Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Howard Johnson by Wyndham Middletown Newport Area 2 stars

351 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842, USA

#6 of 22 hotels in Middletown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    2.5
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult. Check-in was disorganized and chaotic at 10pm. The room air-conditioner was EXTREMELY LOUD. Didn't realize the place was old Howard Johnsons MOTEL with loud parking lot in front and place had very poor renovation. Definitely would not stay here again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Nice, pleasant , relaxing stay. Of course will stay again and will recommend to all our firends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May be need improve a bit breakfast, add cold cuts and cheese. May be some green veggi staff will be good . Like in Europe.

    Very impressive lobby, friendly staff , nice very CLEAN! BIG room , comfy bed, Good size of frige, really good breakfast, quiet location, 7 min form center city.We came late night and it was so nice to have cookies and tea in lobby near fireplace. Pool , jacuzzi and sauna room clean and works perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.0
    Does the job adequately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t stop the bath tap dripping, shower wasn’t very powerful.

    Comfortable bed & nice large room, helpful staff, good location & plenty parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    stay was fine, place was clean and close to a restaurant, breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pool could have been cleaner and elevator was not available readily, you had to get someone to help you use, not conveient everytime

    very spacious newly renovated lobby, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Newport Hojo's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. We loved the pool, hot tub and sauna. We had no complaints. The price was great for the area. Continental breakfast was a plus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.0
    a1
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly helpful staff. wonderfully clean room, no smoking room was actually smoke odor free. pool area clean ,breakfast looked abundant though I just gabbed a banana and a couple of yogurts as was pressed for time. king bed had great mattress very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Great place if you're in the second floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a teribble room -stuffy, humid, dirty, with strong smell of mold and very noisy - air con and fridge engines rattled all night. The receptionist said its the best they can do. If you book there don't take room 112.

    After a sleepless night we got a room on the second floor- large comfortable bed, no smell, clean and quiet- really good value for money. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool. Was nice to have self service laundry and vending machines. Breakfast is simple but good enough

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for the price. Friendly staff and clean rooms! Would definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chlorine was very strong in the pool and hot tub

    Great experience, better than anticipated! Friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms. Cookies at 3:00 and a call to our room to see how our stay was. Hotels do not do that, but this one did!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Everyone was very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Screen door was broken. Bathroom floor was was not very well cleaned.

    Everyone was very nice and friendly. Great location and hotel for dog owners. Great walking path just across the street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are a bit outdated but I wouldn't say I didn't like them. The hotel is obviously updating because the lobby is beautiful.

    The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. Beds were comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave, which was very useful. The rooms also have balconies or patio areas depending on which floor you stay on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    over priced and under delivered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booking .com gave this place a 4.8 out of 5 stars even though it was pricier than other hotels in the area I piked this one because of it's ratings. The ratings weren't even close. It made me realize do not count on ratings on booking.com to judge a place. This hotel was a 1960's hotel with a little touch up. If it was $150 a night I would have considered it meeting my needs. I paid $596 for two nights and felt ripped off. It is like going into Mcdonalds and paying $25 for one of their hamburgers.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The breakfast and the quietness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and the quietness. I also happened to leave a piece of clothing behind and when I called Mekayla was able to locate it and it is in transit to my home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Ha a very pleasant stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ha a very pleasant stay at this hotel. I'm definitely going to stay there again while on vacation in the coming years. Very clean, great location with restaurant attached to the hotel, courteous employees, and everything we needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Newport area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    The check in experience was great. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem, and this was minor, was the shower drain didn't drain sufficiently.

    The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The continental breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great location and nice staff.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs and corridors required to get from the room to lobby were confusing. It was easier to get in the car and drive up to the lobby. An elevator would be nice.

    The "puppy" corridor is a great idea. Makes you feel more comfortable in that your pet probably won't disturb the other guests since they would also have a pet with them. The lobby is lovely and a nice place to get together. The personnel was very nice and accommodating. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great family spot close to everything- we found a new vacation favorite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a fabulous stay with my children. Fruited water and cookies in the beautiful lobby. Pool area was clean and always had towels. Breakfast buffet was a plus and the staff was very attentive. We loved that the restaurant was attached to the hotel; so convenient. We had a lovely weekend stay with 4 kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location with basics and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest rooms need updating. Older furniture and mattress was not good.

    Free breakfast was great, lobby area is newly updated and inviting. Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    My stay in the Newport HOJO was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room could have been better. The bathroom toilet seat, floor and bathtub had hairs that had to be wiped up before use. Really gross! Plus there was a layer of dust on the coffee pot, alarm clock and microwave.

    The lobby was very nice and a comfortable to hang out. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, affordable -- would totally stay here again and recommend to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators or ramps. I have a hard time using stairs.

    Michaela at the front desk was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Diana at the continental breakfast was kind, super friendly and went out of her way to help me, which was so appreciated. Also, the location is a short drive to Newport. The ease of access to the Applebee's was great too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    The Fitzpatrick family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fantastic. I couldn't rate this place higg enough. The staff were so friendly. They couldn't do enough for us. The Howard Johnson is spotless, child friendly and comfortable. Sitting round the huge fire at night with family was home from home 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Very adequate at off season price but I felt like I was given less than their best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was wayyyyy in the back. No room amenities as previous trips. I got lost twice finding my room with my luggage. Room was not as appealing as my last trips here.

    The lobby is new and very appealing. Hot tub and sauna are desirable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.0
    Adequate for a family of 4-5, pool was great for rainy day activity for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was sufficient. Furnishing and decor was dark and could use a little updating. Beds were comfortable, at the time that we stayed, the beds in other rooms were getting switched out so we may have missed out on trying the new beds. For those with pets, make sure to inform them at the time of booking as there are rooms/areas where pets are not allowed and they are also not allowed to be left alone in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Having a relaxed time with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On first day, the sauna was not working but next day it was O.K.

    Good location with good facilities. Pool, Spa and Sauna. Close by Shops and Pharmacies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    The bed was comfortable and the hotel overall was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom or it didn’t work. Was hard with four people using the bathroom for two days and not being able to use the fan lol.

    The bed was comfortable and the hotel overall was nice. Would stay again if ever in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    My stay was fantastic
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good but the kitchen employees were talking about the guests. One guest took a banana and a yogurt and walked to his room because doesn't wanted to eat in the lobby and the comments from the employees were awful.

    Friendly check- in staff. The pet friendly room was clean. Good breakfast. Quiet atmosphere and good distance from the Mansions. The pool water was warm A+

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    The distance to Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff overnight said there would be a discount because I had to leave early due to the major storm coming in. When I called the next day, they did not honor what the staff told me. Not cool

    The distance to Newport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Good stay with pet and enjoyed the hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was great, everyone went out of their way to take care of us from check in to check out. Great spot for pets. Breakfast was what was expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    We made some awesome memories, thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the first night heated pool wasn't as warm as expected but the hot tub and sauna were awesome. we made memories,

    The Hotel was prefect and for a great price we had a wonderful time, we stayed do to unfortunate events but our stay was perfect no complaints .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love staying at this HOJO this trip i would have preferred the hot tub and pool to be warmer temp especially for the little ones.

    The brand new lobby and breakfast area was very relaxing. Great addition

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    I would recommend this facility to family’s looking to get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been about 5 degrees warmer. Kid didn’t realize though and had a blast.

    Brand new bed linens with each new guest including blankets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend this place, wont be sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found a medicine cap under my bed, but otherwise room clean. Electronic keys do not work well and you have to keep taking all keys back to have them rekeyed, happened to the 3 parties we were with...our first problem with this in 20 yrs. we have been going there. Outside of hotel is a little dated but dont let it scare you off, front lobby remodeled a few years ago and inside rooms remodeled.

    staff is very nice and polite. Room size is great. Pool is large, but was packed with a large hispanic church group on the day we went which makes it hard to get in it and I heard they were playing music in the pool so if you wanted quiet-it was not good on this day. Applebee's attached which I dont normally care for, but easy if you have kids and want to go somewhere quick. We went out to a wonderful casual itailian restaurant with wonderful food and tons of tvs if you are into sports called Antonio's--highly recommend it and I am picky but like basic foods. Pizza, eggplant parm, and chicken parm wonderful. Plenty of parking at the restaurant and hotel. Coffee all day. Nice fireplace and seating in lobby, free breakfast but I do not go to it. Deluxe rooms have small micro and fridge. Plenty of restaurants, stores and shopping nearby including grocery store. Close to Newport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    This Howard Johnson is the best hotel I have ever stayed at in my life.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Not one complaint and we have been here for six days!

    Very comfortable. Breakfast is great. The staff, everything. Indoor pool and hot tub. Pet friendly too. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    It was a very cold night and VERY convenient that Applebees...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very cold night and VERY convenient that Applebees Restaurant was physically attached so that you can walk to the end of the hallway and be seated.... no going outside to freeze. The lobby was very nice with the fireplace and water feature

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    A Hidden Gem for a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not think of a serious negative comment! Everything was either as expected, or exceeded my expectations. The walls were a tad thin.

    Great location right outside of Newport’s center. Very kind and helpful staff. Large rooms, clean with a mini fridge and microwave and small balcony. Fair breakfast, great pricing. Will be staying again and again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    We truly enjoyed our stay and will return if we make it back to Rhode Island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room coffee was quite bitter!

    The room was very clean and well appointed. The included breakfast was very good. The always available lobby coffee was the icing on the cake!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Protein on the breakfast bar and softer, smaller, fewer pillows.

    Service throughout our stay was excellent. All staff were exceedingly pleasant, curteious and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel just outside of Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was chilly, beds were slightly hard.

    Breakfast was very nice, lots of options. Staff were friendly. The room was clean, and there were a lot of channels on the TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    comfortable stay with my sisters (and husbanf) while visiting RI cousins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when i turned on the shower, some of the water continued to come out of the faucet so the shower spray was light hot tub wasn't as hot as it could have been. one jet was too strong. seating in hot tub is rough

    bed and pillow very comfortable. joined rooms fridge, coffee maker full complementary breakfast with cozy seating accessible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    I wish we could have stayed longer. Never been so pleased with a stay or booking! Thank you!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Extra friendliness,CLEANLINESS,welcoming,helpfulness,quietness,their love and understanding of having pets, and the wonderful price for having pets! Much more I could say but just know we were totally pleased!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Slight inconvenience with the room key and door lock, but otherwise an excellent stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electronic key had to be recharged a couple times during my stay. In addition, the door to my room had to be repaired, but after the repair, the door could be opened without an key. Fortunately, this was repaired and nothing was missing from my room.

    Excellent breakfast, accommodating and courteous staff. They allowed a late checkout when I have a prolonged medical appointment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Room was clean, beds comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in staff told us we qualified for an upgrade, but never explained what that was. When we asked for 1st floor, they put us in a handicapped room which we did not need. No counter space in bath was inconvenient. Getting on hotel wifi was not automatic but required extra trips to desk to solve. Breakfast menu was above average and room attractive, but loud TV was very intrusive, disturbing, annoying. Not needed when NP was available.

    Room was clean, beds comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    one of the best hotels we enjoyed, greet location to New Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bad point to write, it was perfect!!!

    one of the best hotels we enjoyed. Great value for money fantastic location so close to New Port We enjoyed the swimming pool after a long day tour. Great staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel minutes from Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness center is small (but adequate- treadmill, elliptical, 2 stationary bikes) and too warm- After running a mile, I couldn't breathe in the room, with no way to control the air condition. Perhaps a fan that could be turned on/off by visitors? Also the treadmill was shaky while running.

    Staff were very friendly, with a fantastic continental breakfast- one of the best I've had, even healthy! The pool was nice and large. Comfy and quiet rooms. Even for a hotel that allows pets, you would never know it unless you saw one.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Staff was great! Location was convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited counter space in the bathroom.

    Coffee & tea always available. The staff was very friendly & willing to help in anyway. Lobby area was very comfortable to sit & drink coffee by the fireplace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast options were good and eating area very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better sound suppression in pool area. Mattress a little worn.

    Breakfast options were good and eating area very pleasant. Nice to have fridge and microwave in room. Staff friendly when I approached them with a question.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    I would stay there again because the overall location was good and staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit was moldy and filter was filled with dust They fix the problem and adjusted the bill with no hassle

    Breakfast was good staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Most of it extremely well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third night extremely unpleasant: family with three rooms kept us from sleep; they kept running in the hall and slamming doors; playing ball and loud voices in hall. Made us happy to be leaving

    Friendly staff, clean rooms,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    AWESOME !!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms were so cozy i love that we could open slider & sit outside. everything was spotless & the beds were comfy cozy... i would definitely stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Very satisfactory and reasonable during week; much more expensive on weekends like all Newport.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little ragged and towels less than plush.

    Wonderful staff. Thanks to Sunday maintenance man, Dave, who helped me without my asking, and patience of very pleasant front desk women. Good shower. Good breakfast. Second sink/towels/soap outside bathroom. Good security locks on patio door. Convenient even though not in Newport itself.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    overpriced for the outdated cramped building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The low toilet cramped location and made noises...aweful tub liner felt unstable...mini fridge made noise...the matress was to soft..the walls werent soundproof...a lady next door was talking i could hear her so annoying.

    The service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    3.8
    We will never stay at a Howard Johnsons again.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking, breakfast buffet over-crowded, poor faility upkeep, no shampoo replacements, all amenities very cheap. Attached Applebees restaurant was very poor.

    not much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent staff, clean rooms, close to town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was very clean. The staff was very accommodating. We traveled to Newport for a family wedding. We had three rooms we shared. My family, which has three kids all over the age of 18, my parents and my brother traveling from California with his family. They put all our rooms next to each other. It worked out so great. We all got in at different times and the staff was super nice! I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect, and clasdy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was they had hot water for everything, except hot chocolate, also the rooms walls had a lot of patches..would definitely stay again, and would recommend it very highy

    Breakfast we didn't expect, saved us a lot of money..pool sauna hot tub excellent prices, great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have used another (or thicker) blanket on the bed

    Lobby is gorgeous! Free breakfast was good, but small selection. Well run hotel - they accommodated every request. Would definitely stay here again!!! Rooms were a little dated, but fine. They had a mini fridge, microwave, and balcony. Pool and hot tub were GREAT!!! Stay away from the Applebee's attached - it's not run nearly as well as the hotel. Many other great choices to dine close by that are far better!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay with a pet with very reasonable rates!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside I would say is that the wifi signal was not strong at all. I am a wyndham rewards member and forgot to apply and I was disappointed that they were unable to apply when I arrived at check in. Other then this, I would definitely stay here again. Staff were exceptional!

    Breakfast was excellent with a big variety to chose from, Such as cereal to bagels, to English muffins, waffles, yogurt fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs and of course coffee tea etc. The room was nice and it had a dog walk in back to walk your dog along with bags at doorways to pick up dogs poop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff and breakfast with convenient location. Perfect for Festival stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This facility is a great value for Newport yet it has old rooms with glass sliding doors that open to parking lot. Traveling as a single woman with young son, that made me uneasy. There are upper level rooms but these were unavailable. Also, the room had a smell brought on by dampness of some sort.

    Lovely staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Convenient, affordable option for visiting Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Need firmer pillows. Safe in our room did not work.

    Convenient, affordable option for visiting Newport. Very family friendly. Quiet. Nice pool with lots of seating. Staff went the extra mile to ensure we had connecting rooms for our family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.6
    The pictres of the lobby do not reflect the rooms and service, it was only a night thankfaully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the bathtub was not draining, it was so disgusting to shower with your water not draining, I got out of shower when I was done and washed my feet while I was outside the bath tub. We were checking out at 11am, which is standard but at 10:30am, there was a repeated loud knock on our door and when I answered the door they asked what time I was checking out, this has never happened to me. I asked for toothpaste in the morning from one of the housekeeping staff and they said that all they provide is mouthwash

    The bed was comfortable, not the pillows

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location on main road to Newport, RI. Room spacious and clean. Staff friendly and professional. Applebee's beside hotel for convenience in getting an evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    we were pleasantly surprised by the renovated hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was nicely renovated and the staff was very friendly. There is a nice pool and breakfast is included. In a great location near many different activities and places. Very happy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    So good we stayed an extra day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice to have a regular hot breakfast with eggs and breakfast meat. Waffles aren't necessarily the healthiest option if you are having them many days in a row, so I usually had a banana and hard boiled egg(s) for breakfast. I also had to grab extra towels everyday, although there were two of us in the room. This wasn't a big deal, neither was breakfast.

    The "deluxe continental" breakfast was sufficient, and saved us a good chunk of money. It grew redundant after 5 days, but there were a couple options for something hot (oatmeal, waffles). The hotel was very busy when we were there, but the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They were inundated with requests from other guests, and did their absolute best to satisfy everyone. We decided to stay an extra day, and had to switch rooms, but we were accommodated immediately. I also have to say that the deluxe king room was quite smaller than the bigger (yet cheaper) room with 2 double beds! The shuttle to downtown Newport was VERY convenient and the driver was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Overall this was a great stay! (So much we stayed an extra day) It has breakfast and is half the price of some downtown Newport offerings, and is only 2 miles up the road! No brainer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Hands-down the best value for your money in Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue with the tub drainage. It happens.

    We have stayed in Newport a few times, and this has been by far the best value for our money. No more than a five minutes' drive from downtown Newport, it also has hourly shuttle service all day and night. The room was spacious and clean with a small balcony so we could get fresh air -- and air out the room if we wanted. Breakfast included, which includes waffles, bagels, pastries, yogurt, granola, oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, etc. Free tea and coffee 24/7 (including herbal teas), and a nice pool. The only issue for us was a drainage problem with our tub/shower, but we would definitely stay there with the family again. We spent $346 for two nights in mid-August! You can't beat that!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value accommodation for a family of 5 with free breakfast and swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great value for a family of 5. We also had a trundle bed in addition to the 2 doubles in the room. The free breakfast and swimming pool were a huge benefit! Overall a great value stay and I will definitely use again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice Pool and good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are extremely uncomfortable and had to switch rooms as the air conditioning wasn't working and towel rack fell off the wall. Bed springs were coming through the mattress.

    Nice Pool and good Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    It was ok but it's been better there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was in/out My key card erased after being near my cellphone We were in the third building and it felt far away Pool got really cloudy I'm still waiting for the safe charges removed from my bill

    Breakfast bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    The lobby is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a used coffee cup on the side of the bed on the floor when we arrived. Also found in the room was childs underpants that was left from pervious guest. That is very disappointing, It tells me that rooms are not thoroughly clean. When I told management they apologized and that was it. Also disappointing.

    The lobby is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    This place is meh and desperately needs an upgrade
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities/room are old, dated furniture/decor, it smells and has an old dirty feelto it, no matter how much it's cleaned. The whole place needs to be upgraded/painted and freshened up. It felt like a motel 6 from the late 70s.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shuttle service should be more frequent than every hour

    It was an absolute pleasure. We loved the cookies and 24 hour coffee/tea service. A little hospitality goes a long way! Staff was so friendly and eager to please. Only complaint is that shuttle service should be every 30 minutes instead of every hour. Other than than, we have already booked 3 rooms for next year!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel close to Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public areas were recently renovated and are lovely. The rooms are exceptionally functional. I gave the rooms 10/10 as they really have thought of everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    The room and bathroom were very clean and had a refrigerator...
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were very clean and had a refrigerator and microwave which is great to have in the room. It also had a desk and nice executive chair for anyone that needed to work. The beds were very comfortable. Overall, I thought the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    There was a small porch with two lounge chairs that was...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outdoor area for sitting and eating with my pet away from other non pet owners.

    There was a small porch with two lounge chairs that was perfect for a morning coffee with the dog while my family got extra snoozes. Room was quiet and can't beat the location of hotel. It was easy to get to Newport sites and close to convenient shops. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time housekeeping wanted to clean each day, like I get they are on a schedule but you shouldn’t be banging on doors at 9am

    The room was reasonably large and the bathroom was big enough for you to feel comfortable and no cramped, also the bed felt like your were sleeping on a cloud

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Tanning booth lighting trauma with convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bathroom was ridiculous. It was on a timer and felt like I was in a tanning booth. On two occasions it shut off while I was in the shower! The a/c system was old and it was almost impossible to get the room to a temperature that was comfortable without the room smelling (smell came as soon as we tried adjusting the thermostat).

    The staff was great and the location was convenient to get around. I got parking right in front of my room which was fabulous! The shuttle to downtown Newport was a convenient option

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    My party was very satisfied with the facilities. Staff was responsive to our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a suggestion: The outdoor seating area by the pool could use updating; new lounge chairs and tables to make it more inviting. Also, the outdoor parking lot is located directly across from the post office; This doesn't make for a nice view. This can be improved by putting up a boarder of bushes to block the trucks and provide a more pleasing atmosphere.

    We had a problem with our air conditioner, and the repair person resolved the problem within 20 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Very clean.. pretty good stay for the money that time of year in that location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Updating in the rooms were cheap looking.. furniture still looked old.. Finishes: (Faucets , sinks counter tops showers wallpaper and room decor subpar)

    Very Clean.. Some what updated.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: