Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ella 4 stars

1900 Rio Grande Street, Austin, TX 78705, USA

#50 of 193 hotels in Austin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 63 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room towels are very low quality that don't match with the overall quality of the hotel. Ceiling fans on the pool would be very welcomed specially during summer months. Pool was a little bit crowded. Bed was a little bit soft.

    Good location. Hotel is pretty unique and beautiful. Staff was very kind, Complementary water in our room every night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms both were not in the main building and quite dark. I would say they were poor rooms for the price paid and no extra services to make up for it.

    Hotel main building and garden was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath towels need to be replaced with big luxurious towels for the money the rooms cost. Holiday Inn has better towels. I complained and I hope they do something. That's all I could find wrong with the property.

    Staff at check in, restaurant, and bar were wonderful. property is one of a kind and very quaint. Very nice sitting and eating areas outside and in. Nice comfortable bed and room and internet was great. If you swim the quaint pool area was awesome. Coffee everywhere for those early risers in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love the quiet sophistication and comfort of this hotel in the middle of Austin. The dining room is lovely, serving nourishing food always difficult to find when traveling. The staff is top notch including room service(speedy). The comfort of the bed is reason enough for a return visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a big deal but small bathroom. also couldn't find the bottle opener for my topo chico and the front desk never brought if after we called.

    loved the bed and pillows. didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool but it looked really nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are unfortunately in a different building that resembles an old motel that has been revamped with some art work and flat screen TVs. The quality of the rooms is well below what would be expected in a luxury, boutique hotel: small space, dirty carpet, tiny bathroom (the sink is actually in the bedroom), artworks and fixtures are crooked, ragged and fraying towels (extremely bad form with that - I only use towels like that at home for cleaning), stained upholstery, and we also unfortunately had a mildew problem with our sink (we reported this but they seem to have attempted to fix this by pouring something down the sink to mask the smell... which came back straight away). The quality greatly differs from the public areas of the hotel and are unacceptable for the price point and "luxury", "boutique" claims. If they were selling themselves as a 3 star establishment with lower prices this would be totally fine and I wouldn't have such a problem with it.

    Beautiful reception area, restaurant, bar, and porch; really lovely, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would ask for a room in the Main House that is facing the center of the property/the pool area. My window opened to a fence and then a wall and there was noise early in the morning coming from off-site.

    The Front Desk staff were friendly, attentive and polite. Chef and restaurant staff at Goodall's were also very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bathroom seemed extremely small for the price paid. The room had no view (side of a fence, storage area down below, and the side of a ~ratty apartment-complex looking building. The complimentary shuttle (which is a nice thought) would only drop you off and only within 3 miles of hotel (would not come back and pick you up). Valet parking for $25/night seemed a little stiff.

    The bed was nicely soft. The mini-fridge was very well stocked. The hotel is within a doable walk from "adult beverage" drinking locations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could hear loud noise from other guests from inside of our room. The noise was so loud that we couldn't sleep. Luckily the hotel staff was very understanding and allowed us to leave two days early and find different accommodations. The hotel is not conveniently located. You need a car to get everywhere.

    Beautiful hotel. Very nice and professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area, while beautiful, is quite small, so don't plan on getting many laps done. The hotel is pricey--save it for a special anniversary, birthday or date!

    This is a great historic property. One of the best features is the large, wrap-around porch adjacent to the ground-level bar and lobby. The food at the hotel restaurant, Goodall's, is inspired modern fare. The fish and chips are a perfectly fried generous portion of heaven. Artwork is on display throughout the hotel, which ranges from beautiful hand-drawn nudes, to photographs of Texas legends, to archival images associated with the area. Go for one of the upstairs guest rooms in the main building--the large, lovely balcony area runs the length of the second story, with french doors opening from the multiple guest rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small, no view, zero bathroom counter space. Mini fridge not even cool. Was charged for two items from minibar and I consumed nothing from mimibar. Needed a ride to a location a mile away around 10:30 am and was told their house shuttle was not operating that day. They advertise there is a house shuttle within 3 miles. That is false advertising.

    Nice bar seating outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture was a collection of used furniture, nothing special, rather disappointing. Balcony off room was lovely.

    Hotel was lovely, staff was exceptionall accomodating

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive because of the Grand Prix weekend, and a little noisy near the pool because of nearby building work but not really the hotel's fault.

    Hotel has character and the staff were very helpful. Room was also surprisingly large.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark and based on the lack of natural light could use more interior lighting. Also, the fragrance in the lobby was too strong and very inexpensive smelling. It did not create a nice ambiance.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fitness center was closed because of a problem with air conditioning. Cleaning crew knocked on door two different times two hours before checkout No coffee maker in room Bathroom door slammed into exterior sink Make up mirror light would not turn off Advertises free newspaper delivery to your room each morning--not true.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All of the staff I had interactions with were amazing. I work in the hotel as well and the staff at Ella understand hospitality. Front desk, Valet, Driver, The Bar, and Housekeeping.....Thank you for a great night in Austin!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired and needs cosmetic / physical updates.

    Comfortable bed, nice and helpful staff, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty sure I got bed bug bites from my stay here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a detail Very small towels and bath carpet

    Very charm nice Hotel with great staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very expensive

    quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is very charming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Valet parking was 25$ which was a bummer. It was okay. Nothing special

    Good location. Historic building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, the hotel building, the staff, the facilities - all great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    My daughters wedding was Sat. And everything was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and historic but with a lively feel about happy hour and dinner time. Business men from Austin and guests filled the very European bar! 👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    big, well accommodated room, pool was lovely, friendly staff. great location for our visit's purpose

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very hard to find parking for someone who does not want to use valet parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good, but way too expensive.

    Most comfortable bed! The staff was very attentive and friendly - everything I love about Austin.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible front desk staff Fridge in the room VERY noisy

    Facilities

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and charming hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people and service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing, would stay there again.

    A/C worked great. Ziggy, the valet attendant had a wonderful attitude with awesome service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish my room had a better view

    Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and decor were lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel experience was perfection! Love the chairs outside with the unique chandelier sitting with our dog!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, while was paid separately was very oily and not good at all for $18 Reception staff, confirmed i could have late check to be later denied because they had booking who paid more!! Also had to wait for 5m to get someone to do the check out

    Room was nice and bed very comfy

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Gorgeous Place. Beautifully accented. Ambience terrific. Staff energetic and eager to please. Single queen bedroom unit, simple and artistically accented . Modern bsthroom . Lovely set apart sink and glamour mirrow. The main house ( Plantation style ) the centerpiece stunning. Pool during day essy on the eyes. Tantalizingly lit at night. Will be back 👍

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    With my State Bar Card, and an on line view of tow business bank accounts with funds on deposit of $41,000.00 and $2,300.00 I was treated like a crook by the red haired young man at the front desk who said the HOTEL never takes checks when I asked could i cash a law firm business check for $100.00. Well folks the Driscol have never told me no.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No coffeemaker in the room. Big problem for early risers like me. No waste basket in the bathroom or bedroom was a little strange.

    Nice boutique hotel. Good size room and bathroom. Friendly staff. Decent restaurant attached.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I specifically requested a quiet room when I booked. Instead we had a wedding reception/band going from the time we checked in until midnight. I called the front desk around 11:15 pm because it was so loud and then mentioned it again at checkout in the morning. Got a canned "sorry" from both people I spoke with. You'd think when I made the request, they would have mentioned that there were no quiet rooms because of the wedding so I could have made different arrangements.

    The room was nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a very noisy air conditioning unit in our first room. We had to move rooms as we had water flooding through our bathroom ceiling fan. our second room was lovely much quieter airconditoning and bathroom. Only compensation for bad room was a free drink. Expensive for what we got

    Good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was infested with ants, no coffe maker, breakfast was just okay, a little too pricy for what you get

    Hotel architecture and history were beautiful

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Couple

    It ends up being way more expensive than you booked. Two different taxes, overnight parking, etc, etc

    The location is perfect for getting to campus, our daughters dorm, Capitol, shopping and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was a little pricey, and I didn't think it was necessary tocharge$25 a night for parking.

    It was a clean, comfortable stay with the intimacy of a bed and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am 5' 6" and couldn't see myself in the mirror over the sink, it was hung way too high. The shower head was darn cheap considering the rest of the room and fixtures.

    Great service, lovely property, will stay here on my next visit to Austin!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved our stay at Hotel Ella. The staff was extremely friendly and easy going. We took advantage of the complimentary car service. It was great to not worry about driving. We'll stay here again on our next trip to Austin!

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent stay at the Ella - if you want something 'different' then this hotel is for you! Great staff, great rooms and the atmosphere is to die for! The courtesy car is such a great touch and the valet boys were great!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Their options listed were not up to date. They said they offered a 'cold menu' late night (past 10 pm), but we tried to get something late night and were told that they no longer had the kitchen staffed overnight. Would have been nice to know that before coming back to the hotel a little hungry. In room snacks were a good option but sometimes you just want something a little more substantial

    Friendly staff, great happy hour, amazing cocktails. Luxury BMW car service that took you to anywhere within a 3 mile radius (which there is a lot!)

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning was more of a window unit type and was a bit noisy and blasted cold air onto the bed. We would have preferred to have a closet, but we appreciate that this is a period property.

    The reception staff were exceptional. The toiletries were provided were really nice and on trend for this boutique hotel. We appreciated the use of the courtesy car within a short radius, which was enough to get us into the centre of town a couple of times.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey, but if you have the money it's a great place to stay!

    Large room. Wonderful balcony on both 1st and 2nd floor. Staff very friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NO ICE MACHINE -- Ridiculous to have to call for room service for ice and then need to tip them. My room/bath unbelievably small. Didn't care for breakfast menu - need more basic selections, i.e. plain eggs and assortments of Danish.

    Location. Staff nice

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wish there was another ranking higher than "Excellent" to measure Hotel Ella. Beautiful facility, perfect location to see Austin city sights, attentive and professional staff. Beds were super comfy. Quiet and restful despite being in the middle of the action. Two really special aspects. First, the massive front porch was fun to sit on and watch the city sights. Second, the hotel's valet staff has car service that will take you to some of the best Austin sites near the hotel. In a Cadillac! Fabulous way to enjoy a great area of the city hassle-free.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff was fabulous! Especially the valet & drivers. The hotel offers complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. It was so handy since we had to be a the capital both days we were there.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bartenders a little grumpy and service a bit slow, in spite of few patrons to be seen.

    Staff was exceptionally courteous and friendly and asked how are adventures were whenever we returned the car to the valet desk. Though the hotel was fully booked, they seemed to remember where we had gone each and every time so that they could ask appropriate questions.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dining options limited Fitness center small and cramped

    Staff excellent Food good in limited menu Room comfortable and new

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Price

    Bed

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Missing organic foods on a menu

    Comfy beds, quietness, cozy atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, good location, friendly. Good food. I liked that they had a driver to drop you off and pick you with a 3 mile radius.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming Nice Pool

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Off a busy street.

    Friendly staff and great accommodations. Also loved the 1/2 off drinks during happy hour.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food was excellent and staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was incredibly helpful, down to earth and warm. The hotel is piece if art - it beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice to have a trash can located outside where the dogs do their business...

    Location, staff, room, pretty much everything!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The atmosphere is great

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    Hotel Ella was amazing. Wonderful place for a wedding reception ! Everything was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Love that they will drive you everywhere! (I think it's 10 mile radius?) that was very convenient!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff provided excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little stark, and loose children ran the hallways.

    We enjoyed the bar and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff and great accommodations

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free wifi was very poor. The hotel room doors did not seal so light and sound came into the room

    Room was very nice, bed very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty, trash littered view of apartments from our hotel room. Extremely overpriced room.

    Quietness. Bed.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was slow

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible view of wall of building next door. Tiny room/300.00

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room expensive for what we got (small, no view) and some of our belongings 'went missing' from the room....

    Nice people and facilities

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price of the 550 plus, I complained but the manager took 100 of each night. Breakfast was excellent Staff was very accomodating

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ella traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: