Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Makai Beach Lodge 2 stars

707 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176, USA

#24 of 26 hotels in Ormond Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1251 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds were very uncomfortable. things in room and on facility were very outdated.parking sucked once they got sold out. had to park across road in a vacant trailer parking lot.. also something else about the parking lot. once the clubs and stuff close for the night the parking lot got very busy ppl were burning out squealing tires and honking their horns. their hot tub is also creepily in between 2 parts of their hotel and a building away from the pool. this place definitely needs to use these sold out summer funds for a remodel.

    the staff was very friendly and helpful. anything they asked they nicely answered never seemed like i was a bother. even after we checked out we were still able to park in their lot and go to the beach. also they let my son use their bathroom while we were on the beach that day after we already checked out. the breakfast had plenty to choose from and something for everyone to eat. also they didnt run out of food as soon as they started serving like other hotels we have stayed at. something that was definitely a bonus was we got a basic dbl bed room which was equipped with mini fridge and microwave. which i didnt expect..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was older,the king size bed was uncomfortable. Garbage was piled up in the hallway the whole time we were there.

    The staff was very helpful. Offered umbrellas and other beach items for use. The location is great, directly on the beach. I would suggest a beach side room, away from the pool area,which is quite loud.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that my husband and I had to make curtains out of sheets. We call the front desk 3 times to switch our room as the room next to us was empty. The kitchenette did not have any blinds.

    Convenient and affordable for our last minute anniversary weekend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the cockroaches in our room and the stains on the towels. The pictures of the rooms in booking do not reflect the reality, thus, I feel like I was cheated. The mattresses of the beds are terrible and you sleep sort of in hole, worst scenario for people with back problems. Breakfast is very simple and the coffee terrible. Air conditioner makes a lot of noise.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hair in the bath tub. Stains on the side of the tub. Stains on the towels. It did not look like it was cleaned properly. The pictures of the hotel look much better than what it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a good deep cleaning, appliances were rusted, towels and bedding were dingy and needed updating. Need rules on guilt time, the last night we were there people were in front of the rooms drinking and making a lot of noise until 12 midnight then went to their rooms (on both sides of ours) and we're yelling. Kept me awake so we got up at 1:30th got ready and left. Will not go back there.

    Was a great location and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first got there you could visibly see the wear and tear from the outside. The check in desk sad extremely run down and dirty. But they were kind. The pool area was covered during the afternoons by the building so if turned cold in the late day. We stayed with family. Our room was by far the worst of all of them. Our deck was wood and sketchy. It smelled old and their was sand under he sheets on the bed. The bathroom was dirty, and small. Our kitchen was a connected hallway with a door to the next suit to us. The only thing stopping them was a locked door and you could hear everything next door. The full kitchen we paid for was a small frig, a bigger sink, a hot plate, and a microwave. So dissapointed after paying almost 400$ for our trip. The breakfast was nasty cold biscuits and gravy. And the eggs were boiled eggs. Never will go back.

    Our view of the beach even partial, was extraordinary. We had a covered deck and it was spacious. The hot tub and baby pool was nice. Kid friendly. The beach was a very very short walk and that was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Update paint on exterior of hotel, walkways ect. Breakfast was a good try; there were any egg except boiled egg; most people consume fried, scrambled over easy. There was only one cereal; no fresh fruit or breakfast meat; just bread biscuits and waffles. The coffee was good; but there was NO real choice in food to eat. Mcdonalds was a better value for $15 for the two of us.ok

    Room was great and the view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property really needs a good pressure washing. Hair balls in dark staircases, my room really need a good sweeping with sand all over the floor and soap shavings behind the bathroom door. Bring your own towels as there's are very thin and rough. Be quick about getting breakfast. They say it's until 10am but have most of everything up by 9:40. Wasn't the best stay but thankfully it was only one night.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com advertised fridge and microwave, we had neither. Upon checking into room, sand everywhere, EVEN IN OUR BED! On bathroom counter! People next door were smoking, which is against policy, stunk up our room and balcony. Changed rooms and maintenance was hammering and banging from 9:00 am till we decided to leave at 2:45. 2 pit bulls barked all day! Cigarette butts on our balcony. Air conditioners were all dripping down the walls, with tons of mold! We were told they were renovating and wouldn’t continue past 4:00 or so. However, the banging and hammering and yelling went on all day! So much for our quiet and relaxing vacation. The 2 women working the front desk were very nice and professional.

    RUN!!!! Do not stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be a bit more diverse but you can’t really complain when it’s included for free. Some of the chairs and toys were broken but at the same time they are provided for no charge.

    The property was right on the beach, miniature golf across the street, great food around you in a short drive, so the location is perfect. It’s pretty cool that the hotel will lend you toys chairs umbrellas boogie boards and floaties for the family to enjoy. Front desk personnel was awesome! Very friendly helpful and accommodating!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could’ve had more options, and the bed frame could’ve had more protection on the end. I whacked my shin multiple times in the night (I know, my fault).

    Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was amazing, right on the beach, easy access to the beach as well. Not too far from Daytona, but enough to avoid the crazy Daytona life. Overall, an amazing trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was nasty and didn’t work. Kitchen was disgusting, missed maid service and needed fresh towels, staff acted like it was a sin. Breakfast isn’t fit for your dog. Place was a dump, stay far away.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled musty.we found out why when it started raining. ...the water from upstairs balcony poured in our room...bubbles in the ceiling from the water.staff was not the most courteous....

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. Room & building are falling apart. Dirty mattress and hard because it is outdated and old. AC doesn't work properly.

    Next to beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee pot in room. Poor tv service. No breakfast items when we went an hr after they started serving it. We were able to get a waffle and some weak coffee.

    I was told there would be a coffee pot in our room and I may want to bring a filter. There was no coffee pot. Breakfast was 730-10, but they hardly had any food when we went at 830am. They had satellite and bad weather haf satellite all messed up. It was okay, but for $162/night I expected way more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is old and run down and we had to be moved 3 times before we got to a room that wasn’t infested with bugs! Staff did their best to get us into a better room but we still had some bugs and the toilet didn’t work. I was just overall disappointed! Breakfast wasn’t worth eating and the motel pictures are extremely deceiving. I have a ton of pics on my phone but just way to many to upload! Place is just really old and needs way too much work to get up to code, etc. Just take my advice and book elsewhere. I really wish I had known more before I booked here. I’ll never stay again!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better enforcement on people cleaning up after pets and keeping them out of certain areas. We had our pets with us and obey the rules but not everyone did the same

    Gravy and biscuit was a hit for my husband! Loved the fact that pet were allowed. Staff were helpful when asked, but otherwise just left you alone.close to ocean and great view from balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clientelle was simething left be deaired not very classy lower class really brought hotel down. My towel got stolen was very disappointing. Parents not watch children letting them run all over place an elevator

    Staff was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One elevator. Not a smart elevator,stops for all buttons, non directional. Baggage cart awful. Parking awful,too few, too small. Breakfast is all carbs. Need some real food. Can you say protein.

    View, and staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place itself was really run down. The kitchenette was really old and needed renovation. We were told there was CNN on TV, no CNN, only very conservative news stations and the daily newspaper was also very biased. We were surprised that a company would offer such slanted news to its customers. Not everybody appreciates biased news especially in a commercial place where money is being spent. Because of this we will probably not return which is unfortunate because the price was right and the staff were wonderful.

    On the beach, could bring our dog, breakfast waffles were good one day but not offered on day 2. On a positive note, we left some clothing there and the staff were wonderful about getting our things back to us. All of the staff were kind and courteous and especially Aleshia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was built in the 1950's and there hasn't been much upkeep maintenance wise. It is a bit run down with quick fixes being done( like our bathroom ceiling must have leaked at some point and a quick patch was put on) Our tv wouldn't stay on, I think from the dampness being right on the ocean got in it. The hot tub was really a hot bathtub, the jets did not work properly. Our balcony was wood and could have really used a repaint.

    rooms were clean, nice balcony, staff was excellent, and the continental breakfast was outstanding. Someone will even cook you waffles. The pool and kiddie pool was nice. Every guest we met was nice and friendly. The window opens and you can leave the balcony door open creating a nice ocean breeze. The picnic tables and grills are right on the seawall to the beach, so it was nice sitting there and grilling where you could watch the kids playing on the beach. They also offer free beach toys and pool toys.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin. The rooms smell. Appear to not have been cleaned in months. Squished bugs all over the walls. Filthy floors, showers, bathrooms in general, just tiny and gross all around.

    Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were lied to for the first two nights of our stay when rooms didn't have cable working. This was our 2nd stay with 2 rooms for 7 days and we had problems both timmes. Marketing Manager was great both times. Problems were resolved on both stays.

    Beds were comfy, breakfast was not extreme but good. Alisha is awesome, she let us check out other rooms and has always been very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was very uncomfortable. My air conditioning wasn't working properly, and despite many calls to the front office, no one came to check it or fix it and they did not relocate me to another room.

    location on the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every hotel I looked at showed jacuzzi tubs but none of them had one. And breakfast did not look like the pictures on booking. Com

    I liked that it was right on the beach. I liked how clean everything was. And the staff was beyond nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I booked was not the room that was shown on the website. They had a cancellation when I got there and I had to call Booking.com to get another room. The first room was not cleaned at all and smelled when I got there. You could see through the cracks of the bathroom door. The fridge was sour smelling. The door hit the bed when you opened it coming in. Very disappointed in the booking, but thankful that someone cancelled when I got there after driving 11 hours for a wedding. There were only 2 good areas to stay that looked liked the picture on website. They had to be booked months in advance. Very disappointed but stayed in the other room because the hotels were all booked up for beach week. Great spot on beach.

    They gave me another room to stay in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need more supplies in kitchen with larger coffee pots. People smoking pot next room over. Blanket on bed was like foam rubber/ very scratchy

    View was wonderful Staff is great and a couple small problems were fixed promptly Beds were comfortable, room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed repair but was tolerable. There was some water damage in the bathroom and hallway

    The staff was nice and friendly and upgraded to a beach front room for free

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great,very friendly and helpful, the property needs updating other than that it's a great place.

    Shopping and dining are very easy to get to, very good prices, The beach goes on for miles in either direction

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where ran down and poorly insulated. Breakfast area was dirty and looked aged.there also was very little space to park.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, mold in and around bathroom. No 2nd lock to lock door at bedtime. Chairs filthy. Towels stained. Hot tub dirty with one working jet.

    Staff at desk were nice upon checking in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The bigger dogs that were there pooped at elevator and their owner didn't get it up. When reported to manager he had it cleaned in a few minutes.

    Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was served every morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was nothing close to what i expected! Mattress looked like it was picked up off the trash pile. Had to go by disinfectant spray to ensure clean. Found a pill stuck to a chair. Sofa was full of dust. Bathroom had white towels that look like they were used to change oil on a car. Had to go buy our own towels and sheets. Stay off the patio..it may fall down.

    AC was cold..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the shower. I called the front desk and they assured me it would be taken care of, but the next morning I took my second cold shower. When I tried to address it with the staff, they said my expectations of hot water were too high and said "we'll look into it..." Very disappointed in this stay.

    Literally nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful. Juice watered down, milk room temp and almost spoiled. Not much offered, waffle, hard biscuits, no fresh fruit just caned fruit cocktail. Vending area dirty and dark. First rm very dated, ph nor tv worked, finally moved me at 10:30pm. Parking situation is awful as well. Not sure I will book nor recommend then to anyone.

    Location is great. Convenient to everything, view is fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is unsecured and does not work at all. The rooms looked clean but had a mildew smell. Phone was broken and they never came to fix it. Breakfast buffet was very limited and under stocked ( biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, canned fruit cocktail, cottage cheese, Cheerios, toast, mini cinnamon buns, and waffles. Cleaning lady made my husband take our dirty towels down to laundry and pick up more instead of her doing it when he brought them to her on our second day. Limited parking some have to park across the street and cross A1A (four line road) with no crosswalk insight. Location was beautiful and close to a lot of restaurants and Souvenir shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV signal poor, room was not really clean,things in there felt sticky silverware rusty. Bathroom door not standard size very narrow. People yellling at 2a.m. in parking lot. Room looked nothing like picturesfrom booking.com

    Balcony was great with view of ocean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchenette was disgusting, 50s stove with aluminum foil under burners, very dusty and tiny. Toilet paper had orange spots. Breakfast was inedible. Wifi was iffy. Everthing was dirty and smelt disgusting. My advice do not stay here

    Front desk people were very nice. Beach was close

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The .bldg. was old, that's why it had such a great location. We will go back again. Spent our time on the lanai reading & wave watching.

    I picked this hotel for the view outside the sliding glass door. I wanted to be on the beach, not a football field away. Yes the bldg. was old, but what do you expect for the money! It was clean & the bathroom had been redone in our unit. The beds were good & clean, first thing I check! We watched the sunrise every morning! & walked the beach. Breakfast was what you would expect for a free breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The con that was placed on booking.com. After booking room, a msg. came up for more money I could have a beach front room. I did and got one with a kitchenette. We were told all kitchen items are provided. When we arrived there was only one pot and one collender. No fry pan or flat item to bake. The floors were inadequate as far as cleanliness. Toilet flapper continually got stuck in the open position. Dirt in all the corners. Also the parking lot was unbelievable. Spaces were jammed together with only enough room to barely fit your car into. And only one elevator. For the prices being charged, management needs to do a better presentation of your product for return business.

    Had one & done breakfast. Had boil eggs (cold), cereal, cold biscuits that needed microwaving with gravy that was kept warn in a slow cooker. Coffee was hot & orange juice cold. You tell me if that was a good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nasty the coffee pot had mold growing in it the room did not have a child lock on the door a liquor bottle on the floor window s was falling out people drinking yelling all night smoking weed out side our door will never stay there again

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, it was filthy. Mattresses need updated, dirty.

    The room was dirty, floor was dirty, the building needs updates, holes in walls in room, the refrigerator froze up, called he just plugged it back in. Sliding door had no lock just a bar over door. The floors dirty water dripping in tub, rusty. It was aweful and I had my 4 year old granddaughter with. I was suppose to stay two days I checked out first thing in morning and went down the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tile floor stained our feet, just filthy. Tub didn't drain, kitchen stove didn't work. Breakfast was all gone at 830 and wasn't enough variety. Was no breakfast

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms,smells, old linens , no pool/Beach towels , it was the worse place I every stayed at . We didn't even eat the breakfast we we're so disgusted. No wifi

    Location is the only thing this hotel has .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the property is an eye sore. So much decay and things in need of repair or poorly repaired. The sheets were over chlorinated making them itchy to sensitive skin and respiratory systems. In Booking.com were told we would have a kitchen net and a side view of the beach, which was not the case. Although pets are allowed, they are allowed only to be curbed on a less then 2 foot area in front of the hotel were cars are loud and fast, often scaring the dog.

    The staff was excellent. From the gentleman at the front desk to the gentleman working the breakfast area. They were helpful, kind and accommodating. The rooms were neat and clean. Our service dog was allowed, which which was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A demo and rebuild of this place.

    Hair was in tbe bed. The place did not look like the pictures that represented it. Rampant open drug use throughout the hotel. Never take your family here if you care about them!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appliances in kitchen need replacing..rusty

    Continental breakfast was terrible. Fruit etc in plastic bowls places on ice. It was in the main lobby of the hotel..very small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead roaches behind the bed. Paint peeling off. Whole on the bathroom ceiling. No lock on the slide door. Hair on the sheets...absolutely disgusting!!

    Absolutely nothing. This place is disgusting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos were very deceiving...what you see is the complete opposite of what you get. The only true photos were the ones of the ocean view. This hotel is in need of a COMPLETE renovation, starting from the check-in lobby smells like pure cigarettes and god only knows what else, not very welcoming. The parking is a hot mess. I felt dirty just being there from beginning to end. Lamp shades had mold. Couldn't open balcony sliding door and enjoy the only one thing nice, that I paid extra for, OCEAN VIEW. When we arrived there was a door open that leads into a kitchen that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. It is shared with the neighbor, completely open with someone that apparently lives there. Had to call Steve to come lock the door. He was very nice and quick, but still to be honest I felt uncomfortable knowing this. They have a mini fridge and microwave right next to the bed. The fridge makes a noise all night, a loud terrible noise! The cleaning lady just came into the room as she knocked, she didn't knock and wait for an answer she just came right in as we were all sleeping. It was around 10 am and check out is at 11 am. However, I had a late check out until 2 pm that was granted at 7 am. I only stayed one night, and they charged me for two nights.. Had to call and they said it wasn't them it was bookig.com. I called booking.com and they call them and at that point, they acknowledged their mistake and issued a refund within 3 days. It is sad that this hotel is in this type of condition. It has such a beautiful ocean view and access, close to everything, but unfortunately not worth it.

    Check in Staff was nice beautiful ocean view and access Pillows were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything!!!!

    Dirty dirty dirty The place is falling apart beds broken mattress had holes in it there was trash everywhere holes in the walls It should have cost 20.00 a night I felt like I was at a low rent motel!!! I would never ever recommend this place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything was broken/had to be reported upon check in to avoid having to pay extra for what was broken when we got in. The rooms weren't the cleanest and some of the staff members were vocal in their complaints when asked for something as simple as towels. The breakfast was not up to par and seemed a bit unsanitary.

    Some of the staff was friendly and nice and it was close to where we needed to get to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything The room was dirty the air conditioner didn’t work we told him about the air-conditioner they said they would be up to fix it never showed up horrible place to stay

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was nice, made beds & changed out towels but did not sweep. You track in a lot of sand on the tile floor & would have been nice to sweep or leave broom where I could sweep if I needed too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel experience. Never have I ever heard of a 4pm check in, and then have to wait another 30 minutes to check in because the room wasn't clean after being told at 2:00pm it would be ready in 30 minutes. When we got in there we checked out the room. My boyfriend had to fix the sliding glass door due to being off track, the microwave smelled like dead fish, the refrigerator was rusted and there was a hole in the bathroom wall. The room was very outdated. There was no coffee maker in the room either.

    The beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on website were wrong we have a problem with our water the whole time it’s smelled the bed covers were old the stuff wasn’t friendly I also booked a ocean front room and didn’t receive hot tub was very dirty I will not be staying here again I would have left if I could have found another room but Everything was booked because of spring break

    Location and big rooms that’s all I can say

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a good $59.00 a night room not $160.00 the hot tub looked like it had creek water in it. Room was sub par for anything in this price range. Noisy. The area in back between hot tub and pool is rough bad walking conditions. Over all not a good place at all for that kind of money

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark because it only had one small lamp in it for lighting. The parking was awkward and inconvenient. Don't bring a larger type vehicle. The entire hotel is in need of a makeover.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Easy access to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette has live electric wires hanging in the sink therefore the kitchen was not usable unless I wanted to get electrocuted. Very small and dirty.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible. Complex itself Is very old and in great need of renovation. Bathroom ceiling caving in and repair attempted and caving in again. Unit kept clean and beds comfortable. Pool was okay. Nothing on beach to rent like umbrella or chairs. Units were quiet. People below went on porch and smoked cigars all day and night and the smell was constant in our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels, sheets too old! Pillows not good! Door handle to back porch is very loose and entry door going in hotel room (someone can easily break in!) Room not very clean and smells like strong bleach!

    Loves the beach and view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The motel is definitely showing its age and is due for a facelift. The elevator was a little claustrophobic, my children refused to use it. The hot tub was in desperate need of some repair. Rumor had it that it was damaged in a hurricane and I wouldn’t be surprised. The jets were clogged and there was sand at the bottom of the tub because there was no wash/off station near the hot tub. The WiFi was absolutely terrible. I know we don’t go to the beach for internet but I had homework to do and had to find a cafe because while there are many WiFi connections with great signal, the actual connection speed is turtle-slow.

    The price is good for the location. It’s midway between the two main access points to the Daytona/Ormond area. You get a decent breakfast with fresh waffles, and the breakfast staff are very nice. The pool is great; it has a ledge all the way around so parents can sit in the pool but don’t have to be “in” the water.. The access to the beach is amazing and there are picnic tables all over the back yard. There are pool and beach toys available to borrow in the front office. The office staff are very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poorly stocked and understaffed. My daughter, age 25, had a roach in her room and noisy construction in the room next door for a few days. The hot tub was not working properly. Stairways/sidewalks/grass area dirty and littered

    Beach access and my room was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold in the bathtub. The front desk smelled like stale smoke. The pictures on the website are deceiving. The hotel is run down and dirty. We did not have any towels in the room when we got there, we did not have a blanket on one of the beds the refrigerator was leaking water all over the floor. There we finger prints on the sliding glass door. When we went to the front desk to complain and get towels the kid at the desk asked if we wanted to check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not look like the pictures online as the place as a whole seems ran down, in need of some updates. The breakfast was interesting, had to warm the biscuits and gravy in a microwave, only had one person working it and he was the only one who could make waffles so that took a while. The area where breakfast was had dust bunnies everywhere. The arms of the chairs in our room where stained with dirt.

    The room was clean and the beach view was amazing. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos were very deceiving and misleading. Continental breakfast was very minimal and they ran out of food very early. Hotel was rundown. Many amenities not functioning. Peeling paint and drawers not functioning. Our room was broken into by another guest because it wasn’t properly secured. Lounge chairs were falling apart. Hot tub was full of sand. I would not classify this as a resort in any sense of the word.

    Close to the beach, views were gorgeous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not as advertised, the facility was not as advertised, and overall it was dirty and grimy.

    The room was a nice size. It had a homey feel to it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening and night staff specifically the male were very rude and unhelpful with attitude. Parking sucked. We had to get new door card keys 4 times

    The bed was comfortable.the shower was hot with good pressure. Right in the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean, no one came to clean except one day, we had to get our own towels and exchange them for clean ones they were short staffed. Sliding window to balcony hard to open it was so rusted.

    The beds were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The man at the reception treated us terrible, not sure what his problem was. -After saying our booking was not valid, and what “Booking” said didn’t matter to him, we asked him to please find us a room as we came all the way there with our kids and dogs...after making us wait and suggesting to go to another hotel, he gave us a terrible room...and charged $40/ day for the dogs! - No kitchen in our room -No views - Room was communicated with another one, so the other person in that room opened it and found us sleeping in the other side...terrible... -Breakfast not enough even though we woke up at 8 am! Not even coffee, sugar was wet...Empty trays! Everything really dirty! -Check out is at 10, and they literally kick you out! - Room and facilities are from the 80s and dirty! -It’s better to find another hotel even if you have to pay $20 more! It’s worth it! This hotel should be closed!

    It is at the beach (like most of the hotels in the area), that’s it...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was dirty. I went and bought cleaning supplies and a swiffer to clean our room, along with mattress covers and our own sheets and pillows. WE switched rooms 2 times and by our 2nd room we were over moving our things and just decided to clean ourselves.

    I liked that we were just walks away from the beach. The location was perfect. And i liked how we had a sliding glass door that lead to a courtyard where the kids could play while we were in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette and bathroom for the room we were assigned were very old and need to be updated. The rusty stove top and damaged particle board cabinets were usable but certainly not pretty.

    We enjoyed the location being right on the beach. The stove and microwave looked newer. Breakfast had a nice selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st. Thing was to kill a roach, now my kids and wife are edgy, the rooms need a lot of attention, rooms are not proper clean or maintain, we had to buy bedding sheet so we could sleep the first and only night, we couldn't leave because everything was sold-out and it was 11:30pm, I sleep like Dracula, didn't wanna move a inch. Overall is one of those things you see other people go through and you say that will never happen to me. There's always a 1st. Time for everything. But Booking.com need to verify all the hotels, motel, lodge, anything the you sell throughout Booking.com need a standard because that was the lowest I have seen for a room quality and for $175+ a night I rather a luxury hotel, about the same price but at least clean everything.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room floor was very dirty, 2 cockroaches, sofa bed linen was dirty, and the air conditioner took very long to cool down the room.

    The room style was excellent. King sized bed was huge to accomodate three people and a bonus sofa bed. Also, hotel staff was very kind and understanding. They did anything they could to make our stay better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Kitchenette and Ocean Front View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience. Hotel is filthy and staff are extremely rude and careless. Traveling with small kids I so had to clean my bathroom and request linen to make my beds, because as stated by the front desk they don’t have housekeeping personal at night; floor was sticky and there were roaches everywhere. Had to stayed there for one night because every hotel was sold out around the area

    Nothing, this property should be close down.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Makai Beach Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: