Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cartwright Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3 stars

524 Sutter Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#97 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 578 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really small but we made it work for our stay.

    The customer service here at the hotel was excellent. The beds are comfortable. Me and my husband enjoyed our stay. We were celebrating our wedding day here and they made it so special by send some goodies and champagne to our room. The hotel is walking distance to Union Square and we felt safe in the area no matter the time of day or night. You won’t regret booking your stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean refurbished room (anyone moaning about the size of rooms needs to try a comparable priced hotel in New York!) Nice clean bathroom albeit small, comfortable bed with crisp bed linen. There is a Seven-11 directly across the road and it's very close to the Westfield Mall and Powell St station. Area is safe for females travelling alone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, especially the bathroom. Some street noise. No minibar, refrigerator, or room service.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room renovation was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and well-maintained the room was, and the amenities given the room size and rate per night. While the room is small, it was very comfortable. Specifically, I appreciated the air conditioning unit in the room, the lighting, the good-sized closet / dressing area, and larger shower that also had a window. The staff was extremely courteous, professional, and accommodating. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Décor on landings is very dark/dreary. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Could hear guests next door very clearly during the night and very early morning.

    The location and the very friendly approach of staff. Bedroom was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was a little pricey for the amount of space but overall it was a good deal with the location, cleanliness, and maintenance overall. I wouldn't recommend bringing kids here, other chain hotels would probably be better suited, there are steep stairs, narrow hallways and slightly cramped sleeping quarters. The wifi was a little slow due to the network being unprotected.

    very clean and comfortable accommodations. staff was very attentive and welcoming. facilities were well kept and classy. Although there isn't a food service, the hotel is very near cheap and diverse restaurants as well as some drugstores. I didn't look into a fridge but their site lists it as a $5/day fee and that would honestly be a good addition. The overall look blends a classic late 1800s/early 1900s feel in the common areas with a sleek and modern look inside the actual rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We check in late and they gave an handicap room and upgrade to a suite. Both rooms reservations were cancelled due to a old credit card on file. Not the end of the world but a little disappointed.

    Friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from the outside at night.

    Helpfulness, friendly, clean, and great location. Renee and Kevin great conseigers. Li cleaning lady was friendly and great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked how the hotel maintained its original historical style; we particularly enjoyed the fireplace area; staff was kind and helpful; our room was quiet and we enjoyed the complimentary tea/coffee served in the lobby every morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was way to small felt cramp. No room to move around or even use the bathroom is self. There was no hot water and the bath room was cold and had no way to warm up. The remote didn't even work properly the only bottom that work was the power button and there were no buttons on the tv it's self. I was stuck watching advertisement commercials.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff and comfy rooms. Location is excellent for site seeing since it is on the Powell cable car line. It is within a few blocks of Union Square and Chinatown too. Lots of good restaurants nearby. The rooms are quiet because of the one way street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a light in the closet and a full length mirror :)

    The hotel is old but has been renovated and is very comfortable. I liked the overall decor. Nice bathroom. Terrific location. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old building with old windows that are not soundproofed. Nosiy street som if you are a light sleeper you will have an issue with a room towards the street. Valet parking expensive. I recommend using a parking garage some blocks away for lower price.

    Great location, walking distance to lots of shops and dining places. Diner open 24h really nearby. Valet parking offered. Fresh bathroom with shower. Plenty of storage for clothes. Good bed and wifi connection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with Roll-In Shower - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The only negative was that it was a bit noisy at night, which is the downside of being in the centre of the city. However, for our trip the closeness to amenities and the feeling of being right in the centre of the city more than made up for this.

    Excellent location. Very near the bus and cable car stops we needed to go to various parts of the city, and near BART. Near shopping area/Union Square, and 24 hour 7-eleven shop and Walgreens(pharmacy/food) opposite. Staff were excellent, special thanks to Rene and Edward. Extremely helpful, and a warm welcome every time we entered the building. Very clean. I can't comment on value for money as I booked it on a "deal of the day".

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very good experience, just a little loud i.e. you can hear other guests noises in their rooms at night, not terrible, just a little--it's an old building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was tiny. Took stairs. Kind of confusing to exit to main street

    The young man that helped me check in was super nice. Everything was clean. Bed was super comfy that I even over slept. Huge storage room which is actually the multi purpose room. Nice fire place, Nice waiting area. Close to 2 Walgreens and some overnight local fun! Got to see skaters dancing in rollerblades before midnight near Macys. 3rd favorite hotel in SF so far out of several I have stayed in from my visits

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hallway carpet looks dingy

    Free business center with printer was a nice touch. It's an older hotel with smallish rooms, but they've updated quite a bit. Bed was very comfortable, flat screen tv, nice shower amenities. Staff was helpful and courteous. I didn't experience noise problems during my stay, but walls were thin, so there's potential for some disturbance from guests in the hallway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night (noise from the street). Just bring ear buds and it will be perfect ;)

    Perfect location, next to lots of restaurants, cafes, shops. A few minutes walk from lots of major sights (Chinatown, union Square, powell-hyde Cabble Car). Nice staff. Clean. Confortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear the people in the other room. You can hear everything outside. The room was small. They try to make it as nice as possible but kind of imposible with such an old building.

    the staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. No where to stop and offload luggage between 4-6pm weekdays. Car park around the corner $35/night Wasn’t really told on check in what was or wasn’t available.

    Location was great, but be prepared for tiny rooms & bathrooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I LOVE the exact location of the hotel!!! Perfect location around everything! But still with enough privacy and solitude from the main transit street Powell, yet literally around the corner. Everything was a good experience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Excellent.

    Very helpful staff, safe neighbourhood, loved the warm fire and reception on our return each evening. Plenty of nearby food places from 7-11 across the road to upmarket restaurants. Perfext sized room, hot showers, comfy bed, quiet hotel aside from a little outside noise occasionally but hey, you're in the centre of San Fran and cities are busy!! Loads or transport options within a 3 min walk including city tours. No hidden costs. Would definitiely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room with One Double and One Single Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we tried to pay for the parking garage, we asked for the charge to be plAced on a different credit card. Unfortunately, it was charged to me because I was the one who Reserved the room. We were able to get it voided but it was a hassle. Also we couldn’t check in early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door that could be used to conjoin rooms. It did not provide much privacy. My husband and I were woken up multiple times and eventually just couldn’t sleep any longer in the middle of the night because of the noise and light that was shining into our room through the cracks of the door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was barely warm. Problem with toilet, need to flush several times. Rooms are small, if you travel with small bags is ok but there is no space for two big bags.

    Great location, helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaint.

    The room was cute, the bed had extra fluffy pillows, the bed felt amazing to sleep on. The bathroom was cute everything felt really clean. It was a nice experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was uncharacteristically hot in the city when I visited so we had to use the fan in the room and opened all the windows. The fan, at its fastest, was anemic. Still humid and warm in the room all day... not the hotel's fault though of course.

    The lobby was impeccable and smelled like heaven. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms were nice. The furnishings seemed new and clean. The location is near unbeatable for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was not working in our room and the staff was not helpful nor friendly. It took nearly an hour to get an extra blanket....

    The location is fantastic and the room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping knocking on doors at 8.00am! The walls are also quite thin so you could hear conversations from other rooms. No safe in the room.

    A small hotel, perfectly located near Union Square. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and a reasonable size for San Francisco. Separate dressing room and good bathroom/shower. Iron & ironing board and plenty of coat hangers. Complimentary coffee in the room and in reception on a morning. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude, unwelcoming and downright hostile staff from the moment we walked in. Although clean, room was very, very small. No extra blanket, pillows or even bottled water. Definitely not a 3 star rated hotel. Room was fully paid for on registration and then we were locked out of our room two days running for absolutely no reason. No apology for this even though my partner had been in the hospital for the day and we returned late at night.

    Other than the location, there's nothing to like about this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small, difficult for two people wih luggage to fit. Bathroom is very small too. The money paid is only for the location, not the rooms and services. Parking is expensive in whole San francisco, and also at this hotel. It is not on site, parked one block away in a lot in cooperation with the hotel.

    The front desk agents working in the evening. Very helpful and happy people. Location. Very very close to union square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors gloomy and look tired. No facilities in hotel really ( no bar, room service, any food at all).

    Very friendly staff. Great location. Great bed, very comfortable. Compact but good room with lots of charging plugs, good lighting, good shower. We were on top floor ( only one lift and that broke down once) at the back so nice and quiet. Able to open window which I like. Very helpful staff and concierge who made great recommendations about bars, restaurants, diners.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are realllllly smalll and not sound proof. You can hear people passing by on the hallway, other rooms and street.

    Location and bathroom cleaningness...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One incident with the front desk, where they didn’t recognize my adult son, who was also a guest, and questioned his presence in the lobby. Glitter on the sheets?!

    Union Square in San Francisco. Very busy and crowded. Great for high end shopping at the holidays.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room was always very clean at the end of a work day. The staff very polite and pleasant. Centrally located adjacent to many popular sights. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Gorgeous building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They held $140 on my credit card 19 days ago, before our arrival. Everything was payd with different card and they are still not releasing funds. I even contact them via email. First they told me to wait 72 hours, then 10 bussines day, now that everything is released and they dont know what Im talking about.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size and lack of food availability for $400. really how do working people expect to survive in California?

    I guess for San Francisco it was reasonable, but it was a tiny room without room service for $400. Comfy bed tiny bathroom No frills but it was okay but way more expensive than I ever expected for what it offered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be bigger

    The hotel was in the most excellent location. It was very modern and clean. Free fast wifi. Beds were comfy. Plenty of storage room for suitcases etc. Stones throw away from main transport and attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but comfortable and beautifully presented. Happy to give up space for the amazing location and value.

    Excellent value for the location which was in the centre of everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I parked my car in parking two blocks. I had one luggage left in the trunk of my suv. It wasnt visible at all. Nxt day i come to see my rear window broken and the luggage stolen. That is in summary my short stay in SF

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Roll-in Shower - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was quite rude. Receptionist couldn't be even bothered to take off the headphone set while talking to me. Every time I had no idea if she is talking to me or someone on the phone. The only smiley staff was a cleaner. Also, it looks like quite a lot of the rooms had a view of a grey wall. It felt cramped.

    Small but very cute room. I had everything I needed. Clean room and bathroom. TV and free wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean, spacious and modern and the location of the hotel is great, right in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SIZE OF ROOM

    HOTEL LOCATION IS EXCELLENT NEAR ALL MAJOR TRANSPORTATION, RESTAURANTS, AND SHOPPING. ROOMS HAVE BEEN RECENTLY RENOVATED. THE HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AT FRONT DESK. HOUSEKEEPING WAS EXCELLENT THOROUGH AND DONE IN A TIMELY MANNER .MY ONLY CONCERN WAS THE SIZE OF THE ROOM AND ESPECIALLY THE BATHROOM SINCE I WAS TRAVELING ALONE THIS WAS NOT A BIG PROBLEM, BUT 2 PERSONS IN THE ROOM WOULD BE A BIT CROWDED. I WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN IF TRAVELING ALONE.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location with carpark nearby. very friendly staff. The property has been updated recently and has a contemporary look which somehow complements the traditional elements of the building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what was basically a room. No fridge in the room, no aircon and the room that we had at the front of the hotel was very noisy (from traffic noise) meaning that we had very disturbed sleep (and had to buy ear plugs). We stayed in better quality, cheaper hotels in the same area. Sadly, we would not return to the Cartwright or recommend it.

    excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a problem with the hotel. BART has a very confusing vending machine for tickets from the airport to Powell Street. There is no way to get discounted tickets. You must put in a card or money before you make a selection. The fare is $8.95. They start you at $10 and you need to subtract, using some mislabeled buttons, to get the correct amount, or give them the extra unused money on the ticket.

    Small room, small bathroom but comfortable and well located. Free coffee in the morning. Great lobby area, fireplace, game board, very warm and cozy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected but was still nice and comfortable. Carpet in hallway is dated as well as furniture in the lobby.

    Staff very friendly. Good location. Nice diner on the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in a noisy location, very little in the way of effort to reduce noise, double glazing, etc. No facilities at the hotel. Room was OK, nothing special. Felt even with the location it was overpriced

    Staff are helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable my husband and I both woke up with sore backs and necks nearly everyday, and the women charged about 5 seperate transactions to our credit card which led to it being blocked and us having to ring Australia once we got to our next destination to have them unblock our Card.

    It was a quaint little hotel located in a good spot rooms are very nice and modern. And most of the staff were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn't working during our stay and our room seemed a bit small as we needed a trundle bed for our daughter.

    Staff were awesome. Clean rooms, very helpful, great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful with tips about sight seeing and let us leave the car after we checked out so we could go see more attractions. The room was small but we weren't there except to sleep and the rooms were quiet. You couldn't hear doors slamming in the hallway. Perfect place to stay...right in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small and fairly spartan - but space is at a premium in San Francisco. The view from the window was a bare brick wall. The single lift was in constant use and on several occasions we were waiting some considerable time for it to arrive

    Morning coffee provided with occasional muffin; comfortable sitting area in which to appreciate the coffee; staff friendly and helpful. Room did have decent wardrobe space meaning that for once we weren't constantly dodging around our cases.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with One Double and One Single Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a free hot breakfast, but understand the hotels in this area are not of that type.

    Location was great, good coffee in the lobby. Cool, old building near Union Square. Lot of good places to eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    had booked two single beds when we got there only 1 bed had to share with my sister-in-law for first night At almost £600 pounds wasn't good enought

    clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit too expensive.

    Location of this hotel is perfect and we felt very safe. Room was small, but it was very clean but nicely decorated and it contained everything we needed. Staff was very friendly and willing to support with every question we had - from city tours, parking, restaurant recommendation...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I specifically booked a room with 2 beds, and upon arrival was told they didn't have a room with 2 beds for us. So i had to sleep on the floor to allow my partner to have the bed.

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a room facing an alley-no view and it was very noisy all night with the ACs from other rooms/buildings. People slamming their doors at night.

    Friendly staff, tidy room, free coffee, USB plugs to charge phone, perfect location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel building is old and doesn't look like it'd resist to an earthquake, there is a constant noise coming from outside, no matter the day or the hour (and we've had one of the quietest rooms), the room is pretty small for 2 people, and they don't extend the coffee and tea service throughout the entire day.

    The location is extraordinary for getting to visit SanFran by foot, right next to Chinatown and close to Little Italy, close to a subway station that takes you directly to the airport or any other part of the city you might be interested in, close to the cable car start station, etc. The room was clean and I liked the organic bath products. The walk in shower is modern and nice and has a window with a view, too. They provide two desktops downstairs and a printer which, in our case as we travelled by plane and didn't bring our laptops, it was really useful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the room a bit small for two twin beds. My sister and I hardly had room for two open luggages. Elevator needs painting.

    The room and bathroom were kept very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is so convenient-walking distance to union square and Chinatown. Property is also close to 24-hour diner and to a Walgreens and CVS.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room.

    Great location near sights, restaurants, and local transportation! Clean rooms and lots of outlets to charge devices. Very accomadting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my last day in San Francisco and had a personal problem and they where very compassionate, even when I missed my shuttle bus to the airport in the morning!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heat but the staff brought extra blankets and a heater. Not up to usual standards of hotel's rooms! But they made it work.

    The staff and facility is always tops and the location can't be beat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located a few blocks from Union Square. Pet friendly so having grass at the park is great. 24 hour parking on the next block with in out privileges and great staff. Good safe area to walk about. We walked to the museum of modern art and to see the Giants Dodgers game. Lots of resturant choices in the area. We did drive to the Richmond resturant on Balboa which was fabulous. Hotel room was perfect, clean and comfy. Great three night stay in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite small, but understandable for a 100 plus year old hotel. Rooms were nicely done, however.

    Phenomenal location. Within 10 minutes walk of Union Square and all of the shops. Went there with my 10 month old and they were kind enough to supply a portable crib.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Extremely expensive prices compared to what the hotel offers in terms of rooms, general amenities, no breakfast, old building and rooms and lobby, one elevator that was down during one day (financial compensation was offered though).

    - Comfy beds - Central location - Friendly and great staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Single Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. I wish Coffee was served earlier. I totally understand the no serving of something small for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small, our room keys didn't work a couple of times

    Location was great, room was updated and clean, we never felt unsafe walking around near the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 cup of coffee in the am was in room. It is a great facility but not used to its potential. No fruit, continental breakfast or wine hour like in the past.

    Accommodations, Location, staff & price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room that looked a little tired. Poor soundproofing. Not value for money but then all San Fran hotels are well overpriced.

    Location was good. Nice downstairs lobby areas

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathtub - Disability Access/Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Elevator was pretty awful looking.....although quick to the top floor where I stayed!

    Details like the organic tea selection and the fact the bathroom had been renovated and the shower was great. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here for 3 nights. It was a excellent stay. We checked in around 1am and the staff were very helpful and extremely accommodating. The location was amazing. Right next to Union Square and public Transportation. We did the Hop on hop off tour which was also located less than a 5 minute walk away. The room was completely renovated. Although the room was small it was extremely clean and very modern and I enjoyed the Decor! It was a perfect size for two guests. The bed was extremely comfortable. The only negative would be there was no mini fridge or microwave in the room. Upon check in as we were celebrating an anniversary the hotel staff had a bottle of wine upon arrival which was very kind. We tried the diner down the street which was okay. There was another diner about 5 minutes away called Pinecrest Diner I believe which was delicious and has a line to get into. Overall we would definitely stay there again! As the price was affordable and the hotel room was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with One Double Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a shame there's no bar or breakfast available on site.

    The hotel is well-located and the rooms are comfortable - and not a bad size given the location of the hotel. There is a comfortable lounge and the staff are helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. There was an overhead fan but this had to be on the whole time as too much noise if windows open.

    The location was excellent. The hotel is dated but clean and comfortable. The room was spacious. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with One Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY Disappointed! The room is not the one i expected! the room rate is too much for the kind of room we got, the room is like a hostel, not great for the money i paid. NOT the same in the pictures they advertised about their hotel! there's no water for 4 hrs on our 1st full day there and hotel is under renovation! room is cold heater is not working!

    near public transportation thats the only deal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • King Room with One King Bed - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom. The cabinet above the hand basin constituted a periodic threat to head bouncing and made access to the hand basin extremely uncomfortable.

    The customer services attitude vested in the employees.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: