Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kihei Akahi by Condominium Rentals Hawaii 3 stars

2531 South Kihei Road, Wailea, HI 96753, USA

#27 of 40 hotels in Wailea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 67 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Location was absolutely great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive per day

    Location was absolutely great. It was very clean with very well tended grounds. Well appointed kitchen. Nice pool and barbeque area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Would have stayed longer if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the complex near beaches /good basic restaurants excellent. Having two seperate bedrooms and baths.Towels for beach! Excellent. And washer/dryer. Balcony for morning coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    May look for a better suite in same complex next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite itself wasn't the best. It looks like it hasn't been updated for 30 years.

    Location good. Staff helpful and knowledgeable. Close to beach and property has pools and BBQ'.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall, we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights

    It needed more supplies (toilet paper, garbage bags), one of the appliances (blender) was broke.

    The location (close to everything), quite, and the amenities. Nice floor tile, counter tops, sink, and bathroom. The view from the balcony was nice as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    A great position in Kihei
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be beneficial to have an A/C outlet in the bedroom to heighten the comfort of the stay. Also, the fact the individual has to empty the A/C bucket in the kitchen is unrealistic and heavy for a female. Given I was travelling alone, I found it hard to carry the bucket of water all the way into the bathroom to empty. It would also be suggested that the reception were more clear about the facilities. However overall, I was satisfied with my stay.

    The position of the apartment was great however the lack of A/C in the room made it uncomfortable to sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    4.2
    1 week of marginal
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I begin? Dirty from floor to ceiling. Dust bunnies under bed and sofa. Cob webs all around ceiling where walls meet. All light fixtures with dead bugs laying inside. Bed cover was disgusting. We removed it because all the stains made it look like somebody gave birth on it. Had to deal with exterior being painted entire week. Painters on our LANAI. Heavy equipment noise and beeping incessantly. Drilling into exterior walls. Mildew smelling towels and wash cloths. We had to do laundry of condo towels before we even started what was to be a "relaxing" vacation. Bed was uncomfortable. It was basically a Motel 6 with a Kitchen. Probably would never recommend to anyone I care about.

    The view and across street from Beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Place was Worth Every Penny !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 6th Floor... D601 Highest in the area & the BEST open view ever Partial sea view too with fabulous Sun set view If we ever go back to Maui... it will be only if we are assigned D601 again. Thanks for everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Worth the money l spent.. enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom beside the hallway..noise from people walk by.. Found small bugs crawling on the floorfrom the outside door.

    The ocean view from my unit. the swimming pool and the unit well maintain. l saw staff cleaning the pool and bbq area every morning from my balcony.let me had a confident to swim there.. The location is great too..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    2.5
    This place should be blown up! Total tiny misrepresented dump.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Property totally misrepresented. There was no chair, view, pans. Tiny TV. None in BR. Who puts in fogged windows in Maui? Tiny place. Grumpy check in woman. Needed printing of Doc. Charged $2/page and didn't know how to use printer. Place was beat up old dump.

    That Rental people moved us to Sand Beach for a few hundred more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    6.3
    Great location...little things matter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels seemed 20 years old and scratchy. Sheets were the same and the bed was terrible. There was a dent in it and we both rolled to the middle. We stayed in c316.

    Location was great and full kitchen and separate room was ideal for traveling with infant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    4.6
    Cockroach village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variety of beach supplies were a plus!

    Unfortunately the cockroaches that amounted in that condo discouraged me from ever recommending this location to friends, family or colleagues! The fact that even more cockroaches came out and died post pest control and we had to pick them up was very disgusting! Never ever will I stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    9.2
    Love Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wish the view was a little better. We were in a unit on the end of the building so we had a view of the parking lot

    Bed was very comfortable. Loved having the washer and dryer in unit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, beach full of turtle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is open only few hour.

    Beautiful location, beach full of turtle!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Great if you’re looking for a place by the beach but I’d perfer a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old condo and not updated at all. The bedsheets were not soft either.

    It was literally down the street from the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    The bed was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost for the rental

    The bed was amazing. And the resort is in a great location and right next to the best breakfast spot in Kihei at 808 Bistro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been closer to the room

    Very comfortable accommodations. Loved it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Trouble free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sofa needs to be replaced. It's old and worn out

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    GREAT place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    None

    Close to the beach Air conditioner Full kitchen Centrally located Pool on site Safe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    It was Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The noise from painting the building in the day.

    The location was great and the property is perfect, clean, beautiful and quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    staff in the office on the property were mildly helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    staff in the office on the property were mildly helpful, less than friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    Studio condo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicer comforter

    While the property was not fancy or modern, it was comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay in Maui! Close to the beach and great location! This place had all the facilities that one would need!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Kihei Akahi has beautiful grounds and nice units.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fred's has great Mexican food. Paia Fish Co. has great fish.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    My first Maui visit
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is amazing. Steps away from the beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.8
    Crammed BR closet,could not use at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Crammed BR closet,could not use at all. Carpet and furnitures not clean.Good location. Check out time unreasonable.Condo is very expensive.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.1
    Very short walk to Kameole II
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very short walk to Kameole II

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.5
    There were items to be used to be to the beach such as beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were items to be used to be to the beach such as beach map, etc

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Suggested for Maui trip with car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not near to the centre of Kihei

    Good place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.5
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady at the office was extremely rude and very unhelpful.

    The location was excellent. The condominium was great, stocked with everything you could want.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.1
    The condo was cleand and property location was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The fine print on Booking.com had a $150 additional fee that I didn't realize was in the price and was shocked that for 2 nights stay my cost was so much higher than what I beleive I was booking. :(

    The condo was cleand and property location was nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    5.0
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very crowded area.meany condo complexes and hotels. Heavy traffic at times.

    Location was great. Nice beach just across the road. Next to shopping and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    4.6
    It's close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The unit (D106) was in very poor condition. The bed was small, lumpy, old and uncomfortable. The mattress pad was all torn. The couch was old and stained. The bathroom was dirty (gob of hair in the shower). The decor was non-existent. Very disappointing! Not worth $210 US plus tax per night.

    It's close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    6.7
    Unit except bathtub/shower was nicely updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hooks to hang items on in entry area. Cookware was warped. Couldn't locate any beach umbrella. Bathtub was not updated and had plastic shower curtain rather than glass enclosure. View limited to back corner of lania. Was three times the price I paid for slightly outdated but more functional unit also @ the Akahi in Bldg D.

    Unit except bathtub/shower was nicely updated. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    9.2
    Awesome location right across the street from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only down side is the walk way that runs right under the bedroom windows. It's hard to sleep through someone pulling their luggage down the isle at 5 am.

    Awesome location right across the street from the beach. Very clean well kept and really well stocked with chairs, beach towels and all the kitchen gadgets you would need. Great Bbq Facilities.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    7.1
    The location is awesome where we can just walk to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too soft, my back pain came back after sleeping on it for 4 nights. Also the bathtub drains very slowly even when taking a quick shower.

    The location is awesome where we can just walk to the beach. Very nice view from balcony where I can see the mountain and the sea.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    7.9
    clean condo, good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would have liked to know in advance that one of the pools would be closed during our stay for bathroom repairs.

    clean condo, good location and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Master bedroom gets really hot during afternoon and really heats up the unit. AC worked well, but had to run it a long time to cool off unit when we got back from daily activities. Not a huge deal but for visitors who aren't used to the heat of Maui it can be tough to sleep at night with a hot room.

    Everything! The unit was huge! Everyone had their own space. Close to eats, beach and shops. Love the extras provided, snorkels coolers, beach towels. Every details was thought of

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    2.9
    View of the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elevator not working when we arrived and we were on 6th floor, very dated, cockroaches, only two mugs and one with broken handle. Took them till almost noon next day to get us a mug.

    View of the ocean

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The AC in the living room didn't work for the bedrooms. It could get hot in the early night.

    The location is excellent. The unit we had is on 5th floor, with a lovely view of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    7.9
    So conveniently located with pristine beaches, restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    So conveniently located with pristine beaches, restaurants and shops all within walking distance. Pool and bbq facilities for guest use was a plus. Grounds beautifully maintained. Condo was comfortable and had everything one may need for a beach vacation.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.2
    I really enjoyed all the amenities, the comfort of the condo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wished we had a better view of the ocean

    I really enjoyed all the amenities, the comfort of the condo, with all the beach equipment, the pool, the grounds.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    8.8
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would stay again!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    10
    Great location, clean rooms, lovely grounds and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, clean rooms, lovely grounds and a very friendly staff! Totally will stay again at next visit!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    That it was close to an excellent beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That it was close to an excellent beach.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: