Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel 4 stars

1717 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139, USA

#114 of 390 hotels in Miami Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1073 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited 40 minutes for our luggage to be brought up, in the end we gave in and went down and got it ourselves, This was after getting to the room which is a long walk from concierge to find neither key had been programmed, found luggage it in the middle of the concierge including my laptop, we had called concierge twice to ask them to bring it up. Barmaid had a face like a smacked arse the whole time. If she is not happy serving people, go get another job.

    Great location and central to everything we wanted

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was much smaller than the one we booked and we didn’t get the view we booked but a view against a wall on 2 meter. The bed was old, dirty and damaged. Booking sells the hotel as a 5star and on their own website this hotel mentioned 4 stars. But even that is too much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfriendly staff. Paid for and stayed at an overpriced hotel room. Drinks prices are extremely high as well. Except for the location, this hotel was not worth our stay. Never again at Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel, Miami!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    over priced! room service was terrible, room and hallways were dated and dirty....no bottled water in the room or tea/coffee - not what you would expect from a Kimpton hotel

    the pool/beach area is nice and the food is decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly clean, approachable and friendly staff, the pool is gorgeous. The hotel has an "artsy" feel, invites you to dream. The perfect getaway spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View and rooms were basic

    Rooms were a big disappointment ~ compared to pictures on website .... deluxe room with view NOT ocean view but just a view turned out to be a view of a buildings wall ..... nothing deluxe about the rooms but overall it was fine bathroom was clean and updated ...... it is pet friendly which we didn’t know that’s nice ...... location was amazing .... staff was ok... asked to have room cleaned bc we had privacy tag in our door one day and it never happened ..... food at pool was very good as well as service but expensive ... it is South Beach it’s to be expected ....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a private pool party during our stay which was 1. very loud, 2. very busy in the lobby, and 3. prohibited us from using the pool! It was advised we could use the pool in the property next door if we wanted.

    The staff was very attentive and even texted us after a few hours to make sure we didnt need anything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No pre notification that the pool was reserved for private event. Did not keep the pool party guests at the pool. They took over the hotel making it over crowded and hostile. Stank of marijuana on the 3rd floor which I was on. Pool was supposed to be available next day and was disgusting and uncleaned from the party the previous day. On check out day, check out being 11am, the maid knocked on my door at 830am! I was offered a resort fee refund and instead I was charged one. I pre paid the resort fee on a no cancellation deal, so I could not do anything other than stay at this over priced hell hole.

    Could have been nice. On a different day, maybe this is a nice hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most things. I was told i had a bath and didn't. You can't call this a 5 Star hotel when places like the SLS, Ritz Carlton, W are 5 star hotels

    The bedding was awful, no proper duvet, just sheets. The pool facilities weren't quite up to scratch. There was also a wedding being held there so the bar closed down and food stopped being served.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    this hotel is located perfectly at the south beach. So Close to the best Clubs in Miami south beach (Walking distance) For the Miami Music Week it is the best hotel to stay as the best poolparties are taking place here! :-) So the entries are already included in the Price of the hotel. The receptionists are doing an amazing Job. World class Service par excellence! The beds are very comfortable to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small rooms.

    A nice hotel with the little extra service we appreciate in otherwise expensive Miami. Coffee you could pick up 6-10 AM and at 4 PM they served free wine. Of course not a lot money for them but a nice thing for guests. Rooms were a bit small but you are mostly out in the pool area or at the beach. Pool area was nice albeit not much to do for kids but some games there were. Beach okay but not more. Shopping at Lincoln road was close and lots of restaurants. Nice professional staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was a music festival and party just starting, that we were unaware of and were told that the pool and access to the beach was closed. The staff assured as that the music would end at 11:00 pm, which it did. The young adults attending the party were not disruptive and the staff had the pool open and area cleaned early the next morning. We had a fun stay and the beach was beautiful. My advise is if you know you are traveling during Spring Break check with the hotel directly before booking if they have parties scheduled during your stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food/service at poolside bar could've been better. The lobby restaurant was really loud.

    Room was elegantly designed Loved the art deco architecture and design of the property. Quiet and laid back by comparison with hotels next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information on hotel, amenities and other events going on in area upon check in especially as first time guests. The room was not cleaned well and amenities not restocked without asking repeatedly. The ice machine not working on 2 nd floor which was inconvenient and restaurant food was good but expensive.

    Location and amenities were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are tiny the room Shabby the price on booking was more than anyone else around me paid I am Shocked and very disappointed in Booking and the hotel I will never use your service again

    This hotel is a total rip off

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was just so-so. The sheets could have been cleaner.

    The huge heated pool, ample poolside seating, SUPER close beach access, and complimentary beach chairs + towels made the stay worthwhile. The food isn't bad either.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas of the hotel were freezing, uncomfortably so. It stopped us sitting in the bar or restaurant. The cleaners were in the corridors all day and our room was never made up until the late afternoon, which wasn’t great in a hotel if this standard. Although you’re by the beach, like others in South Beach, you’re not on the beach in the sense that it’s an extension of the hotel grounds. You have to leave the property and walk across to it.

    The pool area was lovely and not overcrowded. The location is brilliant. The room was very clean and comfortable, though smaller than I thought from the photos. Bed and pillows were very comfortable and the corridors were very quiet - no doors banging or cleaners clattering around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under staffed so you have to wait a lot to leave luggage, question at reception, pool towels etc. shower pressure and it’s water flow is pretty poor.

    Great hotel perfectly located on the beach. Rooms are quiet and cosy and staff lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been less expensive and drinks but it pretty much the same everywhere in South Miami.

    Beach staff were great and everything was secure. I felt safe on the beach. The bar was good and bartenders very nice. It’s great access to South Miami.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels in that are are a bit old so you can hear noises but it’s a minor thing.

    The place is really pretty and it has tops like 100 guests so it’s not a big hotel. It makes it cozy and comfortable. Reggie was the guy that helped us all the time at the front desk, he was super kind. The food at the restaurant is nice but pricy. It’s pet friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was shocked to see old room service orders sitting in the hallway for 24 hours. The room and was also much smaller than I expected, and front desk and other staff was hit or miss -- some were very accommodating and friendly, while others were straight up rude. The elevator is in desperate need of an upgrade -- was broken several times during a 2-night stay. Food was just average and overpriced.

    Can't beat the location and enjoyed the cool decor and beachy vibe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway was really dark... not a big deal but kind of weird.

    The staff was amazing! Nicolai at the front desk, Marlon who helped us to our room and Armando at the beach were all fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor is dark and not welcoming, this could do with some attention.

    The view from the balcony was stunning. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Free tea and coffee in the morning in reception. Bed comfort excellent. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were tiny and not very well kept. The hotel facilities just seemed worn out. Not worth over $500 we paid

    Location was great. Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a renovation, room carpet was filthy, others guest left food at the corridor that wasn't removed for almost 48hs, waiting line before breakfast and very few options (on top of that, there was a chicken bone on the couch). A couple of friends stayed at the next-door hotel (SLS) and definitely it's a better option.

    Location, location and location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a very unwelcoming hotel, the music was playing so loud in the restaurant and bar, we had to pay an enormous cost as resort fees and apart from a swimming pool there was nothing there. The cost for 3 nights with parking was nearly $1000

    close proximity to the beach, apart from that nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is very poor compare to the hotel standard The manager doesn't know is job and is not able to improuve the waitress The housekeeping forgot twice to clean the room but the reception's assistant manager was very helpful to solve the problem

    The location is the best

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough bikes for use as each time we went to get them they were gone!

    We spent 2 nights here after a cruise and really enjoyed the hotel and facilities. The breakfast was excellent and included several items on the menu as well as juice and tea/coffee. My wife said the coffee was the best she had got in 2 weeks! The room was large,clean,quiet and had all that we needed for a short stay as you don't spend a lot of time in it anyway. We loved the location, next to the boardwalk and beach and walked a few miles each day to the pier and back along the sand. The grounds of the hotel are extensive to the rear, with a large pool and lots of sun loungers and then a sandy area with a hammock and outdoor soft furniture to relax on whilst sitting under palm trees. Happy hour at the pool bar brought the prices down to a reasonable level and the daily free wine and sangria was enjoyed! Walking distance to several restaurants. Favourite was the 11th street diner in a rail carriage theme with large portions and tasty food. The staff were excellent and made our stay one to remember so will have no hesitation returning when next in Miami.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be aware, it states sea front not sea view! The worst part of our stay was that we paid for a sea front balcony but couldn't see anything for the palm trees and shrubbery. Their continental breakfast is toast, fruit and juice/coffee not ham, cheese etc. They try and upgrade you to full breakfast for $10 per person. Some rooms, including ours badly needed some TLC. The long corridor to our room was freezing cold (jumper needed!) even though it was 28 degrees outside (air conditioning gone mad! haha). Would stay again but in a basic room once they've renovated.

    FREE gym, FREE wifi, FREE towels for the pool and the beach! FREE suntan cream, FREE sunbeds on the beach (normal price $20 per person!). FREE wine between 4pm - 5pm. Fantastic location, a stone's through from the beach, shops and restaurants. Nice reception staff and last but not least a comfy bed :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony - Ocean Front
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors were exceptionally dark, with AC turned up too far.

    We arrived at 1.00 PM - Room wasn't available, and I was told our room would be prioritised but no guarantees.....I finally got the room key at 5 past 4. I was promised a text when it became available, but this never happened. Our "Ocean Front" room can barely be described as such. It's on the second floor, and if you search through the pine trees you can see a tiny square of ocean in the distance. Very disappointing, as I had thoughts of sitting on a balcony overlooking the ocean - this is definitely not the case.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was average at best, next to no view from room. Hallways were poorly lighted.

    Location was great, direct access to beach with available chairs, umbrella etc. etc. Also close to Lincoln Road Mall and all of it's shops and restaurants. The décor of the main lobby area is upbeat and unique. Pool area is inviting and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Housekeeping always not to clean up unless you ask, the latest time I experienced is as late as 8pm when I came back after local tour. And they respond slow, I needed to wait at lobby for like 1.5 hours for the housekeeper.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really hard and uncomfortable. The floors make squeeky sound when u walk around. The hallways are so dark so it makes it harder to find room numbers. We asked for a higher level floor when booked and we got a room at ground level. But there are only 4 levels in this hotel so higher wudnt make much difference. Its costly compared to what it has to offer

    Friendly and helpful staff. Food was good. Service was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms were a little bit small for the price. And the halls were very dark.

    The location is vert good, the staff very friendly and helpful, common areas in hotel are spacious and nice, room was ok, pool was good, Restaurant exquisite always with great music. Free coffee ant tee in the morning was a good start for the morning. We stayed 2 nights whith a little dog, and our small dog was very wellcome to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cocktails very expensive but typical of other hotels in the neighbourhood. The resort fee of over $30 per night is a bit much but the outdoor pool was very inviting

    A great location in the Art Deco area with direct access to a fab beach There was a great buzz about the place and staff very friendly and helpful . Our Exec room was spacious and well fitted out The continental breakfast was excellent Free glasses of wine late afternoon a very nice touch

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not having enough dietary substitutes eg almond milk and the food options were limited.

    The only issue i have with hotel was the extra hidden charges that are not given at booking on top of hotel taxes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Valet parking was very expensive - next time I would park in the car park up the street for 1/6 of the price - I assume this is where they park your car and charge an extra $50 to drive it a few hundred meters! Our room was supposed to be a deluxe King room but wasn't overly big and the finish of the decoration wasn't overly great. Not sure if I would go back to Miami as everything there is overpriced and there are better places in Florida more reasonably priced.

    Location was great, right on the beach and close to good places to eat. Hotel was nice and clean and staff were friendly. Wine hour was great to sample some great wines for free. Also free coffee in the morning was nice to start the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there over labour day weekend and there was a pool party (which was great) so the hotel was really busy, but some of the staff didn't seem to know what they were doing. There were a few important things they should have told us at check in, for e.g. that we needed to make a reservation for (complimentary) breakfast as we ended up waiting over 30 minutes on the first day. And they don't supply complimentary water in the rooms which you don't expect from a 4.5 star hotel

    The pool area is beautiful and they even supply complimentary sun cream! They also offer 'wine hour' everyday which is a nice little extra. The beds are super comfy too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways are very dark! Can barely see the room number. Coffee and cocktail hours are short and sweet, it would be nice if coffee were available later.

    Staff was great, they texted every day, made sure we're happy. Pool area is nice. Iced coffee in the morning! Although it is a party area, the room was quiet, and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking and no option but expensive valet parking! Firstly put in a room next to cooling unit so VERY noisy but they did move us upon asking

    Lovely pool, feast on beach location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ck in is at 4p.. 430p.I arrived on saturday am at 11am... checking out sunday at 12p. For a short stay at almost 400 per night there shoukd be a complimentary room to change etc. I was in a dirty , small 2 stall bathroom with my suitcase tryinv to change. Very uncomfortable. However, they did gove me a complimenrary upgrade and really tried to have room ready earlier

    the foilage and flowers around the hotel. complimentary drinks and wine around the pool andlobby. coffee in the am

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put off to learn when we checked in that there was an additional fee of $34 per day plus a 14% tax. This was not indicated when I booked with Booking.com and I was not pleased. I thought the price was the price quoted but not the case.

    The hotel was lovely with beautiful facilities. The staff were excellent and kept checking to see that things were ok. The restaurant food was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good if rooms were ready earlier, but this seems to be the normal 4pm check in, everywhere, although we could use facilities, not a criticism, just a suggestion

    Food was delicious, service excellent, made us feel very welcome, we are spreading the word in the UK how good it was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms are a bit small. Valet parking is too expensive at $48, but it is the same price in all the surrounding hotels. I recommend self-parking for $20 per 24h at only a 15mn walk. With all the resort fees and taxes you end up with $53.14 on top of your room price per night!!! This is more or less the same in any SoBe hotel, but make sure you take it into account when you book. The seaview from the rooms with balcony is rather theoretical because they are located on the 2nd floor and the luxurious flora of the pool area considerably obstructs the view. No real critic here, only a warning for those expecting unblocked sea view.

    This is THE place to be for a stay in Miami SoBe! You are 5mn from shopping area Lincoln Road, 15mn from lively Ocean Drive, right on the beach and not in one of those large unpersonal chain hotels surrounding this nice boutique hotel. Make sure you get a room on the courtyard though. Nice rooms, although bathrooms are a bit small. We had 2 rooms including one with balcony and view over the pool area and the beach (through the palmtrees!). Breakfast is not included but à la carte you can end up with less than $20 pp. 5 bikes are available free of charge (ie included in the resort tax!) on a first come first serve basis. Our Check out was extended at 1pm without problem. Very nice pool area with good bar and snacking, free towels, sunbeds and umbrella (ie included in the resort tax!). Music is not as loud as in the neibouring hotels. Complementary Wifi if you accept to become member of Kimpton mailing list. Complementary wine glasses in the afternoon (3 to 5pm). All the staff were welcoming and helpful. I really recommend this place for a stay in Miami SoBe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very small. You almost brush your teeth above the toilet. The beach was nothing special and to rent an ubrella is 19 dollars a day.

    Staff was very professional; free water at the loby; clean rooms with comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only complaint was that the rooms are too small and it would have been nice to have a refrigerator in the room.

    The property was in a great location. There were plenty of places to eat and shop close by. And the beach was literally in the backyard of the hotel which was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled like marijuana smoke after the people next door to us smoked in their room. Cost of valet parking at hotel was expensive and the only other option was public parking two blocks away. To far to carry all luggage

    The pool area was awesome! Open 24 hours. A lot of activities to do.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and aggressive..the rooms moldy.. bathroom very small.. security lacking... anyone could come and go.. expensive restaurant and bar

    The pool area.. the cabanas.. the courtyard ..the nightly happy hour.. free coffee in the morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about the surfcomber.

    Surfcomber is in a fantastic location, beside Lincoln Road and great restaurants. This property is very modern and extremely comfortable. Lobby area and bar are great. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved every minute of our stay...cant wait to go back.All of the staff were extremely helpful and the facilities at the hotel are excellent😀A really wonderful stay😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entrance through the restaurant to our elevator for the room not great as bit weird walking through a loud restaurant when you just want your room - not very private / discreet. Main issue was our room which was VERY small. We stayed at No.1 Hotel in Feb, my 2 kids and my wife. 4 of us were fine in their room, loads of space with 2 large queens. Surfcomber rooms are tiny. It was very cramped and not suitable for 4 people. Big shame - otherwise we loved it. For this money though not sure we'd stay again.

    Loved the location and the decor. The food was great. Loved the size of the hotel - not too big / too many people. Amazing pool and pool-bar staff, so friendly. Very convenient close to Lincoln.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very, very small. The price of €500 per day is way too high. It is a 4 star hotel at max.

    The service at the pool was excellent. Good minibar and nuts and sweets and a nice beach bag.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was power outage at the hotel we stayed on July 2nd. There was no back up for the outtage and no arrangements were made for the guests.

    The staff and the location of the Hotel was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Pool, beach plus staff and hotel were excellent. The food and unlimited mimosas in the morning were fantastic!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of booking the offer stated "breakfast included " whilst it turned out that in fact breakfast was only included for one out of the 4 nights we stayed. It didn't make any difference as we would have booked this hotel regardless but I found the offer was a bit misleading in that respect.

    Excellent location, great room size, very comfortable bed, chicque and cosy room design, good bathroom toiletries, yoga mat in the room, generous pool and beautiful garden, very friendly staff, overall very good value for money and definitely a place I would recommend and stay at again if I were to come back to Miami

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service is horrible, I booked this hotel the weekend before the forth of July to spend time with the family, and few weeks after I revived an email saying that there was going to be a pool party for independice day. We where excited because we thought we would be able to party, since we had two entrance tickets per room. However when got into the event the event staff where rude and unwelcoming. We sat on the lounge chairs for a couple of minutes until some guy came and told us that we had to leave because they had sold the lounge chairs for a $1500.00 dollars to some people that where obviously not staying at the hotel. We didn't want to get up and the event lady called the security to escort us out, we where soooo outraged since we where staying at the hotel we figured we had some privileges but they treated us like dogs, basically kicking us out. When My father, my mom my boyfriend and I decided to leave the event through the front entrance to go into the lobby, my father and I where able to walk through the front gates however my boyfriend and mom where not allowed to walk through and they had them walk out through the back and all the way around the building. I was sooooo outraged I called the manager because this was purely racist since my mom and boyfriend are darker skinned. The manager didn't do anything she just stood there saying how she understood blah blah, she said she would accommodate us in the pool in the hotel next door, so we decided to go next door and when we got there the hotel the lady at the reception didn't know anything about the "accommodations" the surfcomber had arranged total disaster, honestly we are never going to stay at this hotel again, we spend around $1300.00 in two rooms plus all the drinks we got almost $2000.00 and the valet parking was $46.00 a night too expensive for how bad of a customer service we.

    Pet friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was slow and missed towels frequently. Carts and room service trays left in the hallways. Small bathrooms. Very expensive valet parking.

    Trendy hotel close to the beach. Location good though not in SoBe (and that's good), close to Lincoln Rd. Comfy beds and excellent a/c. Good products. Nice pool area even if the pool is very warm in the summer. Relatively good value (everything is expensive in Miami).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were generally rude and even when they were being polite it came across as fake, very poor customer service skills (one was texting on their phone during a conversation with my partner). The location is very tacky, facilities lacking and room was incredibly small with a noisy vent outside. There were a number of items in the room that could be purchased at a very high rate. Three of the food products were months out of date, with one dating back to November 2016... the complimentary coffee was cold, no milk available and the complimentary wine was disappointing. I would not recommend any aspect of this hotel to anyone, stay at KIMPTON EPIC in Downtown Miami. Better location, staff, facilities, cleanliness, food etc. Literally all round much better, don't waste any money at Surfcomber.

    The only thing that really drew us to Surfcomber was the beach but it's only a $10 cab from KIMPTON EPIC anyway...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have electricity for 15 hours. I understand that this was due to an area outage but it would have been nice to be compensated in some capacity for this inconvenience.

    Staff was nice and helpful. Rooms were clean though a bit small. Pool was nice when there wasn't a party going on.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark hall way to the rooms.

    I loved the swimming pool and beach, the hotel is allocated near everything and made it possible for us to do everything on our bucketlist in just a couple of days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The advertised "complimentary" wine hour, bicycle use and pool use is incorrect. There is a hidden Resort Charge that you have to pay that is compulsory. Staff were rude and unhelpful. I was advised security could not be guaranteed at the pool so not to bring any valuables (including a phone) down to the poolside. Air conditioning did not work. Room cleaning poor Would not recommend it at all

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark high ways and the elevator. The cretificate of operation for the elector expired in September 2016! That's unacceptable!! And the drinks by bar were too expensive.

    Excellent staff, great service - always ready to help you. Amazing location in South Beach. Clean rooms. Free wine hour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dark even with all the lights on. Door handle and towel rack in the room both fell off. Breakfast was disappointing and the common areas of the hotel were uncomfortably cold

    It was in a good spot. The pool area looked great although we did not get a chance to use it with the heavy rain

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a smooth running operation. No complaints. Oasis

    The overall impression brought a smile to my face all day. It was a quiet oasis away from the hustle, bustle of SOBE.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym very small. Enjoyed going out on free bicycles - great fun (just a shame they didn’t have locks, so very restricting). Wasn’t expecting a resort fee per night (I must have missed that in the small print).

    Easy, quick check-in. Friendly, helpful staff. Good size room, very clean. Lobby/Pool/outside areas very cool. Close to beach (literally at back of hotel). Good wifi and lots of charging points for phones in room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger room. A bit tight for 2 adults and two pre-teens plus luggage.

    Rooms ( two twin beds) a bit small including bathroom. When maid service would arrive we would invariably be in room for a quick visit and we'd ask them to return later. For 3 of 4 days they didn't return and calling the front desk had no effect. Camilla at front desk concierge was very friendly and helpful though.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the size of the room and the bathroom is smaller to similar category hotel standards in Miami. Although it was clean and cozy

    Very good location in Miami Beach, right in front of the ocean and excellent value for money compared to other similar hotels in this area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room Ocean Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very early for check-in, around 10:30 am, as we had come off of a cruise and were staying a couple of extra days to experience South beach. The check in process was quick & we were told that they would text us when our room was ready. We didn't get into our room until after 2 pm. When we asked about it we were told that checkout is at 11, we were one of twenty who had checked in early and we had one of the only two rooms of that type and basically it'll be ready when it's ready. We finally got into the room & I noticed that the carpet was slightly wet in some places and very wet in others. I get the impression that either someone partied too hard & threw up on the carpet or something of that nature occurred and they needed to get it clean. If they would have told us, offered some sort of compensation (lunch/drinks/umbrella at the beach) it probably wouldn't have been an issue, but they basically treated us as a problem. Then, while waiting, we went into the restaurant to have a drink and started to sit at a table. The hostess came over & told us we couldn't sit there, they were reserved & seated us at a different table where no one came over to take an order, so we got up & left. My husband observed another couple walk in& take the seats we had originally sat at & they were not chased off. Incredibly rude. We ended up choosing not to eat at their restaurant at all for breakfast. We went right across the street to Maxine's, which was good and they were helpful.

    The location was excellent for access to the beach & to the Art Deco section of South Beach. The room we chose was in a great spot to view the pool & see some of the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free continental breakfast (we were a given a voucher for one day) is a bit sad, consisting of toast. The available paid for breakfasts are really good though

    Location on the beach is great, the pool is very nice and the rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is extortionate at nearly $50 per night. There are so many added extras to the bill that it ended up nearly double when I left and that was without using any room service or taking anything from the room fridge! They charge a resort fee per night on top of the room rate which I feel is a bit of a con. I know Miami is expensive but this was ridiculous.

    The hotel is nice and so is the pool. It's in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No water pressure in the shower. Having to pay for umbrellas on the beach. The chairs were included but $19 a day for an umbrella for paying customers is a bit much. Should be included.

    Very Nice Hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable. The one issue we had was no water pressure in the shower. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay. Great location in SOBE

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First thing they change my hotel to other butik hotel and otel was so bad they charged me double price and whole time i was thinking they will pay back or not i spoke with guest service they said in a 2 days but i call surfkumber management and they fix it the hotel which is they changed was in second road of ocean Drive but i pay that much money to be in ocean Drive

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping did a poor job. We stayed 5 days from Monday to Saturday morning and our room was cleaned on Wednesday and Friday late afternoon (twice) !!??!! I kept inquiring with the front desk, concierge, and the cleaning ladies on our floor. Very poor performance of a basic function of a hotel. This held my ratings down. After a morning of touring, then back to change and go to the beach, it was extremely disappointing to come to an uncleaned room. Then we returned from the beach late afternoon, 5-6 PM, and the room is still untouched.......GOOD GRIEF !!! On Saturday morning, after check out, April 29th, the Manager inquired via email, about our problem. I responded on Sunday, April 30th and am still waiting for a reply.

    Very convenient to shops, restaurants, and the beach which we prefer over the pool which is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds and Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com charged my more than the actual website when I looked later. The hotel charges to even use a lounger at the pool or the beach $20. They also charge $20 for an umbrella. We got to the hotel at 6:30 and our room wasn't ready for half an hour

    Location and comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant Amenities told beach umbrellas free... they were NOT cost $20 to rent false advertisement Restaurant staff waited over 40 min Continental breakfast

    Location Front desk staff

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: