Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Manhattan Broadway Hotel 2 stars

273 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018, USA

#405 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1211 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Would probably return if we were on another budget trip since the location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi did not work at all... considering our length of stay and unfamiliarity with the city it would have been nice to look up places without having to use all of my data. The windows didn't emit real sunlight so we could never really tell what time of day it was especially trying to wake up in the morning.

    Very good location, we walked to time square almost every day. Many food options around the area as well. The room was what is to be expected of a NYC hotel for this price. The beds were nice, AC was cold, and the bathrooms were spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, helpful front desk, value for money. Bigger rooms would have been perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very small & narrow. Even the corridor to the elevator is so narrow that it makes very difficult to drag a trolley and a baby stroller. Also, for strollers or wheelchairs - no easy access to get in the hotel

    Excellent location at the heart of Manhattan, walking distance to Times Square, Empire State Building, Madam Tussaud etc... very close to Penn Station for Subway access and a bunch of restaurants of various cuisines. Specially for someone like me , big fan of Indian food, there is a good Indian restaurant within 100 feet from the hotel - they offer a very good lunch buffet too! Rooms are small but have all required amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    Good location, tiny rooms very overpriced. Terrible wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picture showed 3 single beds we arrived and it was a bunk bed and a single, very limited space, 3 people’s backpacks did not even fit anywhere. Old and outdated and things broken. Wifi does not work at all. We asked reception if there was a trick to it and she said to stand near the elevator.

    Was a good location, close to Times Square and lots of food outlets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing hotel experience which somewhat spoiled our visit to New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is of a poor overall quality. The furnishings are old and tired. It looks like a lot better in the photographs. There was no natural light in our room making it impossible to tell what time of day it was.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was great close to the hustle and bustle how ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to sleep on the cast concrete mattress was difficult to say the least I’m considering setting up a pop up chiropractic out side on the side walk for future guests (i would make a fortune) and I’m sure the prisoners in alcatraz circa 1912 were supplied with more blankets. This could have been slightly looked over if there were basic hotel room staples like a fridge or a tv in the room trying to watch the television was akin to an elderly person with ocular tridgiums doing the driving eye test the screen was so small i couldn’t even watch it because my thoughts of why they even bothered to put such a microscopic thing on the wall in the first place.Bathrooms were passable i guess Although the A/C unit blows straight into it with minimal conditioned air reaching the main sleeping quarters making the room feel like a Vietnamese war hot box If your trying to save money don’t bother the cost of re-aligning your spine every morning would out weigh any savings give it a miss.

    Location was great close to the hustle and bustle how ever.........

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice cheap hotel well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay deposit on arrival which was unexpected so left me a bit short. Some staff mostly polite and helpful. One of the women on reception was really off and didnt seem very friendly.

    Great location 5 minutes from times square and penn station. Comfy and clean room aswel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    The location of this hotel can’t be beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really small and stuffy. I realize this is slightly cheaper but still, I paid over 400 USD for two nights in a teeny tiny flat? Ridiculous. It’s better for you to stay farther away and ride a train into the city.

    The location of this hotel can’t be beat. Walking distance of a lot of major attractions. Can be a little challenging to find because of how everything is so compact in NYC.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff where very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Booked this hotel due to the central location, and did not disappoint as most of the sights where within walking distance. The hotel is basic but clean with daily maid service, staff where very friendly and answered any question we asked, even going so far as to phone through to confirm the transfer I had booked to JFK for our return flight. Would stay here again, if I go back to New York.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Nothing, but the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos were totally off. There was nothing to like. Doors didn't close, beds old and hard. Towels old and dingy and they ran out.There was nothing to like!!!!!

    Nothing, but the location!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    2.5
    Our stay in New York was amazing. The hotel was horrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was horrendous. We didn’t even have a window! Well, we had a window but it was an internal one that you couldn’t open. Wouldn’t it have been lovely to open a window and see New York City? We had an awful “air con” unit that was covered by the curtain to the fake window so there was really no point. We had to ask for the fridge to be turned off because it was SO noisy and woke us up during the night, as did the hotel staff on numerous occasions at 1-2am laughing and joking in reception which was the floor below us. We paid well over £600 to stay in this hotel which was an absolute travesty. I have no idea how they get away with charging that much for such a hell hole. It was depressing to be in there.

    It was good that they provided a safe and the iron was good when we requested it for the second time. The location of the hotel was good in fairness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    We would stay again as it was value for the amount paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plugs for the bath and basin would be useful.

    Excellent location to explore Manhattan. Also close to Penn Station, Port Authority and subways. Having a fridge and microwave is a bonus. Hotel is old but clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old bathroom and small premises.

    Just a room. That's it! Do not expect more. No service at all. You only see a front desk person when you check in and another one when check out. No breakfast, no nothing. But, well, for being close to everything, it worth it just to go to bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub had hair in it and the fixtures had not been cleaned thoroughly in quite some time.

    Great location. Staff was very friendly. Room was generally quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Location was great, with quick access to metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is too small and smelly. Rooms are small too, but met our needs. The overall building is too claustrophobic

    Location was great, with quick access to metro. Times Square, Theatres all walkable. Decent places to eat around. It's a good places to stay if you plan to mostly be outside!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Still the best choice near Time Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise of air conditioner was too loud that I was not able to sleep tight at night.

    I had a perfect stay before. This time was also great. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Worked well for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dark and gloomy. This is because the windows look out on a light shaft. Also Try to avoid rooms 210 and 310. They have better light because the window faces the steeet (West 38th). But they are very, very small and you get street noise.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Well worn, but clean rooms. Super location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    My stay at this quaint hotel was good, had a place to sleep and it was close to everything I needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much I didn't like except for maybe the curtain situation.

    The location was the best part of this property considering the price spent and overall contort of this small but good hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Toilet clogged easily.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet clogged easily. The place is dirty, and there was grime on the outside of the fridge. The room has few outlets. The elevator is very very small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator smells really bad and only room for 2 people. No window to look out. Bathroom vanity didn’t exist. There was only one tiny mirror over the sink.

    The location was excellent. 38th and 7th Ave!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    this is not a hotel, it is a broken and run down motel! do not stay here...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were mosquitos in the room and the bathroom was dirty. the tub had a bad dip to it because when i stepped in it I felt like it was nasty and about to give in. the tv was the size of a computer scene and was not working properly.

    nothing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    I liked the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower. There was almost no water pressure. That was the only thing that I did not enjoy.

    I liked the staff. They are very friendly and professional. They handled a problem promptly and took care of it. Location was great, between Penn Sta. and Times Square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Loved the location! So convenient for walking and public transit. Had at great time in NYC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instead of being able to check in at 3 pm, I was told to come back at 5 pm. This was a little annoying, as I wanted to rest and clean up before going out. We did get upgraded to a bigger room.

    Staff upgraded us to a bigger room, with 2 doubles rather than 2 twins. Accomodations were better than I expected. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Cool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say much about what I didn't like. We were there overnight.

    First time trip to NYC to see a concert. Location was great, being close to venue really helped

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.6
    one of the worst places i've ever stayed at. nice staff though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms have no windows just frosted glass panels to the outside! the glass panels are not covered by curtains. super noisy construction site next door (going 24 hours). no sound isolation from room-to-room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    Horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just name it: lobby (or however they call the entrance), elevator, hall, room (small, dark, no closets, very, very old), bathroom (loose taps, damages everywhere, things falling apart), doors could not be locked...

    Nothing. Other hotels were much much better for the same price, but we realized it latter, after visiting our friends that stayed in other hotels. The score we'll give it is 0.5.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is in need of TLC but its prime location and comfy bed made this NYC experience complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is run down; the space heater in the room didn't work but it was swapped out immediately. The wi-fi went down the last two days, but they let us use the computer in the lobby. It was $30.00 to check in 2 hours early.

    The property is in a great location. In walking distance to Times Square and the subway. The hotel staff was friendly. If you are looking for a 4-star hotel, this isn't it; the room is tiny, you can hear music and sirens at night and forget a window view. However, if you're looking for something that is in a prime location with hot water and a comfy bed, this is it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff was rude, like they have my credit card save it and I ask to do late check out because I wasn’t feel good I was with a really bad cold and they told me that I need to go downstairs feeling bad instead of charge me the $30 fee for late check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Don’t have high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thermostat wasnt working and I was suppose to be given a space heater. Wasn’t aware that I was suppose to be given one till I complained and they gave me the one in the lobby. water pressure was incredibly low and was barely a trickle.

    bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's not a snob.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been nice with a little chair in my room and the wifi was difficult.

    The staff was really friendly and very helpful at all hours. We were preparing for a conference and the help we got from the front desk was invaluable. Also, we really appreciated the way the rooms were kept clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is really central and a pretty reasonable price compared with other central located hotels. Okay, it wasn't luxurious but I wasn't expecting that. The staff were friendly and sorted out one or two small problems really quickly. The room was fine and clean...and New York is a very very interesting place!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Expect basic and enjoy New York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired and could do with a complete re-vamp. Our room, ( 205 ) was very basic with several light bulbs not working. The shower was not working right.The bed was also tired !!!

    As a place to stay the hotel is in an ideal location. Ideal place to get out and about. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.8
    HOTEL DISGUSTING, DO NOT STAY HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I see others have said the photos booking.com use are not the hotel!! I don't understand why this dingy grotty place is recommended by you and who wants a hotel room with NO WINDOWS, metal camp beds, full of male gangs so very noisy and water came through the ceiling onto my daughters bed!! Holiday ruined due to this my daughters first trip to NY and I would say booking.com do not reflect the state of this place DO NOT STAY HERE!! Took no photos, too ashamed to show anybody where we stayed, not surprised booking.com took the money off me so quick for this with no refund!!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful staff, perfect location and room just needed some attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The presentation of the room. Curtain poles fell down, it needed some tic.

    The property was clean but the room looked nothing like the pictures so this was a slight disappointment. There were no tea making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    We had a great trip and were not much at the hotel except to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests were noisy and unruly (drunk) and the noise carried into our room from hallway. Window in our room did not close 100% and street noise and cooking smells carried in. The shower was odd and took some figuring out to work.

    Great location!! Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    Served a purpose but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable, I booked a twin room and got a single with bunk beds. Overall the hotel was shabby and the room was small, which is expected for a big city, but a lot could be done to help make the experience better

    Location was good, just 2 blocks from Times Square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    Just a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room does not look like the advert. I had a room with horrible lighting, a very tiny window which did not open nor did any light came through. A very tiny tv, a lot of noise from other guests. Wouldn't stay there again.

    The rooms were very clean and the reception staff very friendly. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    A good, cheap sleeping place for a short stay in Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No washcloths! Power outlets were in strange places, like 6 feet up the wall.

    A bed, a bath, a TV, and a place to go online. A bit old, but clean and reasonably well supplied. Friendly staff gave us great restaurant recommendations and stored our luggage so we could eat lunch unencumbered before our bus home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Came to see a play
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very aesthetically pleasing. Bed was a bit too firm, pillows and towels worn, very tiny television, bedroom wall decor looks like bathroom tiling, and shower had a few quirks. The elevator is extremely small and only one for both customers and staff, so sometimes there was a long wait time to use it.

    Helpful and responsive staff, great prices. My sister and I were here for two nights to see a play, and this hotel was in excellent proximity to the theater. For our purposes, it worked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.3
    It served the purpose but proved true to its name 'Budget' hotel. You get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to walk up the stairs when I checked in due to elevator maintenance. I had to ask for wash cloths. The refrigerator didn't have a bar on the door to hold my beverages in place. There wasn't a closet, only hooks and one hanger. The bathroom mirror looked like it was hanging by twine.

    The bed was comfortable and I liked the 12 pm checkout time. The staff was very polite and friendly on every shift I encountered.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Not luxurious, but clean and great location. Perfect for friends looking to view city/stay out late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no natural light getting into the room, was very dark regardless of the time of day. Mini fridge didn't work.

    Amazing location, so close to Times Square/ subways. Value for money in terms of that was exceptional. Very clean bathroom and comfy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff, location, price
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card would not work, had to ask front desk multiple times to give a new one. Guests were loud. Signs remind them that they should be quiet would be helpful.

    Staff, location, price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelent location. Close to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Time Square. Rooms were comfy and clean. Staff was friendly. For this price it's enough what you need to take a rest after all day sightseeing in NYC.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    overall not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no breakfast, no tea/coffee, wi-fi signal is not reliable, but I have to tell you that the location is great, in the middle of everything so if you dont care a bout the comfort and space and dont want to pay much, that a good place to stay.

    good hotel for this budget price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes it gets kind of noisy. The walls are too thin and there is a gap between the door and the floor. You can clearly hear everything in the hallway. The bathroom didn't have a window you could open. The room and elevator are kind of small.

    Excellent location, just a few blocks from Times Square, 34th Street etc. and there are many restaurants and stores nearby. The staff was very nice, friendly, helpful and polite. The room was small but comfortable. I traveled alone and the room size was ok, but I think that it would be too small for 2 people. I believe this hotel is a great option for people traveling alone for short periods. It is a basic hotel but good choice for price/value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall a positive experience. Would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area and rooms could be made more appealing, but it is an older building so I’m sure that is part of the issue.

    Staff was always courteous and professional. Very helpful and accommodating. Location was very convenient to everything we wanted to see and visit. Loved the option of leaving our bags early and being able to pick them up later after checking out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.8
    Great staff but very tired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive gaps around the doors (fire doors). Cushion covers taped over window gaps around ac units Bathroom shower not really fit for purpose. Sink was a hand basin without plug. Hotel needs some work.

    Staff were amazing and very helpful but the hotel overall is very tired. It is clean though. They made huge effort to get us in a room before checking in time as sister was poorly. Very good and kind people working there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    Admittedly it was only £58.00 per night for the 2 of us. so we can't really complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nothing like the picture on booking.com. We booked this room because of the hand held shower which had been removed of fallen off a long time ago. For the position and price and the fact that it was only for one night, and having just landed in JFK that evening whilst waiting to transfer to our cruise ship the day after we decided to stay as we were so tired after our flight. Otherwise we would have just left. Safe didn't work Needs a complete refurb to bring it into the 21st century. An opportunity missed

    location full stop

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    The location was perfect and the staff were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had forgotten a shirt in my room after checking out and when I called about it, a staff member went right up to get it and put it with my suitcase.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly at check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel a bit cheated as my room looked nothing like the rooms in the pictures on this website. It was like they forgot to decorate this room. Very disappointed as this is not what I expected.

    Staff were friendly at check in. Good location. Clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and the hotel rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very dated, it needs modernising and it is very basic, even WiFi isn’t free.

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel rooms were clean. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    The location of the hotel is very close to time square !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures make out the place to look really different from what I.T actually is.. the room is extremely small and has no closet. It’s simply a bed and a night stand. The bed is hard and so are the pillows I.T was not comfortable at all. I.T felt like you are sleeping on a cardboard box. The sink in the bathroom had mold and to top I.T all off the Air conditioner was broken. Luckily I.T is winter and we just opened up the windows. The staff is nice and they tried everything possible to accommodate us, but really they didn’t. We stayed all 3 Days in the same room. No refund or credit was given because if our complaints. Also you hear everyone talking and walking passed your room because the walls and doors are so thin.. lastly the people next door to our room overdosed on heroin !!!!! Around 0500 am I was doing CPR and the hotel did not have an AED. 15 min later ambulance came. This place brings in the junkies because of the price yet the location is good ! We had a horrible experience and never again will we stay here .

    The location of the hotel is very close to time square ! And that’s the only thing I liked about this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Best economy with mini frills hotel in the City, in an ideal location. Spotless sanitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mini reading lamps built into wall for each bed/ Elaborate multipurpose shower wand, head, and jets. Heavy use of tile on floors and walls . . . even faux marble. bed and bath linens way above average

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    We like the location. The room is small and clean. The staff did their best to accomodate us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's an old building. It's expected that it won't really offer much. The internet doesn't really work. The safety deposit box as well.

    The location. Location, location, location. Just a few blocks from Times Square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.2
    The photos are nothing like the actual place. It was run down, pokey and overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny room, lack of heat during freezing weather, tony, thin towels, tiny lift, narrow corridors, cold wind coming through windows

    The location Doonas were warm

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting place. It’s rotten and no one should stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m so disappointed with booking.com for having such hotel on your website. False advertising of how the rooms look and I paid almost $1000 for 2 nights for a rubbish place. Staff and the owner were not helpful too. Rooms are old and heating was not working. Toilet always blocked and instead of unblocking it they told us we use too much toilet paper so we stayed with a blocked toilet. Refused to give us a refund to book another hotel. Felt unsafe too, someone forced their way into the safe room at reception and stole luggage and valuables. There’s no security just the unhelpful receptionist. We were told to speak to the owner who lied and disguised himself as a receptionist. He kept telling us the owner will come speak to us and he never came.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Great l
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had terrible lighting. The comforters provided looked like they belonged in a little girls room.

    Staff was great and extremely accommodating. Our room was cleaned up for us and bed was made daily which I personally love and appreciate. There was also a small elevator in the building which is pretty nice considering a lot of places in NYC are walk ups.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.3
    Small. Dirty. No desks or place to hang clothes. It was horrible. Would never ever stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pitifully small with a tv the size of a piece of paper. No storage drawers. No closet for clothes. It looked run down and filthy. I would never go there again

    Close to all the action.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very nice and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very nice and accommodating! My friend and I arrived a few hours before check in and the staff let us complete check in paper work and leave our bags so we could explore the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.9
    Nothing but the location, it was easy to approach Time...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I will not recommend this property... also over-priced with no facilities at all. Room was smelly. Toilet not updated and had to open window for ventilation :(

    Nothing but the location, it was easy to approach Time Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors need sweepers to keep the sound from coming in the room. We could hear every single little sound in the hallway in our room.

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Manhattan Broadway Hotel served its intended purpose as an affordable hotel in mid-town Manhattan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was worn looking with tacky plastic waste baskets and an orange plastic stand for suitcases that could have doubled for one of those contraption you put on a floor to designate, "Caution, Wet Floors." The room did not look at all like the pictures. The flatscreen TV was the smallest TV in any room I have stayed in. The room itself was quite small, but that is to be expected in NYC.

    Staying in this hotel is all about the location. It is simply a great location. The staff came as advertised, helpful and friendly, and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Also, it has a very convenient luggage room where you can stow your luggage until it time to go to the station/airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    3.3
    Underwhelming at best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had problems with the booking due to payment being taken at the time of booking and a later problem with the card used having to be replaced. As a result we were out of pocket the full amount for the entire length of our stay as we were unable to check in until the full amount was paid again and the refund taking a full five days to go through. The room was dirty & tired, there was no free WiFi, the staff were rude.

    The only good thing about this hotel was the central location between Madison Square Garden and Times Square.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    For the price, it was worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very outdated. Not many tv stations to watch. It was hard to keep the room a good temperature. The pillows were flatter than a pancake! Rooms are a bit small.

    I loved how convenient the hotel was to all of the top places we wanted to visit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was actually very comfortable. For the most part, I thought it was pretty clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Nothing really, couldn't find another hotel in area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom, no closet,rusted lights in bathroom, no dresser, little TV no cable. Needed a heater. Tiny elevator.wouldn't stay or recommend this place.

    Nothing really, couldn't find another hotel in area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean (albeit, a little strange looking) room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't a big deal to pay $2 for baggage storage when I checked out of the room, but it's good to know!

    Staff service was great. Room was strange looking, but clean and very comfortable. Temperature in room was warm enough and comfortable, on below freezing days. Baggage storage was convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Room was very clean, staff was excellent and helpful,and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Explained above

    Room was very clean, staff was excellent and helpful,and wifi was better than I expected. The bed wasn't very comfortable but it did have plenty of blankets and 4 good pillows, the also had a small space heater which was nice as it was pretty cold and rainy in NYC that night. I looked hard and could not find a piece of lint or any hair anywhere in that room and I saw no evidence of bugs...So I'm giving this hotel a good rating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the money they charged for sure this was over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was high in the middle and low on tha sides, so Iended up against the tiled cold wall. The room was so narrow your suit case was always in the way of going to the bathroom, also the bathroom was real funky. The pocket size mirror was hanging with a piece of string, the sink wouldn't dry cause the water just stayed at the bottom, and the day we checked out the toilet wouldn't flush, the towels were so old thin, small and ruff For $220.00 a nite this was the worst. The staff were nice

    Location only

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    2.5
    Nightmare!
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the pictures it doesn’t respond of the reality. Bugs, dirty sheets, horrible smell. Old furniture I still don’t want to believe. THE WORST HOTEL THAT I’VE EVER BEEN. Please someone need to go and do regular check or something, I don’t know, awful hotel, really!

    Unbelievable, disgusting and disappointed. I didn’t like anything, I wish I could rate less!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms were a bit smaller than we'd have expected but still nice and the bathroom was lovely which is the main thing!

    Rooms were standard, nothing to fault, but location is amazing!! Basically take 10 steps from the hotel and you're in the middle of Times Square - incredible!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    2.5
    Absolutely Horrible!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This service was absolutely discusting!!! The room on the website does not look like the room i received. They gave me a room with old a old bunk beds in it. They would not allow my guest in my room,because a friend of a guest was attacked prior. Myself and other guest were in the lobby complaining about the cleanliness of the hotel and they did nothing. My sheets were dirty,and the rooms were soo cold. I am completely dissappointed with this.. they should not be allowed to post false pics of the rooms on your website!

    Nothing at all!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was very loud and the windows in the bedroom were screwed shut

    Perfectly positioned for all highlights, Old hotel but superbly clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Good location, everything else... Not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was way too small, door kept sticking, the window looked onto a brick wall, the room was very hot and the a/c was not in a good position and did not really work. The facilities can be barley called basic. The price is a rip off for what you actually get, your definitely paying for the location with this place.

    The location was excellent as well as the front desk staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Small room, fantastic bed, helpful staff, good location, dark but cozy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On of the windows couldn't be opened - very little light - almost none came into the room. It was quite loud on my floor.

    The bed was like a cloud - on of the best I ever had. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would love to come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Warm, stuffy room but that shouldn't put people off from staying here - the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room very warm at night and very basic facilities in room (small wardrobe for two people, no mirror - just one in the bathroom)

    Very friendly staff, great location, nice big bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    2.5
    The rooms were clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dont stay at this hotel. It is not even a one-star hotel and it's not worth the money which they charge! The pictures of the hotel rooms on Booking.com are misleading. The rooms are tiny and are run down; hallways are narrow, floors in the building are not even straight! The lift had a horrid smell of urine in it, the hairdryer did not work, there were holes in the linen, light bulbs in the room did not work, there was no heater in the room and it was cold! For wifi, the hotel charges an extra $5 per day, but the connection is slow and kept on cutting out. In the evenings, there was so much noise from people walking up and down the corridors and the noise of drums beating from the adjacent building was loud. I wanted to immediately cancel my reservation to go to another hotel, but the hotel insisted that I must pay for two nights as a cancellation penalty (they had taken a pre-authorisation on my bank card via booking.com) This is not even backpacker accommodation. It is simply a dismal place.

    The rooms were clean

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Manhattan Broadway Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: