Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Majestic 3 stars

1500 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, USA

#120 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 524 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    Victorian style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and they had a small fan, which didn’t help much but to circulate the air.

    Victorian style. The area was quiet and safe enough to walk at night. Nice walk down to Japantown. If you love to explore and walk around this place is a good place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel Majestic looks, as the name suggests, pretty majestic.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we ate at the restaurant it was cold (air conditioning) and it's pretty pricey. We stayed in hotel majestic for three nights. Unfortunately, our room was right below either a maintenance room or a room with very noisy guests who were up walking and moving furniture at literally all hours of the night. it's a good hotel for its location. I probably wouldn't go back but that's more due to the noise experience than anything else.

    Hotel Majestic looks, as the name suggests, pretty majestic. Very grand and fancy. We had a double room, which was not huge but big enough. The bed was a little on the small side, but again definitely big enough. Staff was very friendly. Location is great: multiple buses right outside the door if you don't feel like walking but if you do, Union Square is only 20 minutes away. There's also some food places around, not overwhelmingly a lot but enough to get by. The restaurant was okay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here really made no effort at all. Upon checking in we were simply told that a $200 holding charge would be placed on my CC and refunded when we we checked out and our room number. They did not offer us any information about the city or the local area. We were barely greeted in the mornings. Maids did not refill the coffee in the rooms or replace towels left on the bathroom floor. Initially the hotel looks quite charming but on closer inspection it's very tired. As mentioned in previous reviews, the beds are really high! At 5'8" I didn't think this would be a problem for me, but I had to perform a sort of high jump manoeuvre to get in and getting out wasn't much easier! The air con didn't seem to function and the room felt very stuffy, especially straight after the shower had been used.

    It was one of the few affordable options we found in San Francisco; but as the old adage goes - you get what you pay for. Very close to Japan Town with some cool places to eat. Although, I went out one morning to grab some bagels from a place about 15 minutes walk away and quickly found myself in quite an undesirable area that didn't feel very safe with so few people around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Location & atmosphere of a classical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk was not welcoming/helpful Comfort in the room was lacking and a bit worn-out (e.g. carpet etc.)

    Location & atmosphere of a classical hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Excellent stay. Would love to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As Europeans we prefer king size beds not a queen size.

    Room organised beautifully.... Tastefully decorated, very comfortable bed and great bathroom. Staff attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Great stay for 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property look good from the outside but was a little dated in the rooms which could do with a refresh. One corner of the bed stuck out which caused us to bang into this a lot of the time.

    Good location central to most places via uber. Friendly staff and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was great and hotel was very quirky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, stale smell in hotel and rooms was overpowering. Elevator broke down twice during our three night stay. Door man was extremely unhelpful and watched my partner struggle with her suitcase down the stairs. It seemed the money being made was being pocketed and not being put into the hotel. OVERPRICED!!!’

    Location was great and hotel was very quirky.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very old building and smells accordingly! The sink was cracked. We could have had another room though.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, location is great - close to cable car

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    It has an old school charm and the staff are friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No table in the room and no air conditioner, the restaurant was closed for a stupid art class so had to eat dinner at the bar

    It has an old school charm and the staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Gorgeous bijou hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small detail...the restaurant is beautiful but as we walked in there were trestle tables to one side which were standing on protective sheets on the carpet. It was a bit strange. I dont know why they were there. But I loved the decor - all cream/beige, lovely upholstery & table dressings.

    This is a beautiful hotel. The decor is early 20th century - charming, well-maintained & welcoming. Reception area is classically decorated with beautiful architectural features (unusual for the U.S.). The rooms are really lovely & very comfortable. Old furniture, bed canopies, & double blinds on the windows which keep out the light very well. The basic double rooms are facing the back of the hotel (mainly) and are small but quieter. We had a corner room at the front of the hotel which was bigger & a bit noisier, but that didn't bother us. Staff REALLY great! We had dinner there on our first evening & there were only 2 tables occupied. Don't understand why because the food was very good & the ambience very pleasant. Excellent breakfast (not included)...again we were the only ones eating. Great location. Valet car parking efficient & worthwhile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, time-warp hotel with the comfiest beds!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I had such a great stay here! Perhaps a little pricey but reasonable for San Francisco standards!

    What an amazing hotel! Amazing, quirky interior, beautifully and authentically decorated rooms and I've of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in! Felt like I'd travelled back in time (in a great way!) Staff were friendly and helpful and in a good area near great food in Japan town. Can't wait to find back to San Fran and stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    The best thing was the staff leaves bottles of water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was “antland”, there were more ants than in the film Antman. Furthermore, in summer the high temperature creates a hell in the room because the air conditioning does not have enough power to cool it.

    The best thing was the staff leaves bottles of water everyday. In addition, the staff is so kindly, do not hesitate to ask anything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant isn't really useful. Often has private groups. Bartender was adequate.

    Cool older boutique hotel. Location is good for uber and close to Japan town. Get the Jr suite it's worth the upgrade. Sweet bar when open! Valet parking is convenient but pricey as everywhere is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean and Comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Clean and Comfy. staff helpful. what you see in the pictures is exactly what you get (no showing of old photos). easy access to public transport for the waterfront. Coffee and milk always available in lobby. for those of you from the U.K. who like your tea, you can boil water in the room coffee machine (don't forget the tea bags). Overall what you see on booking.com is an accurate description of what you get.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice and clean, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has an old fashioned style which I really liked. Our room was in a corner so I guess it was a little bit spacious than it should have. The bed was really comfy and the bathroom spacious with a bath/tub. AC, minibar (only water and sodas), tv, room services etc. The bar and the restaurant are really clean with lots of choice. The position is ideal as you will be in the middle of every point of interest - you can also walk to Union Square in 25 min. Seeing the state of other hotel in SF i definitively recommend this hotel and I would stay again if I will be back.

    I booked a double bed and at the check-in I was asked three times if I really wanted one bed or twin, which made the situation hilarious but also a bit awkward. The windows should be cleaned, as they are old style you need to put your hand on top to open it and there is lots of dust. The housekeeper for the three night that I stayed never filled the coffee machine with new pots - and you could see I was using it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Quite and safe location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon does not work and the room gets very stuffy. No much air ventilation with a little window and uncomfortable to sleep at night.

    Quite and safe location. Nice little bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Cheapest in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proofing whatsoever. Can hear every step going on upstairs. A function was happening the day we checked in. It was like as if we were in the middle of it, it was so loud

    Cheapest in the area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely old building, 50 min walk to fisherman’s walk, bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your trying to be a classy hotel then it’s the attention to details that count!! Wardrobe falling apart, fridge rattled at night, worst bed I’ve slept in on my travels.

    Lovely old building, 50 min walk to fisherman’s walk, bus ran from there to close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was ok, fairly close to numerous attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was fairly small but that was not helped by the bed being fairly big. The aircon was very hit and miss, seemed to work some of the time and not when it was needed. The water in the fridge isn't free so be mindful of that as they charge you at the end. Some of the streets on the way up to the hotel are not the nicest in terms of area and number of homeless people.

    Location was ok, fairly close to numerous attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were not able to eat at hotel restaurant due to a private party the day we arrived and it was closed the following day.

    Beautiful room. Lovely old hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Great style and thankfully not a chain , sterile box. Def go back. But San Fran is v expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath leaked a little when we plugged it for our kid.

    Beautiful old building refurbished and great style. Comfy room and good size - upgraded to junior suite to fit the roll away bed for our kid. Not much difference in price at all. Great area on edge of main city sights. Easy access to bus network and California St cable car about 4 blocks uphill from Sutter and Gough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    The location was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and the air conditioner didn’t work properly, so it was very stuffy with no ability to open a window and access fresh air

    The location was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Hotel with Fantastic Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Café dosen't open every day and dosen't serve lunch. Having a baby (and enjoying the food in the Café), it would have been comfortable for us to have the option to always eat in-house.

    The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly to us, help us with our baby, etc. The Edwardian style of the building, interior and design is absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Hotel with Fantastic Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Café dosen't open every day and dosen't serve lunch. Having a baby (and enjoying the food in the Café), it would have been comfortable for us to have the option to always eat in-house.

    The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly to us, help us with our baby, etc. The Edwardian style of the building, interior and design is absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Good location near major bus lines and BART. Walking distance to the Fillmore and Japan town. Clean comfortable and quiet. The bar is small but very comfortable. If you leave early on a Monday be aware that the restaurant is closed that day. For late arrivals [after 10 PM] there is an Italian deli "Limoncello" a block away. It is open until 12 with sandwiches to die for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel at a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NothOng

    Hotel is lovely:elegantly decorated, very clean. Staff is wonderful, highly knowledgeable, and efficient, the coffee make and r firgerator were a nice bonus as was the free coffee in the lovbyl

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Really likes the charm, the rooms, the breakfast and dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requires lots of Ubers as its so far up the hill away from everything. Also, the bar and restaurant are closed on Mondays.

    Really likes the charm, the rooms, the breakfast and dinner and the staff cant do enough for you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable bed, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dark and dingey, dangerous base to bed. One of the rooms was very small with no available power points. Felt scared walking in area at night. Too far from everything.

    Comfortable bed, very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for four persons and had only three beds (one extra bed). But they gave us the extra bed for free, so everything is alright

    Extremely friendly stuff, tasty breakfast and very nice looking room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    This is probably one of the better locations for the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is probably one of the better locations for the price in San Francisco. The AC didn't work very well, but again, for the price in San Francisco this wasn't surprising. The breakfast was very good but they are probably a little under staffed to service may not be on point every time. But they are very courteous and appear to be very concerned about service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Great stay in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was excellent and the area around the hotel felt safe. The room was aesthetically charming and beautifully decorated in the Victorian era style. The bed was comfortable and the entire hotel impeccably clean. Relatively well priced for its location in San Francisco also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with great rooms, rates, food and valet parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent facility, great rooms, staff, and room and parking rates. Our host Maria upgraded us to a suite at no additional charge. Will stay again if we return to San. Fran

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Service was average - bar was closed on 3 nights of our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and style of the rooms . we really enjoyed the stay and would return

    Service was average - bar was closed on 3 nights of our stay and room service closed early

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are modest in size.

    Great value and helpful staff. Central location because our focus was Japantown/ Western Addition/ Pacific Heights/ Marina District. Requested and were given a room in the quieter, back part of hotel (not facing Sutter).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location. Lacking services.
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All three nights I was there, the restaurant was not open to the public. Staff's responses were not professional and room service in the morning was not available on Mondays-why not on a Monday??? Advertised fireplace in rooms, but did not work...

    Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay, and the staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Coffee machine no use for tea drinkers; however the concierge found me a kettle to use during my stay.

    I liked the downstairs room I had; also loved the 'sitting room' fairly close to the reception area as it was a lovely spot to wait for friends staying in other rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Great stay in san fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit further out than we would have liked, but still only a $3 bus ride to the wharf.

    Clean and well presented room, good housekeeping with very tourist friendly front desk staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fine for us but may not be good for those with mobility issues. Be prepared for a stay in an older property, Some of our furniture could do with replacing , the wardrobe for instance doors did not close Properly. Also showe in 505 as not very powerful land needs consideration.

    all the staff in this hotel are so friendly professional and go out iof their way to be helpful. The chocolate left each day for guests is a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice historic hotel with lacking service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not the cleanest, dirty carpets, hair in the bath tub. The staff at the front desk is useless if you need suggestions in terms of restaurants or bars, sent us to a liquor store when we were looking for a bar. 🙄Oh and one other very annoying thing was, that all three nights we were staying there, the hotel bar / restaurant was closed to the public due to private parties.

    Historic Hotel with a lot of old features, which also applies to the rooms. But that's to expect for a historic place. So you need to like that. Breakfast was very good, but not cheap. Nice ambience though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Loved our stay at The Majestic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location and easy to access all the sights. Very helpful friendly staff. Spotlessly clean. Loved the old world charm. Allowed us early check in and they held our luggage for a time after we checked out. Staff happy to microwave some meals for us. Would definitely recommend and book again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Was a beautiful old Victorian style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    50% of why I chose this hotel was because there was a restaurant on site. We stayed on a Wednesday, Thursday and a Friday night. There were private parties booked every night so we were not able to eat there.

    Was a beautiful old Victorian style hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed some updating ASAP the Sink was hanging off the wall. The shower didn’t work properly that good dripped all the time and the bed and pillows where hard

    Location was good The hotel ghost was fun

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small which is ok but was very tight when you put a travel cot in. The fact that they charge for a travel cot too, I think is a bit much. $25 per night. We could have bought one for that price over a few days. The staff we decent though and didnt charge us for all the nights. I think they realise it’s too much too. Also the bath in our room was ridiculously small. This was such a disappointment.

    It was clean and tidy. The door staff in particular were so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Perfect start to the honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly everything was perfect

    The rooms were massive and beautiful. The location was 30min walk from the city center and a 5min walk from the bus. The staff were professional, polite and extremally helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport shuttle is costly- 18 per person. Location is ok but a far walk from attractions- we must remember though that it is a big city and a lot of walking uphill!

    Beautiful lobby. Upgraded to a suite for free. Ambiance is great. Free coffee and Keurig in room. Huge bathroom and bedrorom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely little find - great location - easy to get around San Francisco from here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a junior suit - very old worldy on fourth floor - four poster bed which was very comfortable - nice little bar and restaurant food was good - ate there once staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    Shabby not chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelled musky and the rooms smelled unclean. Most likely the aging carpets. I found a used bandaid on the floor of our room. It wasn't a terrible hotel but looked like it needed a restoration a few years ago. We checked out early and booked another hotel closer to fisherman's wharf.

    Friendly Staff, beautiful building exterior

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Location is OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms smell bad, seem unclean, very dark, two lamps didn't work. Thin walls, you can hear people talking in the other room or walking the floor above. Vallet service was fine, but way overpriced. Parking fee of 40 USD per night is terrible!

    Location is OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    The rooms at the hotel we're beautiful and it's in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very understaffed. The valet parking was terrible and it was easier to park on the street on a weekend. They took forever and as there are stairs as you enter the hotel we were often forced to log our own luggage up the stairs. And as a senior citizen I also had to Lug it down the stairs. Not great. While we were there the bar and restaurants were closed down for a party and there was no place to really get a meal. When you didn't know the city i AND your car finally parked it made the situation decidedly uncomfortable. Hotel should make better arrangements than leave their paying guest to pay $350 a night with no place to get a drink or eat. We had already made the decision to eat at the hotel after we checked out their menus after our 2-hour Drive. Very poor thought on the part of the hotel management do not allow for room service or allow paying guest to get a drink in the bar

    The rooms at the hotel we're beautiful and it's in a very gorgeous old building. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and those Terry bathrobes were enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great deal for the price
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I couldn't use the Keurig machine because the inside was rusty.

    The suite was very spacious and pretty. The bed and pillows were comfortable for me. Every staff member I interacted with was kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    We had a suite which was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a suite which was great. The only negative was that the space needed a facelift. The carpets and some of the furniture needed replacing. Bed was comfy, bathroom large. But on the positive, I loved being away from the huge groups of tourists. Having been to the city before I did not need concierge services, which they didn't really have.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A desk and chair in the room would be a great addition. The building is old. It could use some updates, although I know they are working on some minor improvements here and there.

    The cost, especially during RSA. This had to be the best deal in town. It reminds me of a European tourist class hotel, without the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    Never returning. The hotel was old and creepy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very old and dated. The carpet was dirty, the tile in the bathroom was old and cracked, the drapes in our room were creepy. Overall it was not a place we would ever stay again.

    The location was good, close to the event we were attending.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    2.5
    disapointing customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the people staffing the front desk were not honest. I was quoted two separate prices for the shuttle to the airport. I was told that I could save, by purchasing tour tickets at the front desk which was not true.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    The room was compact and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the 5th floor and frontside. Room window was locked and we could not find the opportunity to let fresh air circulating inside the room. There was a air-conditioner (ac) but cold made us frozen during the night. Without the ac, we were not properly breathing.

    The room was compact and clean. Stuff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly, the hotel was quirky, which I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things seemed to be advertised, like room service, which then weren’t actually available. The breakfast was also quite slow to arrive in the morning, even when it was very quiet (the food was good though!)

    The staff were friendly, the hotel was quirky, which I enjoyed, and it was very comfortable. Great to have a coffee maker in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Easyily accessible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed one night as a stop over before driving down the coast. Good access to motorway. Complementary breakfast was a nice feature though it got busy very quickly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    An attractive and comfortable room, bed, etc. and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A number of superficial things need attention: touch-up/repair work on paint and wallpaper would help the overall impression - quite a few details look tired, especially the elevator interior. Better shower curtain set-up would prevent further damage to wallpaper in bath. The lobby seemed cluttered and dark. I'm not sure what purpose was served by the funky little paintings on the right side of the entrance. These were minor, but noticeable and detracting from an otherwise beautiful place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Location and hotel was good for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I called the hotel in the morning of our date of arrival to let them know we would be checking in very late because of a late plane arrival time and was told that was no problem as they had a person on staff 24 hours. When we arrived at 1:30 a.m. the person on the desk told us our room had been cancelled because we were so late and couldn't check in after 1 a.m.!! We protested; she said there were no rooms available; we insisted and she made a call and then put us in a suite. In the morning, the person on the desk was very apologetic for what happened, offered us a free breakfast and moved us to our queen room for the second night.

    The location was good and the rooms were reasonably priced for San Francisco.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in san fran,just a cool relaxing hotel.food was great also
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most awesome old school hotel best choice to stay hear great location safe parking even if have to pay easy to lots of places staff great francisco the valet man was cool friendly guy needs a pay raise😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    we enjoyed our stay but have some reservations about staying there again without a facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the property is tired and needs some upgrades. the paint is chipping, the chairs have threads hanging, and the carpet in our room had a stain on it in the bedroom. the room is dark and gloomy.

    the room was a good size for the price paid and we had a good view of the street. the bed was very nice and comfortable and the bathroom large.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    overall enjoyed the staff. Plus staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 pposter bed was rather high (but, we did laugh when pole voting to get in) plus wasn keen on the Art lessons in the dining room on an evening. Rather noisy

    Comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    We went during off-peak season;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were ok, some other staff were super nice! I guess it depends on the day.

    We went during off-peak season; the initial room we got was a bit small and dark (not much natural light coming in), that was just a standard double room. We went for an upgrade in the end (one of their suites), for some extra cost. The suite was beautiful, cozy and full of light. Would definitely stay in the same suite again. Location is good, though we had a car to go places. Otherwise, I liked the fact that it was a non-touristy, relatively quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice and comfortable with old San Francisco charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As a minor complaint, the high four-poster bed was a little hard to get up into for those of us with shorter stature. A little step stool would have been helpful. Having stayed here on business many years ago I remember the rooms came with umbrellas to borrow. I'm sad that they are no longer in the rooms although I didn't ask at the front desk if they are still available.

    The room and antique furnishings were charming. The plaster walls make the rooms soundproof. This is definitely a hotel with character and the flavor of old San Francisco. The bathrobes were a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    The location was great for us, and we didn't have to stay long there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They said they were going to have a brunch on Sunday. There was no brunch. The server knew absolutely nothing about the menu. They didn't have much of what we wanted after they told us they had it. They had to retract. It was almost a joke. Sorry, we don't have that. Sorry, we don't have that. Then in the middle of dining room they were going to hold a painting class. That was so weird for a historic hotel. The ladies at the front desk seemed indifferent.

    The room was cute, but no ventilation. It happened to be really hot in the city the weekend we were there. They could have said, if it gets hot you can open the window, there's a fan.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.9
    Don't pick this Hotel ! Horrible !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioner was not working and there was a hole in the window so the room was very cold. The room couldn't be smaller than this. The bed was very high off the ground we were actually jumping to the bed. They were asking 40$ for valet parking so we didn't want to pay it. We park our car on the street as hotel staffs suggested. We found our car with the smashed back window next day morning our insurance paid for the window but the experience was awful. The hotel manager was very impolite. Except for one receptionist with short hair (Indian) and one old blonde lady, rest of the staff was very unfriendly and disturbing. Location seemed good at the beginning but then we realized that it was the most dangerous street in San Francisco.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    2.9
    It was the worst experienced I have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very cold and the heater was not working. Location is very bad, very dangerous area. Hotel staff said that it is safe to park our car on the street and we park it in front of Hotel. Next day we saw that our car window was broken and our stuff was stolen. Hotel staff's first reaction was "You need to use Hotel Valet Parking to be safe!". There should be a security camera since the car was just parked in front of the hotel but somehow security camera was only seeing the front side of the car. The hotel manager was totally ignorant and was so rude. He didn't even listen to us while we are explaining what happened.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Victorian Charm in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ironing board very rickety and lacking in padding, but that was the only real problem. And while we loved the bed, it was very high off the ground - I'm 5'7" and had to practically jump into it - but they do give you a little set of stairs (hiding in the wardrobe) if you need help :)

    Loved our room (on the "haunted" fourth floor)- it was really spacious and the four-poster bed made it feel very luxurious. The bathroom was also huge - we appreciated it having twin sinks which will be hard to live without now we're home! The facilities in terms of TV, toiletries etc were also very good. We didn't use the bar or restaurant but it's definitely worth nipping into the bar, if only to see the very impressive collection of butterflies on the wall. Location was also excellent - friends who know SF were very impressed with what we got for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Loved the antiquity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The squeakiness of the room, but I suppose it comes with the antiquity. Staff at Majestic cafe took too long to take our order.

    Loved the antiquity. Hotel was comfortable and affordable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great old world charm. Comfortable and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found the room to be excellent with its old world charm. The desk manager Bimar was very courteous and helpful. All staff were pleasant. I would definitely return again and will recommend this place to family and friends

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Amazing, romantic and we were made to feel so important by the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything

    The Hotel is beautiful and Majestic! The best part of our whole experience is the staff! Wonderful, kind, they go above and beyond to make their guests happy and comfortable. Raj and Amit are the BEST! They made our stay remarkable!! We are considering having our wedding at this amazing hotel later this year. Can't say enough about how wonderful this place is!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    Not at all happy. Will be taking matters further.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were informed we couldn't pay by cash, we weren't warned of this in advance, but were told payment would be required in full on arrival. Given that we got better rates from drawing out than on card, we drew the full amount out. After the girl on duty calling the manager (or owner?), it was agreed that we could pay in cash, with a $100 deposit being held on our card, which was great. On arrival back in the UK, we have discovered they have placed a hold on the full amount (not $100), despite agreeing not to do this and having been paid in full. As a result, the card has gone over its limit and we are unable to make any purchases (extremely frustrating with our wedding coming up). Hotel was average, location was good, but the payment situation was and is completely unacceptable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    4.2
    Overpriced. Decor was more 'tired' than 'quaint'
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom flooded, preventing me from having a shower. No alternative was offered. When the plumber came to fix (s)he left the door to my room open, giving public access to everything that was still in there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway, close to great bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There aren't a ton of outlets in the room so if you have multiple electronic devices to charge at a time you have to get creative.

    Very clean and comfortable room, accommodating staff, and great location. The property is quite charming and has lots of character.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Perfectly ok for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There wasn't a table in the room which made it hard to get work done. There were a few ants in my bathroom every day. The staff didn't offer to help with baggage at all.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was well cleaned. It has an old fashioned feel to it which is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: