Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of John Carver Inn & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

25 Summer Street, Plymouth, MA 02360, United States of America

#8 of 9 hotels in Plymouth

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 262 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Kids loved the pool every night. Great people working there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No microwave in room or floor (have to go to front desk) and no laundry facilities on site (have to carry everything a block away).

    Great location and great pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean and full amenities including an on site spa and charismatic pool setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Four Poster King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's just my personal preference but this place, like many, uses microscopic pillows and only 3 on a King bed. I would have preferred King pillows on a king bed and no less than 4 of those. 6 would have been perfect for me.

    Location was the best for our purposes. We wanted to be within walking distance of Plymouth Rock and the downtown market area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.1
    Ok for one night stopover in good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard fare meal but not high quality. One meal had to be sent back because it was cold. No apology was offered. Beer very expensive compared with other places that we stayed at during our trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location in Plymouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Non-Smoking Four Poster King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price I expected a better mattress and a quieter room. Hall noise was easily heard inside the room.

    The property was in an excellent location, walking distance to downtown and many points of interest. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.8
    Try the on-site bar for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is a little dated but very clean and well presented. It has a pool you can actually swim in which is a bonus. The onsite bar was fabulous for dinner offering "fire bowls"( fondue) and a modern, funky vibe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was sparkle on the tile in the bathroom Bathroom obviously needed to be updated The room next to us kept us up till 2 a.m. Just BAD!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    many things to do and see within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the bed was very comfy and we never had brkfst there housekeeping is very nice and accomadating many things to do and see we never used wifi everyone was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    The pool was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish we would have passed on the $10 off for dining on site... the clam chowder was a big disappointment, no clam, not much flavor, other food was so so, not much flavor. The hotel is great for families, but I’d eat offsite.

    The pool was great! If you want to entertain the kids after a long ride, the kids will love the water slide.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    The man that checked me in to the hotel was both friendly...
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The man that checked me in to the hotel was both friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding area. For example, he gave me detailed information and a hand drawn map to get to the nearest branch of my bank in order to use their ATM. This was the easiest, most enjoyable check in experience I’ve ever encountered. We weren’t even checked in before I felt we made a great decision in booking this hotel. Also, the staff always welcomed us with warm smiles and a “hello” or “good morning” whenever we walked through the lobby or ran into employees around the property, which felt very welcoming. We even got calls to the room to tell us of their current spa deals and from room service making sure we didn’t want them to clean (we had the “do not disturb” placard outside the door for the entirety of our stay). The room we stayed in was totally neat and clean and had the typical amenities (mini fridge, TV, beds, chairs, tables, lamps, etc.), but had somewhat of an “old world” charm to it, looking almost from the Victorian or Colonial era. The beds and the armchair were also super comfortable. I slept in almost every day! Overall, we had an extremely wonderful stay at John Carver Inn & Spa and look forward to staying here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.2
    Overall great place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds could be updated ,not very comfortable at least ours wasn't.

    The pool was really cool for kids big slide in it,hotel was very clean and the staff was amazing very helpful and considerate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.1
    Great location but room not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was musty and smelled like dirty feet. Telephone not clean and no telephone number on it. I didn’t realize the motel is really for families with kids.

    Bed excellent. Hearth and Kettle excellent. Soundproofing excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed and upset I saved up to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Went there for the pool and for school vacation and the kids couldnt even swim the chemicals were so strong it was burning their skin ! I sat in the room for 5 min and breathing it is was horrible and my skin felt like it was burning as well and I never even went in the pool We paid all that money for the purpose!!! We won’t be coming back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    Everything easy check in and out clean comfy rooms adequate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything easy check in and out clean comfy rooms adequate hot water and shower pressure . Pool , sauna and jacuzzi and super friendly staff throughout definite our little mini getaway for the near future as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    9.2
    Plymouth was where it all began, and so was the Inn for me... for rekindling the spirit of MA.
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wanted to get a facial (total, unusual treat) but it was hard to do that on the spur of the moment. More detailed info on how to connect with the spa might be useful.

    The proximity to the Plymouth rock / center actually is a big factor because of the restaurants, bars and fun activity places right there, a block or so away. The inn feels spacious and the service was very courteous and personalized. The concierge accommodated me to a better value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    6.7
    It was ok, for the price I'll stay somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Went with grandkids on vacation, pool area was not cleaned up, (cups, towels) and the staff over chlorinated the pool to the extent that you couldn't stay in the pool area! They need to hire someone that understands how to balance the chemicals in the pool so that people can enjoy it!

    Staff was pleasant and helpful! Hearth n kettle is reasonable with a good quality of food. Staff at H n K was exceptional!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    It was a great stay for kids just the pool was disappointing this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool area was chaotic and not to clean. Lifeguards just sat around and talked to each other while big kids were cutting the line for the slide and pushing smaller kids out of the way. Parents had to intervene while lifeguards chatted and drank coffee.

    Everyone was very nice and rooms were clean. Always had something going on for the kids to do.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.9
    A fun adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not realize how many families were staying. People were very loud returning to rooms at all hours of the night.

    It was a very easy and pleasant experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.5
    Staff was great, room was clean and the price was reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Additional cost to invite friends to swim was expensive.

    Staff was great, room was clean and the price was reasonable. The kids expected more of these pool, but the hehe younger ones enjoyed it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    5.8
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool had too much chlorine my granddaughters had a rash on there faces and they were coughing from it we had to leave even the life guards keep opening the doors outside to get some air in the pool area .The next morning they didn’t want to go near the pool I went to see how it was still bad .I did tell the gentleman at the desk he said he would tell the manager .The reason we went was for the pool This was not good.Ido take my grandchildren to a lot of places and it was bad.I would appreciate it if someone could contact me .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    7.5
    As I said trash truck ruined our sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Trash truck woke us up. It was quite startling. I would ask for a different room.next time

    Breakfast was good waitress. Excellent!! She warmed my coffee cup before serving

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    5.0
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattresses stained & dirty with poor quality mattress covers. "Updates" poorly executed. Pool was very small & changing room dirty. We would not return.

    Location good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    7.1
    Fine for an overnight stay. The corridors looked tired. Breakfast, which was not included, was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival at 8.50,we were told that the restaurant closed at 9pm. We dropped our bags in the room then went straight to the restaurant to be informed the kitchen had closed, although it was not yet 9pm. Having spent the day travelling we were not expecting to have to go out to eat, but had to. This was disappointing.

    The hotel was comfortable and clean. It was in a good central location. It was okay for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lobby doors are difficult when entering with luggage. Need to automate or have bell staff to assist.

    Location was great and desk staff helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.9
    It was alright for one night as it was where we wanted to be, but it was nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that the room was very ordinary for the price. Noise from other rooms was very noticeable (and it was normal level noise not people having a raucous party). We ate in the restaurant and it was very basic, we were a bit disappointed.

    The hotel was very conveniently located for us and it was nice to have access to a pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    10
    The evening staff Brian was very helpful with questions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The evening staff Brian was very helpful with questions and suggestions in and around the area. His recommendations were very helpful in visiting the Plymouth area. The John Carver Inn was a delight to stay at and my granddaughters (6 & 8) never wanted to leave the pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    3.3
    Grim. I was booked in for two nights - checked out after one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A most dowdy hotel. A/C unit exceptionally noisy. Carpets in common areas soiled. Restaurant drab and staffed by a bunch of people who looked like they did not want to be there. I stay in lots of hotels around the world. this was one of the worst.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.8
    Great stop in Plymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevator was VERY small and only worked sometimes.

    Comfortable, clean room with convenient parking. Location is walking distance to eateries, waterfront, and shops. Staff helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    5.8
    It was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wall paper was peeling. There were no outlets in the rooms. No breakfast other than the hearth n kettle.

    The pools slide, it is very family friendly. The lifeguards did their job very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Enjoying our stay in Plymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we couldn't stay longer, and that we missed seeing the Mayflower II. Will have to stop at Mystic to see it's renovations, or come back for the 400th anniversary.

    I liked the bed, but it was too soft for my husband. Our adult daughter loved the thick, fluffy pillows. We were in an excellent location, within walking distance to the waterfront, Plymouth Rock and many sights. We didn't spend much time in our room. The food was delcious - we especially enjoyed the clam chowder. Only a few minutes drive to see the Plimouth Plantation or Moument to the Forefathers. (That was my personal favorite, if you understand it's history.) In a short ride to Hingham, a ferry can be accessed to Boston. That was a lot of fun and saved driving in traffic. We will defiitely be back. The hotel was pricey - much more than we usually pay, but well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    6.7
    It was "OK"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the hefty price, it would have been nice to at least have complimentary coffee in the AM. Also, we had 6 bath and 6 hand towels, but only 2 wash clothes each day......

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    4.6
    Outdated! Would not stay again.
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very outdated! My mattress smelled like urine. I uncovered the mattress pad to find the mattress covered in a huge pee stain. Carpets were filthy in our room.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    6.3
    The room was nice and very clean.
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rest of the hotel seemed rather old and needs updating. The elevator was not working, any window or door you looked out was very dirty. The parking area needs to be expanded.

    The room was nice and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    9.2
    I would bring my family back here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was free but to weak to even pull up email let alone do work on or visit social sites.

    It it very nicely located so you can site see by foot even in the evening. I travel a lot, and I have to say that was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on other than my own.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    10
    Family had a wonderful stay in Plymouth at the John Carver Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were wonderful - pleasant and helpful. Our daughter loved the pool, and the lifeguard was also very friendly. Beds were super comfy. Hearth and Kettle restaurant on-site was both convenient and delicious. Location was great - situated right in the center of town so it's close to everything. Would love to go back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.6
    Not too happy about the first come first serve parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not too happy about the first come first serve parking. I had to sit in the parking lot and wait for an hour for someone to leave to get a parking spot. Pretty sad when you pay for a hotel room, but can't use it, because you have to wait in the car for a parking spot. Very annoyed! Also, didn't like the dirty looks when you bring pizza back, because you can't afford to spend another $180 to eat in the restaurant. Spent almost $400 eating in their restaurant two nights in a row and leave two $20 tips and they're going to be annoyed, because we opt to eat out the last night......not happy!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    9.2
    Nice place but eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food available was not good. Ordered room service and was very disappointed. The food at the wedding we attended in the hotel was also not good. Seems like all the meals were cold when served. Have heard some people got sick.

    The pillows were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.9
    The staff were pleasant and very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were too soft, making it difficult to sleep

    The staff were pleasant and very accommodating. The food was good and the restaurant was clean and quiet. Although I didn't use the pool or weight room, they were both being enjoyed by many

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    4.6
    The staff was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds!!!! And the pool!!! The beds felt broken, and the pool, well usually myself and my children never want to get out of the pool. But this one we couldn't enjoy, I was itchy each time I got in and my son broke out in a rash after being in the water, and while in the pool the door to the deck was being left open on a cold rainy day,I was absolutely freezing, I nicely asked if it cld be closed and explained I was freezing while in a heated pool it was closed for a few mins and that was it, back to freezing...

    The staff was very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    8.8
    Standard experience for Catania Group hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No latch on the doors that stop children from opening room doors from the inside. Not very safe with those who travel with inquiring toddlers.

    The swimming pool is certainly the highlight of this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    9.6
    Great short getaway....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Fireplace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was just fine..nice job everyone !

    Loved the jacuzzi and the fireplace. Having the two rooms was very nice as we were traveling with our grand daughter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    9.2
    Great stay for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor is very outdated but considering the cost, cleanliness, and overall accommodations, it's easily overlooked. My only suggestion is there are no additional security locks on the doors up high. My children, if they were inclined to do so, could easily leave the room on their own or answer the door to a stranger.

    The property is perfect for families. I traveled alone with my two sons (3, 5) and felt safe and the boys were entertained. The pool is wonderful and kept my children busy for a whole day. Although the rooms are outdated, it is very clean, linens and beds are in good condition, and everything is easily accessible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    3.8
    Awful experience. Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was shut down 2xs .the whole reason we were there. The elevator needs some updating. Staff did not fulfill out request for more items. We were a Family of 4 and only given 3 cups. Wifi was awful. !!!! None of our phones or tablets had signal. And what hotel doesn't offer complimentary breakfast? They handed us a 10$ voucher . what a joke. Ill never recommend this hotel to anyone !!!!

    The area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    3.3
    Bed was decent and pillows were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Fireplace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way over priced for what they offer. The two bedroom suite was small for the price and the hottub was way too small to fit two people comfortably. The shower was horrible, its a spa! Coffee maker was dirty and one of the house cleaners looked through my things. Location was horrible unless your visiting during warm months with school children to learn about the history of the area. The resturant at the hotel was so slow in making the food and the bar tender (who served us once) had no people skills what so ever...come to think of it, noone who worked at the hotel did. Food wasn't great, over priced junk and the chicken barley soup was one of the worst things I have ever tasted. All and all a huge waste of money! Will never go near that area again.

    Bed was decent and pillows were comfortable. Pool was ok.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2017

    6.3
    I would stay again if price was lower or rooms were updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price too high . 186.00 per nt for a small room, small tv. Not as clean as it could have been. Needs updating of furniture (pretty banged up) ice bucket in bathroom over the toilet ugh germs galore. Paper cups there as well.

    The location. The pool. It was quiet . Beds were ok. Lobby very nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    7.5
    had fun with daughter..Pool too crowded..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Fireplace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What room service c they had % cost for everything. Food wasn't as good as I remembered. Pool was too crowded to do anything and it was cold..daughter so disappointed. I know you have to make your money booking birthday parties, girl scout events, but when you paying to stay at the hotel, you would like the amenities to be available to you.

    I liked the room, staff were great, very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    7.5
    The pool area was great and the beds were really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ordered a pizza and appetizer sampler from hearth and kettle. The pizza was absolutely horrible and looked like it had been cooked from frozen and the sampler was no better.

    The pool area was great and the beds were really comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    4.6
    Beware of false advertizing on the enternet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Four Poster King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small with no couch or chair to read on. Two dinky kitchen chairs and a very small table to sit on very uncomfortable. The mattress was to small so every time you got in or out you banged yourself or got pinched between the mattress and the board. I have stayed in roadside motels that had better décor. The furniture locked like cheep plastic from china. I complained when I first checked in but was told the pictures on the internet were not updated and there was no way to change my room. If they were I would never booked a room here.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2016

    4.6
    We were called about smoking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were called about smoking...as we walked past the front desk to smoke and when we asked the staff to come into the room to smell they said " no thank you" I was offended...breakfast for 2 cost $48! Food at water fire was not edible....beds were comfortable and location great.... I wouldn't stay there again. Thanks!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2016

    7.1
    The hotel was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resturant is on my list of never again. We ordered simple food and consumed a small amount of the meals and off to burger king. The location is the only reason the resturant survives. I got my pocket picked,the food was not cheep. I can't find any thing good to say about the food. I left the resturant hungry and I had to pay for this.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable. Have stayed a few times before and never disipointed. The thing that would keep me from going back is the resturant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2016

    9.2
    Family favorite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Everything was great!

    Clean and comfortable. We have stayed here several times and it never disappoints. Can't wait for our next trip :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Fireplace Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fireplace suite we stayed in was a bit of a disappointment. Probably our fault for not reading the small print, but the bed was probably Queen size at best (nothing else would fit in the space). Apart from this, the room was ok.

    The hotel location was excellent. Nice big free carpark (Plymouth is all paid parking).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    4.6
    Don't waste your money !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv in armoire , with doors open to view tv you can not open fridge , so to open fridge door u must close armoire door blocking tv viewing .. Dirty lamp shades next to bed ... Room land line phone extremely dirty "gross" !!! Room 307 was loud all night , non stop humming of motors like a boiler room machinery .. Mattresses old uncomfortable .. Curtains drapes to long they block Ac / heater vents when you want privacy with drapes closed , you must place an object holding drapes on window sill so the won't block Ac/ heat

    Had nesn

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    5.0
    Friendly staff...too bad the facility didn't live up to the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had a permanent dent in it, the food was terrible and not worth the money, I could hear the man in the next room snoring through the wall, which should not happen in a hotel that costs $200-plus a night. I know they are doing a remodel, but this was just sad. I would not stay there again.

    The staff is super friendly and had great suggestions for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    7.1
    Wonderfully comfy beds n nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wanted to stay 3rd night n was advised that a king room would be reserved. It wasn't n we had to vacate n find accommodation elsewhere. Also lack of services in offering excursions etc from hotel.

    Wonderfully comfy beds n nice rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    7.5
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like a firm bed this one was pillow top and very soft only thing I have bad.

    The Waterfire Tavern was very nice service was great. Only two blocks from plymouth rock so your close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    5.8
    There is a hot tub in the spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning staff talked about us in front our door and laughed how we were not out of the rooms yet (we were 20 min late for check-out, sorry!), which made me really, really uncomfortable. They ignored us when we walked out. I regret leaving them a tip. Incredibly rude and not classy at all.

    There is a hot tub in the spa area. It's close to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    7.1
    Staff at hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staffing of the restaurants could be better. There is always just one one person working the Fire Water Tavern -- working both the bar and the tables.

    Staff at hotel was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our original room was damp with a musty smell when we arrived. The duty manager was very helpful in moving us to a better room but overall I feel the hotel decor is in need of an overall

    Excellent location which was a short walk from the town center. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was of excellent quality and a huge menu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    5.4
    Good location, nice pool for kids and nice spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I left w charger block. Called front desk and no one followed up. Carpet old and dirty in rooms. Room was near restaurant exhaust so smelled good daily.

    Great Front Desk on arrival. Very nice spa staff and nice waitress at breakfast: Hillary

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    9.5
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The linen was clean, but the rooms could be vacuumed better though and I saw something run across the floor when I opened the frig door at night when lights were off.

    The staff was very friendly. The food at the hotel was very good. The location was good as it was close to the beach and waterfront (5 mn walk to Plymouth Rock). The beds were comfortable. The pool was clean and the hottub was relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant and the staff was great to us in the hotel and restaurant both. The pool area is very nice
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had hand rails for the handicap but the toilet is not handicap height. This makes it very uncomfortable and hard to use as a handicap person.

    The beds were very comfortable and the AC worked great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    9.2
    Plymouth short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for exploring Plymouth. Excellent breakfast. Free parking. Great place to start our New England Road trip. Whale watching trip is a must do

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    8.3
    Great place and would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Fireplace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in desk workers weren't very friendly; some tv and movie channels weren't available; guests there for a wedding were a bit rude

    Great location, room was very clean, cleaning staff was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    9.6
    The staff helpful, beds soft, kids loved every minute of it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being offered a cart to get everything up to the room on 3rd floor,elevater slow

    The staff helpful, beds soft, kids loved every minute of it,the pool was really clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    7.1
    Location, walking distance to waterfront, Mayflower ll,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The two lifeguards at the pool paid no attention to what was going on. Could not have been less interested. Front desk clerks extremely nice, but not versed in local info.

    Location, walking distance to waterfront, Mayflower ll, Gristmill, shops. Good place to bring children or grandchildren., because of the indoor pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    6.7
    Will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the street is loud at night and the rooms were a bit dated. When we first came in the room it was very musty smelling. I would suggest opening the windows to air out the room befor guests arrived.

    The staff were very accommodating and pleasant! The beds were very comfortable and the pool was very very clean!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2016

    8.8
    Great location, staff, and pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant could have been better and room price was a bit high at $210 night

    Friendly staff and accommodated our last minute request for extra night. Pool was outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    5.0
    Expected more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were put in a room next to a wedding party. They were so loud all night. We called to complain but the. I use didn't stop. I mentioned it again the next morning at check out and the desk clerks did not seem to care!

    Close proximity to everything!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    7.1
    We loved the pool (of course!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are small and the beds pretty stiff. We ate dinner at the Hearth n Kettle the first night and wished we had ventured out into town instead. It was just okay.

    We loved the pool (of course!) and the close proximity to waterfront attractions, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    5.8
    Location, friendly staff, nice food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, friendly staff, nice food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our walking around the neighborhood that morning, very quaint area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    We enjoyed the neighborhood around the Hotel- we stayed extra time that day to explore and enjoy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    We stay at the Carver every Memorial Day. We’ll be back again!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rachel the masseuse was fantastic!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    All very good!
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in the restaurant a little slow!

    All very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Good but brief
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location & decent amenities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Non-Smoking Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was pleasant and helpful. Everything was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse John Carver Inn & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: