Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Irving House at Harvard 3 stars

24 Irving Street, Harvard Square, Cambridge, MA 02138, USA

#2 of 7 B&Bs and Inns in Cambridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 514 B&B reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room tiny room was unfortunately positioned next to the rubbish bins, the parking lot and a huge external extractor fan so it was very noisy. The wireless connectivity in that room was poor.

    Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Lovely well maintained old house in easy walking distance to campus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very cosy place, awesome breakfast and facilities, very clean shared toilets, very good and safe location. I would definitely stay there again in a new visit to Cambridge or Boston.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Irving House is so convenient, comfortable and quiet - perfect for someone meeting friends or family in Cambridge. The rooms aren't hotel-size but the parlor and porch are perfect for socializing or reading.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grumpy, sloppy-looking staff. Not a bargain (but certainly a lot cheaper than the chain hotels in Cambridge).

    Conveniently located near Harvard University. Decent, clean, no-frills, but not spartan. Quiet neighborhood. Breakfast included was adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were excellent. Check in and check out were a breeze, and I heard and saw them giving many helpful tips and advice to guests (who were at Harvard during the homecoming weekend). There were books everywhere, including in the rooms, which the property owner encourages guests to take home if they want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was awesome. It was great as I expected it to be.

    I was welcomed very friendly, the room as well as the common spaces were perfectly cleaned. The staff has always been helpful and nice. The place's spirit is just amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and the building are basic but acceptable. However, you hear everything from the corridors, the rooms next door and the rooms upstairs - the floors are so cranky that actually wake you up. The staff was not friendly with the exception of one young guy on my last day.

    Clean towels. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy, homey, no-frills, like staying at the house of a kindly eccentric relative. There are used books in rooms and in common spaces and they encourage you to take them home if you want to—I started reading a great short-story collection and happily did. Generous and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are not quite soundproof so depending on who your neighbour is you might hear some snoring/TV in the evenings.

    Great location, friendly staff and clean/neat rooms. Fantastic breakfast selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. Plenty of fresh towels, excellent breakfast (great bacon quiche), great facilities. I had a single room with a bathroom that was right next door and always clean, comfortable and available. This business is committed to sustainability - I was given a water bottle that I used throughout my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too warm in my room. My nose bled last night... Towers are a bit too old. No toilet in the room. You must share with someone else.

    Nice staffs, super quiet neighborhood, great location. Breakfast was good. Love the scrambled eggs (it is really scrambled eggs?), bouncing in my mouth. How did you make it? Clean. The bed feels really good. The atmosphere was great. Like living in your own room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ground floor room, lot of hallway noise. Older facility, very functional, just not all that updated. Breakfast was adequate, nothing out of the ordinary. Pricey but comparable with other places in the area.

    Great location, blocks from Harvard and the T.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult as I had a rather large vehicle. But they made it work.

    Very quaint little place. Lots of character. Clean, friendly. Walking distance to Harvard Square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report

    A historic welcoming boarding house a short walk from Harvard square. Impeccably run by the friendliest people who strive make your stay enjoyable in every way. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast is amazing and then gourmet coffee and homemde baked goods are available piping hot from 7am to 11pm. It is as if you are visiting with good friends. You will not want to leave this magical place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, cosy, I especially loved having lots of snacks (fruit, cookies, assorted pastries) available in the afternoon. The staff was very helpful as well. Breakfast was good, too, plenty of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was above the laundry room I guess, so in the morning I could feel the drying machine operating.

    Location was great, staffs were super kind and friendly. The room was quiet and cozy. Bathroom was clean. Everything was really great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was so hot and heat could not be adjusted. First room I was shown was so small and barely a window, more like a porthole.

    Great location. Homey feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some people doesn't care about the time they are in bathroom in the morning. I beg the staff to put a note in the bathroon asking for that.

    Very good price and good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This bed and breakfast has amazing value for money (for the Cambridge area, which is in general very expensive). I liked best the relaxed and intimate atmosphere, you really feel at home quickly. You note that the longtime owner and manager has really put her heart and soul in this house, it is very indiviudal, with attention to detail. The breakfast was amazing, with lots of organic food choices and you could get hot drinks 24/7 at a self-service bar. The location is very convenient for Harvard university and it is located in a quite and residential street in a nice Victorian era wooden house. Really to be recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the 4th floor--we didn't mind climbing the stairs--but it was VERY hot. However, it was the weekend of the big snow and freeze, so we will give Irving House a pass on this one. Anyway, we were able to open the window!

    This was our 3rd time staying at Irving House. It is comfortable and everyone is friendly. The included breakfast had a variety of foods to choose from. Sustainability is a goal of the establishment, as there are multiple ways to recycle & reuse garbage, towels, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing I disliked was the fact the private bathroom In our room we had didn't have a lock.

    The welcoming staff and quietness of the place.It really gave off a warm vibe for the place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was only ok and our room was a 4 story walk up. It was fine enough for us though.

    The location was ideal for our trip plans. The room was clean and tidy. The room was too warm but that may have been because it was exceptionally cold outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 4th floor and there's no elevator. Room was o the small side and so was the bathroom. Shower was not great but OK.

    Picked it because it was a good price and close to Harvard. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps add full length mirror in rooms or hallways.

    Very kind and comfortable place. All as expected and more in terms of cleanliness -- staff, food, location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the bed was way too close to the tv jaja but nothing that i couldnt handle

    Great place and location. I will definitely go back again. Its a very warm, cozy and beautiful hotel. Thou its small place, all tiny details definitely made the difference. My room was small too but had very nice deco. I felt as if i was home. Breakfast is diverse, dif types of coffee, bread, juice, cereals. It was easy to tell it was home-made food and also full of love.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queen bed sagged in middle making for a poor sleeping experience, one I would not repeat without further research

    Clean place, good breakfast, convenient to Harvard, quiet, adequate albeit small room, no view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have a chest of drawers or a clothes closet. It had a rack for hangers.

    A very good bed. The breakfast room provided a wide selection ... homemade oatmeal, many dry cereals, a yoghurt bar, several breads/buns, a hot plate with egg dishes, GREAT coffee, and several juices. A true value! Wonderful location near Harvard yard and Harvard Square. Access to Red Line to Boston at Harvard Square. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of temperature control in the room. But it worked out fine. Only improvement would be more protein variety (besides just eggs) ... but overall a lovely stay. Thanks!

    Breakfast was quite good ... very quiet, comfortable, clean, well-organized, great location, pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This place is NOT for senior citizens. One can get hurt climbing stairs with luggage.

    To give customers WARNING about climbing 3 levels to get to your room with no elevator. I request refund for that night I did not stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in made me anxious; they got my name wrong but took the position that they were correct. It didn't interfere with my getting the room, but it was a weird interaction. Also, they charge you for the first night before you get there and the second night when you get there. The billing process was a little confusing.

    This was a beautiful house. The breakfast was yummy. The room was quiet and we slept really well. The front desk lent me an umbrella. I liked the quirkiness of the establishment. They pay the postage for the postcards they supply. You can take the books they leave in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seemed pricey for no bathroom or sink in room

    Nice breakfast - teeny room but at least bathroom was right next door. Very clean, quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed super comfy. Breakfast simple but excellent. Had 2. A tiny one before jogging and one after. I checked in late, so a suggestion I 'd make is to install a standard snacks machine, that will be great for late comers who don't want to go out for some food. Anyway, I went out and had a nice refreshment at a Hong Kong restaurant next to Harvard Book Store. Safe neighbourhood. Just great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was cranked super high, and shared bathrooms - while relatively clean and usefully equipped with shampoo, soap, and lotion - could have used a little more attention and ventilation. No bathroom fans meant that successful use of bathrooms got pretty humid and stifling. Floors were also very creaky (it's a pretty old building), and you could hear conversation faintly from adjoining rooms and from the hallway, so it wasn't the quietest within the building itself.

    Breakfast was delicious; staff was super friendly; and room, while small, was comfortable, private, and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 4 floors of rooms and no elevator or any staff willing to take luggage up the stairs.

    There was no a.c. in the property which would be terribl e in the summer. Fortunately the weather was not an issue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Group
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is tight. Staff was helpful with that as well

    We were in Cambridge for my daughter's wedding and I booked three rooms. It was within walking distance to everything. Staff was phenomena, friendly and helpful!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was pretty basic but then discovered it had once been a student hostel which explained everything about the place.

    Great location near Harvard Yard. Breakfasts were fine, though not up to the standard of Inn B&Bs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator in the hotel. My room was on the fourth floor and it was sometimes difficult to climb the stairs after a long walk around the city.

    The hotel is situated near the Harvard campus. So it is very convenient for tourists. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They allowed me to check in 4 hour earlier and they have a special room where you can leave your suitcase if you need. The room was small but quite cosy and clean. The breakfast was good. I was a bit surprised by the location of shower in my room. It was in the main room hidden behind the curtain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location walking distance to Harvard and Square - breakfast better than expected warm all natural products - extra clean rooms - excellent staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky plumbing (really follow the instructions), not that many parking spots, can be an issue if they are sold out.

    Great breakfast, comfortable beds, clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was difficult. The spaces were tight, there was not enough room to turn around in the car park. Eventually we were informed of more car spaces down the road. Our room was stuffy and hot. After several unsuccessful attempts to have the staff adjust the central air-conditioning, we were eventually given a fan. Carrying heavy bags up 3 flights of stairs was not pleasant.

    Some staff were friendly and helpful, others not so much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed in the room size. It was smaller than the picture used to advertise the place but very adequate for our visit with our daughter.

    Close to my daughter. Also excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With one exception the staff were uncommunicative and didn't even reply to your Hi, good morning!! Air conditioning was noisy and made the floor vibrate!

    All though outdated the place was very clean, the bed was comfortable. Served my purpose.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was there for seven nights, and they gave me the smallest room possible. I don't know how many times they have changed the sheets for a long stay either. They were under mantainance and the noise was terrible by morning. And my window was blocked with plastics by the workers.

    The General Manager is really a good one: she had take care of my worries. I loved the breakfast: they have a very variated selection of products. The location is good for the Harvard University, not for Boston.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is typical bed and nreakfast. Absolutely minimum for your stay. Very expensive - but such prices are common in Boston. The most expensive stay during our journey over eastern USA. We had much better conditions in New York and Washington for much better price.

    Good location- close to Harvard University

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would say everything was very good.

    There were good choices for breakfast. The staff was helpful. Coffee was available throughout the day and night. It was a very convenient location : 10 to 15 minutes walk for reaching the Harvard Yard and the shops etc. in that area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved this bed and breakfast. It was cosy, clean, great staff, delicious breakfast and very close to Harvard. The subway station is close and easy to use if you want to go elsewhere in Boston. There was always complimentary coffee, tea, fruit and baking available at any time which was a great bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is excellent, the staff is lovely and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast is simple but tasty. warmly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a single room for two nights in June, the price was a little bit high for my standards.

    My stay at Irving House was really very nice. Breakfast was very good and well served. The room was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom was clean as well and had a good shower. Location was perfect, very close to Harvard. Amazing neighborhood, easy to walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out room was on the 4th floor and a walk-up situation. It was fine, just not expected. Staff were very accommodating about allowing us to keep our car parked in their lot beyond the checkout time as we had an appointment at the consulate in Boston and had no idea how long it would take. Thank you!

    Nice property in a quiet neighborhood. Only a 10 minute walk into Harvard Yard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room happened to be rather noisy, due to the air conditioning and also a loud neighbour. The price is still quite high for small rooms with bathroom in the corridor, but it proved convenient however.

    The breakfast buffet was great, with a large choice of products, freshly-cooked vegetable pies, warm porridge, fresh fruits, organic coffee and tea... I also loved the offer of postcards to be sent anywhere. The staff was also very helpful and understanding. The location is awesome, just near Harvard park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a rather large B&B so expect noise until 11pm and from 6am. Not the place for you if you expect a quiet weekend.

    Location is excellent, less than 10min walk from Harvard Square. The breakfast is excellent but wifi does not seem to work in the breakfast room as it is in the basement.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In other location the room would cost much less

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast, some fruits, snacks and coffee are available all day long till 10 pm. Not far from the University and the underground station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the fourth floor with no elevator! Pretty pricey for such a small room.

    The friendliness of staff. The sparkling cleanliness of accommodations. The easy-walking to everywhere we went. Great and healthy breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom in the room; two shared bathrooms on my floor; busy and not very tidy

    I enjoyed the breakfast. Some workers are nicer than others; some were helpful while others did not care

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A place for those with good knees only! No elevator with very steep stsirs between floors. Breakfast was in basement and my room was in fourty floor. I ended up letting my suitcase slide down each set of stairs when I left. Also the room was uncomfortably stuffy, likely due to warm air rising and a/c set at 75.

    Breakfast was excellent in variety, quality. Most of desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was very small, about 6' by 10'. The hall bath was clean and fine. The price seemed high for such a small room but probably not inappropriate for accommodations around Harvard Square at graduation time.

    Relative location to Harvard Square

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are a little dated but clean and well kept. Good value for the money. Rooms and some bathrooms are small but fit for purpose.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was quiet. Nice breakfast. good location. I

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is tiny and so was the bathroom ( but they kindly moved us to a room with slightly larger bathroom) But room and 'full size' bed were still small. Take note Aussies that full size bed is what we call a double bed 4'6" and sinks in the middle.

    Convenient location Helpful staff Friendly atmosphere You can help yourself to tea/ coffee/ cakes/ fruit anytime.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay when traveling alone. Parking was available on site and parking on the street in the Cambridge area is not easy, so the hotel having parking available was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Irving House is pricey, but the proximity to Harvard can't be beat; it's an east 15 minute walk.

    The room was spotless and the bathroom was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful; there were hot items, cereals, granola, juices, fresh fruit....something for everyone. We liked the convenience of a full size fridge for guests and complimentary coffee/tea all day. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and snacks were very good, healthy and I found that I used their complementary food far more than I typically do when those things are offered elsewhere. Staff is extremely helpful and accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking. I could walk and use public transportation to get around, but this meant incurring additional costs.

    Great location, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too cold and I didn't realize you have to call the front desk and have them fix it

    The breakfast are always good. The atmosphere is collegial.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    GOod value for three women sharing a room, two twins and a queen hard to find at a B and B. Parking in Harvard square difficult so having free parking a real plus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like my own pillow, but if I can't have that, my suggestion is a Marriott Courtyard type pillow as an excellent alternative. Never fails.

    The breakfast choices were amazing! the room was quaint and everything was thought of, including a blackout shade for the sky light. well done.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rates hike for the new year eve night

    A great location (close to public transportation), friendly staff, great breakfast (coffee, tea, fruits and bake goods for whole day), a safe place for a solo woman travellor, very clean and tidy bathrooms even these are shared

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with One Double Bed with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV options were minimal - just a few local channels. Given the rating of the breakfast, we were expecting made-to-order, but the contents of the buffet did not disappoint.

    This bed-and-breakfast just off Harvard Square is a great way to spend an affordable night in Harvard Square. My husband and I spent the night there for our wedding anniversary while visiting family for the holidays. Despite being close to the square, the lodgings were quiet as well. The rooms are small but cozy and the bed was very comfortable. The place has a lot of character, with miscellaneous art and books from yard sales around the house. The continental breakfast buffet has many delicious offerings (including loose leaf teas, scrambled eggs, selections of yogurt and pastries), but don't expect anything made-to-order.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little more money than I usually like to spend on lodging but overall it was worth it.

    Staff was helpful in suggesting places to see and breakfast was delicious. You can't beat the location, it's in a quiet Victorian town right down the street from Harvard University.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here while doing research at the Divinity School Library and the location couldn't be more convenient. The room was comfortable and cozy with plenty of space. As a vegan, I appreciated the availability of soy milk, peanut butter, and a few other vegan options at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I tried to send my reprint to a faculty by mail, there was no envelope at the front desk and I could not make it.

    It was like a dormitory and reminded of my young school life. My attic room was quiet and I could concentrate on my preparation for the forthcoming meeting all night without sleeping.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to check bedside lamps. Fixtures, although great for bedside reading, get super hot quickly and I burned my arm on one. Dangerous, especially if kids in the room, who like to touch everything.

    all great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower gel in the bathroom was a bit disappointing. I used the face bar instead.

    The staff was friendly and efficient. My room was warm, clean and comfortable and I felt at home. The bathroom was clean and bright. Breakfast was delicious. I was reluctant to leave.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming and relaxing inn staffed by welcoming and knowledgeable people just steps from great food, coffee, wine, and Harvard Square. And all at a very reasonable price. A wonderful experience!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Muffins, fruit, croissants and amazing coffee for breakfast, and hot drinks and snacks such as cakes, slices of pumpkin or sweet potato pie and cinnamon cookies available until 11pm - the food is amazing! I had been worried about the shared bathroom, but it was perfectly fine with a nice hot shower and hairdryer, and fresh towels in the rooms. There was a TV in the room, and an alarm clock which was useful as I had early morning meetings. This is such a lovely B&B, really conveniently located close by to Harvard University and the Harvard subway station; I would definitely recommend and hope to stay again in the future!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Private Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed one night. The older sliding pocket bathroom door became stuck shut and there was not enough staff available to assist me in opening it. The single staff person on duty, who was allegedly forbidden from leaving the front desk, offered the alternative of a shared bath on a different floor. The room was not cheap, I paid for a private bath, and was unable to take a shower in the morning as a result. I was offered no discount or even an apology for the trouble. This would not have happened had they been adequately staffed. Disappointed.

    Easily walkable to Harvard yard/square.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: