Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 3 stars

2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, HI 96761, USA

#17 of 31 hotels in Lahaina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 992 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    Good part of the beach to stay on.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated hotel, from the furniture to the lobby to the lounge chairs. Also seems like a geriatric population of hotel guests. Wayyyy overpriced for the quality of the hotel

    Good part of the beach to stay on.. water is less rough than a few miles south in Lahaina

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable. Nice beach and grounds and nightly entertainment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bags stored on sidewalk for many hours awaiting room to be ready. Very long walk to room. Tea instead of coffee please. Room was very clean but was not refreshed until very end of day - wasn't great when we needed to spend time in room during day (there for work).

    Staff in restaurant and most of reception were great. Lots of breaky options. Very large room and bathroom with nice toiletries. Enjoyed the nightly entertainment at sunset.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    A 3 star hotel at best but on the whole the stay was enjoyable. The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Inadequate facilities for tea coffee making. Machine provided was very limited. Would have preferred a kettle, a greater selection of tea and the ability to make our own plunger coffee. Some plates would also have been useful. Restaurant was very basic and the food and service were ho hum. Apart from a few meals we went elsewhere for breakfast and dinner.

    Ground floor ocean front room was a great location and the room was generally comfortable. Close proximity to Whaler Village and other hotel restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    I really love the staff and the location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like were the high prices for food and drink, but that is to be expected. It is Maui of course.

    I really love the staff and the location is perfect. The room was cleaned every day with plenty of fresh towels, especially for the beach. The nightly hula shows were fun and entertaining.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    We had stayed here before and when we decided to go to Maui again, we didn't hesitate to book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole experience, from checking in to checking out, everything is so easy and relaxed. It's situated n such a great spot and the beach is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    - Location, sandy beach with no urchins or rocks/coralls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Awful wet/damp smell of the room. It appears it was in the Molokai building room, while later, when we were moved due to the high surf to the Lanai building, we found out that there is no this smell in the room. I could not believed that I paid extra for the ocean front room with that terrible smell.

    - Location, sandy beach with no urchins or rocks/coralls. - Close to the Black Rock Beach with reef fishes - ALL staff was extra welcoming. - Front room view - Close to the shopping/restaurants plaza - West side, seeing sunsets every day is great! - I felt safe during the hurricane Lane, staff was updating us with the room phone voicemails with the latest news.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Stay was pleasant largely due to location to beach and village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenity needs a serious renovation. We are told it's very 'Hawaiian' which is true of the staff however the amenity from the pool to the rooms are in need of a serious upgrade.

    Property was right on the beach, lovely shaded gardens and close to Whalers Village, golf course.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Would go back for lower price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Breakfast buffet: not much variety during our 7 night stay - Tiki Grill: a bit pricey for the type of food they serve - Parking spaces are too tight (even for a Ford Fiesta hatchback)

    - Location: Easy access to beach, walking distance to Whaler's village - Staff: Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Awesome Hotel, I will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is the rooms is a little dated.

    Absolutely loved my stay at the Kā’anapali Beach Hotel! Sure the decor is a little dated and it’s probably due an upgrade, but otherwise everything was perfect! My room was large and very spacious, the grounds on the property are beautiful and very well maintained. There are lots of mature trees with lawn chairs underneath, and it’s easy to feel like you’re alone, even with lots of other guests around. The pool is a little small given the size of the property, but the hotel is on the beach which is beautiful and lovely to swim in. The restaurant is great and reasonably priced, the breakfast buffet is also good value. The luau on Mondays is awesome and the food there is delicious, you definitely get your money’s worth. The hotel is one minute’s walk away from Whaler’s Village which has good shopping and great restaurants, you can also get a bus from here for $2 to Lahaina Town which is another beautiful little tourist trap down the coast. I recommend staying at this hotel to anyone, it’s perfect for a solo getaway as well as a honeymoon or family vacation. The hotel offers lots of little things like the Welcome Breakfast, Hula Lessons, and the Goodbye Ceremony that really make you feel included in the hotel community. On the day you check out you can also book a slot in one of their ‘check out’ rooms so you can enjoy the beach and then shower and get changed before heading home (this is free of charge).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the Molokai wing, this is a 3 story building so be ready to walk stairs. Rooms were outdated and we noticed cockroaches in our bathroom. Hard to control the a.c. it is old style , no temp setting only lines. We also had problems with the door locking system and on the last day the keys failed completely, so we had to get the bellboy to unlock our room. Charged for parking was also another negative for us.

    Garden area was beautiful, ocean beaches clean and easy 3 minute walk. A snorkel area near some cliffs is 10 minute walk where you can see tropical fishes. Breakfast buffet was plentiful but changed only a little every day. Every night from 6-9pm they have live music. They did have a couple of pay washers and dryers on site so if run short you can wash your clothes. Rooms come with beach towels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Fun on Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything-great vacation spot!

    Great location! Great beach and snorkling! Easy walk to restaurants and shopping-great location for families too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with a Hawaiian feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Originally we booked a partial ocean room after reading positive reviews. However our room overlooked the neighbouring hotel and seemed dismal and depressing (it did have an ocean view from the rather windy, bleak lanai). Luckily we were able to upgrade to an ocean view for $25 per night. So worth it and thanks to the staff for finding us a room in their busy season. After that we loved the hotel and our beautiful view. Great beach and very close to buzzy Whaler's Village. Loved the grounds with lots of shade trees, wonderful atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    The people were amazing and the location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two buildings on this property. We were in the old building. The room was dated and had some visible mold. Wife hacked her way through the the two nights we stayed there. The pool is to small for such a big hotel. Pool needed better maintenance to maintain cleanliness

    The people were amazing and the location is great. The little send off ceremony when you leave is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A long drive to airport and Road to Hana, but staying on the west side of the island is worth it.

    The hotel is walking distance from Black Rock which is a great snorkeling area. We took a guided tour, but you can easily snorkel on your own (we actually did both). It's also walking distance to Whalers Village for good shopping and restaurant selections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing as well as activity in sight seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, Satisfied with staff. Facilities good

    Very comfortable Beach walk along beach, to other resorts and to whalers village with shops and restaurants . Good family friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    The Most Hawaiian Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Love KBH as it is the most Hawaiian hotel. The grounds are beautiful and love the entertainment every night. The rooms are a bit outdated but love the footprint of the hotel, the size of rooms, location, the views, the staff and Hawaiian culture and activities. I recommend getting breakfast included with your room as it is fabulous and a nice way to wake up. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    25th Wedding Anniversary trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we could really say here, is that it could do with a freshen up. The carpets and wall coverings are in need of replacement. However none of this was a deal breaker or would stop us staying again. The wild birds in the restaurant were annoying but this was, apparently, this is an issue all over the island.

    Everything. The staff, the location, the atmosphere ( the 'Hawaiianess')were all excellent. Never in my life have I wanted my hotel stay to not end more than here. My wife and I have decided that this will not be our last visit to this location. Roll on the next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Great a e to stay for a short time
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small & dark, lzmp by bed didnt work asked twice for it to be repaired- perhaps message wasnt past on to rigbt person

    Handy location. Friendly staff, older style hotel but pleasant, nice surroundings, domestic staff lovely. Would have liked to stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Loved the location enjoyed the beach and property ,however would not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old... Little musty... Update on rooms and bedding

    Honestly just nice enough for one night stay before heading to Hana where we stayed 4 nights.... No problem in particular just enjoyed a more down to earth home feeling ...resort property was nice.. Accomadations lacking ( maybe due to budget price) but coming from so cal I can stay in lovely place with amenities at same price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    This hotel was at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was outdated; very old furniture. There was no air conditioning anywhere in the premises. There was no elevator available in the buildings. For $50 more, we stayed at a true five-star hotel; we only stayed here one night. This hotel is not worth your money. Especially if you are looking forward to comfortable vacation.

    This hotel was at a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    Look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is at least thirty years old and shows every day of it- dated decor and in desperate need of a makeover. The outdoor furniture is old, the carpet is stained with cheap fittings throughout. On the first morning we were treated to a rather ordinary complementary breakfast in an adjacent hall in order to sit through a 30 minute presentation of available services/ excursions. Very unnecessary. My advice to the managers is to renovate this property asap as I don’t think a cent has been spent on it for decades.

    There wasn’t a great deal to like about this property. Location was the best feature, being close to The Whalers Village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location and grounds but tired room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had not been updated since the 60’s Bathroom cleanliness was not great - it looks like there is close to 60 years of dirt embedded in the tile grout.

    Great location on Kaanapali Beach. It’s close to the Black Rock end which is great for snorkeling. The hotel grounds were expansive and contained a number of large trees which provided ample shade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Great after room was addressed! Right beside Whalers Village for food and coffee. Loved the beach🌺
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was sick! Old smelled of urine dirty and no elevator. We didn’t even unpack. Second was old no view of ocean lumpy mattress no working air conditioning old non functions doors to balcony and it still smelled. I told them I’d move to a different resort if not placed in a decent room. Finally we got our updated nice room with a great view.

    We asked to be moved twice as our first two rooms were horrible! We finally got a room in the most renovated tower as asked and it was very good. Ocean view of the beautiful beach and Black Rock as well as the pretty courtyard. Once in that room all was good🌺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    The beach is super close and great tiki bar on the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a bottle of wine and strawberries to be in the room before we arrived so I could surprise my boyfriend. We walked in and it wasn’t here, I had to call

    The beach is super close and great tiki bar on the property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing value, location, and staff, but dated room needs work to keep out pests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a bit dated, but that is fine since I wasn't there to spend my entire vacation in the room. However, we did find about 10 roaches in our room (over 5 nights), which was... not great... The shower stall leaked water all over the floor. so we always had to get new towels since any towel would be soaked through after showering.

    The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was fun and there were shows/music every night. The location can't be beat. You can walk to all the parts of Ka'anapali beach and Napili, Kapalua, Kahana are all just a 5-10 minute drive away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room with a door to adjoining room and you could hear every word they said. To be fair they were very loud people.

    Excellent location! Beautiful grounds that are very well kept. The fragrance from plumeria blooming is amazing. We enjoyed all the cultural elements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay here again. It was a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked how friendly and helpful the staff was. The hotel gardens and pool were beautiful and had a wonderful small hotel, very authentic atmosphere. The garden view room was very comfortable and the view was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wowie in Maui!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ran out of time for the things we wanted to do.

    Great staff particularly Jennifer at the concierge desk. Really liked the fact this had the true Hawaiian flavor as a hotel and not like the "big box" shops in the neighborhood. Bought the breakfast package which was probably more food than we needed but it carried us through the day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall - Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms design is dated. Safe in the room is with a key and not a digital code. Acoustic in the room is bad, we could hear conversations from the rooms next door. Coffee machine is in the bathroom - seems like a strange location.

    Very friendly staff. Nice complementary first breakfast. Good location. Treated us with complementary champaign for our honeymoon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    This was our first time in Hawaii and enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was cold even in warmers. The birds made it very distracting and some foods did not have covering. Need more staff in restauraunt to keep buffet clean and stocked with hot food.

    Open area for guest to spread out and sun bathe. Views and room was really nice, bed was so soft and comfy. Staff was very friendly. We loved the lai that hotel gave guest at end of trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    enjoyed it, nice room and grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ask to check out at noon as we were going to do the Sunday Brunch as was told no, had to be out by 11am so they did not get my $100 for 2 breakfast brunches and checked out and eat somewhere else.

    very close to beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Great vibe but average roo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room. Bathroom smelled badly of damp and was tiny. View was of the strip between us and the next hotel (no view). People below us were smoking on their lanai.

    Hotel vibe and free entertainment Pool and garden area was l

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    The views are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An updated coffee pot would be nice.

    The views are wonderful. The room is a bit dated but adequate. The staff is wonderful and the nightly shows are fun. Nice to have a small fridge to store supplies

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Loved our stay and would do it again. Understand why there are so many regulars. Would do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Food a bit pricey, but I understand it is all over Maui. Found ways to economize.

    room comfortable and nicely positioned. Birdsong! Service in all areas excellent. Thanks especially to Suzanne and Jennifer and the several women at check-in/out desk. Food was excellent and the entertainment wonderful. Brown sugar beach beautiful, if a bit vigourous at times while were there, due to high winds. If I was a bit younger... Love the laid back atmosphere and traditional style, just as advertised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    No shuttle. Booking.com misrepresentation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com advertised that the motel had a shuttle and didn't find out until after I paid it is actually a $300+ taxi ride and first night the air conditioning was broken

    The staff was amazing and the beach access was great!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff was friendly and the location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and needs to be refurbished. The room was big but furniture was very old. It is overpriced for what you get.

    Staff was friendly and the location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    at first we were in a really old building with no elevator and I hurt my foot at the beach and they
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    sometimes I felt like I was an ATM just there to pass out money.. i will say the bus boys and the cleaning people were very nice.. the front desk people were terrible.. there was 15 people in line and only one person check in. But I saw other in the back but they were just talking to each other.. not sure if they could have helped but I stood in line for 45 minutes to check in and she was about as friendly as a scorpion

    The included breakfast was very bland for $20 a day each not much flavor in the entree offerings Sausage did not taste like sausage, Orange Juice was good Fruit was only so so.. I would not pay extra for the breakfast in the future cold cereal would have been an upgrade and less than $40 per day.. Parking is also $15 per day and if you want to rent a car at the hotel plan on $100 a day.. ITs a money grab but its the beach and some of that is expected..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location; the staff was very helpful. We had an ocean view room and it was wonderful to have a view of the beach and ocean. We enjoyed the walking path in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time , we didn’t want to leave🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room assigned to us was shocking , cockroaches greeted us as soon as we opened the door plus the bathroom was dirty as if someone used it , we went back to the front desk and requested for a room change , Maria gave us a nice room and we are more than contented after that. All the staff were fantastic, we will definitely coming back to this hotel and highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    It was a very nice stay and I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was right next to the staircase and therefore very noisy. There was one day when I had to ask to have the room made up because no one had come to do it but as soon as I asked it was done

    Everybody was very helpful including the bellmen/valet people and Patty at the activities desk. The kukui lei ceremony was very moving we enjoyed that very much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    We liked it but did expect better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old and bainged up, walls were chipped, there was cobwebs and dust, and smelled real bad like mildew, the breakfast buffet was way overpriced for what you got.

    The property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    My wife uses a wheel chair and all the employees were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 10 nights

    My wife uses a wheel chair and all the employees were very helpful, especially in the restaurant, after a couple of days the waiter assigned us a table and it was always ready.{Loved the Papaya} Our lady who cleaned are room was always on top of our needs {Room 131} and last but not least when we checked in, all of the special things I had ask for were in place} Its so nice when that happens. Oh yes don't forget the bartenders, Dale and I didn't get the ladies name but they were very nice and again with a wife that has walking problems, it was greatly appreciated. hope to see you next summer....Jack and Carol Rutherford

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee pot is placed in the washroom.I haven't seen it in any of the hotels around the world.They should provide buffet breakfast with the stay.

    The location of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Awesome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff not as attentive as I thought they should be. Strange that you have to pay someone other than the restaurant for your drinks.

    Lovely fan in the very cozy room so I didn’t have to use the air conditioner. Beautiful beaches and extra helpful staff!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    It was a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was suppose to be an accessible room but it had accessible problems. The bathroom door handle was really a problem. The shower stall did not have a bar on the wall where it was needed (the open end wall of the stall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great treatment, great location and plenty of fun to be enjoyed nearby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Did not really focus on any negatives. The entrance and lobby may appear a bit dated, what with the old louvered windows and all.......but it just takes getting used to.......just as having to walk up to the 3rd floor because of no elevator. No big deal.

    Appreciative of the 3rd floor vantage point of the Luau Stage area, together with the views of mountains as well as the beach and ocean......a very strategic room indeed! We liked the spacious grounds and the relaxing pool area. The staff was very friendly, and made us feel at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Didn’t want to leave, but wanted Maui to have an island sale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevated tipping suggestions on receipt. Hawaii is expensive anyway but whilst the service was great I don’t want to pay the suggested 23% suggested for it! Parking should be free too and there is a small daily charge for using the room safe. Again should be free

    We were on honeymoon and when we arrived they had put us in the top end room (a bit bigger too I think) And they had left us a card and bottle of champagne in the fridge. Great view, lovely staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Beds were sooo comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Their restaurant had terrible reviews so we never ate there as it was very expensive. So many good restaurants within a short walking distance.

    Beds were sooo comfortable. We had an ocean front room. We had an issue with the room reservation but the desk took care of it immediately with a smile. Housekeeping staff was great. The beach at Ka'anapali is the best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed it very much and will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel although very comfortable and pleasant was a bit dated and tired looking. It could use a slight update in the lobby. The tent over the restaurant looked soiled and old.

    The hotel and grounds were very casual and relaxing. Very Hawaiian feel. Very reasonable z

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not free 15$/day

    Very good location, black rock beach super good for snorkeling, ocean view bedroom at the 6th floor beautiful,clean, staff very kind, close to everything (beaches, shops, restaurants)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice.......but...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear through the walls and the restaurant seemed disorganised.Decor could do with an update.

    Beautiful beach out front. Friendly staff. Great position.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Once in the right room we enjoyed our stay and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get the room we booked and had to query it the 2nd day and be insistent about being moved which was a bit disappointing.

    The bed was comfy and it was lovely hiring a beach cabana for the day and lazing in it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location, but hotel didn't live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very old, uncomfortable hotel. Carpet was stained and dirty, ants in bathroom, no gymnasium onsite, very small pool and no spa, charges a daily rate for use of in-room safe.

    Location, friendly concierge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Pretty grounds, comfortable room, delightful staff & convenient location at KBH
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was on the ground floor right next to the main staircase, so it sounded like a herd of elephants was passing whenever people dragged baggage, etc up and down. Ask for a room well away from the stairs if noise bothers you or you are a light sleeper. Also was not a fan of the disability access bathroom the room was fitted with (but I recognise the need for such facilities for some guests) - water from the shower went all over the floor, including out into the separate vanity area, and I had to mop it all up each time so as not to slip.

    2nd stay at KBH - it certainly deserves its title of the Most Hawaiian Hotel as guests will quickly see. It is not a uniformly bland big chain property as are many resorts in the area, but has a charm all its own, from the very helpful staff and its commitment to promoting Hawaiian culture, to the whale shaped swimming pool and the nightly free entertainment. My garden view room was large, clean and well-appointed with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed the stay other than outdated/old rooms and lack of eating options when it's raining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Moldy smell due to no ventilation for bathroom/shower. Cracks, gaps, paint peeling. Charged for using in room safe. Buildings not connected so when it rains, you get wet getting from lobby or restaurants to rooms. Last day it rained all day/night and they closed the restaurants to move the luau inside - preventing anyone from eating a decent meal unless you purchased a luau ticket. Bought the last 2 sandwiches they have in the fridge to get us through the night.

    Having Ocean front view. Staff was friendly. Right on beach. Easy access to local bus at the Whalers' Village next door which included lots of shopping and eateries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    We are planning our return to Maui in 2019 and this hotel is on our list to revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue was with our first room. My wife was allergic to something in there. The only other thing that could improve the experience would be that coffee and used towels be replenished each day. All it took was a phone call to take care of it.

    This is a nice hotel. The location is great, the staff is great, the tradition kept is a great assest and truly adds to the experience. The response of the night shift was incredible. Especially considering the circumstance. I believe it was Mary Jane at the front desk (forgive me if I have her name wrong) when we needed some big assistance. She couldn't have been more understanding or on top of things. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Kbh is older than the surrounding hotels but t I was very comfortable staying here and would come ba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I didn’t like about my stay was the Bar was closed early and the shaved ice shop was closed during our 4 night stay.

    Location was great! Staff were friendly. Liked our oceanfront view room. Loved the nightly entertainment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed my stay and loved the Hawaiian experience it presents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation and the room wasn’t as described. I thought it would be a big bed and a pullout bed but it turned out to be a small couch that can’t fit my 8 and 10 years old. They were nice enough to get us a cot butby then the room was jammed

    Perfect location with nice and polite staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    2.5
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facility is very outdated and smells musty. There is no usable beachfront. The buildings are not secured at night, so anyone walking the beach path an walk right in to the sleeping facilities. Security was seen called twice in 4 days to incidents in the hotel building. Not worth the high prices when you can stay at the Sheraton or the Whaler right next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    this hotel is difficult for the handicapped. could not get down to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    location of room after requesting facilities for handicapped. walking distance to activities. no table in room.

    brunch, luau, lobby vendors, housekeeping

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were looking for a very Hawaiian feel hotel but this was just run down and old. Looked more like a motel. Reservations were for a two double bed room. They first put us in standard room, they claim, on the right side of the complex without an elevator on the third floor. A man that works for the hotel was sitting at the bottom of the steps but as we walked over to the stairs he got up and walked away. When we got into the room it was so filthy and run down, dirty grout, walls had stains, hallways needed painting..... The shower was plastic with no shelf to put a bottle or soap and the pocket door to the shower did not close or open. My daughter got stuck. Very small toilet shower room. The ceiling was asbestos and covered with dirt. Couldn't clean it or paint over it as that would loosen the asbestos. We complained and got on the left side of the hotel and with a slightly better room. It was in better shape, better ceilings for sure. No one uses bedspreads or pillows anymore as they are germ infested. The beach is deteriorating and it's hard to sit on the beach for that reason. Time to do some major updating of furniture, tile, bedding......They charge enough. The old style feel is nice but it could be an updated version and much cleaner.

    Convenient, nice grounds, decent breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    The housekeeping service-kept room tidy and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior to leaving there was a ceremony and one of the ladies was very rude when we arrived a little late and then made comment” oh well it’s not like your coming back” very judgmental, I was lost for words to say the least!

    The housekeeping service-kept room tidy and very clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    AMAZING 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks wets bit expensive, but we’re in line with the other places in the area.

    The staff was very friendly and nice. Made us feel welcome and valued. Would most definitely stay here again!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but I wouldn't recommend it to family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was damp and had a damp, mould smell to the room. The toilet had an awful noise when refilling the sistern and kept us awake throughout the night.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming, location was great, and the common areas were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice place and location to stay for the price. Close to good restaurants and shopping!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with courtyard view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant, to-go counter, and the snack grill all close way too early in the evening -- even the bar. There is no room service. The food is also too high-priced considering that this hotel is not as swanky as others nearby and no ocean view when eating. We opted to go to the Westin for breakfast for the same price, where the food and the view were amazing. I had a full glass bottle fall out of the little refrigerator that they provide and it broke and cut my foot. They cleaned it up quickly and provided band-aids, but offered no compensation for or to replace the bottle that broke, so they are kind of cheapo.

    The location is great and the view from the room was lovely. The property is on the older side but it has old-school charm that newer hotels lack and it is good for the price and if you do not need a lot of amenities. They provide nice fluffy beach towels for use at the pool or beach. There is a lot of space to be as close to or as far from others as you wish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very outdated. It could use major renovations/decorating. That being said. I would still stay here again. It’s nice, just looks old.

    We loved the Hawaiian feel of this hotel. They do a ceremony on the day you leave and they give you a shell necklace to say thanks for staying with them. Staff was way nice. Great location on the beach. Grounds are kept clean and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location and beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom (shower and toilet area) was very small. The fixtures and décor could use a refresh.

    Perfect location and beautiful grounds. Convenient restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Loved the location and that is why we chose this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are dated and our room did not have a bathtub. The mattress and pillows were fine, but we would have liked to have had a bedspread that is washed for every guest (the white type that most hotels have gone to).

    Excellent location--right on the beach and walking distance to Whaler's Village and Black Rock. The grounds were very nice and the friendly Hawaiian hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    The most "Hawaiian" hotel on Kaanapali.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is the friendliest hotel on Kaanapali beach. The resort is super clean, restaurant good, bar serves great drinks and all the staff are very nice. We love it there!!! Our room was in the Kauai tower which had a nice view and updated room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Authentic Hawaiian feel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it is one of the older properties it could use some upgading because I didn't think the price per night matched the value. The buildings have 2 floors with no elevator access. Didn't like the fact that I could hear the conversations of the occupants next to me, or their shower running.

    Location to beach, Whaler's village.. Can catch a shuttle that runs around the Kaanapali resort area, and to Lahaina. There was a lot of lawn area to relax or play around in ( throw a frizbee or ball, sun bathe) . Close walk to beach. There is an authentic Hawaiian feel. Also the morning singers were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    nice but will not be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 2 nights

    its really lovely but the breakfast was bad, you have to pay extra for bacon. Its really weird as well that we were the only young couple.

    it was close tolck rock, nice view from our partial ocean view room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and great value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool, and there was birds and bird poop around the eating area of the restaurant.

    The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, the hotel was close to amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Partial Ocean
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We Love the atmosphere of the place and accessibility to the beach. The staff is beyond friendly and always make you feel welcome. This is our fourth time staying here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Very nice because the property is small and only holds about 400 guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we were given, room number 331, in the Molokai Buidling was right next to the stairs and it was very noisey. I had to buy ear plugs in order to sleep through the night! They do allow smoking on the property in certain specific locations, but I have a good nose and I could smell it even when we were far away from the smoking area and hanging out on the lawn and pool areas.

    The staff makes you feel like family. The Tiki Bar made you feel like you were back in the 60's!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Absolutely great location but very tired venue!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is tired and outdated. From the old plastic and steel lounge chairs to the lack of available plug-ins in the room, it was a trip back to 1980! Even the entertainment outside our room until 9pm each night was tired!

    We enjoyed the Hawaiian culture that was prevalent throughout the venue. We also enjoyed the entire, friendly staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ka'anapali Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: