Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Alabama hotel reviews
  4. Mobile hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Malaga Inn

Reviews of Malaga Inn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

359 Church Street, Mobile, AL 36602, United States of America

#15 of 43 hotels in Mobile

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our stay at the Malaga Inn and will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The back of the tub/shower combo is open, making it hard to keep water off the floor (and enjoy the shower.) There was a constant sound of running water in the room (no idea where it was coming from)...wasn't loud or particularly annoying...but wish it wasn't present. Towels/wash clothes were old (hole/stains.)

    Great location...safe and walkable to most attractions/restaurants. The courtyard is beautiful and a joy to hang out in! Breakfast was a pleasant surprise...nice choices and tasty.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Malaga Inn is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing not to like. This hotel is perfect!

    By far the cutest and sweetest hotel we have ever been in. It is rustic and old school and very "south". This hotel is underrated for what it is. It should be 5 star!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.5
    Cool place, would go back, great staff, fun area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Less pan handlers, but that's not their problem. Felt like we needed more security, but never felt scared. City needs to do their due diligence imo.

    Beds we're good, breakfast was great, staff was extremely nice. Enjoyed hanging out with Jordan. Very close to other attractions such as breweries and historical venues. Would go back.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.6
    Charming hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tissues in room, only one wastebasket, styrofoam cups for breakfast deinks

    Great location, nice room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location and the nicest staff I've ever encountered
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a great old historic building. Drawback is it's really noisy. The bathtub was not cleaned during our stay and the water drained slowly. That was our only true negative.

    The staff was wonderful. Owner Jason, who also attends the the little bar, is the perfect host and super accommodating to guests.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Gracious Inn in Mobile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the antique decor. Great old furniture !! Such a wonderful atmosphere . Beautiful courtyard with fountain. Rockers on porches for relaxation. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    4.0
    All things considered, one of worse experience I’ve hafnium travel and I’ve traveled extensively.
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place looked unkept and seedy. Room was substandard. Lack of common amenities. Would not have stayed if not for no cancellation policy. Parking fee added insult to injury.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.3
    Splendid old facility has the distinnctive Mobile qualities...
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is difficult to keep a fine old place in tip-top condition.

    Splendid old facility has the distinnctive Mobile qualities that most people associate with New Orleans. Beautiful courtyard garden, elaborate wrought iron , incredible live oaks with gteat parks across the narrow street in front, all of it a stone’s throw from major event facilities and businesses.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    Great bed and breakfast place a must if you need a place to stay close to bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything that could have been better. Like the whole atmosphere about the place.

    Every thing was great love how they decorated for Halloween. Room over looked center courtyard. It was beautiful. Staff was great. Little bar was cozy . Breakfast was good. We enjoyed it will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    3.8
    The open air quadrangle in the center of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of cleanliness of the rooms, limited updates throughout the hotel and poor service of the staff.

    The open air quadrangle in the center of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.3
    Very historic and elegant, one of a kind!
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Queen Bed Courtyard with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a little hard and the pillows were small

    Very historic and elegant, one of a kind! Great location for touring the parks and museums. Also easy walking distance to several shops and restaurants. I would suggest staying in one of the original front rooms with a balcony.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    lovely environment and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish it had a fridge or microwave.

    The room was beautiful and beds were very comfortable. The courtyard view was amazing! Staying in a historic building was such a treat. The icing on the cake was having to use a real key to open our door!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    The atmosphere and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only complaint I would have is someone used too much wax on the wood floors in the room. They were actually sticky. I’m thinking this was possibly a one-time mistake.

    The atmosphere and location. It felt like a calmer New Orleans boutique hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.6
    We had a good stay, in an elegant hotel, with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was not so forthcoming to help when I made a mistake with the reservation.

    Personnel was forthcoming and friendly. Ambience elegant, close by restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.2
    A must stay that is on my list as one of the best!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. Particularly the morning breakfast staff. They also didn’t have a high chair for breakfast so my son had no way of eating there during our stay unless he crawled about the floor. Not ideal.

    A beautiful elegant hotel with lots of history and character! Loved our stay so much and will definetley come back again. It was a perfect location and the rooms are perfect for a family and if you are looking for old school charm!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.5
    Overall loved being there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked my room to look more fresh. Bathroom tub not clean

    The Inn was very pretty loved the open courtyard. Cleaning staff every friendly. Convenient to eating establishments and park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    The hotel is an historic landmark in downtown Mobile.
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is an historic landmark in downtown Mobile. It has been tastefully made into a boutique hotel. Our room opened onto a lovely courtyard with a fountain. There is a bar that opens onto the courtyard and a delightful complimentary breakfast is served in the morning in a dining room adjacent to the bar. The staff is friendly and helpful and one gets a feel of old fashioned Southern charm and hospitality when there. The location is in walking distance to downtown activities day or night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel and beautiful Court yard. Could use some improvement in room and breakfast 🤔
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Double Beds, Historic W/ Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was mildew on the shower curtain. To go outside to our balcony we did have to lift up a very heavy window and prop it open it wasn't a regular door but the balcony was awesome. The water got really hot and it was hard to adjust it while you're in the shower without going from one extreme to another and to turn the shower head off and on it was a chore

    I thought that the hotel who's really cool and nice and the courtyard looks really pretty. Breakfast was a joke but I did get up late both mornings they said they start from 6:30 till 10:30, so I assume until at least 10 everything should be fresh and stocked but it wasn't

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    A step back in History - great location, authentic New Orleans style, safe and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that wasn't excellent was the tv. While we didn't go to Mobile to watch tv, due to rain we ended up back in the room earlier than planned. We struggled to watch the 14" tv in the armoire. I know that is a first-world problem and admittedly we are a spoiled society. But come on... get in the 21st century. Keep the beautiful antique armoire and hang a flat screen on the wall.

    What a great location in downtown Mobile! It had an authentic New Orleans/Creole feel. The facility felt safe with the only way in/out was past the front desk. Parking was behind beautiful brick and wrought iron fencing with one driveway. The room was clean with a great antique feel. All the necessities available. We walked a few short blocks to dinner and felt safe the entire time. (some great parks and rich architecture in this area) The beds were plenty comfortable. Breakfast - cheese grits, biscuits, sausage, gravy, muffins, bagels, grapes, apples, oranges, and juice. And the coffee and entire staff were excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    5.5
    Magala Inn, Mobile Alabama
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned. It had dirty boot prints on the bathroom floor, as well as inside of the bathtub. The dirt washed away as soon as we turned on the shower. Which made us wonder if the room had really been clean? Our sheets also had stains. The water from the sink in 310 ran out yellow. All in all it would have been a great stay if a little more attention would have been given to the cleanliness of the room.

    The property itself was beautiful. We loved the older building with classic decoration. The patio garden was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place and great location, enjoyed staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Historic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought we would have a bath tub as well as a shower, next time we will request a tub room as well.

    Loved the historic rooms, the decor and general ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything at the Inn! Breakfast was great! Reggie working at the front desk was truly a sweet great and very helpful guy! We couldn’t figure out how to get in the parking lot, and he took the time to go outside and look for us, and showed us where to go in! The staff were all great! Definitely will go back again!

    Had a great time!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    6.7
    Decent stay, could of been excellent if the small details were tending to.
    • Couple
    • King Bed Historic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could be set up a little better, tv is to low to the floor, no waste basket in bedroom. No wash rags and only one towel were in the bathroom...... Brand of coffee is horrible.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    6.3
    Somewhat disappointed.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no electrical outlets near the head of the bed. There was a lamp, but no place to plug it in. My husband and I both sleep with c-paps. We had to go to Lowe’s to buy extension cords to use them. Bathtub stopped up with first use and would not drain. It looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. There was no WiFi in our room. They seemed puzzled when we asked about it but later said they had amplifiers out but were not replaced. Check in time is 2p. The desk clerk told us that our room was ready but it was not. The maids became flustered when we arrived and hurried to get through. Left no towels and it took hours to get some. No toiletries left. Had to go out and buy shampoo and conditioner. The best thing was the beds. They were very comfortable and we slept well, once we were able to get the room cool.

    At one time, this property was probably magical but is in need of repair.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with King Bed Historic W/ Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioner thermostat was in Celsius not Fahrenheit. That's about all I can find.

    Everything! The continental breakfast was really good. The view was fantastic. The room was royal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    10
    Loved it!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with King Bed Historic W/ Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place amazing. We stayed in a balcony room and I was blown away by how you access the balcony. There is no door because when the building was built they got taxed for the number of doors in the building, so, you access it through a floor to ceiling window...very cool. The room was very clean and comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful and the staff and owner are very accommodating. Loved the preserved historic features of the property. It is located within walking distance of the downtown entertainment district. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.9
    Location was fantastic and in the historical section of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were questionable yellow stains in the middle of the bottom bed sheet but the sheets appeared clean. Extra towels were requested upon arrival, after 9 pm and again in the morning to accommodate 4 of us in the room but were never received. No regular coffee or cream was in the room.

    Location was fantastic and in the historical section of Mobile.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    A gracious, charming and superb hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of much at all that I disliked.

    This hotel has been operated by an old Mobile family for generations, and the current family member who runs the place is very hands-on. The staff, without exception, is smart, charming, and extremely accommodating. The large courtyard with fountain is a beautiful place to relax. The room furnishings are old, authentic and tasteful. The location is excellent; it is within a quick and easy walk to the nightlife along Dauphin Street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.6
    It was an amazing stay. Plan to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness/smell of room of 311 including floor. Cleanliness of tub, sink, and wall near bedside table in 119.

    I chose this Inn due to it's uniqueness, location, price, and charm for my son's 22nd birthday. I wanted the full historic feel of staying downtown and walking to restaurants. Jordan was very hospitable at Mayme's bar that was located in the old carriage house tack room. He went out of his way to make a superb twist of my special request of a Mai Tai and kept the vinyl playing for his guests. The place is very laid back and chill. 😊You could feel the history here and that made the experience so authentic! Angela was awesome at the front desk and made sure our expectations were met. The suite in 119 was amazingly large, comfy, and quiet. Jordan's advice on where to go for dinner was right on target for our liking. They made you feel like home, and I felt like I had a new family. One night was not enough! It would have been great if weather was cooler to enjoy the elegant courtyard. I do plan to return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    5.8
    Bar tender was really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs some deep cleaning and a fresh coat of paint in the bathrooms and the rooms. Very dated rooms. Beds very soft. Mattresses dip in the middle when you lay on them.

    Bar tender was really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel has plenty of Character and a beautiful quadrangle to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a huge choice for breakfast

    Hotel has plenty of Character and a beautiful quadrangle to sit and chill or even eat breakfast. Nice small compact bar with a very friendly owner who also acts as barman

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Family owned and operated walk back in time, a true gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have been cooler - the air conditioning wasn't responding to my desire for a cooler room.

    Breakfast included was fantastic-smooth grits and fluffy scrambled eggs. A VERY high antique four poster bed was a challenge but I toughed it out and climbed in. Enjoyed a large room with a private balcony accessible via very large heavy window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Absolutely one of my favorite places I’ve ever stayed!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were weird

    We got an individual tour of the property by the groundskeeper. We also rented the tandem bicycle and took it for a spin around the neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    Mostly satisfied. Tasteful decoration and furnishings in this vintage historic site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weak wi-fi signal in my room #114. I am sure the owner was aware of this from earlier visitors. Its time to upgrade the wi-fi signal!

    Quiet building and for the hours I was there, this downtown area was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Quaint old south hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quaint old south hotel. Clean, quiet, comfortable and a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The courtyard was beautiful and the Bar was top notch. HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Malaga Inn!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to relax and unwind. The courtyard allows you to forget you are in a downtown area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small but what can you expect from an older, historical building? It was still very clean and comfortable.

    The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. The building is historical and the ambiance was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    So glad we discovered this place, thanks to TripAdvisor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little disappointing.

    Looks of charm. Evening concierge (8 pm) was incredibly helpfully, both when we called in to change our reservation and when we arrived

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    The hotel was 1700-1800 style with a lot of charm. If you like this style this hotel is a must stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, although good and the typical hotel offering, it was a little cold.

    The ambiance was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and a problem surrounding the reservation was solved quickly and to my full satisfaction. Thank you Jordan!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed everything but the actual room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above!

    The courtyard was very nice and the overall outside ambience was good. However, the actual room inside was terrible. The a/c wasn’t controllable; the lighting was horrible; tub was stained ( my wife likes to take a tub bath but she wouldn’t dare sit down);and the walls and ceiling had lots of patches. Overall, the room was run down and should be totally remodeled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Check in saw us upgraded to amazing room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No laundry or washing service/facilities. Relatively unhelpful when asking for assistance with laundry.

    Check in saw us upgraded to amazing room. Very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    Charming building, beautiful courtyard - especially at night - and a friendly staff. GREAT VALUE.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower/tub surround covers only the front half causing some water to spill out on the floor in the commode area of the bathroom. Could use more easily accessible outlets in the rooms but it's an old building so expected. Some maintenance on the old building could be done as well to increase it's appearance.

    BEAUTIFUL courtyard and very friendly staff. The owner was accessible and not only professional but courteous as well. He tended bar and engaged us out-of-towners as well as the regulars listening to and giving feedback. I will definitely stay there again if in Mobile for business or pleasure. CANNOT BEAT THE VALUE!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Beautiful well maintained property, historic and in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a good price but they could not match it for another night.price increased by about a third.

    Great hotel, lovely courtyard, great staff,great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Overall it was a wonderful visit, and we would definitely stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two Double Beds, Historic W/ Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a straight back chair in the room for the desk, the leg was very loose, and only one other chair. A very comfortable "other" chair, but when you have two to a room, it would have been nice to have 2 chairs, or a small love seat. That's probably petty, but you don't always want to sit on the bed. Also, I'm short, and had difficulty getting up on the beds (I know that sounds like a personal problem, it was funny), but a stool would have been nice. ****This is not William, but his wife. ***He had no problem climbing up on the bed.

    We enjoyed the historic feel of the inn, and the receptionist were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in a quaint town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The courtyard was beautiful! Rocking chairs outside out room was a great place to sit and relax. We love the bar in the old carriage house and the bar tender/own Jordan. Check out the bunker and the 007 room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay, sit outside in the courtyard and enjoy the evening.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful courtyard with gas lamp posts and an European style fountain. Close to restaurants, museums and downtown life. If you are taking a cruise, The Malaga has special parking rates and other amenities that may be of interest!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and style.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was poor in the room (but OK in the patio) Breakfast could be varied (7 days identical) Cleaning is perfectible No hot shower on last day A pity that a few things could really improve the feeling and the rating

    Excellent location. Large room. Louisiane Style. Very pleasant patio.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a romantic getaway with your significant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect place for a romantic getaway with your significant other. Grab a bottle of wine and enjoy the courtyard. This location is perfect for walking distance to local attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Everything was very pleasant and we would reccommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Historic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect except that the bed was too high for short people, but staff brought us a step stool. Everything else was perfect. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    8.8
    The courtyard is lovely, and our room was thoughtfully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Bed Historic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed is a little high, and the pillows were too puffed up for my taste.

    The location was perfect, it was very pleasant walking in the neighborhood, and rocking on the veranda.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    Perfect blend of history, modernity & comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travelled to the Malaga Inn with family, including small children. The ambience was welcoming and cozy. The corner room was very spacious, was a few steps away from a spectacular view of the courtyard, and boasted the perfect blend of antique and modernity. The location was in walking distance from all major attractions, eateries & nightlife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    5.8
    We would have moved to another hotel if staying more than one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not good. Air conditioning not very good. Room remained stuffy and it was only end of March. No amenities like a small refrigerator in the room. No machines for drinks. You had to buy water or soda at the front desk and they were $2.00 each. The elevator was rattling and the inspection showed it was due in January and hadn't been done yet.

    Staff was wonderful and friendly. Courtyard was pretty especially at night. Historical building and room was quaint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    6.7
    The shower curtain has mold on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower curtain has mold on it. We had to ask for another towel. There were only two and we had three people. We also had to ask for toilet paper. The most disapointing part was the mold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Overall very satisfied with our stay. Will recommend to others and will stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to ask for bath towels/wash clothes both nights. Housekeeping took our hand soap from the sink and did not replace with a new one.

    Very convenient to the civic center, we were there for a dance competition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    4.6
    The outside was beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room need serious updating. Knobs for the water came off in our hand. Mildew on shower curtains and floor was dirty. I would not stay there again

    The outside was beautiful. Loved everything about it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    5.8
    Was disappointed in sleeping room. Staff was helpful and courtyard we
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sink had a broken lift for plug. Reported it before leaving for evening. It was not fixed. The tub was very old and scarred. On of the pillows had a spider in it!

    Liked location to Convention Center. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    5.8
    Staff were very accommodating and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In bad need of repairs. Paint chipping off bathtub and furniture, bathtub fixture broken, rails on balcony walkway rotted and dangerous for small children

    Staff were very accommodating and pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    Charming Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds weren't the most comfortable, but they were clean and the room was adorable so it's worth it.

    We had a wonderful experience here and look forward to staying again next time we are in Mobile. The room, entry, and courtyard are simply charming. The room was very quaint and everything was clean and fresh. The staff were very friendly. The hot breakfast was yummy and we enjoyed eating at the table in the courtyard just outside our room. We highly recommend Malaga Inn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    4.6
    Stayed 2 years ago and had a positive experience . Wasreally disappointed this year. Water backing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water backing up in tub. No clean up service the second day. Had to call down for clean towels. Breakfast was poor compared to last time. Charged $25 a day for parking and didn’t let us know when we booked. Won’t go there again.

    Awesome location. Staff were friendly for the most part.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    3.8
    Booked in advance and got the overflow room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though I booked my room 5 months in advance (it was for a major conference) they put me in a room that they only put guests in if the hotel is sold out. They actually told me that. This room was an office with an uncomfortable bed in it, dingy paint, peeling pressed-wood desk, no art on the walls, dirty shower with faucet that came off in my hand. After a sleepless night, breakfast was cold, mediocre taste, in a dingy room that looks like it was part of a stable. I had to book another hotel for WAY more money, since the whole town was booked up. NO GUEST SHOULD EVER BE IN THAT ROOM.

    Location, overall look of property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    8.3
    The location and atmosphere were fantastic, the staff was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Queen Bed Courtyard with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only improvement would be the rooms were very dimly lit, could use slightly more light for working on things in the room at night.

    The location and atmosphere were fantastic, the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    Wonderful little inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was my first time in Mobile. I loved the courtyard, the antique furniture, good breakfast, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room and bathroom was visibly dirty. Breakfast was awful. At check-in, we had to wait 30min for someone to show up.

    Loved the history, quietness, and courtyard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    My second time to stay there. Loved the courtyard especially. Great for eating and reading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better. Children were running on walkway above us. Screaming and making so much noise we couldn’t sleep. Gave them until 10:30 and called the front desk. The noise stoped immediately.

    Great staff. Quieted the people above us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    4.6
    Hands down not worth the money they charge and horrible comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Bed Historic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was not designed for comfort. The coil count had to be 200. The mattress was thin and hard. It was so hard that I didn't even sleep in it. My shower had hair in it from the previous guest,I suppose, but they could have at least cleaned out of the walls. I asked fit a late checkout because I was tired, and the staff kept banging on the door to clean. I will NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN! Inform your staff when u have late checkouts!!!

    I like that the front desk person allowed me to do a late check out. She extended my time for one hour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Beaitiful quaint hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hair dryer in room and didn’t know to bring one. However, to turn this around into a positive, the staff gave us a key to a room that had a hair dryer and we used it. My daughter had a cheerleader competition and we didn’t have time to go buy a hair dryer b

    Beaitiful quaint hotel. Very nice staff!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    5.4
    Would probably not recommend it - cleanliness is very important to you. A lot of great qualities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't cleaned under furniture, trash and dust showed there isn't much attention/care about cleanliness. Makes you question the bedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    It was delightful considering I had to pay Parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were too uncomfortable and I was made to pay for parking since I booked with you. They said only people who book online pay $7 a day parking but it was not in my contracts. I was very unhappy about that.

    The nostalgia of the building was beautiful and it was right after Mardi Gras so there was still beads hanging from the trees and the water fall in the courtyard was very soothing. And the beds were gigantic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    5.8
    Some charm however my room at least needs an upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dark, only one window opening to courtyard on ground floor, so no privacy. Bathroom definitely needs an upgrade! It was cold in the room, the heating didn't work. Probably came at worst time of year for cold. TV blasting FoxNews not relaxing (not a political statement :-)

    Building has character, courtyard is pretty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    9.6
    Great experiance and just a lovely, clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very old place, built in 1862 and although is was one of the things I loved there were a few things that did show its age. A couple of places in different areas had at one time leaked in the ceiling and needed to be repaired.

    They included breakfast was really good - cheese grits, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, biscuits and sausage gravy. Coffee, water and juices available. Lovely courtyard area and just a lovely hotel all together.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.3
    We would definitely stay here again. Lovely hotel with Southern charm in a quiet location downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The maid service was not very good. We had go to the desk both days for soap and towels.

    The hotel is charming with a lovely garden courtyard in the center. We did not eat breakfast but a nice breakfast was provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    8.3
    Good but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower had a glass divider but it wasn’t the length of the tub. So lots of water leaked out. The curtain on one window was coming off. One headboard on one queen bed was chipped off a little. We were not told parking was not free if booking through s third party. So the rate was not as cheap as it seemed.

    Nice linens and beds. Real cups and glassware.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    10
    Had an excellent stay, very charming hotel right in the...
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had an excellent stay, very charming hotel right in the center with a spacious and well decorated room. Bed was so comfortable, to me that is the most important thing. Slept like a baby. Don‘t expect to much of the breakfast but since it’s free...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    9.6
    We loved the Malaga and will definitely be back when we're passing through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tub didn't drain well.

    The hotel was adorable and convenient. We loved walking around downtown, seeing all of the historic buildings. We also loved being within walking distance of an oyster bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    7.5
    Decor and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed hammocked badly, too soft and uncomfortable. Hotel charged $7 for parking because I used Booking.com to reserve rather than their own web site.

    Decor and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    9.2
    It was charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Queen Beds with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's a dip in the threshold of the front parking lot, hit it pretty hard coming in. I didnt see it due to a puddle covering it. Beds could be more comfortable. Was a little nervous about the elevator and the porch to the upper rooms lol.

    I liked how quaint it was, real charm. Staff was friendly. Dining room for breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Malaga Inn Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: