Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AKA Sutton Place 4 stars

330 East 56th Street, Midtown East, New York, NY 10022, USA

#7 of 239 Holiday rentals in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    was excellent would have loved to stay longer in fact wanted to spend my one year assignmen in NY at
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    nothing much expect i would have liked to have a special treatment for those guests who are frequent and have been at Aka at several occasions.. i tried to extend my stay but there was no flexibility and the price was way higher than what i paid before..

    the most pleasant experience because of the staff and how they treat guests as if they are at their homes. they are very helpful and are ready to provide any advise or help . they go out of their way to help .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Elegant accommodation in New York City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in some areas of the complex was a little subdued.

    Beautifully appointed Traditional Apartment in a lovely area of New York City. Great Gym, Pool, Bar, Theatre and complimentary coffee provided. Good onsite Laundry available at no charge. Quiet street close to supermarket and Restaurants. The Reception staff were exceptional with a special mention to Spencer who was always very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Clean, quiet and spacious accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No significant flaws.

    Clean, quiet and spacious accommodation. Well furnished and beds very comfy. Walking distance of midtown and Central Park and 2 supermarkets within a block. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Not cheap but not much more than 2 hotel rooms and worth it for the space and comfort.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place with very bad management
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time of checking out was at 11:00 am. And they force me out of the apartment without late check out, there was construction at the Place, no storage for luggage. They turned off the Wi-Fi at 11:00 am.

    Very good location and big size apartment and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Recommended for families with kids&babies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Attentive personell. Style and general appearance of the apartment, size&comfort especially if you compare to rooms' size in hotels in central Manhattan. Very close to Wholefoods market if you need to buy some food etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable, relaxing apartment spoilt a bit by extensive construction works.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I would have liked being informed that the property was a building site and that we couldn't open our blinds as workmen were walking right around the apartment. Being on the first floor meant that we heard a lot of noise from traffic at night and building work during the day.

    The location and the apartment was very comfortable. Also the staff were very friendly. On our last day we checked out at 11.00 a.m. but our flight wasn't until 10 o'clock at night. The hotel kindly allowed us to use the facilities until we took a taxi around 5.00 p.m. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Not as the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in construction so it is noisy from 9am to 5pm, but it doesn’t mention this before we booking. Also the mattress and pillows is very hard, I feel not comfortable with sleep condition. Btw, their staff are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Wasn’t cheap but was so much better than a hotel yet had most of the amenities. We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding around hotel with men at window from 9am! Blocked what view we had and was a little off-putting. Swimming pool heating broken, though it is a beautiful pool. Fridge was also super noisy, sounded like a hoover was on.

    Staff great. Free coffee! Lounge area and apt were great. Location also spot on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Do not trust any reference to the couch being suitable for a third person to sleep. It is rudimentary. You will be asked to pay a daily rental fee of $ 60-90 for an ugly extra bed !!! Also, window insulation is bad and does not work for the winter in NYC. Other than complimentary coffee and tea downstairs, there is nothing you can hope for. However, food deliveries from outside are allowed. Finally, it is a great pity that the pool, gym and showers in the basement are so cold that no one practically uses them. We asked (twice) to have the temperature raised and we were told that it was done but there was no difference. Finally, another member of staff simply told us "sorry, that is just the way it is set up" and got rid of us.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Awesome location! Would immediately book it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    /

    Very central location in a quiet area of Manhattan, but still closeby! Absolute fantastic staff! The best spot in NY to stay and get some rest after a hectic day!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had checked in to AKA the day after the weeks heat wave in nyc, so when we arrived it started to get cooler and rained a few days. We weren't able to up the temperature in the room as apparently it can take 3-4 days to switch over from AC so it was pretty cold in the evening. We only stayed 7 nights but 3 -4 of the nights I had to sleep with a scarf around my head as it was freezing. We are now in Hawaii and I'm recovering from a cold because if it which is annoying. The front desk said they would have given us a portable heater but apparantly they were all in use. Everything else about the place was great. I guess it was bad luck that we rocked up day after the heatwave. I would recommend heaters to be given out in situations like this. We paid almost $600 AUS x 7 nights so would have expected to be kept comfortable. Tv is standard. No cable tv at all just channels that sell things to consumers. Had to pay for something decent to watch. Wasn't aware of this at all.. The bedroom has a strange circular window that you can't cover up. So after a long 20 hour flight we were woken up by the morning sunlight at 5.30am and just managed to get to sleep at 2am the day we checked in. We did ask for something to help black it out but nothing eventuated so we had to pack the window with pillows and back packs to block out the rays.

    Everything was perfect. Big spacious one bedroom suite with so much space. Lounge downstairs was great to relax in. Fresh towels given everyday. Snjezana was great. Really helped with easing our minds in staying with Aka. Always greated us with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Very good place to stay for a family week in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Heating system didn't work so well. A broom could be provided to the occupants and the cleaning could be made more often than once a week.

    Very nice apparthotel. Very well located. Staff are very nice and helpful. Flat very clean and well equipped (except broom). Nice swimming pool in the lower ground.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    We liked here very much,it is not far from 5the Ave shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like it , and feels all pretty good

    We liked here very much,it is not far from 5the Ave shopping and easy to find good restaurants close by,at the same time, you can enjoy the peacefulness of the evening Good place for holiday stay in New York

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    It is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is clean.Staff is kind!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have used a broom!

    Very comfy room great bed great kitchen facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in NY with a baby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quiet, very clean, full equipment, people at front desk, everything was perfect !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Midtown! We will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was closed for most of our stay

    Stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We had a wonderful time! Very friendly and helpful personal. The pool and the cinema room were fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful apartment, great staff, well located. Clean, well decorated, great space. It exceeded our expectations in all expects.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights

    laundry room can be crowded

    tasty coffee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    Spacious with great location & staff but it. Needs ds a refurbished
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning once a week & it needs a refurbishment​.

    Spacious with great location & staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed the complimentary coffee at reception/bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Really enjoyed the complimentary coffee at reception/bar. Staff were first class.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 21 nights

    you can hear the people next door not nice

    clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel/residence, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should propose cleaning more often than once a week

    Staff, pool, cinema room, lounge, laundry room, apartment!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    great concept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    great concept. nice rooms and kitchen plus pool and fitness.

    Stayed in January 2017

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: