Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4 stars

174 East Gore Creek Drive, Vail, CO 81657, USA

#20 of 41 hotels in Vail

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 104 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Accomadations were disappointing but Vail never disappoints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window looked right out on to someone else’s patio. No privacy! No trash can in bathroom. No chair or desk in the room. No place to sit except on the bed. Very disappointed as we have stayed there before previously. My daughter had her wedding reception there and the wedding party stayed there. For the value Sonnenalp is better.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The facilities were amazing. We had our two granddaughters with us and they loved it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could really have used another chair in the room. Having to sit on the bed is uncomfortable for me. I have to admit I never called to see if we could get one.

    We liked the amenities provided in the room (bathroom products) and the swimming pool was great. The people were very friendly. There was one gentleman in particular that was extremely helpful. My husband could not get his computer Wi-Fi to connect. The gentleman went way out of his way to help us and spent a lot of time. We can't remember his name but he worked the front desk everyday we were there until 11:00 PM

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall, we were happy. The night we arrived was disappointing. Great place just a few hiccups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected, but the location was excellent!

    Room was warm, no air conditioner. Phone didn’t work, cold shower the evening we arrived. We were compensated for the glitches. Great location. Morning staff were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mislead hotel under loud construction

    Mislead when booked hotel under construction loud noises all day facilities restraints not open Staff did not care about guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Location was great, front door staff was super helpful as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Called and asked for coffee for there room, nothing came, then asked the staff in the hallway, they also did not deliver anything. Left breakfast as I was left sitting for some time, very few guests were even in the dining room. Asked the lady to have something then delivered to my room - nothing came! Unfortunately each night the smell of Marijuana was pretty strong and coming into our room, not what we would have expected from this level of hotel. Overall disappointed especially since we had stayed at the RockResort property in Breckenridge and had such an amazing experience.

    Location was great, front door staff was super helpful as were the ski valet guys and helped point us in the right direction each morning. Please read what we did not like...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location and comfortable room in a busy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My rooms was noisy with commercial dishwasher noise. If you want quiet, it is important to specify but they can’t tell you ahead of time which room you will be assigned. On the web it gives the impression of a warm place but it is quite large and most of the staff didn’t know Vail.

    The location is excellent for proximity to the lift. The rooms were nice, a good size and well-appointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location for easy access to slopes and the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a “lodge” I expected a larger community area. Facility is becoming a little dated. Heat/Ac unit in room was noisy and didn’t work well. Room was always hot. Breakfast buffet was very good but $36! Ridiculous

    Spa was outstanding

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful location but the hotel needs an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old hotel that needs some updates and maintenance. Kitchen supplies were old and in bad shape. Service was ok but we were expecting more for the price that we payed.

    Wonderful location Elways restaurante is great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic staff, less fantastic rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedlinen old and not really clean, the towelholder fell down. It is difficult to find your way through the building

    Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    The room was a lock off room of a 2 bedroom condo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a lock off room of a 2 bedroom condo. So it had a common door with the unit which had a gap underneath and and thin door. It sounded like the people next door were in the room with us. To a point it was uncomfortable to as you could hear all their private conversations clearly. We turned up the TV to avoid the situation and left music on at night. Hotel and staff was amazing the room is a huge issue. Amazing location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location... good rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a premier two bedroom and I would say if was a good two bedroom. The room was large and comfortable, but the view was terrible and much of the furniture and accessories were worn. Housekeeping was fantastic though so I didn’t feel like we were staying in a dirty place. If you stay near the restaurants, the hallways smell of the cooking/odor all day and night long.

    Location is fantastic and I come to vail several times a year and usually stay at Lionshead, but this was terrific. Easy to get to gondola, shops and restaurants. Housekeeping was great and the rooms had all the things you need for a great kitchen. The restaurants in the hotel are decent too. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    This was a girls trip with great friends. We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Center Two-Bedroom Apartment Off-site in Vail Village
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The condo/ apartment was damp and musty and food /beer was left in the cabinets. Musty almost to the point of feeling moldy. One is too far from the main lodge to enjoy the amenities and yet were charged with a resort fee. There is no staff on site.

    We liked the location of the condo/apartment in Vail Village Central. Great to walk to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Second room was much nicer and worth the few extra dollars
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was very small tho advertised for 4 adults Parking was baker and expensive

    Second room was much nicer and worth the few extra dollars Location and history of the building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Loved the lodge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ended up parking our own car and still had to pay for a valet ticket.

    Everything was so clean and cozy. The resort and village were absolutely wonderful and so worth the stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Expensive but worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave or small refrigerator. Resort is certainly meant to spend every penny when you can't store any leftovers or cold beverages. Also, I didn't like how the room description didnt mention that we wouldnt have access to our balcony. I have been to this resort before and loved sitting on the balcony.so I was disappinted when I couldnt access the balcony.

    I loved the locatio! Could walk everywhere. Staff is very pleasent. Our room was cleaned well and adeqyate size.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    convenient location and ski valet service;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    location of room; inability to adequately control room temperature (was consistently too warm)

    convenient location and ski valet service; courteous staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and property were the best part. A short walk to the gondola and restaurants and shops. The staff was helpful and friendly. Worth the hefty price tag.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.2
    Cozy comfortable retreat for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little more room for movement in the room in a king deluxe. ( near the tv)

    Cozy clean atmosphere. Great hot tub and steam room and friendly people there. Great comfort and quiet in the room. Super fast room service! (with great food!) Wonderful service and food in both restaurants!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    2.5
    Terrible Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid $150 dollars more than my friend for the same room! And the room was so small and the staff not helpful at all. Terrible first experience there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Very Disappointed with room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on parking lot with no balcony

    Pool area Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC extremely noisy, room quality on the old side

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and environment. Excellent fitness center and spa amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.0
    Great place near slopes , bed very bad Mattress in rooms , bad. Cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad Mattress , room not clean enough , food to greasy.

    Ubicación

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be bigger , with more wardrobes

    The location is fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    nice stay, beautiful hotel. For food in the area (very expensive 2 cocktails and a root beer $40.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    All beds should be queen beds, not twins

    Needed bigger beds, new staff did not know much (season start to skiing)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful , ice skating ⛸ was the best World Figure Championships I Competed !!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    I was so happy to see the first snow fall of the year in Vail , n/a Colorado

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    My wife loves the location, otherwise I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from outside the rooms interferes with sleep often, especially in the early morning.

    Location is the best. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Just perfect. The staff is super friendly.'
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Center Two-Bedroom Apartment Off-site in Vail Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A place to purchase snacks, sandwiches

    Great location, close to town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and located in Vail Village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unlisted fees of nearly $50 (parking and other) were added at checkout. We felt blind-sided by that.

    Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend staying here, it was excellent!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of room service food could have been a tad better..

    Location, accommodations, and staff were first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    The spa was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c

    The spa was amazing! Breakfast was delicious. Staff was so welcoming!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful lodge that's in the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Center Two-Bedroom Apartment Off-site in Vail Village
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given a large two story room with incredible views of the mountains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.4
    Just being in the mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valhalla Two-Bedroom Apartment Off-site in Vail Village
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just being in the mountains!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Pet friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small

    Pet friendly Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    5.4
    Low quietly - High price - Needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of room Hotel needs renovation badly

    Location - 2 minuets walk to ski lift

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Down town Vail accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive

    Nice outdoor hot tubs

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.3
    The location and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was poor.

    The location and services

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    Awesome Lodge at Vail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Breakfast amazing Staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous amenities at this hotel and a wonderful staff .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel was basic, not luxurious as advertised. Internet rarely worked

    The location was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    This hotel is in a great location in the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    You can see when walking past rooms that are being cleaned that some have still to be upgraded.

    This hotel is in a great location in the resort. Smack bang next to the lifts, but also with a ski valet service to make life even easier. The other exit of the hotel gets you straight into the main shopping streets. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating in finding the right style of room for our family. The pool and hot tubs are large and in the sun at the endof the day - perfect for a post ski drink and relax. We really had a very lovely time!

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff was great and went out of there way to make our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No boot storage so we had to put boots on/off in room and walk which wasn't too bad but there wasn't a lot of extra space in the room for equipment.

    The staff was great and went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. Location is great too. Internet worked well. Comfortable room. Ski valet was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    Location and the staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They need loyalty program. I have stayed at 3 properties and would like to stick with them if they give me a little priority for being a frequent guest

    Location and the staff was amazing. They made our stay so enjoyable from making reservations for dinner to booking my lift tickets. I can't say enough!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small and dated The hotel tried to make up for the disappointing room by giving us a vast number of cushions on the bed! To get into bed the room was so full of cushions that you could hardly move! Coffee in the room was undrinkable, and though there were teabags provided you could not make any unless you wanted the tea to taste of coffee as the coffeemaker was the only source of hot water.

    Location Swimming pool and hot tubs

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    The location was gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't anything I could complain about

    The location was gorgeous. It was a village that literally had everything you need. A lovely place for all types of travelers. Food, shopping, skiing and late night entertainment was available. Booking.com got me the best price and location

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.6
    Staff and service were fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Lamp not working on arrival but was remedied instantly.

    Staff and service were fantastic. Price very competitive compared to other lodging in the area. Great location in the middle of the village.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    6.3
    The location of the hotel for the ski slopes was excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was very small given that we were paying $480 per night for it. It was noisy late at night, and also early in the morning from about 5am, as it overlooked one of the principal pedestrianised streets in Vail.

    The location of the hotel for the ski slopes was excellent, and the staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.6
    location is great to the mountain and renting equipment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the heat in the room was not controllable. was very hot at night- asked several times to change it but didn't work. Had to open the window which then was cold at times. Where is the thermostat?

    location is great to the mountain and renting equipment. Restaurants and bars. Great area to walk. Hot tub and spa was amazing. staff was more than accommodating

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    8.3
    the location was amazing as well as the hotel staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I hate to complain because we had such a wonderful visit, but the room was sooooo small. The other issue was there was no AC and it was very stuffy. Windows left open at night proved to be very noisy. Temps were in the 70-80's during our stay. ** We thought we were staying at The Lodge at Vail Hotel. We were actually booked at The Lodge at Vail in privately owned room. We were disappointed as the hotel rooms looked gorgeous online! All newly redone and AC! Since it was third party the hotel room could not be changed.

    the location was amazing as well as the hotel staff!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Absolutely the best customer service you will ever have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely the best customer service you will ever have. Fabulous place, incredible food, room service, house keeping... I can't say enough. Worth the stay, we will be back and we will recommend this resort to everyone!!! Make sure and check out the spa, loved my massage and pedi.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    6.7
    Valet parking fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Valet parking fee.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.6
    Location to downtown Vail was through the side entrance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location to downtown Vail was through the side entrance! Bed linens luxurious. Quiet and spa tub out our back door. So much fun.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    location, location, location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    location, location, location, great staff. no need for a car would recommend this place to anyone looking for a fun, family oriented ski resort

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    I had messed up the dates on our reservation and they we out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had messed up the dates on our reservation and they we out of their way to accommodate us. Facility was fantastic and so was our room.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.2
    nice staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    rooms are very very very very small

    nice staff and great location

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very expensive . Breakfast buffet $34 and 2 of my party only had half a waffle each .

    Location. Hot tub / pool area

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some cleanness issues

    Location Yacuzzi

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff aims to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff aims to please. Very friendly and helpful. Location can't be beat.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    5.8
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms very uncomfortable, poor overall.

    Great location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.2
    Great location for the mountain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location for the mountain! And, the spa was fantastic! Perhaps one of the best massages I have had in the last 10 years (and I get a lot!).

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    6.3
    Bellmen were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant staff were unimpressive.

    Bellmen were great.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    9.6
    that i didnt know there was a fee for valet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    that i didnt know there was a fee for valet

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    5.0
    The shower pressure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rude front desk. Very tiny rooms with NO, AC...priced the same as larger rooms.

    The shower pressure

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    We were very well accommodated in all respects, from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no bad aspect to our stay

    We were very well accommodated in all respects, from our palates to our dog to our vehicles to our need to rest.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    8.3
    We booked a deluxe king bed and were given a queen bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a deluxe king bed and were given a queen bed instead. I complained and the changed my room.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fair cleaness.

    Excelent location.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    The poolside room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noisy air conditioning units

    The poolside room

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    Location,Location,Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location,Location,Location.

There are also 51 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: