Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lombardy 4 stars

2019 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Northwest, Washington, DC 20006 , USA

#44 of 138 hotels in Washington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2344 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in & Check out staff did not impress. No real welcome or farewell. Final bill had missed 1 meal and when pointed out the extra cost was added, not even a thank you, poor service.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely attentive and polite staff. Very convenient part of town. Nice restaurant in hotel and many good ones in neighborhood. My new favorite pace to stay in D.C.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room cleaning (concerning the structure, and not the housekeeping work)

    The Lombardy is an historic hotel, but the carpet do not need to be too. The carpet is old (15 years?), dirty, with lots of dust. The housekeeping is not able to do nothing about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the cleanest and friendliest hotel staff I have stayed in a while! We stayed in double room deluxe and it was very roomy and very clean! Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really

    a) The hotel staff were so helpful ... from the housekeeping to the bell boys b) The bed was firm, the toiletries and towels were replenished daily c) The location was within walking distance to the eateries and meeting venue

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproofing is absolutely horrible, you can hear people's conversations in the room beside you... my friends and I could literally talk through the walls. This made it impossible to sleep in and enjoy my stay because you can hear everything! The ladies at the front desk seemed miserable, it didn't matter how nice you were to them... wouldn't smile or say anymore then they had to. Overall, didn't get much rest or relaxation and I didnt feel very welcomed.

    It was clean and I liked the location. Valet is a bit overpriced at $42 a night but I was glad that they had it, parking myself would have been a nightmare.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay $41 for the valet, they don’t have their own parking garage.

    Location is great, the bed is very comfortable, bathroom is clean and I love the shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I recently stayed in this hotel and really enjoyed my stay. The staff are very friendly and it's within walking distance of all the city has to offer. I had booked three rooms as there was 6 of us staying, although I did get the biggest room with a very large bathroom all of my party were very complimentary of the hotel. I had breakfast there two mornings and the food was also lovely. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definately stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is historic (old) so facilities are dated. Room was small and cramped. Also, it is on a bus line and about 2 blocks from George Washington U. hospital so there was a lot of traffic and siren noise throughout the night.

    The location was superb for my purposes. Foggy Bottom Metro, where I get the Kennedy Center shuttle, is only 2 blocks away. Whole Foods and several restaurants are walkable. Staff is friendly and extra helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One minor thing. Would be great to have a couple of hooks or hangers in the bathroom. No place to hang the robe

    The hotel is very beautifully decorated. The room was big and had everything necessary. Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The perfect harmony of old world charm and modern amenities. Classy wood meets contemporary lines. Luxurious linens, lovely coffee in the machine, cool interiors and a sparkling white restroom (with bathtub). The view from the 10th floor was superb. Convenient location and plenty of eating-out options nearby (a meal at Founding Farmers across the road is a must). Lombardy in DC was a find!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful little gem of a hotel in DC - we walked to the Mall from here (a nice trek for getting in those daily steps!). The room was luxurious - top of the line linens, spacious rooms, restful and quiet, but close enough to action. I highly recommend staying here - and wonderful stay for an affordable price. The management is visible and caring. Can't wait to return! Also - Excellent restaurant (Founder's Farm) across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This experience at the Hotel Lombardy filled all of my expectations. The hotel was one of the cleanest kept hotels ever. The food was perfect and the staff couldn’t have been more gracious. Can’t wait to go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning a bit noisy so had to switch off at night and rely on ceiling fan which was adequate

    Staff pleasant and helpful, character and comfort combined. Excellent breakfast freshly prepared, table service rather than buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air conditioning in the halls, lovby, and elevator. It was hot and humid outdoors and in.

    Location, staff courtesy, and charm made this a very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi had problems and was not secured .Wo

    The bar and restaurant are the best part of this hotel. The staff makes you feel very comfortable . We would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Booking at the last minute I ended up in a room which faced an interior courtyard and looked into an office building. That meant I had to keep the blinds closed and lights on and could not tell if it was raining, drizzling or sunny before leaving the room. Needed more plugs near the bed.

    Staff was extremely helpful in all regards and the cleaning staff was accommodating to my schedule. Location is great for my purposes. Close to Metro, George Washington University and downtown. I did not use the restaurant but the room service was very good the one time I used it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I paid for the room I got and what was shown on booking.com pictures didn’t match at all! Totally overpaid! Room extremely tired and water didn’t run off etc

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi Need new coffee pot in room

    Excellent housekeeping staff Excellent door men Excellent Location Excellent front desk staff Excellent restaurant staff & menu Excellent/comfortable bed Room was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey but look for special deals. The bathroom could use a shelf for women’s makeup and a makeup mirror. The room needs a full length mirror.

    Loved the location, the beautiful old building, and the room was spacious enough for two adults.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has no exhaust system in the bathroom. U can hear noise from the street inside your room. Noisy AC unit. Needs more update/ cleaning of carpet.

    Proximity to museums and monuments and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was wonderful.

    Our bellman, Wolde, helped make our stay exceptional. Please let him know... we loved the location and the bonus bar room. Thank you. The check in staff was awesome!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small but it has a euro feel.

    It’s walking distance to the monuments which was a plus because we like to walk a lot. It’s a cozy hotel with an old charm. I like that they gave us two free water bottles a day. I would stay again because of the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely appointed hotel with cozy bar and restaurant, and very personable and professional staff. Walking distance to White House, Mall, and Georgetown. Comfy bed and pillows. Great water pressure in shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet stopped up on the last day, but I assume that is due to old plumbing.

    Staff was excellent, especially the wait staff and the folks who help with luggage, doors directions, cabs, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we booked this facility it was clearly indicated that there was a refrigerator but there was not. Not sure how a hotel can charge almost three hundred dollars a night plus an additional forty dollars daily for parking and not include a refrigerator. Room was clean but definitely on the small side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location on Pennsylvania Ave. Walk to White House/Tidal Basin. Yellow Circulator bus ( $1 per ride) to Georgetown. Founding Farmers restaurant across the street ( reservations recommended for weekends). Attentive valets/door staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite restaurant was small, but no matter. So many other choices close by.

    From start to finish, it was a great stay. From the valet parking to the doormen, to check in (we asked for 2 double beds), etc. Our room was huge...these are former small apts; bedroom, sitting room with kitchenette, a dressingroom with closet and then the bathroom. All exceptionally clean. Beds and pillows were comfy. Location of the hotel was excellent for what we wanted to do. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bigger lobby to wait in but understandably difficult to achieve.

    Staff very friendly. Food service could be on the slow side at breakfast but was excellent quality at all times. Easy walking distance to White House. The barman makes an excellent Old Fashioned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being that it is a historic site hotel there are basically no amenities for those with disabilities. It was difficult to get in and out of the shower/tub. There is no obvious handicap entrance. We stayed on the 11th floor and it was a little toasty even with the air and ceiling fan running. Our room was on the other side of the "Service Door" and it was quite noisy in the middle of the night and very early morning. I did enjoy the hotel it may just not be a good fit for my needs next time.

    I think the hotel offers a lot of historic charm. The location was excellent for our reason for visiting the capital.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen needs some silverware (even plastic would work) and paper towels or napkins. Also the bathroom sink did not drain.

    The room was beautiful and bigger than I expected, with a kitchen and large fridge. Bellman from Morocco was awesome, speakeasy type bar was great. This place is a great gem in the city!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stroller got stuck in the door frame of the elevator. Not good for children with strollers. Entry way is all these stairs had to carry it up the stairs to get to the small elevator.

    The location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process was poor. Clerk could not find my reservation. Not logical since my credit card was pre approved and charged one day in advance. Only resolved when I had to open my suitcase and give her a copy of confirmation.

    Comfortable living with in room coffee. Nice size room for the money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to move to a higher floor and a larger room as the first one on the 3rd floor was noisy and tight. It sounded like a motor was nearby which would have made it difficult to sleep. The carpets in the hallways and rooms need updating as well. The parking fee at $47 was very steep especially when they taxed that and it came out to $50 a night. which took the value of the hotel down a notch.

    It is a charming, small hotel with the pros and cons of being on the national historic register. Lovely bar and nice breakfast room. The breakfast was very good and service was helpful. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very solid and authentic comfort and service. Quite a gem in the heart of Foggy Bottom, with easy access to just about everything in Washington. Lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The sound proofing of the room is very bad. The noises from outside (garbage trucks, construction noises, etc), especially in the early mornings, makes sleep difficult - While the heater was repaired very quickly the paint was chipped, leaving specks on the carpet. This was not properly cleaned through my stay of 4 nights - The lifts are very slow - In this day, where hotels are very conscious of their environmental footprint, the housekeeping staff left multiple towels in the room (for a single person I had 6 bath towels, in addition to smaller ones!), in addition to replacing used towels and there was no mention of not replacing sheets unless specifically asked to do so.

    - I arrived on an early flight and though the check in time is 3pm, they allotted the room by noon. - The bed was very comfortable. - I had meetings in the area and the hotel was perfect as it took me only a couple of minutes to get to my meetings. - The heater in the room was not working but the maintenance staff arrived very soon after I reported it and had it working again very quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very well kept but the building itself seems quite old. The floors are quite creaky so it's difficult to be quiet in your own room but we could also hear the upstairs neighbours any time they crossed their floor. The air-conditioning is fine but very loud turning on & off every 15/20mins in our room. Maybe not ideal for a very light sleeper.

    Rooms were lovely, the décor is beautiful around the whole hotel. Lovely external door to the rooms which makes the hallway look lovely and cozy, not your standard hotel feel to it. We had a lovely little dressing area/vanity table between the bathroom and bedroom which was very handy and also a kitchenette with fridge. The rooms have a ceiling fan which was great for warm days & nights and housekeeping left a bottle of water on each bedside locker when tidying the room which was thoughtful. Location is perfect - 2 blocks from the subway to Tyson Centre, 3 blocks from the subway to Arlington Cemetery and about 15/20min stroll to the National Mall. Lots of nice places to eat within a couple of blocks too, including restaurants, fast food and a lovely café diagonally across the road which is handy for a quick but tasty breakfast/ lunch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of pillows on the bed, very clean bathroom, quaint decor that felt like a friend's guest bedroom rather than the sterile feel of a large hotel chain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We don't have any complaints.

    The location was great, the room a good size, and the bed was very comfortable. Our room was at the front of the hotel and looked out on to Pennsylvania Ave. It was only a short walk to Foggy Bottom subway station, but also within walking distance to many of the major attractions, if that was a preference.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wife in our room didn’t work well .when I told that to the receptionist , Cristina , she was very unpolait explaining that there was no problem and refused .to help . Bathroom wasn’t a modern one as expected and also small The parking option in the hotel was very expensive,while the parking options nearby cost much less

    We booked a big room, and it was very large .The building is very special and the bad was comfort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect - within walking distance of all the major sites in Washington. It was a small, cozy building which suited our style. We were in the King Suite and loved the space - it felt like home. The restaraunt food was excellent - had the salmon which was cooked perfectly. The restaraunt staff were professional; the bar was old style with the requisite service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not a good place for business travel. the internet is terrible - in rooms almost non-existent. there is not a lobby, not a business center, not a place where can sit down, meet with anyone. even the restaurant they kick you out at 11 am, after that there are 2 chairs in front of reception where I sit half of the evenings to be able to catch internet. Staff (especially at reception ALL of them: arrogant, cocky. the heating doesn't work well (were very cold days, and i was freezing all the time). elevators are small and sometimes need to wait ten minutes to for arrival (bcs always overcrowded). i booked over booking.com, where it was shown the taxes are included, till they put extra taxes. i ll try to get back that money - not sure it ll work.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the men helping at the door were kind and helpful. The restaurant was wonderful also. Very cozy and comfortable! I felt very safe there as well. Thank you for making our first trip to DC a great experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed assistance from Maintenance--who responded quickly--because the water temperature for the shower ran hot.

    The staff was welcoming from the moment we checked in until the end of our stay three days later. The room was enormous! We could hang our clothing in the closet, store them in the dresser drawers, or leave them in our open suitcases. I enjoyed the sitting area to put on makeup and dry my hair. The generous size of the room made for a more relaxing stay. The hotel restaurant served the most delicious dinners. We were hungry after a three hour Amtrak ride from NYC, so we had our meal within an hour after our arrival to the hotel. The mahimahi and pork chop we ordered were succulent and perfectly seasoned. The hotel is located in close proximity to the Metro, restaurants, and convenience stores, though a number of places close early.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet kicked us off. Internet stalled. Internet was not strong and consistent. However that would not prevent me from going back to stay.

    The room was immaculate. We had a one bedroom suite which gave us room to spread out. It is an older building so nothing is pre Fab. It was almost like staying in someone's home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is quite a lot of noise from the street even when high up. Public areas are almost non-existent, so there is nowhere to sit comfortably outside of one's room.

    The hotel is in a very convenient location. It has lots of old world charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is old. Half of the outlets didn’t work and the floor creaks loudly. When someone is walking in their room above you YOU KNOW IT. While the doorman and especially the bartenders and waiters were great, the front desk staff have zero personality and can’t do anything for you. Requested extra towels by phone before I got there, nothing. Had to call twice to get them. Late checkout? “Need to check with the manager tomorrow.” Just not helpful.

    The bartender Nathan was the best part of our trip. Hotel is well located, quaint and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited options for breakfast. Fortunately there are several places to eat just across the street.

    Location, very close to Farragut West metro station, and the overall ambiance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall look, feel and kindness of sraff

    I appreciated the old world charm ambience. The lounge is extraordinary and inviting, the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel. My fave!!!! This is The Hotel to stay. Near the airport. Near The White House. Awesome & efficient staff. The decor is awesome. The room is yuuuuge. Super clean. Super welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, I didn't like the pillows too much. They were firm (which is good) but way too thick.

    All I need to say is: Location. Location. Location. The White House and Foggy Bottom Metro station are within walking distance. Plenty of good restaurants and pubs are accessible in less than 5 minutes. The room was nice and clean. And the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A breakfast formula at a reasonable price would be appreciated.

    Very nice classical hotel in the NW part of the city center, between the White House and Georgetown. Newspaper available early morning. Good bar-restaurant open till late. Good table in the room and WiFi for working. Metro, shopping and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the room and the whole hotel smelled. The hotel overall is very outdated. It was also quite dark in my room and I asked for extra lights at the desk as I needed to work but was refused. While the hotel was ok for an overnight stay I would not like to go back there for longer.

    Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had problems figuring at the thermostat, but was able to figure it out.

    I really like the small vanity area next to the bathroom and the small den area. It makes the room feel very homely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have microwave in the kitchen nook - there's plenty of space for it. Or at least an electric kettle to hear water for tea (coffee pot can't be used for tea)

    Great location, tasteful decor, very comfortable accommodations for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full length wall mirror would be good.

    Breakfast was great and the bar/lounge was atmospheric and comfortable. Old Washington DC feel to the place. Suite was spacious and well appointed. Free internet was appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were OK, pillows were not comfortable.

    We love the ambiance and historical surroundings. It is lovely and quaint. Rooms were dated but that is to be expected for the location and cost

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Do think they should have a information flyer about the place across the street that has a CVS, restaurants, cashpoints, etc. Just helpful information.

    Loved the small, European setting and cozy atmosphere plus great location. The room was perfect in every regard (beds, so comfortable). All staff were very friendly and helpful....and that does make a difference. Ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner on different days. All food was excellent, especially the crab cakes (best I have ever eaten).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was right, it's within walking distance of everything, and although it's a boutique hotel with a 20's charm, it's well kept and upgraded.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't quite figure out the air condition/heating. We managed, but it also was a bit noisy. It was a minor issue and we would have asked for help if it would have bothered us more.

    What a great little hotel in one of the best locations in Washington DC. Beautifully furnished with period pieces, cosy atmosphere and one of the most comfortable beds we slept in in a very long time. Great facilities on the premises like an atmospheric bar, good restaurant, a casual cafe and a gym - which we didn't try - made our stay most enjoyable. If you look for an excellent mid range boutique hotel in DC look no further than the Lombardy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View of office building next door.

    Very clean, spacious and comfortable room, with kitchenette and ironing facilities. Superb location for business and tourism, and many restaurants nearby. Easy access to transportation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed almost everything about our stay. The bathroom tub drained very slowly, so you had to stand in water while taking your shower.

    This was a lovely, recently upgraded old hotel that was very quiet and comfortable. It was only a few blocks away from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. They upgraded our room to a large suite with sitting room. There were high end soaps and shampoos, a mini fridge, and a coffee maker in the room. We had dinner and breakfast in the on site restaurant and both were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first room was small and as cold as a fridge. Had the engineer in to look at the aircon (all the aircons seem old and a little wonky) and the asked for a change in room - moved to a better room - two queen beds even though we wanted a king. But at least the aircon worked. Kids were down the passage in a good room, with a dodgy aircon which re-set to freezing in the middle of the night! The hotel restaurant is a real disappointment. VERY pricey and awfully ordinary food.

    The hotel is old and some of it feels old (like the aircons) but the room facilities were good. Staff was good - Mohammed brilliant and entertaining host. Location was good. Nearby restaurants were very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel definitely has potential, but after the second visit (the first was few years back), I was disappointed to see a major decline in service and quality. It started with the check-in experience. The lady who checked us in kept chewing gum while talking to us. We mentioned that we are returning customers and she barely took a note of it only saying “oh good!”. Most of the doormen were half-present, one of them instead of offering help by opening the door for us told us to push it instead. At a first glance, the hotel couldn’t get any cuter; however, examining the rooms closely unearths the reality of an old establishment that doesn’t get much investment or refurbishment. The lamps are all wobbly, age left its marks on the furniture, the TV screen is old and small, channels are still on analog. The ventilation system was very noisy and you could hear almost every step seen the old wooden floor both in the hallways and adjacent rooms. While I understand that the cleaning staff would prefer to do their job as early as they can, it was inconsiderate of them to carry out their tasks disregarding the comfort of guests talking loudly and slamming doors etc. early in the morning.

    The location of Hotel Lombardy is something exceptionally noteworthy. This was the number one reason I chose to come back to the hotel. The classical architecture is an admirable feature that adds a cozy and historical atmosphere to the establishment. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated and kept clean. A small sitting area and kitchenette separated from the bedroom. Amenities, fresh towels and toiletries are provided on a daily basis, a coffee machine, safe and good WiFi signal. The bed was wide and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just no real milk only creamer

    Great rooms, loved the space extra kitchenette and dressing area. So close to the sites can take the local bus. Close to the Uni so felt relaxing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar was located in the bathroom which I find slightly off putting.

    Stunning Art Deco hotel with gorgeous finishes. We loved every element of this hotel from the moment we entered the front door. Nothing is to much to ask of the staff who always have a smile on their face. The room and finishes are gorgeous with a massive comfortable bed. The food is divine and the hotel is in working distance of all tourist attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! From the doorman to the receptionist to the excellent waiter at dinner, we were treated so graciously and enjoyed every minute of our stay! I am coming back to DC in the spring and will always make this my place to stay😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. The White House is 4 blocks away. Pleasant personal; helped to print some documents, took the suitcase to my room. Quiet atmosphere. For the price you pay, a room is in ideal condition. Huge bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to sleep, you could hear everything from outside, the neighbors shower, heater very loud turning on/off.. very uncomfortable pillows.

    Great location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an older property, so the sounds travel a little more easily between the walls and from the hall to the rooms. It's a minor inconvenience, and nothing can be done about it, but it is worth noting. On the topic of sound, this weekend was very cold in Washington and the heating unit was unbelievably noisy. The housekeeping staff said all the units were noisy like that.

    The people are always the best feature of the Lombardy. Everyone from check-in through the restaurant staff are absolutely top-notch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rip off they charged me for getting packages delivery to me. I was never told that they will charge me over $70 for receiving packages. I called the hotel before sending any packages from Amazon and they told me that it was fine to receive packages and they even gave me the correct address to send the packages for free. I made the check out in a hurry to get to the airport on time and in the way to the airport I checked the invoice and $75 were charged for receiving packages. I called them and no solution. They stolen my money. Be careful with this type of hotels.

    Location and bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What didn't I like??? I don't know! I loved it!

    The room was simply awesome, and the bed...OMG!!! So comfy!!! The food at the restaurant was really tasty. The feel of the hotel is so historic, sooooo beautiful... It was like traveling back in time. Honestly, it has been, by far, the best stay I've had in DC. And next time, I'll go back to The Lombardy...!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window in the bathroom can not be opened, and so it was difficult to ventilate the room

    Great Location, with a friendly staff and very comfortable bedroom - including a great desk and tv. Electricity Adapter I forgot to bring was provided at the reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a bit pricey

    Lovely decor, cozy feel, friendly staff, great location for walking to major official sites and an easy walk to two metro stations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist is not at all friendly. Once gone, I was surprised to see $70 pending on my card, without any notice and in addition to the room cost. When calling for an explanation, I was also astonished to hear the receptionist defending herself by yelling at me. Unfortunate as otherwise the hotel was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Lombardy traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: