Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kohea Kai Maui, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3 stars

551 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753, USA

#8 of 50 hotels in Kihei

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 253 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Had to move cause me and one daughter could not tolerate the mustinfess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room MUSTY! ROOM WAY SMALLER THAN PICTURES ON INTERNET INDICATED, Towels for 2 not 3 people. No bedding for sofa bed. Pool really small and had a ring around pool above water line. Patio uneven to walk on. $200 more than the price of two bedroom condo in Wahilia.

    Breakfast OK. Landscaping lovely. Staff friendly. Room clean. Beach OK. Property clean. Parking good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    To whomever will read this, STAY HERE AT THIS LOCATION!!! They will treat you like family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that we had to leave!!! We would have stayed the entire month if we could have! This place is absolutely wonderful. We are both still speechless by everything Kohea Kai did for us! Simply amazing!

    We literally loved everything!! From check in until check out, your staff was absolutely wonderful!! We have never been treated so wonderfully by any place!! We were sad to leave! BUT we already began planning for our next trip!! THANK YOU ALL!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice and peaceful place close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff, comfortable room with all necessary facilities, very clean, silent and just 1 minute walk from the beach. Free parking as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place, great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe upgrade the air-conditioning to reverse cycle split systems (quieter). Also the TV was complicated to work out and use, but we don't go on holiday to watch TV, it was just the weather we needed to see (Hurricane Lane). Some walls were too thin so we could hear the noise in the next room (but they moved us anyway).

    The grounds were beautiful and the sundeck on top of the roof had a great view, a great place to finish the day with sunset and beverage. The room was good, clean and the small verandah outside was a bonus. We enjoyed the king bed and the mini kitchenette was very useful. The air conditioning unit in the wall was a bit noisy but the ceiling fan kept us cool while we slept. Great choices at breakfast, so much to choose from! All round a very nice place and they even upgraded us to a higher floor! Thanks so much Lucy and Tevita! You were excellent hosts!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    This is a nice property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast that was offered was great! The outside eating area was beautiful! The room was a little small, too much furniture in it for the space. But was clean & the AC & ceiling fan worked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    not gigantic - intimate setting - pleasant garden for...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no good place to jog nearby

    not gigantic - intimate setting - pleasant garden for breakfast - something for everyone at breakfast - friendly, helpful staff, very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Good for Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast buffet was good and the garden is lovely to eat in. Beach is just across the road and good restaurants only a short drive away ($8 in an Uber/Lyft).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At our suite the screen door to the patio area did not open and close easily.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. It was nice that breakfast was included. The location was quiet and close to beaches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked the Junior Suite with Ocean View, but when we arrived they didn't have any left. Without telling us this, they put us in another "upgraded" room with no ocean view and a direct view of the pool/hot tub, so no privacy. We weren't in the room much, so this wasn't a huge problem, but we booked this trip specifically with an ocean view in mind.

    The location was fairly convenient, close drive to all the good spots on the island. The room was clean and though we didn't use it, the kitchen was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean room, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They probably need to change the doors and some of the facilities of the resort. You need to move by car as there are not restaurants near by. It was a bit more expensive than other places we stayed and not much more beautiful but the room was very big and bed was very comfortable.

    Very beautiful place in front of the beach. Nice garden. Staff are always very helpful and nice. The room is very big and has all the facilities. Good place to relax for a couple of days

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room clearly needs some renovation works; old, loud AC; badly soundproofed room; not enough space to sit an the breakfast area; too expensive for what you get

    rooftop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    I would stay again. Grounds well maintained. The breakfast was plenty and impeccably kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower head was too tall and uncomfortable. Poorly built.

    The property is conveniently located to downtown Kihei and the trip to Haleakalā and road to Hana were lessened as opposed to being in Lahaina. The property provides from some snorkeling gear to coolers which helped a lot. You can have a drink and catch the sunset on the rooftop terrace. The beach is directly across the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice location, but overpriced for what is offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite was supposed to be an "ocean view suite", but the only view was the road and a dam hiding the ocean. In the suite there was no closet and the only place to hang clothes was in the bathroom (there were some loose hangers)!

    The bed was comfortable and the suite was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    It's a nice experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the South Kihei Rd is just in front of our room, it is a little bit loud due to the traffic going on. It doesn't affect our sleep at night though as the traffic got less during the night, and also the room is relatively soundproof.

    Free breakfast and nice staff. There is a beach one street across of our room, which is nice for watching the sunset. Check out process is also very fast. The vibe of this resort is relaxing and closed to the nature.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Budget friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small and dingy. Super small pool. Bo a great view from the room.

    Beautiful garden to eat breakfast in. Close to a lot of shopping restaurants and beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, close to the beach and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about. Awesome friendly staff and clean!

    Super clean with a comfortable bed and a good breakfast! Beach is directly across the road and is super close! Overall great experience and will be coming back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bugs in the room, this may not be the management's fault if guests leave the garden door open. Not all the complimentary items stated to be such were complimentary when we discovered a small charge on our credit card after we left. The price is high for what you get but that's the case everywhere on Maui.

    Nice beach decor inside and the garden outside the unit. The beach is just across the road -- but the road is busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing experience, mahalo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an amazing hotel. The garden view room is a must. I would take it over ocean view. It was like a private Oasis. The breakfast was great! The room had a microwave, a toaster, a coffee machine, and a beer fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Great staff. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little outdated but they are trying. Parking.

    The staff was amazing! (SUPER friendly). The hot breakfast had a nice variety and it was tasty. The grounds have some nice surprises like little tucked away areas to watch a sunset or have breakfast al fresco.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't have a place to store soap, shampoo, etc. so we had to put it on the ground. It seemed like only a few of the staff members knew what was going on. Parking in front of room was a bit tricky.

    The location was perfect. Right across from the beach and easy access to all the places we wanted to go. The lush gardens and back porch were nice. Available beach equipment was convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom does not have a vent or fan to alleviate the steam and moisture from the shower. Opening the window was kind of an option but then anyone walking by can see into the bathroom.

    My all time favorite thing about this resort is the fact that the beach is right across the street. It was private and beautiful and we had so much fun. I loved how comfortable the bed was and how we had a back patio to relax and have coffee on while waking up each morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Mini Hawaiian Vacay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have been walking distance to some local restaurants.

    The location was great for road trip to Hana, beach right outside was great for walking on in the morning and swimming. Breakfast is great and the outdoor garden area to eat was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Besides getting a free upgrade to the suite, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides getting a free upgrade to the suite, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the bed was amazing. I would definitely return and recommend them to family and friends. The beach was also right across the street and location was walking distance to an ABC store.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    A little dated, but the location & accomodations made it well worth it. We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioner was a little loud. It was better to let it run continuously than having it kicking on and off.

    I liked the personal touches: personalized welcome & departure letters, complimentary snack basket. A great breakfast was included in the price. We were also told we could use the pool and hot tub after hours as long as we weren't loud. Beach equipment was also available for our use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area is small so we took ours back to the room. The scrambled eggs weren’t very good. Not much to complain about except we were unable to enjoy the beautiful grounds and pool due to lots of rain. Still, we could enjoy the lush vegetation through our windows.

    Beautiful unit, like new, lots of windows, good a/c, lovely grounds, very comfortable bed, gift basket, breakfast included, wi-fi, cable TV, clean, nice bath amenities. Most of the breakfast food was good...bacon, sausage, waffles, fresh pineapple, yogurt, pastries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Awesome value, location, and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minus is a small shower with mismatchecked tiling. The service, room, and breakfast more than made up for it.

    Loved everything! Staff was super friendly and helpful. Room was great, very comfortable. The staff would leave little chocolate treats each day after cleaning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice residency with very friendly staff but just too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a junior suite with seaview. I didn't feel like a junior suite and there was slightly a seaview. You have a patio but if people want to go to the upper deck they have to cross your patio, which is not privat. All the people are passing your room if they go up. The prize was too high for what I got.

    The staff (Dee) was very friendly and helpful. Nice building with style with a beach over the street in a part of Kihei which is not that crowded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    I will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little gaeko appeared in the room once. I didnt want to sleep with her.

    Very very friendly kind staff. Nice location. You can reach a beach just in a minute. Quiet and peaceful. Breakfast is also good. Mart and restaurant are near. Parking is free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    This place worked well for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    As others have noted, the place could use some updating. I saw some of the other rooms and while I expect the more expensive rooms to be a bit nicer, they’re a lot nicer and more updated. My standard room had a few glitches: the screen door didn’t close completely and should be replaced, and I had continuing problems with the wifi. The staff provided some compensation on that score but that would definitely be a consideration if I thought about staying again. The parking is tight but manageable, and there really isn’t much within walking distance so a car is a must have.

    This place worked well for me. I was looking for something a little apart from the center of things but near a beach and still close enough to find some restaurants and shops, and this fit the bill. I found the place clean and most of the staff was very nice and extremely helpful. The mini fridge, coffee maker, microwave, and utensils were nice to have on hand. I really enjoyed the garden and the beach across the street was great – easily accessible and few people on it. The hotel has beach chairs to take across the street to watch the beautiful sunsets. I went up to the rooftop patio a couple times but preferred to just walk across the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    Had much better for the $
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updates, cleaner sofa cushions and an actual bathroom vanity to set things on! Breakfast fair. Something with bran or more fiber would be nice. Bran cereal, raisins, whole grain bread or bran muffin.

    Had what we needed for the short time we were there. Nice staff. Is close to a great (real) gym!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Unexpected penthouse stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only little minus is the traffic on the street, but this is nothing the hotel is able to manage themselves

    We were probably very lucky, because we had booked standard ocean view double bedroom and got penthouse with ocean view and private whirlpool on our terrace on top. The accommodation was simply amazing, the staff as well. Breakfasts of high quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    The best vacation and I would stay at the same resort again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That upon check-in, the person at the front desk did not seem to have any knowledge as to eating places within walking distance nor did she let us know there were bikes we could have used.

    A bonus was that breakfast was included. The location is very close to the beach and in walking distance to several shops and restaurants. Robin, that worked in the Bistro, and Jayzee the head custodian were VERY helpful in informing us on things to do and see, friendly, and made our stay even better because there were so many things we just didn't know about the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps brighter light bulbs for reading in bed.

    Very clean. Gardens around buildings well maintained. A plus to bring breakfast to outdoor tables. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Lush courtyard garden area, with paths & seating. Beach across the road. Near Maui Ocean Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed the handy little kitchenette alcove and the balcony with a sea view. The grounds were lushly gardened, with walkways, comfortable lounge areas, tables and a gazebo. Parking was handy and free. The included breakfast was tasty, with a variety of options. Staff were warm and personable. Beach access was just across the road. Everything we needed was nearby, including groceries, Post Office and shops. Only 4 miles to the Maui Ocean Center for great water-front dining, whale watching boat rides, and the aquarium. We went there twice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Overly priced for the stay. 40-50 yrs Outdated inside and the buildings. The grounds were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old and 50 yrs outdated too small and confining. the refrigerator was a small mini frig that rocked/tipped not what we expected. The mini microwave was really small and very high up scary to take anything out that was hot. didn’t like the breakfast : eggs were liquid carton not real eggs, the bacon wasn’t real (fake)it was paper thin sliced the cooktop was ok but small. Entry into bathroom vanity area was very small tight quarters. Nice tile in bathroom and flooring in this unit. No bathroom fan to let steam out. Looked freshly painted and nice decor. But table and chair were unstable and only one chair to seat at table the lounge chair wasn’t meant to seat at table for eating so it wasn’t for two. Overall the room was more like a small studio apt not resort looking inside and overly priced considering other places that were a lot cheaper with the same view. The internet info was deceiving not what we expected. But the staff was cordial very nice people.

    Staff was friendly very clean like the view of ocean but a bit obstructed by shrubs n trees even though we had ocean view the grounds were beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    We loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and her staff are wonderful and made us feel so welcome. We had a late night flying in and everything was ready and waiting for us. The accommodations are quaint but modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Location is steps away from the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    The stay was ok but I don't like the way they operate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not fulfill my request as they promised. They promised the room facing the beach directly with the room number and when we arrived they gave us the different room stating that the person did the booking for us is no longer with the company so they gave that room to another couple. They also put an extra charge on my visa without telling me what it was for and when I asked they said the tax has gone up. Customers should be informed about the charges. That's very bad service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.4
    Too much money for the facilitites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were thoroughly disappointed with the value for the cost. Its a very old facility. Refurbished , but you can only do so much. It is time to close this and start over on this very nice property.

    Location was good. Staff was very friendly, helpful and positive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The listing promotes views, balconies or patios, coffee makers, glasses, small appliances, etc. Our room was large, but not well furnished and poorly lit. It was nothing more than a motel room and a bit lacking even for that. However, when I spoke to the manager she was extremely gracious and explained that the owners were in the process of renovation and not all rooms were up to standard yet. That didn't address the lack of balconies or some other issues, but she gave us a corrected bill that included a discount that we did not request, but it was the right thing to do. The property is pleasant and if they correct the over stating of amenities there would be no reason to feel disappointed.

    Great location across from a nice beach. Good facilities and great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    Way too expensive for what they offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it is just because Maui is outrageously expensive, but this place was over 500 Canadian dollars/night. At half the price it would have been acceptable. It is the bare basics and nothing more. At least our suite had an ocean view ( towards the windmills across the bay) even if it was overlooking a parking lot, a busy road and multitudes of every communication wire known to man. Breakfast was included but we didn’t eat it. The liquid coffee mate and packaged eggs were a turn off, although to be fair they did have cooked bacon and eggs. The coffee was in paper cups but it was good.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast just Ok, not great. Marginal view over rooftops and view partially blocked. Not a very good location. Only one chair in the room to watch TV.

    Staff excellent. Bed very comfortable and bathroom nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, quiet, laid back vibe in Kihei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here two different times during our trip, in two different rooms. There is a wide variety of room types, and though we paid extra for an “ocean view” room with a kitchenette the second time, the room was more “motel-like” and dated compared to the room (with no special view, but newly remodeled) that we had been in before. The “ocean view” means that you’re also facing room the fairly busy main road that separates the property from the beach.

    Having breakfast included was great at this property, since any other options are a short drive. The location is great if you want something not in the hub of Kihei. It’s relatively quiet and has nice, comfortable common grounds. It’s somewhat quirky in that it has several different non-adjacent buildings (with a variety of room types) but that adds to its charm and comfort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Great, friendly little property with a variety of room types.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the room we stayed in was comfortable, it was separated from main grounds, pool, jacuzzi, etc. by a parking area, so it felt somewhat removed.

    The quiet, secluded feel to the property. Socializing with other guests over coffee/breakfast. Being across the street from the beach...not a particularly good beach for daytime/swimming, but perfect for sunsets, strolls, and general atmosphere!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.5
    Basic for the price but enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ocean view was only a partial view and our room was directly on a main road. Our bathroom window backed onto a communal area for laundry facilities.

    Comfy bed, beautiful gardens and friendly staff Direct access to a beach across the road

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great location and everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING. There’s nothing to hate at this hotel. We loved their whole concept, and location which is right beside a beach. Their space is enough for the two of us, their cleanliness is also great, the staffs are so friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    The location was perfect for exploring the island. The beach was perfect for walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful especially Lucy who satisfied our every need. We were unhappy with our initial room so she changed it to the exact room I expected...truly a gorgeous apartment. Thank you Lucy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    The bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t even have a place to put soap or shampoo etc. The toilet didn’t flush well. The drains were slow. While breakfast was free I felt like we were being monitored by someone taking our room number every morning and they monitored the hot food. Weird set up

    The bed was comfy. The staff was fabulous and very helpful sharing favorite spots on the island. Breakfast was decent. They had plenty of item to take to the beach The gift basket and daily treats were a nice touch

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Barebones but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get WiFi to work on our phones but worked on the computer. Breakfast items too sugary.

    Nice grounds and garden. Room is barebones but clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful - perfect to explore Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff Location ! - close to airport and ideal to start any island tour We were on ground floor - lovely garden Convenient breakfast that you could take outside

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall great and we really enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a screen door on the lanai so we could leave the door open at night and not get bugs in. Would prefer sound of ocean to sound of AC unit!

    Staff were unbelievably friendly and informative. A small private beach right across from the property perfect for laying out and swimming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed in facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old, inferior facility. Not suitable for celebrating a wedding anniversary. Beach access poor. Difficult parking. A humbling experience.

    Very nice breakfast. Great staff. Quiet room. Beautiful garden area. Nice amenities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Patio seating nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need soap shelf in shower. Need an extra mirror in room.

    Patio seating nice. Lovely short walk to beach. Room was pretty. Comfy bed. Beach towels handy. Morning coffee in room very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful choice for a Kihei, Maui stay!
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, large room in a great location. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The complementary snack basket on the counter when we entered the room and the free breakfast were very nice extras. The staff was professional and accommodating with much Aloha for their guests. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Treated like kings in Kihei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    Full breakfast in the am 6:30-9:30. Really cute bungalow style hotel. Pool and spa very nice. There is a deck above one of the buildings and you can see the ocean from there. Massage available on site. Also multiple gas grills with utensils. They offer beach toys to borrow. Best thing about the hotel was definitely the staff. Absolutely top notch customer service. Very friendly and made us feel like we were important. I have friends who live in Kihei and I will ABSOLUTELY stay there again when I return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Simply perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I have to say something, it's the breakfast, which is great, but it's the very same every day. A bit of variety would be great. Another tiny thing, "laundry service" means they can provide you an opportunity and materials to do a laundry, but they will not make it for you.

    Quiet, but still close to everything, a beautiful beach is 10 meters away... Really an excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    I hope I get to come back someday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior King Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff was very friendly and down-to-earth, I enjoyed talking to them when I went in for breakfast. The facility is well kept, and is a comfortable size. Overall the place is high quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came out in the morning after a nice rest to see a flat tire on my rental car. Rental company did not supply the car jack and lug nut remover ( I guess they took them out). The staff helped me with the tools to change the tire. Great service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Good, nice garden, close enough to good beaches, close to Paia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is small and could use some updating - there is no shelf in the shower to put toiletries.

    Super nice staff. We had a garden room, the garden is very nice. The bed was good and not too soft. The property is right across the road from the ocean, but the beach is really narrow there. Better to go south the the wider beaches. They have a pool which we didn't use. The common areas are. Ice and well kept but we didn't use them much as we were up and about. They offer breakfast included but it's pretty basic - scrambled eggs, the volume made ones so pretty rubbery, toast fruits. We went out for breakfast after the first day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Setting of the room was serene and overlooking a pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was great!

    Setting of the room was serene and overlooking a pretty garden. Location is 30 seconds away from a nice beach. Bed was fantastic and breakfast served in the morning was amazing! Everybody was very helpful and accommodating. We will come back there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Delightful. I plan to stay there every time I go to Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    The staff was so friendly and helpful! They went out of their way to make us feel like long- time friends or family. The breakfast was not your typical hotel chain food; there were hot eggs, fresh pastries, delicious fresh pineapple, and many choices. There is a lovely hot tub and the landscape is lush tropical. The beach is across the street, close enough to hear the waves from your room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Best Staff ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach at this beachfront property isn't very pretty or usable (a fair amount of sand kicked up by the surf), so guests might be disappointed at that.

    The Staff was very upbeat and friendly, perhaps best I've ever seen. They seemed to really care that all our needs were net and were extremely helpful about pointing out all the useful things at the property, such as beach chairs, noodles for floating, etc, that guests could take in their car and use while lodging there. Chocolates at the front desk. Lovely open rooftop lounge from which to what the sunset...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Aloha! Welcome to our Island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At high tide the surf breaks on sand and rocks close to the road. For that reason the beach at this Property may not be aporopruate for families with childrren. Of course... Multiple gentle Kihei swim beaches are only a short drive away.

    Genuine sense of helpful welcome from front desk staff to breakfast room. Older hotel ... jdirectlt across street from beach! Clean and Well maintained! Peaceful outdoor breakfast area surrounded by garden and bird song. Value for money can't be beat. Beautiful view with the sound of surf right outside our door!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    lovely friendly staff - breakfast was great - beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to leave and come back to the mainland

    lovely friendly staff - breakfast was great - beautiful garden to sit and eat. Beautiful beach is right across the street and they have everything you need to spend the day - umbrellas, chairs, coolers, ice, towels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Good place on the wilea part of Maui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small shelf or at least hangers would help to organize and also dry towels in the tiny bathroom

    Very nice garden! Good athmosphere having breakfast in the garden. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    A clean and enjoyable good value resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An older facility so the soundproofing between the first and second floors is tolerable but not the best.

    Staff was very friendly and attentive. Adults only for those who don't appreciate a bunch of screaming kids. Free breakfast was good not just fruit but eggs, bacon and sausage, yogurt, toast, juice, pastries. Beautiful garden setting to enjoy your breakfast if you want to eat outside. Free use of beach equipment such as boogie boards, chairs coolers, umbrellas and mats. A small pool and hot tub and facilities to barbecue if that's what you want to do. A rooftop view deck with a view of the water and table and chairs to relax or tan.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Great value, great views, great people!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to say is this place was amazing. The staff was incredible so helpful and went out of there way to make sure the stay was awesome. They gave us great recommendations for adventure, entertainment, food, local favorites, and just had great conversation with them. Great price and overall value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Fabulous 5 Stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my husband is handicapped. the staff could not do enough to make our stay in paradise a memorable occassion, they were all teriffic, and we highly recommend this establishment to all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Complimentary breakfast every morning at a beautiful location with super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fitness facility.

    Amazing views, beach right across the street. Comfy digs. Very helpful and friendly employees. Also included free beach gear to borrow.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were wonderful. The room was clean and spacious, the grounds were lush and beautiful. The owner was so welcoming and everyone there was friendly. It has become one of our favorite spots and we can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Awesomesauce
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little pricey but pretty worth it

    Everyone was amazing and friendly the room was beautiful and I love the 24/7 pool and hot tub and the breakfast omg I love everything!!!! Can't wait to go back next month

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.9
    Charming place in lovely garden setting near beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and a little dusty.

    Wonderful, friendly staff. Comfortable room with lovely ocean and garden view. Very nice, relaxing garden patio for hanging out and eating breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.8
    Maui is paradise just not at Kohea Kai Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We have been to Maui several times and stay in Kihei . We decided to switch from where we normally stay to have a kitchen and be able to prepare some meals. We chose the Kohea Kai Resort based on the write up on their site. When we got there we were very surprised by the room. It was not what we expected. It was very overpriced for what we got. The room was listed as deluxe with ocean view and it was not deluxe. Because we were on a lower level and the landscaping there was barely a view. It had a basement that had been renovated feel, damp. The décor looked disjointed as if furniture was just placed in the room. A couch that looked old, two end tables with lamps, a table with 2 chairs and a dresser for our clothes that held the TV. No coffee table or attempt to make the room look like a combination dining and living room. No closets, there was a bar to hang clothes in the bathroom. The room had a kitchen that was remodeled, with no dishwasher (who wants to wash dishes on vaca), the refrigerator was old and rusted on the sides, limited cookware nothing if you wanted to use the oven. We were there for 10 days, sheets were only changed once on the 7th day. We agree on the need to conserve on water by using towels more than once but after two days I want fresh towels. Twice we had to go and get towels because they hadn't changed them or forgot to leave them. No private patio or lanai, other guests or staff walking by so no sitting out to have drinks if you wanted privacy. Room felt dark and closed in. Other guest on the same level were leaving their doors open to get more light. No Concierge even though they advertise on their website and have it posted on their building so no help for excursions or deals. The pool is very small and saline. They don't mention that in in their description (pool was a big deal for us).

    The staff was very nice. Breakfast included each morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    7.9
    Nice quiet, low key resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location a bit distant from restaurants, etc. Difficult walking from resort on very busy road

    Great staff, lots of beach equipment for guest use, nice grounds and sundeck, well appointed room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    This is a resort which I stayed second time and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a resort which I stayed second time and it is extremely comfortable place. Staff is very helpful and friendly and assisted me with various tour bookings. They now provide breakfast. There is beach just outside Across the road.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    All excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: