Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boston Common Hotel 2 stars

40 Trinity Place, Back Bay, Boston, 02116, USA

#81 of 81 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 583 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    It does the job - just.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently as for Boston generally accommodation pricing is just obscene. Boston Common Hotel is the cheapest we could find. It's absolutely no frills. The only words spoken by reception upon arrival (me smiling and saying hello) were "ID", presented Driving Licence, then "624'. Given key card that's it! WiFi only available in the lobby. (it's 2018!). Room 'tired' but quiet and the linen clean. That said I don't want extras, minibars, Spa's, doormen, just a room. So it fitted the bill. But ~$200 per night! booked well in advance. Boston needs some decent budget hotels. Oh yes! There's cool water available (free) while you use the WiFi in the lobby.

    Quiet and good position for seeing the city. You don't need a pocket full of dollars for tips, you won't see anyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    While it is an old hotel, I found it comfortable, an exceptional value, and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedspread was soiled (yuck). We overheard that the hotel may be demolished; what a mistake that would be. The interior design, architecture, and ambiance are not found in many hotels in Boston as most of them are new, commercial and pedestrian. Renovate it, don't destroy it!!!

    Claudette at the reception desk was kind and friendly. The interior is stunning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The listed phone number is wrong. Hotel is difficult to find... Some signs would be nice. There was no one at the reception desk when I arrived. (&Quot;Be back in 10 min.") Mostly empty hotel. Room was small. Furniture and doors needed repair and maintenance. Rug should be ripped out and burned in a hazardous waste incinerator. Bath fixtures should be in a museum.

    Close to the subway so I could get the hell away from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Has potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time worn (carpet in hall coming up, mold in the bathroom).

    Location was great. The hotel had beautiful decor but unfortunately not very well kept. With work could be an upscale hotel. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Unbeatable location in the heart of Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no wi-fi connection in the room. The lobby is beautiful, but it is not always convenient to go all the way downstairs.

    The hotel is old, but if it weren't, it would be way more expensive as the rooms are huge. The décor is nice, the bed was comfortable. There was an old TV in the room, but it worked well and had a variety of TV channels. The location of the hotel is unbeatable as it is in a safe, central part of Boston. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi in bedrooms, only in the lobby. Someone banged on my door in the middle of the night and woke me up. The lobby is nice but the rooms are a let down. Very dated, worn, dull. No tea/coffee. TV is mounted in wardrobe, no view from bed.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Great for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly basic hotel, very few facilities. No Wi-fi other than in the lobby, no tea or coffee making in room and no access to same in hotel, however I believe the hotel is soon to be upgraded.

    Great location, easy parking,helpful staff. Good for overnight stay, very clean, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    Barely minimal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the bathroom was deplorable. I understand this is an older hotel, but that doesn't excuse its neglect. The toilet didn't flush properly and we had to try several times for it to work. Most importantly, mildew and rust were around the sink faucets and tub. We were very disappointed, considering the cost. I plan on contacting the manager and will update this review then, hoping the manager is receptive to my complaints.

    As requested, we were given an early check-in. It's a good, central location in the Back Bay near Copley.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the room, only in the lobby. That made live a bit difficult.

    It is very conveniently located. It seems to be an old hotel which saw better times before. The room was spacious. So ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    great location. dirty bathroom, no internet or breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was gross. the tub and floor. I was very unhappy that there was no internet in the room which was promised through Booking, and there was no free ( or any) breakfast, which was also promised by Booking. the staff said: the hotel never offered that, and they tried to tell Booking, but it was never fixed. so price was a bummer as i spent half the night watching movies in the lobby on my phone.

    Location was absolutely perfect. half a block to the T, right near the beautiful Trinity Church. the bed was clean, no bugs thank god. I had a corner room which was nice to have two windows.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was decent and nicely located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a foreign business traveller who needs to communicate with others on the phone, work and send emails while traveling, the lack of wi-fi in the rooms made my stay incredibly stressful

    The hotel was decent and nicely located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive for what the facility offers. It seems the hotel have seen better days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite wi-fi being available only in the lobby area (as mentioned in the hotel description), the internet connection breaks constantly down. Not optimal for working or any other business related activities.

    It is well located if attending a conference down town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Given othe options, I could stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lobby, though not the rooms, did not have wi-fi. To be sure, the online hotel description never claimed that they did. Having to go to the lobby to do online business was a minor inconvenience.

    Bed was comfortable., and the A/C was adjustable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    A Small Hole in the wall that fulfills its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on line advertisement was false. The air conditioning was very weak. For the price we should have had a fridge and better blankets. It was an old place.

    It was a short walk to Fenway Park. The staff was pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    It was cheap (for Boston) place to stay near downtown that was convenient to get to by transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets are worn & threadbare, the bathrooms, all though clean are in poor shape.

    The lobby was nice and the staff were SUPER friendly! Loved how close it was to the Back Bay Orange Line subway station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I changed the credit card I wanted to use for my stay on the Booking.com site. The first credit card was used instead. I'm not happy about that. I fault Booking.com for that.

    Very kind staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    No Wi-Fi in this day and age?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quite basic hotel. No Wi-Fi was a pain considering the price we were paying and because we couldn't use mobile date as we were travelling from abroad. If this were included the hotel would definitely get a much higher rating.

    Rough around the edges but relatively comfortable and central. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    My booking was excluding breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking was excluding breakfast .The front desk was very supportive and helpful, as I was staying for six nights,the hotel provided a coffee maker and fridge.this made my life a bit easier

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Price for property is definitely not going to make you feel that you are getting what you paid for!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was VERY ANTIQUATED!! There was no Wi-Fi access in my room. I didn't understand why there were always a large number of guests hanging in the Lobby, until I asked, and that was because that was the only spot to use personal devices. The furnishings were standard. The television set was probably purchased in 1995. And, the bathroom was not one of my favorite spots at all. Dirt on the floor, especially around the corners and piping in the corners. The shower was very old, stained, and probably should be flipped.

    The property is pretty central within the city, and allowed for me to go to visit different places by walking on foot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.9
    Awful, awful hotel!!! Do not book here.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservation said queen bed, this was definitely a double. Paintbon wall is chipping, bedding was probably as old as hotel, not comfortable at al. No amenities whatsoever. Worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Don't waste your money!!

    Location. I rated low In survey because it boosts the overall score of the hotel and no one should be staying at this dump for the price!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    OK room but not really the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little old and the facilities are very limited. The room had no wifi. Not really worth the price. There was no fan in the bathroom.

    The staff was very, very nice. The room was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Rooms old and in need of repairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the carpet. Mold in bathtub grout. Paint peeling in bathroom, ripped screen in bathroom window. Light sconce falling off wall. Furniture is disrepair, varnish peeling. Bathroom doorknob coming off. Knew was old bldg, did not expect it to be this bad.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Stay away when there is a heat spell in Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working on eight floor. Don’t know about other floors. Staff gave us a fan which helped, but wouldn’t change room. Rooms very small and basic.

    Very clean, comfortable mattress, nice shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realise that Wifi is only available in the lobby - quite a bummer. We had a rather small room, the fan in the bathroom either didn't work or worked very slow and we couldn't open the window - so the air was damp.

    The hotel is well located just around the corner from the Back Bay Station. There are a couple of restaurants in the area and it's a safe neighbourhood. A Dunkin' Donuts is in the same building to buy some breakfast. Luggage can be stored securely at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Central location but needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi connection in the room only in the lobby. Wall to wall carpet in the room was damp and dirty. Bathtub with cracks generelly bathroom (actually the whole room) in need of refurbishing. Price was high compared to other cities like NY you would get better standard for the price we paid.

    Location and helpful staff (print out of tickets/boarding passes). Close to Dunkin Donuts just around the corner for breakfast. Close to Copley square with subway and bus to aiport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.8
    Will not stay here ever again.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was incredibly dated - and by that I mean that everything is damaged, dirty and in need of replacement. The lobby smells overwhelmingly of disinfectant and the carpet is held down with tape. As soon as we entered the room, I began to search online for another place to stay in the immediate area. All of the furniture is damaged. The carpet is filthy. The blanket and bedspread (which were immediately removed and put in the closet) had holes and tears. The bathtub was moldy and missing large spots of enamel. If I could have found something under $1000 nearby I would have left. We even contemplated sleeping in our car.

    The people at the desk were fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.8
    needed to be close to frfiends at the Westin, who had gotten a deal at the same rate as this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel has been sold & right now they are not taking reservations for the fall. It was sold to a developer who will tear it down & put up hotel/apartments/businesses & perhaps some condos. There is also talk about doing over the parking garage. Right now, it's a sad hotel and they are only doing the basics. Didn't seem upset about my complaint regarding the black mold in the shower! Once this is gone, forget any moderate priced hotels in Boston!!!!

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    OK if you want something central and you just need a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really old and not so well maintained. Peeled off wall paint, rust signs on taps and bath tub, bed spread looked like it had some holes in it. The TV was an old CRT model and the air conditioner temperature control did not seem to work well. No breakfast was offered and WiFi connection was only available in the main lobby To sum up, it needs some serious refurbishment to bring it into the XXI century

    The hotel is in a great location, with most of the main attractions and amenities in the city either at walking distance or a few subway stops away from the round the corner station. There is a car park next to it as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location and friendly staff room was cleaned every day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old decor, hole in the wall and door of the bathroom, bed very uncomfortable, found to have a piece of old carpet between the bed and mattress propping it up, no wifi in the bedrooms which wasnt specified on booking the rooms only available in the main lobby, cleaning staff stood outside our room on both mornings talking loudly and laughing actually woke myself and my husband up

    Good location and friendly staff room was cleaned every day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Worth for money and not a penny more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi. Air conditioner isn’t adjustable. It was warm in the evening and cold in the morning. Front desk staff isn’t aware of all procedures and processes.

    Location is excellent. Proximity to the stores and restaurants are good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Avoid it !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no wifi in the room !!! in 2018 !!! very old room, old furniture, old bathroom, no breakfast, no room service very expansive (+200$/night) for bad quality

    location, the area around is nice and close to the train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Affordable and comfortable.
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know. I was from Europe, so I didn't know how to use the shower at first. That was a little annoying. :)

    It's affordable and comfortable. It was only for a night but it is nice place and the staff was nice and helpful. There are shops near Boston Common Hotel. If you are going to stay there then you should have no problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Close to metro station & walking distance to Common park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi available only in the lobby, Hotel needs renovation for most parts.

    Close to metro station & walking distance to Common park & historic center. Good if you want to explore the city and only need the basics.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    In spite of the one staff person briefly dropping the ball, would definitely go back-- Great value f
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got locked out of hotel prior to 11 pm (when door was to be locked) and front desk person was on "break" so left us and another couple just sitting outside for 5-10 minutes.

    Heart of Back Bay, easy to get to everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very outdated hotel - no facilities whatsoever - no tea/coffee making in the room - not even a vending machine to buy a drink from.

    The location of the hotel is fabulous - can get to see the major sights by walking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Location of room won corner with two windows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower did not work, although it was fixed by the second day. Website promised coffee maker and free WiFI, implying in the room, but only available in the lobby.

    Location of room won corner with two windows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive for the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was only in the lobby; sorry but I cannot watch Netflix in my pajamas downstairs! It was also extremely old and in need of updating terribly.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    I wont be back to this hotel and im going to tell friends and family to explore better options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on the website showed a very nice roome with a water/coffee maker. Brochers sitting on desk. Just a well put together room. But when we arives there was pealing paint coming off the ceiling and wall of our room. There was nothing but a bate desk with an old tv and an ol creaking bed with heavy old bed linens. There was also a gratet whole in the showere wall that looked like anything could crawl out of it. We were also given a very small bar of soap but nothing else. I couldnt believe i had to pay for that for two nights. It just looked nothing like the photos. It was falsly adverties.

    The front desk staff was very nice and we were close enough to have good time outside of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no refrigerator in room

    location . next to glass Hancock tower which is next to Trinity Church - take the tour and Google this church about how it was built. incredible! across the street from the Boston Public library - take the free tour and see the Sargent murals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Location is convenient though a little far from the center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room or floor, only in the lounge. No breakfast but I guess that's normal in the US?

    Location is convenient though a little far from the center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting, disappointing and way, way too expensive!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! It was old, smelt, was disgusting, needs some serious updating. I put a towel in the tub before I showered cause the tub looked so disgusting! This place should not charge more than $50/night and definitely not $240/night!!!

    There is nothing to like about this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities in room or elsewhere in hotel. Very expensive for what is essentially a very tired, faded hotel. Needs a good coat of paint.

    Excellent location. Very clean & quiet. Lovely friendly receptionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Location and staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the hotel and room was poor. The room was extremely dated, very old decor, leaky faucet and shower, dirty carpet and curtains.

    Location and staff was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    We survived the night.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is tired. Was informed this will be razed at end of summer replaced high end facility. Street traffic was heard in our sixty floor room !ate into the night and early in the morning.

    Adequate location for walking to Freedom Trail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Not bad value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Wifi in my room, only down in the lobby area. In general, I felt like the hotel had seen better days.

    Facility OK, quiet: no street noise(I was on the 6th floor). Good location for my conference, and to access to the rest of Boston. Not bad option for the price. If you like older facilities, you might like this one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    The Location is close to Public transportation and some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wifi in the Roms, only in the Lobby abailable. No coffee maker in the room, Not Even in the Lobby area. Not even drinking water.

    The Location is close to Public transportation and some Boston attractions are in walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel badly needs updating. Presents as quite old and run down. However, after reading about the hotel, I did not have high expectations. I was looking for an inexpensive (for Boston) place to stay following a surgical procedure and that is pretty much what this hotel was. The bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent. It would have been nice if the bathroom door stayed closed. Having said that, we saved some money compared to more upscale places and do not regret the choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    The bones of the building were great, great potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was dirty and old as was the paint

    The bones of the building were great, great potential. The linens were nice quality. The carpet was quite disappointing as was the paint but the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    There's no WiFi in the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no WiFi in the rooms. The place looks like it hasn't been painted since the Nixon administration. Just a dark, dingy hotel with no comforts whatsoever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, this is not a fancy kind of place because you don't get an ice bucket unless you ask for one and there won't be chocolates on your pillow. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby. But, you're also not paying for a fancy place. I also found out that they were planning to tear down the building and redo it so that it's fancy. It won't be affordable when I come back to Boston!

    The best part of staying at this hotel was the location - it's right behind Back Bay station! And, it's affordable without staying at a hostel. The front desk staff was very friendly. The TV was nothing fancy but it had enough channels. Also, check out the lobby - it feels like you're stepping back in time when you look at the arched entrances. It looks really cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    All the reviews of this place are accurate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is outdated, like from the 70s. If you're the type that likes to hang out in the hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you're using it just to sleep and use the bathroom, then it definitely gets the job done.

    Great location. Public parking garage right in front of hotel. Parking is $37 for 24 hours, but the hotel gets a discount and it ends up costing $30.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Was not what I expected
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reservation stated a queen size bed, that was smallest queen size bed I have ever seen. I was surprised how outdated and worn the bathroom was, the tub was so worn, at first I was afraid it was full of mold. No coffee pot in room was quite surprising, I didn't think to check that as I thought all places offered coff, that was my fault just surprised.

    It was clean, was a good location to get to convention center we were attending and staff nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay in Boston if you are on a low budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - No internet in the rooms in second decade of XXI century... - Bathrooms (and everything else by the way) seem to remember the 80's - Price is not reflecting the quality of stay, still it's one of the cheapest hotels in Boston, so from this perspective it's a good value for money

    - Great location in a walking distance from key attractions of Boston - Very good access to public transport (subway, buses, Amtrak) - Decent conditions to stay for 2-3 nights - Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Stay away- Note in the advertisement they say an amenity is toilet paper. That says all
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were tiny and we could barely fit a single piece of carry on luggage. The mattress was old and totally worn out and we rolled to the middle of the bed. The comforter was so old and disgusting. The bathroom was tiny and you could not get from the bed to the bathroom unless the bathroom door was closed, and then you had to move around to get in to the bathroom. Horrible. Felt like an old dungy room in my great grandmother's home. Honestly, i was scared to enter. No presence at all. Nothing in lobby. No coffee or water or even a chair. I would not pay $5 to sleep there.

    the neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    No I’m done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The The fact that you advertise parking and Wi-Fi but the parking is AVAILABLE , no a free benefit as ad leads you to believe. Wi-Fi you have to go into the lobby to use which is a little misleading

    Very neat and clean but had this experience of someone walking into our room. I cannot tell if the Jour it was a jar or if they had a key but it was very unsettling because they did not knock there’s not enough people around the hotel and you can get a sense that they just opened up to make as much money as they can before they close for good just an uncomfortable feeling staying there what did you like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value. Great location. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi except in the lobby. Hard to find the hotel in the evening due to poor signage.

    Reception staff helpful and friendly. Location was excellent close to south station but right beside back bay station where amtrak stops for New York. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Conviently located, friendly staff and a quiet night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was only in lobby, and parking cost $30. The hairdryer literally blew up in my hand and gave me minor burns on my arm when pieces flew out and it broke.

    The location was great and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Please check the cleanness of the towels!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a major complain about the cleanness. One of the towels in the room was stained with blood. Towel was clearly washed, but stains were still visible. They should have been checked! That only event will prevent me from choosing this hotel a second time. cleanness. There was no Wi fi in the rooms, although it was advertised as having wi-fi we never expected the rooms would not have wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.6
    Location great. Historic building. Love that but needs to be clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was disgusting. Shower curtain had mold and mildew all along bottom and sides. Tiles looked like they were not cleaned. Furniture old bed and pillows awful. Not comfortable for people with bad backs. No vending machines just ice. No ice bucket or fridge or microwave in room.

    Location great but entrance hard to find. Steps difficult to go up with luggage. Building inside is very historic and old which gives it a lot of character. I like old but rooms not clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    A Good stay if you plan to be out about most of the time for a short while
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the area where the tv was, boxed in and you could only see it from the bed. The air vent in the shower was really creepy.

    close to where I needed to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Short and sweet will stay again for short weekend trips to anime Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second time staying at this property and I thought I remembered them having WiFi in the rooms last time but I could be wrong. There is WiFi in the lobby. There is no fridge which is a small problem but we stayed one night and made it work. We left an item in the room and waited for over 20 minutes and housekeeping wouldn’t communicate with the front desk and we weren’t allowed to go back up to get it so we had to leave without it.

    The rooms are very clean, and the view is good. Very very close to the Hynes convention center through the prudential center. Staff is always friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the receptionist was very friendly, the check in was very slow and very long. The rooom was old and dirty. They didn't be able to keep our lugage after t'he check out... We had to carry our backpackages until night, until we arrive to the airport

    Situation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Prime location, next to Back Bay station and Trinkty Church...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs an upgrade, facilities are worn down and outdated. The only have WiFi in the lobby !! No bar

    Prime location, next to Back Bay station and Trinkty Church neighbourhood

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    If you're low on cash and willing to stay in a room that's just barely "acceptable", this is it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of issues with this hotel. Walking right through the door, we are told the hotel is "closing" on Sunday, and they cannot hold our bags past 2 pm. This is already frustrating since our flight wasn't until 7 pm that day, so we had to drag our things around with us (and eventually just went to the airport early instead of exploring more of Boston). Also, what kind of hotel just "closes on Sunday"? Once we were in the room, we saw severely chipping paint, suspiciously blood-colored smudges on the walls, a mildewy bathroom (all in the grout, everywhere. It was disgusting), and a bathroom door that neither locked nor stayed closed (it wouldn't latch at all!). The room next to ours was even more concerning since the hinges to the door were on the outside (which... makes it kind of easy to break in?). The wi-fi advertised didn't really work at all on our floor, so we eventually just resorted to using our data to run personal hotspots as it disconnected so frequently and was already such a weak signal. The front staff told us the wifi worked better in the lobby, but to be honest that's not a fair trade in my opinion. The price was cheap, but besides being a place to rest our heads at night and being close to the subway, there was really nothing good about this hotel.

    It was really close to the subway station, which was convenient for getting to the conference we were attending. It's literally just around the corner. There was an ATM and vending machines (mostly empty) within the hotel. The front lobby was pretty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.6
    The location is about the only redeeming feature of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The grout in the bathroom had black mold growing everywhere - in the shower, on the walls and floor. The interior of the hotel room looked run-down - the carpet was stained, paint was peeling. The mattress was not very comfortable. I get that the location is prime, so the hotel is considered "a deal"... but I would not stay there again.

    The location is great. I was in Boston for a conference at the Hynes Convention centre, and was able to walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Terrible hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is just old, dirty, and really not cared for at all... The rooms need major renovation and cleaning!

    Only redeemable aspect of this hotel was its location. Everything else was awful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Liked the extra pillow in the closet and good water pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't weak in the rooms, it did not exist at all but wifi in lobby worked just fine

    Liked the extra pillow in the closet and good water pressure. Liked that there was security at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall appearance of the room and bathroom.

    The price was okay in comparison to other hotels in the area. I could not use the shower the tub had rust all over. Some of the lights did not work. One of the lamp was falling over. The furniture is very old.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.2
    Only worth the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dated, carpet with stains, old bathroom with some stuff broken. The staff didn't even return back the good morning. I wouldn't recommend it at all.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Had a fabulous time in Boston and walked miles and saw loads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath. It was totally rusty but they'd stuck a plastic shower mat to the bath so it was acceptable (just). Scored the Cleansiness low because of the bath.

    Location. Very quiet room, never heard anyone above or outside. This hotel was one of the cheapest - all Boston hotels seem to be extremely expensive. The whole hotel is quite down at heel and would benefit from refurbishment but then it would not be cheap of course. You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Older Bostonian feel, great location, comfortable, the price was right, and it met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its not a luxury hotel and we were not looking for that. We had a nice stay. I can't say I didn't like anything. It was all good.

    Great location, everything was within walking distance. I wanted an older Bostonian feel, and we got it. We were pleased, it was an older hotel, it was clean, quaint, just what we were looking for this first trip around.We both slept great, the bed was most comfortable, I would stay again. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It was all good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.4
    Great location but otherwise little to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor very dated, rust spots in bath, dust / dirt on shelf in wardrobe, reception staff indifferent

    Location excellent, bed comfortable, tea & coffee in room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    The location was excellent, but I did not like being in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rugs and furniture have been in the hotel for decades. The furniture is so worn that the wood finish is off in multiple places. The tv was in a cabinet that the doors and molding had been ripped off so one could look directly at the tv. This furniture cannot go to a second hand store; it will have to be junked. The carpet was full of stains. Given the disreputable condition I checked for bedbugs before I decided to stay. I did not find any - the sheets were clean.

    The location is excellent and the sheets were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.6
    This hotel is not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The bathroom was awful, no refrigerator or microwave in the rooms.

    The hotel is outdated. The bathtub was so old and nasty looking that my 17 year old daughter refused to shower for the 2 days that we were there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bedding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is very old and hasn't been well maintained or updated. There is no restaurant or breakfast venue.

    Comfortable bedding. Lowest price for the location. Great location, convenient. Despite the condition of the building, the room was clean and comfortable. A reasonable value if you're looking to save on hotel rates.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: