Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Super 8 by Wyndham Ridgecrest 2 stars

426 South China Lake Boulevard, Ridgecrest, CA 93555, USA

#13 of 14 hotels in Ridgecrest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 143 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of maintenance needed, sealant in bathroom mouldy and lifting. Asked to stay an additional night and was charged double original price. Breakfast very budget.

    Nice size room with all we needed for a comfortable stay. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn't flush NO PHONE IN ROOMS 1st room no deadbolt Guest laundery non opt Bell for fire alarm full of birds nest Two abandoned vehicles in parking lot They were unable to find my reservation Had to change rooms on 2nd day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility featured broken and taped windows; broken front doors; rooms temporarily closed to public use; horrible linens including stained sheets that did not fit the bed,l; smears of BLACK MOLD in many places in the bathroom (I would never get in that shower!); a broken shelf over the toilet, miraculously holding up two semi-folded towels; a filthy carpet; an invisible, allergy-provoking invader in the bedroom; a lamp plugged into an extension cord, sporting a burned out bulb; and a toilet that didn’t always complete a flush (icky in the privacy of one’s home but disgusting in the confines of our motel from hell) and regularly ran after flushing because the rubber cap on the end of the chain in the tank would not close until forced to fall by the “user” who either waited to jiggle the flush handle or risked listening to a “running” toilet waste water. I could go on, but I won’t. Wyndham should be mortified they have allow that facility to carry the Wyndham name; or, perhaps, Wyndham has actually degenerated to the same base level of the “jip-joint” facility it sponsers in Ridgecrest, CA. The next morning, I couldn’t wait to take a shower and refresh myself—anywhere but in the bedroom and bathroom we had rented for the night.

    The check in staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given keys that unlocked a door with someone already in there! We were not given a receipt until we went back and asked for it. The room was dirty! We did 't even want to try the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy. The carpets were filthy — stained but also very dirty. It didn’t look like it had even been vacuumed in the last week. The bedside light was about to fall off the wall. The clothes rack was about to fall off the wall. The curtains were only partially hung — mostly coming down. The sheets were dirty in the first room #115 (there was a wet spot!!!) so we were offered another room #117 that was just as dirty. The sheets were so old and worn they didn’t begin to fit the bed. The night clerk said it was because it was a “pet” room. We had to pay extra for this filthy room! The bathroom floor was black in the corners and the shower curtain stunk. I didn’t dare bathe there— I didn’t take my socks off! There was hair in the bathroom sink — it obviously had not been cleaned. We would have left but it was 1 in the morning and we had been driving for hours.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dirty. Hairs in the bed, dirty floor with sort of poop of animals, stains in the sheets and towels, bathroom wasn't clean at all. Slept for just a few hours.

    Great breakfast nearby, but not at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really odd place. Strange environment of apparent illicit behavior. Used the washing machine which didn't have a spin function so spent about 3 hours trying to dry a load.

    Frosties for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, breakfast wasn't really good, its all a bit old weird vibe at the location, but common a low price so that was allright. Oh well now i remember!! They forgot to give our deposit.. I send my sisters to bring the key and forgot to mention the deposit. She got in the car with out it and I realised we have to receive it. And my mom went inside and she knew right away what for.. bit shady.

    You don't pay much so can't really expect much but it was further allright. breakfast wasn't really good but well. Next door is a cute diner and you get discount because you are staying next doors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos posted for this hotel showed green lawn in the front of property, with plants surrounding the grounds. What we found was no lawn and dead plants. There were several service type trucks and people with their room doors open standing around. The lobby had a broken blind in the entry and the rooms were dirty. Stains on the carpets and bedding. For 100$ per night it was outrageous. We did not feel comfortable staying there. We complained to staff and asked for a refund. They refused and told us because we booked it through Booking.com we would have to go through them. After waiting on hold for 45 min I got through to someone and they took my information and contacted the management, but they still refused to give us a refund. Booking.com was unable to do anything but offer us a $15.00 credit to our card. We walked down the street and stayed at a wonderful Best Western for $8 more. I will never stay at a super 8 again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty. The shower trickled out. The room had a bad odor. Breakfast was cheap quality. We had to eat at a restaurant. Overpriced for such a dump.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone, dirty, door did not lock, window screen did not fit and hanging, dirty entrance and walking up stairs, no one at checkout in am.

    Hardly anything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was dirty. Outside walkway was dirty from what looks like dragging trash down it .

    Room was nice, carpet, wall color, coverlets tile in bathroom. There was big TV, microwave,fridge more then we expected for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets where not clean, room smelled bad, water did not flow away from bathtub. Super bad experience. We wanted a simple overnight, but i would have better slept in my car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do away with the terrible breakfast or get real in offering decent food. Even the Coyote at Panamint Springs didn't like the cinnamon role! Wifi was OK in the lobby but would not work in the room.

    It was next door to Kristy's restaurant where you could at least get a good breakfast or meal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    . We booked for 5 people but the employee informed us that the room only has two double beds and that we need to pay $80 for an additional room. He said it was booking.com's fault and now our problem. Since we are travelling on a budget and we were driving for 12 hours already we decided to just take the room for four people and one of us needs to sleep on the floor. We then proceeded to call your hotline and the lady there informed us after waiting for about 25 minutes that we will have to pay the motel for an extra bed that needs to be put into the room (at a charge of $30). When inquiring that bed the employee informed us that there was no space in the room for an additional bed. We then needed to move (together with all the luggage) to another room. Since the whole procedure took so long some of my friends were already asleep in the first room and needed to be woken up. After arriving at the other room we needed to get an extra bed ourselves from a dirty storage area within the vicinity and put it up ourselves. We needed to inquire for additional towels while the employee informed us that we needed to pay for the ones we already used in the first room to dry our hands after using the restroom while on hold talking to booking on the phone. We also needed to get the bed sheets for the extra bed from another place in the motel ourselves and put them on. Since the employee was extremely uncooperative we were in bed at 2am i.e. 2 hours after arrival.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we walked into the room there were obvious stains on the bedspread. We also discovered the floors and linens all had apparent stains as well. The room smelled like someone had smoked in it and it was a non-smoking room. The breakfast was okay, except for the milk that was sour, yuck!

    The price was good. The staff were polite. It was okay for a one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. The bedspreads were stained. Carpet was stained. The lamps were broken. I kept banging my leg on a board that was sticking out from the bed. The furniture was falling apart. For $144 for 2 nights, that is beyond unacceptable.

    The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for cheap night, wouldn't pay loads to stay there as could do with an update.

    Good location for what we wanted, but still in the middle of nowhere. Free Wifi which is good as there is absolutely no mobile network!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpeting and bedspreads were stained. Pretty light on "breakfast"

    Staff were helpful with check-in and what to see in the area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't clean. Sheet cover was stained.

    Localisation was good for my needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very tatty place on the outside - not too bad on the inside Pathetic breakfast selection - which pretty much amounted to nothing at all

    Room was OK

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely dirty. Never again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Served breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bare bones average chain facility, better coffee in am would have been nice

    Conveniently located near stores and eateries

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled funky.

    The price for a weekend night was very affordable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't very good, carpet was very dirty didn't want to walk on it with bare feet.

    Shower etc was clean but old fashioned.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty (dirt everywhere on the floor, hair on the bed sheets)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean

    To leave the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bad! No friendly staff, no clean rooms, bad breakfast, no towels, ...

    Nothing!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet, bed covers, pillows, everything had stains. We were glad that we had to stay for just one night.

    Staff were nice and polite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    lot of noise,

    the bed was comfy and they did provide me with handicap room, wife was very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!!!

    The guy at the front desk was very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The building needs to be exterminated. I killed 3 roaches and was unable to fall asleep after that. I refused to eat the free breakfast because of this.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decent breakfast variety (including fruit), promptly restocked. Very helpful staff; the laundry didnt work, but owner completed our laundry in their commercial grade washer.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pubic hairs in my room, bed, bathroom. Working girls outside and next door. Noisy. Homeless people searching through parking lot dumpster and shouting. Hyperdermic needle found under my bed. Staff were extremely rude and I was overcharged. Towels not changed. Breakfast was stale. Carpet mites. Thin walls. Hard matress. Stay away from Super8.

    Checking out and leaving was the best part of this stay!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    room was not ready on time and we got there at 7pm. The wifi did not work and the woman at the front desk was discussing very loudly about personal issues with her colleague and I thought it was very unprofessional.

    It was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It's extremely noisy. We couldn't sleep a whole night because somebody was walking in the upper room. It feels like this motel doesn't have any walls. You can hear how people breath in the next room. They put new paintings on the wall and new bed cover but the mattress itself is very old and dirty along with all furniture in the room. There were a lot of small beetles everywhere in the room. Disgusting! So, never again! It's better to pay $20 extra and stay in a better place in that town.

    The staff is pretty friendly though

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One outlet was dead, and using the micro could cause outage at circuit breaker. Door had been broken in so dead bolt could not work and door had to be slammed just to close. Higher charge for room if typical carb breakfast is wanted, no waffles. Ice machine was out of order.

    AC, refer, flat TV, shower, bed, were very nice. Staff very sorry about the soiled carpet. Staff sprayed for beetle bugs after complaint of them on couch and in bed. Next door to (Denny-like) restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit expensive old tv some lights were not working loud AC

    many restaurants and stores nearby great for one night stay before the trip to death valley clean rooms ok breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lady at the front desk, not very hospitable, charged a wrong credit card and when told so, she kept saying it is only a blocked deposit. No it is not, it stayed charged and the correct card was never charged. She refused to look into it, was busy chatting on her cell phone.

    Liked the location

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - bathroom fan was extremely loud und sounded like it might fall apart any minute - TV reception was not exceptional - breakfast was not great (small selection compared to other motels + only 2 tables in breakfast area) - thin walls (noisy) - interior of rooms a bit outdated - laundry room smelled bad - very small bathroom

    - free parking - favorable pricing --> good place to stop for a night after or before visiting Death Valley - lots of fastfood restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could be improved with more variety and better quality: less sugary treats, more proteins and fresh fruit!

    Good location to sleep before heading to Death Valley. Good value for the money you pay. Reasonably comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am a woman in my 60's and was traveling alone. I did not get in until late at night and there was always homeless people in the parking lot. One man was even going thru the dumpster. Not a real secure feeling for someone traveling alone.

    It was very quiet and clean. Office staff was very cordial.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outdated room with cigarette smell and dusty carpet. Didn't want to leave anything on the floor or on the furniture as it didn't feel clean enough. Weird shower wasting a lot of water. Also wouldn't be a big thing to replace the plastic tableware with something more sustainable.

    Chose the motel for its location and price. Did a one night stop in Ridgecrest when driving from Death Valley to the coast. Breakfast included in the price helped to start the day, though it didn't contain anything fresh except for a few fruits. Good wifi. Overall ok for the price if you come late and leave early and use the room just for sleeping.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stopped here on way from Yosemite to Big Sur to see the desert and scenic highways, okay for that but nothing else here! Breakfast needs more everything!

    Everything was standard for this kind of place, nice enough, had in room facilities that you want (microwave etc), no issues, decent night sleep, price okay.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Guests talking and shouting at 3am then singing along to a quitar at 4am for an hour. Phoned reception but phone of hook. Unable to contact them.

    Wifi and comfort

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cleaner sheets Shower leaked

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furnishings and carpets showed their age

    Not much to like here. Friendly staff was helpful but this hotel had one of the last vacant rooms in town.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is all construction workers that get up at "0 dark hundred" and are NOT QUIET

    Location and front door parking

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could be better - just cornflakes cereal, orange juice and some bread

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed not made that we were first assigned to

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good value for the money. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lots of bugs(not swept up), breakfast poor

    location

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bugs in the reception

    The staff - young man - very helpful and nice.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy AC

    Better once you're in your room. Fine for a stopover.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff - very nice receptionist

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast very poor , price not in line with place and services. nothing near the town.

    cordiality of staff

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great price for a basic place to sleep for the night.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The exhaust fan in bathroom was very noisy. AC air flow was too direct towards bed.

    staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice & clean room: good quality/price ranking - some restaurant & supermarket close by - convenient stop before death valley

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is quite rudimentary, breakfast room much too small

    Clean and good size of rooms. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location, it has everything one needs for one or two nights. It offers breakfast, although a simple one.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great for splitting up long drive to Las Vegas via Death Valley.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had two very nice days here. It is a very good place to stay if you want to make a one day trip to Death Valley.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Group

    The staff was nice, the room was clean and smelled nice. I will stay here again if I need to stay in Ridgecrest.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Price Was Ok. for stop, sleep ang go its very good!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were not able to connect to the Internet via the wifi.

    The location at the entryway to Death Valley is good. Friendly staff and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    poor wifi

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Air con not working

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms had smoke odour.

    Conveniently located.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the bed uncomfortable

    price

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would come back to stay again.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: