Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marriott's Barony Beach Club 4 stars

5 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928, USA

#2 of 38 hotels in Hilton Head Island

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 41 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    everything else was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know you can't help it but the saltiness of the pool and how hot the water was. It felt like I was walking in a warm bath with salt and sand and to much clorine. And once you close the doors of the rooms no cold air flows through there and it gets hot.

    everything else was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    Antiquated check in/ couldn’t pay over the phone for my staff to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin - felt like a time share scam . To prepay for my guests was an act of God. Antiquated system. This is 2018 Marriott people. I don’t have 45 minutes to pay a simple bill. Waste of my time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyed using the list for some restaurants and Le Cookery discounts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a better location for meeting people. They were renovating the lobby and we would have liked meeting in lobby, not pool area. Too spread out.

    Easy access to elevator. Parking was good. Asked to be switched to Morning Glory rather than middle unit. Staff in office were so accommodating. Overall lighting in garage and unit was better than the middle unit. Closer to beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Our stay was very magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything.

    Our stay was pure luxury. The indoor pool and hot tub were great and our rooms were just beautiful! We loved the easy beach access and what an elegant way to enjoy Hilton Head for the first time. We will be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Property was just amazing nothing to complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was how they didn’t have continental breakfast. That was the only down side but we had a kitchen in our villa so that helped out alot

    Everything, the atmosphere was great. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    it was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that there were not a variety of resturants on property. No bars etc. We had to drive away. We wanted to just stay planted and enjoy the property. Also the ocean. Ocean was a long walk from property. It wasn't exactly an ocean front resort.

    The villa was very clean and decorated well. It was spacious. We loved it. We love the view of the pool from our room as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and fun holiday set on a gorgeous white sandy beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool with the slide wasn't in use because of the season. Also, if you have to buy any groceries from the hotel store, these were very overpriced.

    The room was very spacious and well appointed with lots of useful extras like a washer and dryer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Definitely worth staying, would love to go back.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was huge, went in off season so had to drive from room to indoor pool. Had coffee pot in room but no complimentary coffee :( A little difficult to get to, better have GPS

    Very well kept, clean, and spacious.Villa/suite was big enough for 5 adults, a teenager, and a toddler. Beds were very comfortable and shower was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Room was neat, clean, and well cared for.
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was neat, clean, and well cared for. Cleaning staff could have done better job. First day rags left on bathroom counters. Second day toilets hadn’t been cleaned/ freshened at all, garbage not emptied. Seemed like cleaning staff just came into room, walked around, and left.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Location Just Steps from the Beach..... Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a thing. They were still renovating some of the Villas and I guess the work areas could have been cleaner.

    I rented 2 Villas for my friend and family ocean front for my Birthday. It was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Loved our Hilton Head vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Marriott's Barony Beach Club doesn't have a proper indoor restaurant. This would have been nice to have. The casual, pool-side restaurant there was good for a burger or fries, but there was no place to go sit down to have a quiet drink or even a cup of tea or coffee inside.

    The location and staff were great! We enjoyed our holiday weekend, and would definitely return. The highlights on the property were bicycling on the beach, visiting the spa, and enjoying the hot tub. The balcony was a lovely place to sit with your morning coffee and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful property and the staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only have wonderful things to say about this property.

    Beautiful property and the staff very friendly. The staff surprised my daughter with a beautiful basket filled with candy, popcorn, drinks and free movie rental for her 18th Birthday. It made her day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Family fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The family enjoyed the size of the villa and it had everything you needed for cooking for 6 people. The staff was very friendly. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could only stay for 1 night due to our travel plans.

    Spacious, clean accommodations with very pleasant, helpful staff. Best value we've had for a 1-night accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Exquisite vacation villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!

    Beautiful place with exquisite view. Everything was perfect despite having had the unwanted guest 2 weeks before (hurricane Matthew). We had a 2 bedroom villa. Everything was wonderful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Location and space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My kids never got to get on the slide, it was always closed.

    Location and space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    I will be recommeding to friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great experience. The atmosphere was more than expected. Friendly service! And the bed was the best I've experienced in a long time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Very relaxing, the hit tub was so nice to unwind in. Would visit again soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Pillows

    The beds were nice. Everything was clean and new!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Location Just Steps from the Beach..... Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Villas Spacious with Modern décor. Fantastic Ocean front view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    We going back soon!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we liked everything except renting the bikes, you have to charged them your room instead of paying for them how you want too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Marvelous find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing to complain about!

    Facility is well maintained. Staff is personable and helpful. Could not have asked for anything more!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Oceanfront View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newness of room

    The rooms were renovated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Awesome December vacay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our building didn't have direct access to the beach.

    The large size of the room and the activities for the children!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    9.2
    The courtyard had many activities, pool, shuffleboard , bbq...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I requested late checkout on booking, on checking in and the day before we left they had no record of it.

    The courtyard had many activities, pool, shuffleboard , bbq area fire pit . The staff at the all yalls colton and leeann were great. Everyone was polite and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    Although my friend and I didn't use any of the amenities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Although my friend and I didn't use any of the amenities on the property, we were there strictly to golf, I would definitely come back here with my wife and use the pool and barbecues outside. Very nice location right on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    Gorgeous property, very clean, and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is limited with the property being so spread out. Inconvenient for older people.

    Gorgeous property, very clean, and very helpful staff. Many things to do on site.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    The resort had everything we needed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    More food options within walking distance would be nice. The pool with waterslide and children's outdoor game area is a bit cut off from the rest of the property (out behind the neighboring Westin hotel).

    The resort had everything we needed; well maintained and stocked villa, very nice pool areas, great bar/grill at the beach-side pool, inside game room and outside game area for kids, beach towels, bike rentals, etc., and very helpful front office! The spa is not yet open but you can book services next door at the Westin, which was very nice!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    10
    I loved the location we were here for a stay for our sons...
    • Family with older children

    I loved the location we were here for a stay for our sons graduation from the US Marines! the welcome we recieve everytime you drive onto the premises by all staff everytime they see you....you either recieve a welcome or a wave and a smile!! I loved it most definitly will be returning for our summer vacation!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    Room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was great. 2 bedrooms, two baths, kitchen, living room, dinning room. Great appliances, Beds were great, housekeeping and more.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    10
    Love the renovated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Did not have a full time restaurant.

    Love the renovated room.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    10
    Spacious rooms, Comfortable beds, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious rooms, Comfortable beds, clean rooms. Resort was beautiful. If traveling to Hilton Head SC I would definitely book there again.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Location, accommodations were beautiful and amenities.
    • Family with older children

    N/A

    Location, accommodations were beautiful and amenities.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Peacefulness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't want to leave

    Peacefulness

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.3
    next to the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not all swim-pools are hot:(

    next to the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.2
    Marriott quality resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Grounds somewhat disjointed...broken up...not a contiguous resort.

    Marriott quality resort.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    Location, facilities, people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool with the slide and splash pad was not near the ocean.

    Location, facilities, people.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: