Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Majestic Hotel 3 stars

528 West Brompton, Lakeview, Chicago, IL 60657 , USA

#96 of 146 hotels in Chicago

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 429 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Location good for the event attending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps down to reception very difficult to manage with suit cases. Bedroom decor need updated. Breakfast offering could do with more variety.

    Location good for the event attending. Daniel who works on reception is a gem. Very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Not at all worth the money....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The value / experience for the money this place cost was not even close. I ordered the strawberries and Champagne for my wife and it came in a SCREW OFF bottle. The parking situation with their garage was difficult. The bed was not comfortable... I could go on and on really. I was not at all satisfied with what I got for the price of this place - in fact, I kind of feel like I got took.

    Close to Wrigley Field.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Mona and Daniel were great concierges.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choice is very basic but ok. Sofa in the room is not very comfortable

    Mona and Daniel were great concierges. David was extremely helpful, knew our very wishes before we did and is such a nice guy. Best concierge we ever had. Mona has a great sense of humor and it was like chatting to a good friend. The hotel itself is great, clean, spacious, Belle Époque-meets-Baseball-theme done very tastefully. Beds very comfortable. Bus 146 stop next to the hotel takes you directly to Michigan Av and the Loop. All great. But Mona and Daniel are the true heart of the place. Thank you. We will be back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice design, the lobby is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A/Cs were old and noisy. Bathroom could be improved.

    Nice design, the lobby is awesome. The breakfast is fine. It is good that they have free tea/coffee and cookies in the afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    It was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have helped to have a couple of more protein and vegetarian options for breakfast.

    The staff were a pleasure to deal with. The central location of the hotel was pivotal in allowing myself and my children ample time to see downtown Chicagos attractions without having to worry about how late in the night it is - because of the hotel being a beautiful and safe neighborhood

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Super nice breakfast and amazing cookies in the afternoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little bit small

    Super nice breakfast and amazing cookies in the afternoon! Nice and quiet location (10-15 min walking to Addison red line). Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    A place worth staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quaint old hotel with class. Excellent staff, rooms were great. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Everything, especially the staff. We needed help as my husband is handicapped. They all were right there for us. Beautiful room too. We would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed there one night on our way back from Martha’s Vineyard in order to catch an early morning flight to DC. The hotel is decorated in a very kitschy and unique way. The staff was polite and the room was spacious and clean. They don’t have any restaurants on site but the staff offered us menus of places around where we could get food delivered from. We didn’t really get any time to check out much of the hotel or its facilities, but based on its decor and how comfortable the room was, we wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    1st time in Chicago and Wrigley Field
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller room than expected, limited breakfast. Asst. GM didn't seem hospitable or courteous. (rest of the staff very good).

    Great staff. Very helpful. Clean rooms. Quiet location near Wrigleyville. Loved the Cubs Baseball Memoribalia throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    First impression is that the place is a dump. It was clean and comfortable. Needs refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator barely had room for 2 adults and 2 suitcases. Air conditioner was noisy. On a one way street with construction at the end of the block which made accessibility difficulty. But I guess that’s city life. Parking was a 5 minute walk away instead of on site.

    The soap products in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    The lobby and shared space are newly renovated they are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and the bathroom was no5 clean.

    The lobby and shared space are newly renovated they are nice and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Quaint hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For someone who lives in hotels 50% of the year for work, this little hotel was a perfect change. The room was a little small, but it’s charm, location, friendly staff and amenities made up for that. If you are a baseball lover and/or want to hang in Boys Town this is the place for you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Overpriced and photographs not representative of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was right up against the wall on the side, the TV didn't work properly and the aircon was very noisy all night (there was no central air). The room was small and the standard was not great. I wasn't expecting much for breakfast but was still disappointed - it didn't have many options and the ones they had were not good. They were completely out of coffee, only had cinnamon flavoured teas. It's not near the local stores/restaurants and parking is a hassle. I'm glad we only stayed one night. If you are looking for a place to stay that's better value for money, I suggest staying out of town and getting an Uber in as that will work out cheaper and you'll get a better room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Location, location, location!!! And Comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were dimly lit. Dated and lifting wallpaper in rooms, worn/stained carpet that if it could tell you stories, it would be about people having a great time when the Cubs took the pennant for 2016 World Series. Only 1 old and small elevator, but it's only 3 floors. Undisciplined energetic children bouncing around breakfast area, leaving messes. Hotel could benefit by having a custodial staffer while meals take place...it's more than one person can handle with all the food related replenishment needed. Finally, towels were a bit thin, shabby and could have used minibar restocking but didn't "need to request."

    Spacious room, comfortable beds and sheets, bar sink/mini frig, everything you need for 4 nights! Breakfast, 24/7 coffee/tea and Front Desk Staff available (for 4:45AM Check Out). Convenient location to great food, Lakeshore Drive and Parks and easy to get uptown or downtown. Baseball themed decor and memorabilia, books available to read were all great and made it "homey." 5 stars for the In Room amazing minibar and snack selection, priced to want indulge! Walked to Wrigleyville and Broadway for meals - and easy bus route. Safe neighborhood. Mona and Daniel were outstanding!!! Will return on my next visit if the rate is right! Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for a Cubs game
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress wasn't my favorite but I would definitely stay there again.

    It was adorable and the rooms were huge. Perfect for a Cubs game, it is walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Small rooms, windows were so dirty, you could not see out, breakfast was fine if you are ok with bread. Coffee was cold. No hot water pressure in shower at all. Bed had very large dip in the middle. Elevator was very small and smelt of burnt oil. Ok

    Great location! Walking distance to Wrigleyville. Parking garage was easy and friendly. Very short walk. Friendly staff and very quiet, and nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    I find the people at the hotel friendly, attentive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room lighting tends to be dark; windows do not provide enough natural light and the lamp lighting is insufficient. I don't spend much time in the room but I notice each time I use the hotel how dark the rooms can be for reading, using computer, etc.

    I find the people at the hotel friendly, attentive and welcoming. I visit Chicago several times a year and it is like seeing old friends to be greeted by people who remember me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, convenient parking at reasonable price and a nice change of pace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature in our room was on the hot side. We immediately turned heat down but because of the boiler system, we were unable to regulate the temperature during our stay. We were also placed on the 1st floor and both nights I heard a phone or bell ringing at around 3 AM that continued for at least 1-2 minutes.

    The location was convenient to where we were spending most of our time. The atmosphere was nice and the decor appropriate for the area. The staff at the front desk did excellent job answering my questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was going through renovations, cracked chipped paint, the room was extremely dated, the decor in the rooms and bathroom was very off putting.

    The location was perfect!! Hotel was close to everything, restaurants, shops etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    Placed in a room RIGHT across from the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Placed in a room RIGHT across from the front desk. Heard the phones ringing and other conversations. Our heater made an awful rattling noise the entire time. Was told it was just the sound of it kicking on, but it proceeded our whole visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    A great place in Chicago to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isn't much to look at window wise. This is just me, but I wish you guys had Discovery ID...

    The staff was awesome, parking prices aren't bad, and the rooms are clean. Bed is pretty nice too. So much food to get delivered if you got the right apps.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    I would definitely stay at The Majestic Hotel again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I realize the hotel is an old building but it could use a bit of shining up. Things like wall paint and carpets look a little worn or soiled. Also I was there 3days 2nights and the elevator had popcorn spilled on the floor and was not swept up the whole time I stayed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    No towel rack for towel and washcloth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel rack for towel and washcloth. Left too early to get Belfast which was included in cost apparently. Woke in middle of night with loud pipe banging sound? I even wear earplugs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    Hotel was adequate but will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was awful. There was hair in the shower when we arrived. The toilet took two or three times to flush. Most times when we went to get coffee it was the bottom of the pot. The wallpaper was peeling. And the over head light would only turn on with the fan. And it was way too hot in the room even with the heat off. We had to run the AC in December in Chicago.

    The hotel attendant who was there in the early evening was awesome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Perhaps the best choice in Lakeview, but there are few choices in this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need refurbishment. I understand this is gradually occuring, but I rate things as they are. The bed and linens are ok, but certainly not high-end-hotel caliber. The breakfast, while included, is substandard even by Continental standards. The rooms are Spartan and reasonably clean. Overall, I think this hotel is overpriced for what it is, given that Chicago prices are moderate for a big city.

    The Boystown (Lakeview) location is excellent, even though it is not close to the center of the city. Chicago has 24/7 public transportation, and this hotel is well located to make use of it. The rooms are spacious as well. I like the clubby lobby and the overall olde tyme style.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.6
    Old and tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is old tired and small. The room was the size of my closet. It got the job done (a place to sleep) but I sure wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location in our family’s neighborhood for a weekend stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not in the least handicap assessable. Steps up and in, then steps down to the lobby. Very small elevator would not accommodate a wheelchair even if one could get into the building.

    The architecture and layout of the old building was beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall I enjoyed my visit. The hotel was adequate for my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of coffee...When I went down for coffee there was never any available, the machine always seemed to be empty

    The staff was very friendly. Daniel, who checked me in, was very friendly and helpful. He has a great knowledge of Chicago.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Quaint Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very old Boutique Hotel. I'd like to have a bit nicer breakfast. A waffle iron would have been a nice addition to the breakfast.

    It's location is very good. Half a block from the Inner Lake Shore Drive bus to downtown Chicago.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    The room was nice and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi-fi connectivity was patchy which was the most negative aspect of my stay as i needed to get business email and struggled to connect at all times.

    The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Your information said parking was available. As far as I could see it failed to mention that there was a hefty $25 a day parking fee. There was no alternative to the hotel parking as parking was very restricted in the area. As I had entered into the hotel booking contract before I was aware of this term, I consider a refund to be in order. Breakfast was disappointing, apart from a good variety of cereal, everything else was mediocre. Only juice was orange juice and that was out of a carton and nothing hot was included.

    The room was excellent and the provision of a fan and the ability to open a window as an alternative to the usual noisy air-conditioning was appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    But all at all I can recomend this hotel to the others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the staff devoted a little more attention to purity will be great (elevator was not cleaned by months). It was not clearly stated that I have to pay extra for the parking, and it was additional not planned cost for me.

    neighborhood is very nice, and hotel is very charmy. It's true that air condition is from the last century but it's working.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    The location was the only thing that saved this place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was very dated. I stayed on the second floor and the floors creaked. The decor and age of everything made it feel like I was at my grandparents. If I had to stay longer, I would have switched hotels.

    Front desk staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small, dark, dismal room. It was impossible to see out of the window due to condensation. Breakfast very limited with no hot food.

    Helpful check out when I decided to cut my stay short. Position was good if you wanted to go to Wigley Fields

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful time at the Majestic...thanks, Dan!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use some updating.

    Dan...the young man who worked the front desk...was beyond exceptional! He became part of our family! Traveling with our 6 year old grandson, Dan was super kind to him...even bringing him fresh baked cookies and milk...twice. Dan was professional and courteous...we even took a picture of him before we left! The hotel was ideally located for our visit to Wrigley. Walking there was great. We'll surely book the Majestic the next we're n Chicago...hope Dan is still there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    Location was really the only big plus of this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old. No central air. Small rooms that have antiquated finishes. Probably last updated in the mid-80's, except for the breakfast room. Also, the wifi was so slow, I just used data.

    Location is the best aspect of this property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, within walking distance from Wrigley's Field. The staff was pleasant and helpful with recommendations for dinner in the area. No pool, but you have access to one beside the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location and lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything.

    Very nice place and so close to the ballpark and many places to eat. Quiet neighborhood, it just blended in to the surrounding area. Would love to come back here in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice but be ready to walk to your car & back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was four blocks away with no valet service offered.

    A very quaint hotel in an older converted building. Very friendly staff. A great breakfast is included & warm cookies are served at 4:00PM.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Hotel was great. Booking.com never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not happy with booking.com What the website quoted & what I paid was way off. The exchange was way too much. I will go back to the hotel but will never book with Booking.com again.

    hotel was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant Majestic, delightful B and B experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lighting, carpeting and dirty windows

    Our stay at the Majestic has great hospitality! Our stay was pleasant. The staff was delightful and very attentive to our needs, really welcoming, they really made the cozy hotel like a B and B experience! Loved the robes, breakfast and in room snacks! The convenience of location makes this a sure pick, when staying in this part of Chicago, but the hotel should give some thought to better lighting in the rooms and new carpeting, they would be a huge improvement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location with great amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was supposed to be coffee and tea available 24/7 which must have been very popular. When we went down 2 out of 3 times to get coffee, it was empty.

    The bed was very comfortable. Our room faced east and we got the beautiful sunrise view. The hotel itself is beautiful and a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    For the money we expected something nicer with more accommodations.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for a small room with the view of an alley and electrical lines.... parking 1/2 mile away was somewhat inconvenient, again for the money the free breakfast was very limited, for $200 a night a warm breakfast shouldn't be too much to ask....the room above us was very noticeable... we heard them having sex all night every night.,,, was very annoying...I'm guessing it was because the floors were creaky and the ceilings were thin??

    It was old, which is what my wife likes... old histori. Buildings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed, thought it would be a quaint hotel with luxurious bedding and beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too small, continental breakfast just ok, expected more amenities as it was billed as a boutique hotel. Also not much for the price.

    Proximity to Wrigley

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.0
    Good front of desk staff very helpful but put in embarrassing postion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seating arrangements in the dining was dark and cramped. Hotel pleasant but looked tired in need of some TLC. Rooms felt musty. Lift and stairs not conducive to elderly or infirm people. Breakfast limited when produce ran out not always replaced. No kettle in room. Wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

    Location was in a good area with nice resturants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel near Wriggly and the Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the breakfast could have been nicer. But I would still stay there again

    Loved the loacation right by Wriggly and the lake. The staff was great. They gave a free bottle of wine because our bathroom light wasn't working. And the night desk clerk gave us great info on where to watch the fireworks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay if heading to Wrigley - easy walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service - not much food choice all reheated by microwave but well price for what you get - and good. Just need more choices and Pepsi (not everyone like Coke).

    Very quiet comfortable place to unwind after a Chicago Cubs game - an easy walk to Wrigley and back! Will be back again next year for another Cubbie game :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced and Extremely dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was very dated and dingy not to mention incredibaly small. The attempt to compensate with a well stocked mini bar was nice. The one elevator is 4.5"x2.5" in size and can accommodate no more than 2 adults with 2 small pieces of luggage. While coffe and tea are available 24 hours there is no restaurant or bar and there a few near by (.25 mile from the hotel). If you come for an event at Wrigley Field such as a concert, expect to spend $360 per night for the experience described above. Since the Majestic is the only hotel in realistic walking distance from Wrigley there is a mini monopoly on supply-demand. Parking at the separate garage which is around the block is complimentary for the first 24 hours. I would recommend if you are driving arrive to the Wrigley area early, have an early dinner and either drive home or to another less expensive and of much better quality for the money hotel than the Majestic. Bottom line is that after the concert we checked out of our paid room and drive home (50 miles) instead of spending the night in this uncomfortable and extremely dated hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Good time in Chicage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a hot item for breakfast. Small elevator. The Cub's lost!!!!

    The Location to Wrigley field was great. The staff was very helpful. The people in the neighborhood were very polite and talkative. We had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    The bed was comfortable and the room/bathroom clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small for the $$, the hall carpets had some staining and so did the room's carpet. The was no view for the $$ and the outside glass filthy. I know with the tightness of the building, almost impossible to clean the window.

    The bed was comfortable and the room/bathroom clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    If you are going to Wrigley...this is the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok. But then I didn't come for the breakfast.

    The staff was very friendly. It was perfect for Wrigley Field. The walk to Wrigley was not too long and I felt very safe in the area after the game. I loved the neighborhood feel of the street. I liked the "old" feel of the hotel. Plenty of space. Very cold AC. Neighborhood residents were friendly too. I used the safe deposit box for my valuables. The parking was very close and it was covered. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was super dated, the shower rod wasn't installed correctly. The shower head leaked and wasn't adjustable. The room was super small with nowhere to sit except the bed. Forget asking guests to you room for a drink. It's fine for a short stay, but that's all. Breakfast was passable. They ran out of certain types of food and there was no backup. Finally, there was a power outage in the neighborhood and the hotel does not have a backup generator.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    May 2017 stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors slam VERY LOUDLY to the rooms, definitely need closers on them. Also need some ventilation in the bathroom. Even taking a cool shower steams up the room like a sauna.

    Staff were great: polite, friendly, accomodating, available 24/7 for any needs, responsive to requests, very helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable (where DO they get those pillows?) Nice continental breakfast; great coffee! A very cool place, not a cookie cutter hotel, lots of character and ambience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything that was disagreeable.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was also pretty quiet which is also a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Floors were very creeky, small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors were very creeky, small room. Our room was cold with no knob on the heater for us to turn it up. The room above us, the people walked around until 230 a.m. then left their TV on, loud enough we could hear it, and then started walking around again at 530 a.m. We only got about 3 hours of sleep due to the floors creeking and the TV being on up there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.5
    Overall, my stay was fine but I will NEVER book another hotel reservation using Booking.Com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the parking away from the property. Plus the staff did not know what size of a chevy tahoe is which forced me to park further away from the property. At check-in they had the wrong name and address for my room reservation which was booked using Booking.Com web site.

    Coffee was great and the breakfast was very good. The bedroom had a comfortable bed and the TV worked perfectly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice boutique hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late cleaning of room-not a big deal but most hotels have this done by 2 pm. Breakfast was good-fresh fruit salad would be nice to have.

    Good for access to CTA bus stops. Ok for access to CTA trains-about 7 block walk to el stop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice room but if you like to stay warm inside bring extra layers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Radiator heating is a definite negative. Clanking and banging in the middle of the night was terrible. Room was always cold. Not used to having to wear extra layers inside. Floor was creaky and a bit uneven.

    Room was clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was close to areas we needed to get to.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Gorgeous little hotel with a lot of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom got quite warm in our room and we couldn't figure out the radiator. Not a huge deal, though.

    Everything was amazing. A quaint and sweet little place that was very homey with a lot of personality. Kind of a 20's, Agatha Christie murder mystery feel. Amazing staff. They were all so talkative and helpful, and quite funny at times.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    A very European experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It is exactly what it is.

    A very European experience. This is an old small apartment hotel building. Nice and clean, not recently updated, reminded me of the small business hotel we stayed at in the 22nd A. in Paris. Bed so comfortable. Everything works, staff is adorable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.0
    Not worth what I paid for and the pictures are deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were way smaller than pictured and the place was super hot. I had to turn off the heater and open the window (it was under 30F outside) and it was still too warm with the window cracked a little bit. Super noisy. I could hear the people in the adjoining room talking plus the door to the stairwell and maid closet/storage slamming every two minutes. Breakfast was (included) but it consisted of nothing anyone would want to eat. For the same price I could have stayed at the W Lakeshore Drive.

    The distance to Boystown as well as the Lake was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Inviting home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor could use a refresh and should return to complimenting the period of the building.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Inviting atmosphere with comfortable library for reading, enjoying breakfast or just sitting by the fire relaxing with a cup of coffee. Beds very comfortable and rooms clean. Have stayed here multiple times and always enjoyed it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    I always love this old hotel and it's a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had more trouble than usual finding parking in the area but it was during the Christmas holiday so maybe more crowded than other times.

    I always love this old hotel and it's a great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    A relaxed place near wrigley field.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking went up in price than last year and there are two different buildings that you can park with two completely different systems.

    The staff is really nice. There's a lot to eat near by. It's near lots of public transportation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.1
    Good for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls meant that we heard people in adjacent rooms.

    Traditional Hotel with a great location. Walking distance to Wrigley. $10 Uber ride to Old Town. Staff were very helpful. Excellent WiFi. Its a great place to stay for a weekend in Chicago without breaking the bank.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Had a wonderful romantic getaway at The Majestic. Close to affordable parking with a great lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We lost internet connectivity and the staff was not able to provide and answer as to why.

    We loved the location. Away from downtown, but close to Lakeshore Dr. Close proximity to parking and a quiet neighborhood. The prices for the mini-bar and in-room snacks were very fair. I ordered a bottle of champagne from the hotel. They chilled it and took it to our room. The lounge was remarkable. Very cozy by the fireplace.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Perfect Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival we were treated like family. Mona, Rick and all the staff were very helpful! Super close to our evening activity - within walking distance. Quiet, clean, cozy room. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with One King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was a downer. We ended up just having coffee and going to a local restaurant for breakfast/brunch most days. The sweet rolls were ok though.

    Very comfortable place to stay! The meeting room with the gas fireplace and decorated for Christmas was our favorite. We talked over cups of coffee and enjoyed the warm ambience of a luxury hotel lobby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Best price/quality ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is far away from the Loop, where most touristic attractions are. Still, there is a CTA station relatively nearby.

    The hotel is located in Lakeview, a lovely neighborhood in Chicago. It has plenty of restaurants and it's ideal if you want to see another part of the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Majestic Hotel is Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overhead lighting in room was "cold, blue" instead of "warm, yellow (incandescent)". Easily remedied by turning it off and using table lamps. Yeah, I know: I'ma "snowflake".

    I think the location is great. It's only a few blocks from a really good BBQ place and grocery. Good continental breakfast included. Cozy common room (think "study" or "library") with fireplace.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.0
    DON'T BELIEVE THE PICTURES - DECEITFUL. Hotel is old and needs renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pictures are beyond misleading and I will say they are deceitful. The hotel looks NOTHING like the pictures. It looks run down, beat up and in DESPERATE need of a renovation. The price is quite high. I could have gotten a 5* hotel downtown for the same price. The room is basic, the bathroom has pink tiles and a tub with a curtain. No toiletries. Out of 6 nights, I only had "breakfast" once. Serving a few pastries, cake, coffee and tea doesn't mean you serve breakfast; another misleading point about this hotel. The location is beautiful if you have a reason to be up there, otherwise stay downtown.

    It's actually mind-boggling that this hotel has such high ratings. In fact, it completely discredits this review/rating system. What I liked: Hotel and room are pretty clean, it was convenient because I had friends who live in the area. Good internet. That's about it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.3
    An outstanding hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is very tiny But the room is right by the stairs. Overall, it is an excellent hotel.

    Perfect location and a big room with 2 queen size beds and a nice sofa bed. complimentary breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.9
    My Go To Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi can be difficult on third floor.

    Awesome location. Great, relaxing great room. 24/7 coffee/tea. Okay breakfast selection. My go to Chicago stay spot!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Super majestic :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy radiators and floors unsure if this could be addressed as is an old building.

    Comfortable,relaxed environment. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would use again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    December Weekend in Chicago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in our room clanked intermittently throughout the night waking us up. Elevator was extremely small but I guess it is to be expected in a building that age.

    Staff was extremely friendly and hotel location and cleanliness was outstanding. Very good value for a suite in Chicago. Parking garage was very convenient and a good value.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: