Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The University Inn Ann Arbor 2 stars

2424 E.Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, 48104, USA

#25 of 34 hotels in Ann Arbor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 559 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Not a great value, the room was not really clean the bathtub was disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we entered the bathroom there were at least 20 dead bugs in the the bathtub, it was really gross. It looked like no one had checked the room in days. Towels were also super gross/brown. the light in the bathroom also had tons of gross bugs in it as well.

    Location is great. Close to alot of things, wasn't impressed overall however.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly and I knowledgeable at desk. Cleaning crew did nice job. Water in shower hard to set without being too hot.

    Comfortable and clean. Bear law coffee store.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Rooms are large with a fridge and a microwave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The girl at the desk in the morning didn't want to be there. The breakfast is very basic.

    Rooms are large with a fridge and a microwave. The boy at the front desk was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Good inexpensive place to stay while visiting Ann Arbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Tub/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could use some updating. Our room did not have a closet.

    It was extremely quiet. Had a continental breakfast and the location was good. The bed was very comfortable. We were staying for several days and did not want to spend an arm and a leg on a hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor service, level of cleanliness, maintenance, and breakfast. The smell of festering garbage wasn't compelling.

    Location is good if you are a parent visiting a student at the University of Michigan.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.3
    Relatively quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Tub/Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small and had mold on ceiling. Terrible water pressure on toilet. Bed sheets were cheap. Housekeeping didn’t come one day during my stay. Cable didn’t work had to call two times for fix. Breakfast was a joke. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Relatively quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Friendly hotel to a few days stay.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is poor and the Kitchennet with no enough supplies.

    The hotel was ok, we booked for 6 nights with my husband while we move in to Ann Arbor. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.8
    The staff on the front desk was very unfriendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the front desk was very unfriendly and unhelpful. She said “no” whatever we asked, such as there were no breads and milk at the breakfast, when we asked more bread she said she cant give as it was eaten by other customers and amount is limited.The breakfast was very poor.The staff did not answer our questions about place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    August 26 stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote didn’t work; only one channel available. service was not available until morning No drain in bathroom Sink.

    Clean, good location, ample parking, good air conditioning, friendly staff, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Uncomfortable — I was awake every hour during the night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows— so uncomfortable Musty room No hair dryer Floor wet loud air conditioner Only a straight chair I’ll never go back! I was told all rooms had been renovated— my room was not

    Tv ok— small Room location Bed ok Bathroom clean Refrigerator/microwave for use Well lit parking lot++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    I liked that it was close to where I needed to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dingy, the carpets felt sticky, it was loud, and the WiFi was terrible. When it was time to checkout, no one was at the counter, and even though I walked out and walked right by her, while she was smoking, she didn’t even acknowledge that I was standing there waiting to checkout. Seemed very unprofessional.

    I liked that it was close to where I needed to be

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.8
    I have no idea, how this place got such good reviews
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very dirty, bad smelling room, in the corner were spider webs with crawlies in it. The carpet was very dirty. The beds were not clean, in the night insects bit me . In the morning we left the hotel and looked for a clean one. We will not be back to this place and we will never recommand it to anyone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    It not anywhere close to the school.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It not anywhere close to the school. Website is very misleading plus the hotel used to be the lamp post inn. I will not recommend any stay there. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    Spent as little time at the motel as we could.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a basic motel. Air conditioning was very loud and didn't really work. Bathroom small. No blackout blinds so room quite light at night. Slots in below a holiday Inn

    Nothing much. Bed was ok, but that was about it. Not as near to the university (the purpose of our visit) as the name is intended to suggest (given that it was recently renamed).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    The place to stay when in Ann Arbor!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it was great having a free breakfast, it was all carbs, from toast to bagels to dry cereal to mini muffins. Fortunately, there was limited fruit choices. All in all, ok to at least get you going for the day.

    Great beds and pillows!! Fantastic location to everywhere we wanted to go and walking distance to Trader Joe's. Very accommodating staff. Very clean room. A charming place! Nice having a little fridge and microwave in room too. The breakfast room was relaxing and roomy with, great window views out of the French doors in front.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    For the price we paid it was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom floor was dirty and the tub/shower needed to be replaced. Also the room felt very damp. We had to tell the front desk that their bread was mouldy.

    Close to grocers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    The bed is comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Tub/Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no curtains. The sun rises very early in the morning in the summer. A thick dark curtain is necessary for the guests to get a good sleep.

    The bed is comfortable. Breakfast is provided. Bowls, forks, knives are provided for dining in the room. There is a Trader Joe's in walking distance so I can easily get food there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rundown looking motel. Breakfast is disappointing. Staff wasn’t professional

    Good location. Just outside u of Michigan. There’s a Trader Joe’s within 5 min of walking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Affordable, pleasant staff, & close to U of M
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Tub/Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they are working on fixing some things and getting some new doors. I had a bad door but they moved me to another room with no problem. Toilet a bit wobbly and tub spout leaky. They noted it in morning when I let them know. No meat, egg selection for breakfast and no plain oatmeal packets, and coffee a bit weak for my taste but tasted good.

    Affordable, very comfortable bed, all the staff I encountered were very helpful and nice, great water pressure in shower. Bagels were nice and soft with variety and cream cheese, toast and jam and peanut butter, mini pancakes with syrup and fresh blueberries, croissants, bananas, mini assorted muffins, instant oatmeal pkts, cereal, milk, O.J. and coffee, Trader Joe's organic poptarts. Maisey the duck was a pleasant surprise. She nests near office entry. Please don't pet or feed her if you see her. But she seemed to enjoy being talked to as she snuggled her nest and doesn't mind having a picture taken. I would stay again as it is close to the University of Michigan wich I was visiting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    University Inn was a very convenient location. The beds were very comfortable. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was late on Sunday. I had to wait 20 minutes for her to open and make coffee. The kitchenette was not very well equipped. There were no spatulas for example. There was hair in the tub.

    Comfortable bed. Convenient location. Kitchenette was a wonderful plus. All rooms had a fridge and microwave. Cute duck Maise was sitting on her eggs near the office.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a brief overnight stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corner room by stairwell next to closet, had to shut the blinds completely for privacy (no curtains) which made the room very dark. Very dim lamps on the wall. Basically the room was just meant for sleeping in, and it was ok for that.

    Bed was comfortable, breakfast was included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Hidden great find in Ann Arbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just don’t expect a 4 star hotel.

    Very adequate, well priced and clean older facility in a prime location with ample parking. Used mostly by university related visitors. No frills breakfast, including fresh fruit, cereals, assorted breads, yogurts and beverages. Units include a small fridge and microwave oven. This place is a gem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    lots of parking, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    below average breakfast, no hot entree. room was hot, in spite of air conditioning

    lots of parking, easy to find. fridge in room space to store lots of luggage.lots of towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice independent motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi did not work particularly well. It isn't really that close to the university.

    Very pleasant motel-style inn. The room was nice and the shower was powerful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    3.8
    Never would stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean. My little grandson pulled the white cover off of the bottom of the toilet that goes over the screw and a huge chunk of gross build up fell out. There were cobwebs on the wall. The bathroom was not very clean and things like the towel racks had dust stuck on them. It definitely is not a place I would stay at again.

    Location and that is the only thing that was good about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself wasn’t as we expected. It’s not necessarily bad, but it’s not great either. It’s very outdated on the inside and for example the fridge made quite a lot of noise (we unplugged it for the night). The shower didn’t drain properly. Also, the breakfast could improve. It wasn’t bad but not what I’m used to in the US. I’d only recommend it if you’re trying to save money and it’s just a short stay (one night is fine). Otherwise, I’d say find somewhere else.

    The staff were very helpful and nice. The location was also okay for us, not too close nor too far from the center (though you would need a car). The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    I would stay at the University Inn again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doors especially seem to not stop sound. As always, you are at the mercy of your fellow traveler's manners. We were woken at 5:30 am by inconsiderate early risers talking in the parking lot.

    Older motel, but clean and in a safe neighborhood. Excellent value. Next to Trader Joe's.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    I checked in after 11pm which exceed their office hour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Tub/Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I checked in after 11pm which exceed their office hour. They left the note and keys for me attn to my last name, which is so cool and cute! Thank you so much. Me and my partner had a lovely night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not on duty at night. Shower was extremely small, even if I'm relatively short (5'3"), I hit the shower room wall every time I tried to move to get something. Carpet didn't feel very clean.

    Bed was very comfy. Clean room. Ok breakfast for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    Would not recommend do to safety - Security cameras do not work - Car was stolen from parking lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car was stolen from parking lot right outside main office window and in front of the security camera. Security cameras did not work. Thank goodness no one was hurt. Staff did not seen to care that this happened on their property. No apology, offer no help with the police investigation, didn't call the person working that night to see if anything happened or reduction on the room rate. I would like them to at least pay for my insurance deductible for their lack of security.

    Nothing! Worst experience in a long time! I liked the idea that they had security cameras until I found out they didn't work. Not safe for guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    - Good breakfast with yogurt, fruits, cereals, bagels,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - It's a bit dated (one of the lights didn't work) but overall reasonable for price.

    - Good breakfast with yogurt, fruits, cereals, bagels, breads etc. - They give you lots of towels. - Staff was helpful and friendly. - TV has lots of channels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    The bed was perfect, and, even more perfect, it was very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it was a simple hotel and it gave good value for money.

    The bed was perfect, and, even more perfect, it was very quiet, they even didn't poison the atmosphere with loud music at the breakfast time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Our expectations weren't high and were met: oldish rooms but reasonably clean. Friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Tub/Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Patches and repairs to older rooms/bathrooms are expected, but could have been more carefully done.

    Continental breakfast offerings were good, as was the breakfast room. Availability of a local newspaper would have been appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Really wonderful experience overall. Thank you!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower would alternate between hot and cold sometimes. The bathroom was a little cold.

    The rooms were really clean, neat, and inviting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    It is a bare-bones motel that pretends to be an...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bare-bones motel that pretends to be an "Inn" online. The bathroom was one of the smallest we've ever seen. We were happy to check out and move on to our next destination

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location for Ann arbor for the price paid . Within waking distance to bus routes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms desperately need updating. Room wasn't cleaned on first day and only one bed was made in my daughter's room. Clean towels weren't given until we asked for them. This was all then corrected for the remainder of our stay.

    Breakfast was great. Beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Great pillows... Plumbing? Meh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower only put out scalding hot or freezing cold (like painfully cold) water... couldn't find out why it was happening but I received a $10 discount on my bill (but personally I would rather have had a continually warm shower instead!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Very clean! Nice kitchenette!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room door is an outside one, opening to the parking lot. If you're not comfortable with that, this isn't the place for you, but I didn't have any issues.

    Extremely clean, with spotless white linens. I stayed in a room with a kitchenette and found all of the necessities - including some plates, forks and glasses. The grocery store being a one minute walk away was a nice plus for me personally, as I prefer not to eat out when I travel. All in all, would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    The price, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little way out of the action but at such a good price, it is well worth it.

    The price, great value for money. A good Trader Joe’s next door and a lovely 45min walk downtown or a 7min bus ride.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Older Hotel not well maintained with normal maintenance like inspection of light bulbs and plumbing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is older and I expected that from the start. What I did not expect was the lack of repairs on building. I had no bathroom light and the toilet ran all night long. It took staff 3 times to get me Keys that worked in the door lock. I also selected this hotel for the fact it had a restaurant on site. This restaurant was closed and the poor bar tender was overwhelmed trying to bar tend while trying to make up for the restaurant closure by taking food orders and trying to get it delivered to guests. The result was a very long and noisy wait for my food and under serving the bar patrons. I will not stay in this hotel on my next visit to Ann Arbor in May.

    I liked the ease from the expressway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    3.8
    The rooms were far less quality than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Killed 3 beetles; loose hair on bed and bathroom; draft from windows; sink did not drain properly; walls patched and painted over; website was misleading as to the quality of the accommodations.

    Staff was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    I visit Ann Arbor once every year for a weekend and this is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses are very firm

    I visit Ann Arbor once every year for a weekend and this is the only place I will stay at. Its in the perfect location, restaurants and shopping in walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    The pillows were puffy but flattened way out when we laid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were puffy but flattened way out when we laid down, it was really not comfortable and none of us slept well. If we stay here again we will probably bring our own, which isn't really a great thing to have to do at a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Clean!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside could use a little TLC.

    It's an older place. The outside needs a little work but the rooms were very well kept and clean. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    The check in person was friendly and the room was very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dry.

    The check in person was friendly and the room was very clean, beds comfortable and reasonably priced. For the length of time we were going to spend in the room in was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Fine for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated, especially the rather rough carpet and noisy sink and toilet. Breakfast/coffee was disappointing.

    Although not centrally located, the property is easy to find. The room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Acceptably fair for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Continental breakfast not very continental! Passable.

    Parking right next to room available. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean but a little small, especially shower stall. Heating in room adequate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.0
    Like the location, have stayed in the past and staff was much better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They offer 6 a.m. breakfast which was not available at that time. It just should not be promoted as such if it cannot be delivered. When breakfast was set up, a pastry I bit into had a string of hair in it approximately two inches in length. When shown to staff: Comment: "We purchase that its not ours." Not exactly what a customer likes to hear. No accountability not even an I am sorry I will report that. Sleep disturbed as their parking lot snow plows waited to clean area until after midnight.....Room ok, not a remodeled room. Look for the remodeled rooms with new mattresses. Cost is the same.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night clerk. Also, Room was frigid upon arrival. Heat was not on. Took some time, but it heated up.

    Night clerk not too accommodating or friendly and didnt alert us to breakfast in morning so we missed it. Morning clerk friendly and helped us to get coffee after breakfast had ended. Pictures online makes it look like quaint b and b but actually a two story 50's style hotel. Remodeled and clean though and great deal. Very close to campus and downtown.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.0
    Run down motel formerly known at The Lamp Post Motel.
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run down place with damaged vertical blinds that did not keep the light out. Bed was fair but definitely a run down place. Don't like seeing a university photo in place of the real look of the motel.

    It shows a photo that is not the property but the university. The property is a run down motel and was much less than I thought. Would not recommend except for very cost conscious people needing a quick stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Greak value close to campus
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older place carefully renovated, owners run it, not part of any chain: they really care. It's as close to the campus and downtown Ann Arbor as you can get without paying a whole lot more money. Breakfast is free, familiar offerings (but a waffle maker would be a plus)!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    This property has been recently renovated.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I said the 'breakfast'

    This property has been recently renovated. It is in a great location and a great value. The shower ceilings are low but the room is exceedingly clean. I don't think the 'breakfast' is great - in fact it is just meh but i have places I like to eat when I'm in A2 so that's not a make or break deal for me. The staff is friendly - especially the housekeeping staff. This is my go to when I go to Ann Arbor,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    Make sure you ask if your room has been renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs some serious upgrades and fixes. I shouldn't take a shower and see mold on the ceiling. I had to hang a sheet up just so people couldn't see through the blinds. Very disappointing.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    It is comfortable but very plain - bit noisy from road and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The picture on the website is misleading as it gives one to believe it is a hotel within a solid house like building rather than motel rooms.

    It is comfortable but very plain - bit noisy from road and breakfast ok but nothing special

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    It was a delightful stay. Would stay there again in a heart beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and facilities are excellent as well as the location. Not a bad walk to the stadium either. My group of 3 women all really enjoyed the Inn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Inexpensive but clean room. You usually get what you pay for very worn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very old and worn out. But was very clean. Had a kitchenette but we did not need or use it

    Price and cleanliness. From picture I thought it was an old house like a bed and breakfast. Was very surprised when we arrived to see the rest of the story which was an old motel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    I'd stay there again for a short business visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the second floor close to the middle staircase. That staircase was a little too barren for me, arriving by myself late in the evening.

    The room was big, had everything I needed, and everything worked. The people in the office were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    3.8
    Bad
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are so old. Heating is not properly worked. It gives smoke smell so much. Bathroom doors don't have locks. But price is higher. It is even worst than motels

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Terrible...do not stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was a dump for $267. It reeked of bleach and old, musty hotel room. The sink got clogged, the phone didn't work, the front door didn't lock. The staff was rude when we asked them to help fix the problems. I would definitely not recommend this place to others. Save your money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Simple comfort, ideal for a couple of days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like the slightly inconvenient location. One has to take the bus to get to university campus or downtown Ann Arbor (15 min) and the buses are not that frequent, especially to come back in the evening.

    Overall this accommodation is good value for money. Very nice organic food supermarket close to the University Inn... The breakfast offered was simple, including however a choice of juices and bagels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Quiet and convenient location (2min to bus stop, 10min to downtown), and by shops.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping did not make the bed after the second night and miss cleaning inside drawers and storage space under the washroom sink. This made these spaces unusable.

    Bed was comfortable and linens clean. Appreciated the convenience of a microwave, mini-fridge, coffee pot with complementary coffee, and air conditioning. Just beside, there is a mini mall with varied shops, including a grocery store. Front desk staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Great place to crash at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast was a little lacking, and the decor was a little outdated. The one thing that bothered me the most was our A/C unit had been poorly put in so there was a large gap between the wall and the A/C unit where we could see through to outside. My husband is 6'5", and the shower was extremely small for him.

    It was exactly what we needed - a place to sleep! The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. It was a great location for our one night stay in Ann Arbor. The bed was soft and the blankets were perfect - the best bed and blankets we had our whole vacation (we stayed at 4 hotels).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    Room small, but adequate for one person. Overall, an agreeable facility that needs remodel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs more light - provide lamps that work, throw out old desk lamp. Overall needs updating, the location is fine but the property is outdated.

    Bed was very comfortable, reasonably quiet location, staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    We will certainly be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was nothing special, but it was a meal. The bed wasnt super comfortable.

    The staff was very friendly, and the room was quiet. It was great for family stays. The rates are great for the location, and although the bathroom wasn't updated, the room was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Great value for the money; very clean and a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated; more commercial motels include amenities such as irons and hair dryers in the room, but they were available at the front desk.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    It was clean and beds were comfortable.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't say that there is anything I disliked. This was ok place but not fancy or luxury 3-4 star hotel. For 2 nights that we spent it was good.

    It was clean and beds were comfortable. There were also kitchen facilities and great European style handle shower which I prefer. We had parking and several grocery stores near us as well as ATM and cafe. We went for seminar so this place served purpose.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Thankful for the great location, and the great staff. The facilities need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an older 'value' property. It is okay, but it's age and wear and tear make to hard to be comfortable and for it to appear and feel truly clean. I hope they will continue to rennovate. Done right, this could turn into a highly soughtt out place to stay. Loads of potential!

    The staff was great and the location in terms of proximity to UMich is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    We would go back again
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfortable

    The place was great. The room was comfortable, we did have problems with the sink not draining but they gave us a discount which made up for it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Very clean, if older facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Security was an issue -- the doors didn't have a dead bolt or other secondary lock outside of the doorknob, and the door wouldn't close fully unless it was pulled shut hard. Likewise, the ground floor windows didn't lock properly. The room did not feel secure at all. Bathroom was functional but small, and there was nowhere to hang wet towels.

    Very clean, if older facility. Comfortable pillows and mattress. In room minifridge and microwave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.8
    A sort of camping ground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above. We liked nothing about this room and were eager to leave in the morning.

    The room was not clean, bathroom minuscule as well as shower that had been caulked in very grossly, AC terribly dirty and throwing awful mildew smell in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.8
    A good value for money in Ann Arbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Queen Beds and Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motel is a bit rundown. Bathrooms are small. The internet is not working properly. The staff is not always responsive.

    Great value for money. A cheap accommodation in Ann Arbor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.8
    No internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No internet. Only one electricity plug next to bed and it was not working. Dirty comforters. Door would not lock properly if you don't push it hard to close. Shower drain clogged and toilet so small that you have to chose between #1 and #2 if you are 5'10". rundown property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean affordable motel in A2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wi-fi, crappy TV reception.

    Comfortable, clean but dated (it was there 50 years ago). Staff freindly, helpfull and available. Minimal breakfast, all carbohydrates (oatmeal, bagel, etc).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Good value for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updated. Clean but needs new fixtures. Not terrible but not great either.

    Bedroom area was very fresh and bright. Overall cleanliness was very good. Beds and linens comfortable. It is apparent that the owners are working to update the entire facility.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    The room was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Tub/Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The physical building was dated but satisfactory.

    The room was comfortable and clean. Motel was close to where we wanted to be. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: