Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Romulus / Detroit Airport 2 stars

7680 Merriman Road, Romulus, MI 48174, USA

#5 of 25 hotels in Romulus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    good breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking spaces available when we stayed. was told to park at restaurant lot next door.

    good breakfast selection. Great location near airport. right next to kwik park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice, would stay again with promos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was too long, Front Desk clerk said she couldn't access booking.com reservation, took a long time.

    Bed was comfty along with pillows. Breakfast was good and options were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Liked our stay and would do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine. The staff and the exployees were very nice and service was excellent. Minor problem, the stopper in sink in the king size bedroom needed attention. The water did not drain properly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall good value and would use them again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought parking and shuttle was free, turned out it cost $15!

    Airport parking very close, only used it for an early flight and fit the bill nicely! Close to some dining and drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    I cant say anything great about the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the bed was not clean. I noticed hair on the bed as soon as I entered the room. Not sure they changed the linens.

    I cant say anything great about the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    It was good beds was very comfy & room was good better than Hyatt my fav which is not anymore
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast lady was rude, in the beginning of the day should be better & smiley.

    Breakfast was very good but the staff the lady working there putting things there was not in the good mood may be bec it was 5.45

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    What a GREAT place to stay 👌💚
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the connected rooms that has king bed in one side and 2 queen beds on the other side. I rented the same room (suite) two times through Booking.com with almost half of the price 😉👍 Highly recommend 💯✅

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Practical, efficient, clean, confortable. That's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym is very limited. No TV. Only weights machine tries to cover multiple exercises but fails on all. Orange juice and coffee very weak.

    Clean and, comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Great location, spacious family suite.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not clean the room on Saturday or take our trash.

    Location was great, breakfast was great, staff was corteous. Family suite was spacious with large beds enough space for 2 adults, 2 teens, 2 toddlers and a pack n play.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Stay and Park Deal
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. We had no problems.

    The hotel has a great parking deal, if you are flying from the Detroit Airport. Our rate of about $130 included 8 days parking at a remote lot which is right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay!
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have been more helpful. The overnight staff was not as friendly.

    The hotel was really clean! The breakfast was good. Housekeeping was good at bringing fresh towels.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.7
    Plan your breakfast elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    I've stayed at this location a number of times. I have yet to have a decent breakfast. If you put your time and energy into offering it, you need to care about it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    May Day! I Got a Stay!
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing.

    May, the night clerk, fixed a smoke alarm battery, making the room available and allowing me an accommodation in an otherwise sold out facility due to a blizzard in Romulus, Michigan. She was friendly, helpful, concerned! Kudos to her!! Very nice accommodations! And the breakfast buffet was exceptional!! The woman in charge of the buffet was so friendly and cheerful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    flight cancelled due to 10 inches of snow
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Called and was lucky to get a room - it was clean and seemed up to date - food ok - cinnamon rolls delicious bed and pillows comfortable - shuttle to airport perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    No room service in either of our rooms on Saturday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No room service in either of our rooms on Saturday.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more friendlier staff at the breakfast room

    Prompt service, Clean rooms Smiley staff members

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Execellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was super friendly and always smiling....very nice!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to others.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    What would have made stay much better would be to have a indoor pool

    Staff very friendly and rooms clean and comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    comfortable and convenient to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in the bathroom

    Was reasonably priced and had all amenities!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Check in process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Clean, quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, quite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How close it was to different restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location and parking arrangements for flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left before breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Room was clean and decent size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean and decent size. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Convenient to airport/restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to airport for an early morning flight. Also near restaurants and stores.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.8
    Bad hotel experience - Dirty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a bad experience. The room was not clean and the service at the check-in was not good. I will not stay in this hotel again.

    Next to the airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    It was okay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a variety.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Nice stay before an early flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large comfortable room, perfect to rest up before an early flight. The shuttle was timely and got us to our terminal fast. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel near airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable king bed, nice computer area and small fridge. Very good breakfast choices. Hotel was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Would stay here again for sure.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Was Wonderful And Kept full. Staff was helpful. Hotel very clean and quiet. Great night's sleep for the whole family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    no

    Bed good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Pretty pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk

    Housekeeping was excellent. Front desk could have been more pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice place for night at airport before trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odor in room

    Location to airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.8
    I always liked the comfort
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they did not respect my Membership they did not clean my room

    I always liked the comfort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Cliste to airport plus shuttle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cliste to airport plus shuttle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean comfortable and convenient to the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise from hallway and neighboring rooms

    Close to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.7
    n/a
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the food

    n/a

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    The staff the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kleenex box was empty

    The staff the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.5
    Room and staff were fine.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and staff were fine. We weren't here long - just stayed before a very early flight.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Bed was very hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The room my husband and I stayed in was very well kept and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only complaint is that the shower drain did not drain fast enough while showering, so the was kept building up.

    The room my husband and I stayed in was very well kept and modern looking. The bathroom was clean, the noise level was low even with airplanes flying overhead and the breakfast was good. I would defenitly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    8.8
    Location is quite near from the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Hoping we can get more frequent shuttle bus service from the hotel to the airport.

    Location is quite near from the airport. Also restaurant and bar are locating near the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast was outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were not accommodating or friendly.

    Breakfast was outstanding

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    Lovely clean room and facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Lovely clean room and facilities!!! Great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    N/A

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and had plenty to choose from. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    7.5
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    8.3
    Everything is so good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Everything is so good .

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    7.9
    Frühes Frühstück, unkompliziert, Standard Holiday Inn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Frühes Frühstück, unkompliziert, Standard Holiday Inn

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.9
    The staff was helpful & courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather

    The staff was helpful & courteous.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.9
    clean facility comfortabel bed I will book again at this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    clean facility comfortabel bed I will book again at this location.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    10
    Easy to book;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Easy to book; clean rooms; professional staff

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    close to airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    close to airport

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.5
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no close restaurants (or at least more businesses; WC (Shower) a problem due wáter goes out of the bathtub being standing.

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    The cleanliness and customer service
    • Family with older children

    None

    The cleanliness and customer service

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff interaction

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.2
    Very accommodating receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No drapes on window, just light curtain that would not block the sun out.

    Very accommodating receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    10
    comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    comfortable beds

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: