Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Historic Cary House Hotel 3 stars

300 Main Street, Placerville, CA 95667, USA

#1 of 8 hotels in Placerville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While we enjoyed the historic idiosyncrasies, The Cary House isn't for everyone. The hotel is old fashioned and Main Street is particularly noisy in the late afternoon because of the car traffic. Also, Ghosts.

    We were delighted by the quaintness and historicity of the hotel--the elevator was ancient with a sliding gate and original buttons. Every evening we would sit on the second floor balcony, sip wine, and enjoy the setting sun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi. My room was 412 with the window facing the main st (noise during the night, like garbage truck)

    Location is great, the old style of the hotel, room was big enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand it's a old hotel. However the shower curtain was foldet up sitting on the edge of the tub. The rod was leaning against the wall. We made an attempt to hang the curtain but the rod was too short?! Otherwise great dog friendly hotel.

    Love the old hotel with its history.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all.

    Wonderful old hotel. Very pet friendly. Nice young man checked us in. Good sized room with nice antique furniture. Clean bathroom with plenty of hot water. Loved sitting out on the upstairs porch watching the street below and chatting with other guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time our room faced Main Street and our window was right behind a porch used by other guests at the hotel. Pulling drapes was the solution, but worth mentioning if guests want 100% privacy.

    We love coming here. Location is steps away from great restaurants and quaint stores. The staff is beginning to recognize us!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not great and I did not get a great night sleep any night (as compared to a high-end mattress at a boutique hotel, fyi). Also the A/C did not really work - no heat, no cold, just fan strength.

    Quaint atmosphere, GREAT location right in the middle of the cute town of Placerville. Very friendly day and night staff, free parking. We did not take the free coffee service in the morning because it was too early. The elevator is old and fun - LOL. Hotel is in very good condition considering how old it is. Got a better-than-usual deal here on this website.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was sometimes not working.

    The period details and décor of the property were a welcome sight to modern furniture. The location is great to discover the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For two nights I slept a total of 8 hours.the bar across the street was loud and the patrons loud and the the women’s event and the DJ and the constant noise prevented any of us from having a restful night. It was so hot and we could not keep the windows open because of the noise. No air conditioning. No continental breakfast or complimentary coffee. The cost was way over priced for 2 days of horrible rest and relaxation.

    The bed and kitchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking the hotel, the confirmation says parking is included. When we checked in we asked where dedicated parking was. Hotel staff said it is full, and they cannot get us free parking. Shocked, we asked what we should do. Front desk person said, if we get a ticket, that we can contest with with Booking.com. This was not an acceptable answer considering we were paying extra to have dedicated parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that it didn't have soft drink vending machines, no small shop inside in case you needed sundries, no coffee shop. The plus, restaurants and boutiques are all close by within walking distance.

    I liked the main entrance of the hotel, the room and its 19th century style.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there for our daughters wedding. We had many family members staying there. Most of us were awake until 2:00 am because of the loud noise from the bar next door. Both nights were like this. Plus the rooms were very hot as the A/C was not yet turned on. We asked for fans but they were never delivered.

    The beauty of the historical building was awesome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm happy to say there was nothing that we didn't like.

    the room was very spacious and had all the amenities that we needed. the location was awesome and everything we wanted to do from shopping and dining were all with in walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having a room on the front side of the hotel with access to the balcony near by was nice but the traffic noise from the freeway was annoying and it was a warn weekend but the a/c hadn't been turned on yet so we had to sleep with the window open.

    The staff was excellent, Josh at the front desk was more than accommodating. After telling him of some issues we had with our room he moved us to another room and made sure we were happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance woke us up at 7:45 am doing repairs- no air conditioning for rooms, no hotel attendant after 8pm. Noisy bar next door with questionable people lurking around. No promised coffee in the morning Disappointing

    Good location neat history

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next time we would request a room on the top (4th) floor to get a view of the sun and hills.

    Did a good job keeping a historic vibe while updating to code--old cage-style elevator very limited for weight capacity, needing to open/close windows to supplement hotel heating/air conditioning, sign encouraging patience for hot water in the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are a bit thin.

    Staff was quick with check in. Room was bigger than I expected and they let me bring my service with absolutely no hassle whatsoever. Location was great, right in the heart of downtown Placerville. No need to drive unless you are visiting the neighboring cities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is VERY old. They have obviously worked very hard to preserve the character of the building with furniture and decor while upgrading the necessities. The elevator was awesome. We live 30 minutes away so if we ever want a spontaneous get away close by we would absolutely consider staying here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should have a small bar

    It was quiet and I had a restful night. It is a historic building and famous people have association with it and it must have been great in it’s day as there must have been music and laughter

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was even in winter and rainy weather, the room was stuffy so we had to open windows. It wasn’t a big deal until around after midnight, we were trying to sleep but with all the bars next to the hotel and across the street the drunk loud people became very noticeable and annoying.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpet older- but added to time period feel

    great bed, fantastic room layout with great kitchenette. perfect for our family of three. we stayed on the fourth floor and let the kiddo climb the stairs up- great exercise. he loved going down the old-fashioned elevator on the way down. downtown placerville has a happening charm and we look forward to a repeat fun weekend getaway to placerville and the historic cary house hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shampoo but 2 body lotions, maybe a minor mixup.

    Very comfortable bed, piled with pillows. The fact that rooms are named after local people, sights, regional specialties. I was in the Zinfandel room. The pioneer day look of it all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have muffins or donuts with the coffee in the morning. I went next door and they wanted 3.50 for one little donut.....guess it was made with GOLD! Lol!

    Very unique hotel with historic architecture. I very much enjoyed and appreciated the hotel, the staff and the downtown location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY thing that was a bummer was that there was no ice machine.

    The elevator is so old and fun to ride one and the old style decor mixed with a modern twist was quite spectacular.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk clerk was rude and incompetent. The check in process took over an hour because she did not have my reservation, even though I gave her a copy of it. This reservation was paid in advance... she obviously did not want us to stay here, even telling us to leave and go to the Best Western at 1:30 in the morning. The room temperature was set to 90 degrees... obviously too stupid to know how a thermostat works, she kept repeating “it’s not my fault, not my problem.

    Nothing. Could not wait to leave.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old chandelier in the room was beautiful. Elevator was cute (old lift). Some of the architectural features in the hotel were nice.

    Sheets were old and dirty. The heating fan stayed on even when I turned it off. One of the windows wouldn't open. There was this awful, incessant noise coming from a vent in the ceiling. They provided shampoo but no conditioner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not hot not much to offer except cold cereal n a pre packaged pastry.. Could be alot better please fix this Cary House

    We LOVE LOVE The historical value of this hotel and the ghost stories!!! They keep it close to original as possible Friendly staff extremely helpful Austin was great our pack n play broke he brought another in middle of the night.. baby got sick he brought a new clean comforter to us...The management staff well those ladies are fabulous. We've stayed here last the last 12 yrs a few times a yr whn visiting this historical town just to visit and the KIDS LOVE GHOST HUNTING IN THIS HOTEL!!! And YES its HAUNTED Stanley has been seen by us.. True true true..and Patsy Cline was playing throughout the nigbt ohh ues no we had no music on!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not helpful and curt, room temp was hard to control, bathroom needed a fan and living room area needed a chair instead of useless decor.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair still in my bed. There was a big booger on wall. The pillows in the closet had a smell to them. At night you could hear people from the bar across the street.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, Staff, history.

    The history and location. We love exploring the places we visit, and this down town location is perfect and we love with the history!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, we kept the windows open so the room was cool but you could hear walking, talking and everything that goes bump in the night!

    The staff was very friendly and truly wanted to help out with requests. Great location within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room away from the street. Parking closer. Counter space in bathroom.

    First of all the night manager was fine. But there was a street band under my window and also car and motorcycle “racers and engines” well until midnight. I did not stay the second night and asked for a refund so will see what happens and

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, horrible room heating/ cooling, minimal room service (no vacuuming, cleaning of sink/ bathroom, changing of bedding, glasses, etc). Property needs updating very badly.

    Good shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money a light breakfast would be nice. Other hotels in the area provide a full breakfast.

    The location was great. The room and furniture was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an older hotel, so the floors in our room sloped and made us feel a little unbalanced.

    The location of the hotel is great to access downtown Placerville and Apple Hill.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed made a noise that one really does not want to hear. My family said well it's keeping with the hotel being old but a bed that didn't make noise when your rolled over in it would be nice. Also I know it's old but they could use a little more outlets. I didn't use the in room coffee maker because I didn't want to unplug something to plug it in.

    The staff was helpful. Being Thanksgiving day was looking for a place to eat with a group of 10. They tried but not luck which is not the staffs fault just a small town. It can be noisy but in the late hours of the night when I woke up to use the bathroom it was very quite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ghosts ( not really, we liked them just fine)

    Staff was very friendly, helpful , and professional. We traveled with our little doggies and were welcomed : )

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft for me (just a personal comment) and the lamp on my side of the bed was broken. Gave the switch to the desk but it was not repaired.

    The location was excellent. A great meeting place for the family we were visiting

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette poorly supplied - had to request a dish towel and never got a dish rag. They did supply dish soap. Only one pot and one bowl and no way to make toast and no microwave Foldgers coffee. Hot and cold faucets miss- marked and backwards. Noisy because we faced alleyway. Bathroom fan didn’t work so we had to open the window in 50 degrees weather and still got very steamy. Hard to figure out parking. Was a busy Saturday and the one unload spot in front was busy and there was no where to wait. It’s on a busy city main street and parking is in city lots behind and next door. Key had to be re-calibrated everyday- we were there 3nights. Bed was uncomfortable. Housekeeping didn’t come one day. Guess they thought my not yet was not today! Had to step up into the bathroom. It was a funky bathroom couldn’t stand in front of the sink which faced the side of the toilet. Tub/shower faucet dripped.

    Clean new appearing refrigerator/ range unit. Nice room layout with a petite compact kitchenette (but not well supplied). Bedroom, sitting room. Kitchenette, bathroom. Tv in sitting room and another in the bedroom. Good supply of hangers. Plenty of hooks and towel bars and places to set out toiletries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floors not level, so bed was leveled but not the TV. Old elevator was clunky in operation. These things just added to the charm of the experience. Always remember you are staying in remodeled history. It was fun.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the authentic historic style of the hotel! The staff was helpful and the experience great! The location was perfect, with lots of restaurants and stores within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the Mark Twain room. Nicely decorated with photos and his books. Hotel is in the middle of town. Convenient to walk to restaurants and shops. Be sure to visit Gold Bug Mine and Apple Hill which are short drives from Placerville.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer.

    It was fantastic. We went to visit apple hill and was surprised with Placerville annual October beer fest right in front of the hotel. Was awesome trip and hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfortable

    Loved waking up, getting coffee and sitting outside on the balcony watching the cars and people go by. And I must admit, loved the elevator, super fun and historic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap or body wash in the bathroom. The reason was explained to us the next day when we asked about it but the problem should have been remedied by making a purchase at a store in town so guests would not be caught without. Not enough towels. Trash in the kitchen wasn't emptied.

    Good room size. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room accommodation were not as pictured or advertised, booked a deluxe 2 room with full-size kitchenette with microwave and coffee pot. Refused first room offered no microwave, no coffee pot, loose rattling celling tile, cheap and old looking bedding. When I asked clerk and showed him a picture of what I booked he told me that room was already occupied but gave us a different room. Kitchenette had coffee pot but only 2 coffee cups for a 4 person accommodation, no microwave. Room only had one chair for sitting.

    The historical charm of the hotel and the town is what made our trip. Stepping out on the 2nd story balcony with a cup of coffee in the morning was awesome. Everything imaginable is within walking distance, shopping, restaurants and live music at night. Most of the staff were very nice, unfortunately can't say the same about our check - in clerk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot water in the bathroom sink took forever to come up as well as the sink not draining well. As a result, I never did get the water to temp. However, if you ran the water in the shower, it took far less time and you could get temp in sink much quicker. OR, use the sink in kitchenette which was up to temp faster although not convenient for washing one's face. The refrig was not capable of keeping things cold enough. I told staff and they asked if it was 'cool' or 'warm'. I answered the former and they said that was the best it could do. The bedroom was much smaller than pictures depicted. My bedside lamp was not able to plug in, so I didn't have light at my convenience. Because the hotel is very old, the floors are quite crooked and getting up in the middle of the night, could be a bit challenging, depending on one's age, etc. I would not stay in this hotel again.

    The hotel is quite historic and interesting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heat!!! It was a cold night.

    The bed was old and very uncomfortable. It was not even flat when you look at it. There is big sink spots where it's worn out. Even the chairs are wore out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this room for my cousin and his bride who were on the last leg of their honeymoon and when I came in to ask if the hotel had anything special for the couple they gave them the honeymoon suite. It was a very nice surprise!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water!!

    First night, no hot water. They checked the next day, said it was OK. But at night no hot water for shower. Today mentioned the water again. they refunded one night. Josh, desk clerk at the time - friendly, helpful. An asset for Cary House.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only 'cleaning' that was done during our stay was that the bed was made each day. The coffee cups we used were not washed.

    The Cary House is a curious mixture of historic and shabby. This is the second time we have stayed so we think that the welcoming staff, quirky building and excellent location outweigh the need for a lick of paint.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy environment due to location to all the drinking bars especially when bars close down and next to fire station. Would recommend double pane windows on property.

    Location to downtown great. All within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite promises, we didn't see or hear any ghosts.

    The hotel has old-fashioned charm. The floors slope, the banisters and decor are vintage and beautiful. Our room was huge, with a bed, a sitting area, and a tiny kitchenette (poorly equipped so bring a bottle opener and pots/pans if you intend to cook-- we weren't cooking). Because we were arriving after the desk closed, the night manager called and I was able to keep in touch with him as we got closer to Placerville. He was there when we got to the hotel and check-in went smoothly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the unevenness of the floor in our room, but this was a small point compared to everything that was just excellent.

    The friendliness of the staff. The romantic deck overlooking Main Street at night. The unique style, originally restored, The lobby is very beautiful, lots of class, and so very clean. My wife and I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone we knew heading for Placerville.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a really old structure. Back in the 1850's there were no double-pane windows or noise-abating insulation. So if people are having a good time on streets, you probably won't sleep that well. I know, any kind of remodeling will probably be very difficult, specially if asbestos or lead paint were ever used.

    We liked how well preserved was the hotel and how much personality it had and so did our room. Mark Twain and Ulysses S. Grant spent nights there! :O The bed was really comfy. The hotel is across the street from restaurants, bars, stores, drugstore, everything! Every place you enter has a small old town feel and very well-preserved architecture of the 19th century mining era. We wish we could have extended our stay. It was fun!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a problem making check in difficult. The lobby closes at 8pm, so not sure about late arrivals. When we tried calling the hotel, phone rang for a long time before someone finally answered.

    This is an excellent location for walking around the entire area. So many amazing specialty shops, restaurants, and antiques. The hotel itself is an antique, but in great condition. Many little quirky things (love the elevator, though it accommodates only 2 people at a time). Can't wait to o back when we have more time to spend exploring more of the area. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a family suite, the master bed was really comfy but the 2nd bed was a bit squeaky

    What I loved most about this hotel was the history of it! It was like stepping back into time! The hotel was clean and it was nice to be able to walk to all the restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a historic building - no major complaints.

    Loved the antique furnishings and wall decorations. Loved the lobby and elevator. The balcony was cool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a 2nd floor deluxe king -- the room was very spacious, but it was a little disconcerting to have people sit on the balcony just on the other side of our picture window and have long conversations during their evening cocktail hour. In the early morning, there were once again people sitting in front of our window. I would advise people who want privacy to avoid the ones looking out onto the balcony

    Loved the historic building and the displays in the lobby. Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the loud noises from the bar across the street. The windows in our room faced the bar and the bar crowd (until 2 a.m.) made it very noisy and hard to sleep. The room was also very cold!

    I liked the location being right in town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I must have been the unfortunate customer...my car was damaged in the parking lot after I had arrived, by a hit-and-run driver...the parking area was small, with narrow spacing. The stall was clearly marked "Compact Car", but many people try to fit their 'bigger' vehicles in the smaller stall when no other spaces are available - hence, my car got damaged

    I loved the atmosphere of the hotel...Joshua was the most attentive clerk - he made me feel like a good friend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy. Could not regulate the A/C, with it on it was to cold and with it off it was to warm. TV channels did not work.

    Josh was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The A/C is a swamp cooler and if you've never had your house air conditioned by a swamp cooler then your experience can be extremely uncomfortable unless you crack the windows. Also, the beds aren't really uniform in firmness so you may get a really soft bed, or an insanely hard bed. Basically, don't expect the Hilton when you go here, expect a "boutique" experience.

    The best part about the hotel, history aside, is the location to other attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast and or a microwave to heat up food

    Loved to old time feel. Antique furniture and one of the oldest working elevator and one of the oldest working elevators. Super cool and we love to town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The step from bathroom to kitchen was a bit disconcerting.

    Beautiful lobby with historic decor and displays. The grand staircase is one you won't find in a lot of places. Our room had a little kitchenette which was convenient since were we traveling. Although a bit shabby, the room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in Room 214. Pretty small, but quiet room. Well worth the modest rate we paid through Booking.com.

    Cary House Hotel was the perfect destination for our overnight. Staff was friendly and helpful. Old elevator is a novelty. Stayed in Placerville the night before an early pick up at a nearby overnight camp. Enjoyed strolling Main Srrert before the 6:00 shop closings, then to dinner at Smith Flat House (make sure to be seated in the back room of the cellar!) in the morning, be sure to check out cute cafe in courtyard behind lobby near hotel's coffee/juice set up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our suite, amenities and historical authenticity made this a charming place to stay. The lobby is filled with museum quality artifacts and information. The working elevator delivers an authentic 'flavor' to the premises. Dining, shopping and entertainment is all within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some repairs I noticed were pretty amateurish. It was somewhat disappointing in an otherwise well preserved building.

    I enjoy the ambiance of 1800's architecture. The lobby, furnishings, woodworking, vintage elevator are all great. It is like stepping into another era. The wifi worked better than most places I stay at.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture is "shabby". Lamp very torn inside shade. Chair torn and feels unsafe.

    Loved the location right downtown. So many shops and places to eat. Give Timmy's Brown Bag a 10. Best sandwich ever.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the 2nd time booking.com has let me down. The last time I cancelled a room through you and the hotel was not notified. I was charged. I had my cancellation confirmation and the hotel graciously refunded my money.

    Absolutely wonderful staff. Booking.com booked me for one night when I actually booked two. The first night we stayed in a beautiful suite, unfortunately the hotel was fully booked the next night. Though no fault of the hotel they put us in a much smaller room. It was still very clean and they were kind enough to comp the 2nd night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really like staying here because it isn't like a Hampton Inn......cookie cutter architecture and ambiance. Keep up the good work!

    The view from the window wasn't much but we love this funky hotel. Bed was very comfortable and room clean. Love the amazing fringe on the bedside lamp. The elevator is one of the top features of this fun hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was shabby. The worn out bottom sheet didn't fit the bed. The hotel needs to be upgraded. The room was small and made smaller by a too large refrigerator taking up a corner.

    Good location but the hotel needs an upgrade. The front desk attendant immediately brought us a replacement bottom sheet when we called.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the historic photographs all around the hotel, they really took you back in time! Rooms were comfortable and staff was very friendly and accommodating, very nice stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the history and the preservation of the authenticity of the hotel and the town. The room was lovely and very cozy with a little sitting area and a "kitchenette". Loved the booklet that gave the history of the hotel and the surrounding area and the book at the reception counter that told about the people who stayed there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things you would expect in an old building, heater a little unpredictable, toilet plugged up at one point, also I couldn't get the coffee machine to work but I didn't put much effort into it.

    We loved the antique elevator and the creatively decorated sitting area. The hotel is located right in the center of old town Placerville; there is an amazing Mexican restaurant a half a block away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late check in 4PM. Staff walked in room while we were naked on bed No knock. People next door where fighting until 2am etc... Never ever stay there again

    Room was ok

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Historic Cary House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: