Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. San Francisco hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Inn San Francisco

Reviews of Inn San Francisco This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

943 South Van Ness Avenue, Mission, San Francisco, CA 94110, United States of America

#4 of 268 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 317 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    6.3
    Expensive, but I know that the prices fluctuate depending on if there’s a conference on at the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My bedroom was extremely shabby & old fashioned, as was the bathroom. Needs completely refurbishing.... really unattractive.

    Friendly staff & very clean

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    10
    We arrived from an early flight and were immediately made to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived from an early flight and were immediately made to feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were fantastic and when we had a late night flight on the day of our departure they took our bags downstairs and looked after them for the day and made us feel very welcome to come back and relax before we needed to leave. They even offered to leave us towels to have a shower before our flight. We would highly recommend Inn San Francisco

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    10
    Wonderful trip back in time, great service, lovely unique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed three years in a row for San Francisco's Carnaval making this the ideal location in the middle of the parade route near restaurants and clubs. If staying in the Mission District is not your prime objective the location may not be for everyone. Parking is a bit of a hassle as is lugging lots of gear up the stairs, but in my opinion all highly worth it! The price reflects both the quality, unique location as well as the local market which is a bit ridiculous, but good value taking all that into consideration.

    The period architecture and decor including history of the original family that lived there really sets Inn SF apart. It is very comfortable and inviting with just enough stuff to still feel stately, clean and luxurious. The staff are wonderful, so helpful and very gracious when our large group got a little noisy! The buffet breakfast is fantastic. Port, Sherry and cookies in the Parlor in the evening are a nice touch as well.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    10
    One of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Totally exceeded our expectations. The room, although was a bit smaller than we thought, was very cosy and warm. The stuff was super welcoming and familiar, we felt very comfortable, better than in any hotel. And the location also great!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    9.6
    It’s a surpirise beyond my expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The inn building is very beautiful. When you come in the hotel, you feel like walk in the history. The elegant furniture and fabic crafts are very impressive. The breakfast is perfect. This hotel changed my impression about the USA history. Next time I will come back with my friends and family

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    7.1
    Nice to go up to the rooftop and eat breakfast in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had some papaya that was gone off and bit into it by accident. Really left a bad taste in my mouth. I paid extra for parking and it was a very garage with spaces that have limited maneuvering and visibility - really risky. Ultimately, the arrangement contributed to some really unexpected damage to our car in the end.

    Nice to go up to the rooftop and eat breakfast in the morning. The rooms are quaint and calm.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    9.6
    The roof and the garden were such a great surprise.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller than expected - but the property was quiet despite the small rooms and the old building which was nice.

    The roof and the garden were such a great surprise. I am very familiar with the location and knew that while it is incredibly central and convenient, it is located on a quiet residential street.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Our stay was perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Inn is very charming and well maintained. For such an old building, the owners have done an excellent job in updating it while keeping its charm. I was pleasantly surprised to find so many electrical outlets available; we were three adults using our technology and were very confortable in that regard. The breakfast was plentiful, beautifully presented and constantly stocked. The staff was amazingly friendly, accomodating and competent. Check -in and check-out experience was quick and perfect; they kept our bags for an entire day while we spent our last day in the city after checkout (we left them in the room and staff stored them for us). We do not have a problem with stairs, but this Inn would not be suitable for someone who cannot use stairs. I was warned by a San Francisco resident that the area where Inn is located may not be "safe", but we encountered no problems even though we walked around the area to reach restaurants in the evening and walked back late at night. The view from the rooftop is very nice. The courtyard is lovely.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.6
    The Inn was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Inn was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere was superb. Furnished as a Victorian dwelling in keeping with the property

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    As ever, I am delighted with my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think that the rooms could use a bit more light!

    The best thing about Inn San Francisco is the very warm welcome of the team. I have stayed here many times and feel as if I am a part of the family! Cleanliness standards are high, beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are in good working order. Breakfast choices is broad. The hotel is quiet and comfortable. Internet speed is high.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    8.8
    The style of the house, the pleasantries, the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were pretty spacious, but you could see cobwebs in certain areas .

    The style of the house, the pleasantries, the breakfast. Everything in regards to hospitality was very good.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.6
    Unique experience in old SF house, hard to compare with anything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a real disappointment as I knew when I booked, but further away from main attractions in SF

    Very unique experience in more than 100 Years old traditional SF house. Extremely nice staff and superior breakfast choice. Feels like home instantly!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing service! Great property on Mission.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no desk in the room I had, which was one of the larger ones, so unfortunately this room (#11) was not good for work. I'm not sure if other rooms do come with a work desk.

    Great location, amazing service, very pretty and well kept property. I also loved the 360-degree deck.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Salon, could have shot a movie there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift. But old building charm and only two floors.

    Beautiful Salon, could have shot a movie there. Great conversations at breakfast time. Wish I had more time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.3
    This was a beautiful victorian house, amazing staff and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being picky, the room was very warm, woukd have loved some air con or fan. We had windows open however we both have a number of bites. Never used a guest house, however would be nice to have something to eat at night in the house.

    This was a beautiful victorian house, amazing staff and well equiped room. Exactly the way pictures are... fantastic roof terrace with stunning views. Staff were fantastic, so helpful. 1st time in a guest house so did not know what to expect. Lovely breakfast provided.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Great value and location. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking would be difficult. Definitely reserve it ahead of time.

    Reserved garage Parking for the fee was totally worth it. This B&B was awesome. Great location. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was adequate considering it's free. If you are gluten or dairy free your choices are quite limited. I would definitely stay here again. Room 37 was comfortable and a good value for the price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    The Victorian style hotel is absolutely beautiful, you feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Victorian style hotel is absolutely beautiful, you feel like you have entered another time and everywhere you look there is something beautiful to admire. There is a lot of care and attention to detail which includes fresh flowers, towels by the hot tub and refreshments availAble at all times. The breakfast was delicious and staff was very kind and helpful. The Mission area is colorful and full of restaurants and very well connected to the city center, we will definitely recommend this place :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.2
    Comfy Bed and copious Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy but that is to be expected in a Victorian house on a busy street. Not to the level it kept us awake, but not a quiet place.

    Great Victorian house, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, very nice and helpful staff. The greatest breakfast!! Location great if you don't want to be in the touristy / conferency bit of town. Everything easily reached by bus, tram, subway. But also walkable if you don't mind 30 min. walks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Great boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lovely, beautifully decorated place to stay, where I felt very comfortable and secure. Delightful, welcoming, helpful staff. Excellent, most generous breakfast. I would love to stay there again. Signed: Aussie mother.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    Old world charm, amenities were outstandingly thoughtful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints other than at night being out to walk requires extra care but from all appearances working hard on revitalizing the neighborhood. Beautiful architecture to be saved!

    Old world charm, amenities were outstandingly thoughtful and took into account every need for comfort. We had a suite room overlooking the hidden treasure of the garden - the pictures don't lie, it was lovely. The rooftop deck worth the climb, wonderful to watch sunset, night skyline and take in the city lights. The "Limon" restaurant was obviously a local hit, always busy. Totally enjoyed the Peruvian fare and drinks. Just up the block and went there 3 times! We appreciate quality and thank you for the sense of a "home away from home". If we are back in San Francisco we would stay here again without question.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    Atmospheric, comfortable inn with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have any negatives to share.

    The staff are so friendly and the breakfast was brilliant, with amazing fresh fruit, bread, cakes, juice etc all being constantly replenished by staff. We also loved the complimentary port in the parlour, which felt like stepping back in time. Beautiful historic inn. Our room was comfortable and cosy. The views from the roof terrace are amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is incredible!!!! So much variety and all delicious. Sherry/port for the evening is awesome. So beautiful with lots of extra little touches to make it amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely inn, make sure you don't get the tiny room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we were originally allocated was tiny (really tiny) for two people plus a load of luggage. The very small double bed was against a wall so not much room for any rolling over in the night. Luckily they weren't fully booked so I was able to upgrade to a fantastic room for a reasonable price. Check with the property as I think this is the room that gets allocated when you book with booking.com. The location was a little out of the way in the old Hispanic quarter which was a little rough around the edges.

    Beautifully decorated in period style throughout. The place is full of Victorian/Edwardian antiques. The 'continental breakfast buffet' was outstanding with a huge choice of fruits, cereals, breads, pastries, calls, pies, quiches, cold meats and cheeses and hard boiled eggs which you could eat n the dining room, take to your room or take out to the garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was exceptional and the balcony was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting into and out of the jacuzzi was somewhat difficult (steep entry) and the only option to shower. The toilet seat was exceptional small.

    The breakfast was exceptional and the balcony was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing - but the weather could have been warmer. There was a summer sea fog everyday which made it very cold.

    Wonderful B & B with lots of history - beautiful furniture and rooms. Lovely outside garden with private sitting areas and a hot tub. There is stairs for some of the rooms but the staff are happy to carry your luggage for you. The breakfast was the best ever. Fresh fruit, egg quiches and fruit pies. Lounge and dinning areas with tea and coffee, fruit and eats all day. Location was good. Staff super friendly and helpful. All perfect. We stayed there four nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.3
    If you like Victorian architecture and antiques you will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable for me. The feather topping made it look like a hill in the middle of the bed. But I didn’t wake up with any pains.

    If you like Victorian architecture and antiques you will love this place. The property was beautiful, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was the best I’ve seen at any hotel or B&B.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    Feel like a local and discover Mission
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything as we love this kind of a old school Inn/B&B type of place. If you have a room to the street, you need to be aware that it may be a bit noisier. But again: we loved it

    Great location in the Mission district, ideal to go for walks in the area with the typical steep streets, park/ fantastic playground nearby Very cozy, historic/ authentic building, feels like a private home Great breakfast buffet Super welcoming staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    The place has a character, the food was super, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The place has a character, the food was super, the staff were very friendly and efficient and Marty the landlord was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    4.6
    We field as though no member of staff were interested in trying to help our situation !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked two Small double rooms ! We got two tiny rooms ! We had the smallest of the two ! There was no were to sit no were to put our suit cases we had to climb over each other to get out of bed ! Dreadful very disappointed !!

    The hotel is charming !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Impeccable service and amazing accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the property

    The property was in wonderful shape for an old Victorian the staff was amazing and the breakfast was the best we’ve ever had at a B& B

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Lisa was amazing in helping me reserve the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lisa was amazing in helping me reserve the room. I messed up twice online, but we spoke over the phone several times to correct my mistakes. She was so patient and kind. Evelyn was in charge when we checked in early. She made sure the staff expedited the cleaning so that we could get the room before the usual 2pm check-in time. Super friendly! And, the room.... Holy crap! We basically had a house with a guest bedroom, kitchen, living room, and large bathroom and master bedroom. It was way more than what we'd expected. It's in the Mission District, so there is excellent Mexican food at every corner. Trendy Universal Cafe is just a 10-15 minute walk away. I cannot recommend the Inn San Francisco more!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Our stay was excellent in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were upgraded without asking to a really spacious room overlooking the garden. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The gardens beautiful and the staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.2
    congenial and friendly owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would suggest that the inn invest in better pillows and memory foam mattress toppers

    congenial and friendly owner and staff. wonderful old soulful victorian building generous breakfast hot tub

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Everyone should experience this lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My bed was not level and therefore was at a slight slant. I had to adjust to the mattress.

    The staff was delightful and willing to provide another room when the stairs were too much for me to climb. I got a room on the first floor. The breakfast was outstanding every single day!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    We’ll be back👍😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely Old world architecture and furniture, Home-like artmosphere- fresh flowers in our room, central location, roof-top deck- very quiet, and garden. Friendly, helpful staff. Full breakfast, fresh fruit and many choices for all, - no paper goods-yay, and options for inside or outside dining.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Victorian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower wasn’t great

    Lovely Victorian. Fabulous rooftop views. Beautiful gardens. Fresh fruit at breakfast. Quiet. Near some good restaurants. Friendly staff. Snacks and drinks complimentary

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    10
    A jewel in SF
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath and Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old SF architecture + amazing common lounge + has many 'small touches' that are tough to find

    Amazing SF architecture. The kind of hospitality and comfort that is rare in hotel tourism these days

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Great facilities; great ambience; great owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything about this place, and will definitely stay the next time I’m in San Francisco.

    Marty and his staff are outstandingly helpful and welcoming, from carrying bags to arranging parking. The hotel itself is a Victorian dream, and every detail has been taken care of.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    A gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Inn has a wonderful garden where we enjoyed our breakfast tea. One can also read a wealth of San Francisco's history from the library. Our room was also very quiet-great for sleeping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    Great stay would recommend highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place, great staff. They don’t mention the hot tub much it was a nice extra! We had port with the owner, good conversation, fun guy. If you like the Show Downton Abbey you will love it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great characterful house with good service, but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy in our original room. We had to upgrade to a room further away from the road as I could barely hear myself think, but even the larger and more expensive room was rather noisy, especially in the mornings, though ear plugs were provided. In addition to the traffic noise you can also hear all the other sounds of the building (crying children and people showering in the neighbouring room, creaking stairs, loud conversations).

    Very nice old house, with a lot of history and interesting original features. Very welcoming staff and exceptionally good breakfast and selection of communal teas/fruits/sweets etc. Great location, with a number of good restaurants and easy walk to the metro. Particularly liked the experience of having breakfast in the library/drawing room area with gentle classical music, felt very privileged. Liked the view from the roof terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Marty and his team were fantastic. We were greeted warmly and treated like family. The location is ideal for anyone who wants a chance to see the real SF outside of the major tourist locations. I highly recommend this property and will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location, the ambience and cleanliness of the place. Beautiful breakfast and friendly staff. Great room, very comfy and good to have my own bathroom. Lovely bed too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, nice location, special and unique Inn with perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower wasn’t good. The stream was very low and in some of the time the hot water would stop for a few seconds which was not pleasant to say the least.

    Loved the shared spaces, the atmosphere and the great staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our 2 day break in San francisco. Recommend City Pass - public transport so easy to use
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had 2nd floor room which was very small so we were fall8ng over ourselves and bags when enroite to the bathroom. Receptionist offered to change room but wanted 30 dollars more. We booked 6 months ago and expected a bigger room

    Breakfast was amazing - lovely array of fresh fruit, home made quiches and pies. Vintage decor. Complimentary sherry and port. Room clean with nice views of city skyline.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything about this place. Amazing room with lovely details and comfortable bed. The common areas are wonderful too for breakfast and for a coffee later on during the day. There’s also a really nice roof terrace with great views over San Francisco. The staff is super friendly and professional. Want to be back soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    9.6
    A gorgeous place with such a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere in a great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needed a space heater but that's fine. Fridge makes on-off humming noises but not too loud. Overall this place is excellent. Lots of steps though may be tough for someone who has trouble walking.

    Gorgeous house and location, my room was small but that was fine for just me. I think others are much bigger.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    10
    A fabulous Victorian hideaway in a cool area of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The Victorian decoration and attention to detail was wonderful. The breakfast was outstanding and presented with great style and gentility. Free port and sherry in the drawing room was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    6.3
    Okay but I'll be looking for somewhere with an elevator and close to amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not comfortable (it had a mound in the middle). No elevator and LOTS of stairs. (I had a very heavy bag.) Not very close to any amenities.

    The staff were friendly. The place was nicely restored and quite lovely. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    9.6
    My husband and I stayed here for only one night, and we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old mansion, so it is extremely charming, but also you can certainly hear everything through the walls. Not much to be done about that though!

    My husband and I stayed here for only one night, and we were so sad to leave. There is a beautiful courtyard in the back and a great rooftop. The staff was amazing. The breakfast was delicious. The location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with great history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not comfortable at all! Maybe charge less for parking? Our room was facing the street so it was very noisy.

    Beautiful hotel with great history.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    The buffet breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The buffet breakfast was wonderful. The entire Inn paid such attention to detail to ensure our comfort. The owner & staff were very gratious & made us feel at home. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.2
    If you love Victorian mansions you must stay here
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More clear on parking issues

    Great pains to feature original features of mansion.amazing surprise view on roof. Best thing was the staff. They were very accommodating on special requests

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    The best B&B San Fransisco has to offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. We were here for our honeymoon, and everything was perfect

    The Inn is a classic San Fran sick mansion, rich with history, and full of amazing luxury. The staff was amazingly helpful, breakfast was perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    Far exceeded all expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the accommodations couldn't have been better. Breakfast was fabulous, the garden, hot tub, and rooftop area were a nice surprise. Couldn't have asked for a better location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay. I will stay there when I am in San Francisco again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was wonderful, with a lot of options and fresh fruit. Coffee and tea we're available all day. Decor was charming and the staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    Beautiful house, with an amazing room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful house, with an amazing room and bathroom. Great breakfast, and refreshments available throughout the day and night. Plus the perk of outdoor hot tub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    8.8
    Beyond the obvious draw of the Victorian charm, they also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did provide free parking, but it is a bit treacherous to get in and out of... if you are in an unfamiliar rental car it can be harrowing.

    Beyond the obvious draw of the Victorian charm, they also provided fun amenities like sherry and port in the lobby, and a delicious breakfast spread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.9
    An overall lovely change from the large chain hotels. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was not very comfortable. As I was sharing a room with Others I used the day bed. No air conditioning so a bot warm although fans were provided While hotel was lovely the neighborhood was not. Many homeless folks and dirty streets.

    Staff was great very helpful and accommodations. Very elegant decor with quiet music. Breakfast was fine..served a hot item but it was the same every day. Complimentary coffee Etc thought the day bathroom was great with robes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.2
    10/10 B&B, worth every penny. Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My one and only gripe has nothing to do with the hotel itself. The hotel is a 10/10. It's actually the location which I didn't like. The mission district is nice and has interesting things to see and do. It's also just a fifteen minute drive into the heart of San Francisco, so it's really pretty easy to see everything you want. However at night time, my wife and I had a couple of somewhat unpleasant and, candidly, threatening experiences with some people on the street which made us feel a bit unsafe walking the area at night. I felt I couldn't enjoy the area at night very well. Nevertheless during the day it's perfectly fine and safe. And again this is not a reflection on the hotel itself. I would GLADLY stay at this hotel again despite this gripe. It's worth every penny. This probably won't be a problem for most people so do not let this minor complaint deter you!!!! Don't miss out on this one of a kind hotel!!! But i don't recommend walking around at night too much.

    Absolutely lovely. Room was delightful, well decorated, spacious, and comfortable. Very clean. Friendly staff. The morning breakfasts were fantastic with plentiful and very fresh food. The owner Marty is awesome and a pleasure to talk to. The main lobby area is gorgeous and awesome to hang out it. The garden area is quiet and gorgeous. This b&b is truly an exceptional gem. Head and shoulders above most places. This was a truly exceptional hotel experience for my wife and myself. The hotel isn't far from downtown, just a 10 minute drive or so. The interior of the hotel is like stepping into a whole different world. It's really something.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am 72 years old and asked well in advance for a room on the first floor. Instead I was on the 3rd. I had to leave early in the morning for the airport and there was no one to help me with my bags. Unusual for this lovely place!

    The way in which the furnishings fit the Victorian building. So authentic and beautiful ! The comfort of the room. The huge, delicious buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    Such an amazing place in a 18th century painted lady house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we didn't stay longer

    Such an amazing place in a 18th century painted lady house. Although it was expensive it was worth every penny and I wish I could have stayed longer. Mission is also a great vibrant neighbourhood with cool bars and restaurants and felt real rather than touristy. The house itself has been renovated brilliantly and the room was so gorgeous with a bath in the bedroom!! Roof terrace was a bonus and as it was the only sunny day in San Fran we made the most of it by bringing our beers and snacks up there. No one else was there so totaly lovely and excellent views over the city. We were early checking in and they let us have extra breakfast whilst we waited. Unfortunately we were already full from before. It was a vast array of food and beautifully presented. In the day there was ample tea and coffee and biscuits. In the evening a selection of port and sherry to kick your evening off. Fabulous and I'd love to go back!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    Memorable and delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slightly dodgy area but not really a problem.

    A most wonderful house furnished as a lovely Victorian home. Staff lovely, super breakfast, atmosphere magical. Definitely the highlight of our stay in San Francisco and the most charming and delightful place we stayed on the holiday. Would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    5.4
    Good locations. Nice place. Not taken enough care of. Could be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thin walls, but this is an old building, you cannot do a lot for that. Just hope he neighbours are not too noisy (or tell them they are...). More disturbing: the furniture is old and not so comfortable, carpet is like 20 y.o. and not sur when it was cleaned the last time... Same for the bedspread. In the corner of the room we had an old, dirty and broken fan... what is the point guys? Bathroom is old-fashioned which is nice but it has to be convenient too: when one faucet gives you hot water and the other cold... and you cannot mix the water in the basin because the plug is missing... well either you burn your hands in hot water... or you wash them with cold water (what we did). Could sound like a detail but it is a revealing detail of the house: just be an old and nice typical victorian house is not enough when you ask for so much money: you should also make sure that it is very clean and that details are ok, which was not really the case. So value for money is not there I'm afraid (I know this is SF but still...). Hotel should really work on it, cause as said the place is lovely and the potential is there. It just need some investments, and some work. (Oh and it would be cool it the Wifi would actually work... :-/)

    nice victorian house, lot of potential, very nice garden, nice hot tub, friendly staff, you can take breakfast where you want (room, garden, rooftop terrace, lobby) which is very convenient, good location, near to Mission and Valencia Street. Altogether it is a lovely place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.5
    Stunning building inside but very expensive for facilities available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was good, but for the price it ought to be perfect. There was no drink making facility in the room. No comfortable chairs in the room. Toilet area only cordoned off by curtain. Restrictions on use of the in room spa bath after 10pm. Power sockets in eccentric not particularly useful places

    Beautiful Building Garden area and hot tub were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    8.8
    The staff is lovely and very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's an old building, so walls are thin. You will hear your neighbors and the cars if you're facing the street.

    The staff is lovely and very helpful. The place has a lot of personality - though you have to like that particular style. The terrace is just a lovely place to hang out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    9.2
    A Unique Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was Gluten Free bread for toast and Gluten Free cereal on the Breakfast Buffet. Almond and Soy milk was available as well. A bathroom was given for our use to freshen up before leaving to catch our late night flight. It was most appreciated. The Inn is a beautifully decorated and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    9.6
    Heart of San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Part of surrounding neighborhood was questionable in character( the liquor store at end of block).

    Throw back to the 1800's once you enter the front door. English garden with Jacuzzi in back was quiet and beautiful, and the breakfast buffet and staff where very nice. The view from the roof lounge area was awesome in the morning and evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.6
    Victorian perfection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inn is exquisite. I was a little leery since I usually stay on large properties, but I could not have been more pleased. The rooms are decorated so beautifully, and the breakfast is better than the big name hotels - pies, quiche, meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals, coffee, tea, and the silverware is set out like you're visiting a well-appointed home. There is a hot tub in the backyard (didn't use) and a rooftop patio (San Francisco views). Lovely, lovely property!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    10
    Romantic perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing to criticize or complain about.

    The breakfast brunch was lush, lavish, full of flavor. Everything was delicious and very fresh. The best B&B breakfast I've experienced. The staff went above and beyond to make certain we were comfortable and happy. They truly did make you feel that you were at home. We didn't bring our pets, but very nice to know that they're welcome. Fresh flowers everywhere, including our room and bathroom were a wonderful touch. We will make this our go to spot when we need to stay in San Francisco. Can't magine why would go anywhere else.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    9.6
    A destination in itself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place has such personality and warmth that it encapsulates the best of San Francisco.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    9.6
    The Owner and staff went an extra mile to make us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Owner and staff went an extra mile to make us comfortable and make our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    9.2
    FAB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - the place was amazing

    great experience - lovely staff/owners and lovely Victorian setting - super cool

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    10
    The design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The design

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    10
    Breakfast and attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast and attention to detail

    Stayed in April 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Inn San Francisco Traveler Photo Gallery