Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kahana Beach Vacation Club 3 stars

4221 Lower Honoapiilani, Lahaina, HI 96761, USA

#46 of 61 hotels in Lahaina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize we would get a Murphy bed and a pullout couch for the night. We woke up with backaches. I should have researched it more but saw a pic with a real bed and thought that's what we were getting.

    The view from the balcony was nice since it looked out at the beach. Kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foldable beds mattresses were not super comfy, but the rest was good

    The view was great, good kitchenette (nice that slat and pepper,kitchen paper are provided), room size after closing foldable beds is good. TV is good.. very nice room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We had a windy week and the sliding patio doors whined all night if the wind was up.

    We had a studio apartment on 5th floor with a very comfortable Murphy bed. The kitchen nook was rudimentary with tiny counters but adequate for two to have a cooked meal. The location is very good and parking while tight, was adequate with overflow at the sister building immediately across the street. The staff were all friendly from concierge to cleaning staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff in the building we were in. Pillows were so small & needed a blanket but couldn’t get one. A little better support and this could have been a great stay!

    Great room. Beautiful view. Staff was having problems due to flooding in the area but coped

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the worst room on the property, literally in the lobby in the reception area next to the activity desk and a few feet from the elevator. The hot tub was a few feet outside our room, so the room was noisy at various hours and someone even knocked on our door late at night looking for someone to check her in. I was told that was the only room available and I would need to check with Booking.com about rooms that they had available. Listing shows rooms with balconies and ocean views, with no mention of the possibility of getting a room in the lobby. There was no offer of moving to a better room unless we paid more than the almost $300 per night we were already paying and moved to the next door property. Room has only a pull-out wall bed and is right next to a noisy refrigerator that runs for 20-minutes at a time on a continuous basis. Also, there was no housekeeping at all during our stay. We didn’t even get a “thank you” when checking out. I definitely don’t recommend this company’s properties.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was not the most comfortable, but was adequate.

    The view was stellar; staff were friendly and helpful; location was perfect for our needs; parking was fine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk shuts down early so had to go next door for linens. Next door staff was rather rude and not helpful. Jacuzzi jets were not working but fixed later on.

    Great location near Kapalua. Most rooms have direct ocean views. Gorgeous and peaceful. Check in/check out was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bathroom is too simple, there is no tub. The counter in the bathroom is too small, we can not put two person morning routine stuff on the counter, such as toothpaste, toothbrush, facial creams, etc. The outdoor pool is a bit too cool, not many guests really like to jump in.

    The location is excellent, it is right on the beach, kitchen in the room is very convenient. Very easy to get towels. We saw turtles on the beach, whales in the sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park bit narrow and not enough spaces.

    We were upgraded to an Oceanview room. The room is for spacious well-equipped. Staff are friendly and there is an activity desk if you want to book any tours on the property. Great Internet access very quick

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I was checking in I had to wait 30 minutes before helped because of no worker at window. Cleaning staff very friendly but the people at the front desk were not friendly at all, acted like they could care less or that they wanted to help you at all (especially the male worker...heavy set hawaiian). The lack of friendliness at the counter was the only thing I was very dissatified with.

    Love that the beach was right off the pool area and that it felt like a private resort and not super busy like a large hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Murphy bed - that's no secret so I was expecting it, and the mattress was good quality, but it was what it was. The pool is really tiny, but hey, there's a huge ocean right outside the door.

    Ocean front - I mean "on the beach". Great area of west Maui. A really nice option if you need a night or two on either end of a time share stay. Awesome sunset views!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds. Pool and facility ok. We also stayed at Kahana Falls across the street and then stayed here for the last couple nights. It would have been worth the extra money to stay at kahana falls.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have absolutely no complaints about this property. Do yourself a favor and stay here. Don't hesitate submitting your "Booking", you won't regret it.

    Beautiful views, friendly staff, very clean. Close distance to food, stores. It couldn't have been any closer to the beach. Everything was great, it couldn't have been any better.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    House keeping came into my room at 8:10 AM without notice. Check out was not until 11:00 AM. I work with the hotel industry and house keeping is supposed to check with the front desk before entering a room to make sure that guests have checked out.

    Good location and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view and free parking!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't anything I disliked

    Right by beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I really did not like.

    The View, clean and cool rooms, excellent staff and great location as always.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a local news paper for purchase in the lobb.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No workout center.

    Its location with a small adjacent beach was nice. The view from the balcony was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small for two people. Slept on the couch. Water took a long time to warm up.

    Location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better view

    Quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv dies never work, the bed fall on my foot

    It was a room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: folding beds, no staff after 5 PM

    Pro: ocean view, large room, kitchenette, right location, nice beach, staff,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the murphy bed was reasonably comfortable but too low for me being 80 years old

    The view was superb, more than we expected

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arival in our room it smelled like someone was smoking in the room. We we able to air the room out to get it out

    I loved the Ocean view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The studio Bed.

    Great location, helpful staff, nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a separate bedroom.

    Loved the ocean view!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs some update. The bathroom tub and bed and sofa bed especially.

    The picture was ocean front room but the actual room was not.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a an ocean view and got the tiny bay area.

    Convenient location, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and parking lot was full

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't the best. Very noisy party that kept us awake.

    excellent view, fast elevators

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was tiny and had a murphey bed.

    Awesome view of the ocean from 10th floor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough parking for the guests

    I like the location and how the Lanai was facing the ocean. it is so relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kitchenware in the kitchen was a little dirty. I would've felt more comfortable knowing they were cleaned thoroughly by the hotel rather than by the previous guests. Cleaning by the hotel was done only once every 4 days! which was a bit too irregular for my liking. Had to make up the sofa bed for myself. The un-made sofa bed looked very unclean.

    Good facilities and close to a range of shops and restaurants. Right on the beach and a great view of the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even with the partial ocean view and nice sized deck, the room faced units next door so it wasn't like the photo online... Get a room that is oceanfront in the building.

    The staff was nice and the room was clean. Like the hot tub. Nice sized deck.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish the bed were a bit softer and more comfortable.

    The hotel is right on the beach and the view from our room was stunning. Our studio room had a full-size fridge, sink, and small cooktop which would be great for longer stays. There is a concierge and many free activities during the week.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was a bit far out of Lahaina. We didn't rent a car so taxi ride was $50 round trip.

    Location on the beach! So beautiful. We even saw whales breach while sitting on the lanai one day.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Minor thing... parking lot stalls are very narrow. If I had a nice car, I would worry. Limited parking. Need to park in the overflow lot next door.

    Fairly quiet. Good place to just rest and enjoy the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The property is called resort so we expected to have a large area including landscaping or nice facility but it is not. The mother hotel - next door - Sands of Kahana seems having everything for a resort. But we were not allowed to use it. For the price we paid almost 400 dollars per day, it is not worth if it is only like apartment building....

    The ocean view room is very nice

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet rooms with Ocean view. Steps to the uncrowded sandy ocean beaches. walking distance to a number of places to eat and a short drive to Lahaina and Kaanipali.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No maid service, had to ask for linens for sofabed even though we booked for 3 persons. No one on duty in lobby in evening; had to debug TV and wireless issues ourselves. Didn't know it was a time share building.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, facilities aren't the most modern and location is not Lahaina or Ka'anapali, but really not that important an issue in my eyes, especially if you have a car.

    Room with balcony to the ocean. What else is needed? Still, they allowed me to check in @12:30 even though stated check in time is 16:00 and arranged a cruise & a luau for me at a good price.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Electricity went out after a rain storm. At no fault of their own, the resolution of restoring the electricity turned out to be problematic. Between temporarily being placed in other accommodations that were less quality than what was paid for and the spoiling of food as a result, this was the only down side of my stay.

    Air conditioned, free wi-fi, and direct access to the beach were paramount. Staff was above and beyond friendly and responsive to answer any questions or concerns. The location was situated perfectly as it was not too far from any of the other cities. I shall definitely return in the future....

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff are not overly friendly or helpful, murphy bed only had 2 tiny pillows but was okay... just wish they could've provided some extra pillows for some added comfort

    Affordable, excellent location, amazing view, large room (we stayed in a studio room that was bigger than all the studios we stayed in on the island). kahana beach itself is accessible from the property and has great, calm snorkelling and swimming water - we stayed at this beach all day! we'll come back for sure.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is challenging. Double-check your bill. We pre-paid one night (for a seven day stay - 6 days owing upon checkout) but we were billed for all 7 days. Took a little discussion but we were credited a day.

    Proximity to beach.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed is not so comfortable

    Room is clean, good location; room has a kitchenette; free parking

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress needs replaced

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Showering/controls

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No gym, pool was really small, no spa.

    Our room was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Murphy bed. No dishwasher.

    The location and views.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had a great ocean view. We could see the whales and turtles from our balcony!!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Painting, remodeling, repairs going on.

    Easy access to local restaurants, farmer's market, balcony.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We enjoyed the ease of late arrival check in. The beach was steps from our condo.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say.

    The staff are the best!!! The view was one of the best on the island. Great location for waves!

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Kahana Beach Vacation Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: