Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of King Charles Inn 3 stars

237 Meeting Street, Historic District, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

#27 of 89 hotels in Charleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 767 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff was extremely helpful and polite each time you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was loud considering the upscale hotel. The mattress was dated and sunk in a little bit from use.

    The staff was extremely helpful and polite each time you entered or exited the property. The property was in an excellent location for dining and shopping. No need to drive anywhere once you arrived.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean. We had breakfast at the hotel which was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    It was ok. Be will not stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was too small! Air conditioner was aweful! I even received a call from the room phone at 1:30 am from a scammer saying they were the manger and they lost my deposit information wanted me to give them my debit/credit card information.

    Bed was awesome! Bathrooms were a great size!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Loved the location, Hotel, and the Staff!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing - we arrived early and we were allowed to park in the free parking available at the hotel(seriously free and onsite), and staff kept our luggage inside until our room was ready.My daughters birthday- there was a nice card and chocolates in room for her. Very sweet gesture! The bed very comfortable and the towels- the towels were dreamy! the location of Hotel is PERFECT!! Walked to everything. Will stay here again, Fantastic !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was excellent.walking distance to all restaurants and shops.Staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband and I ate breakfast once in the hotel,it was delicious. They ONLY negative was the a/c in the room,there never seemed to be a happy medium with temp,either too cold or too hot. Other than that our stay was wonderful,would definitely stay again. Peggy H. Cape Cod Ma.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    The location was great as were the facilities and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hall floors had dark stains all over and seemed a bit grim.

    The location was great as were the facilities and room. We seemed to have some odd things going on in the room but couldn’t figure it out. The drawers kept opening and closing in front of us and so did the closet door. So either there is weird craftsmanship or you have a ghost with a sense of humor!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    This is where you'll find that famous Southern Hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like were the very thin walls. Could hear TV from adjacent room when I was trying to sleep; thank goodness for headphones! Next time I'll ask for a room on the top floor in the corner.

    A superb staff! Everyone I dealt with was welcoming, professional and friendly. Room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The health club connection is an excellent bonus. Location perfect and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a perfect view of Charleston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am allergic to everything (dust, etc) there was no dust ANYWHERE! The staff was warm and friendly -very congenial! The location of the hotel was fantastic..walking distance to a lot of the attractions and restaurants we wanted to try! Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff from the moment we walked in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff from the moment we walked in. Beautiful, clean room with the most comfortable beds! Walk out the front door and all the shops and restaurants are just steps away. Always a friendly greeting as you leave or return to the hotel by the front desk staff and doorman. Free onsite parking is a huge plus. They really think of everything from the nightly reception with cheese & crackers and happy hour priced wine to a supply of umbrellas by the front door for use if it's raining. My family really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the accommodations and found them adequate for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to have had a breakfast buffet offered. Can't think of anyplace we've stayed in a long time that hasn't offered that.

    Convenience of the location in historic district area and pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient for walking around the city and getting to great restaurants. The room was very comfortable and parking was free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    It was a reasonably good hotel but very overpriced. But it is in Charleston!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price! Breakfast should definitely be complementary when you are shifting out this many bucks!

    The bar area and tv lounge were very relaxing. Computer was useful too. Car park very handy - in the basement of the hotel. Brian (a member of staff) who dressed up as a Palace guard for the royal wedding was a real character and was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was great =-- very centrally located which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was great =-- very centrally located which is plus and the room was comfortable - great shower and bed ! Everything you could want was provided. The parking is a huge asset . And, as is always important ,the staff was great - especially the night front desk girl . So a very nice stay and would certainly book here again when going to Charleston

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accommodations in fantastic location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was a gym.

    The location and layout of the hotel were fantastic. The gentleman working the front desk was so helpful and had a wonderful welcoming attitude! I also loved the reception hour and evening tea and cookies. Great touch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    The King Charles Inn is a great base from which to see historic Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceilings were very low in hallways which made them feel a bit oppressive.

    Beds were comfy, shower was excellent, great location for walking around the historic district, evening cookies were a great touch, staff were very friendly and helpful (particularly Monica and Alaina) and free parking in the central city was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location in the middle of everyting. Service was excellent - freindly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small for the money and Fridge didn't work. However, It was replaced immediately. Carpet was a little dirty under bed - also resolved next day

    Service was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Simply great, fabulous start to our holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, everything was just right for my husband and I.

    Location great, 5 minute walk from downtown where everything is? Staff were friendly, welcoming and very knowledgable about the area. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    Didn't get any sleep and bad food.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could have easily addressed the horrible night, but they chose to laugh it off and act like it was just some kind of merry accident. I literally got no sleep, and at 6 am, the alarm started blaring, and we couldn't get it to turn off, so we had to move the furniture around and unplug it.

    Was woken up at midnight by fire alarm. Stood outside in the rain with my sleeping child for over 30 minutes with no help coming from the staff as to what was happening. Next morning ordered breakfast and it came still frozen on the inside. Not exactly a stellar stay, and they did bother to offer a discount on my stay which was pretty awful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved Charleston and King Charles Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really quaint hotel loved the room small issue with bath tub draining but taken care of quickly. Overall location was fantastic close to sights and restaurants. Only a one night stay but was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very warm and friendly and always came through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no view from the room but really i was but in Charleston to sit in my room and look out the window

    Bathroom exceptionally clean and the staff was warm and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    We ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning with no problem. However, on the day of our departure, (when it was important to leave for a 6 1/2 drive) we waited over an hour and a 1/2 and were NEVER served our food. Others who arrived well after we did were being served. There seemed to be some conflicts among the staff at breakfast. We finally left without eating! I hope this has been corrected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Perfect family friendly comfortable hotel in the heart of Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location awesome right off King Street. Great hospitality hour and cookies at bedtime . Breakfast in the pub was delicious and everyone was so helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location but would not recommend to anyone or stay here again. Felt cheated in charges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were to have breakfast included in our booking up to $15 day/person. Upon checkout, we were charged for each day for breakfast. When I went down to the front desk to inquire, the woman there told me there was nothing she could do about it. I told her that was not right as I had confirmation from Booking.com it was included. I would not stay here again. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    An Inn full of Southern charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad for me but there are a few steps to negotiate if you have trouble with stairs.

    Wonderful Charleston charm and elegance with a relaxed feel. The staff were superb and so helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very cramped and small. The beds were small. The air-conditioning was very loud and the controls were very difficult. The air-conditioning would have to be upgraded to todays standards for me to consider staying at this hotel again.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, staff and comfortable bed make this hotel a “return to” in my book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but competitive with other hotels in the area. Rooms are very nice but on the small side. Bathroom had some hairs left behind from previous guest On the morning of departure the breakfast crew was running 30” min late which created a little anxiety

    Very friendly and helpful staff- fortunately a room was available for early check-in. The bed was very comfortable, room was quiet and amenities appreciated. Parking being included is a huge plus. Walking proximity to everything is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Great value for a central location in downtown Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect, and the free parking was an excellent bonus! The lobby and pool area were lovely and well maintained, and the room was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark hallways, stains on the furniture, needs to be updated and more art work on the walls in the bedrooms. The shelf in the shower was falling apart.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Great stay, would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and comfortable room, comfortable beds. Location was perfect for walking to local downtown attractions, market, restaurants and bars. Free parking a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Ok place but expensive for what you get, like most in Charleston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, bathroom was nice size, furniture was dated and needed attention (door on cabinet falling off). Items left from other guest under bed ( sock, hair pin).

    Location was great, parking was convenient and included in the price (not free as others state),room was generally clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    The room was comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The lighted makeup mirror is something you do not see in other hotels! Staff was friendly and helpful with tourist information,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    We are happy with our stay at this hotel in a Great location, with friendly, accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been a little cleaner. There were a few signs of age that could be addressed.

    It was in a good location and the staff was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Looks charming but looks are deceiving
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy with lots of doors banging and other strange sounds all night. I got no sleep. Walls are paper thin. Hallways were long. Very long walk to my room from the elevator. Old and uncomfortable. No charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Outstanding, all staff were cross trained in multiple tasks and could assist with anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lite switches in rooms need a lesson in use

    The manager was so personable and always in the dining room or Pub with the guests. Took time to recommend restaurants and sites

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Room was quiet & comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The phone in our room didn’t work, and Q forgot to give us the Wi-Fi password so we couldn’t access the internet until going down to the front desk to ask for help. Frustrating and inconvenient.

    Room was quiet & comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely time and I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 2:00, and official check in was 4:00. The desk told us they would call us when our room was ready, but the call never came. Didn’t get our room until after 4:00. I think they could have expedited that a bit. Other than that, everything was great.

    The hotel was really clean and had a cute, boutique feel. I really like this type of hotel. The free parking was a real bonus! The hotel is in a great location for walking around the historic district. Room was clean, comfy, and nice. The bathroom was pretty and looked recently updated. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Definitely will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms could have been better cleaned on a daily basis. Often missing coffee, waters...

    Excellent staff - very helpful. The breakfasts were really good and a great value for the money. Happy hour and cookies at 8pm were really appreciated. You cannot beat this location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    All of the staff was very helpful and so nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was the in-room heating/cooling system was a little noisy when it kicked on.

    All of the staff was very helpful and so nice. We loved sitting in the general seating area by the fireplace with our free cookies to end each night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay that will ensure our return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment we arrived til the time we departed, our stay was amazing! Entire staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was lovely, public space inviting. Special kudos to Deana, who welcomed us!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to room did not shut tight so at night you could see light from hall coming in and peoples shadow when then walked by.

    Staff very friendly rooms comfortable and location was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, but plumbing was noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a loud rushing sound of water that could be heard in my room from other guests (it seemed) during the early morning hours and late at night which kind of drew away from my enjoyment of the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay to discover the historic area of Charleston, Sc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the hotel were extremely nice and helpful for short stay in Charleston. They gave us excellent suggestions for dining and touring. The location was fabulous, once we parked our car, everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.3
    Hotel was adequate but not up to our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were cramped and not particularly well decorated. Heating/cooling was intermittent and noisy. Hotel bar was not inviting. Parking area was difficult to navigate.But, the staff was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    OK...look around...so many accomdarioms in Charleston
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Beds were not comfy to me. 2 double beds . Tea and cookies at night...they just sit out a tea chest and cookies ...no special tea or special cookies ...thought it would be more unique

    Location is really good. Great staff -very helpful wirh places to eat

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    My first time to Charleston was a success!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a little congested, but otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!

    The location was awesome and the staff was very helpful and informative!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    perfectly romantic. Great for couples. Great little wine cafe nearby by name of Flynn's.
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything good.

    Great fireplace seating area during unusually cold temps in Charleston that week. Nice bar. rooms are tastefully decorated. Staff is courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    We were there during the holiday cold front, and the heat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during the holiday cold front, and the heat was a little wonky. It was a nice place with friendly staff, but it was not up to the price tag.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Very enjoyable. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had a problem with the toilet paper holder, of all things. Finally had to dismantle it. Also, very strange shower. The handheld shower head was difficult to regulate because of the placement of the valve on top of the main shower head. VERY poorly designed.

    Enjoyed the breakfast served at the Inn. Wait staff very attentive and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location for sightseeing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a bit cleaner, but was not bad. Breakfast and bar staff was overwhelmed.

    Comfortable beds. Great location. Very helpful staff. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Totally recommend this wonderful hotel!
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location with amazing and helpful staff. Rooms were clean and nice. We had a good time and certainly enjoyed sitting in the lobby at the fireplace!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    The front desk was AWESOME - the chocolate chips cookies...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The front desk was AWESOME - the chocolate chips cookies and tea after a long day running around Charleston a nice treat - the parking (and free) will have us coming back for sure

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, friendly staff, off street parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways and rooms are beginning to show some slight wear and the rooms can be a bit snug. But minor details. Overall the stay was lovely.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, off street parking located on site. Every afternoon cheese, crackers and accoutrements are put out as well as cookies and tea in the evenings. We didn’t have our suits but there was a small but nice pool on site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    A good mid range hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and on site parking (which is why I chose this particular hotel). Street parking in Charleston is nigh impossible. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean and had good lighting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel. Great location. Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast. Slow breakfast service. Horrible, weak, flavorless coffee. Please offer a medium to dark roast. Option of a darker roast coffee in room.

    Everything! Staff friendly and eager to please. Everyone smiled. New carpet throughout Inn. Granite countertops, fluffy white towels that did not smell like bleach, white throw rug at sink, lovely white, quilted bedspreads, minifrig, excellent nighttime lighting in room, cheese and crackers in late afternoon, tea and fresh chocolate chip cookies at 8 pm. Sitting area on second floor is very warm and inviting. Breakfast not worth the price, unless you order a la carte. I had a scrambled egg; it was okay. My husband had pancakes. They were light and fluffy and good. Service very slow. Love underground parking. Great location. Many restaurants near. A pamphlet giving instructions for using everything available in the room. What a great tool for a guest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall a pleasant hotel with excellent location plus free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism is that breakfast is on an a la Carte basis! Free coffee or tea but everything else - from a glass of orange juice to a croissant or eggs is all priced individually. Service was also far too slow for simple items like a croissant. However, there are plenty of places to eat outside the hotel so it’s not a show stopper.

    Staff very polite and helpful. Room clean although a little tight for space. Very good location for the historic area, market, restaurants, and the ferry to Fort Sumpter or the Aquarium. Great happy hour and free tea and cookies in the evening which makes up for the unusual format for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price point, lacked required attention to detail in room. Several gashes in walls and furniture that were not repaired. Found used cotton swab in made bed upon first use. Makes you wonder what is unseen.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    It was adequate but expensive. The location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shelf or table where to put my stuff on in the bathroom....actually left it on the floor! No cool coffee bar...just a regular place without much personality.

    The staff was nice. My bed was decent, a bit of a dip in the middle of the bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi was very intermittent and not reliable in our room. The room was very small.

    The location is excellent. We arrived early and left later but were able to leave our car in the car park the entire time. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Glad we stayed; would prob stay again. Looove Charleston!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common areas (lounge, pub, etc) are lovely and cozy. I don’t know about the other floors and rooms but the third floor hallway and our room are due for updating/deep cleaning. Lighting near elevator on 3fl is dim, furniture and fixtures in room are a bit beat esp the hassock. Marks on room walls, spent Kleenex and other detritus visible between bed frame and box spring. Granite top by coffee machine felt rough so I washed it and it was then smooth. (Ugh.) Fitted sheet was inside out. A little more attention to detail up there, please!

    Lovely hotel in a very Convenient location; within walking distance of so much! Situated w/in half block of Jestines and Sticky Fingers! Yum! There is free parking below hotel and you can your leave car there until 4 pm after you check out! Very Friendly and helpful staff. Upbeat. Very comfortable bed. Fridge in room. Def there is Potential to be 5 star.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Everything offered led to our convenience and to help up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only little things hing was our coffee machine was broken.

    Everything offered led to our convenience and to help up enjoy our stay better. The first hotel we have found with plenty of hanging space for our towels.👏

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed the stay. Been here before. Disappointed staff did nothing for our anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is poor. Always cooler in hall than room. It's time to replace the sheets. Place is becoming dated

    The location is awesome. Parking included is a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in the tub was full of hair, which was pretty disgusting.

    Great location. Comfortable and classy rooms. Close to everything. Efficient staff. Nice happy hour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    The King Charles Inn is in a perfect location right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The King Charles Inn is in a perfect location right in the middle of downtown Charleston! Everything we wanted to do and see was within short walking distance! The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable! I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    It's a cute, convenient and when staff is personal it is wonderful. Can't set thermostat to own temp
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff can seem to care very little you are there..

    Location, parking, charm and Ben made was the one to make us feel welcomed, wanted and personal experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    We were very happy with our stay here, I would definitely come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about this hotel EXCEPT for the fact that the beds in our room were full size and not queen. This created a very close sleeping situation for my Husband and myself (we are used to sleeping in a king size bed). This wouldn't have been a problem if I had known this ahead of time; I could have simply booked us a room with a king bed, but I didn't know until we checked in.

    This is a lovely hotel with an excellent location. Friendly and helpful staff and a calm and relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Although pricey it was ok. Not what I expected. I thought it would be nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to switch rooms after the first night the ac was horrible and the room stunk. 346. The rooms are small but ok. The pool is in no way the size the picture lead to believe. It is tiny.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Location is ideal - within a comfortable walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is ideal - within a comfortable walking distance of everything we wanted to see. Parking was included. Easy check in and desk staff was very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Had a wonderful stay. Everything was better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I love the friendly staff from the front desk to the house cleaning ladies. The facilities was modern, unique and still has a loyalty taste to it. I will definitely go back and stay there and refer all my friends to experience the great treatment at King Charles.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    A property with great location and a wonderful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can think of nothing negative ... excepting of course the pricing which seems very much in line with others which boast similar location

    I didn't experience the breakfast but the afternoon tea and drinks were very nicely done and somewhat unexpected. It looked back toward a more graceful time from my own youth which fit perfectly with the atmosphere of Charleston. The staff were, over all, exceptional as it should be in Charleston. Joshua, in the bar, must stand out as exceptional. Over 4 days stay he not only remembered and recreated every order and request to the finest point but also displayed an intimate knowledge of the city and it's culture. The staff stand as the winning point for highest recommendations of the King Charles Inn. They are certainly highly qualified to accommodate any business needs. I travel often to Charleston and had never stayed at this property. It will certainly be my destination of choice on my next trip. W. M. Harrell

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    GREAT PLACE TO STAY AND RELAX
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long corridors to walk around / parking space limited

    We loved this place - a great one to stay for a couple of nights! Everyone enjoyed the time including all our kids. Great swimming pool with very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location! Great atmosphere! Great Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hallways were very cold!

    It was very easy to get in an out of with my 2 year old in her stroller. We liked the breakfast by the pool in the morning. It is also very close for take-out on the nights my toddler could not go to anymore places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    The rooms were clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was inconvenient. Checking in was hard due to poor parking. Wish they had a complimentary breakfast for on the go.

    The location was very good for the downtown area. Could walk to most places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Awesome trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small for the furniture.

    The hotel was very convienent to walk to everything in the city. The beds were very comfortable and the staff extremely friendly. We would go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    The BEST stay for your bucks!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was NOTHING that could have been improved upon.

    This is the BEST place to stay in Charleston! It is perfectly located to the market and definitely close enough that you can walk down to Waterfront Park. There are so many places to stay in the area but this hotel from start to finish, was nothing but impressive. The staff was incredibly polite and the bartender sure knows how to pour a strong drink! The rooms are great and The Corner Room at the front of the hotel, is the best! Our son had so much fun looking out the window at all of the passer-bys! Will stay here EVERY TIME we come!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Clean but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with luggage, parking was terrible (had to park across a busy street and I have a handicap pass). Finally, I let my sleeping clothes in the room (Vinyard Vine) and they were not turned in by housekeeping!

    Room was clean and bathroom was very nice; however there were no robes.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: