Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4 stars

299 Madison Avenue, Murray Hill, New York, NY 10017, USA

#7 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    great staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If we had to find fault, then if we had to say something then we'd say the bed was a little soft for our tastes.

    An impeccable stay, Staff couldn't do enough to make our visit better. The great location and superb facilities along with the attention to detail really helped make this trip. It's not the roomiest, nor the cheapest, nor the most luxurious, nor the grandest of hotels i've stayed in, but quite easily one of the best 3 hotels i have ever visited.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great City, Great Hotel, Great Location
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Great Location. We had a large room with a view looking up and down Madison Ave, what more can you ask for when in NY. Enjoyed the drinks and pastries at the end of the day in the library.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location for Berkley College visit (meeting)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are tiny - though that should be apparent from the pictures on the hotel site. But, they seemed even smaller in person. Glad I was traveling alone - even too close / cozy to share with hubby I think!

    Restaurant in hotel had my dinner waiting at 10pm (after I called of course!) -- after a VERY long day of delays and cancellations of flights. Food was on plates and nicely served - not in to-go containers. Flowers on tray beautiful touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    The 24-hour snacks are good, especially the 5pm-8pm wine and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning time is too late, maybe at 4pm or so. I always had a nap after the morning visit, the feeling was not good when I opened the door.

    The 24-hour snacks are good, especially the 5pm-8pm wine and cheese! All the staff are warm and helpful. I really enjoyed the days spent here, and will sure choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Staff were friendly and helpful-they went out of their way to assist us. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was excellent.The hotel location was great with access to the Metro subway and bus systems and close to Times Square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location. The next time I visit NYC, I will stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a bit small, but the hotel designer maximized every inch of space.

    There is something intimate about staying here because of how quiet and small the hotel is, yet it is also social in the amenities (free continental breakfast and happy hour).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    location gave me every opportunity to visit a number of well established sights eg Central Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room wall safe was located over 6ft from the floor and made access to it a little difficult

    breakfast was good- varying selection to meet guests variable tastes staff were very friendly and informative. evening cheese and wine as well as the available coffee etc allowed me to organise the days activities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Friendly Helpful staff:I asked to receive packages from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive transfers from/to airport

    Friendly Helpful staff:I asked to receive packages from Amazon,they received and keep.Thak you very much Nice wine&cheese happy hour Small. but confortable room Good Wifi and breakfast In room safe No gym in hotel, but no problem:they have partnership with a excellent gym near hotel,and guest may go for free

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing staff putting smiles on everyones dial to start and finish each day. Position A1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds are not comfortable.

    Great position. We were fortunate to have 3 nights with a queen bed but due to high demand the last night was in a Petit Room double bed and not so comfy in general the beds are not the best. Petit room is a no go zone there is nowhere to put 2 suitcases and only a double bed. Staff are amazing 6 stars. This is a very special place we are definitely staying at the Library next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    A book-worm’s dream hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very comfortable and we loved the cheese and wine evening reception in the library. The location is excellent and the staff were all great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Great staff, great location. Slightly overly priced for the novelty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof top bar was v disappointing. For 2 nights a private party meant no access to the outside for residents. And the customers up there were smoking cigars and it is very small so v unpleasant smelling smoke.

    Location is excellent and staff could not be more helpful. Really great reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    great--would stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on the small side but service/common spaces more than made up for it.

    Outstanding service. Very nice free breakfast. Great rooftop patio/bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The Library Hotel exceeded my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were many things I liked about this hotel. The staff was incredibly accommodating - from the phone call to our home anticipating our arrival to the extra things we asked for (restaurant recommendations, tray to bring food back to our room, late check out). I loved the Reading Lounge for breakfast, wine & cheese service or just a snack. It was nice to have a place to relax and refresh away from the business of the city! My daughter and I shared a petite room. The layout was surprisingly spacious and the bed was VERY comfortable (although, next time, I might opt for a bigger bed). The location was also fantastic! We were within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to do. We loved this hotel. Can't wait to return!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent & charming hotel to explore NYC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location couldn’t be better right in Midtown and around the corner from Grand Central Station, Rockefeller Center and 5th Avenue. The staff is extremely attentive, fast and friendly. Rooms are small, but have charm - all under the library theme - and there’s a good breakfast included in the room rates. I couldn’t recommend it more!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.5
    A real gem in the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The low setting on the air conditioner was quite noisy but it didn’t stop us sleeping & we would definitely stay here again - in fact we are looking for a plan to do just that!

    All the extras were great. The cheese & wine every evening was fab. Complimentary tea/coffee & biscuits. Water bottles on request. Free books were great too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Escape to the library
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, easy access to the whole of Manhattan; all the librarians so helpful nothing to much trouble. Room comfortable and well thought out. The turn down service much appreciated after a long busy day. A calm and peaceful retreat to escape to in the midst of the franetic city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.5
    Great location and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop bar was closed for the 3 days we were here

    Breakfast was good. Rooms were comfortable. Staff service was excellent. Everyone was really friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a thing.

    Location, location, location. 2nd floor was truly an oasis - great coffee at any time of the day, fabulous breakfasts, and don't get me started on the wonderful wine bar each night. Great property. Highly recommend The Library Hotel..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    It’s a great location for getting around town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a great location for getting around town. The room was a good size, very clean with a comfortable bed. All the staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Boutique hotel for a special get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice room, but a bit on the small side. Nicely appointed and nice finishes. Very nice hospitality from the hotel staff. Nice continental breakfast each morning, enough to get our day started, with fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, espresso machine, etc. Great location for mid town sightseeing. Easy access to many sights and subways and buses and a short walk to Grand Central station. The breakfast room also serves as a place to relax throughout the day and evening with coffee, tea and fruit/pastries available all day and night. Great wine and cheese happy hour each evening included. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Very, very enjoyable. The Chief Concierge, William McAdams, and his staff are absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 17 nights

    The lighting in the rooms could be improved, and the televisions are a little small. These are really minor criticisms.

    The Concierge staff and the Lounge on the second floor are what makes this hotel special. This was like an oasis. Food and beverages were always available, the ambience was lovely, it was very welcoming. On the down side, we stayed in 2 rooms and both need more lighting. The first room lacked a full length mirror. These are minor criticisms. The staff are wonderful, very helpful, very engaging, very kind. The rooms are a little small, however the second floor Lounge is so inviting we hardly stayed in our rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely loved the hotel and a big thumbs up to all the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the second floor dining room was a little bright and stuffy.

    The staff were exemplary. So courteous and helpful. Position of the hotel ticked all boxes. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    The Library Hotel was a wonderful surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I booked online seemed to be much nicer than the one we were assigned when we arrived.

    The staff was excellent, room was was very clean, wine and cheese in the afternoon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The staff were incredibly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small for one person.

    The staff were incredibly helpful. The wine and cheese hour also brilliant and the breakfast was great. The beds were very comfortable, and the room really sweet. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    I am looking forward to a return visit with some more time to look around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature in the room did not respond to the temperature that was set to. It seemed to have it's own temperature mind.

    I was not there long enough to work my way through breakfast, or the available lounges. I intend to do that next time. I loved the books in the room and the new books on sale in the lobby. The staff was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely boutique hotel with great staff and fabulous location but the room size and noise lets it dow
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and it was noisy even though we were on the 6th floor. Couldn’t sleep with the traffic noise but I suppose that is the price you pay to be so close to Grand Central Station.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The location was great for Grand Central Station. Can’t get much closer than that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    A book lovers delight.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop bar is very small and the drinks quite pricey.

    The books available for reading were a treat and so too was the cocktail hour in the lounge each day. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. The location was very convenient and overall this was a very satisfactory stay. The lounge on the second floor provided a great space for relaxation and reading.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Great visit with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lifts were sometimes very slow, particularly when events on the roof. No sitting area when the bar being used.

    Good breakfast. Wine and cheese was great to come back to after a busy day. Good books. Good atmosphere, particularly as a solo traveller.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was ok but not impeccably clean. The bathrobe was cheap and uncomfortable.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. It's nice to have breakfast in the hotel. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel with a perfect location. The librarians couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful! Loved the reading room and the complementary wine and cheese. Rooftop bar and terrace is beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Excellent for visitors who appreciate true hospitality & comfort in a well-designed boutique hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    IMHO, the breakfast offerings were standard. I usually eat organic, non-GMO foods and would love to have those types of options, if possible.

    I loved my stay at the Library Hotel. Its theme and design are wonderful! The hotel staff was friendly and sincere--and they seemed to really care about my comfort and experience. They listened well and answered my inquiries to the best of their abilities. I enjoyed all the amenities and the offerings of the hotel. I appreciate that my "extra" needs were met--such as obtaining more bottles of water, easy access to WiFi and having complimentary access to a great work-out facility--all of which weren't charged. IMHO it's the little things like this (in addition to great staff and service) that add value to my stay--service becomes top priority and I'm not getting "nickle-and-dimed" for things. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates a lovely environment, comfort, and a friendly, professional staff. The location is excellent, as well. I walked a short distance to public transportation (Grand Central is just a few blocks away) and I took longer walks to and from Times Square and shopping, etc. "Keep up the great job, Library Hotel! I will be back!!"

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable and pleasant!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If there are some bacon or sausages, it would be perfect for kids too.

    The fresh fruit salad in breakfast, the afternoon complimentary treat, the helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay here again if we needed an address in this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just right except for the bed, which was a bit lumpy and was tucked in so tightly that the blankets couldn't be pulled out all the way(I don't know whether it was correctly made?).

    Loved having the second floor lounge available virtually all the time; our daughter came back with us after dinner and we had coffee and cookies before she left. We went several times in our twenty-four hour stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Location, Location, Location (with style and service, too)!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms typical of NYC but the excellent design made the room comfortable. Complementary continental breakfast was very nice, really great coffee. Afternoon wine and cheese reception went long enough for those of us traveling for business to partake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Staff was wonderful - absolutely great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building heating system kept me too warm and could not be changed to cooling. The windows do open, which is a bonus, but the NYC street noise made it hard to sleep. Maybe a room fan would be a good option to offer. The staff was incredibly great but there wasn't much they could do to alleviate the heat problem.

    Staff was wonderful - absolutely great. Book idea is charming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    The team of associates here ensured our anniversary celebration at this hotel was 5STAR!
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were totally pleased

    The room was charming and great use of space. The 5PM wine and cheese event was delightful and breakfaSt the next morning was lovely. Again everyone working here is top notch!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Perfect business hotel for one person!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was too far to walk in the cold weather.

    The breakfast, wine and cheese and the use of the second floor reading room were excellent and a wonderful retreat between meetings or appointments. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Marvelous!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit tight, but nevertheless quite comfortable.

    The staff first of all was extremely cordial and helpful with all aspects of our visit. There was a big snowstorm and they were so helpful in getting us to where we needed to go. The location is also excellent next to bus and subway connections. The room while small, was very well appointed and very cozy. The breakfast room was above our expectations, with delicious treats and drinks. A plus- we were able to host some friends on the rooftop terrace even in the cold!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Perfect - just what I needed and what I had hoped for and lots more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was wonderful.

    Staff so very welcoming and helpful and attentive. Really comfy bed, excellent location and hospitality that was included. Was a nice and grown up place to be - any children were very well behaved and welcomed too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Excellent! Best place we’ve stayed at in NYC, will recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure is never like home.

    Room where breakfast - wine & cheese were served was a nice escape from the NYC craziness. Small refrigerator in room was great. Room size is generous for NYC.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Brilliant and responsive staff; deftly accommodated all my requests. Room is really well laid out so it did not seem like the typical tiny NYC hotel room. Really nice breakfast and 24-hour cappucino/tea and wine/cheese reception. Location is 10-15 minute walk from Time Square, very close to Grand Central & excellent shopping within blocks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    A lovely bistro-style hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The main disadvantage to this hotel is (at the time of writing this review) the noise outside the property. There seemed to be construction work going on nearby all night long. Presumably this will only be a temporary inconvenience.

    A really comfortable hotel with great staff. The room (called a petite room) was indeed small but well appointed. The food in the restaurant (Madison and Vine) was okay, but not great. The availability of snacks throughout the day and evening was a lovely feature.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Staff are really friendly and so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    This is our second stay at this hotel. Great location near Grand Central and Bryant Park. Small luxury hotel with fabulous staff and great little touches like breakfast and cheese and wine evenings. I don't want to recommend this hotel too much as I want to be able to get a room next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    I actually waited a few days before I did this review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I actually waited a few days before I did this review...I needed that "travel glow" to subside. The Library Hotel will see me on every trip to NYC. The staff is what makes this hotel great. Friendly and courteous people that actually look like they enjoy their jobs. The breakfast is just what you need. If you want a BIG breakfast go out...that's what NYC (in my opinion) is for. The location is great. If you're not the laziest person around you can walk to most of the great sights in NYC.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    this is a wonderful boutique hotel with lovely rooms and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    quiet elegant room with all the amenities one would like. The staff was friendly and attentive. Breakfast and the wine reception were bonuses. Both had a good variety of items. I liked everything about the hotel but especially liked the tastefulness of the setting. The Library also provided access to a local gym.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, clean, good locale but tiny room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was tiny. There was hardly room to hang clothes (and I was on my own). I also had to keep going back to reception to get my room card reactivated. This happened far more frequently than other places I have stayed.

    The hotel staff were friendly. I liked the tea and breakfast area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    The service at the Library was amazing. Such a beautiful little hotel in a great spot central to everything. Having the community area with breakfast and all day coffee and snacks was well worth the extra cost. Love this place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    I found a place that mad me feel happy in my own skin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have one small suggestion: as a woman in her 70's I would have appreciated a safety bar in the bath/shower area. You do have older clients who find exiting a bath a challenge. And you do not want them using your taps as an aid. You can find relatively attractive bars. Do give it some thought.

    Feeling of being guenuinly welcomed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    I will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to camp near Midtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite honestly I liked everything about it. The location is incredible, the facilities were great, and staff were top-notch and super friendly. The roof top deck is awesome as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Our stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air-conditioning in the bedroom on floor 6 facing Madison Ave was very noisy. Other than that our stay was excellent and we highly recommend this hotel. We would definitely stay there again

    The location was excellent and close enough to be able to walk to the theatre on 2 occasions. The staff were very nice and very helpful. The use of the breakfast and drinks area on floor 2 during the day was extremely useful including afternoon tea and happy hour. The rooftop garden area for drinks at night was excellent. We ate at the restaurant (Madison and Vine) attached to the hotel on 3 occasions as it was very convenient and the food and service was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    A great home base for a hectic six days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No on-site gym, but it's not that kind of place.

    Extremely well received, everyone friendly and considerate, excellent complimentary breakfast, decor and furnishings of quality, wonderful to be surrounded by books, an oasis of elegance just a short walk from the theatre district and the ferment of Times Square...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    I would definitely stay here again but ask for a room with a quieter airconditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning was so loud that everytime it clicked on it would startle me from my sleep. The elevators were tiny and creaky.

    The staff was terrific. Rooftop bar was great and the rooms were clean. The location was great within walking distance to many iconic sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    I love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are pretty small, even the Superior Queen, then again, we're normally out and about so it's ok.

    Third time staying at The Library, this time on honeymoon. Excellent reception including a bottle of prosecco as a wedding gift, staff attentive as always. Love the wine and cheese between 5-8 pm. I have recommended The Library numerous times and I will be back whenever in New York again. Thanks guys!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not a show stopper but a selection of ham /salami and cheese at breakfast would have been nice

    Central location with easy access to Grand central terminal .Friendly staff. Hotel clean and tidy. Food served was good .Especially the all day coffee and pastry's and wine and cheese in the evening All round very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    A pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving

    Everything staff very helpful, breakfast very nice, good that you can get a hot drink and a snack anytime of the day and at 5pm for a few hours free cheese and wine. A very nice touch to any visit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Short & sweet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft mattress. Less than powerful shower pressure. The temperature in the room was really cold despite a 72C indication on the thermostat.

    Cleanliness, nice theme to the hotel/room, all the staff in the hotel were great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Always leaves me wanting to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I stay here a lot. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The price is extremely reasonable at times and at other times... not so much. Breakfast is a bonus!! Location provides easy access to theater and shopping. Clean and well kept. It's my home away from home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.9
    Fantastic service, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly brighter lighting in the bedroom would be helpful.

    Fantastic service at The Library Hotel. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us.Fantastic location, just around the corner from Grand Central Station. The room was comfortable, although a little dark. Beautiful bathroom. A buffet breakfast was included and wine and cheese in the evenings. It is a little expensive in comparison with hotels close by, but we would definitely go back there for the service that we received.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful and great location ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from my room by that's pretty much the same in all the hotels around the area. But it has a lovely roof terrace ...

    Great location, walking distance to broadway shows, Grand central station, shopping in the 5th avenue, time square and many good restaurants around the area. Comfortable and super nice staff. In a relative quite street, I could sleep pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Library Hotel in NYC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and readily available at all times. Our room was very comfortable and the location was perfect for getting around Manhattan

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    I can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a gem. Wonderful complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese reception daily. The staff is without question the best I've ever encountered at any hotel I've ever stayed at. Location is ideal...a block from Grand Central and the NY Public Library. Central Park is an enjoyable walk along 5th Avenue. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Lot of character. Felt like a home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. My room was small but comfortable and I love being surrounded by books. Breakfast is great. Altogether I had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    A haven in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved this hotel so much. The library theming was perfect for a book lover like me. The room was smallish (this is New York after all) but so comfortable. We were on the 7th floor - it was so quiet, every time I walked in the door it felt like I had entered a haven. The staff were outstanding, nothing was any trouble, finding restaurants, umbrellas, cars to the airport etc. The included breakfast was amazing, so plentiful and delicious, the staff looked after every need, plus you get to eat flicking through books that surround you. The complimentary wine and cheese at night was also fabulous before heading out to a show or dinner. It's not the cheapest hotel in New York but the location, the service, the quiet, the niche theming - loved it all and will recommend it to everyone and would do it all again tomorrow if I could.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Delightful and charming small hotel in Midtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All good

    Convenience. Being able to make tea or coffee (plus snack) at any time of the day. Happy hour with generous choice of nibbles each day. Breakfast adequate. Room small but plenty adequate for a solo traveller. Bed very comfortable. There is also a roof top terrace which is small but pleasant for an evening drink.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    A tranquil and relaxing retreat for your New York break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting could be a little brighter. The TV didn't want to work.

    Breakfast good and varied - fruit, pastries, cereals, coffee etc. Staff are hardworking and helpful. There's a unique wine and cheese tasting every evening between 5 & 8pm. Self serve coffee, tea, and water available at anytime of day. Comfortable beds and pillows. Fun and quirky decor with the Library theme throughout. Great location for main hot spots either walking or taking subway. Grand Central station is a 10 minute walk away. Quiet, clean and relaxing rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in central manhatten whether work or leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always hate having to get dressed before my first cup of tea. Would have been great to have ability to make tea in room or get room service.

    Very nice friendly welcome without the sometimes intense style of American customer service. Loved the breakfast and wine/cheese evenings. An easy place to work/relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Relaxing time away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home 😔

    Everything was great all staff very helpful, everywhere was clean and nice that you could get a tea/coffee anytime of day or night in the library room. Cheese and wine every night 5pm for a couple of hours complimentary was very nice too. We have stayed a couple of times and we will be staying again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast fruit was delicious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the way booking.com advertises free cancellation & invites you to reserve the property then after you've reserved it advises there is no alteration or cancellation possible. From now on I am going to try directly booking through hotels.

    Breakfast fruit was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with engaging theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks at rooftop bar were expensive. Waitress asked us to move indoors from rooftop as she was too cold to serve us outside. A light jacket was sufficient to be outdoors, but she was wearing a sleeveless dress. Rather than wear a jacket, she inconvenienced customers.

    Very friendly yet casual (not formal) staff. Excellent and atypical breakfast and nice wine/cheese reception. The hotel followed through completely with their library theme, so it did not feel gimmicky.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, great for Broadway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly, helpful staff. Clean and comfortable. Little extras like an umbrella in the room you can use if it rains. Lovely Breakfast, and cheese and wine evening send off such a pleasant idea. We really loved staying here. Thanks to the whole team for making it so special. Our trip was to see Hamilton. That was fab too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame they don't have twin beds

    Great that you could sit and have a glass of wine and really nice cheese and biscuits at the end of the day which was complimentary

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were small but had high ceilings. Coffee in the room would have made it nicer.

    The bed was very comfortable. There were free beverages, coffee, tea, espresso, etc and snacks, fruit, cookies, pastries available all day. There were books everywhere to read. There was a free wine and cheese reception every day 5-8 pm. The buffet continental breakfast included eggs, yogurt, instant oatmeal, fruit, breads, etc. The food area was always neat and clean and the girls that worked there were awesome. The concierge was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Library is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room with One Full Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    One of the best city hotels that I have ever stayed at. Everything was just perfect - the location, its a walking distance to almost everything including the train stations, the friendliness of the entire staff will exceed your expectations, good breakfast, 24h tea and refreshments, daily cheese and wine evenings. Stylish room, cozy bathrobe, comfortable bed, slippers and books, books, books.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    You MUST stay here in New York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Can't find one fault!

    Excellent location, facilities. and staff who operated so sleekly you didn't even notice them doing things! Staff went that extra mile to make you feel welcome. Copious amounts of excellent food and wine included. Exceptionally clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice touch to include breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with One Queen Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with NY generally, the coffee is awful. Even though the hotel had an espresso machine the beans were definitely not arabica. Carpet needs to be changed and the lighting in the bedrooms is poor.

    Nice touch to include breakfast. Very attractive hip bar on the roof. Cosy well appointed room which included small frig. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: