Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Island House South Beach 3 stars

1428 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#285 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 134 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was all sugary packaged sweets no hot food at all, they only had one key to the room, glass windows had holes in it, the staff never came In to clean the room. We got a room with three beds asumming the room limit would be 3-5 people but they make you pay an additional $25 per person and per night after 2 people yet they say the max in the room in 5 people (total rip off).

    THE staff was very friendly, hotel in a great location very close to beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three Room Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy carpets in hallway. Filthy chairs in room. Towels, beds, etc in need of replacement. The beds extremely uncomfortable.

    The location is great. Walk to beach, restaurants, coffee, shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, but to be expected for the area.

    Breakfast included. Fantastic location for checking out South Beach. Lovely old Art Deco building. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good sized room with plenty of space for a family of 5.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was so out dated and old I hate taking showers in there. it was so bad that I cried that hotel should have been on worth $100 instead of $411. The hotel made it seem that they had breakfast and the only thing they had was hostess cupcakes and hot milk.. I will never tell anyone about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't care for this hotel at all. From the very outdated rooms to the smell from the air conditioner or carpet I'm not sure which. Also whatever was in the atmosphere made me and my mother break out. I could not believe when I was given a door key to the room. False advertisement of their rooms and I should be able to get my money back. My mother who is over 65 told me she had not been in a room like that since the 60's and that's exactly how old that room was from the carpet to the ceiling to the bathroom. In addition there was no phone in the room or an outlet to charge my phone. Worst South Beach experience ever.

    I did not like anything about this hotel. The pictures they have on bookings.com are misleading and I want a refund. I stayed in the room for about 15 minutes trying to get the tv to turn on and even after the manager got it fixed I had already booked another room at a different hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the wi-fi didn't cover the rooms. The lack of non-sweet products for breakfast. If they have had a few cosy chairs and tables at the veranda, that would give the hotel a much more welcoming experience.

    The extended breakfast hours, that we got towels and chairs for the beach.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel really needs to update their website and to relate the cost before a customer arrives. Charged me additional fees which was not posted.

    Absolutely nothing about the hotel or staff. Oh, South Beach Miami was Great!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful. Room had a old carpet floor wich caused a cough for both of us. All the lights didn't work. A/C was very noisy and smelled like moisture.

    Location was excellent. Manager was friendly and nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed have bugs, the breakfast was not a continental one, the free towels for the beach were kids size, not a good experience at all

    Nothing the picture was not the same as the hotel rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't okay.need to install router for good service onside rooms.

    I must say something about Ricky, He is very excellent personality and being his smile and positive attitude he admires me a lot.he will be always in my very good memories. God bless him always Very nice person and soft hearted Regards Abid Big OPENA INDUSTRIES MEDICAL INSTRUMENTS SUPPLIE COMPANY

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior is dated, sink was very slow draining, no kettle in room or available to use but overall very happy with the room location and helpfulness of staff

    Great location, easy access to beach and Lincoln Road, very helpful staff, clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in rooms and I didn’t know that I had to request them by a certain time.

    Breakfast... and the office staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't as shown in the pics,and to expensive for the room,it was rundown,no water have to ask for towels..

    The location was ideal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had regular keys instead of electronic keys.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was horrible! A hotel should have parking.

    Rooms were large. It was near everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brakefast was poor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice staff, small but clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. It consisted of snacks.

    I liked the location price and the fact that the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities and room fashion kind of old

    Just the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No telephone in room and they charge $25 per night for 4th person

    Locatio, size of the room & the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was free, but it didn't work in the room, AC was loud, Door lock was fidgeting,...

    Staff very friendly, easy to talk to and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Must avoid this!!! Really dirty and noisy. Moreover, they ask you a $100 deposit which they will keep for them!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast was not that good.

    Location was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast insisted only sweetness. i missed fresh bread and fresh coffee

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit dodgy.. Very noisy at night.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could be a little quieter, but it's South Beach. Does not keep me awake at night, so it's okay.

    Good location - in Art Deco South Beach, but not quite in the heart of it, so it is possible to sleep at night. The manager, Rickie, is very helpful and has always gone out of his way to accommodate me.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are lack of umbrellas to take to the beach !!!

    Yarden,Ricky,Alex Exelent!!! If Im the owner of this hotel i have to increase their salary!!! So polite with us .They solve all our question!!They are so kindly. Jorge Merlo

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was over priced for the quality of the room and the hotel as a whole. There was no view from my room. The breakfast was not great.

    The faculty and people were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was intrusive building maintenance on one day - painting in corridor.

    The Manager was super helpful. This is a guest house rather than a hotel, so the amenities are quite basic. This is greatly compensated by the location, as many amenities are in very close proximity. This property is good for short visits in which the guest will be spending most of the time out in the city and beach.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's really bad that you cannot use the internet if the room is upstairs. We needed to go to the reception every time. That is not ok. Come on. Were are in 2015.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have never paid such a lot of money (97 USD with taxes per night/room) for so bad quality. It is an old building, with old rooms, old furniture... well if there is, because I didn´t have table+chair in my room. The hotel (we cannot really call it as a hotel, it is more like a bad quality motel) and the room was full of small ants and believe me they are just getting everywhere. Disgusting. The old carpet in the room, well, they might try to keep it clean, but it is simply impossible. It must be full of ants and other stuff I just don´t want to imagine. Allergic people don´t even think about this place. And, wifi in all hotel rooms should be basic in the 21st century. The lock on the door was kind of old fashioned as well, I was not feeling safe myself and my things. And the cleaning lady was not even closing it well. Cleaning is about change towels, make the bed, throw the trash and most probably some vacuum cleaning. A non-stop noise of some kind of machine from outside was disturbing. The bed and pillow was not comfortable at all. There is a small window, but all you can see is the horrible wall of the next building (2 meters of distance). You will love the breakfast if you like sweets, if not, there is only white baggels salty, nothing else. Sometimes not even baggels. Conclusion: Miami is expensive, if a hotel looks old on the fotos, it is really old, what you really pay for is the location and then quality. If you are just a little bit sensible on quality you might just want keep searching for better quality similar price or a bit higher price.

    The excellent location is the only good thing about this "hotel". I had wifi in the room, most probably because I was next to reception, but I saw people with mobile on the stairs. There was air condition in the room but it was so loud you couldn´t sleep with it.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Almost everything else. - Ancient payment methods. - Entrance. - Room security. - Privacy. - Room keys. - Furniture..............

    Location, waking distance for many things. Size. Bathroom cleaningness.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. I liked it all.

    The staff were incredibly nice and, frankly, honest. I mistakenly left my murse on the chair outside and did not know it was gone until the next day. Staff had picked it up and kept it at the front desk until I asked for it. We were checking out by the time I asked and in a panic since all we needed for the rest of our time and my identity were in that bag. You simply cannot pay enough for such priceless honestly. I would never tsay anywhere else in South Beach given that experience so long as the current staff are there. A really laid-back place to come to after all the glitzy posturing on SoBe. But, even so, the water and sand were still beautiful. Well worth it.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1. Room - Although it was clean, it need a major upgrade. 2. Don't feel safe in it - Although staff are nice, however if you are not a group of friends, you will not feel safe in this guest house.

    1. Location

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Customer service rude Breakfast was almost nothing. Just coffe and few candies.

    Close to Beach

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were very comfortable and it's in a nice location

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    hairs of previous guest on pillow. yuck. and 1 of the blankets clearly been slept on.

    location is superb

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel host / manager was a great guy. Reggie was his name I believe.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price. Way too high. Breakfast was just ridiculous.

    Location. Reception Staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was hard.

    It was close to the beach. The room layout was nice with two kings in the room but was spaced out nicely.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Uncomfortable odor when entering the building!

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi signal was weak

    Great staff and soo close to the beach!

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Browse Island House South Beach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: