Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jupiter Hotel 3 stars

800 East Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97214, USA

#63 of 124 hotels in Portland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chill Side Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally small room for family group of 3. Loud noises in courtyard below awakened us past midnight. Attempts to modernize did not mask old facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very loud from the bar downstairs. Alot of loud slamming of stuff all night long. They dis provide ear plugs in our room though. ALSO DIDN'T LIKE THE ADDITIONAL 75.00 16 FOR PARKING AND 60 .00 HOLD I NEVER GOT BACK.

    I loved all the bamboo and the sitting area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was super uncomfortable and room was too tiny for a couple. Ice bucket was found to a plastic waste basket sitting next to the toilet. Yuck.

    Location, Doug Fir lounge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Friday night and the Doug Fir Lounge is HOPPING! The noise level is quite loud, but the property provides a pair of earplugs in case you didn't bring yours.

    The Jupiter Hotel is a lovely property and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very clean as well as the grounds. The Doug Fir Lounge has delicious food and a fun retro vibe. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Chill Side Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young woman at the front desk was not nice and friendly...maybe she had a bad day or she is in the wrong career.

    Kitschy decor, fun layout with a restaurant/bar onsite. Easy to get to off Burnside on the Eastside of the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building with lots of noise between floors, and live bands on weekday nights, so overall, too noisy for business travel, but probably a great place to party.

    The staff was excellent, location good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking it gave me an option for smoking/non smoking and said I would have a balcony and none of it was accurate at check in. Also, parking should be free...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant is an actual bar that was right below our room so the noise was super loud until about 3:00 in the morning. A friend and I went up for a show and dinner and were surprised to receive condoms on our nightstand. At the front desk stands a manaquin with panties on that say get a room. It’s not a place that I would feel comfortable taking kids.

    It was a cool industrial/ modern looking hotel. Great outdoor space and sitting areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, the updates to the room were just okay, and there were no amenities. It seemed like a developing area with a number of transients in the local coffee shop. We had to pay extra for parking, which seemed surprising for the area. The meal at the adjacent restaurant left us hungry as well as the meat being cold upon arrival. Popular bar on sight that was pretty loud late into the night. It was not a good fit for a mother/teenage son trip.

    The atmosphere around the motel complex was interesting and unique, which is why I picked the motel - to get something different from the average chain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Such a prime location! Really loved the style & vibe of the Jupiter as well - hip and down to earth, but still up to cleanliness and comfort standards. Will totally be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of parking. staff issued more parking passes than stalls. Friday night had to park 6 blocks away. and repeat walk the next morning before checkout. a small ironing board and iron would have been helpful Over priced drinks, a drink discount in lounge would have been nice for guest

    location, staff was friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floors are really thin, so you wake up whenever the person upstairs wakes up. We were in a chill room under the marquee - was actually quite noisy and it felt the quieter rooms were actually round the corner at the back. The Doug Fir Lounge were not as friendly as the hotel. They were fine, but had a bit of attitude.

    Great old building in a really good spot - nice to be away from downtown. Good prices for Portland and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Very friendly employees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Chill Side Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were a bit pricey for what was included (no breakfast or extra facilities). But it was clean and comfortable.

    The hotel is well located near a lot of restaurants, and is a short distance from the Oregon Convention Center. It took me fewer than 15 minutes to walk there. There are also a lot of bus lines that run through the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, the room was full of light from the exterior lighting and you could not block it out with the shades. It felt like daylight in the room all night-made it very difficult to sleep. Neighbors were noisy until 3am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a non-smoking quiet room but were put in room 203 directly above the Douglas Firs smoking patio. I don’t think that was the hotel’s fault but booking.com’s. We were fine...it was a little loud and we could have called the front desk but we just used the complimentary ear plugs and had a great night’s sleep!

    Second stay for us and we’ll be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was loud all the time. If you are in Portland to do anything that requires a good night's sleep - then do not stay at the Jupiter Hotel. They provide earplugs which is kind but you can still hear everything your neighbors are doing. Also don't have an iron in the room which could be necessary for business travelers.

    Great location - close to public transportation to get downtown and walking distance to lots of fun bars and restaurants. Fun environment and friendly staff who were accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioner/heater made our room have a humidity to it, but was tolerable. Also had to run the heater most the time since the room was a bit chilly ( it was the middle of February). Wish we had a mini fridge, microwave or steam kettle to keep and heat food in our room.

    Love the chalkboard aspect of the room so we could doodle all over the place. The Doug Fir which was a restaurant attached to the hotel had an amazing fire pit area outside where you can go drink and mingle with other residents of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok it was noisy, not chatter in the background noisy, i mean a house party in your room noisy, the walls had no soundproofing whatsoever, in the beginning I thought the room door wasn’t closed, nope it was shut alright just super loud. Got woken up at 4am with loud deep house music, thankfully our kid slept through it.We couldn’t get into the restaurant/bar as we had a minor. I tried getting my toddler a meal to go and the answer was we don’t do take out during happy hour, I wasn’t even ordering from the happy hour menu. Not sure on the why? No take out containers at happy hour? Lost revenue on beer while I was waiting, the revenue for the meal and one pissed off customer, silly policy at best

    Location is good, beds are super comfortable, front office staff were very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly classed-up motel in an up-and-coming part of East Portland. The property and the neighboring restaurant definitely cater to a hipster vibe, but overall the property was quite dingy, the beds were uncomfortable, and the room was quite small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely noisy...just gotta expect that with the club on sight. Not a huge negative as long as you just know that. Also, not a particularly family (kid) friendly neighborhood unless you get on the max or drive. Lots of adult restaurants, bars, clubs.

    It was kind of quirky and unique. It had a lot to offer in a compact space. There is a very nice tented reception area, as well as a quiet business room. Restaurant on site. Rooms are small, nice and efficient. No microwave or fridge, but they're clean and appealing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the rooms to be a bit tight. The room I was in was dominated by the bed. If you only need a place to shower and sleep, it is more than adequate.

    The Jupiter is in a great location. The staff is friendly, helpful, and know the area well. Easy to get to and central to a lot of Portland's attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is always hip and fun. They were having trouble with their front desk computer system when I arrived but the staff took it in stride and got me checked in without it! Love it when people don't become paralyzed when computers go down! Thumbs up for that!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room was much smaller than i was expecting but it ended up being fine since we weren't in the room much

    The bed was very comfortable. The food places we wanted to try were within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk.. day time staff, is usually not very nice friendly... but... its 100% still worth it.

    You feel free like your at home.. staff does not run around trying to bother you. Your on vacation let your hair down.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I️ wish there was a little continental breakfast, like banana, oranges and bagels to go along with the morning coffee. That would have been perfect

    The room was very comfortable and clean! The staff was awesome, super nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a deal breaker, but our only crisis was a migraine attack and it would have been wonderful if there was at least advil available to purchase somewhere in the hotel, but we were told to go down to the drugstore ourselves (which we ended up doing at 2am out of desperation). The hairdryer was absolutely useless - make sure to bring your own.

    We were upgraded to the 'chill' side (quieter) upon our arrival, which was a nice gesture. The Doug Fir has great breakfast. The staff were super helpful in suggesting nearby places to go for food & drinks, and checking in & out was very easy. The underground parking was secure. The chalkboard doors are a fun idea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no guest parking available. Was accommodated by leaving our car in the loading spot, but worried about it all night as it's in front of the very active late night bar. It worked out but was a cause for concern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time around, the restaraunt/bar was closed which is part of the appeal for me of this hotel, they also started constructon IN the hotel at 7 in the morning which made it very difficult to sleep. I have stayed here about 7 times, and for the priced I expect a lot more from this place, left very disappointed after my engagement trip with my fiancee.

    I always like the beds, staff are always very kind and I like the location. The underground parking is also convenient and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    construction/noise from their new addition/bldg lounge closed no fire pit (cuz lounge closed) room ridiculously humid room lighting

    location. initially, convenience to lounge/fire/nightlife.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of people complain about the noise here but we didn't find it a real issue at all. We stayed in the "chill side" in November and it was pretty quiet (the only noise was other hotel quests walking past the window talking loudly) , however I can imagine that during the warmer months people would hang out in the courtyard which is in the centre of the rooms. So if you are a light sleeper do take that into consideration. I wouldn't recommend staying above the Doug Fir lounge unless you like partying. The room would get quite cold. The heater was good but very loud. You can always request extra blankets.

    The room had super comfortable beds and a modern interior. Fun quirks like a chalk board door. Bathroom was spacious. Clean throughout hotel. Nice touches of getting beer/wine/doughnut packages sent to you room before check in. Decent free wifi. Easy to get to from airport. Good transport links close by. The hotel is in walking distance to the heart of Portland. Staff were friendly and helped us when our key cards stopped working (twice) Onsite ATM, bar and laundrette.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift or elevator so if you're not on the ground floor, quite hard work to get up to the rooms. Bar/music venue below hotel was great if you wanted to join in but loud music played until very late, although the staff did warn me about this when I got there. Not ideal for a business trip.

    Fun, quirky hotel with comfortable bed, room was spacious. Bar/music venue 'Doug Fur' beneath the hotel was great fun! In a good location to explore Portland from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a mini fridge to keep snacks at correct temperature. A

    Comfortable and sheek accommodations. Quiet and peaceful shared patio. Friendly staff. Good place to share time with friends after a show.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would rather have been further from the bar, but not a major issue as I live in a city so used to background noise

    Comfortable room with everything I needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small. Poor lighting. We didn’t like to have the curtains open because people were constantly walking by the windows.

    The location was great and it’s nice that they have a restaurant / bar available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chill Side Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not it’ target demo. This is not a hotel for your parents! Cool for those who want a place to crash near nearby music and clubs, but not for older adults looking for a nice night’s rest or a comfy getaway.

    It was near a nice restaurant and convenient to a very hip part of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I actually really liked this place, but I can’t stay there again because the bed was so uncomfortable I couldn’t sleep and it left me exhausted and I satisfied. The mattress was a combination of mushy (soft but not springy - it just mushed down) and lumpy. Even the pillows were rock hard.

    The simple but fun decor, very clean room and bathroom, walking distance to fun stuff like donuts, nice staff...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of carpet. Unable to adjust temperature of shower. Freezing cold then scalding hot. Condom on nightstand was completely inappropriate.

    Restaurant on Property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly, room was clean and comfortable and despite being right next to the Doug Fir, relatively quiet. They provided ear plugs and other great amenities. Doug Fir food is great and you can get it delivered straight to your room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff was un-attentive, the room was dirty, the bed was very uncomfortable and the room has a strong chemical odor used in cleaning- basically a cheap motel with some fresh paint. The bar is SO loud outside I had to sleep with ear plugs and the AC on to drown it out

    Overpriced, loud and dirty I wouldn't recommend this to anyone

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chill Side Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The number of outlets!

    Fun retro hotel. We were in the "quiet" section...and it was quiet. Neighborhood was filled with eateries and brew places. Easy to get to and parking was fine. I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's Portland, all the hotels are overpriced, so it's not really a complaint, but I felt the price was pretty steep. Again, it's that way throughout the city so I can't fault the hotel. The price was competitive with other hotels of the same quality. Also, the bar that shares the property can get noisy late. Didn't bother us too much but the hotel probably isn't great for families with small kids.

    The staff was amazing! Very friendly and they do whatever they can to help their guests. We had a small issue with noise in the room next to us late at night, called the front desk and problem was resolved in minutes, can't ask for better service! Bed was comfortable, wifi solid and the location was awesome! The bar/restaurant/lounge that is attached is a fun spot. I would definitely stay here again because of the staff though!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A few complaints was that the room I got was the closest room to the patio bar that was apart of the club/lounge at the Douglas Fur. I went for business and needed to sleep. I didn't realize that when the room name said "patio bar" means it's right next to the patio in a lounge/night club. I thought there was a patio attached to the room to relax and sit outside. I don't want anyone else going for business or needs a quick night sleep to go through what I did. When I asked to be moved somewhere else I was told by the front desk staff "we can't move you because that is the room you booked however I can provide you with ear plugs". Of course I would need the ear plugs if I had to stay there. I wore them but it didn't drown out the sound to much. The lounge/night club is extremely popular with lots of people every night. Plus the lounge was playing really loud music and was a thumping base. I came in really late flight, I was hungry and asked about food. You're able to order food from the Douglas Fur and the front desk staff encouraged and told me about it that they had a full menu. However make sure you order before 10pm otherwise you're out of luck and the kitchen closed. The only thing available was the appetizers and I did order this but the food was really bad. Also the carpet in the room was extremely ruff. It was like the carpet that you put out side. I actually had to wear my shoes in the room.

    The room was clean. Design was modern and interesting. They have wine and water for purchase in the room. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was comfortable enough. I was a little disappointed in the high moisture level in the air in our room. The AC unit was pumping so hard the entire room felt damp with humidity. They are also experts with a wide angle lens. I expected the room to be on the small side but this went a bit far for the amount that was being charged. The other reviews were not exaggerating. I knew this going into it but it's definitely a remodel on a cheap motel to make it more appealing/quirky. I can respect that but won't justify the price of the room compared to my stay at Hotel Rose that was $75 less a night and had a very long list of amenities including robes, cupcakes, and most importantly one of the best nights of sleep I have ever had with their dual duvets.

    The staff in the lobby was very friendly. Stopped for a chat a couple times during our stay. The coffee was pretty decent quality in the lobby. I liked the overall feel of the place. Very quiet during the day. Although a bit louder at nighttime with the public bar but with the AC on I couldn't really hear them, just a rumble from the music.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given were directly opposite the public restrooms. However, the staff did happily change this when we asked them to. The air conditioning was very noisy and disturbed our sleep.

    Location in Portland. Great cheap laundry facilities. Parking was convienient (if expensive).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I can say I didn't like.

    Ambiance was charming. Beds comfortable. The decor was artsy and the grounds outside were unique and fun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were small and uncomfortable, rooms were bare boned, no amenities in room like small fridge to keep drinks cool. Ice was a long walk from our room.

    Very close to everything, great atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small rooms, my partner kept hitting his leg on the end of the bed, beds were to low to the floor. you could hear everything coming from the up-stairs.

    location to the Moda Center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Jupiter Hotel is more of an event space, than a place to sleep and recharge. We picked the Jupiter because we like funky, boutique hotels and its proximity to downtown Portland. Despite choosing a room on the "chill side" of the structure (away from the Doug Fir Lounge), we had to endure HOURS of obnoxious amplified noise coming from a private party taking place inside a tent within the hotel's outdoor courtyard. When we called the front desk to complain, they assured us the party and dj would be over by 9pm. Just use my earplugs, they suggested. Really?! Post 9pm, the party was still so loud we called the front desk again. They told us the party would be over by 11pm - the party extended beyond that time. Had the hotel notified me in advance, we would have gladly booked a room elsewhere. As we asked around, other hotel guests were also furious. A business owner near the property confirmed that this is the hotel's MO. Not cool, Jupiter!

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were comfy, atmosphere relaxed. Location great for walking to good food and shops. Quick jaunt across the river. Underground parking was super convenient. Kids were happy, we were happy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing is there to like about this property. A place to avoid.

    The property is located at pretty average place and it is damn expensive for this sort of facilities you get anywhere in US. The room was so small you can barely move . Bathroom is congested. Absolutely No amenities(Micro-oven,refrig,coffeemaker etc) . No views. Coffee available only from 6 am to 9am. No parking. If you are lucky enough you can get through their underground parking and get charged for $15. They say its included in your stay but not. Beware.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Chill Side Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eco-friendly is great, but the lighting in the rooms was that bluish fluorescent kind. The bed was nice but nothing especially notable. Stay here more for fun and the killer location than comfort

    Really cool venue nearby and good food at the restaurant. The eco friendly amenities are always a plus!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff. Great restaurant and music venue. Love the chalkboard doors for the rooms. Squeaky clean rooms, and I'm picky so if they pass muster with me then it's good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant courteous staff. Super pet friendly! Nice art in the lobby. We stayed there because we had tickets to a concert at Revolution Hall, which is just 10 min away by foot. Neighborhood felt perfectly safe at 10:30pm when we walked back to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chill Side Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our favorite things were the huge mural that formed the back of the open air closet area. The great food at the Doug Fir restaurant. The gathering areas (both indoors and outdoors) where we were able to sit near a fire with friends and a drink from the bar and talk into the night. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The Jupiter is not your typical hotel so it is the perfect place for those of us who enjoy pushing the envelope a little.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise due to bar hangout area outside

    I really enjoyed atmosphere and Doug fir lounge and the chalk doors were also memorable. Great staff very helpful and make you feel at home I couldent ask for more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a fridge and complimentary waters. Maybe a hot tub would be nice? Didn't like the construction to the hotel as I was sleeping.

    Heater and air conditioner worked well. The chalk was fun. Nice comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room is very small. No window to open so it could get stuffy. No vegan milk for coffee. The card key to the room kept stop working even though we kept them away from any magnetic, cell phone etc.

    Location is good. Free coffee in the morning. Good staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished they hada hot tub or pool because the bathtubs are standard.

    They brought us anything i requested, champagne flutes and when the pullout bed didnt work, they gave us a second room for free.and we kepr our room also. Courteous staff. No request is scoffed at.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for the price, no fridge or microwave to store or heat anything. When I can go to a hotel and pay 70 dollars a night and have more in my room it's pretty sad

    The bed was comfortable, but the photos of the rooms on the site make the rooms out to be bigger and better designed. I've been to cheaper hotels that were far bigger with the same amenities. The location of the hotel was the best part about it for what I was doing in Portland.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Odd room shape; had to side-step the AC going past bed or would hit shin on bed (weird but doable; I'm not skinny). Tub faucet had major leak but water stayed in tub (told desk). Only two outlets in room for chargers; one was controlled by light switch which also controlled main light in room. Other outlet UNDER desk and awkward to crawl under.

    Retro AND modern look without trying too hard; earth-friendly toiletries. Close to Revolution Hall. Free parking in garage (they let you unload your car to room before moving it around the block).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and I felt like I was not getting my money's worth. The party noise outside the hotel made it difficult to sleep, which was a disappointment since I was working close to 10 hour days on this trip.

    The staff was really nice, and the bed was comfortable. I was travelling for business and had to ship some supplies to the hotel, which they handled very well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i wish i would've stuck with the bigger room when i first planned out my trip. but, that was my bad and yours.

    everything and every place i went to, was a quick find from why i was at.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cold in the room when we first arrived but after turning in the heater it was perfect.

    The bed was ridiculously comfortable, and the layout and design of the room was so cool! We had fun drawing on our door with chalk, that was super cute and unexpected. Loved everything about the layout, decor, and general ambiance of the hotel. Such a chill friendly vibe!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough power outlets; zero on the night stands. No fridge. Shade on one of the windows didn't close properly. Noisy.

    Bed was comfortable. Was upgraded to a larger room. It was a fun environment.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge/bar outside my room, a little noisy. Prices a little too high for room of that size.

    Rooms were very cool, loved the chalk board doors. Location was perfect, private parking, and staff were all great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the Jupiter has a great vibe. Staff was friendly, room was comfortable and decor was awesome. Location was great for going out. We will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overly scented room (a bit nauseating). Loud construction in the room next to us. Poor internet connectivity. No mini fridge to keep drinks or food cold (Would've been a nice amenity).

    Comfy bed. Nice shower. Nice decor. Love the Doug Fir Lounge and surrounding neighborhood. The front desk was really kind to us and understanding when we weren't really happy about our stay. The place has great potential and I've had fun there in the past, I just think it wasn't the best experience this time around.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in room amenities were scarce. No ironing board or place to put luggage. Room was clean and in good shape but it is a bit small!

    Lively location. Can come back and have a night cap at the doug fir, along with some good food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bar Patio Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skater on the wall :/ two women, one's 40th birthday... felt like a teenaged boys' room. No coffee maker, mini fridge

    The beds! The four agreements

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The initial room I was given was much too small. I was fortunate that they had a free room of reasonable size which they moved me to. If they were fully booked and could not change my room I would have left immediately. Based on this I would not recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quiet Side Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vending machines. No refrigerator in the room.

    Loved the chalkboard door. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Great location if you're attending a concert at the Doug Fir Lounge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First hotel ever that has put a condom ON the night table. Photos of room, while accurate, are misleading in the sense that I was surprised that this "hotel" is really a jazzed-up MOTEL from the 1950s. No way to escape the noise from the outside bar. (Though the noise did stop, as promised, by 2AM.)

    Restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish all rooms had a refrigerator, & microwave. The drapes could have been much better in terms of blackout quality.

    The entire complex (venue, restaurant, etc.) in the same place. No need for cabs or walking far. The corner, upstairs room overlooking the patio was very nice. We really like the chance to choose between the "party" side or the "quiet" side. The 2 am noice curfew is nice & reasonable too. We really liked the festive environment, & the ability to be able to party a little without unnecessary/unreasonable complaints.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are pretty small.

    Unique motel type lodging with a very comfy bed in a prime location. We could walk everywhere - boutiques for shopping, dinner and to breweries. Very tasty breakfast, lively bar scene and laid back patio, plus a music venue! Staff from bartenders to front desk were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bar Patio Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed we had in our room was like a rock (backs are still stiff!!!), our entrance smelled of old alcohol, and the room was right next to the lounge that was open till 2am. The room was very small, and the cleanliness was also questionable The staff was good enough to give us a slight discount on account of all this, but even at that rate, we didn't feel we got our moneys worth.

    The location was walking distance to most of the downtown highlights, and the staff was very nice to deal with.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Jupiter Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: