Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beach Boy 4 stars

520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, HI 96746, USA

#3 of 17 hotels in Kapaa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable, particularly the pool bar and Hukilau Lanai, but would have been better w/o construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom of our studio accommodation was very poor. Also see my comments on our June 22-24 stay just prior to this period.

    See my review of our stay from June 22-24,2019. Also, Mike the bartender at the Beach Boy poolside bar is a great asset for the resort. We really missed him on the days he was away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Very nice facility, but earlier attention by cleaning staff would improve experience of travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was in a building undergoing renovation, so entry and egress was messy and housekeeping staff sometimes didn't attend to our room until 4-5 p.m. while we were getting ready for dinner plans.

    Front desk staff was very helpful despite a problem with our reservation, which split up our party into two resorts due to construction at the Kauai Coast. Thought we had the problem ironed out the day before we arrived, only to find that our daughter and her family had been re-booked into a resort in Princeville, the community from which we had just departed after a week at the Hanalei Bay Resort -- our home base in Kauai. Staff was as accommodating as possible and credited our account with $100. Hukilau Lanai is great restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Room was just renovated with new kitchen, living room, bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Room was just renovated with new kitchen, living room, bath and bedroom. Bed was very comfortable Many places would have called our room a partial ocean view rather than garden view Garden is actually an empty lot but we could see the ocean at an angle and hear it from 1205. Pool and hot tub was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    See " What did you like ?"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We have been there several times and have always been pleased with the beauty of the resort, its grounds, flowers etc. The staff has always done an excellent job making our stay a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Grounds are lovely, pools were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms which haven't been refurbished are in great need of it. Our sons room had appliances which didn't work and noisy fans. The maid could have replenished tp so we didn't have to ask the front desk - each time she cleaned we had to ask for tp or soap (3 week stay)

    Grounds are lovely, pools were great. Hot tub was clean and a perfect temperature, staff were responsive. The rooms are spacious, tasteful and simple, kitchen adequately furnished. Location staff and cleanliness excellent. Comfortable beds!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Spectacular property with a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have been nice if we had found the footwash right outside our building sooner! We kept walking down to the adjacent building.

    The location was perfect for going both north and west on the island. The location near the Coconut Grove marketplace was perfect and we were very close to regular grocery stores. The pool and hot tub were great and we loved the hammocks! Having beach access was nice even if it isn't a great swimming beach. We just traveled for snorkeling and boogie boarding. The staff was helpful and the concierge was very nice without being pushy about timeshares.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice location but uninspiring rooms and too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather uninspiring, old and out-of-date bathroom. WiFi not working in the room for 2 days. In total disappointing premises for a 300$-a-night price tag, doesn’t seem to have been updated in the past decades.

    Perfect staff, excellent location with many restaurants nearby. Spacious rooms. Very central location on the island and merely 15 min from the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    This whole trip ,everything we did was great, people all great on island. Road signs hard to follow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a musty smell, Tall toilet in master would be nice. Recliner would be nice too.

    Very excited about location,had a hard time finding it the first time as it was dark and we were very tired,after a lot of stops and security guard at motel beside it we found it. A paper map would have been helpful. But location great,market handy so nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Would recommend 1000 times over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    That the pool bar was only open until 6pm or so...

    fantastic location, right near shopping and grocery. Beach front property! Was great to have the amenities of home in our stay, ie dishwasher, stove, washer/dryer etc...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.3
    No WiFi and told us to call their provider report the issue ourselves. Not coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi. Front desk asked us to call their provider. Bell man didn’t come to pick up our luggage at the appropriate time. They clean up our suite towards the end of our 9 day stay. Doors and tables were sticky. Cockroach in the cupboards. No elevators. $377 per night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Great home base and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was musty and outdated. But they did everything they could to make it right. Bed was very soft so it probably needs to be updated. We did not enjoy some of our interaction with the woman who made the reservations for the timeshare.

    The most of the staff was by far the best part. The things that went wrong were made right and Troy did an excellent job of communicating and compensating us. We opted out of the timeshare presentation. Great for families and the grounds are perfect for kids. The spa was excellent. Wendy was an amazing massage therapist. She literally fixed the pain I have been having in my neck for 4 years.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing and needs a deep cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness for sure. The furniture, bathroom and decor were severely dated and dirty. There was a greasy hand print on the headboard of the bed and the heavy layer of dust on the window valences was gross. Also large stains on the curtains and quite a few on the carpet. The room needed an over haul years ago. The plastic covered chairs had holes worn at the covers. The bath tub stopper didn't work and when I sat down in the tub I could see the mildew under the soap holder. There were no hand towel holders near the sink... And the list goes on. After the fact we found out we were in the last building waiting to be renovated. Very disappointing considering we've spent much less for much nicer elsewhere.

    The concierge was very helpful and gave great recommendations for local food and activities. She was the best part of our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Room was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never cleaned the room and refreshed anything while we were there. Have to go to the front desk for towels etc. When I asked the front desk it was because we weren't staying long enough. I guess we are just used to a daily turn down.

    Room was huge. Full kitchen. Small patio which was nice. Enjoyed the hot tub and the central location. Very friendly staff. Clean weight room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    My husband an I absolutely love the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband an I absolutely love the location. You can easily travel to each side of the island(on separate das of course)because your in the middle travel wise. The hotel itself was beautiful and the views were amazing. I would HIGHLY recommend the restaurant at the hotel. My husband and I both agreed that was our favorite meal on our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Amazing resort perfectly located on Kauai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Beachboy exceeded our expectations. Its always a little disconcerting booking accommodation sight unseen but we were overwhelmed when we drove into the property. It was so beautifully maintained, the gardens, pool and buildings right on the edge of the ocean was amazing. Our 2 bedroom apartment was so spacious so we were very happy to be staying 8 days. The hotel is ideally situated on the coconut coast. If we are lucky enough to come back to Kauai we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location for exploring the island of Kawaii
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check-out time is 10am (which seems relatively early), yet the check-in is only a available as of 4pm. Why can't the check-in reception staff issue parking passes and wifi codes??? Instead one has to queue again to see the so-called concierge whose main role seems to be to advertise time-share.

    Convenient location for exploring the island of Kawaii

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in it was compulsory to see the Timeshare lady who despite us saying we definitely were NOT interested in attending anything to do with Timesharing , continued to try and entice us to go to a talk. It left a bad taste for the start of our short holiday!

    All facilities were well maintained. The villas had good supplies in the kitchen and bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    6.3
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It resembles a motel. It had terrible lighting. The room had a musty smell and the bathroom was, again, motel-like. The pool was okay, and the bar had weird hours. Not what I expected for a 'resort'

    The location was great. They had chairs to view the beach and hammocks to relax

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent Location and Park-like Grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sofa in the villa was supposed to be a pull out bed but the mattress was missing. It made sitting on the sofa impossible as it caved in in the middle when you sat on it. We didn't want it for an additional bed but we would have liked to sit on it. Also, no list of the available channels and one remote needed new batteries to work.

    Great location and the washer dryer in the villa was a lifesaver after the beach and hot weather. Ate in the restaurant, Houkilau Lanai and had a fantastic meal Excellent food, cocktails and a good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    I would stay here again.
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 3rd floor, no elevator and we had lots of luggage and the parking was limited.

    The 2 bedroom condo was perfect for our family , the layout of the condo was very spacious and well equipped. Location was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Absolute paradise. Take me back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some shops on Beachboy complex under reconstruction but no issue of mess/noise and plenty of shops in driving or cycling distance

    Plush and well maintained. Friendly staff and just a fantastic little paradise. We put excellent location due to us using a car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.8
    Everything was great, except, they charged us extra $100,...
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, except, they charged us extra $100, but our receit paper didnt total the extra $100. We wondered why they charge it. When we leave the hotel, I make sure that everything inside the hotel are okay. No damage or what, but when we check our credit card balance, it shows that we spent more than it shows on our bill. Also, they should extend the check out time to 12pm instead of 10am.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Amazing location,really comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only having 3 nights there.

    The king size bed was the best, so comfortable, The bathroom was huge. We had a garden view room with balcony and could see the ocean.Close to shops,great location,only about 15 minutes from Lihue airport. The meals in the restaurant at the resort were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    It was fun and the kids enjoyed it just as mush as we didn't
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything we didn't like

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Comfortable and clean accommodations. Liked beach access and swimming pool. Loved the gym. Just the right amount and type of equipment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    relaxation, calmness and nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Raining

    relaxation, calmness and nature

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff and restaurant were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction and lack of elevators

    Staff and restaurant were excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    We feel like home staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    We love the unit with 2 bedrooms and living room with dining and kitchen area. Also a washer and dryer are provided. Staffs are very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    No daily cleaning service during our 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No daily cleaning service during our 3 night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice couple place courage to be outside good accommodations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patio deck could use a good cleaning

    Nice couple place courage to be outside good accommodations food close by

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Great onsite restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO ELEVATOR...and no mention of it when booking.

    Great onsite restaurant...Hukilau Lanai.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Only 2 room key for 6 occupants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 room key for 6 occupants. Trash bin not visible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels like a retirement home. Everything is so old and outdated.

    Good location. An ok pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach wasn't kid friendly

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry facilities but a laundromat nearby

    Good location, shops walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Price, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Price, location!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great location and very well kept

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful, rooms need updating somewhat, but very comfortable clean place. Beautiful Aloha
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    serving breakfast on property, they dont not happy about that

    pool and locatiion

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Good place to sray
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service, leaky faucet in 2nd bath.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Romance and comfort by the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very comfortable. Could see and hear the ocean. Great location. Near the Fern Grotto, grocers and a great swimming beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Property was gorgeous and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a time share but we did not participate.

    Property was gorgeous and peaceful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    the Kauai Coast at Beach Boy is the best, most relaxing and laid back HQ on Kauai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a little less wind.

    the water view was wonderful. The East side location was super convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    4.6
    Too much chlorine in the hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much chlorine in the hot tub. Bad mattress. Kitchen was not stocked well. No maid service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. It was very out dated and the toilet didn't flush properly

    The location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Third time back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third time back. That should say it allowed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice location, great sunrises, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Attempted timeshare hype.

    Nice location, great sunrises, clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    Unfortunately we were there when the pool was closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were there when the pool was closed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location, nice facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice but a little bit expensive restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice but not deep enough to swim pool.

    Very nice but a little bit expensive restaurant. Very nice surrounding.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Front Desk was very Nice
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC vent kept leaking

    That there was a Barbecue area right by the pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    I would like to stay forever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!!!! Great place!!!!

    The best hotel ever evey one nice and helpfull The sea The apartment Great place to stay in quai

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    great property in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the beach is rocky

    i liked where the property was located, the staff & room was great. would gladly stay again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    Excellent family resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was not comfortable - time for a replacement!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Plenty of room which makes things convenient when traveling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The gym was very poor.

    Plenty of room which makes things convenient when traveling with kids. Kitchen had all apliances. We had washer machine and dryer machine for laundry in our big bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    10
    Large rooms, well equipped kitchen, pristinely clean and on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Large rooms, well equipped kitchen, pristinely clean and on the beach! We were o'k with "outdated" decor as everything looked like new. They are going to renovate. Hope, they would keep it affordable,

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    8.3
    Bed was fluffy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Didn't like waiting till 4pm for check in. Check out was too early at 10 am. It would be better if it was at 11am. We waited around for an hour but room wasn't ready. You could hear footsteps upstairs when you're on bottom floor. Wished they had a keurig instead of a coffee maker.

    Bed was fluffy and comfortable. Hawaiian theme decor was just like beingvat home. Our 2 bedroom suite was spacious and had everything we needed for cooking. We had three lanai doors, one for each bedroom and the other for the living room that led to the court yard.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good location, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV and Armoires they sat in were off-set, made viewing more difficult. It was inconvenient to not have an elevator. We were not aware this was a timeshare. The parking pass should be issued by the front desk and speaking with the timeshare agent should be an option, not required.

    Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, good location, nice balcony, great to have kitchen, liked having washer and dryer.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    6.7
    location close to shopping restaurants and many of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fact that people did not adhere to no noise rule after 10pm .. we were on lower floor and people above us sounded like little elephants or hippos well after 10pm and well before 8am ... and the doors to the units shut very hard (good for security for the unit..but not for the tranquillity of the other guests along the same hallway!) .. no daily cleaning/making of beds given an amenity fee of about $20 per unit per day!!!

    location close to shopping restaurants and many of the sites on east/north coast of Kauai as well as near the airport

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    10
    Staff was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N/A

    Staff was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful! Our suite was better than we expected! Thank you to the staff at Kauai coast resort for making our vacation even more enjoyable! :)

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    8.8
    We had a ground-floor room overlooking the gardens with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hated the 'two-stage' check-in process which involved, in 'stage two' a hard-sell attempt to get us to attend a timeshare event (especially as the front-desk clerk was lovely during 'phase one'). A shame that the restaurant and bar were closed on the one evening we wanted to use them!

    We had a ground-floor room overlooking the gardens with a partial view of the sea - a very relaxing room. The room facilities were excellent. The location is ideal for touring Kauai.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    7.9
    Nice location just by the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too selling-oriented staff when it comes to join activities to a discount and in return show interest in the resort apartment association we had no interest in.

    Nice location just by the beach. Spacious apartment.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.6
    Room design was comfy and well laid out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Do not like the early 10am checkout. Would be nice to have more balcony chairs for four to enjoy view of garden and ocean.

    Room design was comfy and well laid out.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    9.2
    The rooms were spacious and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Asked for early check in, waited 4 hours and ended up checking in at regular check in time which was 4pm.

    The rooms were spacious and well equipped. Lovely restaurant and lounge. Beautiful view of the ocean from our room. Allowed us to check out 1 hour late, 11am.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    Ideal location to tour the island of Kauai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ideal location to tour the island of Kauai. Staff were friendly and were always available to assist. The resort is in a superb surrounding and is idyllic for relaxation and serenity.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful traditional Hawaiian Hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a room initially at the end of the building overlooking parking lot when maintenance was occuring - noise and not much of a view. Mary helped us out and moved us to a better room the next day. Very pleased ultimately.

    Wonderful traditional Hawaiian Hotel; friendly staff, clean facilities, great location, and great value

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.1
    The room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Throughout our stay the parking lot where we were told to leave our car at check-in was undergoing maintenance and repairs. We were constantly asked to move our car. Moreover, the noise and smell from the site was interfering with our son's sleep. The hotel didn't look full at all so they could have easily given us another room or at least explained properly where to park.

    The room was fantastic. It was huge and had everything we needed. There is a little baby beach nearby where kids can safely play. There are plenty of nice local restaurants nearby, and the location of the hotel is great for exploring all sides of Kauai.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    8.8
    Staff was excellent and the property was beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pressure from the Shell Vacation staff to buy a timeshare was intense, and continued throughout our trip. Honestly, it was bad enough that we will not return.

    Staff was excellent and the property was beautiful and meticulously clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.6
    Please note.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you want to find things, you could complain that the kitchen could be a bit better equipped. But you won't be missing anything dramatically. Also it would be nice to have a sun shade on the balcony. But to be fair, we've also never asked for one.

    Please note. The resort is not a hotel! It is a time-share facility and you will book a condo and not a full-service hotel room with included meals and daily service! Overall, we were fully satisfied and loved the stay. If you compare it to a 5* hotel resort, you sure will find things to complain. But it isn't a hotel and we were not looking for one. - Nice condo (ours had 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom and a bigger kitchen/living room) - Beds were very comfortable - Everything was clean - Furniture was "old/traditional" style but very well maintained/new - Air condition worked good (one was leaking, but staff took care instantly) - Cleaning service was good (twice a week) - All rooms have a partial sea view, some have full sea view - Pool area, area in total was nice and very well maintained - Barbecues were provided for free Kauai is far too nice to stay in your facility. We only did it for 2 days in our 10 days stay (and I've been to Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Caribic, and a lot of places in Europe).

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    5.4
    Kapa'a is a beautiful part of the world but there are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    3rd floor no lift, no help with bags. Stairs and hallways smelt of stale urine. Dated decor (fine) and very old appliances. Poor wifi. Horrible service from lady at the poolside bar, seems to be a very cliquey group there. Small pool. Dirty sun loungers.

    Kapa'a is a beautiful part of the world but there are better places to stay. Good air con though. And nice hammocks.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    We liked our condo with garden view but we also had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked our condo with garden view but we also had a partial ocean view which was amazing. We loved the restaurant on site. It was also nice to have the marketplace for shopping so near. Everything turned out great.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Perfect stay, large and completely equipped apartment, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfect stay, large and completely equipped apartment, quiet environment suitable for walks or jogging along the shore or just enjoying the sea view in beach chairs and hammocks, grocery shop across the street, larger shopping centres 1 block away. Ground floor apartments really recommendable - direct access to greens.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.3
    The grounds were well maintained and the pool facility was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They don't clean your room every day, they tidy it. The bathroom was not cleaned once in our 7 night stay. I had to specifically ask them to come in to clean it and remove the mold that was growing around the tub and tile.

    The grounds were well maintained and the pool facility was nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    We appreciated the courtesy of an early check in and a late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We appreciated the courtesy of an early check in and a late check out. Wow. Unusual these days. We were visiting from O'ahu along with other family members who had their own rooms for our great niece's one year baby luau (actually just a small barbecue by your pool) and we decided that the next time we visit our niece we will probably stay with you instead of at her house because your prices were reasonable for the value and we loved the grounds and the landscaping. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    liked everything. it was a good location to get around the rest of the island. I liked that the employees didn't bother us trying to go out of their way to help us.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.8
    The room was of nice size, the bed comfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check in was to be at 4pm. I requested an early checkin day before and arrived at hotel around 1pm. Room was not ready but was told the front desk would call me at pool when room ready. At 4pm still no call I went to desk and was told the room was not ready. It would be another 30-40 min. I was offered a room on 2nd or 3rd floor in a hotel with NO elevators. I explained that I had been waiting for the ground floor room and that is what I had booked. Staff did not care one bit. Zero customer service. I took the room on 2nd floor as I had dinner reservations and was not all certain my room would ever be ready. There's NO housekeeping at all during stay as its a timeshare property, just awful! Pool was very small for a resort and the beach was very rocky and with trash and other debris. Overall a terrible choice on beautiful Kauai!

    The room was of nice size, the bed comfortable and the kitchen and washer/dryer were nice.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: