Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riverview Inn & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3 stars

700 West Riverside Boulevard, Rockford, IL 61103, USA

#18 of 23 hotels in Rockford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 10 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    2.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Price was right and the faculty nicely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs neighbor was noisy and lack of sound proofing walls or ceiling seemed to amplify the noise. You need to insulate interior walls and ceilings a bit better.

    Price was extremely competitive and the facilities appeared updated and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    overall very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe the pricing still a little high for what you get at this time, with further improvements it will be well worth it.

    last stay at hotel as cliffbreakers was terrible, enjoy this visit much better, cleaner rooms and hallways, missing the restaurant at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Housekeeping did an amazing job. Almost the whole staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not everything was available. One employee was rude. Some of the towels were brought stained.

    There is a very small breakfast offered. Joan was amazing!!! Her care was outstanding!!!!! Wish she was still at the front desk. The. manager was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    We were upgraded to a lovely room on the riverside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the remodel not everything was open or available. But this is understandable. THe room upgrade made up for it.

    We were upgraded to a lovely room on the riverside. There was some problems with the key not working and the staff and some difficulty getting it to work but he was very polite and apologized for th delay so it was no big deal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    staff was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    booking .com bills it out with restaurant and bar both have been closed for a year no food other than breakfast on propety also says river view there is no river view it hasnt been cleared for YEAR NO ACCESS TO THE PATIO PICTURED UNLESS STAFF OPENS LOCKED DOORS walks you out

    staff was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed and River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If on the 4th floor, the vision of the river was great. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sofa Bed and River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little pricey

    Very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    3.3
    I enjoy that it was right by the lake
    • Family with older children

    It wasn't the cleanness hotel, the staff was unusually laid back. We were there for a wedding and I wanted to stay a couple extra hours they said that I would be charge 200!!! Hell no !

    I enjoy that it was right by the lake

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    2.9
    I did like the antiques and beautiful woodwork in areas of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our room had no number on it. The wifi did not work in our room. It really loud. The fireplace didn't work in the room.

    I did like the antiques and beautiful woodwork in areas of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    This hotel was 6 minutes away from Rockford Memorial...
    • Group

    We thought the breakfast wasn't great. Scrambled eggs were overcooked, bacon looked burnt. My DIL loved the French toast but that was about all that was eaten. I decided I'd rather eat at the hospital. Plenty of coffee and OJ though!

    This hotel was 6 minutes away from Rockford Memorial Hospital (closest one). The staff was super helpful especially since we had no idea when were were going to be able to leave. Rooms were very quiet! Beds were comfortable. Our hairdryer didn't work and it took less than a minute after contacting the front desk for a new one to be delivered.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was good.
    • Family with older children

    Beds were a little soft for our liking. Running water (showers) either in our room or neighbors was loud, and the tub made a creaking noise that made us feel like we were going to fall through the bottom, but the hotel was nice for the purpose we needed.

    Breakfast was good. The view of Rock River was great! The room had ample space and was very comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    6.7
    I liked the room we were in also the view of the river loved...
    • Couple

    I didn't like the mold smell on the third floor at the south end . Also didn't like that there was women's dirty panties in the desk chair in our room when we got there .

    I liked the room we were in also the view of the river loved the breakfast,

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    THE FRONT DESK CLERK AMANDA WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEE SHE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE FRONT DESK CLERK AMANDA WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEE SHE RECOMMEND A RESTURANT IN THE AREA. She was very kind and upgraded r room , celebrating a birthday.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    3.8
    LOCATION WAS GOOD FOR US.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NO LOCAL TV AND NOT ABLE TO WATCH ANY SPORTS LIKE FOOTBALL GAMES. WE WENT FOR BREAKFAST AT 8:50 NO COFFEE MADE AND NO FOOD EXCEPT POTATOES WHICH DID LOOK GOOD. THE BATHROOM WAS NOT CLEAN. HOUSEKEEPERS ARE GOOD GREETERS BUT OTHER STAFF NOT FRIENDLY AND NOT HELPFULL ON CHECKING OUT. WE WANTED TO SEE THE RIVER AND WAS ON THE RIVER SIDE BUT ROOM HAD NO VIEW OF THE RIVER.

    LOCATION WAS GOOD FOR US.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    breakfast was great and in a large room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast was great and in a large room with a view. Not some tiny hallway off the entrance like so many discount hotels. Huge indoor pool area great for a family.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    3.8
    The location was close to where I needed to be.
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was disgusting. The decore was out dated. The carpet was old. No toiletries. The room smelled. I was very disappointed

    The location was close to where I needed to be.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    4.6
    Cool old woodwork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was awakened at 1130 and told they had put us in the wrong room Room had broken lock,broken phone, broken hair drier Hasn't been updated in YEARS

    Cool old woodwork

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    5.8
    Evidently there had been some sort of leak and the 4th floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evidently there had been some sort of leak and the 4th floor had gaping holes in the hallway ceiling and huge dryers set up in the hall way but the overhead hallway lights were out as were the emergency exit lights. Staff had set out tables with floor lamps but it was still really dark-- desk clerk didn't mention it to us or offer to put us in a different part of hotel. Also, elevator didn't have any sort of inspection sign-- we noticed because it made a lot of noise as it moved. We took the steps after one elevator ride. The tv had a really limited number of cable/satellite channels and no way to see a directory. Overall, the hotel is old and dated, but clean enough. Parking lot is difficult to get out of, although there is a traffic light--you wait a long, long, long time before you can make a left turn.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    The hotel was conveniently located to the event I was a part...
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was good for it being included in the price of the hotel. Unfortunately, they only make enough breakfast to accommodate the number of guests they have. So, if guests over eat, there's not a lot of food or no food at all for the late comer.

    The hotel was conveniently located to the event I was a part of. It's a charming and affordable hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    5.8
    Great location on the river.
    • Group

    The entire building needs a big facelift. Everything is worn, sometimes almost thread-bare. And a musty smell throughout the facility.

    Great location on the river. Very friendly staff (desk, breakfast, and maid service). Enjoyed the hot breakfast selections.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    Room was clean, spacious and larger than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One vending machine, which was broken. Lounge closed early. Restaurant not open at all on one of my days of stay. River view does not mean view of the river; just a glimpse through the trees.

    Room was clean, spacious and larger than expected. Bed was comfortable. The hotel was peaceful and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Did not like that the lounge closed at 10pm on a Saturday night. The manager of the restaurant was rude. Being a guest of the hotel we thought that having access to the deck attached to the lounge would be accessable to us before non staying patrons.

    The hotel was beautiful. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Anything we needed they accommodated.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.1
    Awesome breakfast, cool decor, and super comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is undergoing renovations so the holes in the ceiling are a little unsightly. The place will be beautiful again when they are finished.

    Awesome breakfast, cool decor, and super comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    6.7
    Nice setting on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in the 2 level room. No sheets, blankets or extra pillows were left in room for the sofa bed. The sofa bed was terrible. You could feel the springs sticking up. The gas fireplace did not work. Had only 1 ice machine and 1 soda machine on different levels. Ate in the bar while watching the NHL playoff game. Only 1 employee in the bar working the bar, serving tables, cleaning tables and running back & forth to the kitchen. Should have been at least 2 people working in the bar.

    Nice setting on the river. The king bed in the loft area was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    We stayed in one of the suites with a loft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Could use some better pillows, and there was a water leak in the hallway. Also, we didnt make it down for breakfast as it closed before the kids were up and moving - so having that available longer would have been nice.

    We stayed in one of the suites with a loft. The kids though it was just the coolest thing. My husband and I enjoyed the antique decor and feel to the place.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    8.8
    I loved the lobby and our room was amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Some of the outdoor spaces were being renovated and could not be used. As I was photographing a wedding there, this put a bit of a cramp in our plans, but we worked around it.

    I loved the lobby and our room was amazing! I was photographing a wedding and there are so many great settings for beautiful photos!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    5.8
    The location was the best part of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The amenities listed for the property were not available. We stayed 8 days. Laundry facilities were out of order, restaurant only open for 3 meals while we were there, WiFi only worked 3 days and under renovation which was not disclosed.

    The location was the best part of our stay. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    5.4
    I liked the staff member Jessica she was very helpful an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Samantha the staff member was ridiculously rude!! She first ces walking up with a plate of food an rudly asks what can I do flu you guys...then takes her sweet time putting her plate down an coming back. Then she automatically took my credit card an was going to charge the room on it when we wanted to pay cash an there was a credit card on file for the room already an then didn't inform us before we scheduled that if you pay with cash you must deposit an additional $100 ...we went to the black stone cherry concert an didn't know this so that took more money out if our pockets when we didn't know that was a fee...then my mother called an asked her why she didn't say that in the first place an asked to speak to a manager she rudly said they don't come in until Monday ...she then asked her name an she hung up! My mother called back a couple times an she repeated this action. Very very displeased with the service from this woman. An there was an issue with our bathroom! I took a late night shower an our tub seemed to be leaking water from under it an I slipped an fell I have two massive bruises on my back rib cages from this as well!

    I liked the staff member Jessica she was very helpful an concerned about our stay while there. She was very helpful an even upgraded our room. Only the first staff member Samantha! Was ridiculously terrible!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    5.8
    The bed in the suite was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pull out coach was worn down. Wallpaper coming off with what looked like mold underneath. Closet shutter type door was dirty. Multiple lamps needed bulbs replaced. Room was dark without.

    The bed in the suite was great. The fireplace worked and was great to use.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    6.7
    There's a nice view of the Rock River and the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free breakfast was terrible, and the regular restaurant is closed during the week. The card keys for the room stopped working several times, including the first time we tried to use them

    There's a nice view of the Rock River and the location was good for us.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast service was slow.
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast service was slow...waiting for eggs. Not nearly as good a selection as we had two years ago when we stayed here.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room furniture was filthy. Bar closed at 10 PM on Sat. night

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some minor maintenance needed due to age of facility

    Excellent staff. Wonderful experience

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.5
    Nice loby and overall appeal, breakfast was excellant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Condition of hotel maintenance

    Nice loby and overall appeal, breakfast was excellant, security great

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    7.9
    The river view sunrise was spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing we didn't like was the restaurant/bar was not open when we were there.

    The river view sunrise was spectacular

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything needs updating. There were rips in the wallpaper and the bed was not very comfortable.

    Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    6.7
    Décor.
    • Couple

    Poor TV. Only three pillows on a king bed. Odd smell in the room.

    Décor. Riverview was pretty. Hot breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    It was a great hotel in Rockford!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    It was a great hotel in Rockford!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.3
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    3.3
    The staff was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Disgusting, smelled bad, dirty, dirty, dirty

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    5.0
    People were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Many things need updating and repair.

    People were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    2.9
    Not anything, really.
    • Group

    The place has obviously fallen on hard times. It is scuzzy and musty.

    Not anything, really.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Good sized room in an excellent location overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good sized room in an excellent location overlooking the river.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Good location and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.5
    Windows have seals broke and are foggy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Windows have seals broke and are foggy. Need to be replaced.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    breakfast was very good, bed was perfect, quiet, staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    my stay was too short

    breakfast was very good, bed was perfect, quiet, staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    6.3
    Beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could not get wifi to work.

    Beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful views, big comfy room, nice design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful views, big comfy room, nice design

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.9
    the riverside location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    seemed overpriced

    the riverside location; proximity to restaurants and theatre; friendly staff; free shuttle; Tuscan boar statue in the lobby

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    Convenience and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Convenience and comfort.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    8.3
    The food was AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I love that the hotel is old however it Is in need of some repairs and could use a good dusting.

    The food was AMAZING!!! The staff was great!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    5.8
    Beds were very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs a serious makeover. Carpets cleaned new paint on doors and some fresh decor.

    Beds were very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    4.2
    Fireplace didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fireplace didn't work. Black mood and water damage. Gave me a $10 discount for $150 room with the issues it had.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    9.6
    Great place absolutely worth the distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Drive from interstate

    Great place absolutely worth the distance from the interxstate

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: