Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3 stars

22 East 38th Street, Murray Hill, New York, NY 10016, USA

#377 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1334 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable beds, updated bathroom (with hand held shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rest of the room needs to be updated (heating/cooling system, seating area).

    Comfortable beds, updated bathroom (with hand held shower and separate bathtub)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I could hear a lot of noise from outside, the street. Smell coming from the air of the bathroom that smelled of tobacco, and neither I nor my wife smoke, it became annoying.

    perfect location! Close to everything!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing, massively overpriced and some very rude members of staff with awful attitudes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. On arrival told we were told my a very rude unprofessional member of staff that they didn't have the type of room available that we had booked so had to share a bed on the first night then changed room on the second day. In first room the heating did not work which is awful when the weather is -10! In the second room the heating was good we could control it but was very noisy. In the second room we had access to the mini fridge due to the lock on the cupboard being broke but the fridge was dirty! The tv was old and very temperamental. The bed side lift broke on the last night which meant we couldn't turn it off! The fact the hotel was closing for renovation on the day we were checking out so we couldn't store or luggage which were could have been told about before arrival so had to pay $30 to store them elsewhere.

    The location. Two members of staff were lovely. A lady on reception at night and the luggage storage man. Having a safe we could use free of charge in the room. Wifi was good when it connected. Bathrooms were lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have told us the hotel was closing for two years for renovations on the morning of the 31st no late check out or baggage storage although they did offer storage facilities at another facility about 10 mins walk away. Not ideal..

    Central

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Simple hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit dirty, our room wasn't hovered the whole time we were there. And like all NY hotels, it was severely over priced for what it was.

    The location and comfort

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly , the hotel is really close to everywhere and the rooms are good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating ! I felt cold one night becasuse it is not working 24 hours just by cycles during the nights so dress a warm pajama if you are going in winter

    There is a room available to store your suitcase after check out ! It is really convenient !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    New York at Christmas is always magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a refurbishing. Heard that it is in the offing; Hope they do it in sections rather than closing the whole facility.

    Location is terrific. 4 blocks from Grand Central where you can get virtually any subway. More restaurants. Ow open since we were here last.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Great location. Would not use this Hotel again do to the sleeping arragements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was horrible!! If you sat on the end (and I am not a big person) the whole mattress flipped up. It felt worse than a pull out. Very disappointing. The sheets were rough. Not a good night sleep after a long day :(

    Location was fantastic. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was helpful that we were able to drop off our bags before our room was available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location.. friendly staff. Clean room, with a great bathroom and big comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s sad to think it will now be closed for 2 years refurbishment.

    We were made to feel very welcome. Fabulous reception staff.. we were upgraded upon arrival. They went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    Clean and value for money get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was right next to the lift so could be noise at times. Room was of a brick wall not nice. Air con units made a noise all night making it impossible to sleep. No tea making facilities

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    The sheets were clean but the hotel is creepily dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were clean but the hotel is creepily dated. I understand it is closing at the end of the year for renovations which is badly needed. Great location though; walkable to key locations

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    4.6
    The hotel didn’t ruin our trip in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude, the hotel was dingy and dated, the beds were awful, and the furniture in the rooms was disgusting. The tv remote didn’t work, the phone didn’t work. Ice machine was only on one floor

    The location was close to time square, 5th Street, Rockefeller Center, and Grand Central Station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    3.8
    Glad it was one night because I wouldn’t stay a second. Sorry I’m not sorry. Time to update!!!
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdated rugs, the smell of the room, non black out shades, could open a window enough where someone could fall out that’s crazy!!! The bathroom so small not, not enough outlets, small toilet, when you sit the water touches your bum, the worst of it all is the showe had no curtains ??? What year are we in? Wow!!! The bed was nice and big and firm as a rock again with 2 pillows for 2 people like no closet with an extra pillow or two? Or an extra blanket ? For looked like it had been kicked in barley locked and still was like slightly open. Didn’t feel safe nor my stuff didn’t feel safe glad it was only one night. I won’t go on. Your ratings are false would love to get my money back but not worth waiting in line to argue to inevitably not get a refund. Wouldn’t recommended to anyone if that was an option!!! 0 stars

    Nothing. Not one single thing. If I didn’t check in so late and coundnt get my money refunded I would had payed more for a nicer hotel. I mean the door was basicky off the hinge!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Location is excellent, room was clean, staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is clean and the staff were great. Wifi was a bit of a hit and miss, needed an email address and only lasted 24 hrs at a time, wouldn’t accept my email address for day three. Towel’s in the bathroom, were small and one had a nice hole in it.

    Was not aware of any food provided by the hotel, is it available?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed at the comfort and age of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sheets were old, blankets ratty. No coffee maker or water kettle or fridge in room. Heater did not work properly. Everything about the room was old, except the bathroom. I had ordered a room with two twins, since I was traveling with my teenage son. On arrival they could only offer a single queen or king. After persisting, they 'upgraded' to a junior suit. It had a king and a fold out sofa that was a hundred years old. It was much too small for my 6.4" son. So I slept on it and it was extremely uncomfortable.

    Good location, short walk to Grand Central Station and Time Square. Bathroom was large.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    The price is unbeatable in Manhattan.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is unbeatable in Manhattan. The rooms are spacious, way above the average in Manhattan (20-25 sqm). The hotel is old and shows the signs of age, but at this price it’s reasonable. It is my go-to hotel in Manhattan. I’ve been here many times and it never fails to provide a pleasant stay. The location is perfect, close to many amenities and Manhattan landmarks. Highly recommended if you don’t want to stay in a shoe box.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient location for tourists and good facilities in local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room requires refurbishment and updating. Cracked bathroom sink and wall in shower. Decoration is old and dated.

    Excellent house keeping service! Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location. Hotel a reasonable size so never gave the impression of being crowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Television reception and picture was very poor on the relatively old TV set in the room so I decided not to bother using it as I was usually quite tired after a day of sight seeing anyway. Staff at reception, whilst always efficient and did their job, did not go out of their way to make me feel welcomed. The occasional smile and a friendly tone works wonders but this part of essential customer training seems to have been a bit neglected.

    Large bathroom with good facilities including a very effective shower and hairdryer which is unusual as most hotel hairdryers are pretty useless. Would have been even better if the bath had come with a plug so that I could have had a bath. Bed was large and comfortable and there was a good view of the Empire State Building from my room on the 12th floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing fixtures a little wonky ....but property about to close for 2yrs for total renovations. Will go again then as it is super convenient - especially for Central Station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was terrible. 3 dim lamps just not enough. Old hotel - rooms and floors need to be refurbished. But you don't spend much time in the room at NYC so despite that, I would stay here again or recommend. Just if photos could be updated to reflect current outlook of rooms etc

    Location was absolutely amazing. Easy to walk everywhere. And a safe location. Also close to Grand Central for all subway needs. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Doorman is a plus - does make it feel secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Comfy, clean and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was slightly outdated but understand there is a renovation going on. But for my needs it did not matter it was a little old fashioned

    The staff at check in were polite and friendly and happy yo store my luggage as I was early. The room was basic but very very clean and had everything I needed. Not tbe biggest bathroom but it was just me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location, but don't expect much more than the bare minimum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Like a lot of New York the cost of accommodation is high, however, for something that accounted for a third of the cost of a six day trip, I would have expected a little more in our room (i.e. a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, etc). The rooms and hallway areas are in need of a little modernization.

    Location is excellent. Near Empire State Building and just a short walk from Times Square, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Love NYC. Jolly Madison Towers is a "dump".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was terrible. Cheap, rough bed linens. The thinnist, threadbare blanket I have ever seen was provided for each bed. The bed mattresses felt as though it was chicken wire with a piece of foam on top. Very uncomfortable sleeping. Everything in the hotel room was old, i.e., peeling wallpaper, paint, low lighting. One available electrical outlet for phone/laptop charging. It gave off an aura of uncleanliness. I will never go back to Madison Towers.

    The staff in the lobby were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    Great location but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms very old and tired, water marks on the ceiling and wallpapers peeling away. Air conditioning/heater very old and noisy.

    Amazing location, comfy beds, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    It's great but the hotel does need updating.
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The hotel is a little dated in its appearance and for some reason, there was a telephone socket in the bathroom. Not sure why but it gave me a laugh. The laundry service is incredibly expensive, for example, a single pair of women's panties would incur a $3.50 charge and a single printed t-shirt would cost $6.75. There's a self-service laundro-mat about 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel with a diner and bars neighbouring it (to give you somewhere to kill time whilst your clothes wash). It cost me the same price of the prior mentioned panties and t-shirt to wash ALL of my clothes AND to dry them too.

    I will say this now, there is nothing wrong with the cleanliness of the rooms. The housekeeping team were great, I had a nosebleed overnight and the housekeeping staff made sure there was no trace of it. I've seen reviews claiming this place had bedbugs and fleas, I didn't see so much as a spiderweb let alone any creepy crawlies. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful, you can't fault them. Moonstruck is directly neighbouring the hotel and it's pretty much open 24hrs a day so great if you wanna grab dinner after a late arriving flight (don't order the OJ though, that cost almost $5 for a small glass for some bizarre reason).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    An exceptional value in cost, location and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a little more light in the room.

    The front desk staff went well out of its way to solve a ticket problem I had created. Quick, smart, friendly. Can't beat the location. Quiet, very quiet. Clean, very clean. Safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    A good place to stay for central Manhattan. Would use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A couple of maintainence problems. Hotel is clean & smart but showing some signs of wear and tear.

    Very spacious twin bed room with comfortable beds. Great location for Manhattan.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location just 4 blocks from The Empire State.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated and the tv in the room was old and clunky. The bathroom was nice although showed it’s age a bit.

    The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.6
    Not nearly as nice as pictures show. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    10/20/2017 - 10/23/2017. pictures of rooms on website were surprisingly nice. actual room looked nothing like ANY of the pictures online. Even the hallway looked very beat-up/dated compared to pics of the hotel online. took a peak at 4 other floors and they looked the same as the floor I stayed on. Had the AC unit (looked like it was 30 years old) on full blast the entire trip which kept the room barely at a comfortable temp (maybe 72 degrees in room and not even hot outside. high temp each day was 74-75 degrees). The AC unit was also very loud. I think the woman who answered the phone before our stay is the same woman who was at the front desk the first day. She was not friendly at all. They guy who was at the front desk on the last day was very helpful and friendly. . A few bars/restaurants nearby but none of them were very impressive.

    10/20/2017 - 10/23/2017. Location is great. walk to times square, empire state building, or grand central terminal. "long" walk to central park or pretty much anywhere in Manhattan. liquor stores and convenience stores very close to hotel. several bars/restaurants within a few blocks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very dated. Not what you expect for New York, No blackout blinds or curtains, which meant little sleep for me and very noisy.

    Great location. Central to most attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture is old, the wifi connection is really poor and you have only one hour. If you have a reservation for 5 days your device will be disconnected from internet after 1 hour. If you need more WIFI you will have to pay extra.

    The location is great. Subway station is really close, there are some good places to eat. Empire State Building is at 5 minutes from the hotel, Times Square is at 10 minutes and the High Line is at 45.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    The location was fantastic, reasonable walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant in the hotel, wasn’t that much of a problem as there was a great cafe across the street.

    The location was fantastic, reasonable walking distance to everything (20-25mins) room was lovely very well kept, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    Room with desired bed configuration was not available so,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with desired bed configuration was not available so, unlike most places, we were downgraded to a cheaper room but received no discount on the price we paid for the original room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.8
    probably not worth the lower price
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a very bare bones hotel - the TVs are from the last century and don't work, there is no coffee in the room, the mattress is thin and the bedding bare - scratchy towels - it was clean but so outdated and the hotel offers no amenities

    It was a place to sleep and shower and that's all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    The staff were super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly. I booked a 2 queen bed room and I opened the door and it was on king size bed, I was with my teenage daughter and she refused to sleep in the same bed as me. So I went down to the lobby and they upgraded my room along with giving me 2 queen beds. I told them how nice that was and much appreciated. I will stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was soooo small, had to iron my clothes in the bathroom that's how small it was Booked a double room when arrived all they had was a queen size bed, it's a Kip

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location to see New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No room facilities eg. coffee maker, fridge, micro wave

    Position, being very close to buses and a reasonable walk to the subway. Desk staff very helpful. WiFi excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Great place to simply rest your head after lots of sight seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't very friendly, working there wasn't where they wanted to be! The in room facilities were poor. No tourist information and we had to ask for coffee to be replenished in the room.

    Location was good and in a decent part of the city. The hotel room was good value, basic but clean and ideal place to lay your head after a day of sightseeing. A bar or eatery on site would work!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Memorable weekend in New York with my daughter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dated, worn looking but functional. I believe there are some rooms which have been modernised but ours had not been. The windows are not double glazed so you hear all the noise of the road below - and it is very noisey. The solution was to buy ear plugs from the local chemist and then there was NO noise! I didn't notice if there was easy access.

    Excellent location within short walking distance of Central station and our bus drop off spot from JFK Airport. Accessible to many popular landmark sites such as Rockafella and Empire State Building and Central Library to name a view. You can get the subway from Central Station to all areas - use a Metro card. Our room was on the corner of the 9th floor with views down Madison Avenue. The King Size bed was comfortable and we slept well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant helpful staff at reception and very clean room.Staff are an asset to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior room with twin beds which we thought was a bit small and spartan but we were allocated a basic room although no one told us this until a girl brought a small bottle of sparkling wine to our door as compensation-it was hardly that!!

    Clean, adequate rooms excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.2
    Location-just a few blocks from Grand Central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was terrible. Booked a queen, but after speaking to reservations manager was told a king was available. Got two doubles. Rude check in staff refused to listen Horrid mattress (?) was only a box springs. Dirty phone, stained carpet. No where near value for $!! Won't stay here again or recommend!

    Location-just a few blocks from Grand Central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NYC is expensive.

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was friendly and the neighborhood great. Beautiful Catholic Church one block away with morning Mass.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got upgraded on arrival and were very pleased with the room which was large by NY standards. Location is excellent, close to Grand Central, which gives you access to most the city in minutes. Staff were friendly, the hotel was quiet, couldn't hear any interference from other rooms. Overall very pleased, with value too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Fair with the bonus of online shopping reception that unbelievably at some hotels is an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seem outdated. I stay at NHs around the world abd quality is usually much higher. A/C and fan was really noisy. The room was ok but a but dull/grim... no very uplifting.

    Quick processing in and out. Reception of online shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    staff was great; room not so great; so overall average rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable; mattress hard so sleeping was not great; the bathroom shower was not what I expected there is no shower curtain just half of a glass shower door so the water gets every where when the shower is used.

    Staff was very friendly; location is within walking distance from some main attractions; eg. time square and the empire state building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.2
    Old Hotel with new management - But still old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This Hotel is still an old hotel, even when so the NH Hotel Group tries to hide it with a new lobby. The rooms are stuffy, sticky, small and old. Not to book again.

    This Hotel is still an old hotel, even when so the NH Hotel Group tries to hide it with a new lobby. The rooms are stuffy, sticky, small and old. Not to book again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Great Location. Old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The TV was so old! We couldn't watch the Tennis matches as we couldn't' read the results. The carpet was dirty. Old fashion air conditioner. The rooms need to be refurbished.

    The location is great. Near to the Grand Station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    great city to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No facilities in hotel ..... no breakfast or tea/coffee facilities in room.

    Great location made it very easy to explore New York. 5 mins walk away from Grand Central Station and 10 mins walk from Times Square. Airport shuttle was great booked through NYC transportation cost £55.00 one way for 4 people and took 1 hour. Due to early flight home the hotel booked a private transfer for us which was $78 Staff at the hotel were great and room cleaned daily. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    OK stay, but I really would not want to stay there again. Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was broke. One of the doormen was rude. The bed was super hard. The website showed breakfast, but they did not have it.

    The location was good considering it was in walking distance to pretty much everything, however, the air was not working and we had a mobile air conditioner in the room. The beds were hard as a rock. The shower leaked even though we tried our best to close it properly. One of the doormen was extremely rude. Other than that, the other staff was very nice and accommodating. I personally would not stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.0
    I would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi was a joke and then better plans were fee based! One could hardly get around the bed without hitting a stand that held the ancient TV. The message light on the phone would never stop blinking, so you never knew if you had a message or not whe returning to the room. The toilet water would run forever if you didn't jiggle it to stop. Handles on desk drawer were broken and the floor lamp leaned 30 degrees. No restaraunt, no exercise room as the elevators show. And lastly, I cannot recall the last time I was in a hotel without coffee in the lobby or a coffee maker in the room. Nothing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    It`s NY, you cn`t be money-heppy here but it`s quite acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel surely needs some modernization, including elevators and conditioning. It`s good to have some food facilities inside the hotel or at least became partners with the guys across Madison avenue

    A great location in the center of Manhattan is extremely good for both business and tourist trips. Even in a heaviest traffics hours you can visit lot of landmarks (and offices but it was not my case) by walking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good value for money if you need to stay at the centre of Manhattan.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The AC is very noisy, needed to turn it off during the night. The room is very old and quite dusty.

    Went for a conference and the location is perfect. Walking distance to Broadway, Korea town, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location, old hotel/less nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny room with no view, loud fans outside and very loud AC. I booked a 2 bed room but got only a single king size bed.... according to staff the booking of 2 single beds is only a referral and not an actual booking.

    Love the location of the hotel and staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    If you want a bed right in the heart of Manhattan it's great - if your after luxury and pampering-no
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally ageing and somewhat tatty - health club closed - room facilities minimal ( no safe - no fridge - efficient but noisy air-con etc...)

    Affordable hotel right next to Empire State - didn't think that was possible🙂 Staff brilliant & friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    The stuff was very nice and the position in the city makes...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't really appreciate the moquette everywhere, and the building is an old building, but overall it was a good experience.

    The stuff was very nice and the position in the city makes easy for you to move around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and easy access to everything in Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lighting at the desk. The carpet was dented, I wish it was cleaned.

    From the bathroom of our room, we could see the Empire state building in front of us. The shower room was renovated and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, A/C, and hot water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room only comes with two pillows and two large towels. The construction noises outside woke us up at 7:15am every weekday. No noise on the weekends, though!

    Excellent A/C and hot water. Bathrooms are updated and nice. The prime location is the biggest draw of this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.3
    Terrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    A- The Communication 1- Email - the hotel did not reply to requests since we got no response concerning our bed preferences, the possibilities of having an early check-in and/or a late check-out or perhaps having the view of the Empire State Building whatsoever. I mean, we were simply ignored; 2- Front desk - apart from two people who we encountered during our stay, most of them seemed to be tired of working with tourists and unhappy about their jobs, which made us feel very uncomfortable to even ask them about recommendations or directions. B- The Suite - the so-called Deluxe Rooms 1- Check-In - We arrived at the hotel at about 11:00 A.M. and asked for the possibilities of having an early check-in. 'We don't have any rooms available now' was the blunt answer received without any other explanation. A card was given with the number of the hotel in case we felt like calling them and checking if the room was ready before 4:00 P.M. - check-in time. We arrived at 4:00 P.M., sharp, and the hotel room was still not ready. >> We were only accommodated half an hour later and when we finally got in the room we encountered the following: 2- Curtains - old. Got stuck to open and close; 3- Bedside table lamp - broken light bulb; 4- Ceiling led spot bulb - broken and pending from the ceiling; 5- Shower - COLD WATER! Yes, COLD WATER! After being fixed, it kept shifting from cold and hot; 6- Shower door - leaked water outside the shower box only to soak the carpet and wet the floor so that you had to dry them using another clean towel in order not to have a slippery floor because the rug couldn't hold it; 7- Bath - COLD WATER AGAIN! ; >> The whole fixing took us an hour and a conversation/complaint with the manager was made. The only compensation for all the problems we had was an offer of a late check-out at 1:00 P.M. We were granted 2 hours.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location - good value for money if you only need the basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The staff was unfortunately not great (not what you would typically find at the NH Hotel group) - in most cases unhelpful, moody and didn't make me feel welcome at all. The common areas doesn't have air-con so lifts and passageways are very humid and warm. The hotel does not offer any additional facilities such as restaurants, gyms etc and not all the rooms are renovated so be sure to book at least the deluxe rooms if you want a renovated room

    The location is great - Times Square and Grand Central is walking distance and public transport is around every corner. Despite the general noise from the streets, the hotel is very quiet. The extra large king bed I had in my room was super comfortable - loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Best location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a gap between the photo on booking.com and the actual room. But eventually it was found very comfortable.

    The location is perfect. Walking distance to everything. Kind and frienly staff to respond to our needs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location, nice lobby, working internet, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Compared to the lobby the room looked tired. Really bothering was the loud whistling air-con during the night. Overall not worth the money, but it is hard to find good deals on Manhattan...

    Good location, nice lobby, working internet, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.8
    Very poor and rude reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were rude, not helpful and only eager to sell tours. The air con in our room was making very loud noises and twice I asked for maintenance to have a look. The receptionist 'Deniz' completely ignored my complaint and after I asked her if she had understood my issue she just shrugged her shoulders and was not interested at the fact that it had kept both myself and my daughter awake most of the night. It was too warm to knock it off, as we had tried on previous nights. Also the doorman was continually smoking in front of the hotel and not once opened the door for us. Very unprofessional and a bad reflection of the service at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a pity as the location was very good and central !

    The room was clean and the cleaning staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    Poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Queen Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave us a room below the standard we had paid, the smoke alarm beeped all night, the room stank of curry, the bathroom door didn't close properly, the carpet was worn and didn't go to the edge of the room, the tiles in the floor of the shower were largely cracked harboring germs causing it to smell strongly of cheesy trainers which can't be healthy....

    We managed to move a non-refundable incorrectly booked night to the night we needed to stay thanks to book.com, great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    asked for twin beds and didn't get them first night, then had to pay for the privilege of upgrading to another room with twin beds

    location is great for Manhattan

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    2.5
    Look Elsewhere !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived said they do not honour room choices, 24 year old son with me so told them get me the twin room I booked and not a double bed. Got room later, filthy throughout needs a deep clean especially drawers for clothes which I did not use as looked like lower body hair in drawers. Staff using bad language behind the desk totally unprofessional.

    This is a Total skip

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee, tea and kettle in the room

    Air conditioning was very useful. Staff friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to 5th Avenue and Empire State Building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is about to be closed down for renovation and one can really feel it. Everything was very old, there was paint coming off from bathroom ceiling, the aircon was ancient and extremely loud, etc. But then it was still good value for money given the location.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Good location, very tired rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Get rid of old Hotel TV's with porno services and replace with new flat screen TV's. Provide a mini fridge or minibar.

    I liked the location. But this hotel is very dated. Dark rooms, with no comfortable seating, and noisy window type airconditioning tha cycles on and off every few minutes. Shower accessible in high sided bath tub . Very low old toilet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Empire State
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located. Possibly you'll be able to see the Empire State Bldg outside your window. Don't expect too much so you'll be happy in there :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Everything was nice and clean, localization right by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personnel was generally very helpful except of one a bit rude man that was stowing our luggage into the luggage room (we used it after check out). No restaurant or a water supply. Air conditioning outside our window was loud, but as it is in a lot of New York City spots

    Everything was nice and clean, localization right by the Madison Avenue helped explore major parts of the city without taking any public transportation or cab. Good for short stays and exploring middle parts of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Room was large enough for two people in two double beds AND you could walk around without bumping into each other. Staff was very good. Location was excellent, near GCS and subways as well as walking distance to theater. Good coffee shop for breakfast just on corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location - no frills!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some days 1 towel, some days 4. Insanely hard beds. Clean & basic - I would stay again because of the location.

    Fabulous location, close to everything but just out of the Main Street madness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    3.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of room very small. Terrible amenities. Most things falling apart in the room. Not worth the price. Online photos are very misleading. Will not be going back.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    A great value with great staff and great location!
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television was a bit old, but acceptable.

    The staff was knowledgeable, helpful, quick at finding good, helpful answers to my questions. Bathrooms are nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Had everything we needed for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some reviews complained about the traffic noise but don't expect anywhere in Midtown Manhatton to be quiet!

    Deluxe Room had a fantastic view of the Empire State building! Bed was comfortable, room was a good size, bathroom was great, individual room temperature control was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: