Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kona Coast Resort 3 stars

78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

#3 of 11 hotels in Kailua-Kona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 678 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we did kill a large cockroach, but I guess that comes with any place in the tropics.

    Large space, with a full kitchen and laundry. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is where we will stay when we return. This is very roomy with all the comforts of a home. Great location, very close to main Kona drag but far enough away that it is very quiet and peaceful. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot water in ensuite shower when we arrived, however the front desk was quick to report to maintenance. Overall response/repair time was ~1 hour. Maintenance worker was friendly. No houskeeping for stays under 5 days, however the front desk ordered us new towels upon request.

    Room was very spacious., complete with personal balcony. Guest services were helpful including renting snorkeling equipment. Gatehouse attendant was very friendly. Lots of activities on site, although we didn't do any of them (including shuffleboard, volleyball, jacuzzi, pool, restaurant, bar). Room had a digital safe. In-room laundry was very handy and easy to use (stacked front-load washer and dryer).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights

    There are no elevators which isn´t much of a deal for every day but when you arrive or leave it´s a bit anoying carring up/down stairs all your luggage specially if you are on the 3rd floor like we did. The staff in charge of restocking soap, towels, dishwasher soap, coffee etc did a really bad job. We had to ask to get dishwashing machine soap on several ocations but the second time after calling them like 4 times the soap NEVER arrived so we ended up having to wash dishes by hand which isn´t what you want to spend your time on while on vacation. The other thing I didn´t enjoy was the outside BBQ´s they were clean but didn´t worked that well (or maybe I just couldn´t figure them out) We tried to make a couple of fillets and shrimp and after almost 20 minutes they didn´t seem to cook so we had to turn the thing off and cook everything back on the kitchen. Also beware there are tons of cockroaches in the gardens surrounding the bbq´s (you don´t see them during the day but at night is quite something). Never got one on the rooms I have to be honest.

    The staff at the reception desk the night we got there was AMAZING, extremly friendly and kind. The hotel surroundings or arquitecture is just ok but the rooms are in perfect condition, clean and comfortable. The room has all the basic things you need to cook. Great ilumination (natural and artificial) 3 tvs. I really didn´t use much of the resorts activities or restaurant but apreciate not been contacted by anybody regarding sharetime or anything like that. I think it´s a great value for your money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet quality is very poor. Not a big deal, but no where near what you get at major hotels.

    The pool restaurant is surprisingly good... ate there on more than one occasion. Location is hard to beat and the rooms are terrific. We were very comfortable and happy with our stay in this location on the Kona Coast. Really close to good snorkelling spots (Two_Step and Kahalu'u) as well as local Magic Sands Beach. It's also easy drive down Ali drive to main Kona shopping area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except the fact that we wanted to stay longer!

    We made this reservation knowing nothing about Kona. This property was in a good location (out of the bustle of Kona but still a close driving distance to everything. The unit was HUGE and easily accommodated my family of four (with two tall teens.) The unit had every convenience we needed and was within walking distance to a shopping area with restaurants, grocery, and drug store. Above all, this resort is quiet and very clean. The woman who checked us in was very nice and the man at the activities desk was very friendly and knowledgeable about the island. He did not try to sell us on unwanted tours! We enjoyed this resort so much that we tried to extend our stay but it was already booked. For our family of 4, we had the two bedroom villa which had a very nice master bed and bath. The second bedroom had two queen beds and another bathroom which was perfect for our son and daughter. Although the resort seemed full, we never heard our neighbors which made us feel like we were the only ones there. We would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very happy with the experience at this resort. It was very well kept with lots of beautiful trees, plants and flowers. We only visited the main pool and jacuzzi it was very nice. The restaurant/bar was next to the pool, that was very convenient. The food was very good it wasn’t cheap, but that is in par with the rest of the island. It was very quiet during the night. I will probably stay here again if I return to the big Island.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay at Kona Coast! Our condo was nice & spacious for our family. The resort itself was nice and accommodating to everyone in our group, adults, babies and kids (My son is 8). Looking forward to the next trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a ground floor unit so was all ok for access, but if you're on another floor, there are no lifts.

    We had a 2 bed unit, was really spacious and well-appointed. Sunset Terrace great for food and drinks. Concierge desk was really helpful for directions and updates on local attractions. Handily located grocery stores just outside the resort were hand for picking up essentials.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested late check out but came the day of check out and it was in the computer.

    I really like the place, room was big and had two bathrooms for a one bedroom. Had multiply pools, and the pool was open late and had other activities to do around the resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at night - generator or AC sound would bother people that are light sleepers. I had to use ear plugs and white noise lamp.

    We loved the landscaping , amenities , location , tranquility, the trees and flowers and their wonderful smell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe was not intuitive. Had to get help to open it. Then the battery fell out on the inside and had to get help again to open it. The smoke alarm beeped a few times but stopped. Probably should change the battery on a regular basis so this doesn't happen to a guest in the middle of the night. Also, cleaning every 4 days is pushing it but acceptable if we were at least provided plenty of clean towels and shampoo. Had to ask for both.

    The suite was spacious and comfortable for me and my adult son. Kitchen had everything we needed (except enough coffee). Kona Coast Resort is beautiful and is in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a beetle in the room the first night, but honestly this is just picking at details. I've stayed here before and will again and previously never found a bug. The showers also did not get very hot at all, which wasn't a deal breaker, but a little odd how quickly hot water ran out.

    Sunset Terrace servers were super friendly and wonderful. Front desk staff helpful as well and easy to get a hold of via phone or walk in. Helpful ideas as well of where to go, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The dwelling was very nice and very clean. We loved the outdoor patio. The living unit was very comfortable and well furnished. The pool was also very nice. We rented good snorkeling equipment from the Splash shop, and the attendants were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the hard sell on going on an 'information session' about investing in a time-share at the resort when we clearly were not interested. The supposed 'discounts' on activities if we did the session were not worth our time...! Luckily we ignored the pushy salesman...!

    Very spacious, clean and modern condo!! Great kitchen and appliances, and very efficient air con!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can hear every step of the guest walking in the unit on the floor above. You can also hear them flushing their toilets and taking showers.

    I was surprised how roomy the condo was, and that the furnishings were relatively modern and fresh. So many nice amenities on the property, and the ocean is just a quick walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your wanting to leave the resort you need a car. Places to eat and visit outside the resort are a drive away and you can’t walk anywhere.

    The room was huge and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i like that the apartment was so spacious and had all the amenities. i specially liked that there was a washer and dryer inside the apartment which was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was negative was the smell of smoking in the bedroom. Not in the rest of the unit. need to check it out so others don,t experience it.

    We had an ocean view on the 3rd floor. What could be better

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit out of the way, about 5 miles to the main area. A car is very useful. There is a trolley bus. This is only a very minor issue. However, anyone booking here needs to realise that it is a Time Share Resort and you will be subjected to their “hard sell”sales methods.

    Beautiful grounds, the unit was very tastefully furnished. Pool is great and there was plenty of parking. It is a very peaceful resort. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Found some cockroach in the kitchen drawers and when we turn on the aircon, the master bedroom aircon gives out a strong urine like odor, so we never used the aircon at all. Kids were not so happy since it's hot and humid and there's only 1 control for the aircon for the entire house.

    Spacious villa, good location and prompt response from staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is slow. More info about what’s included and the check in process up front. Would have been helpful.

    Property is clean. Sufficiently equipped. Concierge/activities person knowledgeable and helpful. People are nice. What more could you want?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the view from the balcony and there were chips falling off the ceiling above the balcony. The air conditioning unit was on the balcony, looked really old and was loud when sitting on the balcony.

    Our unit had a nice kitchen that included a washer and dryer. It had lots of space and was quiet. Everything worked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was kind of in the middle of things in two different directions, but it was ok for us as we were moving around a lot, only staying here for a couple nights.

    Large comfortable condo slept family of 6 very comfortably (young teens on the sleeper sofa). Loved having a kitchen and access to washer/dryer, as well as two bathrooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Registration staff & timeshare guy were not very welcoming, no aloha spirit! Didn’t like the pushy sales pitch from timeshare guy!

    Very clean, pool nice, unit very spacious & comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the main floor but the noise from the people above us was loud, lost of squeaky floors and stomp feet. The room could have had a little more things like foil and oven mits for BBQing

    The room was very spacious and the beds were comfy. Beautiful views of the sunset, close to the pool!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kona Coast Resort is the very best accommodation during my visit to Big Island. The Villa itself has just been renovated so that everything is new. Our 2-bedroom villa has 2 huge bedrooms, modernized full kitchen, beautiful garden, BBQ facilitate right next to our place. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back if we visit big island again. The only disadvantage is that they dont have a lift in the villa, so make sure that you ask for a ground floor if you have many luggage like us. We dont know about this, so that we come back to the reception to ask for a ground floor villa instead which wasted us 15 mins. The resort is very big. If shuttle bus is offered, that would be splendid!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 2 bedroom unit you could have a larger washer and dryer. Also could use more baking pans, food storage dishes and measuring cups

    Nice big kitchen and spacious unit. Better light in kitchen. Also hot in kitchen when the AC wasn’t on. Need a fan.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a bit outdated in our building but other rooms were updated. They were starting work on our building but not yet our room obviously.

    I really liked the size of the rooms. Very spacious with kitchens and washing machines. All the comforts of home. Very clean and well kept. The grounds are beautiful and family friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious, wonderfully equipped. We were lucky to get an ocean view unit. Walking distance pools, playgrounds, restaurant (food there is just ok though). If you need tips for activities the staff will always be happy to recommend things to do (you will also be offered deals as soon as you try to pick up your small bag of KONA free coffee :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The process to get TV working was a bit convoluted.

    The staff at activities desk (particularly Branxton) turned a wonderful stay, into an outstanding one. Great advice and we booked a number of activities including manta ray snorkel, which we loved. Location was handy for us with vehicle. Bed was super comfy and room looked to be recently renovated, everything was really well maintained and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little far out of town and transport along the coast is not that great.

    Wonderful facilities and very friendly, helpful staff. Loved the free access to tennis racquets and courts, volleyball and other activities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last night before we left I made a phone call regarding a late check out. I was told upon check-in that we had a late check out. I phoned to confirm, and felt that the person on the phone was insensitive regarding our status. As she told us we were "not elite", we did not have this option. Very insulting... We rent, as that's what's we choose. Other than than that, we're excited to be coming back.

    We loved the location, as I had been 2 years previous and loved location and resort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a ground level unit and the noise from the family above was more than we would like. Better sound proofing would be nice.

    Nice, comfortable resort in a very convenient location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hair in bathtub. Cigarette ash in main toilet. All of the furniture was up on the tables and we had to pull all the coffee tables and chairs down. The room AC was very noisy. Very expensive and staff did not take any responsibility for the room not being cleaned or set up right.

    The large hot tub behind our room was nice. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resort offer welcome coupon, which turned out a small pack of coffee, if you want to give some surprise, give something bigger pls.

    The room is new, clean and comfortable to stay. Nice three nights in Kona, will come back again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spoke to the staff about the bugs that get into the room sometimes they might want to spray outside the doors as this will keep them out but still enjoyed our stay up

    That it was very quiet and it was like being at home I could cook and not have to eat out every day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not with walking distance downtown.

    Ample space, modern, clean. Nice pool with restaurant by it. Beautiful ocean sunset by pool. Good parking. Very close to grocery store/mall. Very well stocked kitchen. Handy Laundry in unit with sample detergent. Shared Bbqs close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    My one bedroom flat was HUGE! With an equally massive balcony. You could easily stay for a week and have everything you need to be self sustained. I think it would be a lovely place for a family as there are lots of activities spread out in the grounds. The resort was handy to a shopping centre and about a 15 minute drive back into the centre on Kona but there are lots of lovely beaches and place to eat along the road before you reach Kona itself.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beach chairs, beach mats, snorkel gear, etc are available to rent from the property, but rates were not cheap. Upon check-in we received list of discounted prices of various activities, but these rates were only available to those attending a time-share presentation.

    Apt roomy, clean and well-stocked with paper supplies (paper towels & toilet paper). Liked having two bathrooms. Convenient having washer & dryer in the room. Parking was always available close to our building. Beach towels available for free check out at the pool area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear upstairs occupants.

    Two good-size bedrooms great beds large bathrooms large living room TVs in living room and both bedrooms large kitchen and dining area Everything clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the resort so much so that I asked to a concierge about a timesharing arrangement. To my disappointment, it is not offered to South Koreans as amatter of compnay policy (I am a South Korean who happens to own a Hilton condo in Waikiki). My wife and I were offended by the way the answer was provided. I can understand if it is a company policy. Other than this incident, we really really enjoyed staying at the resort. Mahalo

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You need a rental car to get around. Free gift is just a small pack of coffee and they tried to invite you for time-share. Not worth getting this free gift. Cockroaches seen a few times outside the room. Can't access the beach directly as it was surrounded by a golf club. You have to trespass to access the beach and it is a violation.

    Extremely satisfied with the room. Quite comfy and very clean. Kitchen is excellent and has lots of kitchenware to use. Hotel has swimming pools, bbq grills, sauna, gym, volleyball courts, hot tub for guests to use. Hotel also has washer and dryer built into the unit for guest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance way and stairway was very dirty. Limited smoking areas but thats the entire island. The grills always seemed to be out of gas or broken.

    Pools open to 11pm. Room was extremely clean, large and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the late afternoon, our Villa was unbearably hot and we could not get the A/C to work. In desperation we rang reception and were told we should have been given a key at check-in for the A/C power box. The receptionist puffed her way up to us with this key and our Villa became bearable.

    The Villa was huge. Although it was at the top of a hill we managed it with a bit of puff, but had we had a rental car like the majority of others, then parking it in front of the garage would have made it a breeze. The swimming pool was lovely and warm. There was a good feeling amongst the residents and guests. The Activities lady was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remodel is perfect. The pool next to bar/restaurant is so convenient and fun. It would be nice to have more pools throughout the place, but overall it is a nice place to stay. Clean, friendly staff, and close to many local attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to the beach from resort

    Great value, huge, fully self contained apartments. Very clean with beautiful grounds and walking distance to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rain storm Tue. I don't think you could do much about that,, though.

    Excellent staff... let us stay a couple hours later, due to heavy rain storm sweeping the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer BBQ located on patio of each unit , but I quess that’s asking a lot. Not much to not like at this place. 3 golf courses at property if you enjoy golf.

    Comfortable, home away from home type. Weber Spirit BBQ and table available per building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware the timeshare! Didnt appreciate getting pressured into timesharing and instantaneous up selling upon arrival. As aussies it was a bit of a culture shock and as honeymooners we didn't like the approach. Condo had a funny smell, outdated decor and uncomfortable couch.

    Lots of amenities and facilities. Big condo and pretty good location. Parking was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water wasn’t tasty to drink, maybe adding filters to faucets or filtered water pitchers. Needs shaded cover over BBQ areas.

    The bed was like a cloud with lots of fluffy pillows and clean beddings. The air conditioning along with ceiling fans are amazing. The rooms are so clean and welcoming. We definitely enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Friday night 10/6 early Saturday 10/07 I tried calling the front desk repeatedly for the unit below us that was screaming,pounding there chairs,laughing ,loud music from 2:15 am until 3:45 and no one ever answered the phone and there is no separate number listed for security, I wasn't sure if I should have just called the police.

    This was our second stay here we enjoy the resort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Everything was awsome.

    Beautifully appointed suite. Lovely quiet lanai. Every appliance, silverware, dishes, pots, pans needed to cook meals in suite. Everything spotless. 2 lovely pools, nice bar and good food. Evening entertainment and view of sunsets. Able to rent beach items on site, beach towels free. Very helpful staff provided maps and offered information on local activities. Resort monitored by security.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stepped on a piece of glass in the room. Called front desk for a band aid. No one asked me if I was ok when checking out....would figure they would note the account as a courtesy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ALERT!!! TIME SHARE! Nearly every staff tries to talk you into attending their sales presentation. In fact most of Konas tour operator offices are run by time share companies. Every tour office u walk in off the road in Kona. it's a hassle. Don't ruin your holiday and stay away from them. The room looked much worse than the ones in the pics on here. Tired. Old carpet with the worst green color ever throughout. It was quite big though and clean. Kitchen well equiped. Pool area and bar/restaurant is small and not very nice. Burgers burgers burgers. There was an extremly loud aircon compressor in a utility room adjacent to us. I asked them to address it since the noise reverberated through our bedroom. No one did anything. We wouldn't stay again

    Nothing is above average.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the condo desperately needs to be completely remodeled, but it looks like that is in the plans for this resort.

    I love the location. Close to everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely big appartment, it had everything we needed. Very quiet location. We didn't have a car, we could walk to a supermarket and some restaurants. We also walked to the beach and snorkelled with turtles. 15 mins walk to beach, on the way, a bit longer coming home up hill!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't a rice cooker (I'm a local) but we made due with what we had

    I enjoyed the master tub and the kitchen. I love to soak in a tub and I sure love to cook.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The airconditioning units around were very noisy. To swim in the ocean we had to drive to a beach park every time.

    Water and sunset views were wonderful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ate at the restuarant first night and had to send one meal back. Onion rings were served burnt black and the rest of the food was very average. We didn't eat there again

    Unit was sperb

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not with in walking distance to the beach, A vehicle is needed to get around.

    Outstanding accommodation. The villa's are roomy, clean and impeccably furnished with quality items and all creature comforts included. They have thought of everything for their gusts here at Kona Coast Resort. Would definitely stay here again. There Is shopping in walking distance directly across the road for all grocery needs including a few restaurants. Also, the staff greet you warmly at check-in and are helpful in sharing local knowledge and travel tips. Very family friendly, and if you are traveling with children be sure to book a room overlooking the playground and spa area. It's a lovely. shaded and grassed area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We were very happy and especially liked the bed. It was very comfortable and we are trying to find out what brand it is. Great stay there. Will go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The flat had all we needed, with space and lots of comfort. The propriety is beautiful, lots of trees, birds and a nice pool. It was a great place to stay for our first trip to Kona.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con never really worked. But the worst aspect by far was the welcome briefing by entertainment team - high pressure sales tactics,drawn out by people that think they're performing on stage, protracted and, perhaps just a trans-Atlantic cultural difference of opinion, really frustrated us when only there for 3 days!

    Kitchen facilities. Pool. Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of a thing.

    Everything we needed was readily available and being very close to the Keauhou Shopping Center with its KTA Superstore made it very convenient for provisions. Coming and going was no problem, and the ground floor made sitting outside even nicer. Excellent location in a greener part of the west side of Hawaii Island, can go either way almost equally - to the sunny beaches and beyond to the north, or around the southern end to the volcano area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach, but then again most beaches on the Big Island you have to drive to.

    The room was more like a condo, had everything you would need from home and did not bring. Washer and dryer, oven, fridge, dishes, cookware, towels, shampoo and more. Everything was new. After staying there and then staying at a hotel I knew I made a mistake going to the hotel. Food is very expensive at a hotel with no capacity to heat up leftovers. At Kona Cost Resort you can buy local fruit and veggies, fish and have a whole kitchen to cook in. With a washer and dryer you can have clean dry clothes every day. Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was warm. Would be more refreshing in it was colder. WiFi was down most of the time we were there

    Facilities were very nice as was the Pool Bar. Very Friendly Staff and the One Bedroom was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to Mauna Kea and Volcanic National Park.... but then again you are on the beautiful Kona coast!

    Best accomodation ever! The small things, like a bag of popcorn for the kids and small bags of washing powder made this a perfect resort. Everything you need is available. Great beds in large appartment. Would definitely return to this accomodation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned. Looks like it still has all original furnishings . One bedroom fan half worked and the air conditioning needs repairing.

    Roomy and well stocked with towels crockery etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet backed up, the floor tiles were chipped and the bathroom smelled bad

    We liked the good size rooms, the pools and the fact that it was very kid friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The pool was wonderful. Our unit was large and modern with everything you could ever need for a family stay. Close to a supermarket. There was a snorkelling beach close by

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to drive to get to any towns for food etc. The food at the restaurant on site was also limited. But since we had a car (as most people would) this was okay.

    The accommodation was spacious and very clean. Extra facilities like washing machine/dryer, coffee machine were appreciated. Pool and Spa were nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condo very comfy, beds feel like clouds staff awesome, pool and bar outstanding. Enjoy our staycations all the time. Great location , awesome friendly people there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How staff handled bursted ater pipe crisis resulting in no water for more than 12 hours.

    Superb interior. All appliances available. Very large room and balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were perfect after 24 hours of travel, 3 flights and 11 hours time zone change. Quiet with all of the required amenities, great coffee, very comfortable beds and close to local shopping. We didn't have a chance to use the outdoor amenities as we were were jet lagged and only stayed 2 nights. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kona Coast Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: