Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nichols Village Hotel and Spa 3 stars

1101 Northern Boulevard, Clarks Summit, PA 18411, USA

#6 of 6 hotels in Clarks Summit

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 43 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "breakfast" was only cereal and bagels. It smelled musty. Hotel was empty and we had to stay on the 4th floor, the elevator was out of service and we had to take the steps.

    Convenience to the PA turnpike.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn't flush, room we were supposed to get was out of hot water. My brothers room only had scolding hot water. We had blood on our comforter spider sacs on the walls pool was closed, my mom's room had rust all around tub, breakfast had bagels but they said the cream cheese was on back order,ice machine broken.my mom's tv remote didn't work.i needed a double bed room like i reserved and was only given a king son my kids had to sleep with my husband and I. Overall a very bad experience. The staff was helpful but you could tell they were probably embarrassed by all the things that had gone wrong but it was out of their hands so not their fault.

    Size of room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty, cheap everything inside, smelled this place has gone down hill significantly. We used to stay here once a year to visit family but now its so bad. We heard there has been new management in the last few years and the owners are very very cheap.

    At least the facilities worked

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel feels neglected. Carpets are dirty and some need to be re-glued or you'd trip over them. Has a dated, "a big chain walked away from this property" feel. Computers were down for days; I have no receipt via email, 4 days after departure. Breakfast area is sparse, and you need to go to another room to use a microwave. No ice machines to be found.

    Price. Nearness to interstate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My family members have stayed at Nichols Village five years ago for my wedding, and they thoroughly enjoyed their experience. Since we moved out of the area & began planning our trip to visit family in Virginia, we thought booking Nichols Village would be a great idea, even if it was just for a night. A lot has changed within five years, and unfortunately not for the better. Walking into the hotel lobby, there were outdated pamphlets in their "tourist attractions" area (coupons that expired in mid-2016). There's waterstains? all over the ceiling, the carpet is haggard and-frankly-a tripping hazard. We had to wait about fifteen minutes to check in (granted, we knew we were arriving late at night, around 10 PM). However, the receptionist was very nice and polite. The first room we originally booked was dirty and outdated. There were blood spots on the sheets, coffee? stains on the comforter, dead bugs (and a booger) in the lampshades, stains on the curtains (which were crudely stapled together), stains all over the carpet-among other things. We lifted the mattress to check for bedbugs (because, at this point, I was assuming there's other issues), and there was a dirty/dusty filter for the air conditioner (which was not working properly) underneath the saggy, tired mattress. I almost felt as if we were on the show, Hotel Hell, or if we were on Candid Camera. The room was absolutely terrible. We asked the receptionist for another room, and she was helpful and accommodating-but the first impression tainted the rest of our stay. The continental breakfast was...sad. From what I experienced five years ago, the breakfast used to be phenomenal. Bacon, breakfast sausage, scrambled eggs, omelettes, etc. But this breakfast consisted of a couple of bagels wrapped up in plastic wrap and some toast. This is sufficient for my wife and myself, but it was disappointing, to say the least.

    The late-night receptionist was friendly, professional, and accommodating. After we requested to change rooms, she gave us a better room (one that was actually clean), and it made our stay better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very sad. We have stayed there several times in the last 10 years and each time it has deteriorated more. 3 years ago we were told the pool was temporarily closed. Well, it still is. The breakfast wasn't much at all. Bread for toast..sign on toaster said only left side worked...cold cereal...3 muffins...some bagels...juice...and coffee or tea. The coffee was good. We were in there about 20 minutes after opening and 3 other people in there drinking coffee. Our room was clean but toilet didn't flush properly. We saw only 2 staff people while we were there...a young man at the desk checked us in and a young lady at the desk the next morning who checked us out and kept the coffee dispenser filled. Oh, and the ice machines were all out of order, so to get ice you have to ask at the desk and they will give you a half filled ice container.

    Burger King, McDonalds, Wendys, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Dominos, Subway, and a food store Weiss, all within walking distance...and don't forget Krispy Kreme!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room - most equipment was broken - the treadmill did a dead stop after 8 minutes and I almost fell. Pool was closed. Rug in room was dirty. Hot water was rusty in sink. Decaf coffee for breakfast was not good.

    Comfortable bed, quiet room. OJ was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is now a pretty run down property. Once a jewel of Clarks Summit - its now in pretty sorry condition! From first moment climbing steps into lobby of the Summit's historical "most impeccable" retail property was a big downer and I never recovered my jaw-dropping dismay of how an owner perceives "value" in offering such a lousy product. Relatives and friends of owner must post the positive reviews!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall the hotel seemed to be in a run down condition. We had previously stayed there many times. Entering the room was a challenge - the key cards had to be inserted several times in order to get the green light. The bathroom toilet was stained - a rubber band held a towel rack in place - the wall paper was separating from the wall in the bathroom - breakfast offerings were minuscule- pool was under repair - ice machines didn't work - grounds were NOT well kept - gardening was lacking - for what we paid we deserved better :-( :-( :-(

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We both found the bed to be uncomfortable. This is the first time we experienced this at NV, and it probably will prevent us from booking here again. Also, the pool is not open, and hasn't been for months.

    We have stayed several times before. It is set up to be peaceful, despite being very close to the highway.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    how staff handled the police situation on the property, how staff handled our being locked out of our room owing to the door lock malfunctioning (and staff wanting to repair it at midnight without regard to our sleeping/privacy needs), how staff handled moving us from an unclean room/bathroom to another room that was next door to a criminal-at-large, how staff smoked outside next to the public computer and had the door propped open

    the police escort to our room gave us a modicum of comfort during their search in the hotel for a criminal on the loose

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and spa were closed and I referred to this hotel for the pool and spa. It was a big disappointment when that was going to be a big highlight of the get away to relax.

    The staff was friendly, the area was great,close to family, it was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seen better days! Whilst it may have been possible to walk to restaurants. There were no sidewalks and a busy road. Just left the restaurant in the hotel grounds.

    Comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water early on Sunday morning. Battery in card reader died and no maintenance person on site. Admittedly, he arrived pretty quickly.

    Things were definitely cleaner than when we stayed there in 2015 in July.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Called in the morning to make sure I could check in early, attending a wedding at 3. The woman on the phone was very nice and polite. When I arrived I would have had a little over hr to get to the room change maybe relax a bit after driving 2 1/2 hours. The woman behind the desk was new, she kept paging through her papers. I've waited there 20 minutes. I told her I was now getting into panic mode and if she could just call someone. Another 10 minutes went by. Ugh I didn't leave early to have her waste my time. Finally without any apologie she gives me my keys. Now it's literally take off clothes put on dress and heels, rush to car and wedding. What a shame she couldn't call anyone? Come down for coffee in the morning and she said she didn't know how to make it in these things? No coffee? The woman at the desk should never be back there until she was ready for guest's. The place was really dingy and the bathroom seemed it was from the seventy's. No light bulbs in most of the lights in the room. I would never return, nor tell anyone anything good about this place. Don't let the name fool you!

    Outside grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed with no excuse from staff, deluxe continental breakfast was basic cheap cereals/cheap pastries in styrofoam cups. Blood stains on sheets. Very disappointed.

    This place was probably nice 10 years ago but this was disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid thought I had checked out after 1st night and took my drinks out of the refrigerator. .I had to call to get themy back

    Pool was not up to par,or available. Didn't meet health standards. The basil restaurant is incredibly good!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway rugs could have been a little cleaner. Chips in ceiling. Balcony railing needed painting, was beginning to rust. One electric outlet did not work. They just need to do some minor maintenance and it would be better.

    Staff very helpful. Room Very very clean. Good location to highways. Excellent price. Balcony overlooking garden area was pleasant surprise. Large fridge with freezer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in the room. No life guard at the pool tonrescue children or adult incase of emergency The desk is left unattended not safe. Any body could walk in. Call with no answer

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool doors lock to access for all buildings. Housekeeping late or never showed. Continental breakfast was not worth the stay. Preferred going out to local restaurants for coffee and breakfast.

    The Spa

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible Hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room. enjoyed breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an invasion of ANTS in the room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old equipment, limit cleaness, breakfast without plates : you put your toasts on a napkin, nothing to put on your toast pool closed, a catastrophy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nichols Village staff are the friendliest people. If you are away from home they will make you feel like you are home!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Casey was very friendly at check in

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning the rooms didn't happen. Had to call front desk.

    Good hot water, comfortable room. Breakfast was pretty good. Parking close by.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room ac was weak

    GreAt value, clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed which should have been posted. The gym is very small. Not much of a gym.

    Nice place. Really liked it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just seems run down. Never did get free breakfast. Was told it was served until 10 am but when I arrived at 9:55 it was gone. Also the chlorine smell of the pool was overwhelming at times, even in my room.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Couple

    The property needs repair. For example, the plug would not stay in the socket in the bathroom. There were only two hangers in the room and breakfast differed depending on what time you got there. If you showed up at 8:00am there might not be much out but if you came back at 9:30, yogurt was available. Staff seemed very disinterested and bored.

    Nice size rooms that were clean

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast area was too small for the number of guests. It was also inadequately stocked with food and there was only one toaster for 35 guests.

    The room and the swimming pool were very nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A once beautiful place has become rundown and haggard. The room smelled like a wet dog, the carpets were old, the bathroom fixtures were antiquated and didn't work well. The room had numerous, large, carpenter ants - in the carpet and ON THE BED. Ewwwww.

    The from desk staff was helpful. The location was very close to the event I was attending.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor service.... Nonexistent breakfast Disinterested service One of the worst I've ever been in There is a huge administrative staff during the week Don't u think some adult should be around to supervise on camp visiting day?

    The ice machine was broken had to go to the 3rd floor. Breakfast was non existent... No coffee. Nothing Kid said delivery truck didn't come.... On a Sun With camp visiting.... They knew from the reservations his many people Just awful..... The wirst

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Couple

    Only the breakfast was sad only bagels and cereal, no Orange Juice. It was taken away an hour early by the staff. We heard such great review from local friends about restaurant Basil, we went to order room service from them and menu was outdated and food couldn't be delivered we picked it up took very long and came out cold and hard and runny. It was expensive and disappointing, if it weren't freezing cold it may have been appetizing.

    We loves the place it was designed nice, lots of indoor and outdoor private areas. It was clean the rooms and the common areas. Cleaning staff and super were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    sheets were scratchy, curtains frayed at ends, the panel to the pipes in the bathroom was sitting on the floor leaving them exposed, front desk person a bit nasty

    comfortable bed, good shower

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast: one of the worst ever seen for the price of the room.

    Access from the road

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast

    Clean, nice furnished room

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Family with young children

    Terrible breakfast, slow service.

    Pool

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast is poor. Mostly carbs, no fruit.

    Rooms were clean. Staff was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worn and needs updating.

    I can't think of anything

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping made beds ONLY no cleaning. Tub/shower very slippery,treacherous! And we are not that old! Carpet dirty.shab y

    The location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to where I had to work

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Primative breakfast. Only one cup coffee in room.

    Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked at $119.00 per night that's what I was chares for the first night but the second night they charged $129.00.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Nichols Village Hotel and Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: