quiet. All in all a great experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t eat at the hotel as the prices were too high. We found a lovely cafe two blocks away where we paid the same for three breakfasts as it costs for one at the hotel, plus there was more choice.

    The hotel makes a big impression when you first walk into the lobby. The bedroom we had was great. Two double beds for three adults. The bathroom was good as was the shower once you sorted out how it worked. There was always hot water. Maid service every day was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room price is very high. Drinks at the bar are very expensive, fee for Wi-Fi.

    A luxurious hotel in the city center and convenient to get to various attractions of new York city. Excellent choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room is very noisy from both outside and inside. The sound proof was very bad. We were disrupted also by some weired noise and it turned out to be the fridge. Most staffs that we dealt with were not very helpful. We were ignored when we first arrived and no one helped on the luggages. There is no swimming pool.

    Good location. Close to Madison avenue and the fifth avenue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were disappointed with overall service at the Hotels Restaurant. Service was not very good. Note; Tips are included on bills. Not what we are use to at The InterContinental.

    Breakfast was really good! Location was excellent! We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have much time to spend in NY. Just a day trip.

    Cheerful staff. Very friendly and welcoming people. Room was quite clean. Adam and Kristina took helping us very personal and that actually left such a great impression with my wife and I. We found it very pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard to me but our friends love the bed. Just a personal preference.

    The hotel was beautiful, very friendly staff.The location was perfect. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't enjoy the way they treated us after the registered credit card did not work. After we came back from dinner, we found the room locked, all our card keys were deactivated and we were escorted by security to the room.... Even though they have charged my card twice and it was their mistake. Absolutely no consideration for the comfort of the guests.... Another element that played on my nerves is the fact that they do have a system that will charge you after 60s of taking an item from the minibar, but they still haven't figured out a way to replace the missing items in the minibar after the cleaning service has cleaned your room..

    The property, good selection of Gin, comfortable & clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about, it just took me a while to understand how the shower works but that’s because I’m not used to that system

    Just fantastic, can’t be better, friendly staff, rooms extremly clean, bathroom super clean, lobby beautiful, hotel is in the middle of everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the cost went up compared to what I booked =- the taxes are very high and was not clear when I booked they were not included so was surprised. price for booze at the bar are not welcoming I would have assumed to receive free water in the room

    Staff were helpful and clear. particularly the gym person who was helpful as the receptionist who allowed me to check out slightly late which was well received

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room location due to full house...but we stay here a lot so... A/C did not function well Only 1 robe Lousy pillows Shower head needs cleaning

    2 chairs and nice updated bathroom/shower only!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is perfect for walking, taking cars, or getting to the subway. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. The facilities were immaculate and everything was in order. We will 100% without a doubt, book with this hotel for our next New York stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT THIS HOTEL DID NOT LEAVE A STONE UNTURNED

    THE BAR WAS GREAT (VERY CLASSY) BREAKFAST WAS OUTSTANDING LIKED THE FACT THAT THERE WAS FOOD FOR WEIGHT LOSS BED WAS GREAT EVEN THE PILLOWS (THE PILLOWS ARE NEVER GOOD ANYWHERE) WE STAY IN NYC ALOT

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived on a Saturday morning having booked 2 rooms on Booking. There was no one to receive our vehicle for valet and no one offered to take our luggage. When I checked in, I was told that the room for my parents was ready, but they couldn't locate my room, even though I had booked both of them and had the confirmation number in hand. About 10-15 minutes later, I was informed that they didn't know what happened but would grant me a room two floors below my family since they were totally booked. One of the large pillows on my bed had white and brown stains on it, so I kept that one on the floor for the duration of the stay. Since the sheets were white, I also noticed some small black hairs. Neither my room, which was supposed to be a deluxe king, or my parents' room, which was supposed to be an executive king, had a view and to be honest, the only difference I noticed between the deluxe and the executive was one extra chair and table. The walls were also paper thin. Not only could I hear people in the room beside mine speaking in normal tones, but one particularly passionate couple could be heard from the hallway in the middle of the night. When I called the front desk for a one hour delayed check out time ( I called about three times before someone finally answered the phone) and asked for a 12 pm checkout instead of 11 am so i could enjoy breakfast at my own pace with my family, I was told flatly that it wouldn't be possible. No apologies were given. I've often asked for later check out times at other locations in NYC and been granted this request, but to be denied quite honestly left a damper on an already sub par hotel experience, especially bc I had to change my breakfast plans so we could rush back and pack up in time. It wasn't the worst stay we've had in NYC, but it wasn't the best either. It's a very pretty hotel with very pretty rooms, but I've had similar stays at comparable hotels in NYC.

    The room looked nice. The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. The location was convenient as it was close to the shops on 5th avenue and Times Square, and the lobby was stunning with a lounge, restaurant and bar area, as well as multiple areas to relax and read the paper with a cup of coffee. There are also many great dining options nearby. Checking out was quick. The gentleman at the front desk was very courteous. Our vehicle was driven up in a timely manner and, unlike when we arrived, there was an attendant out front to help us with our luggage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are looking for an clean, nice and good located property this is probably the best value choice for you. Although it does not meet 5 stars quality in my opinion, it is very very good 4 stars hotel you can stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly helpful staff, great choice of food for breakfast and a great location. We walked to the World Trade centre site then onto the ferry to Liberty Island, the Empire State building was a short walk as was the Chrysler building, the Rockerfeller Centre & 5th Avenue were close by, and Central Park was an easy walk. We never once used the underground for fear of missing something above ground! We had a wonderful time - and the people of NYC were lovely and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed's far too small, there was a charge to empty the mini-bar but was compensated with a roll-in fridge that took up precious space in a NYC hotel room, had to ask staff for extras such as hotel slippers etc

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is very expensive, so we decided to have it in other places every day.

    Well located, 10-15 min walking distance to Times Square. Good installations and extremely clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At check in I was told that my room (1051) was one of the largest at the property. I think that this was an attempt to discourage me from asking for a large room. The room could not possibly have been among the largest (in my category - deluxe king - or any other). It was certainly nice and well appointed, but it was not large, even by NYC standards.

    The hotel has undergone a recent renovation and everything is new and fresh. Bathroom is very practical with good layout. Ample closet space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close enough to walk to Rockefeller or Radio City but removed from the business of the city. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel looks recently renovated. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room seemed less quiet than the first room I stayed in, which was completely quiet.

    The bed and bedding were so comfortable - I could have stayed in it all day. Everyone who worked there was so friendly and eager to assist. This was my second stay in two months, and I’ll be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I have stayed at this hotel before and have another reservation in May. I love the history of the hotel and feel like I was staying in the lap of luxury. Also, we had a very nice experience at the hotel bar. Wonderful customer service. I liked finding out that some of the staff has been with the hotel for over 28 years. That tells you that the hotel treats their employees well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the price of food in the hotel. Breakfast was 44 a head which even for NY standards is exceptionally high.

    Ideal location. Fab hotel with excellent concierge and reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was standing on line, at the location on 44th St, thinking this was my location. I felt discriminated against by the African American clerk, who totally ignored, that I was the only one standing on line. She approached a Caucasian couple that had just arrived on the other side of the counter. I totally took it as a racial issue, It was handle very poorly, at the end, I loved that my reservation was for a different location. If this brand is a profitable organization their staff need to know that green dollars are now carry on in different colors, sizes and shapes, and we all human deserve to be respected as equal. I made this reservation on booking.com for $231 and I just noticed That I was charged $355.32. on my credit card.

    The location was Great and the Hotel is well maintain. We loved the bed. The staff was business professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room service is very, very expensive; four cheese slices and about 15 grapes was $48

    location was nice; bed was very comfortable; staff was very helpful in providing guidance on nearby entertainiment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were amazing, but beware as if it is not included in the deal, it is expensive!

    This is a stunning hotel - beautiful interior and very clean and comfortable. The staff were professional, polite (not a given in New York - trust me!) and very efficient. Despite being in the thick of it, our room was very quiet. Well place to get to both uptown and downtown.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were so comfy, the location perfect (10min walk to Times Sq; 2 mins to Grand Central; 3-4 mins to Chrysler Building) and very quiet inside the rooms. Slept superbly. Thanks, great stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only smaller flaw I can think of - even with good external sound-insulation and quite a high floor, trash-removal crew and truck were very noticeable in the middle of the night for a good 20 minutes. If you have windows overlooking the main entrance, do keep them closed at night if you don't want to be woken up.

    The best hotel sleep I've had in a while - the bed was just super-comfy. Everything's new and very modern, bathroom had proper heated floors. Location is obviously just great. Got an upgraded room even though I haven't even asked for it. The staff is super-friendly, especially Kristina at the reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reserved a king suite. They told us a King Suite comes with either a King or Queen bed. Then why call it a King Suite? We stayed one night in a queen suite then they upgraded us to a room with a king size bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was that I didn't have an armchair (like in the other rooms occupied by my friends) under the standing lamp. Despite requesting this it never turned up even though the front desk told me room service would bring it up in the morning. I wasn't in the room much so it didn't turn out to be a massive issue but it would have been a 'nice to have' to free up some space (ie items if clothing etc)

    Location was excellent and the premises itself was aesthetically pleasing. The room was of a decent size (although my friends rooms were bigger) by NY standards. Staff were pleasant enough if not a bit wooden although the barman was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine was no good (very bad coffee) and the fact that there are only ice machines every two floors...

    The location is perfect. The rooms are very big, especially considering it’s midtown! The restauramt and bar are way overpriced but there are so many restos nearby it is no big deal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like that breakfast wasn’t included in the price. It’s such a cheap meal to provide to guests when booking the room and really adds to the experience. Staff in the restaurant/bar seemed really nice. I didn’t have a problem with the reception staff however I didn’t find them particularly friendly.

    Location is excellent and room very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast quality could have been better on some points, would have been nice with your own spa/nail treatement not just in the room and would have been nice with a pool and a restaurant with a view - otherwise the hotel is so cosy - a little bit slow in the bar at times

    the interior, the bar, it really has a cosy atmosphere, late check out and very good service at the various desks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only slight complaint was the thinness of the walls. I could hear the conversations of my neighbors, so that was slightly awkward. Other than that, no complaints.

    The rooms were very spacious and outfitted with all seemingly new accommodations. The decor was beautiful, and the bathroom was large and newly renovated. Large shower in the bathroom, very comfortable bed, lots of storage in the room, and LOTS of outlets and ports for charging electronic devices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the gym didn't have enough of the equipment people use such as running machines and bikes

    beds were very comfortable and the cleanliness of the rooms and the communal areas was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfortable, the room dark and quiet. Everything was very clean and up to date. The fitness center was great. Room service was top notch - food arrived quickly, was hot and delicious. Everyone was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet price was extortionate. Almost $50 per person.

    Rooms very clean, lovely hotel and good location. Gym was spectacular; concierge also helped out with some packages delivered there. In summary, very impressive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some staff not particularly friendly and not very attentive. I found it very strange that I was not allowed to take photos in the lobby. In fact the Security officer was a little rude. Could do with some more facilities (e.g. a restaurant or cafeteria) everything revolves around the rather small bar area

    Centrally located. A lot of places within walking distance. Cozy bar great barman; Food quality good; concierge very helpful Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Concierge made a comment about how my partner walked and made a very wrong assumption that she was not able to walk long distances?. No apology was made either. This was absolutely disgusting.

    Cleaners were great, rooms were a nice size, allowed me to check out early due to an emergency

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for the drink at the bar ... Extreamly over priced also the price for breakfast we ate and drank elsewhere.

    The beds and the bathroom.. Shower was wonderful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in was not available until 3pm-way too late as you check out at 11am.Also the front of house staff seem stretched during busy time- not at 5 star standard but average I would say.Also note they took a $223 deposit on check in and a pre authoristion of $848.Given the total cost was only to be $901 this seemed excessive although I had noticed this in advance and made sure I had plenty of funds on my account.

    King Exec is a spacious room, good size bed with plenty of pillows.Bathroom was also good.The room was well serviced every time we left sign on door.No complaints about room and wifi was complimentary for the King Exec room.Gin Parlour was a nice bar also - not cheap at $16 for a G&T but a nice way to finish evening.Location was a 15 minute walk to theatre district (or 20 if you amble)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is historic and has charm. The room was perfect space for two roommates. The bed was super comfortable. Greatly appreciate the concierge services.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t find a fault with this hotel.. personally I have never had a problem there. Bar and restaurant expensive but plenty of other places to go if you don’t want to pay!

    Staff are exceptional and always looking to help. Welcoming hotel and renovation is fantastic. Rooms spacious and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for us!!!!

    My three daughters and I stayed for 5 nights. As soon as we walked in the lobby, I felt like I was at home, comfortable and safe. The staff was amazing, from the front desk, the restaurant, concierge, doormen, everyone!!! The rooms were big and very comfortable. We didn’t want to leave!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    Everything was great! The hotel was beautiful, clean and convenient location to all the sites. The staff was very friendly and accommodating!!! Will book a stay there again😉

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: