Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Boston Common Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

40 Trinity Place, Back Bay, Boston, 02116, United States of America

#81 of 81 hotels in Boston

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 503 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    5.4
    Worth for money and not a penny more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi. Air conditioner isn’t adjustable. It was warm in the evening and cold in the morning. Front desk staff isn’t aware of all procedures and processes.

    Location is excellent. Proximity to the stores and restaurants are good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.0
    Avoid it !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no wifi in the room !!! in 2018 !!! very old room, old furniture, old bathroom, no breakfast, no room service very expansive (+200$/night) for bad quality

    location, the area around is nice and close to the train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.8
    Affordable and comfortable.
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't know. I was from Europe, so I didn't know how to use the shower at first. That was a little annoying. :)

    It's affordable and comfortable. It was only for a night but it is nice place and the staff was nice and helpful. There are shops near Boston Common Hotel. If you are going to stay there then you should have no problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    Close to metro station & walking distance to Common park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi available only in the lobby, Hotel needs renovation for most parts.

    Close to metro station & walking distance to Common park & historic center. Good if you want to explore the city and only need the basics.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.9
    In spite of the one staff person briefly dropping the ball, would definitely go back-- Great value f
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got locked out of hotel prior to 11 pm (when door was to be locked) and front desk person was on "break" so left us and another couple just sitting outside for 5-10 minutes.

    Heart of Back Bay, easy to get to everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very outdated hotel - no facilities whatsoever - no tea/coffee making in the room - not even a vending machine to buy a drink from.

    The location of the hotel is fabulous - can get to see the major sights by walking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    7.5
    Location of room won corner with two windows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower did not work, although it was fixed by the second day. Website promised coffee maker and free WiFI, implying in the room, but only available in the lobby.

    Location of room won corner with two windows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.3
    Too expensive for the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was only in the lobby; sorry but I cannot watch Netflix in my pajamas downstairs! It was also extremely old and in need of updating terribly.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    6.3
    I wont be back to this hotel and im going to tell friends and family to explore better options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pictures on the website showed a very nice roome with a water/coffee maker. Brochers sitting on desk. Just a well put together room. But when we arives there was pealing paint coming off the ceiling and wall of our room. There was nothing but a bate desk with an old tv and an ol creaking bed with heavy old bed linens. There was also a gratet whole in the showere wall that looked like anything could crawl out of it. We were also given a very small bar of soap but nothing else. I couldnt believe i had to pay for that for two nights. It just looked nothing like the photos. It was falsly adverties.

    The front desk staff was very nice and we were close enough to have good time outside of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no refrigerator in room

    location . next to glass Hancock tower which is next to Trinity Church - take the tour and Google this church about how it was built. incredible! across the street from the Boston Public library - take the free tour and see the Sargent murals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.5
    Location is convenient though a little far from the center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi in the room or floor, only in the lounge. No breakfast but I guess that's normal in the US?

    Location is convenient though a little far from the center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting, disappointing and way, way too expensive!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy! It was old, smelt, was disgusting, needs some serious updating. I put a towel in the tub before I showered cause the tub looked so disgusting! This place should not charge more than $50/night and definitely not $240/night!!!

    There is nothing to like about this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No facilities in room or elsewhere in hotel. Very expensive for what is essentially a very tired, faded hotel. Needs a good coat of paint.

    Excellent location. Very clean & quiet. Lovely friendly receptionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    5.8
    Location and staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quality of the hotel and room was poor. The room was extremely dated, very old decor, leaky faucet and shower, dirty carpet and curtains.

    Location and staff was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    5.8
    We survived the night.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property is tired. Was informed this will be razed at end of summer replaced high end facility. Street traffic was heard in our sixty floor room !ate into the night and early in the morning.

    Adequate location for walking to Freedom Trail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.3
    Not bad value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Wifi in my room, only down in the lobby area. In general, I felt like the hotel had seen better days.

    Facility OK, quiet: no street noise(I was on the 6th floor). Good location for my conference, and to access to the rest of Boston. Not bad option for the price. If you like older facilities, you might like this one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    The Location is close to Public transportation and some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Wifi in the Roms, only in the Lobby abailable. No coffee maker in the room, Not Even in the Lobby area. Not even drinking water.

    The Location is close to Public transportation and some Boston attractions are in walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel badly needs updating. Presents as quite old and run down. However, after reading about the hotel, I did not have high expectations. I was looking for an inexpensive (for Boston) place to stay following a surgical procedure and that is pretty much what this hotel was. The bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent. It would have been nice if the bathroom door stayed closed. Having said that, we saved some money compared to more upscale places and do not regret the choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    6.3
    The bones of the building were great, great potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet was dirty and old as was the paint

    The bones of the building were great, great potential. The linens were nice quality. The carpet was quite disappointing as was the paint but the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    3.8
    There's no WiFi in the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no WiFi in the rooms. The place looks like it hasn't been painted since the Nixon administration. Just a dark, dingy hotel with no comforts whatsoever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly, this is not a fancy kind of place because you don't get an ice bucket unless you ask for one and there won't be chocolates on your pillow. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby. But, you're also not paying for a fancy place. I also found out that they were planning to tear down the building and redo it so that it's fancy. It won't be affordable when I come back to Boston!

    The best part of staying at this hotel was the location - it's right behind Back Bay station! And, it's affordable without staying at a hostel. The front desk staff was very friendly. The TV was nothing fancy but it had enough channels. Also, check out the lobby - it feels like you're stepping back in time when you look at the arched entrances. It looks really cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    All the reviews of this place are accurate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is outdated, like from the 70s. If you're the type that likes to hang out in the hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you're using it just to sleep and use the bathroom, then it definitely gets the job done.

    Great location. Public parking garage right in front of hotel. Parking is $37 for 24 hours, but the hotel gets a discount and it ends up costing $30.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    5.8
    Was not what I expected
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reservation stated a queen size bed, that was smallest queen size bed I have ever seen. I was surprised how outdated and worn the bathroom was, the tub was so worn, at first I was afraid it was full of mold. No coffee pot in room was quite surprising, I didn't think to check that as I thought all places offered coff, that was my fault just surprised.

    It was clean, was a good location to get to convention center we were attending and staff nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay in Boston if you are on a low budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - No internet in the rooms in second decade of XXI century... - Bathrooms (and everything else by the way) seem to remember the 80's - Price is not reflecting the quality of stay, still it's one of the cheapest hotels in Boston, so from this perspective it's a good value for money

    - Great location in a walking distance from key attractions of Boston - Very good access to public transport (subway, buses, Amtrak) - Decent conditions to stay for 2-3 nights - Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    4.2
    Stay away- Note in the advertisement they say an amenity is toilet paper. That says all
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were tiny and we could barely fit a single piece of carry on luggage. The mattress was old and totally worn out and we rolled to the middle of the bed. The comforter was so old and disgusting. The bathroom was tiny and you could not get from the bed to the bathroom unless the bathroom door was closed, and then you had to move around to get in to the bathroom. Horrible. Felt like an old dungy room in my great grandmother's home. Honestly, i was scared to enter. No presence at all. Nothing in lobby. No coffee or water or even a chair. I would not pay $5 to sleep there.

    the neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.1
    No I’m done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The The fact that you advertise parking and Wi-Fi but the parking is AVAILABLE , no a free benefit as ad leads you to believe. Wi-Fi you have to go into the lobby to use which is a little misleading

    Very neat and clean but had this experience of someone walking into our room. I cannot tell if the Jour it was a jar or if they had a key but it was very unsettling because they did not knock there’s not enough people around the hotel and you can get a sense that they just opened up to make as much money as they can before they close for good just an uncomfortable feeling staying there what did you like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.8
    Good value. Great location. Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi except in the lobby. Hard to find the hotel in the evening due to poor signage.

    Reception staff helpful and friendly. Location was excellent close to south station but right beside back bay station where amtrak stops for New York. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    Conviently located, friendly staff and a quiet night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was only in lobby, and parking cost $30. The hairdryer literally blew up in my hand and gave me minor burns on my arm when pieces flew out and it broke.

    The location was great and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    5.0
    Please check the cleanness of the towels!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a major complain about the cleanness. One of the towels in the room was stained with blood. Towel was clearly washed, but stains were still visible. They should have been checked! That only event will prevent me from choosing this hotel a second time. cleanness. There was no Wi fi in the rooms, although it was advertised as having wi-fi we never expected the rooms would not have wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    4.6
    Location great. Historic building. Love that but needs to be clean.
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was disgusting. Shower curtain had mold and mildew all along bottom and sides. Tiles looked like they were not cleaned. Furniture old bed and pillows awful. Not comfortable for people with bad backs. No vending machines just ice. No ice bucket or fridge or microwave in room.

    Location great but entrance hard to find. Steps difficult to go up with luggage. Building inside is very historic and old which gives it a lot of character. I like old but rooms not clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.5
    A Good stay if you plan to be out about most of the time for a short while
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the area where the tv was, boxed in and you could only see it from the bed. The air vent in the shower was really creepy.

    close to where I needed to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.9
    Short and sweet will stay again for short weekend trips to anime Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was our second time staying at this property and I thought I remembered them having WiFi in the rooms last time but I could be wrong. There is WiFi in the lobby. There is no fridge which is a small problem but we stayed one night and made it work. We left an item in the room and waited for over 20 minutes and housekeeping wouldn’t communicate with the front desk and we weren’t allowed to go back up to get it so we had to leave without it.

    The rooms are very clean, and the view is good. Very very close to the Hynes convention center through the prudential center. Staff is always friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    4.6
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the receptionist was very friendly, the check in was very slow and very long. The rooom was old and dirty. They didn't be able to keep our lugage after t'he check out... We had to carry our backpackages until night, until we arrive to the airport

    Situation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    5.8
    Prime location, next to Back Bay station and Trinkty Church...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel needs an upgrade, facilities are worn down and outdated. The only have WiFi in the lobby !! No bar

    Prime location, next to Back Bay station and Trinkty Church neighbourhood

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    4.6
    If you're low on cash and willing to stay in a room that's just barely "acceptable", this is it.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of issues with this hotel. Walking right through the door, we are told the hotel is "closing" on Sunday, and they cannot hold our bags past 2 pm. This is already frustrating since our flight wasn't until 7 pm that day, so we had to drag our things around with us (and eventually just went to the airport early instead of exploring more of Boston). Also, what kind of hotel just "closes on Sunday"? Once we were in the room, we saw severely chipping paint, suspiciously blood-colored smudges on the walls, a mildewy bathroom (all in the grout, everywhere. It was disgusting), and a bathroom door that neither locked nor stayed closed (it wouldn't latch at all!). The room next to ours was even more concerning since the hinges to the door were on the outside (which... makes it kind of easy to break in?). The wi-fi advertised didn't really work at all on our floor, so we eventually just resorted to using our data to run personal hotspots as it disconnected so frequently and was already such a weak signal. The front staff told us the wifi worked better in the lobby, but to be honest that's not a fair trade in my opinion. The price was cheap, but besides being a place to rest our heads at night and being close to the subway, there was really nothing good about this hotel.

    It was really close to the subway station, which was convenient for getting to the conference we were attending. It's literally just around the corner. There was an ATM and vending machines (mostly empty) within the hotel. The front lobby was pretty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    4.6
    The location is about the only redeeming feature of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The grout in the bathroom had black mold growing everywhere - in the shower, on the walls and floor. The interior of the hotel room looked run-down - the carpet was stained, paint was peeling. The mattress was not very comfortable. I get that the location is prime, so the hotel is considered "a deal"... but I would not stay there again.

    The location is great. I was in Boston for a conference at the Hynes Convention centre, and was able to walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    3.3
    Terrible hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is just old, dirty, and really not cared for at all... The rooms need major renovation and cleaning!

    Only redeemable aspect of this hotel was its location. Everything else was awful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.2
    Liked the extra pillow in the closet and good water pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi wasn't weak in the rooms, it did not exist at all but wifi in lobby worked just fine

    Liked the extra pillow in the closet and good water pressure. Liked that there was security at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.0
    okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall appearance of the room and bathroom.

    The price was okay in comparison to other hotels in the area. I could not use the shower the tub had rust all over. Some of the lights did not work. One of the lamp was falling over. The furniture is very old.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    4.2
    Only worth the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was dated, carpet with stains, old bathroom with some stuff broken. The staff didn't even return back the good morning. I wouldn't recommend it at all.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    7.5
    Had a fabulous time in Boston and walked miles and saw loads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath. It was totally rusty but they'd stuck a plastic shower mat to the bath so it was acceptable (just). Scored the Cleansiness low because of the bath.

    Location. Very quiet room, never heard anyone above or outside. This hotel was one of the cheapest - all Boston hotels seem to be extremely expensive. The whole hotel is quite down at heel and would benefit from refurbishment but then it would not be cheap of course. You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.2
    Older Bostonian feel, great location, comfortable, the price was right, and it met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its not a luxury hotel and we were not looking for that. We had a nice stay. I can't say I didn't like anything. It was all good.

    Great location, everything was within walking distance. I wanted an older Bostonian feel, and we got it. We were pleased, it was an older hotel, it was clean, quaint, just what we were looking for this first trip around.We both slept great, the bed was most comfortable, I would stay again. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It was all good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    5.4
    Great location but otherwise little to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor very dated, rust spots in bath, dust / dirt on shelf in wardrobe, reception staff indifferent

    Location excellent, bed comfortable, tea & coffee in room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    5.4
    The location was excellent, but I did not like being in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rugs and furniture have been in the hotel for decades. The furniture is so worn that the wood finish is off in multiple places. The tv was in a cabinet that the doors and molding had been ripped off so one could look directly at the tv. This furniture cannot go to a second hand store; it will have to be junked. The carpet was full of stains. Given the disreputable condition I checked for bedbugs before I decided to stay. I did not find any - the sheets were clean.

    The location is excellent and the sheets were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    4.6
    This hotel is not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. The bathroom was awful, no refrigerator or microwave in the rooms.

    The hotel is outdated. The bathtub was so old and nasty looking that my 17 year old daughter refused to shower for the 2 days that we were there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bedding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is very old and hasn't been well maintained or updated. There is no restaurant or breakfast venue.

    Comfortable bedding. Lowest price for the location. Great location, convenient. Despite the condition of the building, the room was clean and comfortable. A reasonable value if you're looking to save on hotel rates.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    3.8
    If the owner has t visited the building they need to. It's sad that your management is running it in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that it was not just dirty in one area but the minute you walked into the building. Pictures don't do it justice. Libby carpeting had spots and it looked like it had t been cleaned in years. Wonder if they have had any lead paint issues with guests.

    The Hotel is ina great area and close to things. It's a beautiful older building but it was filthy. I have a property mgmt background and understand that that is key. I have stayed at campsites with outdoor bathrooms that were cleaner. There was mold growing around the tub. Nothing bleach couldn't cleanup. The curtains were hanging off the rod because it was broken carpet was dirty. Wore white socks and were dirty after walking around in a very short time. Very disappointed. If I were management I'd be embarrassed sitting at the front desk with the condition if the lobby right there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    3.3
    Disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything as per above. Surly staff.

    Nothing! Thus is by far the dirtiest, dingiest moldy, rusty place I have ever witnessed. It should be shut down by the Board of Health. It is a shame your website recommended it and I'll be careful not to use your website to search for hotels as I don't trust it based on this experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    7.9
    Good value, clean and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Yes, it is an older hotel; the rooms and beds are smaller. It's not a major problem for me, and certainly the rates would go up if they upgraded. It's more that the lobby was a little confusing, with carpets, flower arrangements, mirrors and furniture seeming to have been dropped in randomly anywhere from the 1930s to the 1980s. Perhaps stick to one style or time period?

    The location was excellent; literally less than 1000 ft. from the Back Bay Amtrak station/Boston MTA lines. Also near CVS, local restaurants and pubs. It's probably one of the better values in Boston. The hotel is older and looks like it, but we didn't come to Boston to sit in our room so it wasn't an issue. Our room was clean and comfortable and front desk ladies were very helpful. Interesting is that there is a seemingly private 5th floor with its own balcony and what looks like modern decor. We figured the Bain Capital folks set this up for their visiting guests (their building is across the street). Plus, the one night they had a guard checking guest room keys was when the 5th floor seemed to be in use ; ) Overall good value and I will book here for our next Boston trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    6.3
    Boston is an expensive city so hotels are never cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room cleanliness.

    Boston is an expensive city so hotels are never cheap. Location directly at copley square is great and compensates for the quality of the hotel and what you have to pay for it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    5.8
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That staff was unprofessional and not very friendly. They were having personal conversations or arguments about work in front of the guests.

    The location is great! Close to everything you need or close to transportation to get you where you need to go

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.9
    Overall the hotel wasn't anything to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If your actually staying in the room and just not gonna use it for a place to sleep might want a better tv. Was so old may have been black and white

    Overall the hotel wasn't anything to write home about. Was clean. Decore is old and dated. But the value is where they excel. For the price in downtown very close to everything was perfect spot. Clean bed and hot shower and great location was all we needed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, needs TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is more than a little threadbare, and could really use some cosmetic work. The lack of Wi-Fi in the room is a real minus.

    The hotel is located in an excellent spot; easy to walk to many places. The staff on the reception desk were friendly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    5.4
    I was disgusted by the filth!
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet extremely dirty. Bath tub extremely gross, the shower curtain and the tiles on wall were moldy. I felt nauseated even to step with my slippers on! Did not have choice! I have never seen such dirty carpets from entrance to the hotel room bath tub so disgusting. Do have Head of for the House Keeping staff to check the staff's performance? What the hotel Management team feel about renting property with such filthy carpets? The chandeliers are spectacular! The property has good location and good bones, the staff is friendly and efficient but filthy carpets and bath tub offset the whole experience! I wish the carpets and bath but were cleaner and I paid more!

    The location was convenient and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    5.0
    Over prized
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom needed to be fully over hauled, and the whole room looked,and smelt very tired. No internet, no fridge and no proper coffee and tea making facilities

    Location of accommodation and size of room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    9.6
    Great location and adequate Boston lodging with a warm 1980s feel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing it was lacking was wifi throughout the hotel. The free wifi was only available in public areas and there were no options for the room (not even to pay extra for wifi). It's okay as they disclosed this up front.

    Personally, I liked the 1980s decor (including 19" tube TV, not flat screen). It gave me memories of hotel rooms from childhood vacations. The housekeeper who kept my room was super friendly and took great care. Most of the front desk staff were super friendly and helpful. Aside from the comfy quarters, the location was very conveniently located to anything in the heart of Boston. Though more than I'd usually pay, Boston is a very expensive city. This hotel cost about half of most others in the area. As a bonus, the business center was a great workspace with free printing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    5.8
    Great Location -- Terrible Rooms/Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was insanely tiny and didn't look at all like the pictures online. Bed and pillows were the worst i've ever slept on -- TERRIBLE. The room was loud and you could hear everyone of the neighbors. Towels were hard enough to take a layer of skin off.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    5.8
    Position.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel, insanely expensive, some rooms face a multi floor parking lot, heater no longer working in this season (even if outside temperature was 45/50 F at night), but I guess it's Boston downtown ...

    Position. Nice receptionist, provides heater for the night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    5.0
    Very old and outdated didn't wasn't clean to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old and outdated didn't wasn't clean to my standards either..tub and sink had stains. Bed was uncomfortable it haf a huge box tv no frig or microwave.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    3.3
    This place is a dump, keep looking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Uber drivers couldn't easily find it. Everything was dirty and dumpy. The front desk was unmanned much of the time and when someone was there they barely looked up as you walked in or out. The mattress was so worn out it felt like trying to sleep in a half-pipe. Towel racks were broken, the carpet was very stained, there was minimal shelf space in the bathroom, the grout was dirty, it was disgusting. Don't let the "good deal" fool you, sometimes you get what you pay for. If I hadn't already paid for all three nights in advance I would have moved to a nicer, more expensive hotel after the first night. DO NOT STAY HERE!

    Location, free wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, close to Boston common and subway stations. Lots of shopping options nearby. The room was a bit dated, but it was quiet and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    6.3
    Decent hotel, but awful wifi
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is fine, but my god, that wifi - it is functionally unusable in the rooms, which is largely unacceptable for a hotel that bills itself as a conference hotel, or for business travelers. At the prices they charge, they definitely need to upgrade the system.

    Location was nice for proximity to the marriot/sheraton/hynes convention centers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    8.3
    Great location but facing problem for in-room Wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weak Wifi in my room. Sometimes it didn't work at all, bring to the postponed of some work should do online.

    The location is super !!. Easy to reach from Back Bay Subway Station, really near to the sky-walk bridges.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    7.9
    A good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rather run-down and shabby.

    Although down at the heels and in need of a good sprucing up, the building was once rather nice, and the location was fantastic. I would gladly recommend this place and go there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, classic feel (but no wi-fi)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-fi is really only available downstairs if at all. Worked in the room on my phone only on first night, despite being right next to the router, and then was off on subsequent days.

    Helpful staff, quaint if well-worn classic building. Super close to amazing diner (Friendly Toast) and other breakfast spots.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    9.2
    We had a view of the city and a clean, safe room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a view of the city and a clean, safe room. Just a few steps to an entrance to Copley place ensured a comfortable walk to the Hynes Center, regardless of the weather! Great value!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location, but not great on style, decor or ameneties.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall feel of the hotel/room was that everything was old and shabby...but it worked for what I needed. It was fairly clean and I tried not to think about the possibility that it wasn't. The pillows are horrible. They are like not pillows...stiff and probably foam. They hurt my neck and I woke up over and over all night long.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    6.3
    Great location, cheap price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was stiflingly hot during the night with no control over the temperature. Paint was peeling in places and the bathroom seemed a bit dated.

    Great location, cheap price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2016

    5.0
    Very neglected property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable the room and the entire building needs major renovation. The carpet was very dirty with many stains. I could not take a shower under this run down place.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    5.4
    good location, fair.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room does not look very comfortable, everything is old and worn out. The worst is bath tub - all cheeped off and with dirty stains ( permanent), dirty shower curtain, drain does not work proper and the water stays in the tab for a few hours. Towels smells and don't look very clean.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    7.9
    Good location and amazingly comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't as clean as I would like and the bathroom is very old and looks a bit unsightly.

    Pleasantly surprised, very reasonable! Both myself and my partner slept really well with the blackout curtains and really comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2016

    5.0
    don't stay here unless you have no other options
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very run down and poorly maintained, and not very clean. And poor facilities.. no bar, no gym, no restaurant or room service

    Location, it was next the the office I work in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    3.8
    Awful!!!! for the price you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was dirty...elevators were dirty... bathroom tub had stains, tiles had mildew... Room was tiny. No wifi or desk to work. It would been nice to have a bottle of water in the room. All this for $210. I have stayed in cheaper hotels and the service and room was a 10 in my book. Even though location was good, I would never stay at this hotel again nor recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2016

    4.6
    Very disappointing...staff was nice...but hotel was very dirty...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was dirty...elevators were dirty... bathroom tub had stains, tiles had mildew... didn't take a shower because it was so dirty. Room was tiny. No wifi or desk to work...and would have been nice to have a bottle of water in the room. Even though location was good, I would not stay at this hotel again nor recommend to anyone. Notice on back of key envelop didn't make me feel like security was a priority.

    Staff was pleasant...location was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2016

    9.2
    Comfy and Cosy in the heart of Boston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older hotel and it showed it sometimes - small plain lobby seating area.

    Great location in the heart of the city (and right where the Boston Book Fest was. Friendly and helpful front desk staff

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: