Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Z Hotel Jack London Square 3 stars

233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607, USA

#13 of 42 hotels in Oakland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 473 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again - great pizzas at The Forge..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay if you want value for money in San Francisco. Good places to eat nearby. Safe parking and easy parking in the hotel garage. Pool and gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff was awesome very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking thought it should be free if you were staying at the hotel

    The staff was awesome very polite and helpful. I liked that there plenty of food places near by and a movie theater.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Z Hotel for Yoshi’s Concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is terrible. No water pressure and the shower curtain was too long and awkward! The bed is marginal and the sheets were rough.

    The location is the best asset for this property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Tired and bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a tired old motel that looks passable in photos but is depressing to actually stay in. It would just about be acceptable at half the price.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    A very nice boutique hotel repurposed from a 1950's era hotel; well-renovated facilities.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some street noise between 1 and 2 am due to location close to bars; can't be helped.

    Really liked the adjacent Buttercup Diner. Excellent food, big portions, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    It was great. We will stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to admit, I didn’t have high expectations. I like hotel chains and ones that I’ve used before. We took a chance. It worked out in our favor. We were close to the water front and able to travel by ferry back and forth to San Francisco with no issues. Our kids felt welcomed at the hotel and staff was kind. The cleaning staff did a great job every day. No complaints.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for business travel or exploring Jack London Square!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It felt like the staff was unhappy to be there, and every time you asked a question it felt like they were bothered.

    Great hotel! Loved the location next to great restaurants and bards, along with the hotel itself. Perfect for business travel, and I wish it was warmer in Oakland so I got to enjoy the cute pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Convenient - but not desirable enough to stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways had a motel odor. The room was clean, but dated. Paid for a King bed - but was given a Queen. Much to staff member’s credit - he gave a 10% discount.

    The water pressure, mattress and helpful staff. Location to the wharf was good. Lots of eateries in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.0
    Overpriced for a sub quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was way too high... it advertises as a boutique type hotel but really was just run of the mill plain vanilla hotel. You can hear everything in all adjoining rooms. Had to pay $25/day for parking which was unexpected. In all for 1 night it was almost $300. Terrible coffee (just one package for 1cup? And a 1cup cheap coffee maker with 1 pkg of dry creamer.

    Comfy bed and clean room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location out of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room and some staff were miserable. Had to pay - 25dollars a day for parking,

    Nice room, shower, pool jack London Square was a fantastic place to stay lots of bars and restaurants. Ferry to San Francisco was very close

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    You are paying for excellent customer service only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. No sound proofing between rooms. Could hear other people's conversations, every step they took and when they showered you swore they were in your room taking it. Way to over priced as well. It was recently remodeled but half hazardely.

    Location to jack London square

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was nice, Jack London square was cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was indstalled wrong, so the cable kept cutting out. The coaxle is way to short. Better restaraunt options would be nice.

    The location was nice, Jack London square was cool. Need more restaraunts though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Short stay in Oakland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no proper kettle for boiling water only coffee machine is available

    The buttercup restaurant is just within walking distance which serve good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, great location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, great location and facilities. The vegan restaurant next door was excellent and we had a great American breakfast at the place by the hotel on our first morning in the US.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Adequate Stay by the Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should put refrigerators in the rooms, and an added benefit would be microwaves, but at least a frig; pretty much all hotels these days at least provide a small frig. Otherwise, they could definitely come down on the price, as they charge the same price as a hotel that offers a frig in the rooms. In addition, $25 for parking your vehicle is also a bit much; $15-$20 would be fair.

    The property is in a good location. The rooms are clean and surround a pleasant pool and lounging area. You can park and walk just about anywhere you’d like during daylight. I would stick to Jack London Square after dark. There are some delicious restaurants nearby. Staff is polite and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.8
    Jack London Square
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like mildew and it was not just my room it was another friends room too I was traveling with. Brought to staffs attention. Noisy with Amtrak train.

    Jack London Square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed here before and discovered that the location is excellent for restaurants and checking out Jack London Square. It has a parking garage which is big anywhere in the Bay Area. The hotel is updated and nicely furnished. No complaints!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location, very pricey, friendly staff, expensive parking and breakfast NOT included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking was too expensive, and way more than nearby garages. The final cost at checkout was way more than the initial reservation. Advertising suggested that the room included breakfast, which it did not. Breakfast was "available" at a nearby attached restaurant, NOT included, and expensive.

    The room is VERY expensive for what you get. And the rate didn't include the $25 per night parking... which was not mentioned anywhere. We were asked to move ... TWICE while they worked on the water supply. The staff was friendly and helpful, and yet not ...given the circumstances. It was very inconvenient, and the second room was not as nice as the original room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    It’s a nice hotel but overpriced once you include the $25 per night parking fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member at the front desk when we arrived was indifferent. I like places where they smile and say “welcome” when we arrive. Staff member on checkout was courteous. The train noises outside our window we’re irritating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value in Oakland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Near the train line, so it could get noisy. But, no trains for most of when we were sleeping.

    Great location. They've done a good job fixing up an older motel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Could be the funky boutique hotel that they advertised, especially with the location!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ceiling/ floor were too thin. We could hear the people above us coming in at 1 am. I thought the conversation was being held in my bathroom, not upstairs.

    the location and the parking were awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Very fast room service, and staff was helpful and efficient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location - the Amtrak is super loud early in the morning! It's also a little confusing navigating the hotel; I had to try a few times to find my way to the lobby!

    Very fast room service, and staff was helpful and efficient. The room was a little dated, but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    If you like train whistles this is a good hote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Amtrac train blows whistles as it travels through downtown Oakland one block from the hotel from early in the morning to late in the evening. Enough said.

    The Amtrac train blows whistles as it travels through downtown Oakland one block from the hotel from early in the morning to late in the evening. Enough said.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    OK; would not stay here again for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, we could have stayed at a nicer hotel in the vicinity. I picked this hotel due to scores on booking.com and it was 30 bucks less than the Marriot. Then we were charged $25.00 for parking. Boo. The staff were nice, until one manager was chewing out a staff the morning we were checking out. Jeezum.

    Location is fantastic; just where we wanted to be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Fun, great location, I’ll be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, a little noisy but still very comfortable and nothing horrible.

    Ok rooms. Not awesome not bad. Very average and the place is still being renovated. Staff was very good, perfect location to catch the ferry to a Giants game.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location for restaurants and ferry for San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room and the decor was a bit on the green side. Otherwise everything you needed.

    Close to jack London square and the ferry terminus to San Francisco. We were early and the lady on the front desk was able to let us check in so we could head over to Fisherman's wharf for the afternoon. Parking was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Room was clean, staff was friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a 2 inch gap under my door so not only did the room get cold fast but conversations near pool sounded like they were in my room.

    Room was clean, staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Large, refurbished room on 3rd floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask to stay in a fully refurbished room. They are still in the process of remodeling

    Large, refurbished room on 3rd floor. Quiet. Short walk to Jacj London Square and SF ferry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Just Ok. Would only stay in a crunch
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water took too long to get hot. Had to switch rooms. First room had microwave and refrigerator. Second room nothing. For what I paid, disappointed with size of room

    Bartender at the bar who also served us breakfadt the next morning was excellent. Don’t remember her name, I believe she was Hispanic and training s black young woman. Both were very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    I will return for many years to this family run hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s hard to update some things but they did a great job so far

    The friendly honest staff location the way the staff really did everything they could to make your stay enjoyable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location in JL Square, smaller hotel/motel feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff booked two rooms for us even though we only reserved one. No hot tub.

    The beds were nice. Hotel is more like a motel layout. Smaller hotel. Very basic overall. Staff was friendly. Heater in room worked well. Fairly quiet. Street parking is easy. Would be great in summer when you can use pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    3.3
    I was misled about the cash payment policy. I definitely wouldn’t recommend this hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was crappy. It was worn and certain areas weren’t cleaned. I couldn’t even get water from the vending machine. Terrible experience.

    I like that I was close to my friend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    4.5
    My sister had stayed in a nice Z hotel before. The brand is very inconsistent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not nice. Near docks, warehouses and many piles of trash. We were looking for a gas station to refill rental car. A policeman we asked for help told us to be very careful. As bad as the area is, they should not charge $25 to keep your car safe in their garage.

    There was a Starbucks across the street

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Expected more for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities need to be remodeled. Old, broken down feel...dirty light switches, broken molding, peeling paint on toilets, cracked counter, motel feel in courtyard...just poor quality.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Good location, walking distance to downtown and BART (and to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel looks good from the outside, nice interior yard & pool, but rooms haven't been modernized for quite a while, not many electricty plugs to charge your stuff. it is clean but a little "old", especially the bath tub. But nice shower curtains. There is effort done ... step by step I suppose

    Good location, walking distance to downtown and BART (and to Yoshi' jazz club ;-), easy acces by car, freeway very close Parking under the hotel, very convenient Nice & simple restaurant adjacent to the hotel, open from morning to night No real bother by (train) noise, keep your window closed (which in January was necessary anyway). Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff here is absolutely fantastic. The location is good and there is some decent food within walking distance. It is Oakland so there is a little grit to the area but nothing I found scary. It's close to the ferry if you want to go in to SF.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Nice hotel would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room only had a shower I like taking baths the shower floor felt like it was gonna cave in and the water in the room took a long time to get hot

    It was located close to everything abd you disnt have far to go

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    I would pay a little more and stay at the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me a $75. Deposit in case something was damaged in the room. I thought maybe there was a mini bar, but NO...just some overpriced water. Also, an ice cold shower in the morning!

    Parking was easy and it was a quick walk to Jack London square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.6
    The restaurant connected to it was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No maid service on our stay. Unfortunately was given an adjoining room and we could hear everything, including them using the bathroom. No working lamp and hair dryer kept quitting.

    The restaurant connected to it was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Walls are thin -- too much noise coming from next door and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are thin -- too much noise coming from next door and upstairs. Rooms open to courtyard. Non-smoking room smelled of old smoke. Bathroom size was cramped for two people. Towels relatively small...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    we had a nice week, not too far into SFO either
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    they managed to muck up a room cancellation, had to 'persuade' booking I had cancelled in good time

    good location, nice bars etc nearby and 10 mins to BART. An OK gym too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of single use plastic stuff, eg to make coffee in the room there was a cup wrapped in plastic, a disposable filter-tray thing... Even the key came wrapped in plastic!

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the third floor and the water pressure was very poor. The sink barely worked. The shower was minimal.

    Great location, good bed, clean, pleasant space. Nice lamp next to a chair so we could read! (why don't more hotels have this????). Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At check in we were upgraded to a room with a balcony. People smoke on their balconies. Ugh. Our room had a very strong, cloying odor. The housekeeping staff didn't know the cause and other rooms did not have this odor.

    Great Location. Short walk to Jack London Square; the marina and the ferry to San Francisco.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    3.8
    Poor choice
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too expensive for what you got made my eyes itchy and sore throughout. Expensive car park charges too. Had to walk thru car park to get access to door to elevator for floors. Miserable staff at desk. Spoilt our short break

    Close to ferry

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Oakland Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm sure the Buttercup Diner does some things well but I wouldn't recommend the Fried Chicken dinner.....The BART station at Merritt Lake is further than you think.

    The hotel is in easy walking distance of bars and restaurants, there's a craft beer bar across the road and Lungomare down in Jack London Square does good food as does The Fat Lady which is even closer. The pool is handy and clean. It's a five minute walk (if that) to the ferry pier to take you across to San Francisco. I didn't to my shame get the name of the black very well padded lady receptionist who worked in the evenings but damn, she was good, honey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no hot water on my first morning. I had to move rooms as soon as I checked in as the one assigned clearly had smokers in it previously. The staff at front desk were totally inflexible when I showed up 30 mins early. Price of parking.

    I liked the location as it was close to my clients office. Apart from that there wasn't too much else to like. Its not that anything was terrible, but nothing was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    Not at all what I expected. Will pay for the Hilton next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is basically a motel. It did not look like the pictures when I booked. The amenities are essentially non existent. It is not nice to look at and felt shady. Parking cost extra. The ice machine is impossible to find.

    The location is nice in the daytime. The front desk lady was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Convenient and inexpensive
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not heated. With an infant the pool was too cold for him. Room was dated

    Good location in Oakland Outside is modern with a recent renovation completed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    We thought the rate was high also considering that parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought the rate was high also considering that parking was extra - but being that it was in Oakland, my son said it was one of the hotels in a relatively safe area near his apartment. I think the next time we visit, we may try other options however.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    Good for value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle. No breakfast included.Limited pool and laundry hours. Too much street noise.

    The comfort. The location near the ferry to SF and the short walk to Jack London Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.8
    It was a Trump was say, "Sad".
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is just a step above the Americas Best Value Inn for more than twice the Money. The doors stuck together, the toilet seat was very cheap and pinched me when I sat on it. The air conditioner was lack luster. It was just nothing like I expected from the presentation on your site. Especially not for $260.00 at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    I was only in town for the day and the Z Hot met my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave and the vanity lighting is poor.

    The room was clean with nice linens. My room was right across from the pool Overall it was serene and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    The stay was short and we were only in room to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv did not work , shower soap rack not held on wall , light in bathroom stayed on all night the second night of stay.

    Location , near the water. Food options near.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    We had to pay for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay for breakfast. The bed was uncomfortable and hard. The air conditioner temperature switch was broken and the room wasn't very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but the room was not as good as anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms walls appeared to be paper thin as we could hear everything from next door. The wifi was dreadful, & the AC when switched on was incredibly loud.

    The location in Oakland is good, one of the staff was brilliant and could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.8
    Okay would not stay again to pricey not worth the money
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a balcony No fridge No microwave No safe,when safes was on website No hot tub ,pool was extremely cold but did have a lots a room and tables looked nice NO free breakfast had to pay , when booking said there was breakfast Parking was 20 $ a night when hotel was pricy

    Car was in a safe parking garage Walking to jack london was easy and close

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    REALLY LIKE THE RENOVATION OF THE HOTEL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    REALLY LIKE THE RENOVATION OF THE HOTEL. IT WAS RENOVATED FROM THE "INN ON JACK LONDON SQUARE" TO THE PRESENT Z HOTEL. NEW DECOR REALLY LOOKS NICE, AND THE ELEVATOR WAS UPGRADED FROM AN OLDER "SWING DOOR" ELEVATOR TO A LARGER MORE MODERN ONE.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    In spite of my mixed feelings about the place it was cheaper than many of the nearby hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested a room with a view and was given a room with a view of a grey stucco wall 5 feet from the only window. The hotel's incessant nickel and diming added up to a feeling upon checkout of having been fleeced and swindled. Would a free bottle of water break the bank? At $200 per night shouldn't parking be free?

    The location was excellent. Downtown adjacent for business purposes, and very near the ferry for sight seeing purposes. There was an awesome barbeque joint right across the street. The circa 1960s style of the architecture was fun and nostalgic, and the property was clean and well cared for. Also, the place was comfortable, and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    The on site management staff is terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great job renovating this property but the too-thin walls make this a poor choice for persons over age 40 and in need of noisefree sleep. If you have a/c or heater running it will help drown that out.

    The on site management staff is terrific. Rooms appointed nicely as was pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    A value for money, clean and friendly place to stay for visiting San Francisco & Oakland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surrounding area walking away from the Jack London Sq might be a bit dodgy some nights

    Friendly staff and great access to the Jack London SQ and ferries to San Francisco

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommend the comfort and convenience of the Z if you want to be in Jack London square area!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing with booking.com is that we found out we might have gotten better price with my AAA discount by calling direct - so check out all options. I asked because I saw someone asking at the front desk - they said with booking.com we couldn't do AAA and our price was about $20 more for the night.

    The Z was perfect for our needs. We wanted one night in a location where we could walk around before our son picked us up to go to Lake Tahoe. The front desk staff were fabulous - helpful, kind, and accommodating.It's a small two level motel style place, rooms are adequate, beds comfortable and all conveniences as needed. BREAKFAST ( A scramble) at the attached restaurant was excellent and the servings so big plentiful that my husband ate 1/2 later for a snack... no refrigerator in the room, so we just put it on a bag of ice - improvised. The neighborhood is a great place to walk around. The front desk helped us navigate where to go and where NOT to go - Oakland is still a bit sketchy in some areas, but still worth checking out. All in all, if you don't want to break the bank for a very expensive high rise hotel - some recommended the Marriott, but it was $400/ night ( NG) go here. Also the Marriott was a conference center hotel - not exactly in a neighborhood - more in a business location. So, that's my review -- Z was GREAT. BTW if you don't mind walking you can take the BART to the 12th st station and walk a few blocks to get to it- otherwise Uber is fine too, but it was rush hour so we did the BART.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    For a value hotel, standards were high. Location near waterfront and restaurants very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train tracks were close by and the frequent trains used their horns a lot. The room was quite small so there wasn't much space for all of our bags.

    The hotel was nicely landscaped and tidy. The pool was clean and went from 3ft to 8ft deep and was about 40ft long, so would be suitable for a proper swim as well as leisure. The towels in the room were thick and fluffy and the beds quite comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    OK for a night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is just a redone motel. The lobby suggests this is going to be cool, but the room is standard motel room. Nothing special, including the chipped tub/shower.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location, horrible shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was horrible. No water pressure, it was like a light drip. It took a long time to wash my hair.

    The location is perfect. So much to do around the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    That the hotel does not include breakfast and charges $20 a day for parking. At the price, parking should definitely have been included! The train noises were rather bothersome at night time. The huge gap under the door allowed all noises to filter into the room. Paper-thin walls allows one to hear all the noises from the bathroom next door!

    We liked the location and the "newness" (renovation). The rooms were nicely furnished, albeit, a trifle snug for 3 adults in a double.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    Lock on my rm door super cheap, flimsy, inadequate &...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lock on my rm door super cheap, flimsy, inadequate & screw not secure in wall hanging loose & ready to fall out the lock.;( Poor execute for security! Decor & overall interior throwback from 50's. When checking out only thing asked by clerk of me is "did you drink the water in the rm." Not how was stay or other appropriate hospitality greeting. I would not recommend or stay again. ;(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two sinks. One located with commode and tub. One located outside. Spacious room. Had small frig. And microwave. Located one block from Jack London square and ferry to SF. Quiet. Loved that it has a pool. Will stay here often.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows did not open. Shower floor was "mushy". Air conditioner, train and street noise were loud. Old property.

    Comfortable bed. Lovely swimming pool. Lots of counter space in bathroom. Clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location--close to the ferry to San Francisco.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Good but not great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was high for what we got. Bathroom looked like the painter ran out of paint and didn't finish. Shower controls were uneven. No refrigerator in room. Noisy fan.

    Nice pool area and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant, off the beaten path, get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was no breakfast and no restaurant - you have to go next door to the diner. The rooms were fair - bathroom a little small and cramped. Gym was minimal and business centre - just a computer in a hallway with a printer. Was fine for printing a boarding pass but wouldn't want to be that exposed if I needed to actually do some work related stuff there. A bit of a walk from the BART and far from SFO, but closer to Oakland airport.

    The pool area looked great, but didn't get a chance to use it. Looks like this area is being redeveloped and so will be quite a vibrant area - some good restaurants close by and a reasonable walk up to Oakland city centre - although there are some sketchy parts that I wouldn't want to walk alone at night through.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom sink was slow to drain and after asking to have it fixed, no one did. could hear the people in adjacent room through bathroom.

    nice pool area and convenient to take ferry to San Francisco.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would rate this hotel as 3 stars. The facility was adequate. All the essentials were provided. It is not upscale or posh, but clean and the location was perfect for our needs.

    Location was perfect. Walking distance to Yoshi's where we had tickets for an evening performance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff made me feel welcome and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Courtyard Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although internet access was free, it wasn't always strong.

    Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Food at the restaurant was excellent. Parking garage keeps vehicles off the streets. Free bus service to other Oakland downtown neighborhoods.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location and clean rooms with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel key cards didn't always work a hundred percent of the time, albeit not being demagnetized by the phone. The overall level of privacy on the ground floor is quite minimal since your window has a direct view of the pool and as such, pool goers have a direct view of you. Designated smoking areas also aren't designated far enough away that you can't smell the second hand smoke in minimal parts of the hotel that have access to the flowing air.

    Location, location, location. The Jack London area of Oakland is prime in terms of accessibility to downtown Oakland while not actually being within the midst of it. There are plenty of restaurants in the area to choose from and you're even in walking distance of the ferry that can take you to San Francisco. This is truly a quaint area in Oakland and is highly recommended for travelers that enjoy being in a central, stress free location.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: