Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Inn at the Opera 3 stars

333 Fulton Street, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#86 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 138 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not impressed by the modest breakfast (vegetarian - hard-boiled eggs, bread, pastries, cereal, that's it). The walls are thin and I heard my neighbor's television late into the night. Metal fire doors on each room boom closed every time someone comes or goes.

    Great location - best place to stay if you want to be steps away from the War Memorial or Davies Hall. Helpful and friendly staff, *fantastic* restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    However my room had a very very small window that faced a wall of neigbour garage and other building and it did not match the photo I saw when I was booking the room. I understand that this room had a table but I would prefer a window. Cleaning service was ... what to say strange.

    Undoubtly this hotel is cosy, a small pentry was very good. The area was safe and close to nice restaurants, public transportation was fantastic, there were a number nice supermarkets nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we stayed was near (old) elevator you can hear it constantly when going up or down

    Old Fashion Victorian style very beautiful. Complimentary breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished the bar/restaurant stayed open later. We came back from a concert around 11 hoping to have a night cap and snack but it was closed..but everything else was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways were narrow and cramped however it is to be expected in a small hotel in S.F.

    I liked the location which was close to Symphony Hall. This was a quaint, small hotel with an old world charm. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast wa pretty good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the past the valet for the car took way to long to bring ours out. This time the car was parked right out front

    We attend the Opera and Ballet regularly and you simply cannot beat this place for location and comfort. We literally walk one block to and from the event. Rooms are on the small side but they have all the amenities. Ours had a separate living room with kitchenette. This is an old world style hotel that is perfect for our needs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small room was a bit stuffy, but the staff provided us with a portable fan, which helped.

    Continental breakfast was excellent. Staff very professional and helpful. Location is very convenient to our activities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Suite on the 2nd floor was above the restaurant/kitchen, and the noise was very loud from it. Regular (Ballet) rooms are very small. Would be nice if there was coffee in the lobby in addition to tea. Our Ballet room had a heater that was not possible to turn off.

    Cookies, water, and tea available in the lobby. Mini-kitchens in the room are nice to have.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tap in the bathtub needs mending because when you turn it to shower the water is still coming out fro the tap....

    Continental breakfast is great.... Staff are all very helpful....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small space heater for a large room. Window looked out on a messy graveled roof that had a rusty spade, 3 plastic crates, scraps of paper, a pile of gravel. Baseboards could use a coat of paint. Staff unfriendly.

    It is 1/2 block from the Opera House, my purpose for coming and located in Hayes Valley where there are a number of good restaurants ranging in all prices. Good Continental Breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barely Acceptable cleaning of bathroom. Could use an extra bath towel. TV control missing and net replaced for 2 days. Homeless person camped across the street. Wonder about lack of air conditioning next summer.

    Excellent location for the Opera.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This San Francisco gem of a hotel is a wonderful example of the city I remember growing up. We’ve stayed before, but this time, we chose a corner room with two bathrooms. It’s unbelievably spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My husband is Celiac. There wasn't much choice of gluten free options on for Breakfast.

    Very quite. Minimal traffic noise. All staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small and had no desk work on my laptop while in the room. Not the ideal set-up for business travel. Also, the quick-bite restaurants close-by close very early and many of the other nearby restaurants are very expensive and up-scale.

    The hotel was charming and unique. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was also very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed updating and bar area was not inviting. The breakfast was inconsistent, sometimes good and sometimes depleted. Not the fault of the hotel but the nearby civic centre area is full of vagrants which is off putting although they do not trouble you.

    Nice boutique hotel in good location. Staff were helpful and offered use of sister hotel Donnatella. Room was generally comfortable but a little on the small side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental Breakfast is served daily, would have preferred some American breakfast options.

    Very nice staff, and very good location. Hayes Valley neighbourhood is hip and local, all the good stuff away from downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was disappointing that out of a 2-night stay, we had to endure a very small room on 2nd floor, facing the street with lots of street noise the first night. After a request to move, the second night on the 5th floor was in a larger room and quiet. In summary, we paid $275/night-$550 total for 2 nights, and received only one good night of rest!

    The breakfast buffet was nicely presented. The service was good throughout, except for the woman who checked us in and gave us such a poor room despite our written and verbal requests at check-in for "high floor, quiet and away from traffic, etc."

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift didn't work when I arrived (my room was supposed to be on the 7th floor!), but the staff quickly changed it to the second floor and brought my bag up, although I would have preferred to be higher. (I had a view of a roof and no sun.) The common computer didn't work, so I couldn't print anything, but again, the staff came to the rescue and got my doc printed. Room was a little cold all the time, even when I ran the provided space heater.

    Location was perfect for me. Breakfast was simple but perfect for me. But the best asset was the staff - they were all excellent - friendly, helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It can be noisy

    The proximity to the theatre and theatre restaurants and cafes. The guests who are all interested in music and theatre. Very sociable..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try to sell you timeshares, and that's right when you walk through the door

    Clean, comfortable. Breakfast included was a bonus. Close to public transport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and old fashioned.

    The staff were terrific. Very helpful and friendly. The bed was comfy. The breakfast had a lot of variety. The hotel restaurant was good value and quality food. Transportation nearby was plentiful and easy to use. Recommend a travel passport from counter at nearby City Hall. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet (behind the toilet seat) had not been cleaned. Had dust and hair on it. Also, for the rooms without a ceiling fan, it's a little stuffy. It would have been uncomfortable without the fan we requested.

    Weekend breakfast was great. Room was comfy and felt homey. Kept our snacks and water in fridge. Staff friendly and helpful. Fresh lemon water in lobby to fill out water bottles before walking was a plus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get plain scrambled eggs for breakfast, only option for hot egg dish was Eggs Benedict. TV had poor reception on many channels, a few were good. Space heater was OK for this time of year (late March) but probably not OK for winter.

    Great variety of food for breakfast. Plaj restaurant was good, too. Friendly staff. Room (71) was quiet, except for some noise from neighbor. No noise from outside. Depending on what you want to do, the location is either great or just OK. Each floor has 8 rooms. X1 is next to elevator, but that isn't noisy. X1 and X2 share 2 walls. Units x3 and x5 share 2 walls. x4 is large, shares no walls, but is directly over the restaurant, so the lower floors will be noisier than the higher ones. Units x6, x7, & x8 have no common walls, but x6 and x7 overlook Fulton Ave. so may get road noise, but Fulton isn't a busy street.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and dark. Also walls very thin, the people in next room woke us up at 4.30, as they were up and talking very loudly.

    The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price I would have expected house keeping as standard.

    Afternoon cookies and Coffee in the lobby. Free local paper. Accomodating Staff. Location was ideal if you are a culture Vulture as very close to Theatre and Ballet etc.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty cold and the little space heater really couldn't tackle it. But otherwise it was great.

    The staff was so nice, especially Matt. Perfect location, too

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Street noise since window didn't close properly. Industrial cleaning of neighbouring room on 1st night. Lots of homeless people in Civic Centre neighbourhood.

    Comfortable bed, clean room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are cold. Folks should be aware that the Civic Center neighborhood (on the other side, where the nearby BART station is located) is full of homeless folks, some of whom have distressing issues.

    Wonderful staff, nice free breakfast, and very clean and convenient rooms with kitchenette. The location is good. Hayes Valley (the neighborhood on the one side) is super trendy and fun, with great restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything. The value for money was terrible.

    Almost nothing. Only the staff who has few responsabilities (assistants and/or waiters) was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mosquitos that came in when I opened the window to make the room less stuffy. The bed was extremely itchy and therefore uncomfortable.

    The hotel offered free wi-fi and breakfast (which I wasn't able to take advantage of). Great location, central and felt safe.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was a bit slow but it worked.

    Really beautiful Hotel with a lot of attention to details. Very cozy, comfortable and very clean. If you are looking for a big room then this is not the right place. The rooms are a bit small but it didn't disturb me at all. Being from Europe we are used to smaller rooms. For me it is important that the room has everything you need, a big bed, big TV, nice big bathroom, ironing board, cafè machine, frige etc. All that I found in the room in perfect shape. You can see that the room has been furnished and equipped by somebody who loves its job and the ownership pays a lot of attention to keeping it perfect. I also appreciated that you could open the window. Infact the room smelled really fresh. The central position is perfect, very nice restaurant, bars, theaters etc. at walking distance. Compliments to who is managing this place!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were useless, didn't want to put in any extra care or attention for anything, lazy and uninformative. Breakfast isnt continental, parking isn't free (it's very over priced and a few blocks away)

    Bed was comfy, kitchenette has good utensils/microwave/coffee, nice decor in some places.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in the welcome lady bombards you with some sort of weird pyramid scheme/timeshare/credit card which was forced upon us. We were tricked into watching a 2 hour presentation in order to get free parking and a gift card only for the hotel to take all the money off the gift card...and leave us with no money on the gift card and 2 hours out of our trip. For people reading. You don't need a car in San Fran. Drop it at the airport rather than pay the ridiculous amount for parking!

    The location was great and the heritage was nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not tell us about the complimentary breakfast and we didn't realize it was available until the day we left. There should be a small sign at check-in.

    Bed was very comfortable. Price was reasonable for SF.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They offered us free vouchers to attend a breakfast. They were really pushy and kept calling about it when we said we were not sure and would let them know.

    Bed extra comfy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small. Hanging clothes rack too high and not much space to put clothes. Drawer space limited.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff; great breakfast.

    The older style look of the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and no airconditioning

    Staff were very helpful. Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was comfortable, great location, lovely staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no valet parking which in San Francisco is an absolute disaster

    The room was very large with two bathrooms and clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room. Complimentary Breakfast all carb.

    Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The courtesy water by the elevator was not available all the time. Oh well...

    The location was perfect for going to see the Nutcracker ballet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A - all good

    Great staff - comfy bed - ambiance ++++ Clean & comfotable .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only any cooked foods for breakfast at the weekend. Satisfactory continental, but limited, breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was a bit rude, hotel hall and rooms are very narrow and small

    comfort bed, small room, nice bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old building, thin walls, noise in street

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noise at night was problematic at times but not unbearable.

    Good location. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    front desk stuff was so helpful. we recommend this hotel to all our friends

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got a confirmation for 2 adults AND 3 children, but the room size is so small that I had to rent and pay a second room.

    the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little small for U.S. Hotel

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn/cheap furniture. Small room. Overpriced.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The location was great, the price was great, the service was impeccable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to like there

    as cost room are very small

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ran out of coffee at breakfast

    comfortable bed, clean, modern bathroom, quiet room, extremely friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly & helpful. Location. Location. Location. Great neighborhood. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early check in would be nice.... I asked, and they said no..... 10 minutes later another person asked and they said yes.... :(

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much talk about available time share opportunities

    The location. Helpful staff. Quiet hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was full of character! Staff were very friendly and always going out their way to help out. Location was great too. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small, like a hotel in France.

    We were in town for the opera and the location was perfect. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are basic, but we were in a studio. Not elegant but functional.

    Great service. Nice touches like water, coffee, cookies. Helpful staff.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62