Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Molokai 3 stars

Kamehameha V Highway, Kaunakakai, HI 96748, USA

#2 of 5 hotels in Kaunakakai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 151 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    The pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king bed was uncomfortable. When we sat down, it.felt like to bed was.going to flip over. So we.moved and slept.on only one side.

    The pool was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Incredible, traditional Hawaiian hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything except that there is no breakfast.

    The room, view and restaurant were incredible. Wonderful location and place. This was a first trip to Molokai and it exceeded expectations. The hotel was an authentic Hawaiian experience and the only place I would ever stay on the island. We paid a little more for A/C and view and it was worth it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    Could and should be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot, pokey, dark dingy rooms with limited natural light, very poor noisy a/c, and no curtains or blinds on windows. I literally hated going back to the room and found sleep difficult due to the heat, light and noise from antiquated plumbing, road noise and the charming but noisy wild chickens. No breakfast available on site.

    Good location midway along the south coast of the island, although no beach or sea access. Excellent restaurant. Small pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay since room had many ants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had ants and it took two days to exterminate the ants. We asked for room change twice and it was turned down. Management refused to make any effort to accommodate room change. The room was too close to the road. Since it was not air conditioned and had insect screen, the noise from cars was loud.

    Location close to town, by the ocean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Bed was excellent and we had a good night's sleep every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was excellent and we had a good night's sleep every night. At first we thought the room to be a bit on the sparse side, but the longer we were there, the more comfortable we found it. We loved the chickens. They were a prime source of entertainment and the staff was most friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay on the sea in Molokai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel and restaurant should have done a better job advertising in advance that they had a special event going on in the restaurant one Saturday night causing the restaurant to be closed; the island shuttle does not run on Sat evenings. They ended up opening the bar for drinks and appetizers a bit later on after the event, which worked out, but they could have saved guests a lot of consternation by advertising that they would be closed well in advance, and what the bar plan would be, so people could plan their evening accordingly.

    The location by the sea was lovely. There is a free municipal shuttle (weekdays and limited Sat hours) into and out of the main town; the front desk can provide a schedule. Wifi worked well for us while we were there--fast and reliable. There were good fans in the room, which made the room comfortable and kept any stray mosquitoes at bay during the night since the fans were over and by the bed--A/C was not needed during our March stay. Bed was comfortable. Restaurant has great food and drinks and was a nice place to spend evenings. Everyone seems to think the new restaurant is better than the former one (pre-kitchen fire). They are closed for breakfast so buy breakfast food, coffee, etc in town before heading to the hotel. We enjoyed the bar appetizers served 2-6pm, which were delicious and we easily made this our meal on several occasions. Nice local music was played every evening with a special hula show on Friday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful scenery and delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was delayed in shower

    Beautiful scenery and delicious food. Live music was an added surprise enjoyed our stay Would return in future mahalo

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    Poor Accommodations can tarnish an otherwise very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was a major disappointment. When we booked we were led to believe that we would have a king size bed with a kitchenette. Since I have mobility problems we requested a unit on the ground level. Later we realized that we would appreciate a room with air conditioning and agreed to pay an extra $235. for this. We were duped by the very acceptable exterior when we registered and so paid in full for our accommodations. When we opened the door to our unit, we realized we had been allocated a room 10' by 14' with a small lean to bathroom. We had a double bed, a 12" by 14" television and our kitchenette consisted of a small microwave, a small coffee pot, two mugs all squeezed together on top of an acceptable bar fridge. The hotel does not serve breakfast and the town does not have restaurants that serve regular breakfast food. The bathroom served as clothes closet that had a bar obviously for this purpose. There was a sink that did not allow much room for personal toiletries. The toilet was in itself a challenge as the height was lower than standards. The tub took the prize: it was an old plastic model, so corroded that no amount of scrubbing would erase the ingrained unsanitary signs of much usage. The air conditioner was so noisy we could not use it at night. We met two renters adjacent to us. Both of them had small units similar to ours but one had a new tub. They both left after a one night stay and claimed that their rent was almost one third of what we had paid. Had we not paid up front we would have attempted to leave as well. I do not believe that all of the the hotel units are at the same level of questionable quality. The room we were allocated may have been given due to the fact we made a couple of special requests. When we chose to stay at Hotel Molokai, we sadly made a very unfortunate choicebecause the rest of our vacation was very enjoyable. Molokai is very special and so are the people.

    The Hotel Molokai is very pretty on the outside. The grounds are very well maintained and all of the various cabin like rooms appear very nice from the outside. The cleaning staff worked diligently and towels were replaced regularly. The laundry facilities are clean, affordable and accessible. The restaurant is located right beside the ocean and is a very pleasant venue. All in all the exterior cannot be faulted.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Simply beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional sewer or gas smell on the grounds some type of breakfast would have been great, maybe a shuttle bus to town also

    Great staff , Awesome location sunsets were gorgeous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    3.8
    Only Hotel in Molokai on Booking, dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed 3 nights, 2 planned + one added later. Cleanliness was an optional as was comfort, could have gotten over that, but, we were moved for the latter night to a new room, bed was falling to pieces and in general, it was very unwelcoming room. No reaction from personnel to our complaint. Extremely overpriced for what it offers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Very relaxing and nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any chance to get a breakfast. I had to drive to the next town and buy something

    Everyone was very nice and helpful. The room was nice and I enjoyed the pool area. The newly opened restaurant was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was close due remodeling . If you don't have a car it is not place walking distance to get food.

    Highly recommended, very comfortable and quiet. Lovely place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing, dated, overly priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drapes stuck, didn't close all the way and falling apart. Outside lights too bright to sleep, no blinds. Louver Windows broken. Wall fan noisy, dated. Rooms dated in general. Restaurant and bar closed, didn't know about it until after check in. Overall disappointing, main water line broke but no compensation for having to brush teeth, wash face with 3 500ml water bottles for the 2 of us. Overly priced day! Will definitely not return or recommend to others!

    Not worth the price!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    4.2
    Crapy and old needs repair and updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to hot. Need to add another fan.or suggest a room with air conditioning I didn't know that was available.Screens on Windows need to be fixed. Bugs and mosquitos in room. Tub needs to be resurfaced. Big hole in dresser, get rid of old furniture. I will never stay there again or refer my friends to Molokai Hotel.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.0
    Rooms were clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as advertised, restaurant and bar were closed, did not even have coffee available. Closest coffee or any food was a $10 taxi ride away.

    Rooms were clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    Not as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There no longer is a bar or restaurant on site which makes the property less convenient and less fun. The stacking of tables and chairs gives the property a closed down feel. It is oceanside, but there is not a beach. Beds and pillows are hard.

    Grounds are lovely and we'll maintained. Pool is clean. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    7.5
    Very quaint, old style Hawaiian property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning, though did have fans. Unfortunately, the restaurant and bar are currently closed. Unknown how long. Being Molokai and not touristy, there is a lack of accomodations and prices are very high.

    Very quaint, old style Hawaiian property. Staff is delightful and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Cozy and convenient, but noisy!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our "deluxe" unit was very noisy. To facilitate a breeze, the top half of the loft unit on both sides is open screening. Since we were next to the highway and parking lot, it got very noisy from morning to evening with car noise. Plus, the roaming roosters, while beautiful, started crowing at around 5:30 am throughout the day, so sleeping in or naps, either in the unit or in the many hammocks between palms throughout the grounds. The unit came with a loft that held two twin beds, but that ceiling was only about 5' high, so only useful if you have small children - no good for teens or adults. We had hoped to use the beds as extra storage, but the loft was never used because of its inconvenience. Also, the description said large TV, but it was quite small especially for viewing from the bed, the only seating/viewing area available. The town has very bad cell reception so we couldn't make calls home. Fine if you want to disconnect and chill the Molokai way. Also, one reason we chose the hotel was for the all-day restaurant and its entertainment, but it was closed down after a police raid the second day we were there for our 3-day visit. The restaurant was not owned by the hotel, so good for the owner, but now you must go into town for food and entertainment until and if the restaurant gets reopened.

    Centrally located, halfway between east and west sides. It is in the town of Kaunakakai which has the most shops and restaurants, although that's not saying much. It is on the reef, so a nice water view from certain units or if you are walking around the property. The bathroom was newly renovated and fine, with plenty of storage, and the small kitchen had all you would need for making your own meals there. The hotel staff was friendly and the activities directors quite helpful. Plan to "talk story" with most everyone you meet; it's a slow-paced island.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.3
    Friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant closed down the night before we arrived. There's only a few places in town to buy food. Very inconvenient.

    The staff couldn't have been nicer. We had to spend another night since our plane was cancelled due to weather. John picked us up , stopped at the pizza store to pick up our order and the next morning he drive us to pick up our breakfast order in town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    We loved the hotel and the staff, room and surrounding areas. Very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was fine, but there is a police speed trap near the school that cost us $322 for going 35mph in the school zone in the middle of the day when all of the children were already in classes. IT was very unreasonable. We were not able to spend any money to eat at restaurants due to this and thankfully the hotel room had a microwave, so we could heat up frozen food dinners during our stay. It ruined our stay.

    The location was great and it was a nice place to stay. Loved the availability of the bar and restaurant and live music. The grounds are lovely and really enjoyed staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    Could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi was terrible. Had ants in bathroom. Fan only worked on high. Restaurant service was poor and unfriendly. Had sign "wait to be seated" but no one would ever acknowledge you standing there.

    Location was good and room was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    5.8
    Only stay if no other options
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    music from restaurant was loud. Wished we were asked if we wanted to be near the music for room location. Louder than if we were in the restaurant. No need for 3 beds in the room! Woke up to ants all over the kitchen counter! We had no food in the room!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Music galore at Hotel Molokai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine selection poor and mediocre. You can buy a better bottle in town at wine/liquor shop but restaurant adds $15 fee!

    Lots of homegrown live music at Hotel Molokai- some afternoons and every nite. Food good at hotel and huge portions. Lovely setting.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    A lovely spot to relax on the Friendly Isle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very firm, a bit more than I would have preferred (but I was so exhausted from our day that it didnt keep me from sleeping like a rock!). There wasn't much of a beach directly in front of the hotel, contrary to what I expected from other reviews I read prior to booking.

    The hammock outside by our room was possibly my favorite part. My husband and I had a lovely midday snooze under an ulu (breadfruit) tree! The view from the restaurant overlooking the channel between Molokai and Lanai was gorgeous. We even saw whale spouts in the distance! The room itself was clean and smelled nice. The hotel is 2 miles from the main town, so it's a great distance for walking or biking. The bar had great mixed drinks, and the bartender was very friendly and helpful! The grounds are beautiful, and the staff is very welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    6.3
    overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cramped rooms, Dirty floors, clogged bathtub, restaurant stopped serving dinner an hour before closing-8pm. Not hotels fault but water main broke during stay so no water.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    Old Hawaii at its Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: Maybe should have rented a car, Had to depend on staff to get to town (2 miles) or other sights and activities. There is public transportation but infrequent. Beds were old and uncomfortable. Restaurant needs help.

    The staff, so welcoming and caring. The Hawaiian look and ambiance of the place, just like the pictures. The birds, chickens, ducks, The pool, beachfront, grounds The privacy--a perfect getaway.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    A Real Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, staff and atmosphere. Perfect stay. We are definitely coming back for longer vacation. We enjoyed the beauty of the island and the best part was that time stood still. This was a real vacation full of peace and serenity.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Mellow Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's was perfect, if you want a place to really relax and chill out.

    The Suite was spacious with natural ventilation, high ceilings, huge king size bed. The grounds, the architecture very tropical looking, with a view across the water to the island of Lanai.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor lighting. 25 watt bulb to light entire room does help to hide the presence of the large cockroaches that are there. Room also full of ants. VERY cheaply furnished. Had $5 per day resort fee not disclosed

    Internet good but no cell phone coverage

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.5
    Would be excellent if breakfast was served or available at resteraunt.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast,no wakeup call

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    It was okau
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had NO cell reception in my room. the AC could have been better. Not cool enough especially since the area is hot.

    The convenience of the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Honeymoon in honolulu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was extremely central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Excellent overall. Thanks for the air conditioning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy hour drink selection

    Air conditioning and comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    We had a graduation party to go to and staying at a clean air conditioned unit was very nice!
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant on property didn’t serve breakfast only lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated rooms. Could hear every step from people in room above. Very loud toilet.

    Location. Restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Hammocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud AC

    Hammocks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.0
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of transparency on rates and fees.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff. Stuffy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning old room needs to be renovated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.8
    We had close to the most expensive room in the hotel it should have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioners To small Bugs

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Bathrooms need updated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need updated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    Rustic but it was just the right place for our getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit rustic

    Extremely friendly, quaint

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Everything we really like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we really like it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    The customer service at the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, close to town and airport. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Very pleasant stay and dinner at Hotel Moloka’i
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small camodes in bathrooms

    Old Island feel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    A winner. A repeater for sure. Thinking of how to bring friends or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast options.

    Location and friendly staff. Cute facility. Beachside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little dated with no breakfast available.

    It’s a nice, cozy bungalow style hotel with a great view of the ocean and Lanai Island.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Hawaii style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WLAN

    Hawaii style

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for lost keycard!

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Staff
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    It was a great relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location by the sea & the general ambience gives a very relaxing feeling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    It was a very pleasant hotel, i liked it a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very pleasant hotel, i liked it a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyed and will return
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daily room rates are a bit pricey

    Friendly staff excellent accommodations convenience overall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no A/C - terrible!

    clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay there again
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our power went out in the morning

    Friendly staff, awesome restaurant, room available on time, nice surround

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful Hawaiian style hotel on the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant didn't have much for vegetarian guests.

    The friendly staff and beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    No air conditioning in room.
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room. I thought all rooms had ac

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Hotel Molokai, Kaunakakai, Molokai, Hawai'i
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no restaurant (in renovation May 2017)

    Not too far from downtown Kaunakakai, great rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly , convienent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar were closed Could not swim in ocean

    Friendly service Good value Close to town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.6
    Try another Hotel or AirBNB
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed were poor - Hotel run down - Security questionable

    One Pleasant staff member provided excellent recommendation for food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.1
    overall nice grounds to leisurely stroll around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No A/C and fan was loud and located right next to one of the beds.

    overall nice grounds to leisurely stroll around

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Friendly Isle still a place of welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Peaceful and quiet. Close to the water very calming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    5.8
    It's ok and basically the only place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lunch/dinner menu - food and wine choices are pretty average - better to go into town not too far away No wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice Local Flavor Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a more thorough cleaning.

    Old Hawaii Ambiance. Great Hawaiian Music. Love it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    beautiful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Be aware of the traffic noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    traffic noise early in the morning---really loud

    seaside location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    6.7
    Convenient basic hotel in nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable enough but bathroom area could have been a little cleaner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Perfect place to disconnect and explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet a little spotty

    Loved the Aloha Spirit

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    6.3
    Price was high in accordance with cleanliness. Lots of ants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was an issue.

    Location was perfect. It was quiet save for the roosters at 3:00am.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Local entertainment on Friday night was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local entertainment on Friday night was fabulous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.4
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room, mosquitoes, TV did not work on the first night. Over priced

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of Space

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.7
    After reading reviews we were apprehensive about booking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the ocean was dirty adjacent to the hotel. Not for swimming

    After reading reviews we were apprehensive about booking there, but pleasantly surprised with the service and location. We would definitely return

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    6.7
    I like the location at least it is close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Their customer service needs improvement. Front desk are very helpful. Staff could be more welcoming to thier guests. Most specially at the restaurant.

    I like the location at least it is close to town.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    5.8
    They made the room available for an early check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of road noise, dawn to after dark. Quiets down during much of the night, though. The roosters start crowing before dawn and keep going all day. An in-room safe would be great. It's beyond time for an update. They do what they can to make the room nice, but there's only so much that can be done to hide 40+ years of wear.

    They made the room available for an early check-in. The restaurant is good and convenient. Having a kitchen was convenient. It's reasonably stocked with dishes. The water pressure in the shower is great, especially to folks used to low flow shower heads. The lenai is nice.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Molokai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: