Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 3 stars

1700 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, CA 90401, USA

#71 of 379 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1005 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all great

    I was there with my husband and grown children. We have stayed before. Excellent location, wonderful staff etc. Cant wait to return

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    The hotel offers local residents membership to the gym and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers local residents membership to the gym and spa facilities. This at times made the pool and sauna feel more gym-like in the evenings and made the atmosphere less enjoyable and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.5
    Great location, fantastic staff, really nice hotel, would definitely staff again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two big conferences whilst we were there, one of them took up space at the front end of the pool, where they had some of their meals and this made the area a little congested. One evening one of them had a DJ inside on the first floor balcony, it was extremely loud, so much so you couldn't sit in the lobby, we went to our room where we couldn't hear the noise, but it was inconvient.

    The location was excellent, right near the beach, all the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly especially Deidra who greeted us for checkin. The rooms were a great size and the beds very comfortable. The pool area was nice, if a little small, we had no issue getting loungers as we were out of main season, it overlooked the beach and the sunsets were fantastic,especially when sat around the fire pits.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.0
    Disappointing management of the property.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff informed us after check in that the property would have no electricity from midnight to 8. As we had early travel plans that was not acceptable and they refunded our deposit. Had to find another hotel urgently. They obviously knew about this maintenance issue and should have informed us prior to us coming to the hotel so we could have made other arrangements in an orderly manner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Great location with beautiful pool area
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in our room did not work properly. I advised the front desk after suffering through the first night of our stay. They advised that they would send someone up to fix it. After returning from the day it still was not fixed. I advised the front desk a second time. They assured me they would get it fixed. When we arrived back from our evening at midnight the room was still hot. We then went down to the front desk and spoke with Amber who rudely told us they could not fix it and we would need to change rooms. Instead of upgrading our room for our inconvenience she offered us a downgraded smaller room. I requested a different room. She then had the bell man bring us to a 3rd room which had blood stains on the sheets. When I informed her she did not apologize or offer us a better accommodation. We checked out and went next door to the JW Marriott where we were treated like royalty throughout our stay.

    Great location with beautiful pool area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel to stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coastline View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at the property with my family of four duding the end of August for five nights and I am extremely happy about the hotel amenities and staff. The only negative remark involved the staff at the front desk who was not willing to help us when we extended our stay for one additional night and did not make any extra effort to help me and my family stay in the same room when we booked the extra night. It was not comfortable having to pack everything the day before departure and move to a different room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    This hotel is incredible, the location is everything the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is incredible, the location is everything the view is even better and the staff and service received was some of the best I have stayed anywhere in the world. Will happily be coming back soon!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Front Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didnt recieve our complimentary drink upon arrival, we didnt recieve the kids pack on arrival. Overall the service was just ok. Sat in the lobby having drinks and getting the cheque before youve asked for it is annoying especially when you havent finished ordering drinks. We booked a fire pit room, the best available at the time of booking. Room number 522. I would recommend avoiding this room at all costs, the balcony is in the corner of the building overlooking the pool, however to the right of the balcony is the patio doors for room 531. I kid you not the doors are on the same balcony. Luckily the room was only occupied for 1 night of our stay but I was completely shocked to see this when we arrived. You could potentially be sat on your balcony with no privacy whatsoever. See picture of patio doors overlooking our balcony.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was fantastic, we had a full ocean view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coastline View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning was hit and miss, we would go out for the day and the room still wasn’t ready on our return after 4pm. Prices at the restaurants are very dear, paid $130 for breakfast for a family of 4 one morning (over £100). They are a 3 star hotel charging 5 star prices.

    The location was fantastic, we had a full ocean view overlooking the pier.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic views and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coastline View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about at all. Found some of waiting staff around pool a bit aloof and abrupt while others were great. We stayed over a weekend and not always sunloungers spare but other comfy chairs to sit in

    Fantastic location and views from pool area especially at sunset by the fire pits. The lobby and rooms are beautiful. Pool smallish bit adequate for a dip. Good gym facilities. Didn’t use main restaurant but food served around the pool was great. Some pool and waiting staff great and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous large superior family friendly hotel with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had valet parking here which is pricey.

    Fabulous large superior family friendly hotel with excellent facilities in perfect location with amazing views of the beach & Santa Monica Pier. Poolside & bar staff were particularly friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Beds comfy;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive and busy but staff tried to be as attentive as possible. Ocean Ave very busy and a bit of pollution

    Beds comfy;check in staff super nice; location good;

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was busy and the shape of the hotel seemed to make the noise very loud from children using the pool.

    A lovely modern hotel on Santa Monica beach, near to the pier. Rooms was big and comfortable. Ours overlooked the pool but it was still quiet inside. Breakfast was good and there was a choice of a la carte and fixed price buffet. Prices were quite reasonable for a hotel of this status. Fire pits burned in the evening to keep the chill away (even in July it was needed!)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location but spoilt by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arranged to get married on Santa Monica beach and booked the most expensive room in this hotel for our wedding/honeymoon and made reference to this on our booking. When we checked in the lady on reception was very helpful, and when we asked if we could have access to an empty room for an hour on the morning of our wedding for the groom and our son to get changed in separate to the bride, she assured us this wouldn’t be a problem and to just ask for access to a room which someone had checked out of on the morning. Cue the day of the wedding and when we asked at reception the new lady on the desk was plain rude, more interested in finding out the name of her colleague who had said we could do this then actually being helpful. When the manage came over she was just as unhelpful, stating they didn’t allow rooms to be let by the hour, and if we wanted a room to get changed in then we would have to pay for it for the whole day. Bearing in mind we had already booked one of the most expensive rooms in the hotel already! The only solution they could offer was for the groom and our son to go and get changed in the public spa changing rooms, which we had no choice but to do. To say this experience was frustrating, extremely unhelpful and at times plain rude on what was our special day is putting it mildly. Most definitely will not be going back!

    Location is 1 min walk from beach and pier - we booked beach view but did here others complaining that views on the other side of hotel were very poor. Area outside hotel next to pool for drinks is great, especially for views and at night when fire pits are lit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is crowded and useless. Not at all as inviting as it looks on the catalogue pictures.No showers at the pool (wonder about the cleanliness of the water).

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Truly memorable holiday, great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location, views of the beach and pier spectacular, food really good and staff in general were very attentive. Tavo, the concierge deserves a special mention as he was outstanding! He made our trip memorable pointing us in the right direction for restaurants, trips and places to see, big Thank You, we will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Too expensive and unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel at the lobby was unfriendly: it is obvious that they do not value a customer for every 1 customer 10 others are waiting to take the room Very expensive hotel compared to the amenities provided. No welcome thee or coffee nor biscuits or lemon water as do offer other hotels Bathroom was dirty: brown stains in the toilet from previous customer (disgusting), stains on taps, mirror. I had to call housekeeping 3 times. No fridge in the room (price of the room with tax, resort fee and parking for car included : more than 500 usd. )We stayed there 3 nights. We had to wait till 3.30 to get access to the room. The luggage service requested a tip because we had to wait for the room from noon till 3.30.: from what we paid per night can the hotel management not pay a decent wage to their personnel so that they do not have to bother the customer?

    Room space was ok Concierge was very helpful and friendly: information was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    We checked out after 3 nights because we were so disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and area around the pool was far too small for the number of guests and was like a zoo Whilst the beach was by the hotel there were no loungers or umbrellas and no nice cafes on the beach At US$ 800 / night with no breakfast, The hotel is priced as a luxury top class hotel when in fact it is a very average Marriott - type experience !!

    Our room was quite nice and had a good balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    A wonderful oasis amid the chaos of Santa Monica!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive as a Brit with current exchange rates and probably still expensive!

    A wonderful oasis amid the chaos of Santa Monica! High quality hotel, across from the beach and with a pool(although not huge). Barbelle food great and useful breakfast takeaway in mornings. Good location for restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Cleanliness and gorgeous view of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive for the sizes of the rooms. We were 4 , 2 adults , 1 kid and a baby for a deluxe room. The view was excellent. However the size was too small and too narrow. Especially when you ask for a crib... plus the rates are extremely high for an only 3 stars hotel... breakfast isn’t included: $35 per person and $17.5 for kids.. So either the pricing of the hotel become a 4 or 5 stars or the should be reviewed..

    Cleanliness and gorgeous view of the room. Location is the most attractive...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Super location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a lot going (film shown with popcorn in the evening, dvds for kids, free rides within local area etc), but information wasn't forthcoming about any of this. Would have been nice for the check-in staff to inform us!

    Super location! Ideal hotel if you are dropping off or picking up a Hertz hire car, as they have a counter on site - great if you are starting or ending a highway 1 roadtrip

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Well appointed hotel, close to the pier with great beach views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little small and there was a guy swimming in his underpants in the pool then walking up and down in wet underpants, not pleasant!

    Sitting on the terrace by the pool in the afternoon was great, food and beer was good and reasonably priced plus it was a great place to view the sunset.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Loved it and would def come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not super sound proof. I could hear everything the room next door were saying and could hear almost every door being closed around my room. Also, there was a day when a child pooped in the hotel pool and they asked us to get out while it was treated - the pool was treated but i wojlf have expected it to be drained and refilled with fresh water.

    The staff was super nice and the location is amazing and the room was very very cozy! Loved the restp/bar near pool. Great place for sunset! Also i needed more space for some of my sons foods and they sent me up an empty mini fridge which was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    It wasn't what I expected, but it was okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service is terrible. I scheduled my breakfast order at my room and it didn't came at time and didn't was what I ordered. Pool is for children. the food and the restaurant didn't attend my expectations. I booked a king size bed room and I was send to a queen size bed. the bracelet should come in differents sizes, the blue one is too small .

    What I liked most was the location and also the cleaning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    An amazing stay. Fantastic hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking charge was huge and the only option. $55 a night :(

    Loved the huge comfy bed and amazing view across to Santa Monica pier. Very nice welcome with a glass of bubbly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the view of the Pier and the northern beach from our room and late night cocktails around the pool bar area whilst overlooking the Santa Monica Pier was really special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    I have liked Loews since the first time I stayed in one in...
    • Family with young children
    • Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just feel as if it’s way over priced. It’s a basic room with a porch. The room is an average size hotel room. I don’t understand the overinflated prices. Three days for almost 3000.00 is a bit ridiculous. I should get breakfast lunch and dinner for that price.

    I have liked Loews since the first time I stayed in one in Miami. The one in Santa Monica had a nicer lobby but the pool area was a lot smaller. Huge hot tub! The staff always makes you feel like a rockstar even if you’re just a lowly girl from WV. Great location in Santa Monica. I loved our porch with the fire pit even though it was on the basement floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate - near enough to the beach and shopping areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the hotel rooms could do with an update. I have stayed with Loews in New York and Miami and in comparison this one could do with a refresh especially the bathrooms. I stayed in a sea - facing King Room with 2 double beds. Great range of TV channels but my gripe was the bathrooms which needs an update.

    Beds were comfortable and the overall location was good. We used the pool and the sauna and both were very good. For me the highlight was the concierge Mr Michael Fox. He is an absolute asset and probably the best concierge I have come across on my travels. His service made the stay very special!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Great resort, below average service !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks at the restaurant were awful and deeply overpriced for the quality. I had a pedicure at the spa and the lady was extremely inexperienced (bad experience at the spa)

    The location is great, right by the beach and the view is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved it. Would recommend. Would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fire Pit King Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very upscale. The finishing is excellent. Bathroom is clean and has a pleasing layout. Staff is friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The fire pit is wonderful and easy to use. The rear access to the hotel provides a convenient path to the beach and pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    DISAPPOINTING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fire Pit King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on the first day of a week holiday, we paid to upgrade our room to an ocean view at $200 per night. Prior to arriving at the hotel we consumed exactly the same food/drink on the plane and at the airport. Whilst waiting to check in to our room we had a bite to eat in the bar and my partner had some chicken wings and we shared some calamari and skewers. Within hours of eating at the bar my partner felt ill and went to bed and couldn’t physically get up the next day he had full body shivers, aches and a headache, he started with food poisoning type symptoms that evening. We spent the whole day week stuck in the hotel room hoping every morning that he would feel better. Finally after 5 days and I had taken several trips to the pharmacy the concierge at the hotel suggested taking him to urgent care. The doctor said it was ecoli and as I wasn’t sick it could only have been from the chicken wings he ate on arrival. Our holiday was ruined. When we came to check out I informed the hotel and the food and beverage manager strongly denied that it could have been any food consumed on their premises as it takes 24/36 hours for food poisoning to have any affect on someone’s body.... well it was 24 hours when he started with diarrhea. It was completely disregarded and we were sent away. I would have expected in a large 4.5 star establishment that they would offer some form of compensation for our trip as it was a complete disaster, but nothing, not a sorry or anything!! Also it was quite evident from our room service bill that we spent every waking moment stuck in the room.

    We loved the location because we had a nice view and the concierge staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coastline View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is very badly managed. Concierge many times not behind his desk, service for such a hotel way below level, bad food quality, prices over the top for food and beverage, pool always overcrowded, dirty bed linnen. We used to come here several years ago and tried it out once again, but this was the last time and will not come back. There are way better hotels in the close vicinity giving you a much better service

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Really bad expirience insect problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to fix insect problem and room noise

    My room was a nice fire pit room, it is was comfortable, unfortunately this hotel has an insect problem, I believe they rarely fumigate and clean the rooms properly. In my case I found big spider webs about 5 including 2 spiders, which I took pictures of, in different areas of my room, my wife is afraid of spiders and I have a 2 year old daughter and this made me sleep very worried about her safety. Next morning I complained to the manager at the front desk and gave me a $150 discount for the inconvinience and assured the problem would be taken care of, later that night I came back tired to the from and discovered management did absolutely nothing to resolve the insect issue, spiders and spider webs where still there, they didn’t even bother to clean, it’s a real shame management overlooks these issues, it is a nice hotel. Also, the quality of the walls in the room are very poor, I could here my neighbor laughing the whole night, this was very annoying, beside these 2 issues, the rest was fine, but I would never stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location within walking distance of a lot of stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was super expensive. For example a water bottle from the mini bar was 9 dollars and they didn’t have a fridge so you can buy you own drinks and keep them cool. The food at the hotel was way over priced I paid 70+ for a breakfast for two people a breakfast that would have costed no more then 20 anywhere else. Besides the prices for everything the hotel was great

    Great location within walking distance of a lot of stuff. Also was very nice and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.8
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fire Pit King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which was expensive, was completely unlike the photo for it on booking.com as well as misrepresented in the description. I spent hours between talking to the front desk and trying to get in touch with anyone at booking.com which the hotel said I had to go thru in order to get any service. Booking .coms response after finally getting a message to them said they would get back to me in 24to 48 hours and that surely was not going to do me any good. So I actually think more fault is with booking.com since it was their photos and description write up who is at the most fault and I still have not heard from them and initially I forgot to mention I was given a number to call for service with a +44 country code and a 35 min hold time on the phone. I wonder how much that call would have cost me???? So ridiculous!!!

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Excellent Location, but sometimes, an impersonal experience. They do love Pets though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel failed to notify us until check-in that the ENTIRE pool area would be closed during our stay, very uncool.

    Upon finding our room next to a construction site on the North End of the hotel, the staff answering my call made sure to upgrade us to an absolutely excellent alternative room. If not for her, we would not have been pleased.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall great but super let down by the management twice now so probably won’t be staying again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my 5th stay here and just gets worse each time with the staff informing me incorrectly so going to try elsewhere next trip.

    The overall location and facilities are great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Average, definitely not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, especially at the pool, was terrible! The staff just didn’t seem to know what they were doing or care at all.

    The rooms were really nice and the location was pretty good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Almost perfect, will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Unbeatable location, lovely hotel - lots of natural light and top drawer service. My family have returned here for years. A little pricey, but that’s Santa Monica!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    2.5
    Not happy with lack of professionalism & your inability to get this corrected, you had ample time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See comments above

    You sent the reservation confirmation with “Catherine” Newmans personal info to my email, this is not her email & has never been. I notified you & the hotel directly as soon as I recd it. Was told that the comnunications would cease & they never did. You continued to send many more emails to my email about her reservations. Now I have recd requests for survey answers from both you & the hotel. Needless to say, I am not at all happy. I doubt if Catherine Newman would appreciate her info being sent to me. I do not have any idea who she is nor how you got my email. I gave you plenty of time to correct this error, I contacted you & hotel immediately after I recd the reservation confirmation in Dec 2017!! Portia Newman

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is nice and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose the room with fire pit. It was not what I expected ..and that costs extra not really worth it.

    Nice hotel, clean. Room is bright with lights. Bathrooms are nice with beautiful lighted mirror

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Always a delight to look forward to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Coastline View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Space in the fridge for medication and personal choices. We always arrive from a long flight. Surely housekeeping can give priority to the room even just after midday.

    Position. Views from rooms facing the ocean. Roger. Car parking attendants. Concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely to stay for a night to experience Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check in our room wasn’t ready, which was fine as we were early, we were happy to go and grab some lunch while we waited. The guy at concierge took our number, said he would put a rush on the room and call when ready, we never got the call. Returned just before regular check in and only one of our rooms was ready. Waited with all our luggage in the corridor for the other room. Bell serviceman, Roger was rude suggesting that we did not tip him enough to bring our bags to our room. I felt the rooms were on the small side compared to photos online. High priced accommodation, but then again this is Santa Monica.

    Concierge staff very friendly. Beautiful view of the beach and pier from the lobby. Great location, easy walk to pier and 3rd street promenade. Happy that our request for rooms next to each other was accommodated as we were a family of 6.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    do not stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check in was a horrible experience, who needs this, right? did not have a suite (actually did, with a dozen cement trucks at view from the window). downgraded to a King, non-suite to get a room. Sunday morning at 8:15 am, kids playing and screaming in the pool courtyard.

    great views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The view was amazing, just a short walk to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fire Pit King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on hotel site is $50 for valet, otherwise you have to find your own parking elsewhere of the hotel site. However, you can get your can unlimited amount of time if needed.

    The view was amazing, just a short walk to the beach. Friendly staff. Close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Bday treat by nursing a broken toe & herniated disc on the balcony w/a gorgeous view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Housecleaners still knocked even though they'd acknowledged my do-not-disturb hanging card earlier. 2. I was pretty disappointed that the mini-bar/fridge was not suitable to store my own food/beverages ..only a money maker for the hotel if used. 3.The hotel did not carry PPV for the big UFC Fight so I ventured out to a local bar that did. 4.You must always have your car Valet parked.

    1. So glad to have been able to upgrade to a full-view room!:D 2. Watching all of the various work-outs at sunrise. 3. Room service food was tasty & my neighbors were not a bit noisy. 4. Breakfast on the balcony listening to a live band play my fav - Pearl Jam! 5. Bathroom/shower was very accommodating for hobbling around on my broken toe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Unsatisfied due to room and room location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of my room was right next door to construction. I was disappointed that for the money I spent for the room I was placed in an undesirable room.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    View, staff, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Fire Pit Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for whole experience . Room was ok, a/c hardly worked, booked online through bookings.com and was not allowed AMA discount at time of arrival when had no option to add when booking (that I noticed anyway)

    View, staff, food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic place, despite the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard 2 Queens Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always have problems with the reception. Rude, snobby and make mistakes a lot. This time they couldn't figure out some name changes we had asked for in our reservations, and we ended up spending a lot of time at the reception, with especially a older woman who had a bad attitude. Finally a younger woman jumped in a fixed things. Restaurant staff is amazing though...

    The location on the beach is amazing and the pool area with the great view shouldn't be missed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good Beach Hotel in Santa monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very expensive Need to Walk through the Lobby in bathrobe to Access Pool area

    Great Location Upgrade to Fireplace room was a good Choice Professional staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a view of Santa Monica pier from Bookings.com and paid extra money for it. The hotel indeed gave us a room that has partial view but also facing a construction site with a digger. So we had to keep the shutters closed all the time. It has been a waste of money.

    Location of the hotel. Clean rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    lovely hotel and pool, ideal location on the beach and next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lovely hotel and pool, ideal location on the beach and next to Santa Monica Pier, friendly and energetic staff who were great with my 8 year old nephew.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    Close to beach is the main reason for the steep price, hotel quality doesn't do the price justice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Fire Pit King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For 660 a night, expected much much more...housekeeping was very spotty, wine by the glass selection at bar quite poor, main street arrival underwhelming and when calling in-room breakfast was discouraged because it's at least 55 minutes.

    The rooms were spacious and proximity to Santa Monica pier is good. Food was good and the servers at the restaurant were quite friendly. Lobby interiors also quite impressive along with ocean views as well as direct access to beach by crossing a street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location and great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coastline View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking charges are extortionate. $50 per day plus tip for valet if using. There is a car park back of the property which you can access pretty directly from the property for $10. That is my only issue with the property

    Amazing location and great place to stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful accommodations with friendly responsive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be noisy, but as expected at large resort-style hotel. The pool should be larger for hotel this size.

    This is my third stay at this hotel. I really want to try other nearby hotels, but the staff, the fitness center, pool area, view, room decor and comfort, cleanliness, proximity to beach, shopping, and restaurants just keep me coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Underwhelming 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Fire pit rooms can be super noisy for the rooms above and there’s little done to quieten them down.

    Dinner was great. Close to pier & beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Ok. Not a hotel I’d recommend if you like quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel caters to large sales meetings which makes it feel like a visit to a fancy bus terminal. We had to change rooms since our first room literally faced a huge convention with very loud salespeople. We also faced a pool where children were playing Marco Polo past midnight. After complaining, we were moved to a room face a dump truck, that was operational. Finally, third room was in a quiet spot. For the price of our room, we didn’t feel we were properly managed. Also, coffee in lobby should be complimentary. I will probably not return to this property. Shutters, much nicer and same price!

    Great location, view of ocean. Lovely staff, super friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff but at that $$, expectations for the attention to detail were not met
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was over $500 but it was the cheapest available - faced onto street (noise level ok) so at that price I would have the amenities would have been a bit better (bathroom, tea making). Bath robe way too hot for a coastal location. Pool is very busy and was a bit too warm (note - there are way more chairs than in the marketing photos). Ate at the bar area (lovely outside area) one night - most awful, inedible tasteless pasta dish. So the hotel whilst good did not meet my expectations at that price point. And I stay in lots of hotels...

    Bed comfortable, nice room, great location to walk into the shopping area, for dining and for the beach. Nice friendly service - bar and pool area (shame food didn't match). Good gym area and boutique - with range of treatments and classes (included).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and view, it's only a short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard 2 Queens Hearing Accessible
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is additional and is around US$35 per night, and it is not advised when making reservation and check-in.

    Great location and view, it's only a short walk to the beach and shops. Everything is good and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Top of the line hotel, we’ll always stay in Loews everytime we visit Santa Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coastline View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel & resort, their customer service is phenomenal! It was my husband’s birthday, when Donika, one of the foront desk attendants, knew that it’s my husband’s birthday she & her hotel management took the initiative & send to our room a plate of strawberries dipped in chocolate which happened to be one of my husband’s favorites! Great gesture!! Thank you Loews for making our stay in Santa Monica a memorable vacation!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay here again. First and last time at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Partial King Bed View Room was essentially 1 floor above a parking lot for the beach and the alley street to get to it. Opening our windows and doors basically allowed everyone at street level to see in, and even early in the morning, it was nothing but cars driving by and street noise that we could hear. Total disappointment for the price. We took a chance on this property, but would recommend Shutters or The Viceroy over this place. Also all morning long from 8am on, it was nothing but maid staff going in and out of rooms with the heavy doors slamming loudly behind them constantly. Trying to sleep in quietly was impossible.

    Valet staff was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel just steps from the beach/pier.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoy a really good cup of coffee in the morning. Loews uses an automated machine to make lattes and Cora’s down the street was a watered down latte as well.

    The location couldn’t be beat and the check in process includes a glass of champagne which was a pleasant surprise. The lady who checked us in also noted it was our 10 year anniversary and had a special treat sent up to the room which was greatly appreciated. Loved this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Little pricey but an amazing beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing hotel could handle some of the guests are a little snobby but what can you do a nice place like that

    Everybody was extremely friendly and happy to help me from the valet to the front counter to the bellhops

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Not cheap but you get what you pay for. This is the best hotel in LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Partial Ocean View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    $55 plus tax per night for valet parking is too expensive.

    Excellent location, the best in Santa Monica. Good sized room with very comfortable beds. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Parking is not included in the room price and as it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fire Pit King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not included in the room price and as it is essential to have a car in LA this struck me as rank opportunism at $55 a day. Everything else about the hotel is faultless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location but don't waste your money at the spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oceanfront King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses are pretty average (I woke up with a sore back each morning) and the pillows are terrible. They left me with terrible neck pain and feeling sick. So I booked a massage. I was told I was having an hour long deep tissue massage and 1/2 hour scalp treatment. That should take 1.5 hours. Total treatment was an hour and 10 minutes. The therapist spent more time coughing and straightening the sheets than massaging, and hardly touched my scalp, or the rest of me for that matter. Then I was given a 40% discount. I shouldn't have had to pay for anything as it ended up wasting my time while I only had limited time on my trip.

    Lovely staff who tried to remedy issues to the best of their ability. Bell desk staff were so friendly and helpful. This hotel is in a great location and a nice property. Good, large room with great bathroom lighting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely load and was expecting a balcony as confirmation said I had booked a small one. Windows hard to open with window blinds. Not very good service in bar with friends and charged $40! Barman was stock taking for super bowl the following day and I had to go the bar for drinks on a couple of occosaions

    What perks except for towel on bed which quite capable of doing myself

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.4
    Good location but for the price I would continue looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is ideal and close to the pier. The view is a plus however the property itself is definitely a 4 star property and needs an upgrade. I booked a city view room and I could hear the traffic outside at night even with the windows and shutters closed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, nice property, but rooms are small and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is unacceptable that the main restaurant automatically adds a gratuity of 20% to your check even when you take the buffet breakfast, if you are sitting with friends (even though you have separate checks, they treat it as if you are a party of 6 or over, which to me is cheating). This is not acceptable. Also, more food options, more vegetarian options and more diverse menu with international food options, would be nice.

    The ocean-front room we booked was smaller than expected: a little tight for a family of 4. Place was very clean and most staff are outstanding, although it seems they are under-staffed when it comes to food and drink service: took forever to get a drink by the pool, or a bite in the lobby restaurant. The location by the beach is the best part about this hotel, as is the cleanliness. The buffet breakfast is also excellent, with plenty of berries, fruits, made-to-order eggs, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely beachside hotel in Santa Monica with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Coastline View Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the service we received (attitude wise) was disappointing however some staff were brilliant

    Pool was heat d which was great - lovely vibe to the hotel given beach location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    The view is fantastic, the hotel is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not that charming. Mostly business guests and impersonal staff. Professional, but nothing more than that. The "balcony" is a french balcony, you can't sit there. Enormous plastic jalousies takes away a lot of the veiw. Charged us extra 30 dollar per night in "resort fee" even though the reservation from booking.com said it was included. My 14-year old son forgot his watch in the room, they wanted us to pay over 100 dollar to post it to us...

    The view and the location is perfect. Clean and fresh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Great but not calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a “American family” hotel while in their website looks like is a hotel for couples in a relax and not noisy environment. Room is great, location is perfect, staff was good except check out, she was having a bad day and not using good manners, “kicking us out of the hotel.” Lobby is crowed and noisy, swimming pool just the same. We were looking for a calm place near the beach, we didn’t enjoy the facilities of this good looking hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful second stay at this hotel. Will stay again and happy to recommend to anyone:
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.

    We loved the hotel! Exceptional service including room service, restaurants, and housekeeping. Really enjoyed drinks and dinner relaxing by the fires at poolside, waiter brought blankets for the extra touch. Very comfortable well sized rooms, can’t fault the experience. Great location and relaxing hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    A Thanksgiving stopover
    • Couple
    • Partial Ocean View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff seemed a little abrupt but it was thanksgiving and the breakfast was amazing so no complaints here. All in all a great stay and our first and memorable thanksgiving spent in America.

    We stayed here on a 24hr stopover returning to Australia. It was thanksgiving so we wanted something a little more special than just an airport hotel. We were not disappointed. We loved the modern design the innovative touch lit bathroom mirror, comfortable beds and luxury robes and slippers. The food was great and location excellent with a view overlooking the pool and beach. We loved the tabletop firepits in the outside dining area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Good stay and a good hotel ... they can do better on overall service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to ask for your order to get . It happened every time i order food or drinks

    Great location , nice gym , no spa , front desk staff was not the greatest , lobby bar waiters are ok .

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: